Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Internet & Software AOL Unauthorized debit withdrawals!

AOL review: Unauthorized debit withdrawals!

V
Author of the complaint
12:00 am EST
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

2/13/2007 -2/19/2007 debit withdrawals on banking statement that are unauthorized for unknown services. How did this company get access to my account number and get this authorized. I am currently unemployed and I need my money to survive. This is totally unacceptable!

ADVERTISIMENT

More AOL complaints & reviews

AOL - ? what is it
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
AOL - Refund
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
AOL - Change of billing method
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
AOL - Rip off
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
AOL - Email hostage
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
AOL - Fraudulent charges
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
123 comments
Add a comment
D

After 30 years of the same mailman, for some reason they changed mailmen routes.The new mail personputs all my mail on the mail box carrier and with all the recent wind storms we are getting, my mail is all over the yard & street.I asked the new man to put the mail in the mail box, now he forces everthing into the mail box including magazines which destroys some of the mail.Can't he just put the mail in the box and the magazines on the carrier like all the other mail people.I hate to tell him for fear he may do something else stupid. Thank You
Dom. P. Sinisi

P S/ Would like reply.

"E" Mail address is [email protected]

K
Apr 22, 2014 6:11 pm EDT

AOL offered a free trial for their top end service. I used it, found it unexceptional, then attempted to cancel. At cancel attempt, they offered to repeat the free trial, so I took them up on it. Again, two days before I attempted to cancel, AOL offered yet another free extension. I accepted. Halfway into that period, they billed me for $55. I called and complained. They said I should have cancelled "by phone" regardless of the repeated free offers. They refused to cancel the charge and I expect a long fight to keep my credit clean because of their fraud.

M
Aug 26, 2012 2:34 am EDT

I tried to contact the AOL to get tech support but when the technician finished his work I received bill from UBILL.COM. I don’t know how it moved out. Now I need to pay them $500. I don’t have so much money! Please help to stop this scamming.

K
Apr 16, 2009 4:54 pm EDT

What are these $32.00 charges I get every month? My husband just noticed them and is livid. I have been charged for a long time. Stop these charges and please respond Karen and Kevin Kean

S
Dec 02, 2007 12:00 am EST

After finding out that after all the promises from aol that i would get 8meg speeds after being a loyal customer for over 3 years now i find im being ripped off and am getting just under half the promised speed. POOR SHOW ME THINKS JUST ANOTHER NOTCH ON THE RIP OFF BRITAIN POST.

D
Nov 06, 2006 12:00 am EST

Received AOL High Speed Offer in the mail. I called the number on the card [protected] on 5/17/2006. I was told if I signed up on the phone right then I would receive a $50 Visa.
I signed up. I have called back 8 times, the last time being today 10/17/2006 and again have been ignored. Supervisor Christie #60231 said she cannot call the AOL Corporate Office on my behalf because they are a call center and don't have any outbound telephone lines. Teresa Young of AOL Corporate Office had called me on Thursday 10/5/2006 and promised she would have an answer for me by the next day 10/06/2006. I have not heard from her since. I wasted my money calling Teresa Young at [protected] (AOL Corp.) today since Christie #60231said she couldn't call for me. Teresa Young has not returned my call.

Diane

Conway, SC 29526

L
Dec 01, 2006 12:00 am EST

I had receive a over draft slip from my bank saying that twx*aol had taken 30.90 from me and i don't even have an aol account. I don't have money to just give away.

S
Aug 12, 2016 6:13 am EDT

They have debited $32.90 out of my bank acct. for the past 2mos. I don't have aol.I called them and they said they couldn't find any information on me but yet the money came out of my acct. The rep. said she would get me over to a supervisor, Placed me on hold and the supervisor never came to the phone!

A
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

We have conducted our business correspondence on AOL for over 14 yrs as PAYING customers! Recently, we found we could not sign in. After calling "customer service" we were told our account had been "closed for violations", and that our "recourse" was to SEND A LETTER (send a letter?) to an address in VA. and wait 10-15 days for them to contact us! We sent a letter -paid express mail, signature required - 5 days ago and have heard nothing. Attempts to contact any viable person (i.e., legal dept.) have been unsuccesful as we are told to "write a letter". Meanwhile, we are missing business correspondence and feel totally frustrated, mistreated, and cheated. IF there was some violation, shouldn't we know about it? IF we have been victims of identity theft or spam, shouldn't we be informed? I am LIVID! LIVID! We are only waiting to transfer all of our contact info. to a new service. What a travesty...we are considering legal action.

K
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

We have had AOL for 2 years and decided to open a second account for business. We gave all checking account info and the CD listed $23.95 for unlimited minutes.

Two months later I got a big shock when my bank informed me that my checking account was overdrawn by $1, 210.00. It seems that AOL was charging me per minute. Since I thought I had unlimited usage, I would sometimes stay connected all day.

I contacted AOL customer service and they refused to credit me anything and informed me that my up-coming bill was over 500.00.

This has caused me so much and there seems to be nothing I can do about it.

They claim I set my billing per minute versus the unlimited that I had had the past 2 years.

K
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

I have become very regimented in checking my bank statements every couple of months after several issues like this, it's too bad we have to take our time to fix the mistakes and theivery of others. Last month I found this AOL charge for services I never ordered since I haven't been with them for almost 10 years. Calling them they informed me they will send an affidavit for me to fill out, and if they approve it then they will remove the charge. I had to take my time to call them, time to contact my bank, fill out their stupid form and wait even though when I called they could not find any info under my name, address, phone, or SSI#. I have a theory that they are flagging certain people as being fair game because they are elderly, sick, or disabled. Problem is they didn't take into consideration that because some people have broken bodies this does not mean their minds are broken too. At this time I have so many issues such as this it tends to get to be overwhelming, but I'll get through it with persistance. I have an elderly frend this is happening to but even though he knows the charges are wrong, he pays them anyway just to be rid of it. If I ever get caught up I'll start to tackle his, so people please DO NOT PAY and try to hang in there for the duration of the fight. I am getting over from being homebound a year and I am waiting for the last health issues to be gone so I can get out into the world again and this makes me wonder- did I find my calling, do we need a consumers group where people can learn to fight this fraud? This column sure helps.

J
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

My name is James P. Haas - my e-mail address is [email protected]
On Saturday August 30, 2010, I suddenly lost all the e-mails I had in my inbox. I got in touch with aol and was referred to LORY, with whom I had a typewritten exchange. LORY stated: "I apologize but during a routine maintenance process with our mail system, some members' accounts showed that older emails disappeared. Please be assured that these emails were not lost and that the Mail Team is working diligently to restore these emails to your mailbox soon." All the emails were recovered within two or three days, but I find a charge of $48.00 in my last credit card statement (Ref.: 3GF45*00 - Justanswer *Tech Sprt). I think the charge is unwarranted since I am not in the least responsible for the mishap.

I
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

When considering AOL for my computer, they said I would get a Senior Citizen discount through AARP. They also said my satisfaction was guaranteed. After I gave them my credit card number, I started using it, but I would sometime give up trying to get in on the numbers they provided because it would not make connection.

Every time I got into something on AOL I wanted to read it would time me out or drop me off line. IT WAS NOT ONLY SLOW, IT CLOGGED MY COMPUTER UP WITH SPAM, COOKIES, AND OTHER UNWANTED ADVERTISING AND EMAIL.

Four months later I noticed my credit card charges and saw that not only did I not get the discount, but they were charging me more than they originally quoted. After another couple weeks, I finally got through to them. They said I have to get the discount through on the Internet. I had to call technical services to get the information on how to do it.

Another couple weeks went by before I got them. They told me how I was supposed to do it, but it never worked. Finally, I called to cancel the service and get back my money. By now a year had gone by. They said while they have a satisfaction guarantee that does not mean they give a refund.

I told them I wanted them to stop the service at the end of the current month they had already charged to my account. The billing person said she would.

Three more months went by and I noticed they were still billing my account for the full amount even though I had not used the Internet. I called again. They said they could not terminate service on a future date. It had to be terminated on the date you call in, or you have to call in again.

It took me 18 months to terminate bad service and not one dime did they ever refund.

Don't do business with these charlatans.

P
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

First call... I wound up hanging up on the person because she hardly spoke English and was asking questions that had nothing to do with what I wanted. After noticing AOL wasn't cancelled on my next visa bill, I had my husband call.

This person kept him on the phone for 20 minutes trying to get us not to cancel offering us all kinds of "perks."

I was told by this new person "not to assume" anything and wanted to know why I was so "BITTER." The attitude of this woman was so condescending.

I asked to speak to a supervisor and was told I was talking to the "LEADER" of the floor.

We needed a cancellation number and this "LEADER" kept us on the phone until she was good and ready to give us the number.

We will NEVER use AOL again and advise friends and acquaintances the same.

L
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

This morning I tried to access my mail on AOL. They had a page for me to complete to continue the process. I completed their page, including security process (copy the image) six times and cannto get into my mail, unless I pay a little fee (their words) for customer help. I have almost 1000 message being held up by them. This sounds liek a ply to get me to sign up for an account but this was sprung on me overnight. Yesterday there was no problem and full access. Today nothing and no warning, either. There is no link for those of us with "free" accounts. The only help you get is if you pay. I cannot determine who Federal agency oversees them, but I have discovered that there are a lot of complaints about them. I need to get my email. There are important letters there referring to legal issues. This maneuver has to be stopped!

W
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

ON June 5th 2006, I received the following Email from AOL.

NOTICE: AOL® Gift Reminders service to be Discontinued

To our valued Gift Reminders Subscribers,
The AOL® Shopping Gift Reminders service will be discontinued on June 5, 2006. If you would like to retain any information you have stored within the service, please go to AOL Keyword: Gift Reminders within the next 60 days. After that time, your stored information will no longer be available.

To continue keeping track of your important gift giving occasions, we recommend using the AOL "Remind Me" feature. Go to AOL Keyword: "Remind Me" and you will be prompted to add your events to your personal calendar. You will also be able to have your reminders sent to you via IM or email.

I have tried since receiving this with no success to retrieve the information that AOL said would be available for 60 days with absolutely no results. I have talked and emailed to tech support and they don't seem to understand or want to help solve this dilemma. I was told they would be transferred to my calendar-they were not, Then I was told they would refer it to a system engineer but I have never received any further communication . Ending this type of service without adequate notice is inexcusable and if I can't retrieve the information I will be ending a 10+ year association with AOL (I paid my children's membership long before I had my own screen name! )

M
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

I've been a customer of AOL for over 18 years but now it has become nothing more than a store front for advertisers. It has become impossible to navigate because all of the space is taken up with adverts. Every email must be enlarged in order to read it, and then enlarged again to respond. Even the sign off page is an advert that must first be viewed before sign off is possible. To make matters worse, the emails flash which pulls the eye away from the working screen. AOL has become intrusive and bothersome. Not only do I not recommend anyone taking up the service, I will also not be doing business with the companies who contirbute to making what was once a pleasurable and effective communication system become absolutely irritating.

R
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

I’m getting thoroughly fed up with the hassle of trying to cancel my AOL Broadband subscription. I have recently moved in with my girlfriend who already has O2 broadband, so the AOL service on my old (rented) flat is simply no longer required.
I contacted AOL, and the cancellation instruction seemed to be accepted OK. Just to be sure, I wrote to my bank, asking them to cancel the payment at their end too. Then, when my subscription date came around, surprise surprise, the payment was taken out of my account. I initially phoned my bank, who explained that the payment to AOL is by debit card, rather than Direct Debit, which means they (the bank) can’t stop it at their end. However they did offer to put through a chargeback claim, to get the money back from AOL.
I also contacted AOL who apologised, and confirmed that my service had definitely been cancelled. Needless to say, this month the same thing has happened again. It’s only £20 but that’s really not the point – is there no way to stop these people taking money for a service they are no longer providing?!
Please AOL, get in touch with me and help stop this aggravation happening again.

S
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

I cancelled my AOL connection in May, right after my mother passed away in order to cut back on unnecessary spending. But AOL is billing me for June & July and harassing me over the phone.

They claim they have no record of my call.

There was no usage during June & July, but the "outsourced" individuals who I have spoken to have either issues understanding English or they are poorly trained in making an assessment of lack of connectivity usage & phone call retrieval.

I would not recommend AOL due to poor customer service and inability for conflict resolution.

T
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

i have been unable to access aol website for approx 32 days even after 10 phone calls each lasting at least 30 mins ( cut off on 1 call after 47 mins) i was promised compensation for the time offline by the consumer dept but there again i was promised 2 phone calls from level 2 engineers that never happened. do i need to spend more money to try and claim the promised compensation ?
why after 10 phone calls costing god knows what i was still off line then after 1 phone call today i am back online ?
one other query on every phone call i was told it was an aol fault so why does it cost me money to put it right

R
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

I hate how hard AOL has made it now to download your pictures. They use to have nice Albums that you could decorate. Now you have to drag your pictures to get them in the spot you want to make your Album. UPGRADE my foot. Every time they upgrade something on AOL it is worst. I have had AOL for years, and this picture business is the Worst. Wake up AOL are you are going to be finding yourself at the bottom of the stock market..

AOL You've Got Pictures... YUCK

B
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

Do not trust AOL. After 3 years of annoying, unresolved issues with that company, they terminated my service.

They deleted years worth of saved email, etc, without notice or my consent, because they didn't like my user profile.

I had no warning. Many important contacts gone. I needed to print new business cards etc, because I used AOL email as a business email address.

It is unbelievably frustrating, and I would advise everyone to not use AOL.

Save yourself the headache.

Also, in the years, I had problems which they "resolved" by giving me a month of free service. They did not bill me for a month, but then DOUBLE BILLED me the next month to make up for it. CROOKS!

A
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

On the phone the customer service rep reminded me that I had 2 more months left on my contract. So I told him to forget about it and I would fulfill my commitment.

The next thing that I knew my AOL account was cancelled. They sent me a bill for the remaining months. I sent it back to them with a note telling them I would not pay as they were the ones that shut me off. Today almost a year later I was called by a collection agency about the money AOL says I owe them.

I can't get customer service for AOL as I do not have time to wait on the phone for them.

M
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

I have been constantly disconnected from the internet. My computer is set up properly. AOL just wants to reset computer settings. I have several times, and most of the time I can not even use the net after they change them. I must change everything back.I have called AOL on Febuary 3 2000 to complain, nicely I am not a rude person just angry.The customer service person hung up. I called back spoke with a women told her what happened, I asked to talk to a manager I was told their was none their to talk to. I was told they would call me. Well its know Febuary 12, 2000 no one has. I have constantly complained and filled out online reports. I never get any response, but the lines are being worked on.I am frustrated I pay $21.99 a month for unlimited service, THAT I AM NOT GETTING.I have AOL since June 1999.I am in the final month. I will not renew another month. I have prodigy now for 2 months and I have no problems.I feel I should be paid back all the money I paid them.

D
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

After calling to cancel my AOL service, I received a letter 2 weeks later saying how AOL was excited that I changed my mind!

I never changed my mind. I called to confirm cancellation and they couldn't find it in their system!

The slow woman on the phone kept asking me questions about, "Are you aware that..." and inserted lines there.

She kept me on the phone for 20 minutes trying to change my mind and finally I told her " I want to cancel today, I want this taken care of today, right now!"

AOL will do anything to keep you from canceling, so be firm and tell them NOW to cancel your account!

P
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

I now have another internet provider so just wanted to keep the AOL e mail so I called several months ago to cancel the service and the 25$ monthly fee. I was given a confirmation number Name). Months later they continue to charge the $25 monthly fee but changed my service to some creepy poor immitation product which I figure is the free service. I called again to try to cancel again, I finally managed to get a real person (name) she would not let me cancel. I did not want their virus protection I have virus protection, Then to top it off they have a strong arm technique to make sure that they still have you hooked. They did say that they would credit me a month. How much do you want to bet she will credit me the
free month? They should be charged with lies cheating strong arm

J
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

When I switced to verizon I was told that I would get also aol whitch I had used for years. Now as time passes aol is getting harder and harder to use. This started about 3 years ago with occasional site cannot be found . It has progressed to Whoops we are sorry we will restart your browser please hold on! I have got to the point where 3 out of 5 searches yield 0 resultes or they direct you to irellivent websites Come"on verizon You have a contract. get it right.

D
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

I began receiving charges of $25.90 in March. In April the charges were hitting twice a month. I spoke with the customer service department who needed my credit card account number in order to look up my account. They said I had 3 accounts, yet I have not one icon or shortcut to AOL on my computer. They said they would transfer me to the cancellation department. Mysteriously I was disconnected. With the cycle of a new credit card billing, I had the courage to call again, which by the way, their call menu is very long and cumbersome. The cancellation dept. told me I had only 2 accounts open, and one did not have my personal name on it so they could not tell me details of the account. The user names are nothing I would ever make up. Because the first charges went back to March, the Cancellation dept told me I should talk to the Fraud dept. I was on hold for 15 minutes and gave up for today. I think the real fraud dept. I need to call is not associated with AOL. In reading the many entries in ComplaintsBoard.com, it sounds like my lawmakers need to become involved.

T
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

She demanded to know what service I was switching to and berated me about why I would want to give up AOL when they offer virus protection, etc.

I repeatedly told her to just cancel my account and skip the arguments.

She got very loud and nasty with me and kept trying to bully me to stay.

When I demanded a confirmation number, she put me on hold. I asked for a supervisor and she said she was the supervisor. I finally got a cancellation confirmation number, but she said it wouldn't be effective for a month.

I was forced to listen through a recording or my cancellation wouldn't be effective.

Very hateful tactics used to keep a customer/victim by making it very difficult to leave!

S
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

This letter is about recurring charges on my credit card account. On April 5th I cancelled my account with you-confirmation NO. [protected]. I was subsequently charged $25.90x3 times. I called AOL office on May 30th about this matter and got another cancellation Conf. No.[protected]. A refund of $41.90. showed on my July Mastercard statement, but at the same time another $25.90 was deducted. Could you rectify this matter. There seem to have been two accounts:" [email protected] "and "[email protected] aol.com." To my knowledge I had just one account.

Thank you for your attention.

R
Aug 03, 2016 4:59 am EDT

They want money from me to play certain games such as Tri Peaks Solitaire! I feel this is wrong! I feel that if it wasn't for AOL in the first place, Pogo Games would have fizzled out!

I pay $23.90 a month to AOL and have from the start! Can't AOL put some pressure on Pogo Games so we at AOL can play all of their games for free? I happen to think that AOL can do just that!

After all, if it weren't for AOL, there wouldn't ever have been Pogo Games in the first place, now would there!

B
Aug 03, 2016 4:58 am EDT

AOL terminated my account with no warning and no reason. Calls to India advise me to write a letter to their Community Action Team. This is a Company that has been charged with deceptively adding adware to they software they provide, disclosing subscribers search queries that included names addresses, health info, causing all sorts of problems when a paying customer attempts to cancel, and a host of other atrocities.

I acknowledge their right to terminate, however they should provide a warning, a chance to answer and correct, and the ability to retrieve my personal information stored on their site. I certainly would suggest that anyone using AOL to reconsider that decision, or at least, move and store your information on your hard drive.

I have no idea of what I did to deserve this, but I assure you, it has caused much anxiety. I do not wish it on anyone. I would ask that you write your Congressman and request legislation that would allow a terminated subscriber a short period of time to retrieve information and contacts. This regulation would apply to any service. Thanks for your time.

E
Aug 03, 2016 4:58 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have been trying to cancel my AOL subscription for over 6 months. I thought I would be clever and cancel by email and filling in their forms - there is, or was one, if you take along time to look. No good - had to get my Credit Card provider to cancel and refund - even they know about AOL! AOL are now sending me a bailiff to collect what they say I owe. I have even told them that I have everything in writing including their email acknowledgements. I just do not know what to do. Incidently, the AOL 'scammers' now have Irish accents, not Indian.

J
Aug 03, 2016 4:58 am EDT

AOL dial up service is illegally get my credit card information and billed me for the service I never requested. If I want to talk to one of the customer service reps, they always want me to talk to fraud department and I never get to talk to anyone from fraud department. They put me on hold forever. I believe they do this, so people would hang up. Many times, AOL send people with a free trial CD for dialup service. I never open the those CDs, but they can somehow still open account and start bill you.

Furthermore, when you buy new computer system, AOL put their free trial CDs and they open the account for consumers.

It is illegal for them to use unauthrized credit card information and illegal to open an account. I don't know how I can solve this issue with AOL. They are sending me letters, saying they would report to the credit bureau if I don't pay the amount. I had my credit card company to put a stop payment on AOL. Can anyone tell me what I could do.

N
Aug 03, 2016 4:58 am EDT

I lost money on TWX*AOL withdrawals to a tune of $238 for about a year before I noticed.

Call AOL's fraud number [protected] (I picked option 4), it's a bit easier than navigating their customer service (which just made me want to hit things with chairs). They'll send an affadavit to you. That's where I am in the process.

This article gives me hope I might get some money back: http://www.infoworld.com/article/07/07/11/AOL-to-refund-customers_1.html

W
Aug 03, 2016 4:58 am EDT

My credit card was debited in the sum of $239.40 by AOL. I called the company and was advised that this was for the use of AOL. I asked for a bill and was told to go to AOL Billing. I could not find any reference to any $ amount. All I saw was a statement stating that I was current. I asked for a paper bill and was advised that this was not possible. I asked for a description of the bill they could not direct me to anything with an amount leave alone a description.

I suspect that a lot of subscribers are paying for a service that AOL does not want to identify. From what I have uncovered all AOL services can be had for free but AOL wants to obfuscate the issue for gullibles like me.

We talk about Corruption in Afghanistan while our stalwarts here go to Church on Sunday draft their Ethics Memoranda for their employees on Monday and then spend the rest of the week figuring how to screw us all.

The Consumer Boards are staffed by SEC Madoff type investigators on a permanent coffee break.

So switch to G mail and get a new credit card so the vultures stop feeding off it's membership gullibles.

I am a CPA and this is what I uncovered I can only imagine how many millions are being fleeced.

The solution to the problem is that AOL should provide advance notice annually to their customers and request approval prior to debiting their Credit Cards.

The State investigators should follow up with customers who have been billed by AOL to determine if they have been taken advantage. Then 60 Minutes should run a segment on the thieves.

B
Aug 03, 2016 4:58 am EDT

I had problems with my diaup connection with AOL from start of february 2008 and i spoke to one of your colleague regarding this and i was promised that it would be set right in 1 weeks time but after 2 weeks when when it wasn't sorted, i called up again to cancel the connection and henceforth i canceled my connection for dial up. I moved to a different address and then to my surprise i received a letter after 3months that i am overdue for bills for last 2 months and then i called up your customer service regarding this letter and he was very unhelpful and said it is not in his hand and that i need to pay the overdue bills, which i think is completely inappropriate as i had informed you that i don't need your service any more.
I would like this case to be put up and appropriate action to be taken. I look forwards to receive your reply in my email id.

Thanks,
Binu Varughese.

B
Aug 03, 2016 4:58 am EDT

I received a letter from AOL stating that they have closed my account.

They closed it due to non-payment. So I finally got it closed but they state that I owe them $30.00 for services that I did not use.

The customer service department would not let me close this account back when I first started to.

Instead, they kept offering free months and refused to close the account.

AOL is a rip off and I think they are realizing they are losing ground with customers as DSL and broadband gain in popularity.

K
Mar 15, 2008 5:28 pm EDT

I was charged $59.+ for a service even the rep I called couldn't explain. I asked for a refund and no more billing but was told my aol has been cancelled a log time ago so it can't have charges made for it but yet I was charged this $ for something that doesn't exist. Okayyy, so next I will cakk nt credit card co. and find out what it's about.

M
May 17, 2007 12:00 am EDT

AOL Subscribed Internet service. I called their Support team for help and the man led me through some steps without telling me in advance he would disconnect my Internet service in the end. So, I was disconnected even though paid up to the end of the month. I e-mailed them, called them many times and mailed them a letter asking for a refund for the time remaining which I didn't receive Internet service. I have not received a refund or any response. It wasn't very much. But it was the principal of the matter.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

228 complaints
20 resolved 208 unresolved

AOL contacts

(added by reviewer)
Address
22000 AOL Way, Virginia United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT