SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Sheetzhateful cashiers

1
M Review updated:

My mother-in-law and I stopped at Sheetz so she could get gas and cigarettes one day. I went in to pre-pay the gas and get her smokes for her assuming the ditz behind the counter would realize that I am well above 18 years old. Well apparently they just hire anyone at this store and she carded me. I told her I didn't have it and she refused to sell them to me. I said " okay let me pay for the gas and she can come get her own cigarettes." The woman behind the counter then began to yell at me like I was a child and screamed at me "I CAN"T DO THAT! I CAN"T DO THAT!" It was extremely embrassing because everyone in the store turned they're attention to me like I stole something. Unless I have no choice, I don't stop there anymore.

Responses

  • C
      Aug 25, 2008
    Sheetz - Bathroom
    Sheetz
    Intersection of Route 40 and Route 66
    Hagerstown
    Maryland
    United States

    On 8/24 I needed to use the facilities while my husband was pumping gas. Of the three stalls in the ladies bathroom, two were without doors and the floor was filthy in addition to an overfill of the sanitary napkin container.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Jan 02, 2009

    I apologize for your bad experience at Sheetz, but there is no reason to talk about the salesperson that way.

    Sheetz policy is to ID ANYONE under 30. If the salesperson did not ID you and you happened to be a secret shopper from Sheetz, or with the state, that employee would have been handed a red card, and suspended for 1 week for tobacco, or fired for Alcohol. If caught by the state not IDing, that store would lose their buy down costs and cigarettes would jump $10 a carton, thus losing all cigarette sales for that month. It's very easy to get cigarettes, BRING AN ID!

    +2 Votes
  • S
      Jan 03, 2020

    @Riseagainst540 She isn't making a complaint about being carded (therefore shouldn't have added that part in) but had to since it does say "be as detailed as possible". I think you know exactly what she's referring to and are just looking for an excuse to brush it aside, as it seem to do on every complaint I've read so far. She talking about the inappropriate behavior about the paying for of the Feul! You need ID to pay for feul now? There was no reason for the worker to yell "I can't do that" twice. My question is, she can't do what? Take payment for the gas?! What!? Whatever...

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jan 03, 2020

    @ShawnTEspenlaub I am of course commenting on only the fact that the complainant is bringing to the table. We can all assume that the customer started the childishness first, but that what's wrong with our country. I thought you were innocent until proven otherwise, not ASSUMED guilty until proven innocent!! If the customer started it, shame on her, but the worker shouldn't be Yelling, at anyone!

    0 Votes
  • J
      Oct 20, 2009

    The Sheetz employee is just doing her job. I'm sure YOU were the one that started with the attitude. I've delt with people like you all my life and I don't think I'll ever get used to it. Get a life lady!!!

    +2 Votes
  • A
      May 02, 2010

    Sheetz has the ALE on their butts, as well as Sheetz' very own BARS program. The law by the ALE is now anyone who LOOKS under 40 needs to be asked for ID for alcohol, and anyone who LOOKS under 30 needs ID for cigarettes... If a cashier at Sheetz even TOUCHES the cigarettes/alcohol (which is tricky, thanks to sparks and 4lokos) they are "red-carded" or arrested if its the ALE... as well if they accept an expired or broken ID. I work there, and I'm very paranoid about going to jail over something so crazy (touching the item WHILE asking for id, looking to see if it is alcohol or an energy drink, etc)... and EVERY DAY I have to deal with people flipping out about "not looking 18"... Take questions for ID as a compliment, and if you have it, just give it to them... you have someone's criminal record on the line. My motto as a sheetz employee who helps at the register is now, "Its not me, its the ALE".

    (I know this "complaint" is 2 years old, but it has to be known to the public as much as possible).

    +5 Votes
  • L
      May 15, 2010

    The law is "you must ID anyone who appears less than 27 years old". I don't know why they use that but that's the way it is. In general they card anyone buying cigs as a general policy...if they sale to a minor it is VERY EXPENSIVE, not to mention being in the local news most likely and the person selling the cigs could be fined personally and be ARRESTED. The local yokels plant kids all the time to catch stores selling OR not ID'ing people. If you smoke I suppose you will have to get used to it as everywhere I have been does it.

    +6 Votes
  • N
      May 06, 2011

    Okay, how about this one. New Stanton Pa sheetz, we have had ULTIPLE bad experiences with this sheetz. A lot of my neighbors complain about all the kids that work there. Food is never up to par, customer service is horrible but I was on a trip today, wanted to accomplish a couple things at once so I broke my rule of not going there...God do I regret thAt. NEVER AGAIN! Okay so they card for cigerettes. Im 42 years old, but okay. I give them my license that has an expired date BUT I have the LEGAL camera card with the scanner bar on it. The cashier and the manager proceed to tell me that the corporation does not honor this...really? So I called a friend who is a state police officer, , , funny...they accept it, all other state agencies take them but sheetz wont? REALLY? Come on. And the cashier was hurried, rude, and the fish I went in to get in the first place was raw, and my sons pork sandwich had huge gobs of fat on it. (gross).When I told the cashier I was going to get in touch with the corporation about this manner I was hit with " go right ahead lady"... So my trip to sheetz, waste of time and money. I travel for a living, I wont recommend going to sheetz to anyone that I do business with and I will never revisit one again. Heres an idea Sheetz, give your employees training classes on these things: how to dress, pull your saggy pants, dont scream and carry on when you have customers in the store, dont sing loudly like your entertaining everyone-your not. Talk to your elders as if they are your elders and above all...the customer is ALWAYS right. oh and I shoulda taken pics of the food and downloaded them but unfortunatley I didnt bring them home. they went into the trash outside McDonalds...where we ate.

    -2 Votes
  • N
      May 06, 2011

    Love how the kid above says" Ive dealt with people like you "all my life" yep..all 20 years of it..again with the "lady" must be sheetz slang for piss off

    +1 Votes
  • A
      May 25, 2011

    Sheetz can only accept VALID photo identification; this is not a cooperate policy it is a federal law. I worked at a Sheetz where a nursing student worked part time to help pay for her school. She failed to card a person that appeared of age to her, because she didn't want to deal with a person, well, like you. That person ended up being undercover with the police. I am sure they picked this person because even at 17 years old he had grey in his beard. She sold him the cigarettes and got slapped with a big fine, and a criminal record. When she finished college and could not be hired because of her criminal record. This will end soon but what a setback. My advice to you is to renew your license as law requires if you are eligible to drive. If not, obtain a valid ID card. Just because somebody else will accept your invalid license does not mean that that they are doing it legally. Your state police officer story has no merit. They know that valid identification must be presented when asked and your identification was expired, and by law not valid. You have other complaints that don't seem right. Sheetz has very strict dress code. If you saw saggy pants New Stanton I could see where there may be a specific issue but you imply that wherever you go Sheetz employees are wearing gangster pants. Lastly, the food. If you would have come back to the store with your purchase Sheetz would have made it right, or did the best they could.

    +2 Votes
  • S
      Jan 03, 2020

    @another whiner 17 yr old cop you say . . . . With a grey beard . . . .Hahahaha I smell BS on this one. Nice story though.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jan 03, 2020

    @another whiner I do agree with the end part though.
    "Sheetz has very strict dress code. If you saw saggy pants New Stanton I could see where there may be a specific issue but you imply that wherever you go Sheetz employees are wearing gangster pants. Lastly, the food. If you would have come back to the store with your purchase Sheetz would have made it right, or did the best they could."

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jun 23, 2011

    I agree with both sides here (but not the original comment). Some employees are rude, sloppy, lazy, and don't care about customer service AT ALL. On the other hand, I am a new Sheetz employee, about to become a manager, and understand that there are rules and laws we must follow. Customers aren't aware of either of these and therefore immediately get upset. We HAVE to ask for ID if you look under 30 for tobacco (and lighters, and fireworks) and if you look under 40 for alcohol. We also have to scan the ID's to ensure they are valid and not expired. If we take an expired ID we could lose our job. No one is worth my job. Period.

    Customers should look at it that way. Is anyone worth you losing your job, not being able to pay your bills, or feed your kids? Nope. So then someone freaking out over some "ditz" not being a psychic and knowing their real age is just ridiculous. Also, if a customer says they'll just have someone else buy the item for them that's a 2nd party sale and also not allowed. Heck, if you're going to do that then don't tell us and make sure we don't see it or we have to follow the laws and the rules.

    Back to the complaints about the food and employee appearance/attitudes. Complain. Call or email corporate. Those slackers should be written up and/or fired. I already have a list of things the people at my store do wrong and it's insane. They wear shirts 3 sizes too big, pants that look like they are their pajamas, hats crooked, hair all around their face and falling out of sloppy ponytails. It's embarrassing to work next to them and I plan on making sure this doesn't continue at least on the shifts I cover. The same people are sloppy and messy with the food they make. They don't care what it looks like or anything. They'll get sauce all over a wrapper and not care (who wants to take their sub out of the bag and get ranch all over their hands or clothes?), they'll skimp on a topping because they're too lazy to get more out, they is no sense of urgency when customers are waiting... UGH! It's so insane. Customer service is so important and every customer you lose costs you money. Having said that, the customers who want to start complaints about being asked for an ID should grow up and deal with it. I'm over 30 and always have my ID ready when I go out and I don't expect to get served if I leave it at home. I think of it as an "I got lucky" if I get served with no ID.

    0 Votes
  • S
      Jan 03, 2020

    @So where's my penny? Very mature comment and great viewpoint on things for customers. It's crazy though that you've just admitted to seeing first hand what a lot of these other complaints are about, yet the reply to these other valid complaints are still a "deal with it" kind of reply. Just crazy.

    0 Votes
  • T
      Sep 12, 2013

    I understand reasons for needing an Id, but when they alllllll see you everyday and very well know your age, and your a loyal customer, and refuse to sell you cigarettes because your wallet was stolen. Are you kidding me? Im sorry thats poor customer service no matter how you spin it.. n they say its policy all day but you know what?? I see them breaking other policies all day. But oh.. I'm sorry thats ok for your employees to be lazy, its only what you pay them to do. Yet a PAYING customer gets no slack?? Get your priorities straight sheetz. I will not go there anymore!

    +1 Votes
  • L
      Sep 16, 2013

    Sorry, ANYONE SELLING CIGS IS REQUIRED BY LAW..YES LAW TO VERIFY AGE...YOU MUST HAVE ID, SO JUST FOLLOW THE LAW AND YOU'LL HAVE NO PROBLEM GETTING GIGS. As to the reaction of the clerk...I see plenty of anger in your post...so maybe it's not exactly as you stated. Either way YOU MUST PRESENT ID.

    +1 Votes
  • H
      Aug 09, 2014

    I went to the Sheetz in Leesburg Va. to grab some drinks and a pack of cigarettes. They refused to sell me cigarettes because my 14 year old son didn't have an ID. I asked to see the manager and she told me that's Sheetz policy. When did this happen.

    +1 Votes
  • S
      Jan 03, 2020

    @HKboy That's a new one I've never heard of before. This should be your own separate complaint. . . .

    0 Votes
  • L
      Jun 12, 2015

    I applied for short term disablitily back in April 20105, all paper work requested has been submitted and I am unable to get any updates to how my complaint is progressiing

    0 Votes

Post your comment