Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Telkom SA SOC

Telkom SA SOC review: Slow adsl connection 7

C
Author of the review
12:00 am EST
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Poor performance of ADSL over the last three days. Phone call centre, wait in queue for over 60 minutes. Eventually hand up. Tried over 3 days at different times of the day for the last 24 hours no diffrenece.

Telkom call centres suck. I have had to contact the call centre over the alst 12 months on a number of occasions. My best waiting time was 45 minutes.

7 comments
Add a comment
P
P
Patricia Todisco
Jan 18, 2008 6:20 am EST

I'm in the same situation now, I've been without telephone in my house for the last 14 days. I phone already three times TELKOM, and also I wait for more than an hour for somebody in the call centre to answer the call.
This is ridiculous, where are we going, is getting worst and worst.
I wish one day I can comment something better but I agreed, this sucks.

N
N
noddy
ZA
Apr 05, 2009 1:06 pm EDT

1)telkom's a rip-off
2)i cannot begin to recall the time wasted making phone calls and being put on hold
3)there tech support is breathtakingly incompetent
4)forget about the right hand not knowing what the left is doing when the right itself does not have a clue
5)i have signed a 2 year (adsl) contract that promises a 384 kbps "line" but is far slower
6) i must have ben temporarily insane

F
F
fairy22
ZA
Jan 01, 2010 7:56 am EST

telkom claim that they offer a world class servise and are gearing up to impress the rest of the world for 2010. but here i sit on the first day of 2010 and my connection is slower than ever.

a few things really irritate me about telkom

1. when they mess up the only answer u get is it will take a few days to fix as they must follow policy, it was breach of policy wich made them mess up in the first place
2. most of the consultants at the help line know less about computers and internet than the average internet user
3. the call centers almost always have exorbitant waiting times
4. most first world contries ( and i use first world as an example as this is who will use our services in 2010 and what telkom claims they can offer) run at a speed of 2 to 4 gigs we run at 400 megs what a joke.
5. capped services we have to be one of the few contries this exists in, so y would they think it is a good idea.i think the general feeling amongst users is if i buy 5 gigs i will make sure i use all five, if on the other hand i pay a set price of about 5 gigs worth but it doesnt capp i wouldnt be bothered if i only used 1 gig this month and 6 the next. so at the moment we all loose.
6.price why is it still so expensive for internet and y does the goverment not step in and regulate the guys. i was told( by a telkom employee) that if i want adsl i must rent a line a telkom phone line and then an adsl line i am quite happy usin my cell and most of my friends also have cell so its cheaper to phone cell to cell y then would i want a phone line aswell, this all has to be paid before your gigs even if u use an independant provider u still need a telkom line.
7. the tough for u attitued when u have a problem and u phone in for help and u arent luck enough to get a decent person on the other end you get a tough for u like it or lump it attitude cause they know that there is no where else for u to go, or you get treated like an idiot cause your internet is down( for example not so long ago when they had problems and a whole bunch of passwords and user names just dissapeared).
8.the we have no idea how long it will take to fix answer( what 1 hour, 1 day, 1 week, one year...)
how long should we wait before we aproach the next level and y if we are not satisfied do we get denyed the right to speak to the next level( no the supperviser is out, no only i can help u, it is not possible or dont tell me how to do my job i wont give u the number) in which case if u ask for there name all u get is the sound of the phone being hung up in your ear.

i think if another phone company comes in telkom is domed i would even change to them if they were more expensive, but it will never happen this companies monopally seems protected by the goverment( at the price of what kick backs, kick backs we pay for) i wonder.

fairy22

T
T
Tomic 3000
ZA
Feb 03, 2010 1:46 am EST

Telkom were quick to sell me a 4mb/s ADSL service. I Live 2.2km from the exchange which means that I should get those speeds easy. (>5 km distance becomes a problem) - The Lines in my area are of such bad quality that I am now synched at 384kb, and it drops over 70 times a day. (wasted over 400mb trying to download a 30mb file) - Telkom's response " Well, we are not going to replace the cables, it's too expensive, we cant do anything, goodbye" - 10 minutes later I get an SMS informing my my call has been resolved.

The Technitian said my only option is go 3G, which will cost me R1800 pm, as opposed to the R500 i pay now.

Telkom are holdinig South Africa back

C
C
crista
ZA
Aug 25, 2010 12:08 pm EDT

telkom staff are not trained they are only guesing what can go wrong i think they try to reead to mutch manuals aboout tecnical work they did not study

J
J
JILL COPPIN
ZA
Nov 06, 2010 9:01 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I bough a new Billion400G modem two months ago. Have had contineous problems with the line. On reporting the complaint am told it is the modem... no its not the modem... its the port. I am unble to send emails, I have a business to run, what should I do, change from telkom and get neotel? I reported this faut on the [protected] and nobody seems to know what is going on I have heard that they no longer have enough technicians... so what now.?

T
T
Tokkie777
ZA
Jul 31, 2017 12:58 pm EDT

TELKOM Is SHARKS that feed on the flesh of their customers, The don't care as long is they can FEED .There is not a alternative and they knows it .They don't care. I had to report my 2mbps [protected] ADSL line 31 times since 2016-02-02.With some succsess. But it does not last

  1. Telkom SA SOC Contacts

  2. Telkom SA SOC phone numbers
    +27 123 112 186
    +27 123 112 186
    Click up if you have successfully reached Telkom SA SOC by calling +27 123 112 186 phone number 633 633 users reported that they have successfully reached Telkom SA SOC by calling +27 123 112 186 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Telkom SA SOC by calling +27 123 112 186 phone number 401 401 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Telkom SA SOC by calling +27 123 112 186 phone number
  3. Telkom SA SOC emails
  4. Telkom SA SOC address
    2nd Floor, Telkom Mobile Building, 92 Oak Avenue, Highveld Park Centurion, South Africa
  5. Telkom SA SOC social media
  6. Rachel
    Checked and verified by Rachel This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jul 13, 2024
Telkom SA SOC Category
Telkom SA SOC is ranked 50 among 343 companies in the Telecommunications category
Trending companies

Most discussed Telkom SA SOC complaints

adsl account
5
(opinions to this review)