Grammarly company logo
Grammarly
reviews & complaints
Grammarly
reviews & complaints

Learn how the rating is calculated

146 complaints
30 resolved 116 unresolved

This account has been claimed by Grammarly customer service / representatives through our verification process.

ADVERTISIMENT

Grammarly reviews & complaints

Grammarly complaints 146

A
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Teen Account

My daughter may have inadvertently activated a subscription but she did so without our permission or legal authorization to contract with you. She is a minor and without permission is unable to contract under Massachusetts law. We already filed a dispute claim with VISA but are still being charged. My daughter did not remember setting up an account so she cannot go into an existing account to cancel the subscription. We requested cancellation today based on seeing another 3 month charge on 12.9.21 Under MA Consumer Protection Act Chapter 93A, the company could be liable for treble damages if it fails to rectify the claim made against them. Time will tell whether this is a legitimate company or one that requires consumer protection filing with the MA Attorney General's Office. Ball is in Grammarly's court to see how they address this

Desired outcome: Refund December Charge and Cancel Subscription

Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Grammarly Premium

On January 10th 2022 I subscribed for the $12 monthly premium subscription and the company charged me $144 a yearly value. I cancelled as soon as I saw the charge and requested a refund. I got a response that the are refund me $114 as a courtesy, (that's ridiculous) so they are keeping $30 of my money as the month subscription is only $12. I want my $18 back.

Desired outcome: I want my $18 back.

Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Subscription

Like most of the people complaining in here, my card was charged 144$ immediately instead of 12$ monthly when I went to sign up for the premium subscription. The language used in the subscription descriptions is very misleading, and I didn't intend to pay the full payment all at once. Hopefully, I can get most of my money back, if not my trust issues might skyrocket more than they already have.

Desired outcome: Refund

ADVERTISIMENT
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Grammarly

On 20/12/2021, I signed up for Grammarly thinking that is was for $12 monthly charges, but I was charged $144., so the services were discontinued & the Grammarly software was promptly removed from my laptop.
I felt misled and violated by Grammarly because it was advertised that there would be monthly charges and NOT a whole year charge in advance. Whenever I made the purchase, I didn't receive a confirmation of the payment, NOR did I get a receipt. So, after a few hours had passed I went to my Chase account and saw that a WHOPPING $127.90 was deducted from my account I immediately notified Chase about my authorization for $12 monthly charge, and NOT the $144.

I have been trying to contact the Grammarly customer support in regards to getting a refund but I have not gotten a response.

Desired outcome: refund

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Harassment complaint and discrimination

I intend to make an official complaint, I'm immensely unsatisfied with Grammarly Engender Mike. While I'm writing assignment, he perused to delete my work he an unprofessional, nasty rude impolite unpleasant person. I want to speak with management someone. This is harassment and is a form of discrimination at work. It's illegal and a crime. disappointed with his work. He made me uncomfortable at work while writing my project. I didn't deserve it. His behavior is awful.

November 1, 2021' Ms. Scott Walker

Grammarly - Grammarly premium

I had been a free user and decided to take the Premium option for a document I was working on. The site had three options, I chose Premium at $12/month as was the clearly identified option.
Only when I received an email alert from Paypal did I see they had taken $144 from my account.
I checked with Paypal to dispute the payment. Their automated message advises
"We're sorry, you can't file a case on this type of transaction. Please refer to our User Agreement for more details!
I referred back to Grammarly Website, their automated system reports "Grammarly Premium subscriptions are non-refundable, "

This is a fraud, a scandal! I noticed the payment was taken one hour after buying the product and can not get a refund!

Please help

Desired outcome: Full Refund

A
Nov 10, 2021

HELLO!
This was my concern all along! Why does Grammarly include monthly payments of $12.00 a month, and at the same time collect $144.00?

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - because of Grammarly I've lost business of over $65000.00

your program is a nuisance always interfering in my style of communication with my business colleagues sending raw and misleading messages in the spelling causing the return and results to be hazardous and unfulfilling not to mention totally and unquestionably unprofitable I want some form of financial reprieve for all this injury sustained by your stupid app Grammarly

Email address is : [protected]@gmail.com

Desired outcome: financial reprieve

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Subscription

Hi,

Grammarly charged me $139 for an annual subscription. I went to their website to cancel the subscription; however, I do not see the link at the bottom of the page to cancel. I tried Edge, Chrome, Firefox, and Safari, and the link is just not there. I just want to cancel the subscription and get a refund.

Grammarly is easy to get in and hard to get out. I would greatly appreciate any advice to help cancel my subscription. I did submit a ticket with Grammarly.

Desired outcome: To be able to cancel the subscription and get a refund.

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Grammarly premium

I recently bought Premium to help with my BA honours Degree I had it for two months. My dissertation and another assignment were both under 10% on the Grammarly plagiarism checker. When I got my results both were over 60 % on the college checker which is Turnitin, and therefore I have had to submit both again both limited to a 40% score. I am so disappointed as this guarantees that I will not have the scores to progress to the Masters Degree which I wanted to do straight after graduation this year, now it won't happen! Grammarly is posited as the best plagiarism checker, clearly, this is untrue, I am so disappointed, please contact me to explain how this could have happened. [protected] [protected]@yahoo.co.uk.

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Grammarly continues to charge my credit card after a request to cease was sent in 2020. top

Last year I contacted Grammarly to tell them that I inadvertently signed up for service that I thought was free. After being charged $139 plus dollars I sent other messages and was told to sign onto Grammarly and cancel my subscription. To be hones I had forgotten the sign on AND I felt that Grammarly would use a sign on as a confirmation of use of the service.
I continued to contct Grammarly via their site ans was told to post my concern in a community chat space to get ideas on how to solve it?
I almost cursed at that point and asked how would a community chat site help me get a reimbursement from Grammarly. Fast forward to last week, the week of Jun3 28, 2021, and I find Grammarly has once again billed my credit card for $139.00. I have written a snail mail letter to Grammarly telling them never to use my credit card again. Also, I asked Grammarly how it knew my credit card number as it is a new card, not the same card I used in 2020. Who gave Grammarly my new number?

This seems like fraud. All consumers ought to stop automatic billing via their credit card numbers. I have had the same problem with Barnes and Nobles. Once automatic billing begins it takes an act of congress to stop the process and Congress hasn't worked in nearly twenty years.

Desired outcome: Reimbursement for the 2020 charge and for the 2021 charge.

R
Jul 02, 2021
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Scam! Cancelled subscription, still billing me every year.

I had 2 employees purchase services without authorization. Both cancelled their subscriptions and both were still charged annually. When I changed the credit card number for the employee, they called Visa and continued charging the new credit card. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! Credit card companies will only block their charges for 15 months, after that, expect to see their charges show up again. Cancelling your subscription does not stop the recurring charges.

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Cancel Subcription I was duplicating charges

I opened this account on sometime January in February my recurring payment was duplicated I was double charge from, March, April, May and June. I cancelled on April 29, 2021 and I still being charged twice this is fraud I reached out to my bank
[protected]@gmail.com email
Hilda Casso Lopez

March I was charge 29.95 three times
April charge 29.95 twice
May charge 29.95 twice
June charge 29.95 Twice

Desired outcome: Refund my duplicated money

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Premium

I had a free account and upgraded to premium for $144.00. I deleted the free account and now the premium account is gone. I am left with a basic account that does not include the premium features. I can't get any help on the chat or speak to a live person. The support team only sends auto-replies that my emails have been received, but no resolution to my problem. Do I need to file fraud charges to this taken care of?

Desired outcome: I would like my premium account restored or a refund

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Grammarly

I was charged for a grammarly account I used to have when I was in college. I haven't use the account for a while now and it seems they charged me around $130. If I were using the account there would have been no problem, actually is a very good program! However, I haven't used the account and I'm not planning to use it in the future. I hope this is not a scam or that the company has stolen my information. I would like a refund for the service I'm not using. Thank you, have a blessed day.

Desired outcome: Refund

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Annual subscription overcharge

I recently purchased Grammarly premium to get help with my essay. I just wanted to use it for the month so I purchased it with the intent of having it for the one month which was $25. I used it for 20 minutes then immediately canceled the subscription. Later today I was charged $144.00. There is no number to call only a "customer service" to request or an online chat. I do not believe that I am the only one this has happened to. I sent 3 requests for a refund. I hope to be getting that refund.

Desired outcome: Refund

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Grammarly - Grammarly Premium

I only intended to try Grammarly for a month, and I specifically clicked this box on the billing tab. I then went into PayPal and logged in. I do not know why this was changed to annually, and I was shocked to see the huge charge. I had no idea whatsoever that I would be charged in one lump-sum. I seriously, seriously cannot afford that amount of expense in a single large sum right now. I have no job at the moment due to Covid-19 and all I have to live on for the remainder of this academic year is my support grant, and that is what I use for rent, food and other living expenses. I have cancelled my subscription and only had the Premium subscription (which I had no idea I had been charged so much for) for a few hours. I will stress that I did not use the Premium service whatsoever for a single sentence. I did not even touch it. I would be hugely thankful if this could be refunded in full.

Desired outcome: Refund

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Spell check software

Its outrageous. This site is a total scam.. They keep posting charges silently in my account since sep 2020. Mine is a free account and never subscribed to the premium or adding my credit card for auto subscription. All together around 300$ in total including four charges this week alone.. My stomach is hurting watching money disappear from my credit card in the tough financial situation in this time. I dont even have my credit on file in the website... Somebody has to report this people to authorities.

Desired outcome: Refund and Report to authorities

A
Mar 20, 2021

hello, same problem is happening here. Ive canceled my subscription, and it says im on the free trial, but i was charged an amount i would use for grpceries. Im wondering if you got any updates on your case?

G
Apr 29, 2021

Hi, Amber!

We apologize for the delay. We have sent you a private message to gather more details and see if we can help further.

Thanks,
Grammarly support team

They are back again charging my account...this is getting out of hand..i feel like Grammarly continue to allow this scam to keep happening.

Resolved..Plse put a block on ur CC..there is no other way to stop this in future...Customer service did respond and issued refund with explanation

T
Mar 11, 2021
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Grammarly

Hi there. I have requested a full refund from Grammarly. I paid for the service foolishly thinking it was monthly but the whole payment has come out. I am a student and cannot afford this. I sent this message to customer services:

Firstly, I accidently added my husband's account and secondly, once I was charged for Grammarly, the price $139 turned into $200! I cannot afford this; this is too much for me financially. I would like a refund, but I would like to pay for the quarterly but under a different card. Please refund asap

I then received a message saying:

This request was closed and merged into request #2507621 "Switch to quarterly" and that the case was resolved.

I then followed up with another 7 messages asking for a full refund and got that very same response you see above. The person's name is Valerie.

I have asked when I could expect the refund but again get the same message. This is not helpful and I now do not want to use the service at all. Not a nice experience. Very disappointed. My desired outcome is to get my refund and to make a complaint on the the very poor service.

Desired outcome: A full refund

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Grammarly - Unable to Cancel Subscription to Avoid Future Charges

I recently received an auto payment for the premium subscription renewal. I signed into my account and tried to cancel my subscription but the option does not exist. I was directed to a "help" page, which said I needed to try another browser which I did. I tried 3 of them to no avail. Of course, there is no way to obtain help from Grammarly as there is not a telephone number, email address for customer service, or chat option! This appears to me to be a total scam and a way of adding a road-block to consumers needing to cancel a subscription. BE AWARE of this before you sign up for a subscription!

Desired outcome: Cancel my subscription! It shouldn't take an act of Congress!!!

Grammarly - Unauthorised charges

I decided to go with Grammarly as a student to help check my assignments, so after choosing what it says as around 9 pounds a month for the premium service on Jan 27 2021, I was overcharged 107 pounds. This is downright disgusting, I have seen other complaints similar and I am surprised no one (from what I have seen) has taken legal action.

I have sent them a message directly on their site and I would like a refund ASAP. This is just downright inhumane to do to people without a warning before they go through with the payment. I saw nowhere about a charge of 107 pounds, only the 9 pounds p/m.

Desired outcome: Refund

A

In addition to my complaint here, I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free
1 2 3  ...  8

Grammarly Company contacts

ADVERTISIMENT