Strayer Universityblown off and ignored, looking for lawyer!

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I was a Student who moved (alone) from my hometown to Charlotte, NC to attend school in Jan. 2008. In order to support myself (apartment, school, bills, car...) I took on a steady job in March. In Sept. 2008, the branch was working for was laid off. Not having a job, I had to withdraw from my university and move back home. Before I left Charlotte, I made arrangements to take a job overseas in South Korea. Knowing I was leaving, I quickly made the decision to continue my education online through Strayer University. I enrolled and registered for classes approx. Oct 2008. During the process I agreed to a payment plan for the tuition that my financial aid did not cover.

I left for South Korea December 2008. While in Korea, I had to order textbooks. In order to receive those textbooks, I had to inform Strayer University of my South Korean address.

In Jan. 19th, 2009, the beginning of the term, I went to a rural area of the Philippines. While in the Philippines, I was unable to log into class (for an unknown reason) and unable to contact technical support due to no phone access. For these same reasons, I was also unable to contact two of my three instructors.

1/24: I returned to South Korea. I was then able to contact one of my instructors and asked if she could provide me with contact information for my other instructors
1/25: I was able to log in and contract my communications instructor (communications instructor = CI). I asked for permission to make-up missing assignments
1/29: I Was told by CI, I could make up the assignments by doing essays
2/1: In order to do the essays for CI’s class, the book was required, which had not yet arrived. I emailed my CI and asked if she recommended that I drop the class, due to not being able to complete the past assignments.
2/1: CI would not give an opinion (to drop class or not).
2/5: My textbooks arrived
2/5: After informing CI or my textbook arrival, she informed me that I could no longer make-up the assignments
2/18: I contacted the campus dean (campus dead = RR) about the situation and was informed that the situation must be directed to the online dean. I was then told by RR that the online dean is also CI.
2/20: I emailed my campus advisor, explained the complications with CI and asked for options.

At some point, I called the school, still looking for answers, help, suggestions... something! During this phone call, I again, explained the situation and was told to complete the midterm for CI’s class then contact RR. After doing so, I received an email on 2/24 regarding my midterm grade. I completed the midterm with an A. I was confused when receiving an “unsatisfactory grade” email.

2/25: I emailed RR about the “unsatisfactory grade” email and still seeking a resolution.
2/26: My email to RR was forwarded from around to other people within the campus
3/5: I received an emailed from MT (unknown position) MT then states that I needed to contact CI (this never ending cycle...) At this point, I clearly see that I will not be getting a resolution regarding this class. I was taking 3 classes and had to make 3 payments for classes. I paid, on schedule, 1 of the 3 payments for classes. I felt until Strayer resolved this issue, it would be in my best interest to not continue payments. I continued and completed classes for that term. Once classes ended, I wanted the fee for CI’s class to be removed from my account, as I was not given a fair chance to successfully complete the class. Once this was resolved, I would make the final payment to Strayer.

Dec. 2009, I returned to my hometown to the USA.

Jan-Mar 2010, I travelled to Charlotte to discuss the removing of fees from CI’s class and to pay my last payment. Once I arrived, I was notified that my previous campus advisor (who already knew about the situation) was no longer there. I was then reassigned to another advisor “NM” I explained the situation to NM, who left her office to get some information. Once she returned, she informed me I had an extremely inflated balance on my account. Shocked, I had her explain these charges. I was then told that my financial aid from 2009 was never applied to my account! “Something” was supposedly missing from my financial aid information that caused it to be rejected. Confused and infuriated, I could no longer discuss the financial aspect of the conversation. NM then informed me, if I wanted the fee for CI’s class dropped from account, I would need to forward all emails to her so, the situation could be reviewed and a decision would be made. I then returned to my hometown

3/17: I forwarded all of the required emails to NM I called Direct Loans to get information, regarding my financial aid no being applied to my 2009 Strayer tuition. I was informed that they never released the funds because Sprayer did not return a “certification” stating that I was enrolled as a student and how much tuition costs. I then asked if there was anything, on my part, that was incomplete. I was told, no, that I had done everything. They only needed the certification from Strayer. I then asked if it were possible to have the 2009 funds released to Strayer. I was then told that I would only be possible it Strayer requests it. I call Strayer to inform them of the information I received from Direct Loans. I was told that they had never heard of fianaical aid, from previous years, being reactive. I then stated, it was information I received directly from Direct Loans. I was told, I would be called back.

Is is now 6/28/2010. I have not received a letter, phone call or email from Strayer regarding all of the above events!
Nothing would make me happier than to sue Strayer University for all it is worth, for the following reasons:

I applied to another university and was denied admission because I had a missing transcript from Strayer, which needed to be reviewed. The transcript cannot be released when there is a balance on the account. Strayer has literally halted my education

They have wasted my time and money travelling to Charlotte regarding these issues, sending multiple emails and making multiple calls (international and domestic).

Strayer could possibly cause serious harm to my future finances if the balance they claim I owe is sent to collections.

They have cost me my health insurance, which I am no longer eligible, for because I am not a fulltime student. So, any doctors visits (which I am now overdue for) would have to paid 100% out of my pocket.

This whole situation has been very heartbreaking to me because I take my education very seriously. It has also been stressful, resulting in a resurgence of migraines and emotionally devastating.

Responses

  • He
    Helpful Veteran Aug 23, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Contacts for Corporate Alliances
    2303 Dulles Station Blvd
    Mail stop 6E Herndon, VA 20171/
    Phone: [protected]
    E-mail: [email protected]
    Contacts for Alumni
    Alumni Affairs Office
    E-mail: [email protected]
    Web: http://alumni.strayer.edu
    Contacts for opting out of marketing solicitations
    Request removal from Strayer University’s marketing lists.
    Contacts for this Website
    E-mail: [email protected]

    Contact them or go to
    If you prefer, you may contact the Inspector General's Hotline by:

    Calling the OIG Hotline's toll free number 1-800-MIS-USED. Hotline Operators take calls during the hours of Monday and Wednesday 9:00 AM until 11:00 AM, Eastern Time; Tuesday and Thursday, 1:00 PM until 3:00 PM, Eastern Time except for holidays.

    This is for Student loan fraud hotline...
    Downloading a hardcopy of the Hotline Complaint Form, and completing, mailing or faxing to:

    Inspector General's Hotline
    Office of Inspector General
    U.S. Department of Education
    400 Maryland Avenue, S.W.
    Washington, D.C. [protected]
    Fax: [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Tz
    TZANYA Dec 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am having a different problem with Strayer University however, I have to agree with all of your statements. This school is terrible and they only care about money.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    goldengirl2 May 05, 2011

    Sorry about my spelling, but we have had a tornado in Alabama, and I have not had internet until yesterday 5/4, and was told to get my homework done by today from last week. What a F;;;;; joke. I wrote my teacher back and told she would get it by Sunday...They hold onto your refund, and their courses suck

    0 Votes
  • Go
    goldengirl2 May 05, 2011

    I too have worked at Strayer, and when to school there. They are into money only...They do not care about hteir students.

    1 Votes
  • Do
    donnacooley Apr 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am not a lawyer by profession but here is something I could think of... may be you discuss with http://www.williammuhr.com, http://www.findlawyerdirect.com/

    early this year, me and a peer of mine were injured severly and williammuhr.com was the firm we approached while findlawyer direct is a place to find legal information. hope you too have successful settlement.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    china76 Dec 07, 2010

    I think you should consider filing a consumer complaint against strayer University.If you are not aware there has been a law suit filed against strayer and three member of the board for fraudlent activity relatinog to the overstating of the financial conditon of strayer. Strayer received funding from the government and they have to certain percents of students attending, so that information was inflated and the price of stock was inflated. you can find informaton within your state the bar associate, but a consmer class act suit for the student is suggested

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    trina04 Jul 05, 2010

    I understand you complaint b/c I too have been taken advantage of by this so called "University." Calling them that is really a joke. I wouldn't blame you if you sued them I myself have thought about it, and really feel like that's the only way to get their attention. In my case they've gotten my financial aid money for the last semester, but didn't return the balance from my grants totaling $890 back to me. I contacted my local campus here in Huntsville the first week of that semester back in April of this year. NO one took me seriously they kept giving me the stupidest responses. Months later I continued my efforts to find out what happened b/c I was taking two courses which put me at full-time status with the school and seeing how my award was for the max amount allowed I was just taken back by the matter. I had to contact the financial aid cord in VA Cliff Emerson to get the real explanation to what happened. Come to find out from what he told me, for some reason only one of my classes was matched to my course of study, so it made it seem like I was pt." Here's the thing if that was the case my federal loans would have been affected as well but they were not. I was told back in May that the additional funds would be issued to me, here it is July 5th, and that hasn't happened. I was told by the same rep from VA that the funds hit my account on Friday of last week, but that's not the case. So I've been emailing and forwarding the same email to him & others as well and have gotten no reply. So just like you my next step is contacting a lawyers. I know I will pay more in fees to retain one but its the prinicle of the matter.

    4 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.