Thrifty Car Rentaltoll fines

A Review updated:

Renting a car from Thrifty Car Rental in South Florida is a risk. Every time I have rented from them in the past two years, I have received notifications of Toll Violations resulting in fines. I travel with my own Sun Pass device and generally avoid toll roads when possible. My last trip to Miami I did not use any toll roads and have just received another fine notification!
I will not be using Thrifty again. The fine amount is .60 yet they add a fee of $9.99 ! I believe they have a racket going in South Florida!
Be aware of their practice regarding erroneous toll violations!

Responses

  • Ca
    Cali X. Feb 24, 2020

    Thrifty in Orange County CA- there are toll roads, they offer the $12/day transponder OR you can pay the CA tolls on line. Not true with their rental. Thrifty has the tolls sent to them via the window transponder and they tack on a huge surcharge. When calling to ask to pay the toll as is, the agents were ignorant and combative saying that the tolls in CA are different for rental. Also not true.
    Avoid Thrifty in California. Shame on Hertz for having such a crap division of rental car.
    Everyone, thanks for the tips related to toll gouging in Florida.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    The Traveler Aug 07, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Back in June 2019 I rented a car from Dollar Thrifty and traveled from MN to Chicago. I did use the toll roads and paid at each tollway. Thrifty is sending me invoices for unpaid toll fees. I received an invoice for a toll fee back in July and now come August I received 2 more. Upon further research it looks like Dollar Thrifty has been doing this dirty practice to alot of their customers who rented cars from them. AVOID THRIFTY! They maybe cheap but they will rip you off!

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John Thomas Jun 10, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On a recent trip from Miami to Key Largo, Thrifty charged me an "Administrative Fee" for every freeway toll booth/freeway stretch I passed by. The lunch trip to Key Largo, about 50 miles, cost me about $200 in fees, about 3-4 times the car rental cost itself.

    Am I angry? Sure! Was I ripped off? Of course!

    Will I ever, ever, ever rent from Thrifty again? Of course not! Will I tell everyone I know to avoid Thrifty? Absolutely.

    2 Votes
  • Le
    Lee in VA Oct 06, 2019

    @John Thomas Your story is almost exactly what happened to me, September 2019. Ft. Lauderdale to Key Largo. $18 in tolls and $180 in administrative fees. I'm starting with the Better Business Bureau, Florida Dept of Tourism, Yelp, Trip Advisor, and Google Reviews. Never again with Thrifty.

    0 Votes
  • Tv
    T Varner Oct 22, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We rented a car on 9/15/2-18 at the Boston Logan International Airport. We declined the Plate Pass Transponder. We avoided all tolls in the state of Massachusetts because they are electronic collection only. Once in Maine, we drove through the CASH toll lanes and paid all tolls in cash. We received a notice stating that we activated the transponder device - which we did NOT - and that there were three toll violations. Thrifty is charging us $59.99.
    I called the Maine Turnpike Authority - there are NO violations on file for the tag number for the entire month of September. There were NO violations paid by Thrifty to the Maine Turnpike Authority for violations. Thrifty claims they paid the three violations and so that deletes the violation photos from the Maine Turnpike Authorities system. MTA says NO - if there were violations, there would be photos, and those remain in their system even after the toll violations are paid. There were NO violations on this tag number for the entire month of September. This is fraud on the part of Thrifty.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.