WPI Parenting MagazineFraudulant charges

L
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

2 months ago I went into a motherhood maternity store and made a purchase. This last week (october 20th) I looked at my online credit card statement and a 20$ charge from WPI Parenting magazine was on there. I have never purchased a parenting magazine, have never used this credit card online and the charge wasn't even under my name it was under my sister-in-laws. I called WPI parenting magazine and they informed me that when I made the purchase at motherhood maternity, they gained access to my credit card information and authorized the 20$ purchase of the parenting magazine. I am filing a complaint with Motherhood Maternity and with WPI Parenting Magazine. I never thought that shopping in a mall especially a maternity store would turn out this way.

More WPI Parenting Magazine Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ch
    chau Nov 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing happened with me today. Made a purchase 2 months ago at Motherhood maternity in Burlington MA and today I see a $20 charge from WPI*parenthood. This is serious. I am planning to file a complaint in State's Attorney General Office and Better Business Bureau. Of course I will dispute the charges with my credit card company.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Dec 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This also happened to me. I made a purchase at the mall of america store. I am furious that a shop would be involved in this behaviour. I have organised my bank to get a refund on this. I will also be making complaints to the store and WPI.

    0 Votes
  • Mm
    mmeggison Apr 03, 2009

    SAME HERE! This is the first time I have heard it was because of motherhood maternity though. I am having our third child and this is the third time this has happened! I wont be shopping at motherhood-scammers anymore. This is rediculous! Parenting is being kind enough to refund my money no questions asked. I am going to be contacing motherhood's corporate offices shortly.

    0 Votes
  • Yu
    Yuliya Apr 03, 2009

    I just saw a charge from them as well. I called WPI and asked them why I am being charged. Apparently when you buy something at Motherhood Maternity, you sign up for 2 months of free issue of Parenting Magazine. Then 2 months later they start charging you.
    I told them I never signed anything in the store, but the agent said thats how they get the credit card info.
    So, don't sign anything at the store and maybe even ask the sales rep to make sure you are not signing anything besides your receipt:)
    They promised me my money back. We will see

    0 Votes
  • Rr
    rrmireles Apr 06, 2009

    The same thing happened to me. I called my bank and they gave me a number to contact them. I was able to cancel it and get a refund.

    the number is [protected]

    I hope you can get everything back!

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    swg Apr 18, 2009

    I also received this $20 charge on my credit card after I purchased a couple of maternity tops for my daughter-in-law at Motherhood Maternity. I've contacted Parenting Magazine to have this charge removed and they've agreed to do so; however, I am extremely upset that anyone can charge my credit card without my permission. This is such an under handed way to do business. I plan to register a complaint directly with the magazine and Motherhood Maternity. Needless to say, I will never do business with either again.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    SCG Apr 27, 2009

    This just happened to me as well. I can't afford $20 for some stupid magazine when I can't even afford food for my family. I am outraged!!! I will NEVER buy from Motherhood Maternity again and am telling all of my family and friends. They are going to loose a lot of business over this scam.

    0 Votes
  • Jq
    jq619 May 21, 2009

    My fiance and i had the same thing happen to us, but I used HIS card, and the Motherhood Maternity store used my name with his account info and sent it to Parenting. I'm not sure who is running this scam, but this experience is frustrating. $20 is not a whole lot of money, but being charged without consent is wrong! Although I do like the information it contains, I am going to think twice before ever buying a Parenting magazine... and I definitely will not be shopping at Motherhood Maternity. Thank you all for posting! Parenting says it will issue a refund, and the money will be returned in 4 weeks or less. Funny that it only took them a day to remove the money...

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bobbi Jun 12, 2009

    hello, I know someone who works for magazine you are all talking about and I will be happy to explain was is going on. When you make a purchase at those maternity stores, they are SUPPOSED to ask you if you would like 2 free trial issues. If you say yes, they are SUPPOSED to give you a post card to sign that indicates you agree to cancel within 60 days or the maternity store will give (parenting) your credit card info to charge $20 for a 2 yr subscription. If they do not offer this to you and you are charged anyway, please just call parenting magazine directly and you will receive a full refund on the card it was charged. It appears several stores do not offer the signature cards to every customer, but they are not supposed to give (parenting) your order if you do not sign the card. Please understand that the issue is with the particular store you went to, not the magazine; they are just taking the orders the stores give them.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amy Jun 17, 2009

    Same thing just happened to me...I swear I said No when asked at Motherhood Maternity. When the magazine showed up I thought my sister had gotten me a subscription, but she didn't. Then last night I saw the $20 charge on my credit card. I called to cancel, but I'm still fuming. Total invasion of privacy...who else are they giving my credit card info to? I won't be shopping there again,

    0 Votes
  • Mb
    M Baisley Aug 31, 2009

    I also have been scammed by Motherhood Maternity and Parenting Magazine. If someone would have offered for me to PURCHASE a magazine subsription for my daughter I probably would have consented, but I find their underhanded tactics criminal!!! I am also reporting to the Better Business Bureau and Attorney General Office!! This is SO WRONG in every way!!! NEVER NEVER NEVER will I purchase anything else from this store! No way to do business...big mistake on their part...I am the mother of 4 daughters of which two are pregnant right now...we will take our money somewhere else and will do our very best to warn every pregnant person that we see about their fraudulant practices!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chiella Sep 22, 2009

    Same thing, bought something at Motherhood Maternity and charged $20. I called WPI Parenting Magazine, they will refund the money in 4 TO 6 WEEKS. Can you believe that... WEEKS not DAYS...
    I have lost my confidence in Motherhood Maternity if that is how they do business. I will not shop there anymore and tell all my friends about staying away from them.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    kristidcp23 Sep 26, 2009

    SAME STORY! Is this fricken legal? Isn't it a crime to take someones card number and make fraudulant purchases with it? I'm furious and I want to who's responsible!

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    kristidcp23 Sep 26, 2009

    I just emailed my local news station with this story. Hopefully I hear something back! How did you all go about reporting motherhood maternity/parenting mag to the better business bureau?

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    jmcmik Sep 26, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same problem but with Parents Magazine (is it the same?). Actually we did nt use our credit card, so they sent us a $12 bill for a 1 year subscription. They sent us a bill 3 or 4 times for 6 months. Of course we had not subscribed to this magazine. 1 week ago, I was fed up, so I called a phone # I had found online (google "Parents Magazine ripp off") and I told them to cancel everything. Well, they agreed right away, no question asked, to cancel the bill. Obviously they know what they are doing is not legal. The lady I spoke with told me I had subscribed to their magazine online, but I had never ever done such a thing. Usually when you subscribe to a magazine online you have to pay with your credit card BEFORE receiving those magazines. Well, not with them. They have your address (I guess my wife entered our mailing address for a promotion or to win something - she was pregnant and she visits a lot of websites for pregnant mothers, babies, etc.) and they send you a bill. I also guess that most people pay because $12 is such a low amount and they probably think they do subscribe to the magazine online.

    This not acceptable.

    0 Votes
  • Av
    Aviva Oct 06, 2009

    Same thing. I was offered 2 free Parenting Magazines, with no mention of being charged. Just disputed the charges.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sarmar Oct 07, 2009

    Same exact thing just happened to me. Parenting magazine said they would refund the $20. I called the store where I've shopped (and spent too much $$$) and spoke to the manager who has waited on me several times. She pulled up my receipt and told me that I did authorize the magazine offer. I asked if she had my signature, to which she said she didn't. I told her that I don't recall her ever offering this magazine to me let alone authorizing the transaction from my checking account. The manager also told me that I would have had to sign my name twice on the key pad (once for the clothing transaction and again for the magazine). I would never have signed my name twice especially for a magazine. I let her know that this scam that her company has is all over the internet for trying to trick people. She sounded shocked, but how could she be when I'm sure she's done this to lots of other women? I will be calling my attorney general's office and warning my pregnant friends to be very wary when shopping at Motherhood Maternity. I won't be shopping there anytime soon.

    0 Votes
  • Sw
    swatis Oct 21, 2009

    Same thing happened with me. Even I bought some clothes from Maternity Motherhood and now after few weeks my credit card was charged 20 $ for some stupid WPI parenting Magazine. I called them up n they said that they will refund it to me within 12 hours. lets I am waiting. Will let you guy know if they actually refund the amount or its a fraud once again.

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnnaTinnes Nov 12, 2009

    This happened to me this morning. Here is the email from their customer service spokesperson:

    Good morning Ms. XXXX,

    On behalf of Destination Maternity Corporation, I deeply apologize for your experience with our Parenting Magazine promotion. We absolutely never want to sign someone up for the promotion without his or her full understanding and acceptance of the offer.

    We have developed three different safeguards to help ensure that our customers are fully explained the details of the promotion. First, our sales associate should have verbally explained the offer which includes two risk free issues of Parenting magazine, and continues with 18 more issues for $20 if not canceled during the 60 day trial period. Second, our sales associate should have directed you to the signature pad that details the offer and authorizes us to transfer your information to Parenting Magazine. This same information would also print out at the end of your receipt. The sales associate should have then handed you a brochure that further details the promotion. Finally, Parenting Magazine sends an acknowledgement notice of the subscription with a 1-800 number to cancel the magazine. We sincerely apologize if this entire process did not happen in your experience.

    I would be happy to contact Parenting Magazine on your behalf to ensure that your subscription has been canceled, and any charge has been refunded; please send me your full name and address so I may do so. Once received, I will also have you removed from our database.

    Again, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience to a valued customer.

    Please let me know if there is any further assistance that I can provide in this matter.

    Best regards,
    Rachel Perskie

    Here is my response:

    Ms. Perskie,

    Thank you for your prompt response.

    Your salesperson did not explain to me that my debit card information was being transferred to anyone. While I don’t doubt that many interesting or important things might be printed on your receipt, I am unfamiliar with any agreement to allow Motherhood Maternity to act as my proxy in any financial transactions. Please note that this email, along with my complaints, serve as written documentation that any such agreement, however deceptively or incompletely presented or explained, is terminated effective immediately.

    I have contacted Parenting Magazine myself to insure that my account is refunded. If it is not, I will contact you. Please feel free to call Parenting Magazine to make certain this is completed.

    I sent her my address.

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnnaTinnes Nov 12, 2009

    Here is the letter I sent to the FTC, the AG(s), and the BBB:

    To Whom it May Concern:

    I received an unsolicited subscription to Parenting Magazine. Upon contacting Parenting Magazine, I learned that Motherhood Maternity supplied my debit card information to Parenting Magazine, authorizing a $20 deduction for a subscription to Parenting Magazine. In contacting Motherhood Maternity, I have not been able speak to anyone about how I ever received this magazine, and I am truly disturbed by the notion that I cant figure out who requested it and how my credit card information stopped being my property. I did not authorize Motherhood Maternity to transfer my debit card information to Parenting Magazine. I did not request a subscription to Parenting Magazine from Motherhood Maternity, did not open a credit or other account with Motherhood Maternity, and want to make sure someone else did not apply for a subscription or authorize this transaction using my information. I have asked Motherhood Maternity to cancel any and all credit cards, subscriptions, or other purchase agreements issued by Motherhood Maternity in my name. I have reported this incident to the Attorney general of Minnesota, the Attorney General of Pennsylvania, the FTC, and the BBB of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. I have asked Motherhood Maternity to send me written documentation that I have no active accounts with their organization, and that no further charges to my debit card are pending or in process. I have asked Motherhood Maternity to please remove me from all marketing lists associated with their organization. And not to contact me for any reason other than to resolve this matter.

    0 Votes
  • Tj
    tjb09 Nov 13, 2009

    Same thing with me, I contact both companies and am supposed to get a call back Monday from Motherhood. I filed with the BBB as well. I had blown it off at first because my husband had signed me up for free issues of Baby Talk several months ago and thought it may have been connected to that since they are part of the same company. I only discovered I wasn't the only one with this problem after googling it and finding these comments. Make sure you contact Motherhood and request they removed all your information and get it in writing.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Hooha03 Dec 10, 2009

    Just had the same thing happen to me! I called Parenting and told them I never signed up for the magazine, that I simply authorized Motherhood to send me 3 free Parenting Magazines. I was never told that Motherhood would be giving my card info. to Parenting in order for them to charge me for a subcription. Parenting refunded the money and cancelled the subscription. But the lady I paoke with, Laura, did not sound even remotely surprised by my complaint, and the call lasted less than 3 minutes. Apparently this happens a lot.

    0 Votes
  • Eb
    Ebiere Ohochukwu Dec 15, 2009

    I have experienced the exact same thing and i want to say that this is stealing, it is fraud in every sense of the word and i intend to do something about it.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kandi G Dec 29, 2009

    The exact same thing happened to me. I called [protected] and they said they would refund the money but that it would take up to 3 weeks to show up on my account. I told them that I expected to see it then as I was currently looking a web site about fraudulent charges being filed against them and that I would follow up with charges myself if I was not refunded. When we are purchasing gifts for our daughters or friends; we should not have to go over receipts to insure that we are not being charged for subscriptions that we would never agree to. I am glad to see so many others responding to this so that maybe we can put a stop to this practice.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bingo999 Jan 18, 2010

    I'm a MA resident. I've also found a fishy transaction from WPI Parent--something when I was speaking with my credit card company. I don't know where they've stolen my credit card info, but I assume I was trying to purchase something online the other day, and maybe my PC was infected with some virus or something. But as I was Googling for "wpi"+"parenting"+"fraud", I've found this site. Maybe, a long time ago, I might have been to some maternity shop in the nearby mall. Anyways, this is serious, and I've asked the card company to decline that transaction. As a result, I had to replace my card for a new one. Meanwhile, I'd have to live without a card, despite our plan for a holiday trip next week. Quite an inconvenience. This should not be happening.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    schmolly Feb 01, 2010

    Same thing happened to me. You would think something would be done by now. I am going to post on my Facebook and tell anyone that will listen to NOT shop at Motherhood Stores. I never authorized this because I have no use for a parenting magazine, I was at the store buying a gift for a friend. This is ridiculous.

    *****BOYCOTT MOTHERHOOD STORE *****

    There's no use in "filing a complaint with the store." THEY HAVE NO INTENTION OF FIXING THIS PROBLEM! The length of time this fraud has been happening, if they were going to resolve the issue due to complaints, they would have done something by now. DON'T SHOP THERE. I am never going there again!!!

    0 Votes
  • 12
    123 go Feb 02, 2010

    just tonight...i was looking through my banking account...freakin 20$ was debited for this stupid wpi mag thing...then googled it...n here i am with the rest of evryone...i bet it is that dumb maternity place...the magazine place is now closed but i am furious...called the bank...n they said they will take care of it...i will definitly call n [censored] at whom is responsible...

    0 Votes
  • Nw
    N. Williams Feb 04, 2010

    Received a bill in the mail from Parenting "Early Years" magazine. Found out (after a search for complaints about similar circumstances) that it was after we made a purchase at Motherhood Maternity. We've only shopped there once and I specifically remember telling the sales associate that we did NOT want to sign up for any magazines.

    This activity from a company like Motherhood Maternity (in conjunction with Parenting Magazine and their parent corporation Bonnier) seems like fraud. I'm not an attorney, nor do I have the money to hire one to start a class action lawsuit, but I certainly hope someone gets one started on this soon. My wife and I will be the first to sign up.

    0 Votes
  • St
    StacyH Feb 26, 2010

    This happened to me today, too. I found the $20 charge on my bedit card account and KNEW without a doubt that I told the sales associate NO when she asked if I wanted two free months of Parenting Magazine. I called the store manager and when I asked if the SAs receive points or incentives to sign people up for the magaizine, she didn't deny it! They are incentivizing their employees to be THEIVES! How dishonest can your company be to do this? I have also written to the BBB, but seriously, this has to stop!

    0 Votes
  • An
    angryatmotherhood Mar 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got a charge of $20 for the same magazine when I went in. Be careful because they use the whole "debit card machine is down" scheme for you to enter it in as credit and sign but what you are signing for is the subscription. They stole my credit card information and signed me up for the magazine. I reported it not only to the better business bureou but the police as well. I never authorized the charge and it is credit card fraud. So if this happens to you definitely report it to the BBB and police. This is outrageous and absoluteky ridiculous.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    mellom87 Mar 30, 2010

    I had a baby 4 days ago and he is staying in the NICU...this has caused me a lot of financial strain with staying in hotels and eating oout. 2 months ago I bought a work shirt at Motherhood Maternity and this one time purchase apparently gave them the right to release my credit card information to WPI Parenting Magazine...as if my week has net been stressful enough, now I have to dispute fraudulant charges on my account! Thanks a lot Motherhood Maternity! NEVER AGAIN WILL I SHOP THERE...this is wrong on so many levels, now I have a sick new baby, and an overdrafted bank account and have to transfer from savings just to cover my ###...it's bull

    0 Votes
  • Di
    displeased81 Mar 31, 2010

    I called Motherhood at [protected] and immediately told whoever answered I needed to speak to someone about the Parenting Magazine subscription. I was transferred and explained the situation. I was immediately told that the sales clerk must not have explained the subscription process properly, but they would get my information and forward it to Parenting Magazine to have it canceled, and my $20.00 refunded within the next billing cycle. I was also given a number for Parenting Magazine to check to see if it had been done [protected]), which is a different number than what has been posted here, so I hope that will help out someone in the future. I will be calling back to check to see if it has been done. I'll give them a few weeks.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    March2010 Mar 31, 2010

    03/31/2010, Just had to call and get the charge reversed as well. Bought clothes for a friend 3 months ago, and a charge just magically appeared today. Store was in Wichita, Ks mall. The clerk asked if we wanted the magazines and we told her no. Guess she didn't listen. :(

    0 Votes
  • Rh
    Rhonda B Apr 02, 2010

    I just dealt with the same thing... called the WPI Parenting 800 number listed on my online banking account. I am pregnant and have been shopping at Motherhood Maternity, but WILL NOT be shopping there anymore if I can help it. I have not authorized any subscriptions to Parenting Magazine, my OB/GYN offers a FREE subscription so I have no reason to buy one. I am asked every time I buy clothes from Motherhood if I would like a "complimentary" subscription to Motherhood, and I always decline. I thought "complimentary" meant free???

    Will be filing complaints with BBB, Att Gen of NC, Motherhood and Parenting mag. This is criminal activity as far as I am concerned.

    0 Votes
  • An
    angryatmotherhood2 Apr 16, 2010

    i posted something about a month ago under the name angryatmotherhood. when i called the store i was straight out told by the person who helped us that they dont take decline's because they get credit and rewards for signing people up. she also said that most people don't even realize it. seriously?!?!?!?!?!?!!!??? she said that. she openly admitted to stealing my credit card information so she can be rewarded. i tried reporting them to the BBB and they aren't a registered company. i got my charges reserved in about 72 hours. good luck everyone and boycott motherhood.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    localb Apr 20, 2010

    Same thing happened to me. I called the MN Attorney Generals office and they agreed this was wrong and asked me to submit a complaint - which was very easy. I urge you all to do the same. I definitely declined and even asked them not to share my information. I will not shop at Motherhood Maternity anymore.

    0 Votes
  • No
    nomoremotherhood99999 Apr 22, 2010

    Same thing here only we live in New York. We visited the Motherhood Maternity Store in White Plains and they added the subscription to our purchase. While we were checking out they were telling us about the magazine after already taking our credit card. A little line for a signature pops up just like with every other credit card transaction and we signed it. Afterwords I found out that the first screen was for the magazine and I had just agreed to giving them my credit card info. I asked to speak with a store manager and there was nothing that they could do. I was not happy at all about this and immediately called Parenting Magazine. The first rep said that there was nothing that they could do. I called back a second time and the next person was nice enough to take down my information, watch out for the subscription to appear in the system, and then cancel it for me. This was back on March 31st and today we just received a copy of the magazine in the mail. I called and sure enough they are telling me that the order was canceled. They did say that we will probably receive another next month. I will keep checking my credit card statement to make sure. This whole situation is a shame. We enjoyed our experience at the Motherhood store and then left very unhappy. The motherhood store must really be making a ton off of these magazine subscriptions. If not, I can't understand why anyone would submit their customers to this type of nonsense. They have certainly lost us as customers.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mirnavela317 May 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also found this charge on my bank statement today, and after a quick Google search, found this site. I have contacted both Parenting Magazine as well as Motherhood Maternity. I have not yet heard back from Parenting (aside from an auto-response that says they will read the email I sent them and reply if needed), but I got this response from Motherhood with in a couple hours:

    _____________________
    Good afternoon,

    On behalf of Destination Maternity Corporation, I deeply apologize for your experience with our Parenting Magazine promotion. We absolutely never want to sign someone up for the promotion without his or her full understanding and acceptance of the offer.

    We have developed three different safeguards to help ensure that our customers are fully explained the details of the promotion. First, our sales associate should have verbally explained the offer which includes one risk free preview issue of Parenting Early Years Magazine and continues with 19 more issues for $20 if not canceled during the 30 day preview period. Second, our sales associate should have directed you to the signature pad that details the offer and authorizes us to transfer your information to Parenting Magazine. This same information would also print out at the end of your receipt. The sales associate should have handed you a brochure that further details the promotion. Finally Parenting Magazine sends an acknowledgement notice of the subscription with a [protected]) number to cancel the magazine. We sincerely apologize if this entire or portion of this process did not happen in your experience.

    I would be happy to contact Parenting Magazine on your behalf to ensure that your subscription has been canceled and the $20 subscription fee has been refunded to your account. Please send me your full name and address so I may do so. Also if possible please email the store location of your purchase (city, state and mall name).

    Again we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience to a valued customer.

    Please let me know if there is any further assistance that I can provide in this matter.

    Best regards,
    Cecilia Markowski
    __________________________
    I replied with my name, address, and the store location where I previously shopped. I also added that even though I had received an apology, I still intended to discontinue my patronage of their company and would encourage my family and friends to do likewise.
    Good luck to everyone else going through this issue.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mirnavela317 Jun 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just wanted to say that I HAVE been refunded the $20. I hope everyone else is successful as well.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    GemmaT Jun 08, 2010

    Wow this is unbelievable how many people this has happened too on here. I just saw a 20$ debit on my bank account tonight. Im beyond livid as im sure everyone on here is. Has anyone gotten a lawyer? This is illegal. Im going to contact a lawyer and see what they can do to make this stop obvioulsy the store isnt going to stop violating peoples bank accounts.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.