The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Valvoline Instant Oil Changeengine blew ip

P Review updated:

TOOK MY TRUCK TO VALVOLINE FOR A ROUTINE OIL CHANGE, THEY SUGGESTED I NEEDED A FEW OTHER SERVICES, SO I SAID OK, THE NEXT DAY GOT UP TO GO TO WORK AND TRUCK WAS MAKING A LOUD NOISE AND KEPY DYING, I WENT BACK TO VALVOLINE AND THEY SAID TO TAKE TO MIKE'S AUTOMOTIVE TO CHECK IT OUT, THE N THEY TOLD ME MY ENGINE BLEW A GASKET AND PISTON, THE MOTOR HAS BLEW UP, AND THEY SAID THEY PERFORMED ALL THE WORK CORRECTLY AND WILL PAY HALF OF THE COST TO REPLACE MOTOR TO A COST OF OVER FOUR THOUSAND DOLLARS AND CAN' T SAY THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DAMAGES, THEY DAMAGED MY TRUCK AND WONT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY, I WILL NEVER USE VALVOLINE AGAIN, AND I WILL SPREAD THE WORD, THEY DO NOT STAND BY THEIR 100 % GUARANTEE, THEY ARE TRYING TO SAY MY MOTOR MUST HAVE BLEW UP ON IT'S OWN OUT OF THE CLEAR BLUE SKY, WHICH IS ABSURD, I WILL KEEP FIGHTING FOR VALVOLINE TO TAKE FULL RESPONSIBLITY FOR THEIR MISTAKE, THEY DID A FUEL INJECTION CLEANING AND SOMETHING HAPPENED TO MY TRUCK

Responses

  • Ha
    Habitat Junk Mar 10, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I took my Hyundai to the Valvoline instant oil change in Kaiser, Oregon and they overfilled my engine by at least a quart which came up the valves and blew the valve seat guide seals which in turn started the engine smoking so bad I had to junk the car which I paid $3000 for. The next day I took the car to them to ask them to take out the extra oil and they made me leave by backing all the way around the building. I turned all this into their higher-ups. I finally decided not to sue them. So about a year later I thought I would go back in there and ask them to drain out a pint of oil out of my new car and put in an additive. I was willing to pay for the service but they chose to be rude to me and make me back completely around the building for the second time. These people should owe me $3000 dollars and won't do this little thing for me even when I am willing to pay for the job. They had all their bays empty and were doing nothing and refused to let me drive thru the bay but made me back out and all the way around the building. Where do these people learn their people skills. Maybe they should be taught people skills before they are hired. They are RUDE< RUDE> RUDE. Maybe I should decide to sue them for the engine after all.

    -1 Votes
  • Ba
    badfish Oct 29, 2011

    it's funny to read these complaints cause this is the exact thing that happened to my truck.i brought it in and they were done super quick.i marveled at the speed of the repair.however wehn i went to leave my car wuldn't start.then a week later on my way o work my engine blew...kinda funny how we are cing the same things happen here..not really funny at all...when i brought my truck in to the shop they said i had ran out of oil...kinda hard to run out of oil when u got it changed only a week ago..i really dont think they even changed it and if the did i had an oil leak that they failed to let me know about.thats why i pay for my car to get fixed because i dont know much about that stuff..and for me to pay money only for my truck to blow is absurd.i hope the karma police pay a visist to that vavoline right across from the other on telegraph in st.louie missouri

    0 Votes
  • St
    stlcardinalsfan May 10, 2011

    05/10/11
    We took our 2002 Ford Escape that only had 80, 000 miles on it to Valvoline on Hampton Ave. in St. Louis, MO yesterday for a routine oil change. Not even 2 hours later our car started acting funny making noises and dying. THen it acted as if something blew so we got it to the mechanic at the end of our street and he says the engine blew. Come now, they did something to our car we only had 80, 000 miles on our motor, and it is in excellent condition. When my husband gets home from work we are calling corporate, and we are fighting for this. THey need to fix what they messed up!

    0 Votes
  • B2
    B2004 Dec 01, 2010

    Well said phillyb85!!

    2 Votes
  • Ph
    phillyb85 Jul 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    First off, your complaint does not make much sense. There is not enough information to sound valid. How long have you been taking your truck to Valvoline? Do you always do preventive maintenance on schedule for your vehicle? How old is your truck and how many miles were on the ENGINE? Valvoline offers a limited engine guarantee where if you started using Valvoline before 125, 000 miles and continue to use Valvoline oil every 3, 000 miles as recommended and any problems occur with your engine no farther than 150, 000 - 300, 000 miles (depending on grade), Valvoline will pay to replace your engine, including labor. VIOC' offers a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee with almost all of their services which entitles you to a full REFUND if you are not satisfied with the service. Did you bother to file a claim with VIOC while you were there, or did you heed all the precautions after talking to the manager? Were you willing to let them help you, or just wanted to ###? Based on your typing in all caps, probably the latter.
    In regard to Mr. Evans comments, you work at an independent quick lube shop. From the sounds of your problems with VIOC, it is most likely just the location closest to you. There are many other independent shops that use Valvoline products, and if you assume that the filter dictates where the previous service was, you're just as naive as the techs that strip out the oil pans and double gasket the filter. A lot of people could have similar problems with Jiffy Pube or Walfart's tire center.
    If the customer has a problem with their previous service, they should worry about it, not you. If you don't want their sloppy seconds, then direct the customer to where they had their previous service.

    Cite: www.engineguarantee.com

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jack Evans May 24, 2010

    i work at an oil change shop and every single time i get a car or truck in that ws previously serviced at valvoline i notice issues. some or simple, common sense mistakes i notice that they make. and others are are a little more serious. the biggest problem i have with them is the lack of professionialism. drain plugs, way way way too tight as well as oil filters. leaving the rubber seal on an oil filter causing a leak is also something i see. all i know is that yes i work in a quick lube shop, but i know if i didnt i would NOT take mine to valvoline. very bad service alot of the time in my opinion.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.