The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Saudi Telecomlucky draw scam

Somebody called me from “+[protected]”, whose name was mohammed iqbal. He said that he is a supervisor in geo mobile company and calling from dubai. He said that my stc sim serial number starting from 899660 is in the list of the lucky draw which include sawa, watani, mobily and other mobile companies, and you won 200, 000 saudi riyals, if you give me pin number of two vouchers of 350 riyals than i can process the bank transfer in your card pin numbers and show to these cards with iqama copy to al - rajhi bank to collect the money. So i gave him pin number of two vouchers of 350 sr total of 700 sr after collecting the voucher numbers he hold me for twenty minutes and then said that half of the bank draft number is appeared and remaining will come when i give him more two of same value voucher’s pin numbers. Then i understood that this is a scam and i cursed him because i lost my 700 sr.

Responses

  • Ra
    [email protected] Oct 15, 2017

    Hi similar type of fraud I face in UK, one person called from UK number [protected], he said your number has won the lottery of 50000£. Then I urged with how can I believe, he told some number and told check back of the SIM which was correct.Then I believed later told collect the from nearest Barclays Bank.then I went to take ID proof later he told to receive this huge amount you need pay 500£. Then I again urgude why should I pay if I had won the lottery. I told I won’t pay later he told this also willing returned it’s just matter of 10 minuets, & he also told me not to discount the call it u transfer the money. Like I paid 8000£ .now one person has promised me that I will all the money what I given to them if I transfer 450£ for file closing His name is Shad Usman and he working is STC company in UAE +[protected]. after reading all these scam even I feel I have been e cheated. He also speaks very smoothly and keep say Marsha alla . Because these people veryboby been loosing there money. I told home share company ID . I think even this they faked. For reference I have attached the ID. Please arrest them & nicely punished.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Za
    zahwa Feb 21, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    some one called me yesterday from [protected], name MOHAMED ARFAN he said that he is supervisor from stc and zain comp he said my sim serial card number zain won the lucky draw 200 000 saudi riyals he give me two numbers of last calls i perform to my country, he asked me tow vousher of 300 rials then one vousher zain total of 700 saudi rials. he asked me my iqama number so hi can process the bank transfer he hold me for more than 30 min and he asked me 5 vousher of 300 saudi ryals total of 1500 sr. then he keep calling me more than 50 times informing me that he perform my fil in to dobei saudia and kuweit, need an other 9 vousher of 300 saudi rials he asked me if ihave imo number so he call by the new number0598234939 and he send me bank draft 200 000 sr my name and my number of iquama hi asked me to urgently give the 2700 saudi ryals so he can finish my file so i can go to any rajhi bank and redrow the check. when i so the draft he send to me i inderstood that this fake .i lost 700 sr plus 1500 sr total of 2200saudi ryals. i pray good to curssed him .please dont trust and beleve on any call. .

    0 Votes
  • Sd
    Sdpp Jan 26, 2016

    Dear All,
    STC has short code to report such instance on their web site via a text message to 800825 showing the calling number and will be handled and tracked by concerned authorities

    I got same call and I reported it on above short code via text.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Salim9890 Oct 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello everyone just a hour ago I got a call from [protected] / [protected] this numbers the callers name khalid said to me You are won 200000 riyal in our stc lucky draw he said me you just need to buy stc voucher amount of 1500 and transfer voucher number to us we are verify and later you got a call from al rakhi bank and also they return your 1500 riyal for buyer stc vouchers I know very well this is scam so I ignored them and not responded to call please don't trust any lucky draw be alert.

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    HiteshTople Jul 03, 2015

    On 30th June 2015 i received call about winning 20000 KD and they ask me to pay 280 KD to release amount. I paid 280 KD and then he send me one cheque on whats app and told to pay 470 kd so they will send 10 digit code and i can clear cheque from Al Mulla exchange. I paid 470 kd then they called me and gave me 5 digit and said to pay 630 kd for remaining 5 digit. I paid 630 kd and they provided only 3 digit and said when u will pay 480 kd 3 days advertisement cost on al jazeera channel they will release remaining 2 digit. I paid same. Then they gave me remaining two digits. Then they called me this is international lucky draw from kuwait, Saudi and dubai and your file is cleared now and proceed to saudi. They asked me to pay 730 kd as saudi tax to release money. I paid same then called me and said congratulation your file is clear and proceed to kuwait and to receive money you have to pay 930 kd. Then i stopped paying. Almost i lost 2500 KWD. My bad luck. We are giving suggestions to ther not to believe such kind of call but dont know how i did that. They have very good communicating skill to hipnotise you. Really my all bank account emptied. I have attached here cheque images so like us no one can get cheat.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blank call May 26, 2015

    today i got the call from this number [protected] and they said congratulations u have won 50000 riyal and hesaid that i have to purchase 300 riyal of 4 sawa cards then he said he will ask tha voucher number but i didnt puchase the cards

    0 Votes
  • Cy
    CYBER CRIME OFFICE UK2UK8 May 16, 2015

    CONTACT CYBER CRIME BUREAU INVESTIGATION DEPARTMENT E-MAIL:[email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Dr Umm e Salma May 14, 2015

    i got the same call today from a saudi no [protected], it was some one speaking Urdu ( bt by accent he appeared to be indian or bangladeshi in nationality
    he told me for 3 days ur name is announced on tvs as u got a 200000 sar as a prize money of stc lottery
    then he told me that same sm no 899660 and told me to shut down ur mobile and take out ur sim to confirm the no on its back
    I asked him why u r using mobile no to call me...if its official why u r not calling from some official no
    he said me to disconnect and we will contact through the official no
    after 5 secs i received a call from 902 saying the same
    and when i argued a little more...he bacame straight that if u dont want to claim ur prize ...we will cancel ur name and will draw another name

    this is just a 2 hours back story

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sajid Shafi Apr 20, 2015

    Today i received the similar call from the number [protected] and the person, urdu speaking may be indian or pakistani, told me that u r very lucky to have won SAR 200, 000 from STC. then he told that he will inform me the procedure to get the money and was asking me how much time you willl take to go to Alrajhi nearest you. To make the impression he informed me the numbers which i used to call from my SIM. he said since three days on different tv channles my SIM nyumber is shown as winner so please dont disclose to any one that u are the winner otherwise someone will put you in trouble.
    People please be aware of these fradulents.
    Immediately I threatened him that you are scam and i will lodge a complaint against you only then he stopped calling.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    visual yonjan Feb 13, 2015

    It depends on their luck

    0 Votes
  • Za
    ZahidMurtaza Dec 21, 2014

    Received almost exactly similar call. From these words of lottery of 2, 000, 000 SAR and calling froma private number..! :) I knew it is a scam and most I can do is scold him and try to realize him that he is fake. He held up immediatly.
    The no from which I received call was: [protected] and gave his name as Zeeshan.
    I dont know how to complain about this and while searching found this forum.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Mohammed firoz Khan Nov 08, 2014

    i already did and that person number has been banned . together with this i went to STC office . and come to know there are some additional no regsitered at my iqama no . i just told him to deactivate . he deactivate it .and that person no is also blocked . now my concern iis there any possiblility to return my recharge scratch no . beause i am sure the card which is recharged by the fraud .he even did not get time to sell the balance .because after few days . i am able to get banned his number .beause still i kept that scartch
    no . may be in future needed .

    0 Votes
  • Fk
    FKazi Nov 08, 2014

    To all those who are receiving or have received these calls, STC has asked to message the number you are being called from to 800825. They will be handled and tracked by concerned authorities inShaAllah.
    Following is the link for further information regarding this scam from STC.
    http://www.stc.com.sa/wps/wcm/connect/english/stc/NewsItems/sawa-scam

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Mohammed firoz Khan Sep 20, 2014

    i also lost my 1300sr by this cheating . they took my iqama detail and send the sms where stc pin was there . clearly it was written not
    to give pin.even stc employee will not ask . but he carry allah name in this things . he told me allah sab ko nahi deta hai . aap ne jo naik kaam kiya hai .allah ne ush ke badle main ye inaam diya hai. and i think he is muslim and i was positive towards muslim brothers .and i have given the pin no . and when i given pin no. i got into his trap . and i lost 1300 sr . after loosing 1300 sr .he called at my phone again and i have given some abuses . i went to stc office .and i went to police stattion . and i have all the card whose scratch he took me .my question is there no any punishment rule in saudi arabia .for such kind of activity. or saudi arabia is telling across the world we follow 100% islam . means if some one did crime . he will be punished as well .i am really shocking i have their
    mobile no and those card which scratch no he took by cheating . from which they called and cheated 1300 sr. and police still did not do anything .or let me know the proper way so that i go ahead for his punishment . it was my hard earn money .

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sarath227 Aug 24, 2014

    Hi
    i got a call from [protected] telling that you won a prize money of 2 lakhs, he put me in hold for 30 minutes.After that asked me
    to buy recharge cards of sar1800.At that time i realized it was a fakecall. There is no such lottery from STC.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    duard Aug 04, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well i just got ac all to this mohammad erfan guy and told the same winning 200, 000 and after giving him my phone number, he told me there's a pw to be sent tome and it should not be shared to anyone even to the stc people guy, Later upon my repeated inquiry he later ask me to give him my iqama no. then I told him why i should give you my Iqama no. then I suspect something not right and later I told him why I should give you my Iqama no. then he told you like to your money? Well in my mind first of all it is not my money> So I told him NO. ithat instant he talk in different language and that's it they end the call.
    These group of people are swindlers, just be aware because these people will just pop up in your life. JUST REMEMBER YOU DIDN'T PARTICIPATE ON ANY KIND OF RAFFLE OR WHATEVER SO DON'T EXPECTLIKE THESE PEOPLE WILL JUST POP-UP IN YOU AND TELL YOU. YOU WON. I hope they will have their time and it is coming to them.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jamer shaikh Aug 02, 2014

    you are true today i will call also lottery person and thes person speak me you win the 20;000sr and thes one give me number my sim and speak me my frinde please chack the number your sim and call back me but i think that is fake and i will hack the about informathion in the google and i sathies fide i red thies informassion thankes to google so any person have like thies call be alert thies number [protected] or another number

    0 Votes
  • Om
    Omamah Jul 04, 2014

    hello
    I am also the victim of this scam. I paid 375$ then they ask for more. well it was too late but I realised its a scam. I cursed them and they hung up.I cried and cried and cried of what I did. I really work through my bones to get better life for my kids. May Allah Bless us and deal with those scams. Insha Allah

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    willie_ffi Jun 29, 2014

    Same story, the number used by the person [protected], then the verification code 8996601. But before his call by friend told this already to me that he won same prize SAR 200000.00. Thanks to my friend at least I am aware what the scam is all about.

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    Syed MohsinAli Jun 23, 2014

    Assalamu alaikum, Dear friends i got a call from pakistani man one called junaid n another man called Imran. Both saying you have won 200, 000SR from lucky draw. They insisted me to hold the call n provided the lottory no.n told ur cheque is not opening.u need to provide 300sr seven cards. I understood n told him that u provide me first cheque no then i will confirm this with bank n then i will provide u serial no.of cards. These are cheaters n we shd b very careful from them.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    waheeda May 28, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Alhamdulilah Allah saved me today ...a man called me through this number [protected] and told me i won a lottery of 200, 000 riyals ...he even told me the balance i had on my phone and the ppl i called through my number ...he even told me that someone else won 100, 000 riyals and that man's number is [protected]...this man gives me the testimony that he won this 100, 000 riyals and i can also win ...please beware of these numbers [protected], [protected] ...as they are very convinving ...please stc team put an end to such ppl

    1 Votes
  • In
    inesluisa May 25, 2014

    same experience here i just arrived from philippines a month ago and then someone calles me and said that i won 200000sr i was so convinced because they mentioned every number i called for the past days they knew my load balance..they asked my passport number and my name. then i was so convinced that when they asked me to send them voucher of worth 1200sr lod i panicked to where to get that smount that i didnt bother to question if it was a scam.i wasted 500sr.the next day they called again to collect the 700sr remaining and i firmly said no i just want my 500sr back they said i will et it the bank after i give the remaining voucher then they hang up and never called again the next day i rcvd a text frm a number saying its frm a man in al rhaji with numbers i never bother to check in the bank.stupid me.wish allah will punish them.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    MohamedAwal May 20, 2014

    I was cheated 2750SR . they got me into buying the sawa cards in return of winning 200, 000 SR to pick up at Al rajhi bank. They said they called me from the STC company and knew my name and registration. I hope STC take actions against these criminals. Their phone numbers are [protected] [protected] [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    faizahmed May 18, 2014

    i also got same call from [protected] and name was ali raza from pakistan, he offered me 200, 000 as lucky winner from stc. all was ###ing ### . he told me buy five cards of 300 recharge coupon and give me serial no. Before to buy and give it him i got him he was ###ing cheater. and i asked him to locate i wil come to stc office right now then he refuse and disconnected my phone. finally i lodge complain in stc, cause he knew everything about my sim card, my name, registration date, where i made call, domestic, international .how this possible

    0 Votes
  • Am
    A. Mohammed Apr 30, 2014

    Dear ALL, I have received a call yesterday & was duped of SR3600 for SAWA Cards. Call was from SAWA No.[protected] STC Jeddah offices, Palestine street. He has provided all info about my SIM Card no, current balance, 3-4 calls made earlier and also noted my A/c & Iqama details. No action from STC/Police for these cheaters. May ALLAH SWT provide hidayah to these cheaters.

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    HISHAM MEHMOOD Apr 13, 2014

    TODAY, I recieved call From mobile [protected] from MUHAMMAD IMRAN from STC. He told me my sim card lucky seserial 899660 (All sim card start the same) had just been selected and I had won 200000 SR...AT LAST I told him ur fake and abuses to him alot...

    0 Votes
  • Su
    suresh karthick Mar 29, 2014

    Same matter two day before
    One person call on this number0503548756 name
    Rekhan patel cheat for me
    I loss of money10000sr please see this scam ya alla
    H save this people

    0 Votes
  • Za
    Zainhabz Mar 18, 2014

    Stc mafi faida.. Not doing anything to catch this devilish people... Satan... Haram.. How come they are allowing it in Saudi?... I'm very disappointed!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    Syed Sohaib Mar 09, 2014

    guys what are u doing about this, i mean who tried to lodge a complain with the cops...!!

    0 Votes
  • Pw
    pwzb Jan 01, 2014

    In order to block them, you can send a text sms to 800825 with mobile number in the body. This is how I did and got them blocked, so that they will not hurt any innocent further.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    sirajudeen abdul salam Dec 29, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes it happened to me today and when i check this STC sute i got many people got the same experience. i am sure they are working at STC only because he told me my sim card number, last call details and last prepaid charged deatils. where he can got this info? also he sent an SMS which contains a code number. this SMS from STC only. please be aware

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    Abdullah Khan Dec 23, 2013

    All complaints checked it is the same old story unfortunately no action taken. STC doesn't care, they only talk of offers. Please direct me to the complain board. The world is advanced with latest technology and agree it's all around the world. It is ashamed that not a single complain is put in action or investiaged. I urge everyone to form a community and workout to catch the culprit.
    Today December 22, 2013 one stupid guy called my wife in her number and spoke to her in Arabic informing that he is calling from STC. My wife responded that she doesn't understand Arabic so immediately a guy started to speak in urdu asking sister are you from India or Pakistan. Then he told her you are the lucky winner as above to give him immediately the sim number at the back.
    My wife passed the phone and the guy got my Iqama number, Bank account number and SIM number. Requested me to buy 300 SR three cards immediately from the nearest supermarket. I rushed directly to STC office which is very near to my home but unfortunately no one to listen to me infact i wanted to put that guy with STC senior staff but they were busy with their breakfast. Only advised me it's a scam I pleaded to trace the number only they gave me a number saying that send message to xxxxxxx number STC.
    Meantime informed that I am with STC officers and you will be reported to Police. He immediately started cursing me and saying that your wife life is in danger Bla Bla Bla. Please STC or any telecom company must respond to such a nuisance. Although The guy did not benefit from me. Many innocents are cheated and they out of curiosity recharge that guys mobile freely.

    0 Votes
  • Ex
    expatriat Dec 14, 2013

    dear guys the same thing happened to me these guys are cheating peoples.
    beware of them.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    bakaran Nov 16, 2013

    just one hour before some one called in broken arabic. i asked about his nationality. he told me he was an Indian. I asked him tu speak in urdu or hindi. then one pakistani guy named mohd. asif started talking the same same thing. I knew it is a scam so i didnt call back.

    0 Votes
  • Jh
    Jhed Nov 12, 2013

    Good day.. thnks to every one who share thier experience about these ###.. just recently i received call from a certain guy (Indian) their number [protected], the same thing they are talking about, will give you ang winning number match to your simcard (1st seven numbers found at back of your sim), afterwards they will ask you to call them back after you confirm it or if not they will call you back to know if you bait their trap. & followed by asking you to do many things just for you to get your winning money. please beware of these people.. take gud care everyone... God bless us all

    0 Votes
  • Yh
    Yhpars Oct 23, 2013

    Oh my God, seems a lot was victim of this scams and I am one of the few that was recently messed up. He was a good talker and he used the named "Allah" how cruel... I am so ashamed of myself for what had happened. Please beware guys...

    0 Votes
  • Aa
    A.Abdullah Oct 22, 2013

    Dear all, I also received a call this morning @ 10:47am (tel no. [protected]) mentioning the same thing i.e. I won SR200, 000. He asked me to call him back but I didn't. I believed that it was from a cheater. I tried to make complaint to STC thru their website but website was not responding. I hope with all these email, somebody from the authority will take legal action to those people. This is truly abusing the mobile network.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    SunshineGolden Oct 20, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have just been scammed for 3, 700 riyals I can't believe I have been took. How can they be caught?! I can't wait until the authorities catch them and then Allah subhana wa ta'ala to 'catch' them as well! In sha'a Allah, ameen!

    0 Votes
  • At
    Ataur Oct 02, 2013

    Hello Borthers and Sisters,
    Today happened same thing to me as follows;
    1) I have received a call from : [protected] caller said I am from STC and give me lucky card number : 8996601
    2) He said I have won SAR 200, 000/- a lottery from STC
    3) This price was announced in Saudi TV Chennel 2
    4) The Price Serial No. [protected]
    5) Check Number: 0013... (missing numbers)
    6) Bank Name: Al-Rajhi
    7) To get the missing Cheque Number : I have to buy 6xSAR300= SAR 1, 800/- SAWA Card and pass the numbers the him([protected])
    8) Then I will receive the missing numbers of cheque to go to Al-Rajhi Bank any Branch Manager to get my money SAR 200, 000/- + SAR 1, 800

    At the end, I did not by the cards for SAR 1, 800/- and put him online (as on HOLD) near about 45 minutes.

    After that he call me twice but I did not answer.

    Please be carfule.

    Best regards,

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amjad hussain ruknuddin Aug 03, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    dear sir tday one man called me and told that u have won 200, 000 sr draw from stc and he asked me to forward 5 sawa card no. prepaid and then he told me he will pass the cheque no to me ihave go to alrajhi thaweel and collect money.the no he was calling was0507988287 he was knowing all details about my card when i recharged and what my family no. and even balance in card. so ibeleive him and passed the card no to them now again he is calling and asking me to deposit 4500 sr to isklamic bank account dubai which i refused. pls look into the matter do needful. my no [protected]

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.