Stamps.comDon't waste your money!

D
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Do you believe that it is a waste of money to be billed $15.99 per month from an on-line business in exchange for no products, no service? Do you believe that an on-line business should be able to charge $15.99 for a "subscription" that gives a person an "opportunity" to print stamps on-line even if the unwilling customer tells them that they do NOT want to print stamps on-line?

What do you think about a business who refuses to cancel this "subscription" even after the unwilling customer explains that inadvertently they signed up with them thinking they were signing up with the United States Postal Service for a package pick up? What do you think about a business that will agree to cancel this monthly "subscription" ONLY if the victim agrees to an additional monthly service charge of $15.99...so this business receives a minimum of $31.98 in exchange for nothing... or as I asked them, "You gave me what in return? Air?"

What do you think about a business that keeps charging $15.99 per month, even after they were told both by the victim and by the victim's credit card company that the transaction is disputed? What would you say if I told you that this on-line business is a vendor of the U.S. Postal Service?

Here's what I say: "Don't Waste Your Money."

In my opinion, the experience I had with Stamps.com was a total waste of my time and money at best, and perhaps fraudulent. I feel I was deceived and victimized.

I question why the U.S. Postal Service allows this type of activity from one of their vendors. Perhaps this company known as STAMPS.COM offers a legitimate service to the U.S. Postal Service, perhaps the U.S. Postal Service receives something of value in return from their collaboration, perhaps the U.S. Postal Service receives a percentage of each $15.99; but for many unsuspecting victims, like me, STAMPS.COM offers nothing but deceit and aggravation.

I question why month after month, I continue to see charges from Stamps.com even after my first cancellation call in February. Each month, I am forced to contact my credit company, dispute the charge, fill out paperwork, and have the charge reversed. The next month the charge appears once again. I question how many others have been victimized the same way I was victimized. I question how many victims are even aware that they are being scammed by this business. The charge appears on the credit card as stamps.com. If a person is not careful, they would see stamps and think it was a charge from the post office.

I question Stamps.com's AA rating with the Better Business Bureau, even though Stamps.com has over 1,200 issued complaints. I question how many people don't bother to complain. It's time consuming. After all it's only $15.99 per month. Maybe a more thorough investigation would get the Better Business Bureau to take a closer look at Stamps.com. Even Enron had a good rating before an investigation revealed the truth to the public.

Perhaps one or two of the items above will raise a red flag with you. Perhaps your viewing audience should know about the scam so that they don't waste their money.

Responses

  • St
    stopthemadness13 Nov 15, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are still a fraud! This is exactly what I just sent them...

    I want to close my stamps.com account.

    I have been a customer for a year or more. I signed up thinking I would get a scale...never got one even thou that was your big bait and switch to get people in! I paid $15 a month, in fact you made $309 off of my acct, and always had issues. I have several other people I know doing this same thing. Leaving because you don't reply to messages on your phones, you probably won't reply to this. You take 2 months to refund postage that's mailed to you.

    I had one thing to mail recently, tried to login to the software, it told me I couldn't because my monthly fee wasn't there, so I tried and tried to change the card, there was no space to put and expiration so you repeatedly denied my card obviously. So I come online to do it...change the card # and get the message change your card over and over. Then I got no funds add a card, IT WAS ADDED! It was a valid card because I went over to a competitor of yours and had NO ISSUES!

    I did a ton of business with you. Even referred a lot of fellow sales people who work from home. I am done. In fact your software continues to get stuck and I have to stop it in Task Manager! What a joke... I will tell the sales people on my team to now go to the company like yours I just joined that is the same but a lot more professional.

    thanks,

    (No Response From Them, And Their Software Is Locking Up My Computer and Can't be Unistalled)

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    visionary007 Aug 17, 2016

    unauthorized carges for stamps. never ordered or received ONE STAMP. Called their customer service- They will treat you like S==t and refuse to stop billing you, while LAUGHING at you !!! We have contacted the United States Postal Service Inspector General's complaint hotline [protected] or email: [email protected] or fax:[protected] or mail: 1735 North Lynn Street, Arlington, VA [protected]. If enough of us contact the Inspector General, maybe the Government will shut down these crooks. We are also sueing these ### in Small Claims Court, so they will have to spend $$$$ to hire an attorney in our state. Lets stop thses ### !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kath23 Aug 17, 2016

    It happened to me as well. I was surprised when i saw my credit card statement and found out that I was charged $15.99 on their so called monthly plan, that I never signed up for. It all started when i wrote usps about not letting their clients know of the changes they made on the flat rate international, and that I also has problem printing label.. they replied to me and and gave me some sites to check it with..etc. so by curiosity, i went to stamps.com just to check but you will need to sign up before you can go and check on it, so i did signed up not knowing, that it is a set up so they can scam you. They never gave me credit for it, what a dirty business! people beware!

    0 Votes
  • Tu
    tulsabobt Aug 17, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I signed up for a 4 week trial and ordered the start up kit and scale. They never came. A month later I checked with them, nothing. Two months later and BAM, $48 in "service fees" charged to my CC, but still no ordered supplies.

    I called to cancel, asked them what I was paying for if I could not use the service and they said "access". So it costs $16 a month for "access" the then go buy postage from them. They acknowledged that they never sent the ekit but still charged me. The lady in cancellations was terribly rude and high pressure, keeping me on the phone for 25 minutes trying to talk me out of it. Her name was Terry B. Stamps.com is like a bad used car lot that valets your car and holds the keys hostage while they pound you.

    I'll be filing a complaint with me credit card company over the charges.

    Stay away!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deepa B Aug 17, 2016

    Were you able to (successfully) cancel your account?

    0 Votes
  • Su
    susiq Aug 17, 2016

    Stamps.com is a huge rip-off! Nobody should even consider signing up for their "free trial." Apparently I must be naive, but I was under the impression that my "free trial" was for the use of their software, which I downloaded to see if it would be appropriate to print the postage on my daughter's Sweet Sixteen invitations. I decided it was not, and instead purchased stamps from the post office. A few months later, I was being charged $15.99 per month from Stamps.com because my "free trial" had exprired. Imagine that! All I did was download their software to take a look at it, and now I was being charged a monthly fee! FOR WHAT? ABSOLUTELY NOTHING! So don't be suckered by these people like I was, and benefit by my $31.98 lesson and steer clear of stamps.com.

    0 Votes
  • Stamps-ComCorp Aug 17, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi Sheri,

    I am sorry for any frustration that Stamps.com may have caused you. Regarding Macs, we do currently support Macs in our web-based postage solution. If you would like, I would be happy to assist you with this.

    If there is anything I can assist you with, please feel free to email me at [email protected]

    Thanks!
    Chuck
    Stamps.com

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Milbert Aug 17, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I fell for the slick advertising "$100 free postage." So I thought why not give them a try? I got the material and could see it was a joke. You pay for the labels, you pay for the laser ink, and you do the work of printing a stamp every time you need one. I didn't finish setting up my account and didn't use the $5 free postage they gave(not $100). They told me that you only get the $100 worth of stuff after paying $17.95 for several months. No thanks. Well, we got charged $17.95 so I called to ask them to remove the charges and cancel any future ones. They made it very difficult to cancel and they WOULD NOT refund my $17.95 even though I never used their service and did not finish verifying my account (on purpose). Oh, and all the raving reviews on stamps.com appear to be posted by stamps.com themselves as advertising. I could find no place to add my negative review. Of course! This would be right in line with the ways of this unscrupulous company. All the "reviewers" who say the service saves them from having to go to the post office are not making an intelligent argument. Avoiding the post office does not require paying stamps.com! Stamps can be mailed to you and you can go to usps.com to print postage for packages. It's a free service. All you need is a postage scale. Why not let the P.O. do the printing of stamps for you - for free? We keep first class and second ounce stamps on hand and rarely see the inside of a post office. Don't get ripped off by this company as we did.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sheri Lyon Aug 17, 2016

    BUYER BEWARE!!! Stamps.com hides the fact that they don't work on MAC computers (apple) and charge you service charges $15.99/month plus shipping and handling of additional machines until you figure it out on your own. THis is such a scam! They later admit that if you look in the fine print under terms and conditions, you will see it does not work with Mac computers. Legalized stealing is what I call it!!! They have opportunity after opportunity to end the service - but they continue to suck you dry until you figure out on your own. WHY doesn't it say in large print on the cover page -NOT compatible with MAC computers. This is a service to use your computer for your mailing needs as opposed to going to the post office for stamps... Considering this is the main use your COMPUTER !!! you think they would let you know upfront it doesn't work with MAC's So sick of scams - Also, they selectively use terms to make you think they are part of the US Postal system NOT TRUE - they have nothing to do with the US Postal Service!! Don't get snowed like me - STAY AWAY !!!

    0 Votes
  • Te
    tennesseegirl Aug 17, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    THESES PEOPLE TRIED TO USE MY CREDIT CARD THAT HAD BEEN CANCELED. FOR $17.95 . I DON'T BUY STAMPS ON LINE AND HAD NEVER HEARD OF THEM. CALLED MY CARD CO. THEY TURNED IT IN AS FRAUD. CLOSED MY NEW CARD. I WANT THESES PEOPLE STOPPED.

    0 Votes
  • Av
    ava10048 Aug 17, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I added $$ to my account to ship packages, when I found out the service I needed was unavailabe I called to cancel my service and was told it could take over a YEAR to refund my money.

    I got the runaround from this CS person for 20 minutes about all the other options I had. I am a very capable person, having this person try to show me something I already know wouldn't work for me was insulting. Stamps.com should teach thier employess the USPS services so they know what they are talking about.

    Very dissapointed in this service and refund policy for postage in your account is a joke.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    Gloria Garner Aug 17, 2016

    I am having the same problem. I e-mailed them about going into my account and told them they had better stop, however they are still going into it, so now I am going to report them to the proper authorities that will stop them. Hope you do the same, The Better Business Bureau, Consumers Affairs and an Attorney.

    0 Votes
  • Om
    omega668 Aug 17, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What about if they don't ship you the free scale and the Welcome Kit which they said they will ?

    Stamps.com is a fake. No one could argue that.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    loveismagic Aug 17, 2016

    okay stamps.com is a company that gives you a pstg solution..if you choose not to read the legiable words of only 15.99 thats your grown adult fault..no company is going to baby you..this cust above just forgot there was a fee still if u didnt use it...it specifically sayes stamps.com not the usps.com...they serve 400, 000 cust that are very aware there is a fee...i have stamps.com and seen clearly there was a fee for 15.99 per month..if you dont want it dont sign up for it but dont go online and slander a company because you dont take the time too see what service you are looking for..its a great service and i have saved a ton of time and money at the end of the year with my pstg needs...

    0 Votes
  • Jn
    jn4337 Aug 17, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Never got the free bonus they offered and was a nightmare to cancel when I called--passive aggressive and had to answer the same quiestions several times..Don't u just hate that--they require you to call to cancel then you have to get firm to do so after cutting off a sales speach several times..AVOID AVOID AVOID !

    0 Votes
  • Mb
    mbrizzoli Aug 17, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A few years ago I signed up for Stamps.Com in order to get postage on-line. I did not read the agreement carefully and never realized that there would be a monthly fee levied whether or not I used the service. Stupid on my part, but frankly that aspect of the service was not clearly noted. (The sign-up process was so difficult and complicate that I never new I had actually successfully completed it!)

    For two and a half years I unknowingly paid $15/month for a service I never used. There is NO notice of annual renewal, which would have allowed me to cancel. There was NEVER a communication from the company reminding me that I was paying for a service I never used. I NEVER RECEIVED A STATEMENT OF ANY KIND. (The debit hit my account but my husband manages our finances and never thought to question me about the charge.) It came to my attention only when my credit card number changed and Stamps.com could no longer charge the monthly fee. Then the communication was endless and very clear!

    WATCH OUT FOR THIS MISLEADING SERVICE THAT CAPITLIZES ON UNKNOWING CONSUMERS.

    IT IS FAR EASIER AND MUCH LESS EXPENSIVE TO GO TO THE POST OFFICE.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    duped2000 Nov 12, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I totally agree. I feel duped by the fine print, and wound up paying $15.99/month for "using their software" which I actually never was able to access. This is a middleman- don't be fooled into paying them.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Cryder Mar 27, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Stamps.com is a scam. If you try to cancel your $15.99 per month account, they offer a cheaper alternative for $4.99 per month for those who only want to print stamps and not parcel postage. What they fail to tell you is that you are only allowed to print 15 STAMPS PER MONTH!? on the cheaper plan. I canceled my account after putting my NetStamp sheet in the printer and watching it leave 10 of the 25 stamps blank!? So I wasted my money purchasing their blank NetStamp sheets...total theft and a ripoff!

    0 Votes
  • Sn
    Snp123 Feb 19, 2014

    Stamps.com fooled me into signing up on their page saying it is a "No Risk" trial. I was just exploring the possibility of printing USPS stamps online. Three months later, in a sneaky manner, they charged my credit card without any notification. After two subsequent monthly charges I discover the transaction. I call them up asking them to reverse the charges, that I did not use their services. Their response is that they charged based on me having an active account (i.e. because I signed up for a "No Risk" free trial). Usage does not count. They did not send me any invoices or notices because the did not want to bother me! What a scam! Unbelieveable that the USPS partners with such a c****y website.

    0 Votes
  • Sn
    Snp123 Feb 19, 2014

    Stamps.com fooled me into signing up on their page saying it is a "No Risk" trial. I was just exploring the possibility of printing USPS stamps online. Three months later, in a sneaky manner, they charged my credit card without any notification. After two subsequent monthly charges I discover the transaction. I call them up asking them to reverse the charges, that I did not use their services. Their response is that they charged based on me having an active account (i.e. because I signed up for a "No Risk" free trial). Usage does not count. They did not send me any invoices or notices because the did not want to bother me! What a scam! Unbelieveable that the USPS partners with such a c****y website.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Sullivan Jan 23, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As for Silence_DoGood you are an idiot of biblical proportions. No business that is straight forward and legit has the volume's of complaints logged against them that STC does. I own 5 businesses in RI that does 6.5 million dollars a year. We take every customer complaint very seriously and resolve it. I have a degree in business and got no where with these so called customer srvice reps on the phone. When I threatened to report them to the BBB they fetched a supervisor and she agreed to refund the disputed fee's but never did. Then to make matters worse they withdrew another month. My advice to you Silence_DoGood is be silent. Now pickup up that rake and get back to work. My yard won't rake itself.. Idiot!!

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Sullivan Jan 23, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    One of my worst experiences with a business in my life. I can not believe that with all the complaints they are still in business after all these years.. For shame USPO for allowing this. Through your affiliation you legitimize this scam!!

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Silence_DoGood Mar 31, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After having been a Customer Care rep for SDC in the past and reading the above comments, it makes me laugh at how stupid you all are. Anyone with half a brain who goes through registration will understand what they are signing up for and we make it VERY clear on our website different pricing plan options and what the charges were for. We even have a paragraph for you to read before you enter your CC info into our website as to why we need it. Then, one has to agree to the terms and conditions wit hthe very first condition being Pricing and Plans and then if you still were idiotic enough to continue without knowing there were going to be charges, we send out a welcome email informing you of the promotion you signed up for and the Monthly Charge you will be billed if you decide not to call and cancel within your 4 Week no Risk trial. If you were not aware there was a charge we provide our phone number AND our hours of operation. Our customer care team has won multiple awards and national recognition for the quality of customer service provided. SDC is anything but a scam if anyone does any type of research or spends 5 minutes browsing our website. You all are just part of America's dumbest, maybe even the world's dumbest, if you were not aware of what you were signing up for and still decided you should enter ALL of your personal information into our site and not expect any charges as if we just aksed that stuff for kicks and giggles. Grow Up idiots.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott-P Aug 25, 2011

    I cannot express how disappointed i am in Stamps.com right now. I just tried to cancel my account (which i was not able to do via email or online) and was told by their "Customer Care Team Specialist" (aka "sales retention staff") that instead of cancelling my $17.99 account, i could downgrade to a NEW "Basic Plan" at just $9.95 . I asked why i was not previously made aware of this option or why i could not find it on the web and was told by the "Customer Care" agent that since "it was JUST adopted", the Basic Plan is not posted on their website just yet.

    Well, its very interesting/telling to see blogs written well over 2 years ago that stamps.com has had the Basic Plan /$9.95 pricing plan in place for a long time and this is simply their "Customer Un-Caring" way of customer retention.

    Furthermore, they also told me that if i wanted a credit on my postage account that i'd have to wait 13 months to get a refund... putting the blame on the repayment cycle from USPS. Although the postage may have been paid to the USPS, this is complete HORSE HOCKEY that they will not immediately refund my money if i cancel my account. As a CFO of MULTIPLE companies, i can tell you that any non-government company has the ability to "hold in reserves" money for refunds and can and SHOULD refund IMMEDIATELY - so as to not create the bad-will that Stamps.com is creating for itself.

    Shame of Stamps.com's "Customer Un-Care" strategy!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bonson Jun 30, 2011

    Dear Mr. McKieman:
    I WAS RECENTLY SCAMMED BY A PRIVATE COMPANY, "STAMPS.COM, " THAT ADVERTISES USPS AS ITS SPONSOR AND MISREPRESENTS ITSELF AS A SUBSIDIARY OF THE USPS.
    I WAS BILLED BY THIS OUTFIT WITHOUT REASON; THEN DID SOME RESEARCH TO SEE WHO THEY ARE. APPARENTLY THEY DO METERED POSTAL SERVICES FOR A MONTHLY SET
    CHARGE. WHY WOULD RETIRED 78 YEAR OLD MAN WANT THIS? REVIEWS OF STAMP.COM ON THE INTERNET INDICATE MANY PEOPLE HAVE BEEN SCAMMED BY THESE FOLKS.
    They do state formally that they are a service of the USPS.
    I URGE THE U.S. POSTAL SERVICE TO STOP THE AFFILIATION WITH THIS COMPANY (? I THINK THEY ARE CONNECTED WITH "AVERY" THAT SELLS FORMS PRINTED USING THEIR SOFTWARE).
    PLEASE TELL ME WHO I SHOULD COMMUNICATE WITH. RE. THE ABOVE FELONIOUS ACTIVITY.
    The USPS should be ashamed to associate with "stamps.com" The dollar amount charges, $17.95 a month until they are cancelled, are not worth a lawsuit unless Class Action. I am concerned they charged my credit card without my approval!
    SIGNED: Jon Bjornson, MD retired (I was consultant to USPS Medical Dept. in Phila.) --- [email protected]

    THANK YOU,

    JON BJORNSON, MD RETIRED

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    grumpyOldMan May 07, 2011

    They keep sending me an email saying that they are having trouble with my credit card & I should send them my correct credit card number -- I never ordered anything from them or even visited their website before they started sending these fake bills.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    ArmyAngry Oct 14, 2010

    I was looking through my spam folder and noticed a few stamps.com emails stating that they were having a problem charging my credit card. I called and was told that I had an account with them, dating back to December of 2008 - and that they had been unable to bill my credit card since then, so as far as they were concerned I owed them several hundred dollars in unpaid billing.

    I told them that I had no knowledge of this account, and asked them if it had ever actually been used. Their answer was "No - but we bill you for the account, whether you use it or not." I asked them to close the account and waive the charges, and their answer was "We can close the account, but you will still be liable for the charges."

    I calmly told them that I would need some details from them, because I was not going to pay a bill that wasn't mine, and that I would need to file a complaint with the BBB. She put me on hold for a minute, and when she came back she said "We will close the account and waive all of the charges."

    Apparently they do NOT want negative reports with the BBB!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DanD10359 Jul 24, 2010

    Be warned, even after I changed my credit card account, stamps.com somehow got my new account information and back billed me for the months that I had not paid. The credit card company would not dispute because I did not have a cancellation number. There was a conference call between credit card Co., myself and stamps.com and got a cancellation number and immeditaly placed a vendor block on my account so they cannot put any more charges through.

    0 Votes
  • Wr
    Wronged by stamps.com Jul 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These [censored]ERS are still billing me over $500.00 for an account that I had closed TWICE!!!

    If the courts dont want to take a better hit at these guys and protect us the consumers then I guess I will have to take action for all of us that have been wronged.

    How the [censor] does a court settlement of Two [censor]ing free months of service with a service that sucked so bad that we had to quit anyway deal with the fact that many of us are still being charged for accounts that have been closed for several years.

    I PROMISE YOU THAT MY RESPONSE WILL BE WORTHY OF ALL SCREWED BY STAMPS.COM AND THAT IT WILL COST THEM A LOT MORE THAN ANY OF US HAVE SUFFERED!!!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dona Richmond Jul 05, 2010

    I had much the same experience with Stamps.com BUT they would not cancel my account!

    The young man was rude and very positive that there was no way I could cancel the subscription that I evidently signed up for by loading the software. I let him know that I had called 5 days after receiving the package with the information and CD in the mail to tell them "Thanks but, No Thanks" and the girl on the phone would not let me cancel my "Free Trial"...she insisted that I print out $5.00 worth of Free Postage 1st and if I still did not want the service I could call back. When I called back there was no record of my 1st call on my record!

    The young man said I was liable for the $17.99 monthly charges for 1 year...whether I used it or not. His suggestion to me was "...print out some postage each month so you don't pay for nothing."
    This is no way to do business!

    I feel so frustrated...I am usually a pretty savvy person but this one got the best of me and I am on the hook for 1 year for $17.99 per month!

    I would gladly be part of a class action suit against this company!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    vincentds Jun 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Looks like there are a lot of people like us ... I am in my 4th month with them.
    I originally signed up to ship an envelope with delivery confirmation, but stamps.com doesnt offer that. Then I realized they charge 15.99 a month !!!
    They got me the 1st time and then called to cancel my account. I also canceled my credit card to stop them from possibly charging me.

    However, they kept trying to charge me ... I filed with the BBB.
    They have really terrible biz practices ... if they see the charge is denied, they should cancel your service like other companies do.

    0 Votes
  • Ie
    iechicksrock Jun 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got charged $50.00 from stamps.com and that was just today. On 6/09/2010 when I first received the special promotion CD (yea right) I downloaded the SOFTWARE & 30 seconds later I got an alert from my Bank a charge for $9.98 from Stamps.com I didn't even get a chance to view the shipping fee to see if it was an amount I was willing to pay, but because I have a USPS account they used my Visa on file with USPS.

    I called to compain and while on the phone with a stamps rep. I get 2 more alerts from my bank, now I'm on fire. The only reason I decided not to close my account asap was because while on the phone with the rep. I loged into my account and saw the refund for 1 $9.98 transaction and was assured the next day I would receive the rest.

    Go ahead and call me a dummy, I really wanted to print the damn stamps and use my $5.00 credit. I felt they took over $20.00 from my account at least I can get something out this.

    Little did I know the B.S, they await.. $50.00 out my account not $15.99 but $50.00????? I remained calm and explained that WHO THE HELL IN A RIGHT STATE OF MIND WITH $5.00 STAMO CREDIT WOULD BUY AN ADDITIONAL $50.00 IN STAMPS???

    I am registered with USPS under NOT A BUSINESS OWNER OR ON SITE TO DO BUSINESS, PERSONAL USE ONLY...

    I just got married Feb. 14th, 2010 & didn't even spend that much on postage for my thank you cards.

    Come on stamps.com, check my purchase record... I acationally puchase like the 20 roll but it last for like 4 months..

    I was told no REFUND, if you made a mistake then 2 bad... you got $50.00 credit so go crazy!!!

    I reported them to the BBB. I am on a mission to alert others of this company.

    STAMPS.COM SUCKS & UPS/USPS should drop them, they are doing more bad then good for them..

    Thanks,

    IECHICKSROCK

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    macdabby Feb 02, 2010

    i agree this company sucks. their package smells scam all over it. i would like to print postage, one stamp at a time, and the few packages i send don't add up to $15 per month - postage alone. on usps.com you can print yoru own postage but only for priority mail. who's got a service that will charge me a reasonable 10% overhead for pay as you go, print it yourself, ANY KIND of shipping? i would be willing to pay an extra 15 cents on small packages that cost 1.50 for first class - but i only have a few of them every month

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    Forever Framing Jan 26, 2010

    I canceled my account in Aug '09 but have been billed $17.99 every month since then. The customer relations person Virginia said that I had agreed to a one year contract which I would be responsible paying for until the contract ran out in July 2010. To intice me to stay she said they would drop me to a "Basic Plan" that would only cost me $9.99 per month until the contract was up. I then went to her supervisor Bryan who said that he would cancel my account as of today and would reverse todays charge of $17.99. Based on everything I have seen so far I wait with baited breath to see if it really happens. SjO

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Betsy Rogers Jan 06, 2010

    FYI -- Stamps.com is not run by the U.S. Postal Service!!! They are a separate company that has been approved by the USPS to sell stamps online. I assume this means they could be un-approved?

    From the Stamps.com web site (http://www.stamps.com/company-info/usps/ ):
    - "Stamps.com is approved by the USPS® to allow customers to buy and print postage online."
    - "The USPS acts a regulator of financial and security protocols established by Stamps.com and engages in extensive testing of Stamps.com's software and systems to ensure compliance."

    Maybe the USPS would revoke their approval of Stamps.com if enough people filed complaints about them. You can email them via the USPS web site at http://faq.usps.com/eCustomer/iq/usps/request.do?create=kb:USPSFAQ&forward=inquiryType

    There's already been a class action Lawsuit against Stamps.com, as someone already mentioned above.
    - Summary of the final decision is at http://securities.stanford.edu/1018/STMP01/
    - Final decision issued by the courts... (It's a pretty long link, and a pretty long document... )
    (http://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&q=cache:z9uXFPl2YhsJ:www.dmaclassaction.com/Active/Stamps.com/NOTICE%2520OF%2520CLASS%2520ACTION%2520SETTLEMENT-For%2520Website%2520.pdf+NOTICE+OF+CLASS+ACTION+SETTLEMENT+Coburn+v.+Stamps.com+Los+Angeles+Superior+Court+Case+No.+BC353721&hl=en&gl=us&sig=AHIEtbQAoydg71ZajEf1J0O5VveWNg4IDg)

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Betsy Rogers Jan 06, 2010

    In my experience, the MOST Effective Way to get one of these "scammer" companies to stop charging your card is to call your credit card company and report the charges as FRAUD (in other words, NOT AS A "DISPUTE"). Don't even bother talking with the Disputes department. Say you want to speak immediately with the Fraud department. If anyone tells you that you have to treat it as a Dispute, just say you'd like to talk with the Fraud department to confirm that.

    I've had to go through this several times before, including one company I never did any business with (VistaPrint). I've had the QUICKEST result when I spoke directly to the Fraud department. If you're not happy with the customer service representative you speak to, ask to speak with a supervisor or just hang up and call back later to see if you get someone else.

    Reporting it as Fraud instead of a Dispute also gives you a better chance of GETTING YOUR MONEY BACK!, like in cases when the scammer never issues you a refund even when they promised they would (a typical scenario). Explain to your credit card company that someone has made fraudulent charges to your card WITHOUT YOUR AUTHORIZATION. If you did authorize the charges at the beginning but then called the scammer company to cancel, tell your credit card company that you "REVOKED the authorization" for them to charge your card. That way any further charges they made to your card are still considered Fraud.

    It helps if you have contacted the scammer IN WRITING to notify them of the unauthorized charges and/or to REVOKE any previous authorization you gave them to charge your card. Keep copies of any letters and emails to and from the company. Keep a record of any calls you make to the scammer company. (dates, times, who you spoke with, any confirmation numbers or case numbers, etc).

    CAUTION::: If you do this, they will assign you a NEW account number, and your old account number WILL NOT be good anymore. So only do this if you're okay with getting a new account number. This means that if you have any other (legitimate) auto-pay payments set up, you'll have to contact all your auto-pay payees to update your credit card number.

    Be sure to CONFIRM with the Fraud representative that your old account number has been PERMANENTLY flagged as "Compromised" or "Fraud" or whatever term they use for, "don't accept any more charges to this account number". Otherwise, recurring charges (like those from Stamps.com and other scammers) can get ROLLED OVER to your new account number! Sometimes the credit card company's computer sees recurring charges as "legitimate" and rolls them over to your new account. I was told that this is so you won't have the hassle of contacting all of your auto-pay payees. Sounds stupid to me but it happened to me before.

    Good luck...
    Stamps.com Sucks!

    0 Votes
  • De
    DeborahohDeborah Dec 23, 2009

    In November December 2009 I enrolled in Stamps.com system. I was very excited and now I am totally disappointed. I got the 10 lb. scale due to me home business needs, so paid 50 dollars for it, which seemes fine. The program ended costing me more because it will not allow me to use first class and media rates for items that if taken to the Post Office will have costed less, misprinted stamps because of the paper used for labesl and when I wanted to return the scale, it costed me effort and time going from one jperson to another. When I first called to complain, within two weeks of receiving the scale, I was told that I could send everything back, scale and everything (I made the mistake of spending 50 dollars on the scale) at their own initiative, theygave me 1 more free month. Druing theat time, when I tried to print on the labes I purchased, they printed the first time the second and therd time they printed in the wrong spaces, and I lost money there. Sent for refund. Then on the phone I am told that I will not get a refund unless I stay with the program!!! This is undue cohersion.

    Today, December 23rd, I called back to confirm that the one month extension was for real and that if the program still doesn't satisfy my needs, that they will refund me for the scale. I am told yes, the one extra month is on, but I will not get refunded for the scale if I need to send it back. THIS WAS THE LImit!! I said I wanted to cancel the program and send back everything for a refund. They answered that their rules say "no refunds if you open the package, including the scale." Basically, they write one thing, tell you another and don't give the complete information and let you go on assumptions. My, my, businesses for profit run by the government are not properly run, that's for sure!

    So, there was no honoring of the word of the employees, so I was fed up. I don't want to have anything to do with a company where employees say one thing and lead the customer to assume that an exception to the rule has been made and then do not fulfill their role.

    After 2 hours of calls, they extended the free membership another extra month, until Feburary. Gave me credit on the stamps that had been misprinted because of the paper not being able to go through the computer. I have to print the $3.37 dollars in stamps and then they will refund the 10.00 left in the account at closing. They will not take back the scale that doesn't work without the program. Even though through this whole month interaction I was told that yes, I could send everything back including the scale). One employees said that I could use the scale without the program with a special wall adaptor. The final person said, no, there's no adaptor.

    My advice, don't trust what they say, read the small print. get confirmation of everything by email. Don't get the more expensive scale, just get the offer. Watch your costs, the computer program is set up so you will be forced to buy the more expensive option, priority mail or express mail. It may cost yu less to go to the Post Office and get your services there.

    The experience was all in all very disagreeable and costly.

    Again, I am more and more persuaded that federal run business for profit are likely to be totalitarian and are likely to engage in unfair and unethical business practices.

    Yeshua4Pearl

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnnoyedinLondon Dec 02, 2009

    I am starting my process to get Stamps.com to refund 3months worth of fees @ $17.95 per month, plus discontinuation fee (cancel fee) of one month.

    Most things in life are not free. I signed up to get free anti-virus from avg.com and as part of the offer they provided access to Stamps.com plus $5 worth of Stamps. Forgot I had it and did not cancel. Unfortunately used a Credit Card I do not use much and get statements on line to an e-mail account I don't check often. $100 later due to monthly fees and cancel fees from stamps.com plus late charges and interest I am mad at this company for a product I did not use (did not even take my free stamps).

    Stay away.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MartinoVallachi Nov 03, 2009

    I received a CD in the mail that appeared to be updated software from the U.S. Postal Service. I installed it, and THEN discovered that I had signed up for an ongoing service at something like $17.99 per month. My mistake.

    I immediately attempted to cancel this account, but there is no mechanism to do this online.

    I called the customer service number to cancel this today, and, although I was successful, the person on the phone continued to give me the hard sell. This wasn't a quick or easy process.

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    hightintl Oct 23, 2009

    I just filed a complaint with the California BBB. Stamps.com has had over 1, 000 complaints. Yet, they still have an 'A" rating. Stay away from Stamps.com

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.