Sirius XMlifetime membership trap

1
B Review updated:

If offered, do not sign up for Sirius XM's lifetime membership program. As it turns out, after you spend hunders of dollars to become an lifetime member you are charged $75 to have them switch radios, even if you have to switch radios because of a defective radio marketd by Sirius themselves.

I purchased the lifetime membership because my wife bought me a Starmate radio for my car. Just over a year later the radio just stopped receiving a single. It was determined that this was a known defect/bug with the Starmate radios and there was nothing they could do. Okay, although I was annoyed that I had to purchase a new radio, however after I purchased the radio, they charged my wifes credit card a $75 activation fee... this fee only for lifetime memberships.

I did not purchase this radio because I wanted a new radio, I was perfectly happy with the one I had. I purchased the radio because of a defected radion provided by Sirius themselves. So not only did I have to purchase a new radio (which I thought was ridiculous as I still have FM/AM radios that work from when I was a kid) I had to pay them $75 to switch the radio serial number on my account... taking them all of 2 minutes to do.

In my opinion this is a complete scam.in addition, when I was being talked into the life time membership, (even though it was in the fine print in the documents I received a few weeks later) I was never told this by the sales representitive.

It it weren't for the amount of money paid (in comparision to the monthly fee) and this being the only medium to get Howard Stern, I would have completely dropped the service.

Good luck to the new merged comapny if they continue to treat existing customers like garbage.

(I put this on as Unauthoizred charges because they charged my wife's credit card because after I purchased the life time membership she wanted to activate the dadio in her new card and purcahsed the monthly plan... therefore this was the only credit card that had access to.)

Responses

  • Bo
    Bob Jan 20, 2008

    Sirius and XM Satilite radio providers both advertise commercial free radio. Both of them have commercials on 99% of their channels. As far as the service goes it is fine but it is not commercial free. Also if you do not have a tape player or AUX jack on your car you will have to use the FM transmitter. With the FM transmitter you have to find a dead channel on your radio then tune the Sat. radio to that channel and it has a lot of static and white noise, not to mention the ugly wire that has to run to your antenna.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rowho79 Apr 08, 2009

    Where do I begin with them.
    2007 I got this for my husband. we gave them our cc to purchase one year. now jump to 2008, my cc was auto charged the entire year with out my approval. I was less then happy. I called to complain and spoke to a guy who started to say another name and then came out with steve (interesting right). so I was told this is auto done every year. I said that is illegal as I am not authroizing you to do this. I have no give verbal no written promission for this. I then told him I wanted to speak to a managers. I help for 15min to then be told no managers are around (remember that it is said to me again in 2009). I said I find that very hard to believe, they would never pull all managers off the floor. I said let me talk to who is in charge. hold again 15min. then came back, they are all in a meeting. I said go get one or I will be contacting a lawyer and others over this, your company stole over $100.00 from me and I am not going to leave this alone. amazing, a manager just happended to be there at that piont. told the manager I wanted my cc removed and that I was not renewing again! after about 30min they finally agreed to what I said. I decided to keep the radio for the year as I knew it would take to long to have it removed and I had wasted enough time.
    2009- never renewed and then I just get a bill for $27.25, I called jacob (so he says) said that it is my month charge. I said I never renewed, that is when he says it was done auto. I said then why in december did you send me a bill saying if that (100+) was not paid my subscription would be cancelled. just like a magaizine I said. well this is the bill for the month. again, I want to talk to a manager. 10min jacob comes back, no mangager around. really, I said are all crazy this is what was said to me last year when I complained. he then yelled at me... for saying they are crazy. I laughed back and said ok I am sorry, no go check again for a manager. I am not paying this and again I will get a lawyer to discuss this with you. he then yelled at me again saying that I can do that but he is not going to find a manager. really. go get a manager thank you. after holding again for 15 min. I hung up, I mean I do have a family to take care of as well. this company has horrible practices. beware!!! sirius will try and steal your money.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kawika67 May 18, 2009

    I have been with Sirius for over 4 years and have purchaed several radios. I have the S50 portable unit and I had an issue in October 0f 2007 with the radio which they eventually replaced. Now I have had the car kit not working and since October 2008 Sirius has stated it is "out of stock." So now I am paying for service and can only get service at home if I hook up my executive unit.

    I have asked many times over the last six months why they do not have a program that will allow existing customers to get into a comparable portable unit. They have told me the only unit they have is the Stelleto2 and that cost $269.00 and they have no break or program for existing custmers.

    It seems iteresting that a company like this has no interest in keeping their existing company or supporting the equipment that they have out there.

    Looks like it is time to get together everyone that is having similiar issues.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    reyrey Jul 18, 2009

    You do understand that the Lifetime plan is not your lifetime and is the Lifetime of the radios. Right?? Being a 3rd party observer, how is Sirius XM in the Wrong. Do you know for a fact that the problem your having is a "known" bug or defect?? Have you contacted the Manufacture of the equipment to have it repaired?? This Unauthorized charge, did they notify you were going to be charged this 75$?? If it was so unauthorized, how did they get the card number??

    -1 Votes
  • harry_palm69 Jan 03, 2010

    Reyrey (the person who posted right above), is an idiot! he/she/it does not know what what he/she/it is talking about.
    The lifetime membership is a contract for using sirius/xm for life. it has nothing to do with the lifetime of your sirius/xm radio unit.
    That's what I have. I paid for in 2005, right before howard stern's show bagan (on satellite radio) in jan 06. I stll have that membership. I have not been charged any additional fees. I still have the origing equipment, I purchased a local store.
    I understand that now there are some additional fees for new accounts. some features, which used to be free (aka, online streaming), isn't no longer availble, for free.
    Anyway, who cares. if y ou don't like it anymore, or don't wantto pay, cancel it!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alandlord Feb 15, 2010

    I purchased a lifetime subscription from sirius in december of 2007. at that time, lifetime was for my lifetime, and id I had to transfer to another radio, I had to pay a $75.00 transfer fee. that is it.

    Now sirius is a fraud. now they have changed the rules, and expect new rules to apply to old contracts. they claim lifetime means the lifetime of the unit. don't be a #. that is a scam. anyone who hears lifetime does not think they mean lifetime of a unit. why would you pay hundreds of dollars for the lifetime of your unit which is only warranteed for what, 3 months? a year? that makes no sense.

    Lifetime means a person's lifetime, I don't care what is in small print.

    Now sirius is telling me that I can only transfer up to 3 times in my lifetime. first they said I couldn't transfer from a factory installed radio, then they changed their tone and said I could transfer three times.

    This is all complete bull, regardless. if you bought a lifetime subscription when I did, you were told on the phone it was for your lifetime, and you paid a $75.00 transfer fee to transfer to new equipment, unless the old equipment was defective, damaged, or stolen. I agreed to that, and if I ever lose my subscription, I will sue them. it's that simple.

    [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Bi
    Bird20 Aug 15, 2018

    @alandlord I am dealing wit the same BS and they have not even offered me to transfer for $75 which I would jump at. I

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    Vent May 27, 2010

    I signed up for a promotional 6 months in October 2009 and I prepaid for it. When this period was over I had no intention of renewing. I got a renewal notice and naturally I threw it away because I did not want the service any more. They kept sending me letters saying I must pay or they will disconnect the service. I was not using the service so I did not care if they disconnected. I called in May to tell them to stop sending me this bill which is around $107. The representative told me that I owe this because I never called to cancel and it is their policy. And a large portion of this charge is a cancellation charge. She added that if I don't pay they will send it to collection. In my opinion, this is a ripoff like business practice. I don't think I need to call to cancel and if I don't and maybe if I do I would still pay to cancel and charge me for a service I did not use or want.

    1 Votes
  • Gd
    gdartez Jul 26, 2010

    After the first year of free internet I though it was a good service and decided to renew for one year. After that one year was over they automatically charged my credit card and tried to renew my service on a credit card that was stolen, then sent me a past due notice and told me I had to pay. So once again...i figure this was just a fluke...and decided to renew my service. This time I payed with a check so they couldn't try to automatically renew my service. Here I am again...receiving a notice telling my I have to pay are they are turning me over to a collection agency for services that I didn't receive. If I wanted to continue service I would have renewed. I don't want to renew nor can i afford to renew and now i have to pay this service. Only am I am paying this service after being yelled at by a manager and hung up on before I could barely speak two words. And of coure I tried calling back...but never could get thru to anyway. This service and company is a joke.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    BiancaCicc Jul 26, 2010

    They did that to me a few years ago. they said that because I had originally put it on my credit card that it gave them permission to charge it again. Needless to say I fought it and they took it off my card.After months of fighting. Good luck

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    smanasse Jul 31, 2010

    I can completely see how this person was also ripped off. I even called and cancelled and was told 2 years later, that I never cancelled, so they have a right to charge me! finally received a refund on some of the money they stole from me.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DatelessNerd Aug 21, 2010

    Waaaaaa!

    I bought an Audiovox PNP2 with a lifetime subscription over 6 years ago. At the same time, I bought three extra remotes. I never use the buttons or dial on the unit, because they're the parts that are by far the most likely to wear out.

    If the Audiovox unit ever dies, $75 to transfer the lifetime subscription to a brand new radio is peanuts. And with 3 transfers allowed, my Sirius subscription will easily outlive me. It's far more likely that satellite radio technology will become obsolete before I have to pay for another subscription.

    I've already saved $500 over what I would've paid for a monthly subscription, I get Sirius Internet Radio for no extra charge, and I'm "playing with house money" for the rest of my life.

    I made out so good, I feel guilty. You crybabies are incredible!

    0 Votes
  • Gd
    GD_Parrot Aug 24, 2010

    I just had this issue yesterday as I traded in both my wife's car and my car for new cars in the last 7 days. All the cars had factory-installed XM in them. 3 years ago we signed up for XM for life TWICE (her car and mine) at a grand total of $800. I was told that I would be allowed 3 transfers (each) during that "lifetime." When I called yesterday, I was told that I would have to pay $75 twice for the transfer fee (original contract says "a transfer fee MAY be charged"). On top of that, the rep told me that the transfer is not available at all FROM factory installed radios, only from third party portable radio units. After much discussion the rep agreed to waive this policy as I was not told about it (I still cannot find where it is referenced in my documentation). Overall, a horrible customer service experience, took almost two hours on top of it all.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike_P Aug 25, 2010

    9. Lifetime Subscription Plan: A "Lifetime Subscription" is one that continues for the life of the Receiver equipment. Lifetime Subscriptions are nonrefundable. You may cancel a Lifetime Subscription but if you cancel during the first year of service you will be charged a cancellation fee set forth in these Terms. Non Automotive Receivers: A Lifetime Subscription associated with a home, portable, or dock & play Receiver is transferable from one Receiver to another Receiver, up to a maximum of three (3) times. For each permitted transfer of a subscription from one Receiver to another or from one person to another you will be charged a transfer fee set forth in these Terms. Automotive Receivers: A Lifetime Subscription is not transferable if it is associated with a Receiver installed by an automaker or an automotive dealer in a vehicle, except in the event the original Receiver associated with that Lifetime Subscription is stolen, accidentally damaged or if, in the sole discretion of XM, it is defective. For each permitted transfer of a subscription from one person to another based upon a stolen or accidentally damaged Receiver you will be charged a transfer fee set forth in these Terms. No transfer fee will be charged for the transfer of a Lifetime Subscription associated with a Receiver installed by an automaker

    2 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike_P Aug 25, 2010

    http://www.xmradio.com/pdf/xm_tc_050310.pdf

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Mirando Sep 09, 2010

    NOTHING is worth the grief XM radio subjects its customers to. XM has a very creative billing procedure. You'll get random bills for a variety of packages you don't want in time increments that don't make sense. Their billing statements are obtuse and purposefully obfuscatory. Last year I had to have my credit card company handle the dispute. Here's my advice. Buy an iPod and get your own podcasts and music. You'll be listening to what you want and in the end it will be less expensive and less of an aggravation. Unfortunately, you won't get XM to listen to you unless you scream at the poor "customer service" representative -- if you can get one to answer the phone. (They have their own definition of service that I'm not familiar with. It involves abusing and annoying the customer.) I've just reached my limit of patience and cancelled my account. Some more advice: if you want to cancel your account, do not use the word "cancel" with the service rep! You'll be put on hold or they'll just drop your call. Tell them you have a billing question. Get referred to someone in billing and then demand cancellation. Good luck. You've entered the abyss. Lasciate ogne speranza, voi ch'intrate. The 666 in the phone number should have been a clue.

    0 Votes
  • Sg
    SgtRockUSMC Sep 24, 2010

    I for one couldn't be happier with my Sirius (lifetime) subscription. I can see his point though, if you buy tires with a lifetime warranty those tires better damn well have the same amount of tread on them 300, 000 miles later. If I get a bag of Oreos and it says satisfaction guaranteed or my money back, I want to eat the whole package and bring it back empty for a full refund, no questions asked.

    Stop your whining! Your equipment didn't last as long as you anticipated, it wasn't designed obsolesence, it just broke. Sirius has been a stand up company on the 2 or 3 occassions I had to call them. I don't know how you got mistreated by their customer service department, all I can say is they went above and beyond my expectations to answer questions and make me feel valued.

    When I signed up for the lifetime subscription, I asked questions. Of course it isn't your lifetime, who has EVER heard of such a thing? It doesn't exist in any business I've ever heard of. As a matter of fact, a lifetime warranty can have a legal definition where as long as it is a minimum of 3 years it's all good. But they go one better and allow 3 transfers at $75 each. If you get 3 years out of a single reciever, never transfer to another, never listen online, you've still saved money. If you do decide to activate a new receiver for $75 you only need to listen to it for 6 months to be in the black on that deal.

    -1 Votes
  • St
    Stray! Sep 28, 2010

    I have a cell phone number that was previously owned by a Sirius/XM user. For 5 months now, i have been receiving calls from XM telemarketers. I have requested each time to be removed from their call list because I am not the person they are trying to reach and they are calling a cell phone. Each time the person on the phone says they will remove my number from the list. This has been going on for over 5 months! I want to take legal action as i am tired of their harrassment!! This is the number they call from866-557-8552.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael_Todd Oct 15, 2010

    I would be interested in speaking with you regarding the potential claims you have against the telemarketers. give me a call at 877-463-7466 x 84. - michael todd

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jacko Oct 18, 2010

    I ordered ONE year subscription and paid by check. Did not want to renew, so called to cancel. They kept putting me on hold...total phone time 42 minutes...to be told that I cannot cancel, because it is an "automatic renewal"...and apparently I am being turned over to Collections for a bill that I never received. Asked for the manager RAY CORTEZ - who was unable to help me cancel my account.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Lee J Jan 07, 2011

    When the free six months expired on my Sirrius radio I sent in $154 for a one year subscription. I have been on the phone for 26 minutes with a lady I can barely undrstand and she won't let me talk to a supervisor. This is an awful company. Sirrius could care less about customers. They admit to having my $154, sitting there doing nothing and will not start my service. Back on hold now while she claims to be looking for a supervisor. Whether this gets worked out or not at this point is immaterial. What is material is the companies incompetance, use of people who are not adequately trained to speak English and understand a problem, and the callousness towards consumers.

    0 Votes
  • Au
    audrey.synn Jan 12, 2011

    if we dont make any sense on the phones its because
    A: We are sooooo tired of explaining the SAME thing to 500 pissed off people who just argue with us and expect us to bend company policies. As if we have an "erase bill" or "refund all the money" button we can just click to make all your problems magically go away.

    B: We are all REALLY high. or drunk. or tweaked the [censor] out. some of us havn't slept in 2 or 3 days. We may place you on hold to go snort some crystal meth in the bathrooms.

    C: You people are RUDE. You call cussing and hollering. as if thats going to get you anywhere. AHAHA. We just hang up on you or transfer you to the spanish department. We sooo do not have to put up with your [censor].

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marce3027 Jun 07, 2011

    I purchased a life time subscription back on 2007 and it worked fine until this january2011 when it just stop working, i called sirius and oh sorprise my information is not on their system and the ESN of my radio is under somebody else that cancelled his subscription like a year ago...now i'm dealing with the BBB and the FCC to try to get my service back and also trying to figure this out...of course they are asking me for the receipt when i bought the subscription but i don't have it so here i'm trying to get this resolve does anyone had the same problem or something like that happened...????? any sugestions????

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    NickyP Jul 11, 2011

    Check this out... I purchased my Sirius lifetime back in April 2006. Sometime after that Sirius/XM merged. I recently sold my car with the GPS/Satellite radio system with it, then I purchased a new Cadillac CTS Coupe. When I try to transfer my existing lifetime, I'm told that XM is a seperate company and therfore can't transfer my Sirius lifetime. The company webiste is SiriusXM; they answer the phone SiriusXM and I'm sure each employees paycheck says SiriusXM. Even the new literature I get with my new vehicle says SiriusXM but am still told they are seperate. I would like to hear from ANYONE having this same issue as I plan on contacting an attorney about the possibility of moving forward with a class action suit. My e-mail is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe4136 Jul 21, 2011

    If you read the terms and conditions it is very clear that you will be charged 75 dollars to switch the radio. If you don't have the lifetime plan its only 15 dollars. It's up to you as a consumer to inform yourself before purchasing an item. I read all the details so I know that if something goes wrong what the policy is. Its unfortunate that you are mad because you refused to educate yourself on the companies policy that was so easy to read. Good luck. I guess some people will always find a reason to complain. Just take responsibility for not reading the policy. It's your fault.

    1 Votes
  • Af
    A Friedman Nov 03, 2011

    I have a "lifetime" subscription to Sirius. My radio quit functioning, so I had to purchase a new radio. However, the "lifetime" subscription was not truly a "lifetime" subscription. There was a $75.00 transfer fee. The lifetime subscription was not for my life but obviously for the life of the radio. Thus when the cheap piece of equipment broke, I was forced to purchase a new radio, and then pay another fee to have my subscription transferred.
    This company is untruthful and deceptive in their explanation and practices.
    Also, there is no one to contact. The first person to whom I spoke was in East Asia. He hung up on me. The second person to whom I spoke was in Cairo. She said she could not help me. I strongly recommend that no one subscribe to this service.

    0 Votes
  • Lf
    lfevansjr Mar 19, 2012

    I purchased a lifetime plan with XM Radio in August 2010 for my car and paid $499.99. I traded my car in a year later, and XM allowed me to "transfer my lifetime plan" to another car -- but charged me $75. They referred to this as a "radio swap". Recently though in March 2012, I made another trade-in, but this time XM Radio said I was not permitted to transfer my lifetime plan at all -- not even for a fee of $75. The new self-made policy is that no lifetime transfer is permissable unless the radio is stolen or defective, nor is a pro-rated refund an option. In summary, I paid almost $600 to XM Radio over a 1.5 year time period and cannot get my money back. I thought lifetime plan meant that the consumer will receive XM radio for a lifetime -- but that is not the case. If I had known that the lifetime plan meant that you received services only for one vehicle in that lifetime, I would not have paid that much money for it. The XM Supervisor was unphased by the consumer being ripped off.

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    Rahead Apr 03, 2012

    Customer service is the worst. On phone for hours being transferred. They lie bout crediting your accounts-reimbursements.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    SIRIUS=SCAM Aug 16, 2012

    SIRIUS XM has a scam called Lifetime Subscription. The reason they don't have you physically sign a document and return it to them is because it is a scam. The phrase Lifetime Subscription only has one preceived meaning and no amount of "written in small words" can change that.

    For those of you who are backing Sirius XM, calling those complaining on a complaint board, need to pipe down. You were probably contracted by Sirius XM to provide opposition. Nobody is being a cry baby inside a forum that is titled "Complaints Board".

    We need to group together and work to find a day of justice in court. If you are interested: [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ly
    lyn12345 Feb 24, 2013

    kindly read the customer service agreement:

    www.siriusxm.com/pdf/siriusxm_customeragreement_eng.pdf

    1 Votes
  • Br
    Brian 435 Dec 08, 2013

    I bought the Lifetime plan back in 2008. I was told that it was a lifetime subscription and could be transferred a total of 3 times. Sirius' stock price was trading at $0.06 per share because they had a large debt payment coming due that the market didn't think they could make. So I figured there was a chance that they could be out of business, but I figured it was worth a shot. I was NEVER told there was a $75 transfer fee. That's 5 months worth of service! That would have been a deal breaker for me had I known that. I will NEVER pay that $75 dollars. I can't continue to do business with a company that isn't honest while selling their subscriptions. Stay away from them.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unknownsxm Jan 20, 2014

    Im a csr of sxm if i were you dont sign up for sxm...for any plans and radio subx. There is autorenewal and autocharge for your credit card. Eventhough, you did not authorized the system will just charge ur credit card. Please dont blame the csr or agents we have nothing to do with the auto charge and your billing. Only the system will generate that one for you. I know company sucks but we have no choice but just to follow our boss. If i were a customer, i wont sign up for sirius xm. Just tell to the agents if u were a cx you received a letter from sxm 6mos for 25 dollars in that way you will get the subscription for that amount. That's my help to our customer... thats a cheat coming from me! Just tell to the agent you recived that letter and for sure we'll honor that and lower ur bill... but do t forget to call before expiration date !!! Dont give credit card tell them to be billed instead i hope provided you great cheat to sxm

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    Shaun Mc Apr 09, 2014

    To Mike_P, your "contract" language above regarding "Lifetime Subscription Plan" is post 2009 agreement wording, and does not apply to the majority of consumers that purchased a "Lifetime" contract with Sirius prior to 2009. Sirius required a contact phone number, a mailing address and the consumer could provide an email address. Yet, other than an invoice or marketing material, Sirius never made an effort to provide consumers with a written, executed contract. The reason I assume, was to be able to manipulate the contract administration, as it effects the paying consumer, in the best interest of Sirius and it's investors.


    The bottom line is that most folks that purchased "lifetime" subscriptions were intentionally taken advantage of by Sirius, and most if not all were intentionally given bad information by INSUFFICIENTLY trained sales people at Sirius, who talked folks out of monthly subscriptions, selling them these worthless "lifetime" subscriptions.
    So why is Sirius so stingy? They are not hurting. Sirius increased revenue by 12% to $3.8 billion in 2013. Sirius grew its subscriber base by 1.66 million to a level now over 25.5 million. Sirius improved revenue per subscriber by just over 2%, while holding expense growth well below revenue growth, which "drove 27% growth in adjusted EBITDA to nearly $1.17 billion, also beating our guidance. For the year, this delivered a record margin of 30.6%, an increase from 27% in 2012 and 24% in 2011. Fourth quarter adjusted EBITDA grew an astounding 41%, boosted by lower subsidy rates on vehicles", Jim Meyer, CEO (2/4/2014).


    Since a very small percentage of subscribers purchased "lifetime" subscriptions, why would such a clearly profitable company choose to kick those same consumers that fronted cash (cash that helped them merge with XM) in the form of "lifetime" subscriptions, to the proverbial curb? Is this yet another corporation that ultimately cares less about its customers than it does its investors?

    1 Votes
  • Fu
    fubarinvegas Feb 05, 2015

    Na na na na na na!!! In 2004 my wife purchased the Sirius S50 Portable radio with the Lifetime subscription for me (xmas) $89.99 for the radio and $500 for the Lifetime subscription, still have the receipts. At the time of purchase, the contract (still have) reads "lifetime" or three (3) transfers at $15.00 per transfer. So, after my 3 transfers, my "lifetime" subscription is up and I will then have to pay today's transfer fees. In 2012 my original S50 finally took a dump and I'm on my second one. I purchased my second one on Ebay for $50 and still rolling. This early contract came out before Sirius was in vehicles, so there based on (mine) portable radios. Now here's where it gets clear and may help some of you. The contract reads "no additional charges for new or future streaming, channels, etc. In 2009 I called Sirius and added online streaming (Lifetime), I don't see any need for the streaming through my smart phone, "Data charges WILL apply" Anyway I'm 54 now and if I get the same amount of years on my current portable and my new one sitting in my closet, the service may outlast me, I hope not. I have all the channels, etc.. I do stay on top of Sirius and they're very nice. In doing the math using today's monthly price at $18.99 a month I'm in the black at roughly $1, 800 (+/-) and still listening!. It should all be based on your contract at the time of purchase which I hope you held on to...

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    ClayTheMan Jun 02, 2015

    I think persistence and courtesy is the name of this game.
    I bought my lifetime membership in July, 2007, and I believed it was for my life, not my receiver’s life.
    So when I made a car change in 2009, I was informed about and fought the $75 charge, and got it waived.
    Now in 2015 I am making my second car change, and was told there would be a $75 charge. I argued the point, was awarded a $5 credit, and I asked to be billed for the balance as I knew I wanted to argue the issue with someone in authority. After failing several times through emails with normal customer service, I emailed [email protected] after some internet researching. I received a response from a rep with SiriusXM Corporate Relations, 1-866-578-7474, option 3. The rep heard my story and agreed to waive the whole charge, but it would count as a second transfer. She also stated I would have to pay for a third transfer, and that would be the last. We will see, when and if that ever happens.
    From reading the reviews here, I think to be professional and kind but firm and direct in your communication will get you what you want. That is a life lesson in all things.
    I have given you enough info here to give you a good start.
    If the company lasts for my lifetime, I plan to never pay another penny, regardless of whether the equipment is in my car or in my coffin.

    0 Votes
  • Sd
    Sdkk Jun 10, 2015

    The title of the service is deliberately deceptive and when I bought my lifetime Sirius the rep on the phone made it very clear this was a service that would stay with me. I'm not even sure I got a copy of the contract . The point is not about it not being truly lifetime ( although I am disappointed) it is about deception. They tricked me in 2007 and all this time I have been recommending them. That ticks me off.
    As far as you defenders of the contract ... When is the last time you read iTunes terms of use, or Adobe's? Far as I know they could own everything I have and I am their indentured servant now.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MickATL Jul 16, 2015

    I agree it's deceptive. I bought a GMC truck in 2005 and have had lifetime service since. After 10 years, it's more than paid for itself. That said, I have considered upgrading my stereo to one with bluetooth or other features but... I wasn't sure if I could transfer my service. After some online research, it seems like contracts prior to a certain can transfer unlimited times and after a date in 2005, up to 3 times.

    This is similar to Tivo's lifetime service. Originally, I paid for lifetime service (program data). Then they changed it to the lifetime of the Tivo unit itself. I realize that it's a business and they don't want to lose money. But... lifetime is lifetime.

    We bought a BMW with Sirius in 2008 and have lifetime service on it. If you are the type of person who keeps your car 'til the wheels fall off, lifetime service may be a good deal. Looking at their website today, I don't even see an option or mention of Lifetime service. They may have done away with it all together.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maverick923 Jul 19, 2015

    Please sign this petition "change.org/p/siriusxm-discontinue-limiting-how-many-times-customers-subscribers-are-able-to-upgrade-radios-and-charging-a-fees-for-every-service-is-transferred"

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    Yonkers, NY Sep 27, 2015

    We bought a 2004 Ford Sport TRac P/U and put a Lifetime Sirius Receiver in it. It was a contract that said if we EVER bought an additonal radio or signed up for service the a dditonal service would be 7.95 a month. Well. in 2010 Bought my wife a Volvo XC60 with AWD it cane with a Sirius radio in it. She got a 6 month trial for free. After her free period was up we notified them that her husband has a Lifetime subscription holder and wanted the reduced rate for Lifetime radio holders. The CSR said they do not and would not honor theose terms. The best she could do was to give us the Sirus + the XM service at 13.95 a month. So I did it for 2 years. At the end of 2 years I found that they don't do traffic and weather on weekends on the traffic station 134 for DC. Discovered that my local station in DC area WTOP 107.7 and 105.3FM had better service on the 8's then the traffic radio in my SAT service. With B;luettoth in that car we fopund we would rather listen to CD's or had to listen to the GPS at times so having Sat Radio and paying for it was not cost effective especially when they eliminated ther streaming music on our PC as well! . We also found out our Directv subscription at home includes FREE Satellite commercial free music, so why pay twice! We cancelled our 2nd radio subscription and don't miss a thing.
    My SAT radio in my truck is located not in the dash but in a location that doesn't get the heat, the dust or the abuse of most radios. For me I hope my radio will last 20 years for the $500 I paid for it. Have already gotten 10 years out of it. Not getting rid of that truck either ...that SportTRac is 2wd-4wdlo & 4wd High switchable. Going to keep it aslong as I am able.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DarDuff Jan 04, 2016

    Does anyone have a copy of what Mike P was referring to? http://www.xmradio.com/pdf/xm_tc_050310.pdf
    Was that the first contract Sirius had for Lifetime members??

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Luckylistener Apr 17, 2016

    My experience was same. I supported them when they were going broke when I a bought a lifetime membership...anyone up for a class action
    Lawsuit to suit these MF"s now they have a dime.?????

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem