Having problems with Textbooks.com?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Textbooks.com reviews first appeared on Complaints Board on Dec 25, 2008. The latest review selling textbooks was posted on Apr 19, 2018. The latest complaint Shipping was resolved on Feb 20, 2013. Textbooks.com has an average consumer rating of 3 stars from 20 reviews. Textbooks.com has resolved 9 complaints.

Textbooks.com Customer Service Contacts

2711 West Ash Street
Columbia, Missouri
United States - 65203
Mon8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tue8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wed8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thu8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Fri8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
SatClosed
SunClosed

ComplaintsBoard.com is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with Textbooks.com Customer Service. Initial Textbooks.com complaints should be directed to their team directly. You can find contact details for Textbooks.com above.

ComplaintsBoard.com is an independent complaint resolution platform that has been successfully voicing consumer concerns since 2004. We are doing work that matters - connecting customers with businesses around the world and help them resolve issues and be heard.

Use this comments board to leave complaints and reviews about Textbooks.com. Discuss the issues you have had with Textbooks.com and work with their customer service team to find a resolution.

Textbooks.com Complaints & Reviews

Textbooks.comselling textbooks

This is the first time to sell to textbooks.com. I did not realize, or assume, that it would take so long to receive payment for the items I sold since I've never had that issue before. I actually would not have even sold them to textbooks.com had I been aware. Even with Paypal I have to wait 1-2 weeks. With that said, I understand that processing can take time, however, my books have been processed yet I am still supposed to wait weeks to be paid. This is very aggravating from my end since I only sold these books out of a need of extra money and now have to wait so long to be paid, even though textbooks.com has their books! This seems like a very poor business transaction strategy and is the reason why I will never sell to textbooks.com again!

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Textbooks.comavoid at all costs

    I think I have to say it once again. N matter that other people have already mentioned it.
    Everyone who rents textbooks from them MUST remember that they are valid for two months and if you forget about it, you will simply lose your access. They won't notify you about it bc they really don't care. And getting a new access to the same books will be pretty hard.
    Why? Because their customer service is a piece of crap.
    Stay away and use different and more reliable services.

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Textbooks.com$10 payment for all my books

      I had many books left from time when I was a student. All these books were in a good condition, some of them were quite rare. I was moving to another country and I was selling a lot of my old stuff, including book.
      Textbooks offered me $200 for everything and that seemed like a great deal! I sent them my book and several days later I received the payment. I was shocked when I checked my bank account and realized that Textbooks paid only $10!
      I contacted them the same moment and demanded some reasonable explanations, but they said that they were able to pay only $10 because all my book were in a poor condition, and very old. That was not true!! I demanded my book back but they said no!! Don't risk and avoid this company, they are nothing but dishonest thieves!

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        Textbooks.comScam artists! Buyer beware..."very good" condition books are anything but!

        I recently purchased 17 books - all paperback, all stated "very good" condition. I wish I could upload pictures of the actual books I received. Most of them were almost entirely full of highlighting, writing in the margins and underlining. Some so bad, you could honestly not see the text to even read them. Books that were stated as paperback, came as hardcover with no dust jackets and dirty boards - it literally looked like someone had just thrown these books on the ground - that's how dirty they are. They also fail to tell you that almost all of their "very good" books are covered in multiple (no joke - one book I received had 12 used book stickers on it) used book, school book or library book stickers. I found that their descriptions were false and insultingly deceptive! This was the first and last time I will ever purchase a book from textbooks.com! I would have gladly paid the extra few dollars I saved with them to get the books I wanted in the actual condition I wanted them in had I known that their descriptions of their books were straight up lies! I seriously never ever write reviews like this, but I honestly felt obligated to warn others to avoid this place at all costs! If I could give zero stars I would! Horrible experience! Unless you want a book you could get at any garage sale for .50 cents, quite possibly in better condition, it is not worth any savings...now I have the hassle of having to repackage and send back the books and I get to wait 2 weeks for my refund! Terrible, terrible, terrible!

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          Textbooks.comTerrible scam website

          I had an unpleasant experience with www.textbooks.com and decided to write this reviews to warn others. I would not recommend buying from this site and there are many reasons for that. Customer service doesn't take responsibility and they don't actually care about their users. If you received a damaged book, or didn't receive it at all they will do nothing to help. They will say that is not their problem and you will have to deal with everything on your own. There is no way to tell in what condition your book is, there is no way to return and get a refund. Your order may be cancelled for no reason and no one will tell you about that. This site is terrible, please avoid it and warn others!!

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            We are here to help

            • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
            • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
            • Honest and unbiased reviews
            • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

            Textbooks.comWhat a joke!

            I've bought a book from www.textbooks.com website and received a payment confirmation message. Later I received another message stating that my order was delivered, but I did not receive anything. I contacted customer service and explained that I did not receive the book but they tried to assure me I did. What a joke! They said that I need to check again, because according to their information I did receive the book. What a scam! Will not deal with them again!

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              Textbooks.com — Fraudulent practices, very well - scripted

              This is a company with a very well-rehearsed fraudulent scheme. Do not buy.Here is my experience with...

              Textbooks.comRejected

              I contacted customer service and they gave me all the necessary information. Following their instructions I sent them two books. Both were in an excellent condition, one was quite rare.
              About a week later I was contacted by Textbooks support which said that both booked were damaged, that there were some pages missing. An absolute lie! They said they can only give me $5 for two books. I refused and demanded my books back. They said they'll return them as soon as possible and that was the last thing I heard from them. They never paid me anything and they still have my books! I want them back! Textbooks are criminals and cheaters, don't deal with them!

              Add your opinion

                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                Textbooks.comFraud of Textbooks.com

                Textbooks.com is shady. Placed an order through textbooks.com with standard shipping, the website said Standard Domestic 6-18 Business Days. After 6 days of order placed, no any progress update about my update on Textbooks.com website. I sent a inquiry through their customer service portal and got a respond to contact Follett School Solution, Inc. with another totally different PO# different # from Textbook.com PO#. So I contacted Follett 1-800 phone, one of the lady triple checked the PO#, and confirmed it's not legit Follett order number, she's unable to retrieve order info that provided by Textbooks.com. More sadly, Follett told me they never heard of Textbooks.com, and doesn't have business with them either!!! I guess Textbooks.com is a scam. Fortunately, the book just cost me $20!! What a lesson! DO NOT BUY FROM TEXTBOOKS.COM!!!

                Add your opinion

                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                  The complaint has been investigated and
                  resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                  Resolved
                  Textbooks.comShipping

                  I ordered from Textbooks.com because they were cheap.. BIG MISTAKE! Trust me take your money somewhere else and don't even give them a chance. I spent $115 dollars on one book and got free shipping on it thinking I was getting a good deal, but it was nothing but headaches! They're shipping provider - DHL for free shipping doesn't include shipping information so you have no idea where your book is or has been until it actually gets there. And when I went to find out where my book was, I found out that they shipped it to the wrong address.. When I called textbooks.com to tell them about the missing tracking information their representative told me not to use their free shipping because it was more headaches than it is worth, and then told me to tell my friends the same thing. You know it's bad when the company representatives tell you not to use their own promotions! Because I didn't know when my book would get here I had to spend $25 dollars EXTRA to rent the chapters in the book so that I wouldn't fail my quizzes in my class. So you think 115+25 is a 140. I could have bought the book basically full price on Amazon.com and gotten it in two days with my Prime membership. Textbooks.com is nothing but a joke, and the whole time I was on the phone with them all I heard was nothing but excuses. Don't buy from them!

                  Add your opinion

                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                    The complaint has been investigated and
                    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                    Resolved
                    Textbooks.comshady sellers and no customer service support

                    I wish I had read the reviews for textbooks.com ahead of time because I would have known to avoid them. Unfortunately, I ordered through one of their independent marketplace sellers called AmazingbooksM and got totally screwed. Never received any order confirmation and 1 week later, my order is still "in progress." There was no contact info provided by textbooks.com either. When I called the customer service line, I first got hung up on after an automatic message was played. Then I got hung up on a second time when I waited to speak to a service agent. I managed to reach someone on my third try and she give me the email of this shady seller which happened to be a personal yahoo email address from the UK. They wouldn't cancel my order and the email address I used was never replied to. I am livid and extremely behind on my reading. Will NEVER order from them again.

                    Add your opinion

                      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                      The complaint has been investigated and
                      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                      Resolved
                      Textbooks.comAvoid This One - There Are Better Book Sellers Out There

                      The prices look good . . .but, if you actually need a book for a class who knows when - OR IF - you'll actually get your order! Unreliable, poor service. When I placed my order the site promoted "Have your books in time for class!" And they posted a specific date, based on my order date. The price (including shipping costs) and how fast I get books are all important factors when making a purchase. The promise date came and went. I've been in touch with the company - instead of honoring their "promise date" they used the fall-back 5-10 business days (which passed)-still no book. Eating up more than the cost of the book driving to the library to keep up in class! They use DHL for shipping (not a BBB member, but rated "F" by the BBB) DHL held on to my order for days AND then passed it off to USPS - The company is wholly responsible for using a reliable, shipper - why not use USPS in the first place?????

                      Add your opinion

                        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                        The complaint has been investigated and
                        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                        Resolved
                        Textbooks.comTheft

                        I purchased a brand new textbook package for $225 from them for an 8 WEEK course. When I shipped the package back for buyback they informed me that they only received the study guide. They said the warehouse did no put a note in the computer that it was received opened/damaged yet they were missing the expensive textbook (with an enclosed CD). They informed me they would search the warehouse for it and contact me the next day. Two days later they called and still could not find it, but to call back in a week and they would search again. I contacted UPS and they said they would need to inspect the original shipping materials. I called textbooks.com back to notify them; they do not keep the shipping materials (even if you do not receive everything that is supposed to be in the package?). They also told me UPS does not require them to keep the packaging materials. Somebody got practically a new textbook or MY money for the buyback when they turn around and sell it to them themselves. I told them I have the code from the inside of the text to ID it as mine (though I am sure the employee will just rip that page out from what I have read from other complaints about them). DO NOT do business with this company!!

                        Add your opinion

                          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                          The complaint has been investigated and
                          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                          Resolved
                          Textbooks.com — Refund/ Exchange Policy

                          Order #[protected] I brought an access code from them to use in my online math class for 44.00 dollars. I called...

                          Textbooks.comTheir customer service is nonexistant

                          I purchased some used college textbooks from textooks.com. They were shipped through their "Marketplace" branch of the textbooks.com site which means that they are actually being shipped through an outside/private book dealer. Everything was OK until I saw the charge on my bank account (which was overdrawn!!!), there was one for the amount going through and another of equal money as a hold! So until the hold drops off it will continue to "use" or "hold" that dollar amount. The books have been shipped already and the "actual" charge has gone through my account and been processed. The hold is still out there and they (textbooks.com CSR) tells me it could be up to 14 days before the hold drops off. They (textbooks.com) gave me an email to contact the people at customer service for the "Marketplace" portion of their business BUT no phone number because "they just cannot do that"???? It took 24 hours for the people at Marketplace to contact me back just to say the hold would drop off "eventually". So textbooks.com could not do anything (their site does not have a disclaimer about the double charge nor does the checkout area refer to anything to prepare the purchaser for this just in case), the Marketplace people could not do anything and BOA (Bank of America) where I have my account said to contact the people I made the purchase from to have them take care of it!!! WTF people!!! So, my account was in overdraw status and no one could/would help. I will never purchase anything through textbooks.com again (use half.com as I have never had issues with them on charges or anything else) and their customer service is nonexistant!

                          Add your opinion

                            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                            • Fo
                              formeremployee2 Nov 12, 2010

                              Buyer Beware. Textbooks.com is just a subsidiary of MBS Textbook Exchange, Inc. located in Columbia, MO. I am a former employee and can attest to the fact the "grading" guidelines are not consistent. One drop of water and they will deem it as water damaged. MBS is a textbook wholesaler and it is their goal to receive as many books as possible at the lowest cost possible to sell at huge mark ups to college and university bookstores. They also had an issue a couple years back where a customer service rep. made off with credit card numbers and purchased nearly $10, 000 worth of "stuff."

                              0 Votes

                            The complaint has been investigated and
                            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                            Resolved
                            Textbooks.comDid not receive order

                            I sold a couple of used books and put the money on account. Then, I ordered some books but they never came. Textbooks.com did nothing to recover my money which they had control of. This company sucks! I would never use them because their customer service does not exist. Forty bucks is not much. But, I work hard for my doe and do not appreciate it being ripped from my hands. Textbooks.com was a real bad experience. Stay away, stay far away!!

                            Add your opinion

                              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                              • Je
                                Jessy:( Mar 21, 2010

                                So, with one bad experience you have blacklisted the most popular site for college students? Wow, that is pretty extreme. How come you did not contact your financial institution when the third party processor did not meet your expectations? I think this is your fault for not taking action.

                                0 Votes

                              The complaint has been investigated and
                              resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                              Resolved
                              Textbooks.comOnline scam

                              I ordered a college textbook from Textbooks.com back in September (for fall quarter). I got a used book, trying to save money. The reason I bought from them is they guarantee buying back your book at half the price of what you bought it for. What a great deal, right?

                              Well, I got my book. It was used and served its purpose. The book did have a little bit of water damage; but since Textbooks.com sent it to me, I figured they’re aware of it and it’s fine (the book is completely readable and that is what books are for: reading).

                              OK, so at the end of the quarter, I am sending the book back to them (they even send reminder e-mails telling you “they owe you money for the book” etc. I think that was a good feature. Anyways, I followed all of their instructions and a few days later, I get an e-mail saying that the book I sent them is damaged and cannot be bought. I was given an option to either pay them $12.50 in shipping to get the book back, or they simply throw it away.

                              Ok, so I e-mailed them back (this was on December 22, 2008) explaining that the book is in exactly the same condition as I received it from them. The representative responded, saying that I should have called them in September if the book was damaged and since I didn’t, it’s too late.

                              Well, here is the problem. I am buying a USED BOOK. Used books aren’t new. A little water damage, in my opinion, does not pose a problem in being able to use the book. Since Textbooks.com state that they inspect every used book by hand (as mentioned on their website), why would I be the one doubting them? They never mentioned that if a used book they sell me is water damaged, I should return it. Plus, they guarantee buying the book back, so of course, I wasn’t concerned or even had a reason to be concerned!

                              I am upset. I tried to resolve this issue directly with them via e-mail and I am being very reasonable. Textbooks.com should follow their claims and buy this book back. It is in exactly the same condition as they sold it to me. I am going to contact the Better Business Bureau, as I don’t think it is fair at all. I don’t recommend this company to anyone, as they obviously don’t hold themselves responsible for the condition of the books they sell (seeing that they weren’t aware of the condition of the book they sold me). Buyers: there are many other used textbook websites that don’t offer empty promises.

                              I bought this book for $74.50 from Textbooks.com. Now, they are going to throw it away.

                              Add your opinion

                                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                                • Up
                                  Upsetvictim Jan 06, 2015

                                  Exactly the same problem for me for exact same shipping $12.50 and exactly the same as upwards of 10+ other victims/complaints I've read on multiple sites. On bbb.org for example, one particular victim, who had the same issue with these scam artists, got a response from textbooks.com stating that the book was then shipped back free of charge. In my case I personally emailed them calling bs and included words "you will send my book back free of charge" and a follow up email after reading complaints in which I informed them that if I don't receive the book free of charge I'll post a complaint on bbb.org and on muttiple sites.

                                  This site, which seems partially-legit has over 50 1-star ratings with complaints on one particular rating site, on multiple issues.

                                  0 Votes
                                • Je
                                  Jean-Delino Gaspard Nov 16, 2014

                                  I have been noticing charges from IC FreeShipping on my bank statements What does this mean, please cancel and refund all necessary funds ASAP.

                                  0 Votes
                                • Kl
                                  klam Jan 07, 2011

                                  I have similar problem with them. I sent back my book as a buy back program. I put it in the UPS shipping box and they claim that my book was damaged beyond repair. Also, they ask $12.50 to ship it back to me or my book will discard. UPS card board box is a very sturdy and is use for international shipping purpose. I don't believe my book damaged that bad. Something is wrong here. I am waiting for them to send me the picture. Will see...

                                  0 Votes
                                • To
                                  Tony Olson Mar 31, 2010

                                  Textbooks.com does not have a functional customer service department. I tried to let them know that I did not get my order. Their response was some wise cracks from some their employees. When I questioned their answers and lack of help, they just ignored me. DO NOT use textbooks.com

                                  0 Votes

                                The complaint has been investigated and
                                resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                                Resolved
                                Textbooks.comBuyback policy

                                Textbooks.Com buyback policy is misleading, unclear, and a ripoff.

                                I sent a textbook back for the guaranteed buyback price.
                                The quote creation date was 12/22/08 guaranteeing a certain amount. They list the book and an expiry date. Then under policy reminders on the same page, they say that "Books must be received in 30 days for full value", indicating that as long as they receive the books within 30 days that you will receive the full value of the quoted price.

                                I brought the book to UPS to be sent back, and my tracking doesn't show it was picked up from the location I dropped it off at, but from another city and gives a date further out than when I dropped it at my local UPS. Then, from there, it took a few days to get back to Textbooks.Com. Neither UPS or Textbooks.Com know the date it was dropped off in my town at the local UPS store, (I called my local UPS store to ask if they had a record and they don't), but Textbooks.com is going by the date it was brought to another location and then the date they had it in their warehouse.

                                When I called Textbooks.Com, the person who answered told me that HE knew the policy and remembered what the website said (of course he would, he works there). He said that it is on the website when you order the books and since he remembers that, everyone else should 6 months after ordering a book...He argued that expiry means it expires and I should have figured out myself that "Books must be received in 30 days for full value" applies only to books that aren't guaranteed buyback even though there is nothing indicating that on the quote creation page or anything else. What else do you go by but the quote creation page with the buyback packing list on it?

                                Their buyback and quote policy is extremely unclear, and they do not work with the customer at all. It is simply the customer's fault & problem that their policies are misleading and confusing, and they don't give an inch. The guy didn't care that I told them we would no longer do business with them unless they honored their quote because of the misleading wording which would make (I'm sure too many) customers miss the deadline to get full buyback. I consider this fraud - like bait and switch. The entire reason we didn't return the book to my daughter's school was because Textbooks.Com offered more cash back than the school. We ended up losing more than the school would have given us by trusting Textbooks.Com.

                                By the way, if you go by what the representative said instead of the 30 days policy, it means they gave me 7 days (including weekends, Christmas and New Years holidays) to get the book back INTO their warehouse...They try to make it as difficult as possible and a near impossibility for the customer to get it to them on time, especially since 2 holidays were in there, as well as weekends.

                                Add your opinion

                                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                                  • Ki
                                    kiki84 Aug 10, 2012

                                    Ok, this is so not true. It says directly on the website "Books purchased between June 1 and November 30 must be received back at our warehouse by December 31 of the same year. Books purchased between December 1 and May 31 must be received back at our warehouse by the following June 30." this means 30 days from November 30th, NOT from the day you do the quote. You can't give them a bad rating because you can't follow directions or read. If this person dropped them off 12/22, you loose that day because it almost never goes anywhere that day. Also, holidays and weekends DO NOT COUNT IN BUSINESS-SHIPPING OR WAREHOUSING!!!. If you minus holidays and weekends for this time of year, it would have only had 4 days of transit time. Another thing that so many people don't understand is that UPS has tracking numbers for a reason. As long as it is registered as received somewhere by UPS at any date, you can file a claim with them as you are the shipper. Next time ask for a receipt from UPS. As with any company, a receipt is your proof. It is not anybody else's responsibility if you do not follow procedure or keep your paperwork. EVER. They are not your mommy.

                                    0 Votes
                                  • Fo
                                    formeremployee2 Nov 12, 2010

                                    Buyer Beware. Textbooks.com is just a subsidiary of MBS Textbook Exchange, Inc. located in Columbia, MO. I am a former employee and can attest to the fact the "grading" guidelines are not consistent. One drop of water and they will deem it as water damaged. MBS is a textbook wholesaler and it is their goal to receive as many books as possible at the lowest cost possible to sell at huge mark ups to college and university bookstores.

                                    0 Votes

                                  Textbooks.comFraudalent

                                  I discovered textbooks.com in September by searching online. I did have other choices, such as purchasing this book at the school bookstore but finally I decided to purchase this book with textbooks.com for the convenience and for the GUARANTEED BUY BACK!

                                  When I received the book some pages were wavvy and did seem like it had some water damage. Overall the book was in great condition, no handwriting in the book at all. I assumed this was OK because my book was used.

                                  I have now followed all directions in sending my book back only to receive an email 2 weeks later advising me my book had NO VALUE due to water damage. Can you imagine? No value. Not even a decreased amount.

                                  This book was in the same condition as I received it. I always kept the book in plastic and never wrote in this book at all.

                                  I cannot imagine a college kid not wanting this book to work with instead of purchasing a new book for $184.00.

                                  This company uses fraudalent tactics to lure the consumer to purchase from them.

                                  Shame on them!!

                                  Add your opinion

                                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                                    The complaint has been investigated and
                                    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                                    Resolved
                                    Textbooks.comFraudulent Practices

                                    I ordered a college textbook from Textbooks.com back in September (for fall quarter). I got a used book, trying to save money. The reason I bought from them is they guarantee buying back your book at the price you bought it from them, plus 10%. What a great deal, right?
                                    Well, I got my book. It was used and served its purpose. The book did have a little bit of water damage; but since Textbooks.com sent it to me, I figured they’re aware of it and it’s fine (the book is completely readable and that is what books are for: reading).
                                    OK, so at the end of the quarter, I am sending the book back to them (they even send reminder e-mails telling you “they owe you money for the book” etc. I think that was a good feature. Anyways, I followed all of their instructions and a few days later, I get an e-mail saying that the book I sent them is damaged and cannot be bought. I was given an option to either pay them $12.50 in shipping to get the book back, or they simply throw it away.
                                    Ok, so I e-mailed them back (this was on December 22, 2008) explaining that the book is in exactly the same condition as I received it from them. The representative responded, saying that I should have called them in September if the book was damaged and since I didn’t, it’s too late.
                                    Well, here is the problem. I am buying a USED BOOK. Used books aren’t new. A little water damage, in my opinion, does not pose a problem in being able to use the book. Since Textbooks.com state that they inspect every used book by hand (as mentioned on their website), why would I be the one doubting them? They never mentioned that if a used book they sell me is water damaged, I should return it. Plus, they guarantee buying the book back, so of course, I wasn’t concerned or even had a reason to be concerned!
                                    I am upset. I tried to resolve this issue directly with them via e-mail and I am being very reasonable. Textbooks.com should follow their claims and buy this book back. It is in exactly the same condition as they sold it to me. I am going to contact the Better Business Bureau, as I don’t think it is fair at all. I don’t recommend this company to anyone, as they obviously don’t hold themselves responsible for the condition of the books they sell (seeing that they weren’t aware of the condition of the book they sold me). Buyers: there are many other used textbook websites that don’t offer empty promises.
                                    I purchased my Anthropology book for $74.50 from Textbooks.com. Now, they’re throwing my book away.

                                    Add your opinion

                                      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                                      • Pa
                                        patty gggggg Jan 05, 2014
                                        This comment was posted by
                                        a verified customer
                                        Verified customer

                                        I'm having this exact same problem, how are they still in business!

                                        0 Votes
                                      • Ja
                                        jackrosenboom Dec 11, 2010
                                        This comment was posted by
                                        a verified customer
                                        Verified customer

                                        I agree - buyer beware. I purchased several textbooks from their "marketplace". A day or two later, I received a confirmation message from both sellers that they had received the order and the book would be shipping shortly. A WEEK later, one was canceled (they couldn't locate the book they listed for sale), and I can't get any word from the other seller letting me know if they too are going to cancel the order, or whether or not the book was shipped. I know this isn't textbooks.com fault directly, but they are the one charging my credit card so they should hold these marketplace sellers to a higher accountability than they currently are. If you don't have the book for sale, DON'T LIST IT.

                                        0 Votes
                                      • Fo
                                        formeremployee2 Nov 12, 2010

                                        Buyer Beware. Textbooks.com is just a subsidiary of MBS Textbook Exchange, Inc. located in Columbia, MO. I am a former employee and can attest to the fact the "grading" guidelines are not consistent. One drop of water and they will deem it as water damaged. MBS is a textbook wholesaler and it is their goal to receive as many books as possible at the lowest cost possible to sell at huge mark ups to college and university bookstores.

                                        1 Votes
                                      • Wm
                                        W. Milam May 04, 2010
                                        This comment was posted by
                                        a verified customer
                                        Verified customer

                                        Do they really throw them away or just resell...again! I have the same experience, bought a new book, returned it in exactly the same condition. They kept bugging me about buying it back. So, I sent the book back, they sent confirmation that they received it and payment was on the way. Low and behold, I received a subsequent email stating there was "water damage" and therefore, did not qualify for the buy back and told me they would discard the book, unless I wanted to pay for postage to have it sent back. They also said they could not guarantee they would send me back the same book...what???? At any rate, it's been months since I gave them my credit card information to pay for the "ship back". Today, months later, still no book...I contacted them only to be told that they had no record of the transaction! These people are unbelievable and I will do everything in my power to spread word of their poor business practices...and I know alot of people!

                                        0 Votes
                                      • Te
                                        Textbooks.com Dec 26, 2008
                                        This comment was posted by
                                        a verified customer
                                        Verified customer

                                        Hello: I am a customer service agent from Textbooks.com and I am responding to the above complaint.

                                        We do hand inspect every book we sell, however, we do not know what happens to the book during transit to the student nor do we know how the book is treated in the 6 months that it is in the students possession. That's why we have a 30 day, "no questions asked" policy, if the student believes the book is "too used" or has any sort of damages, we will provide a replacement copy.

                                        On our site, we list "What's a used book" and we do state that water damage is a condition that is unacceptable for resell.

                                        We do anything possible to keep the costs of textbooks down - buying damaged books would certainly play against that.

                                        Buying online has many advantages, buying from us or anyone else, please inspect your books upon arrive (make sure that they are not international editions if you are buying from other online vendors) so that there are no surpises once buyback comes around.

                                        Butterfly12 - please give me a call to discuss this further - [protected]

                                        Best,

                                        John
                                        Customer Service

                                        0 Votes

                                      IN THE NEWS

                                      Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
                                      If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
                                      One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
                                      A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
                                      ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
                                      You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
                                      Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.