The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Strayer Universityrefunds

S Review updated:

I have been going to Strayer University for over four years. I am now working on my masters degree. In the beginning, my school refunds would arrive via mail during week 5, as time went on the refunds began to arrive during week 3. A couple months ago, Strayer began encouraging students to sign up for direct deposit. The school really pushed this as a benefit and as a way to get our student refunds quicker. It is now week three and the school has no ideal when my student refund will be processed. They claim the lender has not released the funds. The lender was suppose to release the funds last week. Strayer claims they will hold the funds for seven business days after the funds are sent to the school to ensure all expenses have been posted. This is a joke. All expenses should have been posted by week three. Strayer is now back to slow refunding of my money. I am very upset that Strayer has resorted back to the old practices of issuing refunds in the middle of the quarter. I wonder during those days they are holding my money if they are collecting interest from its bank. Students pay expenses out of their own pockets for school related expenses knowing they will get their school refunds to reimburse themselves. It is sad when a student's refund arrives weeks after the quarter starts. It is sad that Strayer will hold my funds upto seven business days regardless of when my funds arrive at the school. I am very disappointed. This will be my last quarter there. I took two classes at a public university and got my refund the beginning of week two. If you are a student and rely on your refunds to survive-be aware that Strayer University will hold your refund for a longer period then necessary.

Responses

  • Sa
    Sanfernag Aug 09, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I hate this school I started April 3, 2017 and didn't get my refund until June and got another one in July. That's just how slow they is and I'm still waiting on my pell grant to be released for July and it's now August. I will be transferring.

    0 Votes
  • To
    toni montana123654789 Feb 24, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    well ive been going to strayer in morrow ga and I'm on week 8 of the class and I receive my student refund but not my referring money they said week eight I will have it here we are going into week nine and guess what still short 500 dollars smh I'm so tired of them man idk how much more I can put up with this

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Sickofthis29 Oct 23, 2016

    I dislike how they do with the refunds also but I complained about my teacher with this smart mouth attitude thing I reported no one has called me back. Its like she has something personal against me. I only been attending this class for going on 4 weeks not talking to her just doing my work. I called the dean the sucker did nit return my calls. Any why the hell we have success coach for omg they suck also just getting a free check.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Chism Nov 05, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    By law they can only sit on your money for a certain amount of time. Look up that law and call them on it. Yes they use a company to disperse the money BUT that does not eliminate Strayer's responsibility of getting you your money within the time the law states. If Strayer recv'd the money then they are responsible for making sure that they get your portion to you, even when they have hired a 3rd party to do that disbursement. The 3rd party works for Strayer. Are you getting where I am going with this?

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    parkerc20 Nov 05, 2015

    so i started this school in october i was supposed to get my refund week 2 of school through direct deposit but they put me on a 30 day required hold. its the 5th of november and my finanical aid all has went thru now they saying that they dont have the money another company does and this other company is whats supposed to be disbursing my money but saying i now have to wait another week!! Like what the hell im getting fed up with this school and all this bs with holding my refund. i waited long enough !

    -1 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Chism Sep 22, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    IF YOU ARE USING VA MONIES REPORT THEM TO THE VA'S ONLINE SYSTEM @
    ;https://afaems.langley.af.mil/pecs/VAPECS.aspx

    This is the best way to get them noticed by the VA.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rick Brewer Sep 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was emailed a receipt for a 3rd book for class at Strayer, an eBook, for 85.00 that I found for $4.00 on Ebay & Amazon, same edition & year of publication. Wait hold time when calling is egregious & ridiculous-- 45min.-1 hour -- think of the length of time it takes to call the IRS or social security admin/ When you get through, they don't have answers, cannot cancel order, and need to transfer your call.
    If you think it is bad they hold your refund too long, well that is nothing compared to Trident/TUI university, which holds all refunds for everyone unitl the last week of class as a matter of policy. Furthermore, to attend at all, you must sign a contract that commits you to a year's worth of enrollment with, at most, 2 months off, so that they are able to provide 2 refunds for 3 terms of enrollment for the year, but not paying until the end of the 1st term, & then the other 1/2 for the year at the end of a year. Can you say, ''Living on credit cards?"

    0 Votes
  • Ou
    outofpatiencewithstrayer Aug 20, 2014

    I don't know what is going on with Strayer and why they hold refunds the way they do, but i am done with them. My classes started on July 1, 2014. When I check my awards details on the Icampus it says that my Pell Grant paid $0 on July 12, 2014 and my direct loans are just accepted as of July 12, 2014. Now I just don't know what they are doing. Every time I call I get someone who doesn't seem to understand what is going on and tell me not to worry about it. Its pretty hard not to worry about it because I don't want them sending me no bills after the fact. I will be transferring after I finish this quarter. Please if you are reading this and thinking about enrolling with Strayer University either online or campus please DON"T STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCHOOL!!

    -1 Votes
  • He
    Helpful Veteran Aug 23, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @outofpatiencewithstrayer Here is someone who will listen.
    Contacts for Corporate Alliances
    2303 Dulles Station Blvd
    Mail stop 6E Herndon, VA 20171/
    Phone: [protected]
    E-mail: [email protected]
    Contacts for Alumni
    Alumni Affairs Office
    E-mail: [email protected]
    Web: http://alumni.strayer.edu
    Contacts for opting out of marketing solicitations
    Request removal from Strayer University’s marketing lists.
    Contacts for this Website
    E-mail: [email protected]

    Contact them or go to
    If you prefer, you may contact the Inspector General's Hotline by:

    Calling the OIG Hotline's toll free number 1-800-MIS-USED. Hotline Operators take calls during the hours of Monday and Wednesday 9:00 AM until 11:00 AM, Eastern Time; Tuesday and Thursday, 1:00 PM until 3:00 PM, Eastern Time except for holidays.

    This is for Student loan fraud hotline...
    Downloading a hardcopy of the Hotline Complaint Form, and completing, mailing or faxing to:

    Inspector General's Hotline
    Office of Inspector General
    U.S. Department of Education
    400 Maryland Avenue, S.W.
    Washington, D.C. [protected]
    Fax: [protected]

    Department of Education will listen also.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melody_c Jun 19, 2014

    I enrolled in strayer a couple days ago !!! And I just want to thank all of you because tomorrow I am going down to the campus to withdraw before I even start class on July 1, 2014. It's June 18, 2014. I believe all of you because its just too many bad reviews on every site that I visit !! I wish I would have went with my gut and not have signed up, but I am getting out if this before it's too late for me. I'm not going to even start and have to deal with some much bs that you guys had to deal with. It's sad that it's schools out here that get away with robbing people that are simply trying to make their lives better! I'm sorry that you guys had to endure this bs from them and hopefully everything works out for you all. Thank you for helping me dodge this bullet !!!

    1 Votes
  • Ap
    aprilmariecox Nov 13, 2013

    this is my first time going to strayer. i didnt knowe that thier were so many complaints about this school. my first quarter is almost over. i still havent recived my refund yet. they keep telling me 3 to 5 business days, then they say 7 to 10 business days, i dont know what to believe anymore. this is nothing but bull crap. this is so totally my first and last quarter here.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    LIZMiranda Sep 19, 2013

    i also agree but i want to recomend that you take some classes at straighterline.com you know they are partners with Strayer the classes are guareented to transfer the credits to strayer towards your degree! The classes are $50 each and a month payment of $99!!! You have to buy/rent your books (I suggest chegg.com) check this website out its legit and the best thing is you can finish at your own pace. I am a prime example of taking a few because what Strayer doesnt tell you is that your loans MAX out BEFORE you even finish for your Bachelors!!! Be Aware guys!

    -2 Votes
  • Gm
    GMCNEAL Apr 27, 2013

    Strayer University is a bunch of BS!!!1 Its MY money and I NEED IT NOW!!!

    2 Votes
  • Ne
    newstudent2012 Feb 06, 2012

    I am a first time student here and i got my check Jan 24 2012. i did see that i only got 842 and when i went to the locial college here in KY i was getting 5, 000 back each time. i like this college because ita all online and im a mother of 2 boys so i need the online classes. but i would like to know y im not getting what i was here at the local college. when does money get sent out eveytime u start a class or every other quarter?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marth Steward Nov 07, 2011

    And you are stupid. I am going to college because i can afford it. But if i have over paid then i want my refund. Evidently you have no schooling at all. You sound dumb and you are. I can tell. Why don't you get a life and mind you own business. College won't accept you because you are a dropout. thanks Now shut Your SHTTTT!

    3 Votes
  • Ma
    Marth Steward Nov 07, 2011

    These People are right, something definitely need to done about Strayer university I am a student there, but i am about to withdraw and go to a college, that cares about the student and not fattening their pockets on the students expense. its a shame how they control your financial aid. They will not give your refund, They lie They always say the system is not responding or we are dealing with a new system. All lies. Please if you are with them get out before its too late. and if you are getting ready to register, don't please don't. You will run your life not start it. you are better off going to a more creditable college. The customer service is ghetto fabulous!!! If you are thinking about registering thinking you are going to get refunded for what they owe you, think again. its not going to happen unto you finish the 11week course or close to it. They or conspiring to rob people. Especially the ones they prey on for financial aid. The government needs to wake up. most colleges like them are over charging the students. They wont answer the phone, and when they do they have a lie for you about your refund, this is crazy. They have your money, but they use it to pay their bills and gain interest. It a racket, believe me. So please people stop patronizing these criminal. They are criminal with a license to rob people. STOP!! before you go to STRAYER UNIVERSITY!!! PLEASE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    waiting4refund Oct 20, 2011

    lol you guys are funny if you can't afford to go to college then don't pretty simple

    -11 Votes
  • Sw
    Sweets901 Apr 22, 2018

    @waiting4refund obviously you're worried to because in order for you to post your tired [censored] message you obviously google the question we all are asking lil [censored]..

    6 Votes
  • Tl
    Tlady2000 Jul 19, 2011

    I just noticed that my pell grant went from $1, 388 to $463 and I am trying to find out why? I goggled to see if it changes and found this site full of complaints. I always thought something did not seem right and upfront.

    2 Votes
  • Ni
    nires20072 Jul 15, 2011

    I really need someones help i am currently a sophmore at strayer my loans went up to 10500 so today i checked to see if any of my financial aid had posted to my account when i received my award letter it said that i would be receiving 1388 for my pell so i look today and i only received 463 for y pell for this semester is this right. I basically have to survive from my refund check so i dont know what is going on I have called my financial advisor and a couple of other people at the school and they are not returning my calls or emails has any one else experienced this problem with their pell i called the nsld and they said that they disburse what the financial aid office says that i need i am tired of this bs here it is week 3 and i am yet to receive a refund hell i might not even be recieving a refund du/e to me not getting all my money for my damn pell does anyone have any ideas

    3 Votes
  • Js
    JS1981 May 18, 2011

    I have had problems getting my refund from day one, this quarter right now we are in week 8 and still nothing! I will be transferring after this quarter because this is a load of bull, everythime you ask someone about it all I get is well we have done everything on our part its the federal government that hasnt done everything! whatever! I never had this problem with the last college I attended!

    4 Votes
  • Lk
    lkt Apr 26, 2011

    i think its ashame as well, how do they expect students to stay focused, survive and finish school if their worried about when their refund would post. The teachers never worry about receiving their checks so why should the students. most students are workin, supporting kids and attending school. hat off to all the students sticking with it.

    3 Votes
  • Cn
    cn4sk Apr 18, 2011

    So very true about strayer holding out on student disbursements! I have been attending strayer for 3 1/2 years at least and they have diffinately taken a turn for the worst>

    2 Votes
  • Ks
    kstclair Jan 02, 2011

    I am having the same issue, the semester is now over and I still dont have my Pell Grant from last semester and the new starts tomorrow. This is like the third time Ive been through this with them. I am ready to switch schools. I am going to complete this semester since I already have my books and tomorrow is the start date, but I am at the end of my rope with them. It gets later and later every time.

    3 Votes
  • Fo
    FORMER STUDENT_ORLANDO 32817 Aug 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have experienced the SAME thing at the East Campus here in Orlando Florida. The are completely crooks and they should be reported. I inquired about my refund during week 3 and was told that Direct Loans was the reason for my funds being delayed and it was not necessary to contact them because they were only going to refer me back to the school (as if it were some secret). Well I contacted Direct Loans anyways and spoke with a rep from the LOAN ORIGINATION DEPT and was told that my funds had been disbursed on Wednesday August 1, 2010. Well here it is August 24, 2010 & I was just informed by the financial aid rep that my funds were just deposited on yesterday and I should receive my refund by next Monday. Well this is a bunch of BS! They're constantly telling lies and the sad part is that they can't keep up with them. I was told that when funds are disbursed from Direct Loans they come through on WEDNESDAYS and get disbursed the following Friday. So how is it that my funds arrived on yesterday which was MONDAY????

    3 Votes
  • Ap
    apple gene Jan 30, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @FORMER STUDENT_ORLANDO 32817 How do you report them? I took out a direct loan. When I did receive it the amount didn't add up. Nor did they give me a break down of why my balance was so low. How do I get the number to direct loans

    1 Votes
  • Ap
    apple gene Jan 30, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @FORMER STUDENT_ORLANDO 32817 How do you report them? I took out a direct loan. When I did receive it the amount didn't add up. Nor did they give me a break down of why my balance was so low.

    1 Votes
  • St
    strawberry5804 May 10, 2010

    Hell I was told it takes 8-10 weeks from the payment date (of my VA assistance) to reflect in my student account. This is CRAP! I need this money to survive and to pay for books for next semester! I have been attending Strayer for 2 years now and every semester it is something else..something else is wrong..I signed up for direct deposit but they have yet yo use it and when I call to find out about it (or ask any other question) not only are they rude at the Business Office, they also have no clue how to answer my questions. 8-10 weeks from the date of VA funds disbursal...I called the VA and they paid the school - DIRECT DEPOSIT - on 22 Mar 2010--2 weeks BEFORE the semester started and they are telling me it takes the school 8-10 WEEKS for it to find its way to my account??? BULL S&*T!!! This will be my last semester here...I cannot take this anymore..I just jacked up my midterms because I have been so stressed over this...it is just not right!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ol
    Older Student Apr 14, 2010

    Ditto..Did you know signing the form to direct deposit also gives them authorization to withdraw funds from your account too...IT DOES so watch out.

    4 Votes
  • Do
    Done with Strayer Feb 11, 2010

    I agree 100%. I used to recieve paper checks in the beginning at the end of week 4. No problem. Now... it's the end of week 5 and they claim that my pell grant hasn't posted to my account yet which means it'll be probably 2-3 more weeks before I receive anything. This is my last quarter (although I'm not finished with my degree) with Strayer. A lot of the things they do are really shady (in my eyes).

    2 Votes
  • Ge
    gerry Jul 16, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Being taken advantage of (Students )financially

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.