TLG Great Fununauthorized charges

R
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

This company offered discounts on Hotels and many other services for paying a one time fee of $1. I never received anything from them for paying this amount, then later I find out that they have been charging my credit card $16.99 a month for over a year!

Responses

  • Jd
    jdb11585 Jun 22, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I signed up with a membership and paid $1.00 because I was trying ZNZ Marketing out and needed offers to get credits through ZNZ Marketing. I wrote all my info down as to when I needed to cancel membership before they charged my account. I cancelled on May 29th in time and then just noticed that they had charged my account 6/20/12 of $14.99. I called and talked to a foreign woman and she told me that she went ahead and cancelled it for me and said that I couldn't get a refund back till the next billing statement which is 7/20/12. Is this accurate and legit? It doesn't sound right to me. And...If you look at my account on my end, It says, " you have no default credit cards on file". How is that she can say that she has the four last digits to my checking account but, I see nothing of that nature on my end?? I just don't get it. Please help me understand!!!

    0 Votes
  • St
    steve Aug 08, 2011

    They tried the hard sell on me after a rebate offer, I had to hang up.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jane Davis Apr 24, 2011

    Yes. This company is a scam. I worked there - for a marketing group who is in cohoots to extract your bankcard information and to charge you until you close your account. DO NOT EVER DIVULGE OR PROVIDE YOUR BANKCARD INFORMATION TO ANYONE UNDER THE GUISE OF SELLING GREAT FUN OR SHOPPERS ADVANTAGE. DO NOT fill out online surveys providing your phone number and demographics -- they are trolling for victims. That's the simple, short, and not-so-sweet of it. Your name and information is sold at high dollars to mass marketing telemarketing companies, and it's extremely difficult to get out of . After 25 years in the legal field and working there? This company called "Think Direct Marketing Group, Inc." has a pending class-action lawsuit against it and should be closed down. Immediately. It's not the telemarketers fault, tho, most of us didn't know it was a scam because we never had access to the programs GREAT FUN or SHOPPERS ADVANTAGE -- only read scripts -- and hourly/commission rates were not Think Direct Marketing figured out what kind of profit they wanted to make for that week.

    0 Votes
  • Ll
    LLinsten Jan 14, 2011

    This is not the first run in with this 'company'. I have had this charge of $15.99 from this so called discount company canceled approx. 2 years ago! I just got off the phone with 'Casper' after being on hold for 30 mins. waiting. His English was VERY broken, they had my first name wrong (not even close), and the town we live in wasn't even close in name or area! We are only being re-embursed for 2 of the many payments they have taken out of our account. People like this need to be stopped!

    0 Votes
  • El
    elizabettys Dec 08, 2010

    PLEASE contact Freed & Weiss to take action and STOP this scam.


    Trilegiant Scam: HELP STOP IT!

    Trilegiant is behind more consumer abuse. Take action and contact Freed & Weiss - info @ freedweiss (dot) com (No Spaces), or call, toll free 866.779.9610

    Here's more information:

    Customers of websites like 1-800-Flowers.com, Travelocity, Shutterfly, and Orbitz are reporting mysterious monthly reoccurring charges to their credit cards.

    Thanks to marketing tactics (i.e., those pop-up windows) used during check out, without proper consent consumers are accidentally joining club memberships and having to pay for them monthly!

    Most people don't even realize they are being charged every month for a service they never ordered!

    Is this happening to you? Have you made a purchase for travel, work, or fun using any of the following sites:


    1-800-Flowers.com,
    Hotwire.com,
    Orbitz,
    Classmates.com,
    Barnes&Noble.com,
    Ticketmaster.com,
    Avon.com.
    Budget,
    Staples.com,
    Travelocity,
    Expedia/Hotel.com,
    Columbiahouse,
    Buy.com,
    FTD,
    Intelius,
    Gamestop/
    EB Games.com,
    Airtransholdings.com,
    Continental Airlines,
    Shutterfly Inc.,
    US Airways
    Vistaprint USA
    Redcats USA
    Pizza Hut
    Movie Tickets.com
    GMAC Mortgage

    Join this cause to learn more and stop the consumer abuse from Trilegiant.

    AND PLEASE CONTACT FREED & WEISS IMMEDIATELY if you - or anyone you know - has reoccurring charges after purchasing from any of these companies.

    Contact Freed & Weiss by emailing: info @ FreedWeiss (dot) com (No Spaces), or calling: [protected], or toll free [protected]

    Help Spread the Word to Your Friends!

    What should I look for? Mysterious charges involving the business practice of Trilegiant/Affinion and Verture include the following membership programs:

    LiveWell,
    Great Fun,
    Shopping Essentials,
    Privacy Guard,
    Shoppers Advantage,
    Travelers Advantage,
    Buyers Advantage,
    Privacy Guard (or Credit Alert),
    HealthSaver,
    Netmarket.com,
    CompleteHome,
    Great Options,
    Everyday Values,
    Auto Advantage,
    Complete Savings,
    HealthSaver,
    Just For Me,
    Everyday Privileges Gold,
    IdentitySecure,
    CardCops,
    PC SafetyPlus,
    and Hot-Line

    Banks issuing the credit cards and processing unauthorized charges on your account include: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Chase, Bank of America, US Bank.

    CHARGES WILL APPEAR ON YOUR CREDIT CARD BILLS WITH CRYPTIC DESCRIPTIONS SUCH AS: TLG*LIVWEL15130916JUL [protected] CT."

    What can I do?

    Contact us immediately, if you or someone you know has been charged mysterious monthly recurring fees after making purchased as any of the online companies.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    G. Lindsey Sep 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was just going over my bank account and found a charge from TLG Great Fun in the amount of $149.99 and I have absolutely no idea what it is for. It is an UNAUTHORIZED charge and I am turning it into my credit union to have them reverse the charge and investigate the company who is responsible. These people need to be criminally investigated and prosecuted.

    0 Votes
  • Ur
    Ursula Volm Sep 11, 2010

    Again, pls remove my name and charges on my credit card. Also credit the previous months charges. UV

    0 Votes
  • Ur
    Ursula Volm Sep 11, 2010

    Ihave been charged 11.99 on my credit card for months. I have called also the credit company (Visa) Please take my name and charges off and give me credits for the previous charges [protected] Ursula Volm.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jennie Jun 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I requested to TLG Great Fun that the $11.99/mo. billing to my Visa account be stopped last June 2009, and it was not. I requested again a refund/credit for services I did not authorize, and no credit has been issued. I have no choice but to file a complaint with my local County Attorney and the Texas Attorney General's Office. Below is the fax which I was requested to send for full refund. That refund or any kind of reply has not come. I am therefore filing a disbute with Visa on the charges.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Livid Mar 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Jo Ann,
    I was just wondering if you have actually seen any refunds to your mother's credit card yet from TLG Great Fun? I'm in the same boat, 2 months behind you so am curious how long these refunds take. The night I first noticed my unauthorized charges of $14.99 per month since Sept. '09 I spent reading scores of complaints on this web site. How infuriating? These creeps have a hellofa nerve stealing money and then refusing to return it once they are caught. At some point that night an ad came up in the right margin from the law firm of Shepherd, Finkelman, Miller & Shah. I was pretty wound up at that point and decided I needed to tell my story to someone I hoped could actually do something about it. I emailed my experience to them never thinking anything would come of it. Well, a few days later I got an email from one of the lawyers asking me if I'd be interested in speaking to him. After researching the law firm, which I found to be legit, I agreed to the phone call. That call happened today. I'm glad I wrote!

    What I'll say is if you still have not had complete resolution, write/email them...you have nothing to loose and perhaps everything to gain. Hope this helps.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Livid Mar 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TLG*GreatFun is part of Trilegiant, Inc. I also have fallen victim to their fraudulent practices and just noticed today that I have been being charged $14.99 per month since Sept '09. In August '09 my husband purchased airline tickets on Virgin America and shortly there after, the charges started. I just got the new statement today and asked him about it thinking it was something he had purchased. He thought I had purchased something and that's what they count on.

    Google TLG Great Fun and Trilegiant...you'll be amazed. They have already been sued and have supposedly paid out over 40 MILLION dollars. Can you imagine...this is obviously a BILLION Dollar business and the current judgements are a drop in the bucket. Someone need to go to jail. One of the law firms who handled the big suit was Girard Gibbs LLP [protected] in San Francisco. You should be able to find them when you Google TRILEGIANT, I did. I e-mailed them this evening to see if there is any recourse. I've done a lot of reading tonight.

    It appears that when you shop online, some vendors allow TRILEGIANT to inset pop-ups at the end of the transaction which lure you with a rebate of discount by clicking. I suspect that our credit card information is still active at this point and whether you click or not Trilegiant has access to that information without our authorization. I know that sometimes we are curious and click to see what's up and then upon reading what the offer is and deciding to decline, exit out thinking no harm done since I told them nothing. Well, that's not always the case I guess. Every time you transact business online you create COOKIES. Cookies are bits of information most likely including name, address and form of payment information that can be passed along to a third party.

    I think the vendors who allow Trilegiant this pop-up power should be held just as liable for enabling these fraudulent practices. I, for one, will be corresponding with these vendors and demanding that these practices stop. I will also boycott those vendors who allow these pop-ups. In addition, credit card issuers will be contacted since many of them had joined with Trilegiant in the past in these practices. My State Legislator, Congressman, and Senators will also be copied on the correspondence.

    There are too many people out there being taken advantage of. How dare they steal out money! It's stealing because they give us nothing for the money they take. Did you ever get any membership information? Did you ever have a chance to OPT-OUT? Did you ever give your permission? Look at how many resources are being wasted...our time, our money, credit card fraud dept time, etc., etc.

    Please people, don't just get mad a gripe...DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT.

    0 Votes
  • Jl
    jlbchhlz Mar 03, 2010

    I don't know who these people are and they charged my card today. SCAM

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jay4 Jan 19, 2010

    I discovered TLG Great Fun had been charging $11.99 to my mother's Visa since September 2009. My mother is an elderly nursing home resident. I am furious that they are taking advantage of an elderly disabled citizen. My mother placed a call the first of December requesting the charges be stopped and all charges be credited back to her account. The TLG Great Fun representative continued to pressure her to continue with their service (whatever that is) even after being told she was on Medicaid in a nursing home. They finally agree to cancel the charges but denied her a refund. They did not cancel the charges and her Visa was again charged the $11.99, this time including a late fee. Today (1/19/10) I called TLF Great Fun personally, demanding a full refund including any late fee charges . They said she was "ineligable" for a refund...unbelievable! I persisted, demanding to speak to a manager. I then was connected to a woman named LaDonna, who began her little speech about what a reputable company they are. I told her I would take this to whatever level I needed to to get the charges refunded and stopped, that no reputable company would take advantage of an elderly nursing home resident. She said they would refund all charges within 48 hours...we will see if in fact this happens.
    Jo Ann Johnston

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    jbaty011 Dec 02, 2009

    noticed unauthorized charges for 12.99 up to 36.00 on my banking account... was informed that chase had sold my information as a customer to this company tiligiant- tlc great funs who enrolled me into an unauthorized membership charges for over 2 yrs... there was a lawsuit filed and i was never notified by tlc or chase and charges are still being unauthorized and deducted... please help

    0 Votes
  • Th
    TheCuteLover Nov 12, 2009

    its AirTran which signs you up for this without really notifying you. ###. I just got my membership cxld.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    machinez Nov 03, 2009

    they told me the same thing. we will see what happens.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    albvirgo Nov 03, 2009

    I just had an 11.99 charge on my debit card. It was because i used priceline for travel reservations. She said i will receive a refund in 7 business days..

    0 Votes
  • Su
    supertruth Oct 22, 2009

    i totally disagree.

    first of all, people are being transferred to great fun from other companies. the customers are either in a hurry, will not listen or just agree to get off the phone. so it's totally up to someone to listen to what they are saying before giving out their card information. they charge your card because you give it to them to charge. you have 30days to cancel...they clearly tell you on the phone "unless you call to cancel your benefits will automatically continue at the current monthly fee"...


    go figure...it was your lost.

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    apapua Oct 18, 2009

    I too am researching this company and wanted to let those who use priceline know that TLG Great Fun is still alive and still thrivng. I saw on 2 billing cycles this companies charges of $12.99. I called and of course it is my fault. You did X and we did Y. I got Z waiting for them. I will have to call tomorrow and speak with a supervisor. I spoke with my card company and they will conference in and support me. This is not about money but about principal. As if life was not busy enough without corrpupt companies tapping my money and making me waste time to get it back. Captain Kirk needs to beam these jacks up. Just an FYI. On a postive note, my credit card company offers a virtual credit card number which is recommended to be used in online purchases. One and done and your real number is never revealed. Cool stuff.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Ching Jul 27, 2009

    Tlg Great Fun Charged my credit card 11.99 per month for 17 months, totaling $200.00. before I discoverd it.
    It looks like the charges started when I booked a Hotel room through Price Line.com. I never gave Tlg Great Fun my credit card information and never recieved any services from them in the mail or emails from them.
    I see that there are hudreds of complaints against them. I am wondering why they are still in business

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nadiya Jul 23, 2009

    I have the same problem. I purchased airplane ticket through Price line and one month later my credit card was charged 11.99 for 3 months . I call them and they sad they will stop but next day they got another 11.99 from my account. You should change your card and contact Better Business Bureau with complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    coolblue Jul 15, 2009

    you should see this one before traveling...
    http://mytourandtravel.blogspot.com/

    0 Votes
  • Bj
    bjzeke11 Jul 12, 2009

    over the last 2 months i've been charged $11.99 to my credit card. i never recieved anything or signed up for this. how is this company in business?

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    ronkwe Jul 10, 2009

    I just realized that I too had been charged a monthly fee of $12.99 for which I did not authorize. I called [protected] and they quickly cancelled my "membership". I insisted that I get refunded for the amount that was taken from my account. Another person was contacted who said that they are only authorized to go two months back. I said that I wanted to speak to his supervisor and an individual named Robert Lee, employee number 34143, said that he would provide a full refund that would be realized in my bank account within 7 days. Thanks to the previous complaint from a lawyer, I followed his lead and hopefully acheived the same result. It remains to be seen if they actually do provide the refund.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DougHole Jul 09, 2009

    I was charges $129.99 by this company and I have no idea how. I rarely buy anything online nor using my credit card that much. I've always check my credit card statement and bank accounts frequently. I've quickly noticed that there was an unauthorized charged card my Discover card to file a dispute; I've also called the number on my credit card statement and they stated that they have canceled my membership. They even gave me the cancellation code to write down. Right now I'm waiting if they would credit my card for the amount that they took. If they don't I will file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Jun 30, 2009

    TLG Great Fun has used my bank card number to charge $11.99 for a transaction that never took place. I've used to book a flight thru Priceline last month. Check out all the fraud complaints on the TLG/GREAT FUN website.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    buckunlv Jun 30, 2009

    I saw a charge for TLG Great fun on my bank account today and did a search for this company and it brought me here. By reading all the complaints and gathering information from those complaints, I was able to get an 800 number to call [protected]). They tried to tell me that I had authorized the charge when I booked a rental car on priceline.com, however, being an attorney, I am very careful when I am on any website about getting signed up for crap that I don't want and therefore read everything, including the terms and conditions. They must have hid this little scam very well if it's even there because I read nothing about being signed up for any discount program or that I was authorizing any charges for it. Priceline is not the only website as I have seen from the hundreds of complaints. When I called the number, they said that I would have my account cancelled and that they would have to review my account to see if I was able to get a refund, that's when I let them know that I was an attorney and that I wanted to speak to a supervisor. It didn't take long to get a supervisor whose name was Cathy Folk. She also tried to tell me that I authorized the charges to which I went through the whole "I'm an attorney and will sue you for fraud" speech again and what do you know, she said that my charge would be taken off within 7 business days and my account was already cancelled. We'll see if that really happens. If not, I have the number of the Ohio attorney general who will be hearing about the company doing fraudulent business in their state. If you have the same problem, don't back down from these people!

    0 Votes
  • El
    Ellie May 09, 2009

    Watch out with TLG Great Fun!!! I have been charged with unauthorized fees as well. Please be careful when booking or buying online. Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Betty May 08, 2009

    DOES ANYBODY KNOW HOW TO STOP THEM FROM CHARGING MY CREDIT CARD ABOUT EVERYDAY.WITHOUT MY PERMISSION?

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    ciscolattu Mar 06, 2009

    I noticed charges on my credit card for JAN & FEB 09 for $14.99. These charges were from TLG Great Fun. I have no idea why these charges were on my credit card. Supposedly I authorized these charges. I DID NOT AUTHORIZE THESE CHARGES. I was told it was because I had ordered somethingelse from a TV advertisement. I have been ripped off and they will not refund my money.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bonnie T Mar 06, 2009

    I too had unauthorized charges from Great Fun.

    0 Votes
  • No
    noyaguck Mar 05, 2009

    Suddenly my aunt was seeing charges on her bank statement for $12.99. She had no idea what this was from. I work at the bank and we looked it up. It was from TLG GREAT FUN. I advised her to dispute the charges and close her debit card. She did. I also tried to call the 800 number that was listed and promptly got disconnected after waiting to speak to a live person. Maybe they knew I was calling from a bank. Scammers!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve Mar 02, 2009

    I have receieved several different charges over the last couple of months for this company and have no idea what for...I'm not sure WHO they even are!!! Unfortunately, when I attempted to call all I received was a recording stating that due to high call volume my call could not be taken at this time..

    What do I do? Please Advise

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Allen Feb 25, 2009

    I have been charged $11.99 per month since November 2008 and have no idea what the charges are for. Could you please get these stopped?

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Hope Feb 21, 2009

    I was upset to see several charges without any notice.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Hope Feb 21, 2009

    I was very upset to be charged repeatedly without any notice.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jodigarnsey Feb 15, 2009

    is anyone gong to do anything about this or are we jst gnna read comments and look stupid. my attorney will be seeing ths come monday morning

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jodigarnsey Feb 15, 2009

    i have at leat 6 charges from tlg great fun tht i never authorized and i reuse to pay tese chumped up charges. someone needs to find outwhat went wrong and why. you can reqch me at [email protected] i have a green dot master card and i have never had this happe before.

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    cmwarner Feb 14, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Charged my credit card, I have no idea why! Can someone help me. What can i do? Advise plz smb!
    This company has been withdrawing money from my account at the rate of $12.99 per month for the Feb !! I want my money back!02/13/2009 8699 TLG*GREAT FUN $12.99
    visa why why!!!
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unhappy Jan 27, 2009

    i found i was being charged 35.99 to my checking account without my permission.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.