SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

StarHubextremely poor & bad services!

1
M Review updated:

I called starhub on 24/12/09 for line termination as i've signed up for a new line. According to the customer service officer, the line would be terminate within 3 days. But, after 3 days, the line was still working without any termination.

3 months ago, my husband experienced similar problem when he called to request for line termination. He was told that the line would be terminate within 3 days, therefore he starts to use the new line one day after his call. Whilst, he was still billed for the following 2 month's subscription eventhought he had not use it at all! We called the service line again to clarify for the bill problem and was told that it was handled by the accounts dept. Despite our call and verification with their accounts dept, they insist to have the payment made no matter how!

As worried the same thing would happen again, I called again to their serive line on 29/12/09 to clarify if they already take down my request and share with the officer my previous experience. However, the officer answered very unfriendly and insist it would not happen, then she told me sometime it might takes 5 days to terminate the line (*which is totally different story from the first officer & my husband's case) and ensure it would be terminated latest by 30/12/09. As for the subscription charges, they would prorate it up till the date of my first request of termination which is on the 24th december.

Today is already 31/12/09, the line is still not terminate. I wonder is it a technic for starhub to have their extra income towards those customers who wish to terminate their line with starhub? I'd say, this is really an extremely poor & bad service!!!

Responses

  • M
      Jun 03, 2010

    I just had a bad service experience with starhub. Eventually getting them to terminate my 2 mobile line, 2 mobile broadband, svc, max online and land line. I have deserved this inspite of being loyal to starhub for donkey years. (starting from their market entry).

    Starhub sucks

    0 Votes
  • R
      Jul 06, 2010

    This ISP is getting arrogant, I hope IDA will look into our complaints.

    0 Votes
  • U
      Jan 13, 2011

    i would like to share with all reader, star huh customer service are getting extremely poor service.
    by given empty promises ...

    They always promote treating royalty customer well? giving royalty customer more privilege? which they don't full fill!

    privilege that use to provide and will slowly forfeited...

    As worse thing happened when customer called for some enquiry about the privilege forfeited? whixh they committed and promised return call within 5 days but yet they don't ? which means showing they are trying to avoid and giving customer answer why the privilege is taken away...

    0 Votes
  • A
      Feb 19, 2011

    I re-contracted my mobile a week back. The price which they charged for handset was S$160 more than current price. No one from Starhub told me about it. I only discovered after signing the contract. When I called them up, they didn't have any clear answer. I felt like cheated. So poor customer service !

    0 Votes
  • W
      Mar 25, 2011
    Mobile Service Providers - Incoming call charges should be abandoned !!
    Singtel / Starhub
    Singapore

    Incoming call charges should be abandoned in singapore !!

    Atrocious call charges of 22 cents per minute for an incoming call should be abandoned.. Most of the developing countries have done away with incoming call tariffs in the interest of consumers...

    0 Votes
  • S
      Mar 25, 2011

    hi all, i've set up a group in facebook to gather petitions against starhub for their overbilling charges, lack of liability to their consumers, not responsible in taking care of their customers when help is required.
    Please feel free to join the group to air your grieves or share your situation or pls help to spread the word to as many people as you can who faces the same issues with starhub. All contents in this group will be consolidated into a petition to IDA against starhub or any other telcos in hope they will speed the process in implementing neccessary rulings in place that will protect consumers like us against corporations like starhub who behave like a legal "Ah Long and Associates".
    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?sk=group_172418692807263

    0 Votes
  • S
      Apr 06, 2011

    Starhub customer service sucks. Cannot deliver what they promises. They cut my line despite me paying monthly. Yet they have the cheek to say I have outstanding balance, need to clear it before they reinstate my line.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Aug 18, 2011

    Dear Mr Rama,

    Thank you for your e-mail dated 12 July 2011.

    As discussed previously, upon the continuous investigation, it was later only discovered the default settings on Caller Number Non Display on the iPhone will restrict the capability of making outgoing calls and this is an isolated case. IF this is an isolated case who should bear the cost ???

    Please be assured that the International Roaming service has been active during this period. What is the point if International Roaming service is active but I can’t make outgoing calls which is part of the uninterrupted International Roaming service promised in the contract.

    We have verified this with you and the fault was resolved on 18 June 2011. Since then, we have immediately brought up this matter to our roaming partner's attention and are working closely on a long term solution. This is not true the problem was not resolved and reoccurred several times after the 18 June 2011 till 24th of July my last trip to Malaysia. My problems started well before 25th May when I was in Korea. I recall it was around end April that was when I first reported my problem. This involved 3 months bills MAY/JUNE/JULY. I and my secretary had reported to Helpdesk every time we had the problem. We have proof of all calls made to you for almost 2 to 3 months.

    We have acknowledged that there were calls made to you while you were overseas, hence we will waive all under unlisted number in Korea and Malaysia for this period as well.
    Please be informed that only calls under unlisted number will be considered as our calling number is unlisted. Your period in calculating incoming roaming charges is wrong.

    The breakdown is attached as follows.

    After a full review of the matter, we regret that we are not able to accede to your request for a full waiver of roaming usage as those were valid and were successful. We understand that, this issue has caused inconvenience, hence we have extended an offer to waive the Mobile Subscription instead. I have never requested a full waiver. I have only requested waiver for International Roaming service or at a more reasonable rate since its part of the contract obligation to provide me with uninterrupted International Roaming service. Let alone Mobile Subscription charges you have offered(instead)
    I have yet to calculate the loss of Business and valuable time and the charges for calls I had made from overseas using other phones trying to call you and my secretary to rectify the problem.

    As shared in our previous e-mail, our goodwill offer of a total waiver of $307.50 (with GST) for mobile subscription 9027 0698 is still valid and these adjustments are already reflected in your August statement. We seek your kind understanding that this is our final review and our best offer. Adjustments you have reflected is only from 26th/May to 11/June/2011. The problem was not resolved and has been there since end April to 24th July 2011.

    We would like to take the opportunity to update you on the outstanding amount of $1994.02 for account 5.27765.00.00.100000 and please proceed with the payment to prevent any service disruption.
    1. If this is a threat I will seek full legal advice and complain to the consumer association and all relevant government authorities.
    If I do not receive a satisfactory reply from you or your superiors, Copies of this mail including all correspondences will be attached in my letter stating my case to Starhub Board of Directors, consumer association and the IDA Singapore


    We also wish to inform you that we will be extending a $50 recontract voucher, as well as waiving off the early recontract fee of $200 for Mobile Number 9180 3952 and our Corporate Sales will be calling you back regarding this issue. Not Interested

    If you have any questions, please call us on our Business Care hotline at 1631 or fax in to 6720 5050. We will be most glad to assist you.

    0 Votes
  • 1
      Feb 06, 2012

    I had called 1637 on saturday to raise question over billing issues. spoke to an office named rebecca who had promised to have her 1) supervisor to follow up by caling me within 24 hours on saturday. 2) the billing department to call me on monday. I had not received any calls from starhub. realizing that this was going to be a repeat of history of poor follow up services, i decided to make the calls. what followed was more frustrations and disappointment. to say that the officers whom spoke with me was rude, non attentive, and the least helpful are an understatement. when i asked for the department contacts to lodge a formal complaint, the officer was clearly evasive. she put me on hold for a good 17 minutes before i had to hang up. i am still awaiting a proper response. sad to say the officers are arrogant and they certainly should go for basic customer services class. ong.

    0 Votes
  • O
      Sep 05, 2012

    I would like to complain regarding my Starhub fibre Broadband plan.
    On 3 Sept 2012, my internet connection was not working at 6.30 pm and called your Technical team to resolve my problem and the person who answer the call said somebody will call me and I waited the whole night but nobody bothers to feedback what exactly is the problem. The internet connection was back at around 8.00 pm (luckily I did not switch off my computer)
    On 4 Sept 2012, I called at12.14 pm to complain about the previous day problem and Raymond arranged with me the technical staff will call me at 6.30pm but again nobody called me, Again my internet connection was not working and I have no choice but to call again and again mention somebody from Technical dept will call but again another disappointment.
    On 5 Sept 2012, I called again at 12.57 pm to complain and your staff (if I am not mistaken Ramon) assured me that the Technical team will call me at 8-8.30 pm but another another Disappointment
    My daugher called on my behalf to enquire why no response from your technical team, and your staff informed her that I do not how to arrange.
    I am having no internet connection for the past 3 days at evening time and only after calling your technical dept, then the internet is back.
    I just wonder why the service is so bad with NO RESPONSE AT ALL, I am very disappointed with Starhub as I have been using your service for 3 years.
    I hope your Management will do something about this BAD SERVICE I encounter as I am now paying a higher price (upgrading)
    Nobody bothers to call me when the internet connection is back.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Apr 23, 2013

    Can I suggest that people facing problems with star hub services to lodge a complaint via email to Infocom/IDA and MICA Singapore. They will help you to investigate and settle the issues. Upon investigation from the above gov. Authorities, star hub will take actions to resolve whatever problems that you are . The mentioned gov bodies have the authority to handle and investigate.

    I have very bad experiences with star hub just like the people complaining here. After some time, I got very frustrated and desperate. I decided to write to Infocom/IDA sg. Star hub render their assistance to me ASAP.

    I hope the people here will seek help from proper channel for their grievances and etc...
    In my personal circumstances/ experiences. It is the only hope to resolve problems with star hub else they will just ignore you, keep transferring you to don't know who or give endless excuses etc... Which is a total waste of our personal resources, not forgetting that we are paying our bills to them. We are consumers, we must bring our grievances to proper channels if we are ignored or not treated right.

    We need to bring our issues to IDA/Infocom, the gov authorities. They seems to be our only hope when it comes to star hub.


    I hope that my advice helps.

    0 Votes
  • H
      Apr 30, 2013

    Can I suggest that people facing problems with star hub services to lodge a complaint via email to Infocom/IDA Singapore. Email adress :  mailto:[protected]@ida.gov.sg  Or  [protected]@ida.gov.sg  IDA website :http://www.ida.gov.sg/ tel: 6211 2100 .They will help you to investigate your issues. Upon investigation from the above gov. Authorities, star hub will take actions to resolve the problems that you face. Just furnish them with your account no/ particulars. Be truthful with the issues that you face with the service provider.

    I hope the people here will seek help from proper channel for their grievances and etc...
    In my personal circumstances/ experiences. It is the only hope to resolve problems with star hub else they will just ignore you, keep transferring you to don't know who or give endless excuses etc... Which is a total waste of our personal resources, not forgetting that we are paying our bills to them. We are consumers, we must bring our grievances to proper channels if we are ignored or not treated right.
    We need to bring our issues to IDA/Infocom, the gov authorities. They seems to be our only hope when it comes to star hub.
    I hope that my advice helps.

    0 Votes
  • H
      Apr 30, 2013
    Starhub - Star hub1633 never give solutions only keeps telling us how fine and wonderful their broadband n network is
    Star hub broadband and csv 1633
    Singapore

    How to deal with starhub problems?Never reply? Full of excuses that their broadband is fine but said that our gadgets are faulty etc...
    Can I suggest that people facing problems with star hub services to lodge a complaint via email to Infocom/IDA Singapore ASAP Email adress :  mailto:   [protected]@ida.gov.sg  Or  [protected]@ida.gov.sg  IDA website is :http://www.ida.gov.sg/ tel: 6211 2100 .They will help you to investigate your issues. Upon investigation from the above gov. Authorities, star hub will take actions to resolve the problems that you face. Just furnish IDA with your account no/ particulars. Be truthful with the issues that you face with the service provider.

    I hope the people here will seek help from proper channel for their grievances and etc...
    In my personal circumstances/ experiences. It is the only hope to resolve problems with star hub else they will just ignore you, keep transferring you to don't know who or give endless excuses etc... Which is a total waste of our personal resources, not forgetting that we are paying our bills to them. We are consumers, we must bring our grievances to proper channels if we are ignored or not treated right.
    We need to bring our issues to IDA/Infocom, the gov authorities. They seems to be our only hope when it comes to star hub.
    I hope that my advice helps.

    0 Votes
  • S
      May 03, 2013

    How about setting up a Proper channel collate all the problems Starhub csv 1633 has? Then submit to IDA and MDA. Then Starhub has no excuses to bluff us etc...

    0 Votes
  • N
      Jun 19, 2013

    I personally experience slow internet service. When i called in to Starhub the last time and mentioned that my sister did not experience lagged in service with other service provider and why with Starhub nearly most of the time,

    In Suntec area, watching a 30 mins drama series is like taking more than a hour to complete.

    So you tell me if i can not be happy with the service. It really creates inconvenience to customer(s).

    I would sincerely hope Starhub looking into service provided.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Jan 03, 2014

    I agree with some of the comments on TV channels.
    Beware if you have signed up with Starhub as they will readjust charges to customer at their "fancy" when so call contract expire!
    It was stated in their agreement that they got the right to do so & they definitely will when the period expire without first getting consensus. Your charges may double up!
    I think that is what we called exploitation of consumers.
    Then it will be frustrations trying to talk to someone @ their customer service!
    Their hotline is one of he most inefficient, unproductive & time wasting system in Singapore. Every caller be prepared to hold the line for 15 minutes. Total that with the amount of calls they received yearly, they wasted millions of our dollars on telephone calls alone.
    Call this Singapore productivity drive!
    Ok! I rather give up the TV channels than trying to sense to them!
    I hope our Government can put Singaporean needs in right prospective.
    We should not allow companies like Starhub to bleed us dry.
    Speeding up competitions & allowing more TV program provider will help for sure.

    0 Votes
  • G
      Jan 07, 2014

    No renewal with Starhub, their services are already screwed up.

    0 Votes
  • G
      Aug 19, 2014

    I just had bad experience with starhub customer service, too. I had a business inquiry and 'Carlo' was in charge of the phone session. First of all, he asked me Business registration number that was just unexpected to me for just asking general question. Then end of the conversation, I asked to him to reply what we discussed over the phone to the email which I wrote to customer service, for verification perpose, and he said not. In order to him, he is working in call back team so he is not able to reply to email from customer. And he guided me to call #1360 in order to receive email reply and do same conversation again with different person from beginning. I did not know starhub cust care has so many regulation for servicing to customers, so many things that they are not able to do, and being fare, his attitude was just nasty.


    I am strongly feeling bad after phone guidance from him. Starhub should train operators properly.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Feb 14, 2015

    I subscribe a package including cable TV last July. One month later, I noticed an subscribtion through remoto control. It was cancelled and the staff also tauch me to lock the reomoto control. However, a few minutes ago, i received an notice through phone about a new subscription. It is another kid's misoperation. I call them immediately and was told taht I cannot cancel this time. My key point is that: why the lock does not work? I ask the manger to call be next Monday. If they insist to do so, to whome should I complain? I think the remotoe control should be locked by defaulty.

    0 Votes
  • J
      Aug 21, 2015

    I am terribly disappointed with STARHUB. I recontracted the Starhub TV, Home Broadband and Digital Voice pack -- after all the advertised discounts, I am supposed to pay only $91.63 a month starting 23 June 2015. This was agreed by Mr Gabriel (sales person who negotiated the deal with me) on 4 June 2015 before the installation. Then the July bill came and they overcharged -- I then called Gabriel who promised to look into it and call me back; no return call from him. I called Starhub a few more time; Mr Joel (9th July), Dee Gee (22nd July), Mr Sam (27 July), and Mr Shafiq (28 July) who told me they have listened to the phone log and Starhub would honor the negotiated recontract -- they are all sales people -- I cannot find the same person, Each time it is a different person on the line and I have to explain all over again. They all acknowledged my issue. One of them told me Ms Anna Young (Sales Director?) is aware of my issue. But after each call, things were not rectified - it appears the person just forgot about it and hoped the next sales person would rectify. Yesterday the bill came, and it was still the unamended higher amount $119.41. I called Starhub & asked to speak to Shafiq but to no avail, but spoke to Mr Exus Leong yesterday and today who said the correct sales people (Gabriel's team) would call me, but no one call. There seems to be no end after each promise to rectify. What is happening? I cannot reach anyone past the sales phone person. It appears anyone serious is based in Malaysia. What a way to do business in Singapore!!!

    Janice Hee

    0 Votes
  • M
      Feb 26, 2016

    My wife a/c no.1.1461878L, Rugayah bte mansor are shock with her bill since november last year.she did not (on) any roaming data, yet bill come to her with data roaming usage.She now stay with me in johor and she never use her handphone regularly.why the roaming time stated inside are so unthinkable.-1am, 2am till one whole day roaming.we are not going to pay that bill, and wiil make a police report as we had call 1637 since many month about this bill roaming bill and yet no action taken.we had been loyal to starhub n yet this way u repay us.we had makeup our mind to terminate all our account even what going to happen.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Mar 14, 2016

    1)This case happen 7/3/16-smart phone delivery
    2)I call in many time n talk to starhub customer service hotline, n also talk to their supervisor...still cannot settle my problem...we are starhub regular customer...what kind of service of they...n y need I call in n tell n tell so much what happen of this case...n they supervisor also say call me, I use my time to wait they call, but finally they never call me...
    3)pls email me: [protected]@gmail.com

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jul 22, 2016
    Starhub - Excess payments upon termination
    Starhub
    Singapore

    Hi,

    Starhub refused to do refund on the excess payments (S$46.64) upon termination, this has been pending for more than 3 months!

    The telephone line was registered under my mum's name. Under my mum's name, we have signed several telephone lines. I am the user of the telephone line which provides credit card payment by Giro. Upon termination on 11 July 2012, I received a statement showing that there is excess payment. I have requested to Starhub to return the payment via cheque and they promised to make payment within 4-6 weeks. I have waited for more than 3 months till now (1 Nov 2012) and there is no payment. Starhub's reason to hold back the refund was that there is pending payment of $30+ on the other telephone line under my mum's name since 10 Oct 2012.

    Here, the question is, Why didn't Starhub provide the payment to me when there was no pending payment before 10 Oct 2012?? We as a consumer, have every rights to get back excess payments that the money belongs to us! This is really ridiculus and cannot be accepted. This excess payment rightfully belongs to me as a consumer. Though the amount is small to big organisation like starhub, I felt we as a consumer has the rights to get back the excess amounts.

    Can we seek legal means to sue Starhub to get back the money? If yes, can such legal means ask Starhub to compensate all the legal fees as well?

    Starhub reference invoice: 1302239
    Excess amount: SGD46.64
    Termination of mobile line: 11 July 2012

    0 Votes
  • A
      Jul 22, 2016

    Don't fall for this scam, do not give them any information, how can you even think this is true when so many people just from this thread alone, have supposedly won almost 1, 000, 000 pounds? this is ridiculous, if you fall for this you are dumb.

    0 Votes
  • E
      Jul 22, 2016

    i dont know how to thank you .i wanna know more about this please can you call me as soon as possible just to make sure .

    0 Votes
  • A
      Jul 22, 2016

    Dear Derick,

    I do have this mobile number, please revert how to proceed further.

    Regards,

    Azhar

    +1 Votes
  • M
      Jul 22, 2016

    pls. if this is true may i know how to claim the prize?
    thanks for selecting my phone number.

    0 Votes
  •   Jul 22, 2016

    Dear Derick,

    I do have this mobile number, please revert how to proceed further.

    Regards,
    Ropesh Kumar

    0 Votes
  • M
      Jul 22, 2016

    thanks for being choosen my phone number me i know how to claim the prize.

    0 Votes
  • M
      Jul 22, 2016

    how can i claim the money?

    0 Votes
  • M
      Jul 22, 2016

    pls. if this is true may i know how to claim the prize?

    0 Votes
  • A
      Jul 22, 2016

    Dear Derick,
    I do have this mobile number, please revert how to proceed further.

    ahmed.

    0 Votes
  • A
      Jul 22, 2016

    i dont how to thank you.that my mobile no is selected to win.kindly give me some details how to claim the prize.

    0 Votes
  • I have recive this message at below:
    Congrat, your mobile number won 945, 000 pounds in the mobile phone win, your money is ready to be sent to you. For details contact DERICK at [protected]@yahoo.co.uk. could you send me the detial conacted Like telphone Number and the proson for calling

    0 Votes
  • Z
      Jul 22, 2016

    pls. if this is true may i know how to claim the prize

    0 Votes
  • M
      Jul 22, 2016

    its so funny

    0 Votes
  • C
      Jul 22, 2016

    Attention Mr.Derick,

    I to recieved the message, that i won the prize of 945, 000 pounds . If this is true, iam very lucky, but how to claim for this, i think through credit card no, if it is like that, i cannot belive it, because, there are many things before, which they are cheating .

    I am sorry, but they should not cheet like that .
    you can call me back to my mobile [protected] .

    0 Votes
  • M
      Jul 22, 2016

    HOW I WILL GET IT PLS TELL I AM WATING FOR IT

    0 Votes
  • E
      Jul 22, 2016

    pls. If your not doing a scam you can can call as right away or contact as and tell as what are the procedures to collect our winning cash in this mobilephonewin.pls contact me as soon as possible on this number [protected]

    0 Votes
  • E
      Jul 22, 2016

    Dear Mr. Derick

    If it is true that we all won in this kind of lottery pls. call as and tell us what are the procedures if it is true.But if you ask for the credit card number thank you for the msg because right now it is very difficult to trust anyone especially money matters understand.well by the way thank you if it is true.God bless

    0 Votes

Post your comment