Ryland HomesBuild with poor quality

R
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Please do not buy from Ryland Homes. They are of poor quality and do not stand behind their product. For the amount of money I paid, I deserve better. The house floods everytime it rains. Paint is of low grade. Carpet is cheap. Drywall cracks. AC and pool pump have had to be replaced and repaired. Electrical breakers have gone bad already. Sprinkler system does not work. Floor is uneven causing replaced tile to crack again and again. I have not lived in my home 3yrs. yet but have had a host of problems not expected from a new home. I have regretted buying this home and wish to warn others not to make the same mistake I did.

Responses

  • Ha
    harrischer Nov 02, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The main problem with our home is the Windows. All of the windows are cloudy and the seal in the windows are not working. The issue is occurring with the majority of the homes in our community of Sienna Plantation.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rizwancoas Sep 10, 2018

    I appear to be having structure issues and cant get these people to respond

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alexa Munoz Jan 05, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    CalAtlantic Homes at Canyon Falls summed up: Liars, Thieves. Don't do business with them, you will regret itCalAtltantic's sales conduct violated the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act ("DTPA") a consumer protection statute enacted to protect consumers from false, misleading and deceptive acts and practices. CalAtlantic violated the DTPA by failing to disclose information concerning goods or services which was known at the time and such failure to disclose such information was intended to induce us into the sales transaction into which we would not have entered had the information been disclosed. Throughout the process, we were not communicated timely by our sales person, Cindy Miranda, had to make calls to the corporate office on multiple occasions in an attempt to get a response. We were told by their salesperson, Rachel, that there was no lot premium. We deposited $10, 000 of refundable earnest money with CalAtlantic. After the refundable period for our deposit ended, Cindy Miranda told us that if we still wanted to build the preferred model that we would have to pay a $15, 000 lot premium. Additionally we needed to sign the contract without a chance to review it beforehand. Under duress of losing $10, 000 we signed the sales contract. CalAtlantic did not sign-off on the correct list of options and upgrades. Once we had completed the design center process and chosen our upgrades and options, CalAtlantic signed off on the list without the low-voltage wiring upgrades. We had to correct the list for them. At the meeting that showed them they signed the incorrect list, they asked for a check from us for $56, 000. We were not told by them that we would have to pay for our options prior to closing. We would not have signed the contract had we known. Additionally, the salesperson lied to us by telling us that they had already ordered the options; however, the regional manager, Kathy Kerr, told us if we didn't want some options then they just not be ordered. Sib Woehr, sales assoc., Trish Russell, loan officer, stated CalAtlantic does not refund earnest money to consumers.
    CalAtlantic has not responded either to me or my attorney. They will not accept phone calls from me or my attorney. They do not respond to the demand letters and requests to speak with them by me or my attorney. The sales agent, Cindy Miranda, discriminated against my wife, who is Hispanic; Cindy Miranda would turn around and not acknowledge my wife when she would see her. CalAtlantic Homes representatives (Cindy Miranda, Kathy Kerr, Sib Woehler) lied to us on various occasions as to the price of items, the right to our deposit and how much money we would need. CalAtlantic was unresponsive and did not respond timely to our requests which allowed the escrow period to terminate so they could keep our earnest money deposit. We feel like they violated the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act and induced us into the contract by waiting until after the escrow period ended to respond to our communications, they withheld information, they did not communicate with us timely and they constantly misinformed us as to prices, availability, and contractual terms. We were not give a copy of our contract until after the escrow period had terminated. We were made to enter into the purchase contract under duress and threats that we would not get the lot and home model unless we signed the contract quickly without time for review. So basically, we were lied to, misinformed, not informed, discriminated (racial/ethnic) against, induced under duress, and ignored by CalAtlantic Homes. I have attached the demand letter sent to CalAtlantic by our attorney, which was never responded to by CalAtlantic. Additionally, CalAtlantic did not attempt to correct any of the violations against us, their policy is to ignore and hope that the unemployed family that they took $10, 000 from will just go away. Additionally, Theresa Russell, Loan Officer NMLS 252780 from CalAtlalantic mortgages, and Sib Woehler both told me that CalAtlantic never returns escrow deposits, unless it is a VA loan, that it is a way for the Company to make extra money.

    1 Votes
  • Jk
    JK Illinios Feb 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Before I purchased my home in 2014, I read very bad reviews (100s) about Ryland and I still did not believe them and bought my home..
    I should have taken the reviews seriously, because there homes are very bad quality and forget about the warranty. They will find 1000 reason not to fix problems.
    Do not do my mistake and run with your Money now...buy a used house build by someone else, better for you.

    0 Votes
  • Mf
    M. Fincher May 15, 2015

    We purchases a 2nd hand Ryland Home in Jacksonville, FL. This home was built in 2006 and we just moved in June 2014. You would think there wouldn't be any problems as it is less than 8 years old but shortly after moving in I noticed the front rooms carpeting seemed slightly damp to touch. We paid for an inspection of the property prior to purchasing the home and all came back good. After noticing the dampness in the front rooms, I told my neighbor and was informed that the previous owners had problems and some of the windows were replaced! This was not disclosed when we purchased the home ever! I called the builder and was told to contact the Warranty dept. After explaining my concerns, the woman in the "warranty" dept. said it wasn't covered and it basically wasn't their problem. They wouldn't even send someone out to inspect what I was concerned about. It feels like it's slab that may have cracks in it and the moisture is coming from the ground as it isn't felt around the perimeter of the rooms; just the middle floor. I wish there were builders that really cared about their reputation and built solid, quality homes!

    0 Votes
  • Hh
    HH2014 Nov 06, 2014

    Ryland homes is one of the worst company I've ever heard of. I paid for the upgrade, then they delivered the home to me without completed upgrade. I am contacting them for 5-6 weeks in a row. the keep saying in weeks in 2 weeks. Finally, I could leave a voice for the president of the company. I hope he can solve the problem, Otherwise I will and file a ...

    Please just don't buy anything from them...Also, their customer service is really poor.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karol J Sep 16, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi. I purchase from Ryland Homes and i live in Illinois. They build with poor quality and I'm talking about construction. My kitchen needs to be build again because they made huge mistake and when they find out that last cabinet is too far from wall they did extension of cabinet in about 8'' and now i have a huge gap between my fridge and wall. Plus i have a floor squeking everywhere and this is not part of house settling because: first of all they used garbage instead of play wood plus i saw ceiling in the basement that they missed 80% of screw with destination plus they even save on glue which is unbelievable. So my question is how floor not suppose to squeak if play woods are not connected to studs properly? Whoever is writing good reviews about them is a spam or is working for them!!! I had many other issues but has been fixed but this is what i have left is terrible because i have furniture everywhere and they must remove floor everywhere: tiles or carpet and connect playwoods properly! I told them about squeking even before closing and they said don't worry that this is a part of settlement but not in my case because they propably send my grandmother instead of real carpenter to build this home! Communication with them is terrible and after they got paid on closing they dont give a s...t about you! Painters did terrible job also because i have in some area some of colour paint on ceiling and many wholes on walls, trims. Now i know why they wanna pay 2 grand to everyone who will write good review because no one will do without money! Communication with them is bad and they avoid my emails! DONT BUY FROM THEM! STAY AWAY!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JohnDoe333 Sep 12, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    $250, 000 dollar home in cincinnati area...Not even 5 years old and the driveway is sinking in...Of course its not covered under the 10 year warranty...Ryland is a JOKE.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Dissappointed Home buyer Feb 20, 2014

    Your Ryland home in Arlington sounds like the one we built in Cedar Park (Austin) TX. The house was literally thrown together
    with very little quality control. Two windows on the blue print were missing. When they put them in, one of them was the wrong size and not centered as it was supposed to be. Several windows had broken seals and were bowed.There were all kinds of cracks in the foundation and one brick wall was installed without air space between the thermo ply sheathing and the bricks. The brick workers were smearing the mortar in with their fingers. Many mistakes were made on laying the brick. The house looked like someone smashed it and did a bad repair job. The roof was buckling and flashing was improperly installed. In addition, they installed the wrong cabinets, and tile in the kitchen. The exterior and interior paint was also wrong. They also ignored manufacturer instructions and installed the hardwood flooring without livable conditions. They covered the floor with paper without cleaning the construction debris. We decided that the house was so poorly constructed that we told them we were not buying it We haven't gotten our deposit back. I don't know if we will. The fact is Ryland does not care . They will turn around and sell the house for more than what was in the original contract.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angry in Arlington, Tx Jan 19, 2014

    Our entire subdivision was built (thrown together) by Ryland. The thing that irritates me the most, out of many, is the failure of the foundation. The home site was levelled with fill dirt that was not properly packed down. The foundation was poured on top of the levelled dirt without a footing. When the house was finished the contractors pushed dirt up next to the foundation to hide this. The drought has revealed the lack of a footing causing the foundation to fail. Commercials run on the radio frequently where the advertising foundation repair company claims "everyone knows the soil around here moves up and down due to the different weather conditions". My question is that if everyone knows, why doesn't Ryland take into consideration that the foundation will eventually fail if they just put it on top of the soil and build it to a standard that averts the problem. By observation, over half of the homes in my subdivision have had to have foundation repair including my neighbors. We have kept the soil in the yard moist and "watered the foundation" to try to alleviate problems that may be caused by the drought.

    The bricklayers that bricked our house must have been in training.
    The windows were substandard in that the seal on every one of them lost the seal and they clouded inside.
    Over half of the electrical plugs have come out of the wall due to broken boxes.
    The original HVAC system was not big enough for the home's square footage.
    And on and on and on. Please relate these complaints to your family and friends when they start shopping for a home. Ryland is Not a good company and their product is JUNK. The core of the house should last at least as long as the mortgage!

    2 Votes
  • Ry
    Ryland Messed Up Dec 13, 2013

    I am buying a home in Atlanta area and they messed up my costly upgraded cabinets in kitchen. Holes every where, you can see holes when cabinets are closed. Now they say they will not replace but do fillers. What a crap company!!. They are very arrogant.

    1 Votes
  • La
    Larry Norris Aug 07, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    BethannS...Hire an Attorney and take them to arbitration. You'll win. Once Ryland has your money...they play hard ball. They have lost a number of law suits and in arbitration. Mold is their middle name.

    1 Votes
  • Be
    Bethann5 Aug 06, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a ryland home in Baltimore, Maryland. It seems as if Ryland does just enough to get the house through the 1st year. I am the 2nd homeowner for this home. I (along with all my neighbors) have problems related to furnace/ cac and condensation leading to mold. I have been trying to get Ryland to repair this for over a year. Do you know of anyone who has had success in getting Ryland to take responsibility? The houses are so poorly built. It is so sad that I as many others have invested in these shoddy homes.

    3 Votes
  • La
    Larry Norris Jul 16, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Funny we have a Ryland home and everyone in our neighborhood has issues with Ryland. Look at the number of lawsuits and class actions against them. Service STOPS the day you close on your new home. I'am taking them to arbitration now because they won't return phone calls or e-mails. Buyer beware.

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    Johnol Jul 16, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Funny we have a Ryland home in DFW area and have had only a few issues. I think the wuality is fine for the price and I eblieve we recieved a good deal. I think any home has issues, obviously foundation etc are not good, but we havent had any of that.

    1 Votes
  • La
    Larry Norris Jan 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bought a Ryland home in Tampa. Problems to numerous to list. Walk thru's were a joke. Their atitude changes 1 day AFTER you close.Spent over $15, 000. repairing their mess. Attorneys are expensive. If you buy from them, ...you will regret it.

    0 Votes
  • Pg
    Pgallagher Nov 23, 2012

    I bought a Ryland home back in 2008 and still finding issues with the quality of workmanship. They use subcontractors that aren’t up to par and foreign labor (enough said). Short cuts and just lazy work, I just found a hole in my shower that was covered up with some latex sealer. No telling what else I’ll find. Don’t buy these homes.

    2 Votes
  • Ve
    very new customer....Reta Aug 15, 2012

    I bought my camera system at front door with intercom system through Ryland Homes. My house was completed in May 2011. Moved in my house in May. This is August 2012 and my camera no longer works. Ryland says my one year is up so they can do nothing. So i had to contact the manufacturing company in order to get the camera replace but i have to take the camera out myself and send it to manufacturing company which is On-Q..I have no idea how to take the camera apart. So the builder says they can send some one out but it will cost me $92.01 to send some one out. But you would think as much as they charge for the camera system and you chose to build with them they would show some type of compassion and concern for their customers other than your 1 year is up. That is their favorite saying( your 1 year is up). If i knew how to take the camera out, i would not have needed them to install the camera system from the beginning nor buy the system from them. They all tell you one story but after you get in the house its call warranty and when the warranty is expired thats it. I want my camera sytem repaired so i am paying the money to have it taken out to send to manufacturing company. Overall I am satisfied with my house. They need to stand behind the products they sell regardless and be a little more appreciative of their customers and show a little more concern. They dont care not interested its your problem now!

    1 Votes
  • Cl
    CLTRealtor Jul 31, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Complaints are helpful. Please share where your communities are located and when your home was constructed. I have found that many of these complaints are based on the contractors but the responsibility is on the Building Supervisor. A great building supervisor makes a HUGE difference. He/She is the one that has the rapport with all contractors and sets/assures all work meets expectations. There are many hands involved in building a home and much of the responsibility (and pressure) is on the Supervisor. This does not exempt the builder from responsibility but you will find that a great Building Supervisor means all the difference. I am not a Ryland employee. I am a Realtor and this is based on my experience with Ryland in addition to many other builders.

    2 Votes
  • Pi
    Pissed in Cedar Park Jul 26, 2012

    I bought my Ryland home 13 years ago in Austin TX. I recently had my 2 air conditioners replaced which were original to the house. One system is slightly bigger than the other to better handle the larger square footage on the second floor. When Ryland built the home, they got them reversed. When the Lennox technicians pulled one of the old AC units from the attic, they found that the books, manuals and warranties package inside the unit which was restricting flow and efficiency. Nice job Ryland, you [censored]stain of a crappy ### builder. I will not stop until I tell the world to avoid your ### company's products.

    1 Votes
  • Kc
    KCCHILDS Jan 02, 2012

    We built a Ryland home in Summerville SC, a little over a year ago. The paint is the poorest quality they could get. Scratches and rubs off easily, and doesn't touch up well. My entire downstairs is wood floors, and they look really good, but are very very soft and fragile. We walk the house every weekend with one of those touch up pens to fill the chips and scratches. We asked for laminate and were told no, only wood. We did the highest upgrade on stainless appliances, and our dishwasher seems to be the lowest quality grade with just a stainless front to look good. Nail pops all over, which they will fix after the first year, but you have to repaint. No peep hole in your front door. Had to do several walk throughs with the stickers to show what needed to be fixed over and over again. Sometimes the stickers were removed and the problem never fixed. Like they thought we would forget where we put them and miss it. The 3 pendants over our island were way off and crooked. Even after I showed it to them, they didn't correct it until the sheetrock was up, which meant sheetrock repair. The breakfast light is supposed to be 4ft from the exterior wall to center the table, which is the norm an electrician will put it. I should know, I'm an electrician of 20+ years. They put it at 5ft, so it's now off center. They charge you to run wiring for your lights. All of them. They only give you switch receptacles. If you want a light and fan, your going to pay a lot extra for it. Recess lights, $200 a piece!! Unfinished caulking, runs in the paint, unfinished garages, garden tub pops and creaks when getting in and out from poor framing, etc. etc. HOA said I couldn't have one of those fancy garage doors that look like carriage doors, but the next street over, yes in the same neighborhood, the other builder has them as an option. They installed a live oak in my front yard, 15ft from my front door. What do you think that tree is going to do in 100 years? The builder said, "well you won't be there to see it". But what if I was to give the house to my son before I pass? The builder only cares about building the home as fast as possible to get you in. If you use Ryland, expect to pay a lot of money for a simple and low quality cookie cutter home. Don't be fooled about how pretty and well built their models are. I used to be an electrician of such neighborhoods, and they have meetings about, and only let their most trusted installers do the models. So they know it looks good to sell, but they don't care about the rest of the homes. I'm sure there are some other customers who are really happy with their home. But ask where and what kind of home they moved from. I'm sure the answer will be an even lower quality home or trailer, so of course they're happy. My next home will be custom from regular subs, which I will be the contractor. Cookie cutter never again!!

    3 Votes
  • Jo
    jonathan123 Nov 03, 2011

    I was thinking about purchasing a ryland home in Georgia...Does ryland make good deals? Were they willing to pay closing cost if you used your own lender? Was the sales associate willing to negotiate below the base [email protected] please help me here

    1 Votes
  • Be
    BewareIWasnt Sep 30, 2011

    I have a Ryland home not yet 1 year old. The hardwood flooring is a joke. Ryland keeps saying it meet thier spec's. It don't meet mine when I can see peaks and valleys down the foyer entrance.
    Be careful when buying from ryland.

    2 Votes
  • Pk
    PKandra Oct 08, 2010

    Ricardo, where did you buy from them? My wife and I are currently building a Ryland home in GA. Nothing personal, but a builder is in business to make money. Unless you bought upgraded carpeting or padding, the standard carpet most builders use is of poor quality. As far as drywall or tile cracking, some settling is normal within the first year or 2. I've experienced it on every new house I've bought, and usually the builder repairs these issues within the 1 year warranty period. In 15 years and 2 new houses, I've had 1 electrical breaker go bad, so that's definitely odd. Hopefully the builder will fix or replace items to your satisfaction.

    -2 Votes
  • Ta
    Tampa resident66 Jul 17, 2010

    We bought a Ryland home in 1999 and haven't had any major problems with it. The few minor issues we had in the first year were all corrected to our total satisfaction. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another Ryland home.

    -1 Votes
  • Ed
    edilberto aljas Jul 08, 2010

    where did you buy your ryland home? please give us more details. ryland has a lot of new construction here in the houston area, and it would be very helpful if you gave more details. thanks

    1 Votes
  • Ed
    edilberto aljas Jul 08, 2010

    where did you buy your ryland home?

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.