SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Complaints & Reviews

Authorhouseauthorhouse book publishers

Published with Authorhouse back in 2014 and received only one royalty check for 99 cents. Ridiculous. Always telling me the book wasnt selling enough copies to receive a royalty check. I dont beleive them. Never have gotten anymore checks. Fraud company to be sure. This publisher takes money from me the author and promises you it will be a big hit in the book market stores. They do not respond to questions of how many of your books they have sold or when you can expect another royalty check. They just want you to order books on your on to sell yourself or pay for more advertising. They really talk a good game and mess with your head that your book is the greatest but after they publish it which matter of fact was a lousy job of color and print you never hear anything back from them about how your book is doing in the bookstores. Could have sold a million copies for all I know but me the author as of 2019 has received only 99 cent! Stay away from them .

Authorhouseel elyon

Effective immediately I am canceling my contact with you. Due to fraud, malfeasance, and breach of my work. I want released all properties related to el elyon, manuscript gallery, pictures. Removed from you incurring any money any source well as well as ibsn. If this is not sent to me within 10 business days I will be forced to contact my atty. ALSO any funds on video not completed.
Thank You
Rev Gary Emas

Authorhousevery bad client service

Despite being a client for AuthorHouse many times. Every time they try to make extra money from mistakes in figures clarity after printing. The staff and / or the company doesn't appreciate at all the coming back clients. Delivery is always late. The marketing team they try only to get you chained with more contracts.

Worse you can't reach the staff top management.. they kept barriers to ensure they don't hear their client services.

Authorhousepublishing

My book was created fine last year. HOWEVER they made the pricing too high for a children's storybook. No one will pay $20 for a book. I asked if it could be changed and they said no. They said it was determined by the number of pages BUT, at no point did they tell me that. I would have taken away two pages. I spent a lot of money for a book I can't sell.

Authorhouse — book publishing

I paid $600 for the basic package and just when I thought my book was being set up at he printers for publication, I have been ghosted by Authorhouse. No communication, emails, or...

Authorhousestill charging my credit card.

A couple of months ago, I called and spoke to someone explaining I wanted to cancel my ALC subscription. To date...they have not stopped the emails and continue to charge my Wells Fargo Visa Card. I don't use the service and want it Stopped! My name is Bryan Smith, my books published by Authorhouse are Funumbers and Geological History of Yosemite Lakes Park.

Authorhouse — trying to my get my cookbook new groove fusion publish

author house is a scam I have been dealing with them for 151/2 years from 2003 to present. Trying to get a cookbook publish called new groove fusion cookbook I have been through...

Authorhouse — book: "forgotten lost and hidden america"

Author House publishing gave me an offer I couldn't refuse to publish a second book for me title Forgotten Lost and Hidden America for $580.00, after submitting my manuscript and...

Authorhouseno refund forthcoming after cancelling a publishing package.

A quote was received to publish my second book "My Zimbabwean Odyssey - The Sequel" in September 2018.
The fee was to be paid in three instalments ie:-
17th September, 17th October and 17th November 2018.
However, because AuthorhouseUK could not produce the 8" X 5" size of book required with colour inserts, wanting instead to produce an 8" X 8" square "childs" colour book, the package was cancelled on the 6th November and no manuscript was ever sent to them.
This was well within the 90 day cancellation time frame but they still took the final instalment from my bank account ten days later on the 16th November 2018.
To date, despite many e.mails, no refund or an explanation as to why it's not forthcoming, has been received.
In all, it has been a totally stressful, frustrating and expensive experience.
I for one have lost all faith and trust in AuthorhouseUK and
the future of my first book, "My Zimbabwean Odyssey" currently with this publisher, now has to be re-considered.

Authorhouseprint on demand, book publisher

Greetings,

I published a book with Authorhouse in 2015 and was not satisfied with the accountability in sales, royalties, and finished product. (Rogue Journey) After months sales took place without feedback to the author and also over the course of years. The book was also sold in the U. K. where it was first published. The book is still available in some outlets. I believe on consignment.

Last year. I withdrew the book from Authorhouse and Amazon distribution after complaining to the Better Business Bureau in the publisher's home state, but the matter has not been resolved.

This Public submission Is to anyone interested in forming a Class Action Suit against the publisher?

Apparently once a book is published it lives forever on the sales outlet shelves, is sold, but Authorhouse keeps the royalties over the years which can be and often are with time, significant. In example: Grandad writes a memoir which at first sells well, and then Grandpa dies or the old guy forgets, the family forgets about it, but the bio keeps on occasionally selling on consignment, and over a short or long period sales records go unreported and disappear. Where does the residue royalty go? [protected]@Yahoo.

  • Au
    AuthorHouse Nov 18, 2018

    Dear Mr. Miller, please feel free to contact our Royalty Help Desk at [email protected] They will be able to provide you with the relevant information.

    0 Votes

Author House — book publishing

I signed a contract with authorhouse under the cheapest package they had, they took out the first month's initial payment, they had me send a manuscript. They had me send an...

Authorhouseself publishing scam authorhouse

In 2009 and 2010 I published two different books with Authorhouse

I know that the books have had reasonable sales yet I have still not received my royalty cheques.

I have sent over 200 emails and they say they cannot pay me as I do not have a UK bank account. Why would I when I live in New Zealand???

I have files of their lies but what can I do?? One of my books they say is in the name of another person when clearly I wrote it as its nonfiction.

It has been the worst experience I have ever had with a business and it's unbelievable that they get away with it

  • Us
    user1894225 Aug 22, 2018

    hello. my books have been on sale since via author house since 2017 people have been in touch positive people and they have purchased these books yet author house has not been correct and I have not received my royalties .Its not fare very cruel Amanda forbes Devil and Demons and lifeOF A page three model .I am HORRIFIED AT THIS PLEASE SEND ME MY CHEQUE ASAP .because T, V are wanting interviews or reply [email protected]

    0 Votes

Authorhouseroyalties

By now I am sure it is quite clear to anyone that Authorhouse is a wildly disreputable company. With the thousands of complaints and the pending class action suit filed in New York, no one should ever consider using them as a publishing tool.

In 2009 I did just that. They charged me jus $800.00 US and in the end published my book using a preliminary unedited draft. They said they would change the content for an additional $200.00 US. I declined and sent them a cancellation order in May 2011. That should have been the end of it. It was not.

In mid 2016 I came across my book for sale at Barnes and Noble so I contacted Authorhouse and asked them if this book was still for sale. They said yes and aimed a sales consultant at me. I could not believe it was still being sold since I received $0.00 in royalties during those five years.

I asked for a full accounting of these royalties and I was surprised to find that there was almost $100.00 US in royalties at $1.82 US per book. (The book sold for around $35.00 US)

In February 2016 I asked for those royalties to be sent and they told me that their accounting department would have to investigate to see whether or not each royalty check sent to me, was cashed or not. In the interim (today is March 4th 2018) I have received nothing, and all I have been told via email is that the accounting department is working on it.

I will say that if I had an accounting department that incompetent, I would fire the lot of them. 13 months later and a second cease publication order. I find that the book is STILL being sold. I know because I just bought one.

So if anyone is still thinking of using Authorhouse to publish their hard work - their intellectual property - stop!! Do not use Authorhouse! You are simply throwing your hard earned money and your Intellectual Property away. Research the publishing industry and inform yourself about the scams out there. There are good companies that will actually aid you in the process. Authorhouse is not one of them.

Authorhouseservices of illegal pulling money off of my credit card without my permission

I had AuthorHouse Publishing for my Service of Publishing my book' I was to make payments and my first payment was posted a month ago' The year of 2018 I was to make another payment as I was going to just pay the whole amount and be done' I gets a text from my Credit Card that I had just paid off, that I now had a balance due!!! I was so upset because I was not going to use that card any more because of the interest' I was going to pay it off with another card' I immediately checked it out! And AuthorHouse without my permission took a payment out plus some other person that I had no knowledge of that works with AuthorHouse that had taken $9.99 Now these peoples I had no knowledge of period!!! Why would I pay someone else anything if I was paying AuthorHouse??????? Their Name is ALC' They was to refund my money and of yet they have not!!!
Authorhouse has been RUDE & NASTY!!! That man that is named Christopher Collins Ext 7205 Should be FIRED!!! ASAP! The contract as he stated said they was to keep $150 if I Cancelled! But I wouldn't had cancelled if they didn't pull my money out without my permission!!! That was their downfall and illegal act that caused me to run from them! I want ALL MY MONEY BACK ON MY CARD
I DO NOT WANT TO EVER, EVER HAVE ANY DEALINGS WITH AUTHOR HOUSE PUBLISHING EVER, EVER AGAIN!!! I WANT ALL MY MONEY FROM BOTH PARTIES OF AUTHOR HOUSE. They are a Publishing Company that I wouldn't recommend my enemies to have! They do not try to even fix their mistake just want to grab $150 and many times more of your money for to keep them open! They need to SHUT DOWN IMMEDIATELY they are LIARS & CONS and yes I am still looking into suing them for going and pulling money out without my permission!!!

Authorhouse — isabelle leymarie

Last year I published a book with Authorhouse for which I paid a huge sum for so-called "promotion." More than a year later, I never received any royalty statement, which any...

Author House — publishing my book

My email is [protected]@outlook.com Keep well clear of Author house they have cheated me out of over $2000 by not doing as I wanted, I'm from Sydney If they were to pull...

Authorhouse — overcharged me for marketing services

During July 15 2014 My book of poetry called Inspiring Thoughts was published by Authorhouse to be sold on Amazon. I signed an agreement to have my book advertised in the...

Authorhouse — unprofessionalism

I signed a book publication contract with AuthorHouse in 2012. Since then, problems have been dogging the project. Micheal Pyles, who is in charge of sending me free copies, ha...

Authorhouse — poetry book

87308 AuthorHouse was suppose to publish my Manuscript, a Book of wonderful poems a three part...They took my work and my money in May, I pay my first payment, and then I pay the second...

Authorhouse — rip off publishing compnay

The rogue, predatory, fraudulent publishing company called Author House based in Indiana will steal your money and not publish your work. Please, do not deal with them for your...

Authorhouse — book shipment

Sherman Wright, my service representative, from AuthorHouse said for $3, 245.37 I would be sent 390 books After a revision and 2nd printing with the revisions were done. I talked...

Author House — lack of royalties and lose everything

Author House keeps the royalties (in which I'm now gathering receipts from some buyers) and they also have the problem of losing everything including a royalty check from a...

Authorhouseno royalties

not paying royalties after giving them thousands in marketing strategy, supposedly performed by them, for instance 2, 000, 000 emails for book, result they said, no sales, media press release all across u. s a. and so they say, etc, etc book published 2010 dec, i own copyrights, amazon.com shows book high seller, but they still are not paying me.

  • Ry
    ryan walker Jul 15, 2013

    wow. if you're getting all that positive feedback why not just cut your losses, write something else and send it to a literary agent?

    0 Votes

AuthorhouseI can only blame myself for choosing authorhouse

Last year in 2011, I paid AuthorHouse thousands of dollars to publish my book. Unfortunately, I found out too late about the scam. I have received approximately $10 in royalties since my book was published in 2011. I bought books myself, and wasn't surprised when I never received the royalties. I can only blame myself for choosing AuthorHouse, but I learned a valuable lesson.

Authorhouse — authorhouse is a ponzi scheme

My novel writing partner and I had high hopes when we discovered Authorhouse (originally 1st Books). We have discovered they are in business to publish novels and charge a fee, a...

1st Books Library Dba/ Author House Publishing — theft of royalties

Since March, 2004, all I have received fom Author House from my wildly popular book; Acts of War: JESUS/ALEXANDER & JFK, are pennies, with my last check, in May, 2009, was $2.24...

AuthorHouse.com Publishing — copyright infringement

Cancelled Agreement 9 1/2 years ago - they claim I didn't. Have have 2 checks -one on 08/07/02 $4.49c & one Jan 16th 2012 for $8.96c - yet they claim 'on the www "Very...

Author Solutions DBA Author House — fraud, failure to pay royalties, etc.

Paid author house $600.00 to "publish my book" - it charged me $10.75 to make each book which was only 52 pages! I was informed that they were "expert...

authorhouse publishingfeeling of getting the run around

TO WHOM MAY BE INTERESTED:
APROX MARCH OF 2008, AFTER RESEARCHING A PASSION OF MINE, DECIDED TO PUT TOGETHER A BOOK, A BOOK THAT EXPLAINES QUITE A BIT OF INFORMATION MOST PEOPLE LET SLIDE BY, NOT EVEN MENTIONING A WORD OF WHAT THEY MAY HAVE SEEN NOR FEELINGS OF WHAT THEY FEEL IS PROBABLY FACTUAL!
WELL, AFTER I HAD PUT TOGETHER MANY IDEAS I HAD, NOT ONLY SEEN, BUT WATCHED ON T. V. AS WELL AS WHAT I HAD READ IN MANY PUBLICATIONS OVER THE YEARS. IN TALKING TO MANY OF MY FRIENDS ABOUT MY FINDINGS, SEVERAL HAD QUITE A BIT OF THINGS THEY HAD EXPIERENCED AS WELL AS READ OR SAW ON T. V. HISTORY CHANNEL
TO BE PERFECTLY "FRANK" MY FEELINGS ABOUT WHAT ONE MAY OBSERVE, WATCH ON T. V. OR PICK UP IN SMALL PUBLICATIONS, CAN, FOR THE MOST PART, SIMPLY, CAN BE DISMISSED, LEAVING THE PERSON THAT HAD JUST OPENED UP REGARDING A CERTAIN SUBJECT, WISH THEY HAD NEVER MENTIONED ANYTHING AT ALL. USUALLY THE PERSON THAT HAD OPENED HIS OR HER IDEAS TO ANYONE, FRIENDS, FAMILY ETC. WALK AWAY THINKING, FROM THAT TIME ON (LIKE FOR THE REST OF THEIR LIFE) WILL BE A LIVING JOKE TO ALL THEY HAD CONFINED IN (FAMILAR ?) WELL, AT MY AGE, BORN IN 1938, FEEL, IF I HAVE PEOPLE AROUND ME THAT RESEMBLE THE ONES MENTIONED ABOVE, IT IS DEFINETELY TIME TO RE-ESTABLISH A NEWER ENVIRONMENT OF PEOPLE. (DON'T CHA THINK ?)
REALLY FEELING I HAD SOMETHING, WANTED TO SHARE THAT INFORMATION WITH THE WORLD !
NOT KNOWING THE FIRST THING ABOUT DOING THAT KIND THING, A LIGHT CAME ON IN MY HEAD, WHY NOT WRITE A BOOK ?
AGAIN, JUST AS TRYING TO TELL THOSE THINGS I HAD BUNCHED UP INSIDE OF ME, HAD THE FEELING I MAY BE JUDGED BY MANY MORE PEOPLE THAN JUST A FEW !
BOOKS I HAVE READ IN MY LIFETIME ARE CRAMMED WITH SO MUCH "CRAP" THE MAJORITY OF ITS READERS, USUALLY, ROLL THEIR EYES AND SET THE BOOK ASIDE, NEVER TO BE OPENED AGAIN. (RIGHT?) ALSO, ANOTHER THING THE AUTHORS DO, IS ADD A LOT OF FILLERS, THINGS THAT REALLY HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH THE MESSAGE THEIR TRYING TO MAKE, BUT THE AUTHORS FEEL IF THE BOOK, SITTING ON THE SHELF OF A BOOK STORE ISN'T "A FATTY", THE POTENTIAL CUSTOMER WILL CHOOSE ONE THAT IS.
THE NEXT DECISION I HAD WAS, HOW IN THE WORLD DOES AN AUTHOR SELECT AN AGENCY TO GET THE BOOK "OUT THERE ?"
WHAT I DID, WAS GO ON THE COMPUTER, SCROLL THROUGH PUBLISHERS ADDS TILL I FELT I HAD CHOSE THE RIGHT ONE !

SO, HERE IS THE PLACE WHERE I FEEL AS IF I HAVE MADE A MISTAKE !!!
FROM THE GET-GO, I WAS TOLD THINGS THAT ON THE SECOND CONTACT WITH THE PUBLISHER, HAD CHANGED COMPLETELY.
TO START OFF, . I WAS LEAD TO THINK, THE PRICE THAT WAS QUOTED, AND "PAID" FOR, WAS ALL I WOULD EVER NEED TO PAY! WHICH WOULD INCLUDE, THE COVER, PROMOTION AND DISTRIBUTION.
WELL, SHORTLY, THERE AFTER, ADDITIONAL CHARGES WERE ADDED TO THE ORIGIONAL, ( I THINK, ONE PRICE AGREEMENT). IT HAS BEEN OVER THREE YEARS, OF GETTING THE RUN AROUND, NEVER ABLE TO BE SPEAK TO THE LAST PERSON IN WHICH I WAS TOLD WOULD BE THE ONLY PERSON THAT HAD BEEN ASSIGNED TO ME AND WOULD BE TAKING ME THROUGH, FROM THE BEGINNING TO THE TIME MY BOOK WOULD BE PLACED ON THE BOOK STORE SHELVES !
SOMETIMES, AFTER CALLING MANY TIMES TO SPEAK TO THE LAST PERSON THAT I HADE SPOKE WITH WOULD TAKE WEEKS, EVEN ON A FEW OCCASIONS, I WOULDN'T HEAR BACK FOR WELL OVER A MONTH. EVEN THE COVER, I HAD ABOUT A YEAR OF HEAD ACHES GETTING THAT DONE, FINALLY AFTER I DESIGNED IT ABOUT 90% MYSELF AND SIGNED OFF THE FINAL SKETCH, THE SO CALLED ARTIST IN WHICH I WASN'T ALLOWED TO SPEAK WITH, CHANGED THE MOST IMPORTANT PART, WHEN I QUESTIONED WHAT HAD BEEN DONE, THE RESPONSE WAS, "YOU SIGNED OFF, (REMEMBER) SO NOW IF YOU WANT TO CHANGE THE ART WORK IN WHICH YOU SIGNED OFF ON, WILL COST YOU $70. AN HR. (ADDITIONAL)
WELL, I WAS INFORMED, MY BOOK WAS AVAILABLE (FOR SALE) AT THREE PLACES, AUTHORHOUSE PUBLISHING, AMAZON.COM PLUS BARNES & NOBLE AND TWENTY OTHER COUNTRIES AROUND THE WORLD. THE KICKER TO THAT WAS. I WAS TOLD ADVERTISING WAS ANOTHER EXPENSE COMPLETELY, (THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS) THE TOLD ME THAT THE HAD SAID, THEY WERE GOING TO MAKE THE BOOK AVAILABLE TO ALL THOSE PLACES, GETTING THE WORD OUT TO THE POTENTIAL CUSTOMERS WAS SOMETHING THAT I WAS GOING TO EITHER TAKE CARE OF ON MY OWN OR THEY WOULD ASSIGN A SALES PROMOTER TO DO THE ADVERTISING!!! NEXT THING I FOUND OUT WAS THEY CANCELLED MY HARD COVERS, LEAVING ONLY PAPER BACK. WHEN I ASKED WHY THEY CANCELLED MY HARD COVER, THEY REALLY DIDN'T HAVE AN ANSWER, I WAS TOLD TO CALL BACK AS THEIR COMPUTER WAS DOWN AND THE PERSON IN WHICH I WAS ASSIGNED TO WAS GOING TO BE OUT OF THE OFFICE FOR A COUPLE OF WEEKS. FINALLY AFTER MANY PHONE CALLS, WAS TOLD, THE REASON THEY HAD CANCELLED THE HARD COVER WAS, FIRST THEY DIDN'T HAVE THE EXACT SIZE THEY HAD GIVEN ME DIMENSIONS FOR . NEXT TIME I SPOKE WITH THEM ABOUT TWO TO THREE WEEKS LATER, (AFTER E MAILING AND CALLING THEM, SPEAKING TO AY LEAST FIVE MORE PEOPLE THEY CANCELLED IT AGAIN AS THEY TOLD ME, I HADN'T INFORMED THEM, IF I WANTED A DUST COVER OR PICTURE ON THE ACTUAL HARD COVER ITSELF!
IT STILL ISN'T READY TO BE PURCHASED YET, NOT FOR ABOUT A MONTH ??? WHEN I ASKED THEM ABOUT THE 20 COPIES I WOULD BE RECEIVING, THEIR ANSWER WAS, IF I WANTED COPIES, I WAS GOING TO HAVE TO PAY FOR THEM ! I TOLD THEM THAT THE 20 COPIES WAS WRITTEN INTO THE ORIGIONAL CONTRACT, THE RESPONSE WAS, WELL, WE FINALLY FOUND YOUR ORIGIONAL CONTRACT, HOWEVER THINGS HAD CHANGED SEVERAL TIMES AND THAT CONTRACT WAS NOT IN PLACE ANYMORE. WHEN, THEY REALIZED, BY THE TONE OF MY VOICE, I WAS GENUINELY PROVOKED, THEY SAID THEY WOULD BE SENDING ME MY 10 PAPERBACK AND 10 HARD COVER, (BUT) I WAS GOING TO HAVE TO FOOT THE DELIVERY CHARGE !
AT LEAST ONCE A WEEK, I RECEIVE A PHONE CALL FROM SOMEONE CLAMING TO BE ON THEIR SALES TEAM WANTIMG TO PROMOTE MY BOOK AT A MAJOR ADDITIONAL EXPENSE. I HAVEN'T REPLIED TO THAT OFFER AS OF YET, HOW EVER, I DID ASK FOR THE AMOUNT OF BOOKS THEY HAVE SOLD AT THIS TIME. THEIR REPLY WAS, WE DON'T HAVE ANY WAY TO GIVE YOU A NUMBER, BUT I WILL BE RECEIVING A ROYALTY CHECK IN THE FIRST WEEK OF FEB. 2012
I TOLD THEM HOW DO YOU EXPECT ME TO PAY A SALES PERSON TO PROMOTE MY BOOK WHEN I MUST HAVE TO WAIT 3 MONTHS PLUS TO FIND HOW MANY SALES CAME FROM HIS SALES PROCEDURE. I SAID WHAT IF IT WAS A BAD PROMOTION AND VERY LITTLE SALES CAME FROM IT. I WOULD BE TOTALLY OUT OF ALL THAT FOOLISH MONEY SPENT, THE LADY ON THE PHONE PRETENDED NOT TO UNDERSTAND MY LOGIC, I SAID, DO YOU MEAN TO TELL ME YOU HAVE ABSOUTELY NO IDEA HOW MANY BOOKS HAVE BEEN SOLD AT THIS TIME ? SHE RESPONDED, NO BECAUSE THEY GO TO OTHER DISTRIBUTORS AND THEY WONT BE ABLE TO TALLY UP THE SALES FOR THOSE SALES. I SAID, WAIT A MINUTE, YOU HAVE TOLD ME NO BOOKS COME OFF THE PRESS TILL YOU HAVE SOLD ORDERS, I DIDN'T ASK FOR MONEY FROM THOSE SALES AS I'VE BEEN TOLD, I WILL BE PAID QUARTERLY, WHICH WILL PUT ME INTO THE FIRST WEEK OF FEB. 2012, I'M JUST ASKING HOW MANY BOOKS HAVE GONE THROUGH PRESS AT THIS TIME. STILL, SHE SAID SHE HAD NO WAY TO FIND OUT. SHE DID SAY ONLY THE BOOKS THAT HAD ORDERS PLACED AT THEIR LOCATION "AUTHORHOUSE" I SAID, O K THEN, TELL ME HOW MANY DID YOU TAKE ORDERS FOR ? HER ANSWER, NONE
NOW, I COULD FEEL MYSELF GETTING HOT. I SAID, HOW CAN YOU TELL ME THAT ? IT ISN'T TRUE, THREE PEOPLE I KNOW PLACED ORDERS WITH AUTHORHOUSE AND HAVE RECEIVED THEM, I ABSOUTELY KNOW AS FACT AS I HAVE AUTOGRAPHED ALL THREE !
WELL THIS IS THE END OF MY CONCERN WHICH LEAVES MY VERY WORRIED, ABOUT 4 MO. AGO, I READ ON THE COMPLAINT BOARD AGAINST AUTHORHOUSE. A MAN WAS VERY ANGRY, HE CLAMES HIS SCHOOL HAD PLACED AND RECEIVED AN ASTONISHING AMOUNT OF HIS BOOKS IN WHICH WELL OVER 4-5 MONTHS HAD PASSED AND AUTHORHOUSE CLAIMES NO SALES WERE MADE FROM THEIR AGENCY, EVEN AFTER HE SENT CONFORMATION THAT THEY INDEED HAD MADE THE SALE. WHAT HE CLAIMES HAPPENED NEXT WAS AUTHORHOUSE CANCELLED THEIR BUSINESS WITH HIM, TELLING HIM TO TAKE HIS BUSINESS ELSWHERE . SO YOU CAN SEE MY CONCERN, BEING 74 YEARS OF AGE, I CAN'T AFFORD TO GO TOE TO TOE WITH ANYONE

Author Houserotalties/correction/promises

If you are thinking of using this company - think again. When they shut their UK offices, warning signs should have gone up. As we got rather tiny royalty cheques, we were surprised but thought that may be our book is not selling - er, thats strange as it is ranking 33 in the top 100 best selling health resource books in the UK (on amazon) and doing almost as well in the amazon.com site???? Trying to seak to anyone with a brain is impossible, they change access to your own author sites on line and as for corrections - if you don't do your own and triple check your instructions...forget it. I just found the number of compaints listed for fraud against them on this website and will never use them again. We are stuck with a book whose royalties are supposed to got to charity and I am ashamed to let them see the cheque - yet we know the book has been selling everywhere. Medical libraries worldwide have bought copies - yet we have £33 to show for it. Something wrong somewhere and unless we can all get together with a class action suit...

Author Houserip off

To my utter misfortune, I became acquainted and started to use the services offered by 1stBooks publishers now known as Authorhouse, and published my first two books in 2003. At the time, I detected no problem with their services and accepted that being my work was academic, would not sell many copies. I decided to publish my third book with them, a large 2 volume edition in 2008, and due to the reviews and publicity received, and the professors that contacted me personally, I became fully aware of the university libraries and public libraries who processed my work into their establishments, or were interested in my work.

However, I noticed the first major discrepancy in their promises was that if I turned my manuscript in within a certain time frame, I would receive fourteen free copies of my work when it was printed.
I e-mailed my text, and mailed my contract via snail-mail two weeks before the deadline, I know it arrived on time—I live in Europe, and mail does not take longer than 4 to 8 days to arrive in the US, however, they could not honour the free copy agreement as they hadn't received the contracts on time. They never mentioned the agreement included receiving the contracts, just the manuscript. I received just my usual free review copy of each volume. I decided to let the matter go.

Then, they have a very careless attitude with other aspects of their services. For example, their Press Wire program that sends your Press Release electronically to 14, 000 media outlets. Where did I find my academic books being promoted? In the financial sections of these media outlets, and not to my target audience found in the academic, history, biography, or even literature, areas.
(I also discovered my university level academic book on classical music categorised as a “children's book”.)

However, the major problems developed with royalty accounting. I began keeping a record of the copies available of my new two-volume work at Amazon US, UK, Canada, and their Marketplace vendors. (This is practically the only way you can discern how many books may be selling in the public domain.) Considering this is Print On Demand, when a number of available copies drops, you can expect it to be a sale since stores have no reason to keep raising and dropping the numbers unless they make a sale and then re-list the book. (For the record, I withdrew all my publications from Authorhouse June 14th 2010.)

Authorhouse's numbers were way below the daily tallies I kept from the Amazon numbers, they only reported between 10% and maybe up to 20% of the sales on any given quarter. Today for example, I received the worst report yet: they reported only 1 copy of Volume One sold in the second quarter (April 1 to June 14th, the time I withdrew my publications from them), and only 3 copies for Volume 2. According to my numbers from the Amazon rankings and marketplace sellers in the US, Canada and UK: 28 copies of Volume 1 sold, and 27 of Volume 2. Therefore they have reported only 4% of the sales, and they obviously are pocketing the rest. And this does not include other sales that may have been made through other sellers like Barnes and Noble, etc.

However, there is no way to be compensated for these discrepancies, Authorhouse demands you provide receipts of all sales as proof of your claim—how on earth do you track such receipts? Authorhouse knows it's an impossibility. Of course, Nielsen Book Scan offers sales report services, but you cannot use them to reclaim royalties, or display or disclose your sales report to any third party as Nielsen deems such action a breach of trademark confidentiality and would possible incur a lawsuit.

The simplest answer would be to cancel all contracts with Authourhouse, but this is not as easy as they make it out to be. To date, they continue to reassure me my books are no longer in print, but as I have discovered today (September 7), they are still listed with UK wholesale distributors as available within 5 days as Print on Demand, so they are technically still available by Authorhouse illegally.

1st Books / Authorhouse in my estimation is the most disreputable company allowed to carry on a business offering a sham service to the public, robbing authors of the fruits of their labours. Surely they are required to have a business license to operate as all other businesses? How can any state issue a license and continue to allow such a rogue business like this to continue? They are operating on such a large scale, and if they are doing this to every author, then one must consider the possibility they are committing grand larceny on a massive scale. They claim to have thousands of authors with their company.

Authors Beware: if you are considering publishing your book using Print On Demand, stay well away from this company. Even if they paid all the royalties, they do little or nothing to help promote your work, but expect you to pay additional hundreds and even thousands for various promotion packages that provide little if no results. For those of you poor authors who now hold a contract with Authorhouse publishing your work, my sympathies go out to all of you.

  • At
    A. Th. van der Heijden Jan 31, 2012

    This is what I left elsewhere:
    Odd. Odd is the first word that comes to mind when the subject is AuthorHouse, a seach-query I did with the popular search-engine, after something that firstly surprised me (A publisher on the telephone? How nice! Already?), and then I had a conversation that lasted for 39 minutes.
    One might call me paranoid, one might call me careful.
    Odd is the word that came to mind when I received this call, for I myself have worked at a call-centre, and know a bit about the ramifications, and one just lies oneself through the conversation. (Have you seen this ad on TV recently that bladiblah? (I didn't)).
    So I was a bit surprised to hear a professional not ever having heard about Terry Pratchett or Douglas Adams when it came to SF or fantasy, and call me within hours after I had visited their site. (Odd). When Sir Terry Pratchett OBE has a fairly large share of the English market, and his books are the most stolen in the UK.
    Another oddity I noticed in the conversation was that finally the name of the The Ultimate Hitchhiker's Guide came up with the interviewer, and I knew that she had heard something whispered in her ear, for one doesn't talk about that one. It is just The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, and that's it. Not the Ultimate.
    Famous writers have their books turned into major movies. Because of us.
    Well, I don't give a damn. I want to see it published, all the rest is dreams, when it happens then it happens but I guess I make a bigger chance of getting run over by a car. Try to make me dream, but I tell you, I have worked at a call-centre. I tell you anything.
    You have complete control over everything and have it done within days rather then weeks and it will be on Amazon!
    Yeah, right. When it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.
    Then I checked my email, and found the link to the PDF. And now I am gonna spoil a few things, but hey, since the freedom on the net still exists, I came here because of it.
    It stated that AuthorHouse had 65.000 titles by 60.000 authors. Which looks like a lot but isn't, since I worked for one of the largest publishers on the planet that has 4 times as much titles, and updating every day. But these numbers made me think and go back to the search-engine, and knock up the words, 'Complaints about AuthorHouse', and there was a list of raving mad people.
    It is what I concluded: If one is content with a publisher, one usually stays with them and has more than one title published with them. More than 1, 083 on average.
    I had a fascinating conversation, but mostly with one of my colleagues from the call-centre. I have been doing research on the subject of publishing, and am still looking for a publisher, and it getting rich is not the subject. My subject is tales - for as long as it is not about my bank-account. That belongs to the real world.

    There is a PS., since for I forgot to mention one thing. One thing that came up during the conversation on the telephone, and I found myself warned about at a site about publishing, (writersworkshop.co.uk). That is that there are agents that ask a fee before they are willing to do anything. The advice is to say no (expletive of your own choice) way.
    Since AuthorHouse asks 'only' less than a £800, - to have it all done, I advice to say no (expletive of your own choice) way. Work 120 hours on the net and have some patience instead.
    Okay, I admit I have worked for a bigger publisher and I am on the net all day reading what writers do and I note the details, and yes I have already the first refusal pocketed. But I only started to look for an agent last week and I find I might have a lot to say about the subject in respect of my past experience.
    Your book is your baby, maybe pretty, maybe horrible and handicapped, but it is your baby. And as a rational person, you don't want to give it over to a witch doctor that hasn't heard about bacteria.
    Or else, search about the subject on witch doctors and think again about mutilation.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    geminitrait Apr 05, 2012

    Well I have also been a victim of authorhouse. What is the plan in going forward? Are we all going to get serious and sue?

    0 Votes

1st Book/authorhousecopyright infringement/theft/ fraud

Time to call in the FBI. I have amassed 70 pages of eveidence against this company and intend to bring charges through both the FBI & Copyright Enforcement Office. I began with this companyin 2001, and have secured boks through friends - yet have had under $5 for forty years hard work. I am also adressing my case the The President of the United States - who said he is adamant that this kind of company is stampped out - time to give them some real jail-time. Alfred Campbell.

  • Ka
    Karlene Larkin Oct 14, 2012

    I agree. I was 100% lied to when I first started dealing with Author House. They did not say they were a vanity press. They made it sound like getting my book published was a cost I had to pay as that's how other authors started. They told me I was small fry and had to pay. I was lied to on several accounts, staff I was speaking to in one call, call back and they were no longer working there. I spent almost 10k cash and in the end, they lied, didn't do any of the stuff they said, and I have all the proof. Just sent some marketing kit- printed papers on my novel- big deal, and sent me some copies- for 10k- lies, lies, lies. They were good liars, pitchers of what they were doing. I also NEVER had any part of my contract mention digital books like nook, ebook- it wasn't around. Now, 7 years after my contract is OVER, they are pushing my book all over for 9.99 and I've NEVER had one royalty payment. I plan to sue. They are dishonest, scam and the hundreds of people online saying the same- speaks volumes. They did NOT do anything they said, but always wanted more money. Then had the nerve to want me to sign another contract- lol, right. Author House is crooks

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alfred Campbell Jan 28, 2013

    I wish wronged authors would let us have their Emails - we could then converse privately and plan some form of action -anyone agree? [email protected]

    0 Votes

Authorhousebait and switch

It has taken over 10 months and no book. Hundreds of calls with no answer. Just a message.
It takes weeks to get a single change done. You can never talk to the people who design your book cover
you must go through an intermediary. They charge you for every change $50.oo to $75.00. You cannot publish yourself you have to use them at greatly inflated prices 300% over market prices. They will not give you your book and cover so you can print it yourself even thought they assured me that they would. This is the biggest bait and switch scam I have ever seen.
If you use Authorhouse you need your head examined. The turnaround time was supposed to be 8 to 12 weeks and now I am at 40 weeks with no final product. The design is incompetent, they just photo shopped one picture from istock on top of another and added some text. My 12 year old daughter could have done a better job. Beware.

Authorhouse — non payment of royalties

I don't know about AuthorHouse filing for bankruptcy but I do know that my book Mound Bayou is being issued by some 'new' company called Lightening Source Inc. I...

Authorhouse — scam artist

Beware authorhouse are scam artist class action lawsuit, need people Hello, i want authorhouse/iuniverse. Why is the complaints board advertising for self pub companies. I have...

Authorhousecomplaints

Let me start by saying that I am a former employee of Authorhouse. My position was terminated because labor is cheaper elsewhere (not their stance, but it's the reality). Therefore, if anyone has a right to dislike them, it's me.

Many complaints I've read range from royalties to "they want me to buy other services". I read one complaint that was valid and that involved an employee going to a "casual dinner" with a potential author. That's a legitimate complaint. To the rest of you, you have yourselves to blame for any issues you may have. Perhaps you should have asked more questions.

Authorhouse is a business. Do you really expect them to care if your book does well? Granted, there are several employees that actually care. And let's be honest, if your book sells, Authorhouse still gets a portion of that. But, the bottom line is THE BOTTOM LINE.

One of the things you're told is that, unless you pay for editing, Authorhouse will print exactly what you send them. Judging from some of the complaints I've read, you should have paid an editor or Authorhouse to edit your book. I'm no grammatical genius. But, if I was going to have a book out there with my name on it, you can bet I would have had it edited. Authorhouse is not in the business of telling you if your book is any good. They're in the business of giving everyone a chance to be published. Do you really think Sarah Palin teaches English on the side for extra cash? NO! I'm sure she had a whole team of editors go through her book. Having said that, even an english teacher has someone else edit his/her work. If you don't believe me, shop your book around for 6 months. Better yet, make it two years. IF you get someone in the industry to read it, CONGRATULATIONS! They'll be sitting in their office laughing at you because you don't know the difference between two, to and too.

At Authorhouse, we were urged to "sell the dream". Do you know why that is? 2% of authors are successful. 2%! If your book really is that good, you will be in that 2%. It will take A LOT...I'll say it again...It will take A LOT of effort and money on your end to make this happen. If it was easy, everyone would be doing it.

I know I haven't addressed all of the complaints. That would take forever. And, let's be honest, nobody would read this entire post if I did. If you feel you have a LEGITIMATE complaint, I urge you to comment on my post. I promise I will answer you.

If you are looking to publish a book, please ASK QUESTIONS regardless of how silly you think they are. You don't want to be that guy who gets proven wrong.

In closing, Authorhouse is the best of what's out there. You have no idea how much it pains me to say that given how I was treated. Happy publishing. I wish you nothing but the best.

P.S.
Here is a little sales 101 for you. http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/gump

  • St
    STUnderdahl23 Jun 27, 2011

    I want to post here to say that I completely agree with everything you said above. I've published three books with a traditional publisher and decided to try out the self-publishing route. Despite reading some bad things about Authorhouse, I felt their advertising read true and they were running a promotion whereby I could get a much more comprehensive package for a lesser package price, so I went with them. The time between uploading the (complete, fully-edited) manuscript to holding a book in my hand was one month to the day. Although I didn't always like being handed off from representative to representative for each phase of the project, every person I dealt with was professional, responsive, and able to answer questions. I think it really helped that this wasn't my first rodeo so I knew how to write up my own cover copy, to request a dedication, to ask that my website address be included, etc. They will lead you forward to some extent, but you are really the one in charge of how your book turns out. I found my own cover-art on Etsy.com and arranged a contract with the artist to use it, and the cover designer from Authorhouse did a fantastic job from there. I think that one of the most important thing is to go through the proof manuscript with a fine-tooth comb or you have no one but yourself to blame for typos, inaccuracies, etc., because you were the one who left them in there. Also, if you think that they are going to throw themselves into marketing your book, you are wrong; if you want people to know about your book, you are going to have to be the one doing that legwork unless marketing and publicity are part of the package for which you have PAID. It's a business, people: Authorhouse is selling you a service and various attached services, and there's no reason you should expect that they will do anything beyond what you pay them for no matter how fabulous you THINK your book is. Indeed it might be fabulous, but unless people find out about it and read it, no one will ever know. That means you have to give books away, arrange signings at bookstores and street fairs, do readings and contact your local newspaper to see if they'll review it. I did all of this even for the three books that I published through a traditional publisher, and my books have sold over 10, 000 copies, largely because of my own efforts. That's just the reality of the literary world; unless you're Nicholas Sparks or J.K Rowling, you will be the one setting up your own appearances and doing the bulk of your marketing. If you think it's any different, you may as well just staple your money together and call THAT your book!

    0 Votes

Authorhousenothing back from my investments

in 2006 i had a book publish from autorhouse. i pay them about 600 dollars for my book to be publish. i thought i was going to make plenty of money for my book. i got my first check from them and my pay was less then 3 dollars. i only had one book sold. the sell price of the book was about 17 dollars and i only got back less then 3 dollars. i was very disapointed. i had 2 more books sold. i didn't make 10 dollars. last year i invested about 700 dollars for interviews and on line reading. i had only 4 interviews. i haven't seen a cent from them. they told me that i can do an infomercial for 10000 dollars. i was pressure to pay them 1000 dollars. i was to pay them by installments. so i slam on the brakes. i went to the bank to stop the payment to them. now that money is in dispute. they have employees that are better sales people than me. that is if they use that talent the right way. i am not a sales person. for my last place of employment i was sent to work at this place by manpower. i work with them for about 7 months under manpower. then i was hired in. i got my job by my performance not my salesmanship. right now i am retired and don't have the money to waste for these investments and get nothing in return.

  • Ch
    Chris Mcleod Apr 06, 2011

    Hello, my name is Chris
    I want to file a class action suit against iuniverse/Authorhouse their parent company we have a two year time limit. I have pleny of solid evidence. By the way a class action is the only way to go if we want to procure non payment of royalties and theft.
    Thanks Chris [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    margaret Tak Jul 02, 2014

    how can I find a way to file a lawsuit against Authorhouse publishers?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    margaret Tak Jul 02, 2014

    Your complaint is correct I have paid a lot of money with no royalty checks in over two years. I feel this is the best solution to stop this scam of people being cheatedout of money.

    0 Votes

Authorhousescam

AuthorHouse is a SCAM.
Bait-and-Switch tactics and downright lies.
Stay away from them!

So a salesperson by the name of Kathryn calls me after filling out an online form, tells me I can get my 1st photography book published by AuthorHouse for $1700 in a POD arrangement - and they'll throw in another book for free. (the standard arrangement these days, it seems)
We discuss the arrangments in detail. # of images, # of pages, etc. No changes in price, no issues.
So I sign up. Pay them 1/3 down & get a confirmation.
Then a call from Jeff. Soon to be my best buddy in getting my book published. Yay!
But wait! Jeff says I only get 50 images set for the package price. Anything over that is $10.00 each. NFW! That almost doubles the price of my book - and no one up till now has made a peep about extra charges.
So days go by. I leave at least 6 messages for Jeff, his boss Steve, Kathryn (the initial liar I spoke with) and Kevin's assistant, Vicky. Every time I call, I'm told whomever I'm calling for is at lunch.
No response to voicemails.
No response to emails.
These people are a complete rip-off and I wish I'd researched them more thoroughly.
I recommend filing a complaint with the Indiana Attorney General if they've screwed you.

  • El
    elizabeth kurtz Nov 18, 2010

    I have paid for a pinacle package 1 year ago that I was told would include 50 colored photos at no extra cost. Not true I find out today. I get 10 black and white at a cost of 5.00 each. And I had also found out that I have to pay an additional 1100.00 to 1500.00 for advertising. I am going with Exlibrus who offers me a great deal, a half price package with no additional cost for advertising and unlimited black and white photos. and the royalties are 50%. Well my main complaint is that I have not signed a contract with authorhouse. I have only a book id number and an author id number. I was told prior I would get a refund if I chose not to publish, rather changed my mind which I did. Now my newly appointed consultant Branden Drake tells me I receive no money back. I reminded him that his company has done NO WORK ON MY BOOK. He then told me to discuss the matter with my original consultant who is Mr. Gerry Shyrock. I left him a message and I hope that I can write him a great review. If not I will hound them and contact the better business beareau in Indiana.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anonymouse_anonymous Jul 02, 2011

    I did my own bit of research and went to their website. If you check the website, the Pinnacle package are for books with black & white images. If you were going to use colored pictures, then you should have gotten a package for color. Check the website. I think it's a matter of not reading what you're paying for and what you're getting for what you're paying for. Just my opinion, though.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chas Winston Jan 03, 2013

    My experience with AuthorHouse was a costly nightmare. As a matter of policy, AuthorHouse won't disclose the royalty rate it will pay authors or the estimated publication cost of a book, even when asked directly. Royalty rates can't be found on their website and employees wouldn't disclose them when I asked. I was told by AuthorHouse that this type of basic information cannot be provided until after your book is formatted. HERE IS THE CATCH: buried in Schedule A of the AuthorHouse contract is a cancellation policy that says the author is responsible for 75% of the publishing package you signed up for once formatting STARTS! Only after the formatting began was I told the royalty rate was LESS than 10% (for comparison, this is not even half of what CreateSpace offers) and the book's price (which AuthorHouse sets) was so much higher than its competitors it made the book unmarketable. Other publishing companies will provide you an estimated price and an estimated royalty BEFORE you sign up. AuthorHouse, on the other hand. requires you commit to 75% of the deal before telling you the bad--and costly--news.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    coryh Sep 27, 2015

    Honestly this company is disgusting... I have attached the internets calculator for my book, a path of diamonds, and they claim the calculator is lieing... That's proof of either tax evasion or wire fraud and I want authorhouse arrested... I'm over here starving and about to be homeless because of this company and their criminal activities.. How is this publisher not in jail yet guys with a calculator like this made public? I wish the government would do the right thing and stop authorhouse so they cant steal any more of our money.. I'm literally crying over here because of all my stolen dreams and I hope authorhouse gets indicted for contract fraud, tax evasion, or wire fraud...

    0 Votes

Authorhousewarning!!!

Do not use this self-publishing scam company! They advertise to be the top or best in their field, they offer deals at end of quarters, they offer so much marketing, media promises, and make themselves out to be some sort of dream company. They are not.

First, you do not control any price. They give you a minimum that you will have to be above or at---and this will nullify your chances of being in a bookstore. I had no choice but to sell my book at 30.85 hardcover or higher, unless it was throught THEIR site. They did not want to print the price on the book either, why would they? I had to fight to even get that, and they conveniently forgot it on subsequent releases.

Second, their design teams are giong to make lots of errors, mess things up, and you will only get a few free corrections---then you will be paying and paying for future corrections and errors of their own making. They are like the crafty auto shop guy who guarantees your return.

Third, get ready for no spotlight, no images of your book, it won't go to where you want it, it will never be in a big bookstore, and it will take forever. Distributors and bookstore reps do not like authorhouse, its people, or the prices. Their people change "departments" every month, so you or anyone else can not keep up or keep track or stick some blame to anyone. You will not even get placement on their site, the right category, or get any press that you achieve posted. They will sell you on their distribution power and company portfolio, but check and see if any books are truly in a store...good luck.

Fourth, their marketing is all self-owned, phrased falsely, and not what you think or they tell you. They have Radio, Mass Marketing, National Media Plans, 10 Million Email Blasts, and Newswire Plus plans...garbage handled by garbagemen who just took your money to the cleaners. Toginet Radio is not a radio station, its the internet and they pay for the programming that no one will listen to. Ever received and email blast from them? Nope, and I know of no one who has. National Plans? Funny, I paid nearly 6000 dollars and got two local newspaper interviews from people I knew, and all the book sales were local friends and family. Do not market with them, it is a complete scam.

Fifth and lastly, they will inundate you with more marketing, more deals, and give your email to others. It will never stop, and they do not care, you are a number, an author number, a book number---forgotten quickly by people who are hoping to take your money over and over. They will not sell one book, talk to any stores, or make you or the book happen. Go somewhere cheap, buy 5000 copies of your own book, sell them on the corner---you will save money and do better than wasting time and money with AuthorHouse.

  • De
    Dewan V. Selvam Mar 23, 2011

    Hi Authors and Readers of Author House, I am an emerging writer in India, I have written three poetry books in English and one in history which is a small book. I wish to make my books to be published in Author house, in spite of my effort for self publishing. Is there any other publishing house to make my books published free of cast? Dewan V. Selvam.

    0 Votes

authorhouse uk publishing companysubmitted manuscripts and money paid for publishing

RE: REFUND OF MONEY PAID FOR PUBLISHING
On August 23rd 2010 I sent a sum of Kenya Shillings 103, 217.15 to Authorhouse Publishers in UK for the publication of two books - DYING FOR PRESIDENT and A PLACE TO CALL HOME and since then nothing has happened.

My Email messages to consultants Jennifer Nino and Demond Jefferson regarding the publication of the manuscripts has not borne any fruits at all.

I am therefore asking you and your esteemed office to help ask Authorhouse management to refund the above amount of money as soon as convenient.

I hope my humble request will ultimately meet your sympathetic consideration. I must say I am sorry for any inconvenience that my request may cause to you and your establishment.

Thank you,
Dr. Tom O'Okoyo
Moi University, Nairobi Campus, Nairobi Kenya.