The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Sirius XMLifetime membership trap

If offered, do not sign up for Sirius XM's lifetime membership program. As it turns out, after you spend hunders of dollars to become an lifetime member you are charged $75 to have them switch radios, even if you have to switch radios because of a defective radio marketd by Sirius themselves.

I purchased the lifetime membership because my wife bought me a Starmate radio for my car. Just over a year later the radio just stopped receiving a single. It was determined that this was a known defect/bug with the Starmate radios and there was nothing they could do. Okay, although I was annoyed that I had to purchase a new radio, however after I purchased the radio, they charged my wifes credit card a $75 activation fee... this fee only for lifetime memberships.

I did not purchase this radio because I wanted a new radio, I was perfectly happy with the one I had. I purchased the radio because of a defected radion provided by Sirius themselves. So not only did I have to purchase a new radio (which I thought was ridiculous as I still have FM/AM radios that work from when I was a kid) I had to pay them $75 to switch the radio serial number on my account... taking them all of 2 minutes to do.

In my opinion this is a complete scam.in addition, when I was being talked into the life time membership, (even though it was in the fine print in the documents I received a few weeks later) I was never told this by the sales representitive.

It it weren't for the amount of money paid (in comparision to the monthly fee) and this being the only medium to get Howard Stern, I would have completely dropped the service.

Good luck to the new merged comapny if they continue to treat existing customers like garbage.

(I put this on as Unauthoizred charges because they charged my wife's credit card because after I purchased the life time membership she wanted to activate the dadio in her new card and purcahsed the monthly plan... therefore this was the only credit card that had access to.)

Responses

  • Co
    Contact FCC Aug 10, 2017

    Why wouldn't sirius have a computer program that evaluates how long it's been operating and then slowly start targeting that esn (mac) with a weaker program signal as it would make you think the radio is no good. those are solid state radios and they practically last forever unless you drop them or go over bumpy roads. it seems they control that and why wouldn't they systematically cyberattack your radio. they told me my attenna was out but I popped in a new radio and my antenna was fine. then they told me I had service for 10 years and I realize now it was nothing wrong at all most likely with my two previous radios but a victim of their scheme. please help me identify this to the federal communications commission to investigate this deception. keep the old radios and lets' have an independent company test them or ask the fcc to do it. it's no way that many radios go bad. solid state radios last almost forever. this is an absolute game they have gotten away with most likely. whatever you do, don't ever give them your credit card number and if you do, cancel it the next day and record all conversations with them. these recorders are very cheap and put your speaker phone on open and record the conversation. make a statement saying you are recording it for training purposes. just like they do. their is no training. they do that to have evidence with the credit card commpany to ensure they can bill and cheat you. when talking to them put in your total price and put a clause in your conversation that you retain the right to cancel if you are not satisfied. fight back america. I told them I would not switch my radio but it fixed transferring the esn piece if needed. someone told me that knows about radios and my favorite electronics company best b^I that this the way they control the industry. we need a fair and honest satradio company in this country that is upfront, not deceptive and has good customer service. any company that outsources their customer support to india, beware. india has the hugest civil rights violations on the face of the earth. according to www reports, they have gang cartels that put families in slavery to work like robots and abuse small children, according to internet www reports. don't ever allow any computer tech support company to hook you up and allow 'one of them' to remote in to your computer either, as they copy your entire harddrive and use whatever information they find to their advantage. please let's stop as it's being repoted cyberwarfare (if true) and I suspect it is because no radio dies out that has a solid state card such as the probable hoax we have all fallen to sirius. I will contact the ftc and fcc to ask them to investigate radios that they claim are no longer working. only the fcc can monitor this. they program service in buckets what is tranmitted to it, if they think you have had it too long, then they broadcast under a bucket that is planned to slowly skip a bit, etc... until you complain then they give you some phoney baloney get your card number and the game continues. fight back america. record, refuse your credit card and get their information and report it to the proper authorities... we broke up att in this country because it was deemed they had a monopoly and it was unfair competition. well, it seems sirius/xm is in the same can of worms and have shut competition off. they need to be broken up. plus don't absolutely don't ever buy anything they sell as it's under no us laws and you will be cheated as none of the programs or gadgets work that's why they are on sat radio. no binding laws. buyer beware

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    Jdeez1 Jun 29, 2017

    I bought a lifetime subscription in 05'. I sold my car in 2010 and left the stolleto removable unit in. (Included essentially). I havent used my subscription since. Anyone know if and or how i can activate a new unit or register the app with my lifetime subscription? Or is there a time-out period? Appreciate any knowledge on the matter in advance. Ive read a few of the comments above so i am aware of the negative. If you don't know or simply want to talk bad, is rather you didn't respond for that won't help me at all. Thanks. ...I did call and they have no record of me but i did not have an account #. I gave them the address i was living at when i subscribed but to no avail.

    0 Votes
  • 15
    15151515 Oct 25, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What??? That's crazy talk! Only $75 to switch your lifetime subscription over to a new radio? When I called, they told me it would be $480 to switch my lifetime contract over to a new radio when my original contract said only $60 if I ever wanted to switch it over. Y'all are getting a bargain. Granted, I know they decided not to honor their original contracts after the merger, but I told them I wasn't paying that much to have my contract violated so blatently for more commercial filled radio.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Camie MC Jun 07, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We need a firm to do a class action lawsuit!!!

    When the lifetime membership was present years ago, I jumped on it after I bought the radio. soon after, my radio broke down & 3 times since, each time was due to the "reconditioned" unit that was installed with the radio & yes, there was a $75 charge. on this 3rd time I was told that if I do another transfer (a replacement radio that again broke down due to the faulty part they install in their radio) i'd have to buy another lifetime subscription!!!

    Scammmmmmm. no other way to say it.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Randy Pinto Jun 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased the lifetime package back before XM merged with Sirius. There was no 3 transfer limit specified – that came later. I want what I paid for – I can understand (but not like) a fee (relay – $75.00?) but that came later as well. It was a classic drive for subscribers, and now that they have them they changed the rules – that’s call “bait & switch”..

    0 Votes
  • Ex
    exodus2112 May 25, 2016

    Consumer frauds and protection bureau


    Here is the contact for the new york states attorney's office for the sirius (before the xm) merger or even for those who had xm (but would have lost it all anyway if not for the merger)


    The bureau of consumer frauds and protection, part of the economic justice division, prosecutes businesses and individuals engaged in fraudulent, misleading, deceptive or illegal trade practices.

    In addition to litigating, the bureau mediates thousands of complaints each year from individual consumers.

    A large percentage of these complaints are resolved satisfactorily through the mediation process. as part of its mission, the bureau provides information to consumers and seeks to ensure a fair and vigorous market place. the bureau also drafts legislation and conducts studies and writes reports on emerging consumer problems and issues.

    Consumer helpline: [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ex
    exodus2112 May 25, 2016

    I too bought the "lifetime" subscription based on the representative's note that after "3 vehicle" changes the lifetime subscription would be
    in - validated, that is fine by me. however, as i've read above - it's 3 radios, why would I want to have a radio from 2008 and not continue to purchase the next best radio? I didn't mind paying the $75 per se although to change a few serial numbers sounds extreme but each radio cost close to $200 plus the insurance (purchased from best buy)
    So I want a computer from 2008 today and the same operating system, how's that sound

    Time to contact the state's attorney in whatever state you live in plus new york as that is where they are located. 3 vehicle changes is a sound business decision hell maybe even 2 (since no one keeps vehicles for their life) but for radios is a ponzi scheme unless they cover the upgrades to any radio as it gets better

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Darrin Witten Apr 17, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got off the phone with them. we purchased 3 lifetime memberships in 2006 (2 cars, 1 business). this is the first time we tried to transfer our lifetimes to new cars with factory installed sirius. first we were told to wait until the 6 month trial period ran out, then call back. it ran out the other day, so I called today. first, there is a $75 charge, which I disputed and asked her to check on. then she came back and said I cannot transfer the "lifetime" account, as the computer said I have used up my transfers. what?! I told her to look at my account. this receiver was activated in 2006 and this is the first transfer. she said she still couldn't do it, so I asked for supervisor. the supervisor told me that sirius/xm had a policy change after 2006. sirius receivers that were factory installed in a vehicle and activated with lifetime memberships cannot be transferred. what?! he basically said he felt bad and this was not the first call he has handled with the same complaint. all he could do was offer me a discount on the yearly package that was worse than some other offers I have seen on-line. wow! he said he would elevate the complaint to upper management and we should receive a response in the next couple weeks. I won't hold my breath!

    I also bought the stock back then (lost it) and invested in what I thought was a fantastic new musical and entertainment service of the future. I certainly understand limits to the amount of transfers. they say 3 now, but I am pretty sure it was 5 back then... and maybe a fee ($75 does seem excessive)... but to basically tell you that they cannot transfer my lifetimes at all now. I am pissed to say the least. the "supervisor" was basically quiet and said he understood my anger. he said if there was a way he could transfer them, he would. I am in shock and disbelief at this policy change that reneges on the "lifetime" membership in all ways possible... no transfer because it was initiated on a factory installed radio. just saying, you would think they would mention that when you sign up and they congratulate you on the new car and joining sirius radio for the first time as a "lifetime" member. at least I got 10 year out of it, but I am interested in fighting this first. just reading their own document... support center> is my lifetime subscription transferable? it says we should get 3 transfers with $75 fee.

    For sure they are trying to not keep their agreement with the lifetime members at all. you should at least get the 3 transfers on the same account. obviously, they can get away with it for now, but I am wondering what the press would report if they did an investigation into these business practices. if this is happening to everyone, there should be enough anger and evidence to initiate a lawsuit. you would think it would be easier for them to just honor the agreements they made with their first and most enthusiastic fans and investors. I guess I will be back to terrestrial radio for awhile. thanks sirius/xm.

    1 Votes
  • Lu
    Luckylistener Apr 17, 2016

    My experience was same. I supported them when they were going broke when I a bought a lifetime membership...anyone up for a class action
    Lawsuit to suit these MF"s now they have a dime.?????

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DarDuff Jan 04, 2016

    Does anyone have a copy of what Mike P was referring to? http://www.xmradio.com/pdf/xm_tc_050310.pdf
    Was that the first contract Sirius had for Lifetime members??

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    Yonkers, NY Sep 27, 2015

    We bought a 2004 Ford Sport TRac P/U and put a Lifetime Sirius Receiver in it. It was a contract that said if we EVER bought an additonal radio or signed up for service the a dditonal service would be 7.95 a month. Well. in 2010 Bought my wife a Volvo XC60 with AWD it cane with a Sirius radio in it. She got a 6 month trial for free. After her free period was up we notified them that her husband has a Lifetime subscription holder and wanted the reduced rate for Lifetime radio holders. The CSR said they do not and would not honor theose terms. The best she could do was to give us the Sirus + the XM service at 13.95 a month. So I did it for 2 years. At the end of 2 years I found that they don't do traffic and weather on weekends on the traffic station 134 for DC. Discovered that my local station in DC area WTOP 107.7 and 105.3FM had better service on the 8's then the traffic radio in my SAT service. With B;luettoth in that car we fopund we would rather listen to CD's or had to listen to the GPS at times so having Sat Radio and paying for it was not cost effective especially when they eliminated ther streaming music on our PC as well! . We also found out our Directv subscription at home includes FREE Satellite commercial free music, so why pay twice! We cancelled our 2nd radio subscription and don't miss a thing.
    My SAT radio in my truck is located not in the dash but in a location that doesn't get the heat, the dust or the abuse of most radios. For me I hope my radio will last 20 years for the $500 I paid for it. Have already gotten 10 years out of it. Not getting rid of that truck either ...that SportTRac is 2wd-4wdlo & 4wd High switchable. Going to keep it aslong as I am able.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maverick923 Jul 19, 2015

    Please sign this petition "change.org/p/siriusxm-discontinue-limiting-how-many-times-customers-subscribers-are-able-to-upgrade-radios-and-charging-a-fees-for-every-service-is-transferred"

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MickATL Jul 16, 2015

    I agree it's deceptive. I bought a GMC truck in 2005 and have had lifetime service since. After 10 years, it's more than paid for itself. That said, I have considered upgrading my stereo to one with bluetooth or other features but... I wasn't sure if I could transfer my service. After some online research, it seems like contracts prior to a certain can transfer unlimited times and after a date in 2005, up to 3 times.

    This is similar to Tivo's lifetime service. Originally, I paid for lifetime service (program data). Then they changed it to the lifetime of the Tivo unit itself. I realize that it's a business and they don't want to lose money. But... lifetime is lifetime.

    We bought a BMW with Sirius in 2008 and have lifetime service on it. If you are the type of person who keeps your car 'til the wheels fall off, lifetime service may be a good deal. Looking at their website today, I don't even see an option or mention of Lifetime service. They may have done away with it all together.

    0 Votes
  • Sd
    Sdkk Jun 10, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The title of the service is deliberately deceptive and when I bought my lifetime Sirius the rep on the phone made it very clear this was a service that would stay with me. I'm not even sure I got a copy of the contract . The point is not about it not being truly lifetime ( although I am disappointed) it is about deception. They tricked me in 2007 and all this time I have been recommending them. That ticks me off.
    As far as you defenders of the contract ... When is the last time you read iTunes terms of use, or Adobe's? Far as I know they could own everything I have and I am their indentured servant now.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    ClayTheMan Jun 02, 2015

    I think persistence and courtesy is the name of this game.
    I bought my lifetime membership in July, 2007, and I believed it was for my life, not my receiver’s life.
    So when I made a car change in 2009, I was informed about and fought the $75 charge, and got it waived.
    Now in 2015 I am making my second car change, and was told there would be a $75 charge. I argued the point, was awarded a $5 credit, and I asked to be billed for the balance as I knew I wanted to argue the issue with someone in authority. After failing several times through emails with normal customer service, I emailed [email protected] after some internet researching. I received a response from a rep with SiriusXM Corporate Relations, [protected], option 3. The rep heard my story and agreed to waive the whole charge, but it would count as a second transfer. She also stated I would have to pay for a third transfer, and that would be the last. We will see, when and if that ever happens.
    From reading the reviews here, I think to be professional and kind but firm and direct in your communication will get you what you want. That is a life lesson in all things.
    I have given you enough info here to give you a good start.
    If the company lasts for my lifetime, I plan to never pay another penny, regardless of whether the equipment is in my car or in my coffin.

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    fubarinvegas Feb 05, 2015

    Na na na na na na!!! In 2004 my wife purchased the Sirius S50 Portable radio with the Lifetime subscription for me (xmas) $89.99 for the radio and $500 for the Lifetime subscription, still have the receipts. At the time of purchase, the contract (still have) reads "lifetime" or three (3) transfers at $15.00 per transfer. So, after my 3 transfers, my "lifetime" subscription is up and I will then have to pay today's transfer fees. In 2012 my original S50 finally took a dump and I'm on my second one. I purchased my second one on Ebay for $50 and still rolling. This early contract came out before Sirius was in vehicles, so there based on (mine) portable radios. Now here's where it gets clear and may help some of you. The contract reads "no additional charges for new or future streaming, channels, etc. In 2009 I called Sirius and added online streaming (Lifetime), I don't see any need for the streaming through my smart phone, "Data charges WILL apply" Anyway I'm 54 now and if I get the same amount of years on my current portable and my new one sitting in my closet, the service may outlast me, I hope not. I have all the channels, etc.. I do stay on top of Sirius and they're very nice. In doing the math using today's monthly price at $18.99 a month I'm in the black at roughly $1, 800 (+/-) and still listening!. It should all be based on your contract at the time of purchase which I hope you held on to...

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shaun Mc Apr 09, 2014

    To Mike_P, your "contract" language above regarding "Lifetime Subscription Plan" is post 2009 agreement wording, and does not apply to the majority of consumers that purchased a "Lifetime" contract with Sirius prior to 2009. Sirius required a contact phone number, a mailing address and the consumer could provide an email address. Yet, other than an invoice or marketing material, Sirius never made an effort to provide consumers with a written, executed contract. The reason I assume, was to be able to manipulate the contract administration, as it effects the paying consumer, in the best interest of Sirius and it's investors.


    The bottom line is that most folks that purchased "lifetime" subscriptions were intentionally taken advantage of by Sirius, and most if not all were intentionally given bad information by INSUFFICIENTLY trained sales people at Sirius, who talked folks out of monthly subscriptions, selling them these worthless "lifetime" subscriptions.
    So why is Sirius so stingy? They are not hurting. Sirius increased revenue by 12% to $3.8 billion in 2013. Sirius grew its subscriber base by 1.66 million to a level now over 25.5 million. Sirius improved revenue per subscriber by just over 2%, while holding expense growth well below revenue growth, which "drove 27% growth in adjusted EBITDA to nearly $1.17 billion, also beating our guidance. For the year, this delivered a record margin of 30.6%, an increase from 27% in 2012 and 24% in 2011. Fourth quarter adjusted EBITDA grew an astounding 41%, boosted by lower subsidy rates on vehicles", Jim Meyer, CEO (2/4/2014).


    Since a very small percentage of subscribers purchased "lifetime" subscriptions, why would such a clearly profitable company choose to kick those same consumers that fronted cash (cash that helped them merge with XM) in the form of "lifetime" subscriptions, to the proverbial curb? Is this yet another corporation that ultimately cares less about its customers than it does its investors?

    1 Votes
  • Un
    unknownsxm Jan 20, 2014

    Im a csr of sxm if i were you dont sign up for sxm...for any plans and radio subx. There is autorenewal and autocharge for your credit card. Eventhough, you did not authorized the system will just charge ur credit card. Please dont blame the csr or agents we have nothing to do with the auto charge and your billing. Only the system will generate that one for you. I know company sucks but we have no choice but just to follow our boss. If i were a customer, i wont sign up for sirius xm. Just tell to the agents if u were a cx you received a letter from sxm 6mos for 25 dollars in that way you will get the subscription for that amount. That's my help to our customer... thats a cheat coming from me! Just tell to the agent you recived that letter and for sure we'll honor that and lower ur bill... but do t forget to call before expiration date !!! Dont give credit card tell them to be billed instead i hope provided you great cheat to sxm

    1 Votes
  • Br
    Brian 435 Dec 08, 2013

    I bought the Lifetime plan back in 2008. I was told that it was a lifetime subscription and could be transferred a total of 3 times. Sirius' stock price was trading at $0.06 per share because they had a large debt payment coming due that the market didn't think they could make. So I figured there was a chance that they could be out of business, but I figured it was worth a shot. I was NEVER told there was a $75 transfer fee. That's 5 months worth of service! That would have been a deal breaker for me had I known that. I will NEVER pay that $75 dollars. I can't continue to do business with a company that isn't honest while selling their subscriptions. Stay away from them.

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    lyn12345 Feb 24, 2013

    kindly read the customer service agreement:

    www.siriusxm.com/pdf/siriusxm_customeragreement_eng.pdf

    1 Votes
  • Si
    SIRIUS=SCAM Aug 16, 2012

    SIRIUS XM has a scam called Lifetime Subscription. The reason they don't have you physically sign a document and return it to them is because it is a scam. The phrase Lifetime Subscription only has one preceived meaning and no amount of "written in small words" can change that.

    For those of you who are backing Sirius XM, calling those complaining on a complaint board, need to pipe down. You were probably contracted by Sirius XM to provide opposition. Nobody is being a cry baby inside a forum that is titled "Complaints Board".

    We need to group together and work to find a day of justice in court. If you are interested: [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    Rahead Apr 03, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Customer service is the worst. On phone for hours being transferred. They lie bout crediting your accounts-reimbursements.

    0 Votes
  • Lf
    lfevansjr Mar 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a lifetime plan with XM Radio in August 2010 for my car and paid $499.99. I traded my car in a year later, and XM allowed me to "transfer my lifetime plan" to another car -- but charged me $75. They referred to this as a "radio swap". Recently though in March 2012, I made another trade-in, but this time XM Radio said I was not permitted to transfer my lifetime plan at all -- not even for a fee of $75. The new self-made policy is that no lifetime transfer is permissable unless the radio is stolen or defective, nor is a pro-rated refund an option. In summary, I paid almost $600 to XM Radio over a 1.5 year time period and cannot get my money back. I thought lifetime plan meant that the consumer will receive XM radio for a lifetime -- but that is not the case. If I had known that the lifetime plan meant that you received services only for one vehicle in that lifetime, I would not have paid that much money for it. The XM Supervisor was unphased by the consumer being ripped off.

    1 Votes
  • Af
    A Friedman Nov 03, 2011

    I have a "lifetime" subscription to Sirius. My radio quit functioning, so I had to purchase a new radio. However, the "lifetime" subscription was not truly a "lifetime" subscription. There was a $75.00 transfer fee. The lifetime subscription was not for my life but obviously for the life of the radio. Thus when the cheap piece of equipment broke, I was forced to purchase a new radio, and then pay another fee to have my subscription transferred.
    This company is untruthful and deceptive in their explanation and practices.
    Also, there is no one to contact. The first person to whom I spoke was in East Asia. He hung up on me. The second person to whom I spoke was in Cairo. She said she could not help me. I strongly recommend that no one subscribe to this service.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe4136 Jul 21, 2011

    If you read the terms and conditions it is very clear that you will be charged 75 dollars to switch the radio. If you don't have the lifetime plan its only 15 dollars. It's up to you as a consumer to inform yourself before purchasing an item. I read all the details so I know that if something goes wrong what the policy is. Its unfortunate that you are mad because you refused to educate yourself on the companies policy that was so easy to read. Good luck. I guess some people will always find a reason to complain. Just take responsibility for not reading the policy. It's your fault.

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    NickyP Jul 11, 2011

    Check this out... I purchased my Sirius lifetime back in April 2006. Sometime after that Sirius/XM merged. I recently sold my car with the GPS/Satellite radio system with it, then I purchased a new Cadillac CTS Coupe. When I try to transfer my existing lifetime, I'm told that XM is a seperate company and therfore can't transfer my Sirius lifetime. The company webiste is SiriusXM; they answer the phone SiriusXM and I'm sure each employees paycheck says SiriusXM. Even the new literature I get with my new vehicle says SiriusXM but am still told they are seperate. I would like to hear from ANYONE having this same issue as I plan on contacting an attorney about the possibility of moving forward with a class action suit. My e-mail is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marce3027 Jun 07, 2011

    I purchased a life time subscription back on 2007 and it worked fine until this january2011 when it just stop working, i called sirius and oh sorprise my information is not on their system and the ESN of my radio is under somebody else that cancelled his subscription like a year ago...now i'm dealing with the BBB and the FCC to try to get my service back and also trying to figure this out...of course they are asking me for the receipt when i bought the subscription but i don't have it so here i'm trying to get this resolve does anyone had the same problem or something like that happened...????? any sugestions????

    0 Votes
  • Au
    audrey.synn Jan 12, 2011

    if we dont make any sense on the phones its because
    A: We are sooooo tired of explaining the SAME thing to 500 pissed off people who just argue with us and expect us to bend company policies. As if we have an "erase bill" or "refund all the money" button we can just click to make all your problems magically go away.

    B: We are all REALLY high. or drunk. or tweaked the [censor] out. some of us havn't slept in 2 or 3 days. We may place you on hold to go snort some crystal meth in the bathrooms.

    C: You people are RUDE. You call cussing and hollering. as if thats going to get you anywhere. AHAHA. We just hang up on you or transfer you to the spanish department. We sooo do not have to put up with your [censor].

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Lee J Jan 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    When the free six months expired on my Sirrius radio I sent in $154 for a one year subscription. I have been on the phone for 26 minutes with a lady I can barely undrstand and she won't let me talk to a supervisor. This is an awful company. Sirrius could care less about customers. They admit to having my $154, sitting there doing nothing and will not start my service. Back on hold now while she claims to be looking for a supervisor. Whether this gets worked out or not at this point is immaterial. What is material is the companies incompetance, use of people who are not adequately trained to speak English and understand a problem, and the callousness towards consumers.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jacko Oct 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered ONE year subscription and paid by check. Did not want to renew, so called to cancel. They kept putting me on hold...total phone time 42 minutes...to be told that I cannot cancel, because it is an "automatic renewal"...and apparently I am being turned over to Collections for a bill that I never received. Asked for the manager RAY CORTEZ - who was unable to help me cancel my account.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael_Todd Oct 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would be interested in speaking with you regarding the potential claims you have against the telemarketers. give me a call at [protected] x 84. - michael todd

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stray! Sep 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a cell phone number that was previously owned by a Sirius/XM user. For 5 months now, i have been receiving calls from XM telemarketers. I have requested each time to be removed from their call list because I am not the person they are trying to reach and they are calling a cell phone. Each time the person on the phone says they will remove my number from the list. This has been going on for over 5 months! I want to take legal action as i am tired of their harrassment!! This is the number they call from866-557-8552.

    0 Votes
  • Sg
    SgtRockUSMC Sep 24, 2010

    I for one couldn't be happier with my Sirius (lifetime) subscription. I can see his point though, if you buy tires with a lifetime warranty those tires better damn well have the same amount of tread on them 300, 000 miles later. If I get a bag of Oreos and it says satisfaction guaranteed or my money back, I want to eat the whole package and bring it back empty for a full refund, no questions asked.

    Stop your whining! Your equipment didn't last as long as you anticipated, it wasn't designed obsolesence, it just broke. Sirius has been a stand up company on the 2 or 3 occassions I had to call them. I don't know how you got mistreated by their customer service department, all I can say is they went above and beyond my expectations to answer questions and make me feel valued.

    When I signed up for the lifetime subscription, I asked questions. Of course it isn't your lifetime, who has EVER heard of such a thing? It doesn't exist in any business I've ever heard of. As a matter of fact, a lifetime warranty can have a legal definition where as long as it is a minimum of 3 years it's all good. But they go one better and allow 3 transfers at $75 each. If you get 3 years out of a single reciever, never transfer to another, never listen online, you've still saved money. If you do decide to activate a new receiver for $75 you only need to listen to it for 6 months to be in the black on that deal.

    -1 Votes
  • Mi
    Mirando Sep 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    NOTHING is worth the grief XM radio subjects its customers to. XM has a very creative billing procedure. You'll get random bills for a variety of packages you don't want in time increments that don't make sense. Their billing statements are obtuse and purposefully obfuscatory. Last year I had to have my credit card company handle the dispute. Here's my advice. Buy an iPod and get your own podcasts and music. You'll be listening to what you want and in the end it will be less expensive and less of an aggravation. Unfortunately, you won't get XM to listen to you unless you scream at the poor "customer service" representative -- if you can get one to answer the phone. (They have their own definition of service that I'm not familiar with. It involves abusing and annoying the customer.) I've just reached my limit of patience and cancelled my account. Some more advice: if you want to cancel your account, do not use the word "cancel" with the service rep! You'll be put on hold or they'll just drop your call. Tell them you have a billing question. Get referred to someone in billing and then demand cancellation. Good luck. You've entered the abyss. Lasciate ogne speranza, voi ch'intrate. The 666 in the phone number should have been a clue.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike_P Aug 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    http://www.xmradio.com/pdf/xm_tc_050310.pdf

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike_P Aug 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    9. Lifetime Subscription Plan: A "Lifetime Subscription" is one that continues for the life of the Receiver equipment. Lifetime Subscriptions are nonrefundable. You may cancel a Lifetime Subscription but if you cancel during the first year of service you will be charged a cancellation fee set forth in these Terms. Non Automotive Receivers: A Lifetime Subscription associated with a home, portable, or dock & play Receiver is transferable from one Receiver to another Receiver, up to a maximum of three (3) times. For each permitted transfer of a subscription from one Receiver to another or from one person to another you will be charged a transfer fee set forth in these Terms. Automotive Receivers: A Lifetime Subscription is not transferable if it is associated with a Receiver installed by an automaker or an automotive dealer in a vehicle, except in the event the original Receiver associated with that Lifetime Subscription is stolen, accidentally damaged or if, in the sole discretion of XM, it is defective. For each permitted transfer of a subscription from one person to another based upon a stolen or accidentally damaged Receiver you will be charged a transfer fee set forth in these Terms. No transfer fee will be charged for the transfer of a Lifetime Subscription associated with a Receiver installed by an automaker

    2 Votes
  • Gd
    GD_Parrot Aug 24, 2010

    I just had this issue yesterday as I traded in both my wife's car and my car for new cars in the last 7 days. All the cars had factory-installed XM in them. 3 years ago we signed up for XM for life TWICE (her car and mine) at a grand total of $800. I was told that I would be allowed 3 transfers (each) during that "lifetime." When I called yesterday, I was told that I would have to pay $75 twice for the transfer fee (original contract says "a transfer fee MAY be charged"). On top of that, the rep told me that the transfer is not available at all FROM factory installed radios, only from third party portable radio units. After much discussion the rep agreed to waive this policy as I was not told about it (I still cannot find where it is referenced in my documentation). Overall, a horrible customer service experience, took almost two hours on top of it all.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    DatelessNerd Aug 21, 2010

    Waaaaaa!

    I bought an Audiovox PNP2 with a lifetime subscription over 6 years ago. At the same time, I bought three extra remotes. I never use the buttons or dial on the unit, because they're the parts that are by far the most likely to wear out.

    If the Audiovox unit ever dies, $75 to transfer the lifetime subscription to a brand new radio is peanuts. And with 3 transfers allowed, my Sirius subscription will easily outlive me. It's far more likely that satellite radio technology will become obsolete before I have to pay for another subscription.

    I've already saved $500 over what I would've paid for a monthly subscription, I get Sirius Internet Radio for no extra charge, and I'm "playing with house money" for the rest of my life.

    I made out so good, I feel guilty. You crybabies are incredible!

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    smanasse Jul 31, 2010

    I can completely see how this person was also ripped off. I even called and cancelled and was told 2 years later, that I never cancelled, so they have a right to charge me! finally received a refund on some of the money they stole from me.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    BiancaCicc Jul 26, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They did that to me a few years ago. they said that because I had originally put it on my credit card that it gave them permission to charge it again. Needless to say I fought it and they took it off my card.After months of fighting. Good luck

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.