Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Travel & Vacations Great Fun unauthorized charges

Great Fun review: unauthorized charges

R
Author of the complaint
8:43 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

This company offered discounts on Hotels and many other services for paying a one time fee of $1. I never received anything from them for paying this amount, then later I find out that they have been charging my credit card $16.99 a month for over a year!

ADVERTISIMENT

More Great Fun complaints & reviews

Great Fun - unauthorized billing
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Great Fun - charge my debit card
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Great Fun - canceling my membership
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Great Fun - fruad/scam
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Great Fun - fraudulent charges
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
71 comments
Add a comment
D
Jul 29, 2007 12:00 am EDT

I have no idea who this company is, but there is an authorized charge on my checking account from them.

M
Feb 27, 2008 4:54 pm EST

They have been charging my account for over six months, I never sign up with them and want this to stop immediatley and a refund given or the attorney will contact them.

T
May 31, 2008 9:12 pm EDT

This is wrong, they are taking hard working money away from us! Beware all!

M
Jun 10, 2008 12:26 pm EDT

Was going over my checking account online and came across a charge for $10.99 to CkCard TLG*Greatfun 800-24271CTUS and I did not authorized this. When I called the number it was some kind of Christian Thing and when I pressed to talk to an operator it said they were extremely busy and to leave my phone number and they would get back to me as soon as possible. Did not leave a number.

Mark Dombrosky.

C
Jul 05, 2008 1:30 pm EDT

Learned a hard lesson to scrutinize my credit card statement for diligently. These people have been charging $11.99 to my credit card for 9 months. They claim I signed up for a discount program. Would never have. Suspect it was tagged onto something I ordered on line. I most likely closed out of filling out the form when I realized what it was, but they somehow got my info anyway. Now they have me jumping through hoops trying to get it stopped and am fighting for refund with not much luck.

J
Jul 08, 2008 7:59 pm EDT

They charged my credit card without authorization and would not stop. They need to be shut down NOW. Rip-off company!

C
Jul 21, 2008 2:40 am EDT

These guys have been charging 11.99 $ every month on my debit card, don't know who the hell they are... Be aware of booking tickets on cheapair tickets.com.

N
Aug 11, 2008 10:44 pm EDT

They are charging my credit card as an automatic payments for services i never ask for. i am not sure how are they doing it but this company is a SCAM they are having unauthorized charging with my credit card. I am disputing the issue now to my DISCOVER Card and hoping that the credit card company can protect us better to avoid this type of scam charges.

T
Aug 16, 2008 8:08 am EDT

Ripped off through a supposed charge on orbitz. I would gladly sue this company if i could find them. I also wonder if orbitz and other sites i saw complaints on are in on this scam. I would assume they must have received enough complaints to be aware their sites. I am curious if they profited from this scam. By the way, bank of americas dispute resolution is a pitiful joke in my opinion.

G
Aug 23, 2008 9:44 am EDT

I too have been charged $11.99 for the last 2 months on my debit card, any idea how to contact these people and get a credit?

L
Oct 07, 2008 11:24 am EDT

GREAT FUN!- I'll bet they are having great fun - all the way
from my bank and yours- to theirs!-
Unauthorized charges against my credit card!-
with a probable "roll-over" - "membership" fee from Shopping Essentials- never used either of them!
Contacted NANCY SCOTT- in August, 2008 by phone w/ a follow-up request by mail for refund- have not heard a word.
WHERE ARE YOU NANCY ? Having GREAT FUN - Making deposits ?

C
Oct 08, 2008 9:27 am EDT

I booked a hotel room through one of these online websites 2 months ago. Today I checked my account and realized that my card was charged in the amount of $11.00 by this company TLG Great Fun. I called my bank immediately to dispute the charge and had my card deactivated, so they will no longer have access to it. I will also be calling the company to complain. I am not receiving any benefits from this "program, " nor have I received anything from them in the mail. When you type TLG Great Fun into the Google search, nothing comes up about this "company" but complaints! DO NOT book anything online! Call and speak to a representative!

V
Oct 18, 2008 7:35 am EDT

Tried to charge my Credit card four times this month...fortunately I have a Pay-As-You-Go Card so they got no money out of me...currently working on pegging these ###s before they do...had to cut up my card and need to get a new one now cause my account was compromised...

To TLG Great Fun...I am coming for you...You messed with the wrong guy's money...

For all of you others who have had this company take your money without your knowing...GODSPEED...Nail them to the wall...

S
Oct 20, 2008 8:13 am EDT

i was charged twice from this company

R
Nov 12, 2008 2:46 pm EST

Just found out I was enrolled through Fandango. You are enrolled when you accept a $15 dollar discount. I said it wasn't much of a discount if I was being charged $11.99 every two weeks with nothing to show for it. I wasn't able to reach them through my number. I had my card dispute rep call for me. That should get results. I'll update on how that works out. I don't think I'm going to get my money back. Whatever, as long as it stops! Btw, Fandango can suck it! I'm no longer using their site or going to Edwards theaters. Unless, they want to give me a movie pass for every charge...

A
Dec 09, 2008 8:36 am EST

This company has been withdrawing money from my account at the rate of $12.99 per month for the last 7 months! I want my money back!

H
Dec 09, 2008 1:05 pm EST

i was charged $11.99 0n oct6, 2008; nov4, 2008; dec4, 2008. i would like my money back and these people be prosecuted.

U
Jan 27, 2009 6:00 am EST

i found i was being charged 35.99 to my checking account without my permission.

A
Feb 25, 2009 7:54 pm EST

I have been charged $11.99 per month since November 2008 and have no idea what the charges are for. Could you please get these stopped?

S
Mar 02, 2009 6:28 pm EST

I have receieved several different charges over the last couple of months for this company and have no idea what for...I'm not sure WHO they even are! Unfortunately, when I attempted to call all I received was a recording stating that due to high call volume my call could not be taken at this time..

What do I do? Please Advise

N
Mar 05, 2009 7:00 pm EST

Suddenly my aunt was seeing charges on her bank statement for $12.99. She had no idea what this was from. I work at the bank and we looked it up. It was from TLG GREAT FUN. I advised her to dispute the charges and close her debit card. She did. I also tried to call the 800 number that was listed and promptly got disconnected after waiting to speak to a live person. Maybe they knew I was calling from a bank. Scammers!

C
Mar 06, 2009 4:04 pm EST

I noticed charges on my credit card for JAN & FEB 09 for $14.99. These charges were from TLG Great Fun. I have no idea why these charges were on my credit card. Supposedly I authorized these charges. I DID NOT AUTHORIZE THESE CHARGES. I was told it was because I had ordered somethingelse from a TV advertisement. I have been ripped off and they will not refund my money.

B
Jun 30, 2009 3:49 pm EDT

I saw a charge for TLG Great fun on my bank account today and did a search for this company and it brought me here. By reading all the complaints and gathering information from those complaints, I was able to get an 800 number to call [protected]). They tried to tell me that I had authorized the charge when I booked a rental car on priceline.com, however, being an attorney, I am very careful when I am on any website about getting signed up for crap that I don't want and therefore read everything, including the terms and conditions. They must have hid this little scam very well if it's even there because I read nothing about being signed up for any discount program or that I was authorizing any charges for it. Priceline is not the only website as I have seen from the hundreds of complaints. When I called the number, they said that I would have my account cancelled and that they would have to review my account to see if I was able to get a refund, that's when I let them know that I was an attorney and that I wanted to speak to a supervisor. It didn't take long to get a supervisor whose name was Cathy Folk. She also tried to tell me that I authorized the charges to which I went through the whole "I'm an attorney and will sue you for fraud" speech again and what do you know, she said that my charge would be taken off within 7 business days and my account was already cancelled. We'll see if that really happens. If not, I have the number of the Ohio attorney general who will be hearing about the company doing fraudulent business in their state. If you have the same problem, don't back down from these people!

M
Jun 30, 2009 5:42 pm EDT

TLG Great Fun has used my bank card number to charge $11.99 for a transaction that never took place. I've used to book a flight thru Priceline last month. Check out all the fraud complaints on the TLG/GREAT FUN website.

R
Jul 10, 2009 12:36 pm EDT

I just realized that I too had been charged a monthly fee of $12.99 for which I did not authorize. I called [protected] and they quickly cancelled my "membership". I insisted that I get refunded for the amount that was taken from my account. Another person was contacted who said that they are only authorized to go two months back. I said that I wanted to speak to his supervisor and an individual named Robert Lee, employee number 34143, said that he would provide a full refund that would be realized in my bank account within 7 days. Thanks to the previous complaint from a lawyer, I followed his lead and hopefully acheived the same result. It remains to be seen if they actually do provide the refund.

B
Jul 12, 2009 11:50 am EDT

over the last 2 months i've been charged $11.99 to my credit card. i never recieved anything or signed up for this. how is this company in business?

M
Jul 27, 2009 11:50 am EDT

Tlg Great Fun Charged my credit card 11.99 per month for 17 months, totaling $200.00. before I discoverd it.
It looks like the charges started when I booked a Hotel room through Price Line.com. I never gave Tlg Great Fun my credit card information and never recieved any services from them in the mail or emails from them.
I see that there are hudreds of complaints against them. I am wondering why they are still in business

A
Oct 18, 2009 1:03 pm EDT

I too am researching this company and wanted to let those who use priceline know that TLG Great Fun is still alive and still thrivng. I saw on 2 billing cycles this companies charges of $12.99. I called and of course it is my fault. You did X and we did Y. I got Z waiting for them. I will have to call tomorrow and speak with a supervisor. I spoke with my card company and they will conference in and support me. This is not about money but about principal. As if life was not busy enough without corrpupt companies tapping my money and making me waste time to get it back. Captain Kirk needs to beam these jacks up. Just an FYI. On a postive note, my credit card company offers a virtual credit card number which is recommended to be used in online purchases. One and done and your real number is never revealed. Cool stuff.

A
Nov 03, 2009 9:44 am EST

I just had an 11.99 charge on my debit card. It was because i used priceline for travel reservations. She said i will receive a refund in 7 business days..

J
Dec 02, 2009 3:47 pm EST

noticed unauthorized charges for 12.99 up to 36.00 on my banking account... was informed that chase had sold my information as a customer to this company tiligiant- tlc great funs who enrolled me into an unauthorized membership charges for over 2 yrs... there was a lawsuit filed and i was never notified by tlc or chase and charges are still being unauthorized and deducted... please help

J
Jan 19, 2010 12:35 pm EST

I discovered TLG Great Fun had been charging $11.99 to my mother's Visa since September 2009. My mother is an elderly nursing home resident. I am furious that they are taking advantage of an elderly disabled citizen. My mother placed a call the first of December requesting the charges be stopped and all charges be credited back to her account. The TLG Great Fun representative continued to pressure her to continue with their service (whatever that is) even after being told she was on Medicaid in a nursing home. They finally agree to cancel the charges but denied her a refund. They did not cancel the charges and her Visa was again charged the $11.99, this time including a late fee. Today (1/19/10) I called TLF Great Fun personally, demanding a full refund including any late fee charges . They said she was "ineligable" for a refund...unbelievable! I persisted, demanding to speak to a manager. I then was connected to a woman named LaDonna, who began her little speech about what a reputable company they are. I told her I would take this to whatever level I needed to to get the charges refunded and stopped, that no reputable company would take advantage of an elderly nursing home resident. She said they would refund all charges within 48 hours...we will see if in fact this happens.
Jo Ann Johnston

J
Mar 03, 2010 6:19 am EST

I don't know who these people are and they charged my card today. SCAM

L
Mar 09, 2010 4:28 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

TLG*GreatFun is part of Trilegiant, Inc. I also have fallen victim to their fraudulent practices and just noticed today that I have been being charged $14.99 per month since Sept '09. In August '09 my husband purchased airline tickets on Virgin America and shortly there after, the charges started. I just got the new statement today and asked him about it thinking it was something he had purchased. He thought I had purchased something and that's what they count on.

Google TLG Great Fun and Trilegiant...you'll be amazed. They have already been sued and have supposedly paid out over 40 MILLION dollars. Can you imagine...this is obviously a BILLION Dollar business and the current judgements are a drop in the bucket. Someone need to go to jail. One of the law firms who handled the big suit was Girard Gibbs LLP [protected] in San Francisco. You should be able to find them when you Google TRILEGIANT, I did. I e-mailed them this evening to see if there is any recourse. I've done a lot of reading tonight.

It appears that when you shop online, some vendors allow TRILEGIANT to inset pop-ups at the end of the transaction which lure you with a rebate of discount by clicking. I suspect that our credit card information is still active at this point and whether you click or not Trilegiant has access to that information without our authorization. I know that sometimes we are curious and click to see what's up and then upon reading what the offer is and deciding to decline, exit out thinking no harm done since I told them nothing. Well, that's not always the case I guess. Every time you transact business online you create COOKIES. Cookies are bits of information most likely including name, address and form of payment information that can be passed along to a third party.

I think the vendors who allow Trilegiant this pop-up power should be held just as liable for enabling these fraudulent practices. I, for one, will be corresponding with these vendors and demanding that these practices stop. I will also boycott those vendors who allow these pop-ups. In addition, credit card issuers will be contacted since many of them had joined with Trilegiant in the past in these practices. My State Legislator, Congressman, and Senators will also be copied on the correspondence.

There are too many people out there being taken advantage of. How dare they steal out money! It's stealing because they give us nothing for the money they take. Did you ever get any membership information? Did you ever have a chance to OPT-OUT? Did you ever give your permission? Look at how many resources are being wasted...our time, our money, credit card fraud dept time, etc., etc.

Please people, don't just get mad a gripe...DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT.

J
Jun 02, 2010 2:56 pm EDT

I requested to TLG Great Fun that the $11.99/mo. billing to my Visa account be stopped last June 2009, and it was not. I requested again a refund/credit for services I did not authorize, and no credit has been issued. I have no choice but to file a complaint with my local County Attorney and the Texas Attorney General's Office. Below is the fax which I was requested to send for full refund. That refund or any kind of reply has not come. I am therefore filing a disbute with Visa on the charges.

L
Jan 14, 2011 12:52 am EST

This is not the first run in with this 'company'. I have had this charge of $15.99 from this so called discount company canceled approx. 2 years ago! I just got off the phone with 'Casper' after being on hold for 30 mins. waiting. His English was VERY broken, they had my first name wrong (not even close), and the town we live in wasn't even close in name or area! We are only being re-embursed for 2 of the many payments they have taken out of our account. People like this need to be stopped!

J
Jun 22, 2012 8:52 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I signed up with a membership and paid $1.00 because I was trying ZNZ Marketing out and needed offers to get credits through ZNZ Marketing. I wrote all my info down as to when I needed to cancel membership before they charged my account. I cancelled on May 29th in time and then just noticed that they had charged my account 6/20/12 of $14.99. I called and talked to a foreign woman and she told me that she went ahead and cancelled it for me and said that I couldn't get a refund back till the next billing statement which is 7/20/12. Is this accurate and legit? It doesn't sound right to me. And...If you look at my account on my end, It says, " you have no default credit cards on file". How is that she can say that she has the four last digits to my checking account but, I see nothing of that nature on my end? I just don't get it. Please help me understand!

S
Aug 08, 2011 2:30 pm EDT

They tried the hard sell on me after a rebate offer, I had to hang up.

J
Apr 24, 2011 7:12 am EDT

Yes. This company is a scam. I worked there - for a marketing group who is in cohoots to extract your bankcard information and to charge you until you close your account. DO NOT EVER DIVULGE OR PROVIDE YOUR BANKCARD INFORMATION TO ANYONE UNDER THE GUISE OF SELLING GREAT FUN OR SHOPPERS ADVANTAGE. DO NOT fill out online surveys providing your phone number and demographics -- they are trolling for victims. That's the simple, short, and not-so-sweet of it. Your name and information is sold at high dollars to mass marketing telemarketing companies, and it's extremely difficult to get out of . After 25 years in the legal field and working there? This company called "Think Direct Marketing Group, Inc." has a pending class-action lawsuit against it and should be closed down. Immediately. It's not the telemarketers fault, tho, most of us didn't know it was a scam because we never had access to the programs GREAT FUN or SHOPPERS ADVANTAGE -- only read scripts -- and hourly/commission rates were not Think Direct Marketing figured out what kind of profit they wanted to make for that week.

E
Dec 08, 2010 2:55 am EST

PLEASE contact Freed & Weiss to take action and STOP this scam.

Trilegiant Scam: HELP STOP IT!

Trilegiant is behind more consumer abuse. Take action and contact Freed & Weiss - info @ freedweiss (dot) com (No Spaces), or call, toll free 866.779.9610

Here's more information:

Customers of websites like 1-800-Flowers.com, Travelocity, Shutterfly, and Orbitz are reporting mysterious monthly reoccurring charges to their credit cards.

Thanks to marketing tactics (i.e., those pop-up windows) used during check out, without proper consent consumers are accidentally joining club memberships and having to pay for them monthly!

Most people don't even realize they are being charged every month for a service they never ordered!

Is this happening to you? Have you made a purchase for travel, work, or fun using any of the following sites:

1-800-Flowers.com,
Hotwire.com,
Orbitz,
Classmates.com,
Barnes&Noble.com,
Ticketmaster.com,
Avon.com.
Budget,
Staples.com,
Travelocity,
Expedia/Hotel.com,
Columbiahouse,
Buy.com,
FTD,
Intelius,
Gamestop/
EB Games.com,
Airtransholdings.com,
Continental Airlines,
Shutterfly Inc.,
US Airways
Vistaprint USA
Redcats USA
Pizza Hut
Movie Tickets.com
GMAC Mortgage

Join this cause to learn more and stop the consumer abuse from Trilegiant.

AND PLEASE CONTACT FREED & WEISS IMMEDIATELY if you - or anyone you know - has reoccurring charges after purchasing from any of these companies.

Contact Freed & Weiss by emailing: info @ FreedWeiss (dot) com (No Spaces), or calling: [protected], or toll free [protected]

Help Spread the Word to Your Friends!

What should I look for? Mysterious charges involving the business practice of Trilegiant/Affinion and Verture include the following membership programs:

LiveWell,
Great Fun,
Shopping Essentials,
Privacy Guard,
Shoppers Advantage,
Travelers Advantage,
Buyers Advantage,
Privacy Guard (or Credit Alert),
HealthSaver,
Netmarket.com,
CompleteHome,
Great Options,
Everyday Values,
Auto Advantage,
Complete Savings,
HealthSaver,
Just For Me,
Everyday Privileges Gold,
IdentitySecure,
CardCops,
PC SafetyPlus,
and Hot-Line

Banks issuing the credit cards and processing unauthorized charges on your account include: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Chase, Bank of America, US Bank.

CHARGES WILL APPEAR ON YOUR CREDIT CARD BILLS WITH CRYPTIC DESCRIPTIONS SUCH AS: TLG*LIVWEL15130916JUL [protected] CT."

What can I do?

Contact us immediately, if you or someone you know has been charged mysterious monthly recurring fees after making purchased as any of the online companies.

G
Sep 22, 2010 9:01 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I was just going over my bank account and found a charge from TLG Great Fun in the amount of $149.99 and I have absolutely no idea what it is for. It is an UNAUTHORIZED charge and I am turning it into my credit union to have them reverse the charge and investigate the company who is responsible. These people need to be criminally investigated and prosecuted.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

394 complaints
211 resolved 183 unresolved

Great Fun contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
6 High Ridge Park, Connecticut United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT