SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Sling TVinappropriate commercial

1
B Review updated:

This company (Sling TV) has an absolutely abhorrent commercial that is played over and over again through the news on channel 7 (5 p.m. - 7 p.m.) I used to watch channel 7 news every night and now I can't due to this offensive commercial. I am sure they are paying a lot for the time slot but you are losing loyal fans.

Responses

  • S
      Aug 11, 2015

    I find that commercial equally disgusting. I sent an e-mail complaint to sling tv and told them I wouldn't even consider having anything to do with their company until they removed that obnoxious ad. How come we have to resort to seeing assaults on persons to sell a product? Whoever thought of this ad is someone with very little common sense.

    +67 Votes
  • R
      Mar 26, 2018

    @souldr vince We find the Sling commercial that depicts "Slingers verses Swingers" very disrespectful and trashy. The revolting ad is played in the afternoon where youngsters can see it. Any company who thinks this kind of ad is okay, is not a company we would trust or want to deal with. Simple as that!

    +88 Votes
  • M
      Dec 18, 2018

    @souldr vince I'm in total agreement!!! It's disgusting and offensive, especially when my young grandchildren are in hearing and viewing distance...

    +50 Votes
  • N
      Jan 28, 2019

    @Ruthie Kister Podd I TOTALLY AGREE. wanted a streaming service, but will NOT use sling because of their raunchy commercials !!

    +48 Votes
  • N
      Jan 28, 2019

    @Ruthie Kister Podd I agree. who is doing your ads anyway, a 15 yr old boy ?

    +35 Votes
  • J
      Mar 13, 2019

    @souldr vince I'm in total agreement. Here in Sarasota, FL we and all our children are exposed to it on TVL. Please, TV police, get to the station and the stupid "actors"??? in this ad. If we allow this to continue what will the next worse ads or even, next TV shows bring to our children? I do not believe for a minute that the founders of our nation meant for this type of "freedom of speech" to be their meaning. We all need to stop buying other products being touted on this station. The only way for them to take our voices seriously is to show them via their pocketbooks.

    +32 Votes
  • S
      May 30, 2019

    @souldr vince I agree with you! Also very little moral values, might as well say a very shallow and uneducated delinquent thought this up. I wouldnt order it if it was the only way to watch tv. Marked it off my list!

    +18 Votes
  • R
      Aug 17, 2019

    @souldr vince I agree. I'm all in favor of sexual freedom, but the people on that commercial are hillbillies and Trump types of the lowest order.

    -7 Votes
  • R
      Nov 05, 2019

    @notfunny No believe it or not the art director is a woman.

    -3 Votes
  • J
      Dec 03, 2016

    who ever developed the slingtv commercial made a huge mistake. the ad agency has branded SLINGTV as disgusting, , vile, gross.. So now when u hear the name SLINGTV you only remember that hideous guy and you dont remember why anyone should try SLINGTV. . Tho other message is if i were to get SLINGTV I will get a revolting man in my living room. Why would i do that?

    +46 Votes
  • C
      Sep 25, 2018

    @Jim Martone That's right..

    +13 Votes
  • F
      Apr 15, 2018

    Enough with the "The funny thing about Hannah is she skipped crawling..." and ending with the "smh" tombstone. I know that its a timely and worthwhile commercial to discourage driving and texting, but EVERY COMMERCIAL BREAK!!!?...and sometimes OVER AND OVER during the same break! And if you try switching channels, the new channel is most likely playing the same commercial too! If you switch channels to watch another show, then return to the original channel, you find that the commercial you were trying to avoid has been PAUSED BY SLING to make you finish watching!...THEN THE SAME COMMERCIAL REPLAYS AGAIN! THIS IS TORTURE!!!

    +10 Votes
  • C
      Sep 25, 2018

    @Fed Up Too 2018 Hate it also, but stations keep showing this junk.

    +7 Votes
  • B
      May 04, 2018

    Someone needs to honestly somehow sue the company. Kids are gonna want to look this stuff up. Whenever I see it on my screen, it not only offends all the religious people I know, I can't help but wonder if the next SLINGTV commercial is going to be flat-out porn.

    +39 Votes
  • J
      May 04, 2018

    Disgusting company

    +36 Votes
  • J
      May 04, 2018

    ISling is a low life riffraff company

    +21 Votes
  • A
      May 30, 2018

    The suggestive "Sling" TV commercials are getting even more obnoxious and offensive. Freedom of speech works if you are dealing with people who use good judgment in determining what it appropriate for general audiences to view, and/or have any moral backbone at all. It is becoming very obvious that the ad writers as well as the decision-makers at Sling have neither. These commercials are not fit for general viewing and should be banned.

    +40 Votes
  • D
      Jul 04, 2018

    I find your "Slingers" commercial very disgusting, trashy, inappropriate. I would never consider doing business with you because of this commercial. How low and inconsiderate will you go?

    D.K. Elkins

    +36 Votes
  • N
      Jan 28, 2019

    @D Kenton Elkins I agree with YOU DK, this company should grow up before they start putting these offensive ads on TV. I certainly will NEVER do business with them !!

    +14 Votes
  • B
      Jul 10, 2018

    will never use your service...you should be ashamed of your 'slinger' commercials. pure evil and how terrible for young people to view.

    +30 Votes
  • P
      Jul 22, 2018

    The sling TV commercials are highly offensive and disgusting. It is very sad that young people have to be exposed to this type of trashy idea. I won’t be using any of your services due to your lack of common decency and total lack of respect for marriage and the vows of marriage.

    +28 Votes
  • C
      Jul 29, 2018

    Disgusting, take the commercials off TV. Would never imagine Sling would make vulgar content for young or old to see. Sad!!

    +23 Votes
  • J
      Aug 15, 2018
    Sling TV - Inappropriate Commercials
    United States

    Sling has the worst commercials! Very inappropriate. Please take this vile advertising off the air! We have been tortured enough. The writers of these commercials should be fired. Just awful!!!

    +22 Votes
  • D
      Aug 19, 2018

    I’m an open minded person and understand that companies will try to be creative when advertising their product. The first time I saw your Sling TV commercial, I was disappointed that you would choice the approach that sex sales. As a baby boomer, parent and consumer I have seen many changes in television, movies and life in general throughout the years. It’s my choice to not go to a movie should I feel it is too violent or vulgar. However, I don’t have control over what commercials the television stations choose to run. Your Sling TV commercials are offensive, distasteful and your company executives may want to rethink their marketing strategy. I was very interested in replacing my current cable provider to Sling TV until I saw your tasteless advertisements. What you thought would be funny and draw attention and customers through your commercials is right up the with the Jerry Springer show, and that should be an embarrassment.

    +27 Votes
  • J
      Aug 28, 2018

    The Sling commercials are disgusting! They need to fire their ad agency and get someone competent to promote their product.

    +25 Votes
  • Y
      Aug 29, 2018
    Sling TV - TV
    Ashland
    Illinois
    United States

    It is TERRIBLE!!! Go out every 2 minutes and I pay extra for CNBC !!!
    What a joke!!!
    Don't bother with Sling!!!

    +9 Votes
  • J
      Sep 01, 2018
    Sling TV - International channels
    United States
    SlingTV.com

    Horrible Tv provider. Customer care is bad . Channels they show on the website doesn't show primary shows and sling tv doesn't have any control. Once you pay that's it, no refund and it's gone as charity.

    +8 Votes
  • P
      Sep 07, 2018

    Most offensive TV commercials in broadcasting history!

    +21 Votes
  • J
      Sep 09, 2018

    I love the "slinger" commercials! Mistaken impressions are the funniest form of humor, and these commercials get it just right! Anyone who thinks something like this is vulgar has clearly not lived much.

    -20 Votes
  • C
      Sep 25, 2018

    @Jen Schwab What... Not lived much. Nothing is sacred anymore. Put this garbage on the playboy or adult channels. Not regular tv.

    +19 Votes
  • J
      Mar 13, 2019

    @Jen Schwab You come off as being a "lady of the night". Yes, you sound like someone who enjoys these commercials. You, too, are disgusting.

    +2 Votes
  • B
      Jun 22, 2019

    @Jen Schwab I have "lived" quite a lot, and spent years around very unsavory people. Having said that, I have never seen any creepier ads on mainstream commercial television than these vile and obscene sling commercials. Do they really think that a creepy crawly guy who looks like a werewolf making predatory comments to a male neighbor, and his female partner who looks like a low priced streetwalker from San Francisco's Tenderloin district is attractive? Who are they appealing to? Perverts and 13 year old boys? Who would possibly think this is alluring??

    +2 Votes
  • D
      Jul 25, 2019

    @Jen Schwab Who says mistaken impressions are the funniest form of humor? It’s not about the type of humor displayed in these commercials, it’s the subject matter and the WAY it’s presented with these two sleazy people creeping on their friends & neighbors. You’re obviously very easily entertained.

    +1 Votes
  • D
      Jan 20, 2020

    @Joyce1945 Get a grip, Joyce and company. The "slingers" vs "swingers" campaign if over!

    0 Votes
  • K
      Jan 27, 2020

    @Jen Schwab I agree! I love these ads. They're really rather funny. People have no sense of humor.

    0 Votes
  • A
      Sep 18, 2018
    Sling TV - Commercials
    United States

    Clean up your act sling. We are not as filthy and disgusting as you are and want to talk about having swinger parties. They went out in the 70's as being " famous"... you don't need filth to sell your product.

    +18 Votes
  • F
      Dec 12, 2018

    @AimsMAGA Disgusting, inappropriate, offensive! Such lack of creativity, they resort to sexual innuendos to sell a product. How is this filth ok?

    +14 Votes
  • D
      Sep 22, 2018

    Everyone just take it easy. Kids are not running to their phones or tablets to look this up. Most people born after 1985 don’t even understand the commercial. Stop trying the censor everything on TV. If you don’t like it, change the channel or get rid of Sling, no one is forcing you to watch, are they? Really tired of people telling others what’s offensive and what’s not. One more thing, quit using “ the children” as a scape goat...losers.

    -17 Votes
  • C
      Sep 25, 2018

    @Dennis Metheny Well genius these commercials are on regular tv. And I do change the channel. I don't want to see a guy looking at a young lady with the suggestion of sex. What the hell does stupid Sling have to do with sex??

    +9 Votes
  • O
      Oct 08, 2018

    @Dennis Metheny I don't have "sling." Ads appear on the cable I use. You're right..the kids don't understand the commercial; that's why they ask ME. I like the movie I am watching - don't WANT to change the channel. I, like others, am just voicing my opinion; not telling anyone what they should find offensive or not. YOU are the one doing that. Sling apparently thinks that ANY PUBLICITY is good. WRONG!!!

    +11 Votes
  • B
      Jun 22, 2019

    @Dennis Metheny Hey, Einstein, I don't have Sling, and certainly never will. These vile ads pollute the mainstream tv channels, popping up every 10 or 15 minutes on the channels I watch. They turn my stomach, and I'm no angel.

    +4 Votes
  • D
      Sep 22, 2018

    Everyone just take it easy. Kids are not running to their phones or tablets to look this up. Most people born after 1985 don’t even understand the commercial. Stop trying the censor everything on TV. If you don’t like it, change the channel or get rid of Sling, no one is forcing you to watch, are they? Really tired of people telling others what’s offensive and what’s not. One more thing, quit using “ the children” as a scape goat. Here’s a novel idea, there’s a button on your remote that says mute, use it during commercials that’s what I do most of the time.

    -11 Votes
  • C
      Sep 25, 2018

    @Dennis Metheny No one is using children as a scapegoat older people and people with morales don't like it either. Put it on the adult channels.

    +9 Votes
  • D
      Sep 26, 2018

    See how simple it is to just change the channel. Easy.

    -12 Votes
  • Y
      Oct 03, 2018
    Sling TV - Sling POV
    NSB
    United States

    I did not intend on purchasing ARMY OU GAME all i did was click EXIT then you charged me for the game and refuse to refund me for your set up its a ripp off

    -2 Votes
  • E
      Oct 05, 2018

    I see what they were getting at, but the sexual "swinging" innuendos are overdoing it. I just heard this commercial come on at 3:30 pm ET. I don't find swinging disgusting. I do think it is wrong, though, and I believe these commercials are inappropriate.

    +14 Votes
  • K
      Dec 30, 2018

    @Erin McLaughlin You're an idiot.

    -8 Votes
  • M
      Oct 20, 2018

    Where is the petition to get this trash off of television? I purposely monitor my children's media exposure because of garbage such as Sling commercials. I won't be satisfied until you are pulled from the air.

    +8 Votes
  • K
      Dec 30, 2018

    @MamaBearZ If it's TVLand, just go to TVLand.com and file a complaint; otherwise, go to the offending network and complain. You can do this online.

    +1 Votes
  • G
      Nov 04, 2018
    Sling TV - Commercials are gross
    United States

    What CEO or company board members would sign off on an advertising campaign such as the commercials that they subject the viewers to? These commercials are disgusting and because of them, I would never even consider purchasing your low-level product. You really should make your commercials focus on the actual product you're selling.

    +6 Votes
  •   Dec 12, 2018

    Behold:... The reason comedy is DYING!

    Let. It. Go. Move on. Plant a tree. Sing a song.

    +1 Votes
  • D
      Jul 25, 2019

    @Mrs Bean True comedy makes people laugh, not vomit! The commercial in question is not funny!...It’s creepy, stupid, and offensive. Maybe you should go plant a tree, sing a song, and swing all you want.

    +1 Votes
  • K
      Dec 30, 2018

    I'm glad I don't have young children at home. TV Land, among other network, runs this ad night and day. I've already complained to them but it has fallen on deaf ears. As a Baby Boomer, I have seen a lot of things in life but this is downright disgusting.

    +7 Votes
  • K
      Dec 30, 2018

    @KatinFL networks.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Dec 30, 2018

    TV Land Viewers: To Submit a Complaint re: this offensive SLINGERS ADVERTISEMENT, go to their website and complete the "Complaint" form at www.tvland.com

    You can also write or call:

    TV Land Customer Service
    Viacom International, Inc.
    1515 Broadway
    New York
    New York
    United States - 10036
    Customer Support Phone Numbers
    Phone:
    +[protected]

    Fax:
    +[protected]

    Web:
    www.tvland.com

    +3 Votes
  • M
      Dec 30, 2018

    Obviously going for the shock factor but a big mistake if sling thinks it will increase there business. I find it very offensive and I'm not a prude. Puts your advertising agency to work on another commercial. How they felt this was appropriate is ridiculous.

    +9 Votes
  • P
      Dec 31, 2018

    OMGoodness...These Sling-er TV Commercials are really getting disgusting. Why is there no one doing anything about them? What message are we sharing...extending to ourselves...and to today's youth? I am really offended...and truly concerned.

    +7 Votes
  • D
      Jan 06, 2019

    I am in agreement with those finding the "slingers" commercial offensive and thinking about dropping my subscriptions unless it stops. They may be trying to bring in more viewers but they'll lose them also!

    +6 Votes
  • M
      Jan 21, 2019

    Sling ads apparently appeals to their market demographic--trailer trash.

    +6 Votes
  • F
      Jan 22, 2019
    Sling TV - Sling commercial with Mulhally and Offerman
    6 John Street, Apt.904
    Oakville
    Ontario
    Canada

    This is a sick commercial. How can anyone find this garbage acceptable. I will never use their product. Shame on Sling and on these two actors.

    +6 Votes
  • R
      Jan 26, 2019

    When you need to resort to sexual suggestive advertising, decent folks are very offended and certainly of no attraction to your service. Please consider other advertising options in regards to "Sling" How about David and Golliath. Slinging a stone and killing the giant ie: competition

    +6 Votes
  •   Jan 26, 2019

    I watch TVLand on weekends and have never heard nor seen such a commercial. I’m missing good stuff! Never heard of Sling TV but if the commercial annoys you, change the channel for a minute. Ignore it. Learn that everything in life can’t be catered to your likes and dislikes. Often commercial airtime is used by the network but stations are using that time, too.

    If a thousand people complain about a commercial, no one cares. You’ll be back to watch your precious program soon enough.

    These commercials sound comical and not explicit. If children see it, tell them swingers watch Swing TV but you can’t get it. Very young kids won’t care. Preteens already know what that is though you want to believe your child is clueless.

    Censorship is not the answer. My father wouldn’t let me watch Batman & Robin. My mother would because she knew censorship makes you more interested. I didn’t understand the words on the screen anyway. Don’t censor; watch with kids and explain things to them. Start discussion and set your kids on the right path. They’ll find out from friends who give false information.

    If kids see swinging on TV, if old enough, tell them what it is. If religious, tell them god doesn’t approve. If not, teach them about jealousy and disease and cheating and other consequences. Isn’t that better than their friends telling them the wrong info?

    Don’t tell kids it’s wrong or disgusting. Give them both sides and let them decide when older. For now, guide them into fidelity and loyalty. Let them grow up and learn for themselves.

    End of sermon. Personally, I’m not interested in swinging but commercials suggesting are cool!

    -8 Votes
  • D
      Jul 25, 2019

    @SubSquirrel Thank you Dr. Spock! Apparently, you’re in the minority here, because most of us find these commercials tasteless and trashy. Why should I have to even have this conversation with my grand kids? I’m not using kids as a scapegoat, I’m voicing MY own opposition to the commercial which offends me, creeps me out, and disgusts me. Why should I have to change the channel? You snowflakes that find virtually EVERYTHING offensive need to refrain from lecturing others who voice their opinion when we’re offended. Bottom line, advertisers have no imagination and rely on shock value using sex to sell. Where does it end?

    -1 Votes
  • K
      Jan 27, 2020

    @SubSquirrel Very well said! I think the commercials are rather funny, actually.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Jan 31, 2019

    Well, I’m in the minority here because I think they’re hilarious! You people need to relax and have a sense of humor. This is all clearly done in tongue-and-cheek, good god!

    +2 Votes
  • B
      Jun 05, 2019

    @Diana Szostak Mason even if tongue in cheek, the ads are creepy in the extreme.

    +3 Votes
  • M
      Mar 26, 2019

    This disgusting commercial creeps up at some point every time I watch television.I had looked at Sling as an option until they started airing this trash.I figure if this is how they advertise that reflects the company across the board.

    +4 Votes
  • B
      Jun 05, 2019

    I believe these "slingers" commercials are currently the creepiest ads on prime time tv. Who are they trying to reach? freaks and perverts?

    +2 Votes
  • B
      Jun 22, 2019

    @buck weet my sentiments exactly. actually, they are the creepiest ads i have EVER seen on mainstream television.

    0 Votes
  • A
      Jun 25, 2019
    Sling TV - Sling tv ads
    United States

    I have stopped watching the channels with these ads because they are so offensive.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment