The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Tempur-Pedicmattress too soft

My husband and I purchased this mattress on the advice of our son and his wife. They purchased their mattress 2 years before we purchased ours and they have never had an issue with theirs. At first the mattress was really hard but we were told that it would soften over time. The 90 day trial period ended and we seemed to sleep better, that is until the softeness of the mattress continued until we could literally feel the platform foundation below us as we tried to sleep. At this point we decided to check the warranty to see what our options were and that's when we saw that the warranty does not cover a normal increase in softness of the tempur® pressure-relieving material and it further states that it does not affect the pressure-relieving qualities of the product. But it does!!! The softness is not normal and it has caused the pressure relieving qualities of the product to fail. This the most uncomfortable mattress we have ever had. I'm mad that we spent almost $3, 000 on a mattress that we cannot sleep on anymore. We do intend to pursue a refund from the company or a replacement of the mattress and will continue until this issue has been remedied to our satisfaction.

Responses

  • He
    hellkatvixen Sep 05, 2009

    I own two separate Tempur-pedic mattresses and although I have had them for well over a couple of years now, that extreme state of "softening" shouldn't be happening.

    When the mattress was purchased, it should have also come with the tempur-pedic brand bed pallet which is a bit different from other pallets where ordinary pallets have horizontal wooden beams at larger intervals, the tempur-pedic pallet has horizontal wooden beams at much smaller intervals, almost to the point of being a solid pallet. Not using the tempur-pedic pallet could result in the state of softness you describe, due to the continuous sagging of the tempur-pedic material over time.

    If you are using the tempur-pedic pallet, then I have no idea why this has happened.

    For the time being, consider placing plywood beneath the mattress, it may help increase firmness a bit.

    0 Votes
  • He
    hellkatvixen Sep 05, 2009

    Hope you get your refund!

    1 Votes
  • To
    tommymommy Mar 14, 2010

    I've had the same problem with the Bragada version on the Tempurpedic Classic mattress. We bought a split king in Jan 2009. From the beginning my husband's mattress was softer than mine and prone to cratering. Now, 1 year later, he sinks to the foundation and Bragada doesn't want to do anything about it. They blame the manufacturer of the mechanized base, claim it is "normal softening", etc. Unfortunately, their warranty requires we take photos of the mattress with no one on it, and send them in. Photos don't begin to reveal the issue. Then, if they decide it warrants further investigation, we have to package the mattress and ship it back to them at our expense. Once they receive it, they may - at their discretion - replace the mattress under warranty. My question is what is he supposed to sleep on during the time we're shipping and examining this defective mattress? Why would I pay $75-100 in shipping to send it back to them with no guarantee it will be replaced?

    My mattress is fine, surprisingly. But, then again, I'm 130 pounds and my husband is 260. Maybe his broke down due to his size? If that's the case, why was this aspect of the product not explained from the beginning?

    Won't purchase another Bragada mattress and not looking to go Tempurpedic, either since they seem to have the same problems.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shuky s Jul 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TP usually takes it back charges you and then take the cover off it and donate the used mattress to a charity and TPX tempurpedic says it is worth the same as a new mattresses to the charity. it is a shame they take old bad returns and give them away and do not tell anyone they are used returns. In one year TPX Donated $15, 000, 000 worth of mattresses that were returned YES 8, 000 mattresses to a charity called waste to charity. TPX took the covers off the mattresses and put them in poly bags and had charities pick the mattresses up. I hope none of these went to people that have immune problems. NOW TPX tempurpedic has another charity Gifts in kind with them on their website. Gifts in kind charges about $5, 000 for a about 100 tempurpedic tpx mattresses they get donated by making you pay a administration fee if you take a truck load PS that is including shipping so what is a used no cover maybe dirty or ripped temperpedic mattress worth.

    -1 Votes
  • Jh
    JHennings Feb 08, 2011

    My husband and I bought a full size TPX bed. It was approx. $1600. We can't use the mattress because I fall in his hole (the space that the mattress sinks to when it conforms to your body). It really is uncomfortable to sink in the hole. I thought of trying a King size one to see if it will help, but my husband won't pay for it.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anner-girl Jul 29, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've had this just two weeks. It arrived SOFT, so much so that we thought we had the wrong mattress delivered. I like a harder surface and find I can't sleep. My right wrist hurts now as I have woken up with my arm under me, my wrist at an angle to prop me up. Their own website says that lightweight people (like me) need more time to adjust to it. I'm very concerned about my wrists. Ten years ago I had wrist injuries on my left wrist from an accident, and I don't want to go through that ever again. We don't have central air, and don't have the ac on during the day (nor do we keep it on at night) so this is why the bed is soft. I can only assume that this means it will be too hard in winter (we have an 1840's farmhouse with poor insulation). From hearing comments online about people returning these, I'm really dreading going back to the store but I don't think I can deal with this.

    0 Votes
  • To
    tobele Aug 25, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a Temp Cloud Supreme 3 mos ago because it was described by Temp as an excellent combination of soft while being very supportive. No such thing. After 3 mos, I am in great discomfort, tossing and turning at night and suffering from aches in my lower back, hips and legs that I never had before. It is too soft and is not giving me the support I need! I bought into the hype and am now miserable.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sarapnp May 31, 2013

    Like Tobele, I too am feeling the effects of a too-soft Tempur-pedic mattress. For the past 6 months I have been awakening each morning with pain and stiffness in my hips and lower back secondary to inadequate support. Question: Does anybody have a solution for this? I'm considering cutting into the side of the mattress and inserting a thin board to increase support. Any other ideas? Please! I'm desperate.

    0 Votes
  • 10
    10sChick Oct 09, 2014

    THERE IS A WAY TO STOP SINKING!!! A year ago, we bought a high end Tempurpedic (as our "exchange" mattress when the first memory foam mattress didn't cut it) thinking this would be the best memory foam you can buy. And perhaps it is, but my husband suffered big time with back pain as he slowly sunk into it after the first hour of sleep. We have a split king (one side is memory foam, the other mattress a hybrid of springs + foam top). We fought over who would have to sleep on the Tempurpedic side since we both hated it. Tried to sell it for half price on Craigslist for months and NO ONE will buy a used mattresses of that quality. So last weekend we got creative. After going to IKEA, we went to the mattress section and found the softest mattress on the floor. It was way softer than our bed, but this was for testing purposes. We took a thin firm topper they also had on the floor and it did help to prevent the sinkage into the memory foam. Even more impressive was placing the topper on top of the runner mat they put at the end of the bed to keep dirty shoes off the beds. It was a huge support base to have this rubber floor rug runner, so we thought what's another $112 dollars at this point? We bought the thin (1.5") TJOME topper (TWIN was only $99) and the $12 LYNAS floor runner. Placed the runner on top of our tempurpedic right at the lower back point, secured it tightly, then put the TJOME topper over it. Covered it all with a spare top sheet and it is now THEE more comfortable side of the bed if you can believe it!!! My husband is in heaven and I thrilled that this year long battle has been resolved and we both wake up to happy backs in the morning! The rubber runner doesn't slip at all and provides just the extra stiffness to stop the sinking. DO IT!!!

    0 Votes
  • Hu
    Hui Lim Apr 04, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @10sChick Hi can I call you? I HATE Amy tempurpedic! I sleep on the floor now after paying $4000 for a mattress that is too soft! I wake every morning as if I got hit by a bus! I need to get your tip on how to firm up exactly. In desperate need! You can email me at [email protected] with your tel .. many thx!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christian2 Sep 05, 2017

    TEMPUR WHY DID YOU DISCONTINUE YOUR BEST MATTRESS AND EAT OUR MONEY WITH AN ABSURDLY HUGE VARIETY OF LOW QUALITY MATTRESSES THAT CONTAIN NOTHING OF THE RICH NASA-MATERIA???!!! I WANT MY MONEY BACK BUT AM BETRAYED ------------->
    Had a Tempur Original for 15 years, was the best in the world. Had to buy a new one at the End of 2016. Called Tempur Original 25(height). Cost me 1900 € After 2 months realised, that this mattress gives me musclepain and has nothing to do with the old models. The old models from 2002 had so much rich material that it caught you up like a firm cloud. It reacted to weight and temperature. If you pressed your hand in to make a hole, the hole would remain for some seconds and dent itself out only slowly. Wich proofed the richness of the material. The old tempur supported your muscles and body so perfect, you could even sleep on it without a pillow, you`d never have any pain on it.
    NOW THE NEW POOR QUALITIY Tempur mattress called Original or Contour: It is painfull to lay on for the biggest part of the back, I have trained backmuscles so I can`t imagine how much more it must hurt for people who don`t do sports. All you do on this Tempur Contour is to sink in, it`s a 25 cm pile of material that has nothing to do with the old Tempur-material. On this Original/Contour I have to turn many times during the night because of muscle pain. And almost every morning wake up in worse shape than before the night. It`s a royal nonsuch, that I burned 1900€ for, and my trust in the brand is betrayed.
    Tempur has obviously discontinued it`s one Original product that was full of this rich Nasa-certified material. And instead gives you a variety of mdoels, about 4 different models each with 3 different hights. But does any of them compare to the old normal ones from years ago? No.
    But hey, you can spend another 500 € on one of the foundations on top. I tell you: What`s below the mattress doesn`t help if the mattress is bad.
    If it`s just wood-planks, don`t matter. The foundations/frames are just another thing added to Tempur`s big catalogue. One big rip-off.
    Mad and furious in Köln/West-Germany,
    Christian (E-mail: [email protected])

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christian2 Sep 05, 2017

    TEMPUR WHY DID YOU DISCONTINUE YOUR BEST MATTRESS AND EAT OUR MONEY WITH AN ABSURDLY HUGE VARIETY OF LOW QUALITY MATTRESSES THAT CONTAIN NOTHING OF THE RICH NASA-MATERIA???!!! I WANT MY MONEY BACK BUT AM BETRAYED ------------->
    Had a Tempur Classic for 15 years, was the best in the world. Had to buy a new one at the End of 2016. Called Tempur Original 25(height), 220cm lenght. COST ME 1900 €, import from Texas U.S. After 2 months realised, that this mattress gives me musclepain and has nothing to do with the old models. The old models from 2002 had so much rich material that it caught you up like a firm cloud. It reacted to weight and temperature. If you pressed your hand in to make a hole, the hole would remain for some seconds and dent itself out only slowly. Wich proofed the richness of the material. The old tempur supported your muscles and body so perfect, you could even sleep on it without a pillow, you`d never have any pain on it.
    NOW THE NEW POOR QUALITIY Tempur mattress called Original or Contour: It is painfull to lay on for the biggest part of the back, I have trained backmuscles so I can`t imagine how much more it must hurt for people who don`t do sports. All you do on this Tempur Contour is to sink in, it`s a 25 cm pile of material that has nothing to do with the old Tempur-material. On this Original/Contour I have to turn many times during the night because of muscle pain. And almost every morning wake up in worse shape than before the night. It`s a royal nonsuch, that I burned 1900€ for, and my trust in the brand is betrayed.
    Tempur has obviously discontinued it`s one Classic product that was full of this rich Nasa-certified material. And instead gives you a variety of mdoels, about 4 different models each with 3 different hights. But does any of them compare to the old normal ones from years ago? No.
    But hey, you can spend another 500 € on one of the foundations on top. I tell you: What`s below the mattress doesn`t help if the mattress is bad.
    If it`s just wood-planks, don`t matter. The foundations/frames are just another thing added to Tempur`s big catalogue. One big rip-off.
    Mad and furious in Köln/West-Germany,
    Christian (E-mail: [email protected])

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.