Stamps.comDon't waste your money!

Do you believe that it is a waste of money to be billed $15.99 per month from an on-line business in exchange for no products, no service? Do you believe that an on-line business should be able to charge $15.99 for a "subscription" that gives a person an "opportunity" to print stamps on-line even if the unwilling customer tells them that they do NOT want to print stamps on-line?

What do you think about a business who refuses to cancel this "subscription" even after the unwilling customer explains that inadvertently they signed up with them thinking they were signing up with the United States Postal Service for a package pick up? What do you think about a business that will agree to cancel this monthly "subscription" ONLY if the victim agrees to an additional monthly service charge of $15.99...so this business receives a minimum of $31.98 in exchange for nothing... or as I asked them, "You gave me what in return? Air?"

What do you think about a business that keeps charging $15.99 per month, even after they were told both by the victim and by the victim's credit card company that the transaction is disputed? What would you say if I told you that this on-line business is a vendor of the U.S. Postal Service?

Here's what I say: "Don't Waste Your Money."

In my opinion, the experience I had with Stamps.com was a total waste of my time and money at best, and perhaps fraudulent. I feel I was deceived and victimized.

I question why the U.S. Postal Service allows this type of activity from one of their vendors. Perhaps this company known as STAMPS.COM offers a legitimate service to the U.S. Postal Service, perhaps the U.S. Postal Service receives something of value in return from their collaboration, perhaps the U.S. Postal Service receives a percentage of each $15.99; but for many unsuspecting victims, like me, STAMPS.COM offers nothing but deceit and aggravation.

I question why month after month, I continue to see charges from Stamps.com even after my first cancellation call in February. Each month, I am forced to contact my credit company, dispute the charge, fill out paperwork, and have the charge reversed. The next month the charge appears once again. I question how many others have been victimized the same way I was victimized. I question how many victims are even aware that they are being scammed by this business. The charge appears on the credit card as stamps.com. If a person is not careful, they would see stamps and think it was a charge from the post office.

I question Stamps.com's AA rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though Stamps.com has over 1,200 issued complaints. I question how many people don't bother to complain. It's time consuming. After all it's only $15.99 per month. Maybe a more thorough investigation would get the Better Business Bureau to take a closer look at Stamps.com. Even Enron had a good rating before an investigation revealed the truth to the public.

Perhaps one or two of the items above will raise a red flag with you. Perhaps your viewing audience should know about the scam so that they don't waste their money.

Responses

  • Er
    Eric Leaver Nov 09, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You are not alone, why can't the feds stop them' find a form on USPS that attains to this. Stamps.com suddenly appear on my check card statement, I really do not know how they got the card number, probably through a promotion unrelated to stamps. a week after the first charge of $15.95 showed up a second charge $15.95 appeared, My father called Stamps.com to get an explanation and to complain approx. 1 week after the second charge, Their explanation was that if you join a gym and don't use it you still have to pay for your membership, and will not do any thing until they talked to me. the following day they charged another $15.95 for a total off $47.85 in three weeks. I called them to stop charges and get refund, They would not refund the monies, and said that they will charge me one more time, at this point I had to close my account out, as the only way to stop them taking more money. These people cost me $105.00 additionally in overcharge fees. My father went to different sites Amazon.com for example that had an obscure promotion and got as far as giving a credit card number without once seeing any fee costs. This is a scam with support from United States Postal Service, Amazon.com, UPS,. Fox news. to name a few/With these typical companies support they have made scams a legitimate business.

    Check out /link removed/ and http www.scams.com, http://www.complaints.com, search for stamps.com complaints.

    1 Votes
  • Tr
    Tracey Chachere Nov 21, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ha! What a scam! Luckily for me, my 18 year old son accidentally misplaced my ATM card which I reported lost to my bank. Stamps.com was unable to deduct the funds! They sent me a "bill" for 63.00 . I asked the representative what the charges were for in light of the fact that I had never bought postage or used their services, and he told me "For holding an account with Stamps.com"! I flatly refused to pay, and hung up on him. After several emails back and forth, I told them that I would be filing a complaint with the BBB. 2 hours later I received an email stating that they were waiving the charges and canceling my account. I plan on reporting them anyway. Why should I have to go through that kind of harassment when all I was doing was considering a product as a consumer? Nice try Stamps.com.

    1 Votes
  • Te
    techcritic Apr 11, 2008

    THIS COMPANY IS TERRIBLE AND FULL OF BS!!! . They claim to give you a "trial" period and charge you before it's over and refuse to give a refund. I had to contact my credit card company to remove the charges. They are a POORLY RUN BUSINESS, ABSOLUTE VULTURES, and simply unnecessary! You can go online to the USPS and do it yourself! You don't need them and that ridiculous software.

    STAMPS.COM should go out of business, and hopefully will if we all stop using them!

    DON'T PURCHASE THEIR SOFTWARE OR SERVICE, EVER!!!

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    William M Apr 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had stamps.com for a day for their 30 day free trial. Even though I canceled with 29 days remaining of the free trial, I was charged for the trial!

    If you have stamps.com complaint, file a complaint with the BBB (www.bbb.org), your state's Attorney General's office as well as the California Attorney General's office.

    1 Votes
  • No
    nomorecap.one May 14, 2008

    I found a way to cancel. There is a Stamps.com phone number on the Better Business Bureau Los Angeles site. As of May 14, 2008 there were 736 complaints regarding this issue on BBB. It is impossible to get through the 1-888 customer service number. To cancel, call (310) 482-5800. Press '0' for operator and mention the issues regarding canceling. I got a nice lady who transferred me to a customer service rep 'Rich' who graciously canceled my account in seconds. Also got a confirmation email and final account statement showing zero balance as I canceled during trial period. Good luck!

    2 Votes
  • Su
    Sunshineplaza Jul 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have just spoke with stamps.com and tried to close my account the third.

    They keep you on the phone for long long time.


    True. true. true ***

    Stamps.com was a total waste of my time and money.

    True. true. true***

    1 Votes
  • An
    anonuk Aug 07, 2008

    Total scam . A fraudulent hotmail account was somehow created and used to sign me up for the service. Monthly charges mysteriously showed up on my Amex account. Was able to cancel after being on hold for a while. On the phone, could not get rep to credit fees for unused service. Filed a complaint with the BBB and have since received credit. I'd suggest everyone do the same.

    1 Votes
  • Do
    Donna Talarico Sep 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just blogged about my experience--only thereafter did I do a search for other complaints. I'll have to link this to my blog! http://randomthoughtsfromdonna.blogspot.com/2008/09/perils-of-free-trials-and-contracts.html

    1 Votes
  • Sw
    S. Warren Sep 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Even if you cancel your credit card (I did) they will still try and get your $. they bill me every month for the past 3-4 YEARS saying they need a new credit card #!! Like I could give it to them!

    the service stinks, can't reach customer service and to top itall off I never even got me "fre scale" or postal supplies!

    1 Votes
  • Ab
    Abigail Nov 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I work at a class action law firm and we are investigating this issue. I am interested in talking to people and hearing about their experiences. Please contact me at [email protected] if you have had trouble canceling your account with stamps.com, have been billed fraudulently by stamps.com, or have any questions on this investigation. Thanks, Abigail.
    [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Wa
    Wayne Jenkins Nov 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Do not have a record of orderig this program.

    0 Votes
  • Va
    Vanessa Nov 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It is Nov. 17th 2008 and I don't know why I am shocked that I just found fraudulent charges from Stamps.Com on my credit card. I have never used them. I have no clue how they got my credit card number.

    But, they have been billing me 17.95 (usd) a month, and I just figured it out. Discover Card is refunding my money. And I am going through the hassle of cancelling and waiting for a new card.


    Now, here is the weird part. After I cancelled my card this morning, I went to a website I had never been too before. It was an astrology website. And all of a sudden, these little stamps.com boxes started popping up on myscreen.

    So, I cleared my cache. Because I thought to myself, what if they have a tracker that can copy all of the saved "form data" on a persons computer? I don't know if that is possible, but I just thought, maybe possibly?? it was all too weird, to just have an issue with them, and then have some random blank box pop up on my screen that says stamps.com minutes later????

    I think I was on their site once many months ago, looing for online stamps. But never decided to go that route...

    This fraudulence blows my mind...

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    Ray Pointer Nov 22, 2008

    All of this is consistent with my experiences. I was mislead into thinking that there was a one month free trial for ordering postage through Stamps.com. When I found it impossible to work the process, I abandoned it, never having used this service ever. A month later, a $15.99 debit appeared on my bank balance charged by Stamps.com. I alerted the bank to this unauthorized charge, and put a block on Stamps.com to prevent any future debits to my bank account.

    In April, I received an invoice for the amount of $31.98 with a remark that Stamps.com was unable to process my monthly charge from my credit card. Stamps.com continued to bill me for the next two months, finally reaching the amount of $63.96. I had moved to another state in June, and a month later I had another invoice re-routed to my new address. I Email Stamps.com on August 3rd, and the following day received four Email responses all within two minutes of each other. The first gave an accounting of the $63.96 with an offer to credit the previous month's charge of $15.99, bringing the total down to $47.97. A second Email confired this credit. Minutes later, I received another Email stated their inability to charge $63.96 on my bank account. The fourth Email stated, "We are sorry to see you go." It also went on to state, "If you purchased postage through Stamps.com, we will begin processing your refund for any unused postage one your final balance has been paid in full. Please allow 4-6 weeks to receive your refund check."

    I called the Customer Service number, and was given the official "monthly service charge" justification, regardless of whether I used their services or not. It made it abundantly clear that I had no interest in paying for a service that I never received and urged them to cease harrassing me with unwarrented charges. I was informed that I was obligated to close the account, and was assigned a Cancellation Confirmation Number, and directed to send final payment to their address in Dallas, Texas. I asked them to send me an accounting in writing explaining these charges which I had been disputing. I then receive a Collections Notice dated 9/19/08 for the amount of $63.96. I light of the two Email of August 4th indicating a credit of $15.99, Stamps.com charged an additional month after I had notified them of my intention to cancel.

    I received a Second Collections Notice for $63.96 dated 10/24/08 with a threat to turn the matter over to a collection agency. I have since assembled a package documenting this story to be sent registered mail to Stamps.com, Deprt. 0398, PO Box 120398, Dallas, Texas, 75312-0398, and will be following suit with a similar package to the Better Business Bureau, and The United States Postal Authorities.

    1 Votes
  • In
    integrity sales Jan 13, 2009

    We have also been recently victimized by stamps.com. Our situation did not look very promising until we ran across the above post from Sav. We made one phone call and followed the instructions given. That was all it took! The supervisor for stamps.com was very interested why/how we got this phone number but we played dumb. They know what they are doing is wrong and it makes us sick that USPS is endorsing them. They do not deserve the endorsement from USPS and it takes victims as ourselves to voice that. Everyone call/email USPS and let them know the injustice!

    1 Votes
  • Th
    theshoppingdiva Jan 22, 2009

    I signed up with them February 2008 and threaten to trash their freakin business all over the internet if they didn't cancel my account with them. They tried to say they would be more then happy to do so provided I pay them a $15 cancellation fee. I was like "Hell No"! You already got me for $15.00 for one month - like the person who wrote the article said just for "air". I got no product and no services - just jacked for $15 because I did not even use their service that month. So you damn sure ain't getting another penny from me. They did cancel my service. But I made sure I gave them my paypal debit card and if there is no money on your account, paypal will deny the charge. I wasn't crazy enough to give them the debit card number that was linked to my personal checking account. I've dealt with internet thieves like this before. Plus I cancelled that card and reported it stolen, just to make sure they wouldn't try to jack me for another $15 fee even though they said they cancelled the account and wouldn't charge me the cancellation fee. You just can't trust these newbie internet companies, cause they too freakin greedy and ready to prey on innocent consumers! But they picked the wrong one to mess with that day!

    1 Votes
  • St
    Stanley Feb 18, 2009

    In October, I sign up with stamps.com thinking it was a apart of the USPS but found out it wasn't. How can a company charge way less than the United States Post Office, that's unheard of.

    I didn't sign up for it because I don't send mail or packages out often to use the service. I thought I see what this company has to offer, it offered a scale which I didn't have or owned. It offered several free $10 to my account which I didn't need. And for the last three or more months which I didn't know, they were charging me 17.99 a month. I am a student and have a car, why would I need such a plan. I don't even have netflix. I called and they said they were charging for a "postage license". I don't understand it at all.

    I am feed up with this company. I called and complained, they wont issue my refund so I'm taking up here. I am willing to sue this company for those who are hurt. CLASS ACTION!

    Stanley
    San Francisco, California.

    1 Votes
  • Ha
    hatestamps.com Mar 11, 2009

    Same problem happened to me. I officially hate this company. I canceled 27 days into it and they still charged me for a free 28 FREE trial period. YOU need to stop this company.

    1 Votes
  • De
    Dexter Mar 25, 2009

    My experience has been similar. The (310) phone number above did result in customer service that speeks English as a first language; don't call the toll free unless you are fluent in Hindu. First rep acknowleged I had tried to cancel prior to end of free trial, but call was disconnected before security questions could be answered. He assured me his "supervisor" could take care of it. She took care of cancellation, but said she could not refund bogus charges. I will dispute with credit card company and file with BBB. I am appalled that the USPS allows them to remain a partner, and will file complaint with the Postmaster General and Postal Inspection Service as well as my state AG.

    YOU SUCK Stamps.com!

    0 Votes
  • Te
    test Mar 26, 2009

    I do NOT recommend stamps.com service at all, their monthly charges sucks, even you do not use. And they make cancellation SO HARD!!! You have to call and wait in line for someone to show up, maybe in india. It is not straight forward!!

    When I called to cancel my account, they asked SO MANY questions, and keep telling me how good their service is. Even give me trial period, I have to CALL BACK a month later to decide cancel or not!! NO way. I have been wasting the monthly charges for 10 months!!

    Just KEEP AWAY this company as soon as you can, they are NOT professional at all. They should NOT make cancellation so hard if they were in good business, absolutely they are not.

    Also their postage is much higher than endicia. The feature is not as rich as Endicia, Insurance fee is much higher, and cancellation is MOST DIFFICULT!! you have to CALL, and verify every single bit.

    Also DO NOT GIVE YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER TO STAMPS.com, put any random number if you want to use them, they are NOT FINANCIAL institution/BANK, they are NOT ALLOWED to have your social by LAW.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    test Mar 26, 2009

    Another thought on this, if you GAVE THEM your SOCIAL SECURITY number, you might be pissed off if they keep charging you monthly fees although you never use.

    They are JUST software company by a group of Indian, maybe, so THEY ARE NOT US POSTAL OFFICE!! Why should those IT people have your social??

    Other company like Endicia does much better job, and they do not ask for your social, and much easy for cancel if you decide not use.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    test Mar 26, 2009

    There is hearing scheduled for April 7, 2009


    ======================================================
    NOTICE OF CLASS ACTION SETTLEMENT

    Coburn v. Stamps.com

    Los Angeles Superior Court Case No. BC353721



    A proposed settlement (the “Settlement”) has been reached in the class action lawsuit entitled Coburn v. Stamps.com, Los Angeles Superior Court, Case No. BC353721.



    IF YOU ARE A MEMBER OF THIS CLASS OF PERSONS, YOU SHOULD READ THIS NOTICE CAREFULLY BECAUSE IT WILL AFFECT YOUR RIGHTS



    A. PURPOSE OF THIS NOTICE



    The purpose of this notice is to advise you that the Los Angeles Superior Court has certified for settlement purposes the following class:



    All former customers of Stamps.com from June 9, 2002 through November 19 2008, who cancelled their account and were billed for, and paid, their final months’ service fee for the Stamps.com PC Postage monthly service.



    According to Stamps.com’s records, you are a member of the class. The purpose of this Notice is to inform you about the proposed Settlement and to discuss your rights and options and deadlines with respect to the lawsuit and the Settlement.



    B. DESCRIPTION OF THE LAWSUIT.



    Plaintiffs contend that Stamps.com subjected the Class Members to unreasonable hold times when they attempted to cancel over the phone and thereby impeded their ability to close their accounts in a timely manner and that Stamps.com should have pro-rated the Class Members’ last month bills to the date they closed their accounts. Stamps.com denies these allegations. The complaint alleges cause of action for Unfair Competition, Breach of Contract, Fraud and Violations of the California Consumer Legal Remedies Act.



    This Settlement is the result of extensive settlement discussions. Both sides agree that, in light of the risks and expenses associated with further litigation, this Settlement is fair and appropriate under the circumstances. Please be advised that the Los Angeles County Superior Court has not ruled on the merits of Plaintiffs’ claims or Stamps.com’s defenses.



    The attorneys for the class (“Class Counsel”) in this lawsuit are:





    JEFFREY P. SPENCER, ESQ.,

    LAW OFFICES OF

    JEFFREY SPENCER
    1211 Puerta Del Sol, Suite 150
    San Clemente, CA 92673

    email: [email protected]



    SCOTT SCHUTZMAN, ESQ.
    LAW OFFICES OF SCOTT SCHUTZMAN
    3700 S. Susan Street, Suite 120

    Santa Ana, CA 92704

    email: [email protected]











    On January 5, 2009, the Court granted preliminary approval to the proposed Settlement. The Court will decide whether to give final approval to the Settlement at a hearing scheduled for April 7, 2009 at 8:30 a.m.



    C. SUMMARY OF PROPOSED SETTLEMENT:



    Subject to Court approval, the terms of the Settlement are as follows:



    1. STAMPS.COM will provide all class members with an opportunity to receive two free months of service, a value of approximately $35.98, with no obligation after the two month period. Stamps.com will revise its policies to pro-rate final bills to the last date of service or permit its customers to continue to use its service until the last day of the month. Stamps.com will revise its procedures so that average hold time for customers attempting to cancel will not exceed 5-7 minutes (excepting the days immediately following the release of a new Stamps.com version upgrade, change in postage rates, or significant policy change or technical difficulty).



    2. Class Counsel have not been paid for their time and expenses prosecuting the case and will ask the Court to award attorney’s fees and costs equal to $450, 000. In addition, Class Counsel will ask the Court to authorize an enhanced award for class Representative Coburn in the amount of $5, 000 for his time and effort in bringing the case on behalf of the class.



    3. Each member of the Class is deemed to release and discharge Stamps.com, and each of its officers, directors, employees, shareholders, agents, representatives, predecessors, successors, assigns, parents, subsidiaries, and attorneys, from each of the claims covered by the settlement.



    4. Following final approval of the settlement the lawsuit will be dismissed with prejudice.



    D. TO CLAIM THE BENEFITS OF THE SETTLEMENT:



    You will be automatically entitled to the benefits of the settlement if the Court approves the settlement. After the Court approves the settlement, you will be sent an email communication containing instructions for how to receive the two months free service. You will have one year from the date the email is sent to you to take advantage of the two months free service. Once you respond to the email, follow the instructions to open your account you can start your 2 months free service. Please note that, other than the free service, you remain responsible for all actual U.S. Postage costs and other charges incurred by you through your account. At the completion of the two month free period, your account will be automatically closed and all unused postage purchased by you will be returned to you pursuant to United States Postal Service regulations. You will not be charged anything more. If you wish to continue with a Stamps.com account, at the conclusion of the two month free period you will be provided an opportunity to continue your account with Stamps.com, although you will be under no obligation to do so.



    The Claims Administrator is Desmond, Marcello & Amster.

    email: [email protected]

    Mail Address: Stamps.com Notice Administrator
    c/o Desmond, Marcello & Amster

    P.O. Box 451999

    Los Angeles, California 90045

    0 Votes
  • Te
    test Mar 26, 2009

    G. IF YOU DO NOTHING.



    If you do nothing in response to this Notice, you will automatically participate in the settlement, which means you will be entitled to all of the benefits of the settlement and you will deemed to release all claims against Stamps.com covered by the settlement.



    H. FINAL APPROVAL HEARING ON PROPOSED SETTLEMENT.



    The Final Approval Hearing on the fairness and adequacy of the proposed Settlement, the plan of distribution, and Class Counsel’s request for attorney’s fees and costs will be held on April 7, 2009 at 8:30 a.m. in Department 49 of the Los Angeles County Superior Court, located at 111 N. Hill Street, Los Angeles, California. The Final Approval Hearing may be continued without further notice.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amber Apr 28, 2009

    Wow, so the lawyers get $450, 000, one person gets $5, 000, and the rest of you get 2 months free service from a company you want nothing to do with... Sounds like a great deal to me!! Yikes. Sounds like someone should be investigating this law firm...

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jack Jun 28, 2009

    Stamps.com is a scam. They take your money and keep billing after you cancel.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    SugarCreamPie Jul 31, 2009

    I had Stamps about 3 years ago. I signed up thinking it was part of USPS. Until now, I didn't know it wasn't. I hated it, though. Everytime I printed a shipping label w/postage with Stamps, my post office would complain that it was incorrect; I'd have to pay more money to have the correct postage...or the postage was too much, but I couldn't get a refund. The post office thought the program didn't have accurate postage calculations since it's not affiliated with USPS. I told them I found the program on their website, and they told me they had never heard of it. :/ Anyway, I decided to get rid of it after my free one month trial. I was charged for the "free month" since my account wasn't cancelled in time; AND I was charged for closing the account. Bogus! If I had known so many people have had problems with Stamps.com and where to complain, I would've done so. At least, I got rid of it.

    I didn't know about the lawsuit until today. I received an email from Stamps.com about the Notice. (2 free months of service! whoopee *sarcasm*) Why on earth would I want to use 2 free months of service from this crappy company?! I can't even use it anyway... I'm going out of the country for a year! Seems like the law firm is benefiting more than the people.

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    hightintl Oct 23, 2009

    I just filed a complaint with the California BBB. Stamps.com has had over 1, 000 complaints. Yet, they still have an 'A" rating. Stay away from Stamps.com

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MartinoVallachi Nov 03, 2009

    I received a CD in the mail that appeared to be updated software from the U.S. Postal Service. I installed it, and THEN discovered that I had signed up for an ongoing service at something like $17.99 per month. My mistake.

    I immediately attempted to cancel this account, but there is no mechanism to do this online.

    I called the customer service number to cancel this today, and, although I was successful, the person on the phone continued to give me the hard sell. This wasn't a quick or easy process.

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnnoyedinLondon Dec 02, 2009

    I am starting my process to get Stamps.com to refund 3months worth of fees @ $17.95 per month, plus discontinuation fee (cancel fee) of one month.

    Most things in life are not free. I signed up to get free anti-virus from avg.com and as part of the offer they provided access to Stamps.com plus $5 worth of Stamps. Forgot I had it and did not cancel. Unfortunately used a Credit Card I do not use much and get statements on line to an e-mail account I don't check often. $100 later due to monthly fees and cancel fees from stamps.com plus late charges and interest I am mad at this company for a product I did not use (did not even take my free stamps).

    Stay away.

    0 Votes
  • De
    DeborahohDeborah Dec 23, 2009

    In November December 2009 I enrolled in Stamps.com system. I was very excited and now I am totally disappointed. I got the 10 lb. scale due to me home business needs, so paid 50 dollars for it, which seemes fine. The program ended costing me more because it will not allow me to use first class and media rates for items that if taken to the Post Office will have costed less, misprinted stamps because of the paper used for labesl and when I wanted to return the scale, it costed me effort and time going from one jperson to another. When I first called to complain, within two weeks of receiving the scale, I was told that I could send everything back, scale and everything (I made the mistake of spending 50 dollars on the scale) at their own initiative, theygave me 1 more free month. Druing theat time, when I tried to print on the labes I purchased, they printed the first time the second and therd time they printed in the wrong spaces, and I lost money there. Sent for refund. Then on the phone I am told that I will not get a refund unless I stay with the program!!! This is undue cohersion.

    Today, December 23rd, I called back to confirm that the one month extension was for real and that if the program still doesn't satisfy my needs, that they will refund me for the scale. I am told yes, the one extra month is on, but I will not get refunded for the scale if I need to send it back. THIS WAS THE LImit!! I said I wanted to cancel the program and send back everything for a refund. They answered that their rules say "no refunds if you open the package, including the scale." Basically, they write one thing, tell you another and don't give the complete information and let you go on assumptions. My, my, businesses for profit run by the government are not properly run, that's for sure!

    So, there was no honoring of the word of the employees, so I was fed up. I don't want to have anything to do with a company where employees say one thing and lead the customer to assume that an exception to the rule has been made and then do not fulfill their role.

    After 2 hours of calls, they extended the free membership another extra month, until Feburary. Gave me credit on the stamps that had been misprinted because of the paper not being able to go through the computer. I have to print the $3.37 dollars in stamps and then they will refund the 10.00 left in the account at closing. They will not take back the scale that doesn't work without the program. Even though through this whole month interaction I was told that yes, I could send everything back including the scale). One employees said that I could use the scale without the program with a special wall adaptor. The final person said, no, there's no adaptor.

    My advice, don't trust what they say, read the small print. get confirmation of everything by email. Don't get the more expensive scale, just get the offer. Watch your costs, the computer program is set up so you will be forced to buy the more expensive option, priority mail or express mail. It may cost yu less to go to the Post Office and get your services there.

    The experience was all in all very disagreeable and costly.

    Again, I am more and more persuaded that federal run business for profit are likely to be totalitarian and are likely to engage in unfair and unethical business practices.

    Yeshua4Pearl

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Betsy Rogers Jan 06, 2010

    In my experience, the MOST Effective Way to get one of these "scammer" companies to stop charging your card is to call your credit card company and report the charges as FRAUD (in other words, NOT AS A "DISPUTE"). Don't even bother talking with the Disputes department. Say you want to speak immediately with the Fraud department. If anyone tells you that you have to treat it as a Dispute, just say you'd like to talk with the Fraud department to confirm that.

    I've had to go through this several times before, including one company I never did any business with (VistaPrint). I've had the QUICKEST result when I spoke directly to the Fraud department. If you're not happy with the customer service representative you speak to, ask to speak with a supervisor or just hang up and call back later to see if you get someone else.

    Reporting it as Fraud instead of a Dispute also gives you a better chance of GETTING YOUR MONEY BACK!, like in cases when the scammer never issues you a refund even when they promised they would (a typical scenario). Explain to your credit card company that someone has made fraudulent charges to your card WITHOUT YOUR AUTHORIZATION. If you did authorize the charges at the beginning but then called the scammer company to cancel, tell your credit card company that you "REVOKED the authorization" for them to charge your card. That way any further charges they made to your card are still considered Fraud.

    It helps if you have contacted the scammer IN WRITING to notify them of the unauthorized charges and/or to REVOKE any previous authorization you gave them to charge your card. Keep copies of any letters and emails to and from the company. Keep a record of any calls you make to the scammer company. (dates, times, who you spoke with, any confirmation numbers or case numbers, etc).

    CAUTION::: If you do this, they will assign you a NEW account number, and your old account number WILL NOT be good anymore. So only do this if you're okay with getting a new account number. This means that if you have any other (legitimate) auto-pay payments set up, you'll have to contact all your auto-pay payees to update your credit card number.

    Be sure to CONFIRM with the Fraud representative that your old account number has been PERMANENTLY flagged as "Compromised" or "Fraud" or whatever term they use for, "don't accept any more charges to this account number". Otherwise, recurring charges (like those from Stamps.com and other scammers) can get ROLLED OVER to your new account number! Sometimes the credit card company's computer sees recurring charges as "legitimate" and rolls them over to your new account. I was told that this is so you won't have the hassle of contacting all of your auto-pay payees. Sounds stupid to me but it happened to me before.

    Good luck...
    Stamps.com Sucks!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Betsy Rogers Jan 06, 2010

    FYI -- Stamps.com is not run by the U.S. Postal Service!!! They are a separate company that has been approved by the USPS to sell stamps online. I assume this means they could be un-approved?

    From the Stamps.com web site (http://www.stamps.com/company-info/usps/ ):
    - "Stamps.com is approved by the USPS® to allow customers to buy and print postage online."
    - "The USPS acts a regulator of financial and security protocols established by Stamps.com and engages in extensive testing of Stamps.com's software and systems to ensure compliance."

    Maybe the USPS would revoke their approval of Stamps.com if enough people filed complaints about them. You can email them via the USPS web site at http://faq.usps.com/eCustomer/iq/usps/request.do?create=kb:USPSFAQ&forward=inquiryType

    There's already been a class action Lawsuit against Stamps.com, as someone already mentioned above.
    - Summary of the final decision is at http://securities.stanford.edu/1018/STMP01/
    - Final decision issued by the courts... (It's a pretty long link, and a pretty long document... )
    (http://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&q=cache:z9uXFPl2YhsJ:www.dmaclassaction.com/Active/Stamps.com/NOTICE%2520OF%2520CLASS%2520ACTION%2520SETTLEMENT-For%2520Website%2520.pdf+NOTICE+OF+CLASS+ACTION+SETTLEMENT+Coburn+v.+Stamps.com+Los+Angeles+Superior+Court+Case+No.+BC353721&hl=en&gl=us&sig=AHIEtbQAoydg71ZajEf1J0O5VveWNg4IDg)

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    Forever Framing Jan 26, 2010

    I canceled my account in Aug '09 but have been billed $17.99 every month since then. The customer relations person Virginia said that I had agreed to a one year contract which I would be responsible paying for until the contract ran out in July 2010. To intice me to stay she said they would drop me to a "Basic Plan" that would only cost me $9.99 per month until the contract was up. I then went to her supervisor Bryan who said that he would cancel my account as of today and would reverse todays charge of $17.99. Based on everything I have seen so far I wait with baited breath to see if it really happens. SjO

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    macdabby Feb 02, 2010

    i agree this company sucks. their package smells scam all over it. i would like to print postage, one stamp at a time, and the few packages i send don't add up to $15 per month - postage alone. on usps.com you can print yoru own postage but only for priority mail. who's got a service that will charge me a reasonable 10% overhead for pay as you go, print it yourself, ANY KIND of shipping? i would be willing to pay an extra 15 cents on small packages that cost 1.50 for first class - but i only have a few of them every month

    0 Votes
  • Ie
    iechicksrock Jun 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got charged $50.00 from stamps.com and that was just today. On 6/09/2010 when I first received the special promotion CD (yea right) I downloaded the SOFTWARE & 30 seconds later I got an alert from my Bank a charge for $9.98 from Stamps.com I didn't even get a chance to view the shipping fee to see if it was an amount I was willing to pay, but because I have a USPS account they used my Visa on file with USPS.

    I called to compain and while on the phone with a stamps rep. I get 2 more alerts from my bank, now I'm on fire. The only reason I decided not to close my account asap was because while on the phone with the rep. I loged into my account and saw the refund for 1 $9.98 transaction and was assured the next day I would receive the rest.

    Go ahead and call me a dummy, I really wanted to print the damn stamps and use my $5.00 credit. I felt they took over $20.00 from my account at least I can get something out this.

    Little did I know the B.S, they await.. $50.00 out my account not $15.99 but $50.00????? I remained calm and explained that WHO THE HELL IN A RIGHT STATE OF MIND WITH $5.00 STAMO CREDIT WOULD BUY AN ADDITIONAL $50.00 IN STAMPS???

    I am registered with USPS under NOT A BUSINESS OWNER OR ON SITE TO DO BUSINESS, PERSONAL USE ONLY...

    I just got married Feb. 14th, 2010 & didn't even spend that much on postage for my thank you cards.

    Come on stamps.com, check my purchase record... I acationally puchase like the 20 roll but it last for like 4 months..

    I was told no REFUND, if you made a mistake then 2 bad... you got $50.00 credit so go crazy!!!

    I reported them to the BBB. I am on a mission to alert others of this company.

    STAMPS.COM SUCKS & UPS/USPS should drop them, they are doing more bad then good for them..

    Thanks,

    IECHICKSROCK

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    vincentds Jun 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Looks like there are a lot of people like us ... I am in my 4th month with them.
    I originally signed up to ship an envelope with delivery confirmation, but stamps.com doesnt offer that. Then I realized they charge 15.99 a month !!!
    They got me the 1st time and then called to cancel my account. I also canceled my credit card to stop them from possibly charging me.

    However, they kept trying to charge me ... I filed with the BBB.
    They have really terrible biz practices ... if they see the charge is denied, they should cancel your service like other companies do.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dona Richmond Jul 05, 2010

    I had much the same experience with Stamps.com BUT they would not cancel my account!

    The young man was rude and very positive that there was no way I could cancel the subscription that I evidently signed up for by loading the software. I let him know that I had called 5 days after receiving the package with the information and CD in the mail to tell them "Thanks but, No Thanks" and the girl on the phone would not let me cancel my "Free Trial"...she insisted that I print out $5.00 worth of Free Postage 1st and if I still did not want the service I could call back. When I called back there was no record of my 1st call on my record!

    The young man said I was liable for the $17.99 monthly charges for 1 year...whether I used it or not. His suggestion to me was "...print out some postage each month so you don't pay for nothing."
    This is no way to do business!

    I feel so frustrated...I am usually a pretty savvy person but this one got the best of me and I am on the hook for 1 year for $17.99 per month!

    I would gladly be part of a class action suit against this company!

    0 Votes
  • Wr
    Wronged by stamps.com Jul 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These COCKSUCKERS are still billing me over $500.00 for an account that I had closed TWICE!!!

    If the courts dont want to take a better hit at these guys and protect us the consumers then I guess I will have to take action for all of us that have been wronged.

    How the [censor] does a court settlement of Two [censor]ing free months of service with a service that sucked so bad that we had to quit anyway deal with the fact that many of us are still being charged for accounts that have been closed for several years.

    I PROMISE YOU THAT MY RESPONSE WILL BE WORTHY OF ALL SCREWED BY STAMPS.COM AND THAT IT WILL COST THEM A LOT MORE THAN ANY OF US HAVE SUFFERED!!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DanD10359 Jul 24, 2010

    Be warned, even after I changed my credit card account, stamps.com somehow got my new account information and back billed me for the months that I had not paid. The credit card company would not dispute because I did not have a cancellation number. There was a conference call between credit card Co., myself and stamps.com and got a cancellation number and immeditaly placed a vendor block on my account so they cannot put any more charges through.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    ArmyAngry Oct 14, 2010

    I was looking through my spam folder and noticed a few stamps.com emails stating that they were having a problem charging my credit card. I called and was told that I had an account with them, dating back to December of 2008 - and that they had been unable to bill my credit card since then, so as far as they were concerned I owed them several hundred dollars in unpaid billing.

    I told them that I had no knowledge of this account, and asked them if it had ever actually been used. Their answer was "No - but we bill you for the account, whether you use it or not." I asked them to close the account and waive the charges, and their answer was "We can close the account, but you will still be liable for the charges."

    I calmly told them that I would need some details from them, because I was not going to pay a bill that wasn't mine, and that I would need to file a complaint with the BBB. She put me on hold for a minute, and when she came back she said "We will close the account and waive all of the charges."

    Apparently they do NOT want negative reports with the BBB!

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    grumpyOldMan May 07, 2011

    They keep sending me an email saying that they are having trouble with my credit card & I should send them my correct credit card number -- I never ordered anything from them or even visited their website before they started sending these fake bills.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem