Publix Spring Water — publix spring water smelled & tasted bad

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I recently purchase a 24 pack of Publix spring water 16.9 ounces and one of the bottles has this horrible smell, it smelled almost like sewer water and chemicals. The other water bottles seemed to smell and taste normal. I found out that some other person complained about the same thing, but they wouldn't test the water for her or tell her the results because the bottle was already opened. I'm going to avoid buying their water for now on.

Responses

  • Sh
    sherri E. Jul 30, 2021

    I am just seeing these post about Publix Spring Water. I have had this issue on several occasions actually. The water smelled like mildew to me. Many times it was every water in the 24 pack. I have never complained to Publix or returned the water. Stupid of me!! I am very curious if anyone on this post has complained or had any resolution on this. Please respond if so. Today if July 30th 2021. Thanks so much! Sherri

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Erica Cosby Aug 09, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @sherri E. Quickly chiming in here. I am actually researching spring water to determine what qualifies it to be labled as such. In live in the Fort Lauderdale area, and I too had a similar experience back in May. I purchased 3 gallons of Publix spring water and the smell was horrible! It smelled like a combination of amonia and sewage. I opened another bottle and it smelled the same. I just poured all 3 gallons down the drain. Didn't report anything, but surprised to see others say the same.

    0 Votes
  • Hk
    Hkeith Miller Sep 06, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'd like to know too. A big store like that and they don't care about hurting their customers. I wonder what else they don't care about?

    1 Votes
  • El
    elope Jan 19, 2019

    What is the direct source of Publix bottled spring water

    0 Votes
  • El
    elope Jan 19, 2019

    what is the source of Publix bottled spring water

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gina O'Brien Wilks Jun 28, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Our family thought the same thing. It smelled horrible and tasted nasty. We had family in from out of town and they drank it, also. They are from Florida and thought it was just the type of water like they have down there that is salty and has a bad smell. Most of us got sick with diarrhea originally thinking it was from what we ate one night. Several kept drinking the water because they didnt want to get dehydrated. But, the water kept smelly and tasting bad. I googled to see if others were having the same problems as us and found this post. NEVER buying the Publix brand again. I get nauseous just thinking about it :(

    -1 Votes
  • Em
    Emily Little Jun 26, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same issue with water purchased in Mary Esther Florida. It tastes horrible. We purchase Publix water regularly and something is not right with this water.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    grayfam Jun 20, 2018

    On vacation at the Sundestin Resort and bought a case of Publix Spring Water on sale and after the first 3 bottles being bad, I called Publix and they said they would refund my money and had other reports. These bottles tasted horrible! Combination of salty and tasting like sewage water. They need to be taken off the shelves in stores!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bill in Al May 12, 2018

    The next to last bottle of Publix Spring Water case was opened by my son-in-law and he immediately gaged and spat it out after the first swallow. The water has a strong chemical odor and taste. My wife is a strong Publix fan but after this experience, and if Publix Spring Water stays on their shelves, she may change her shopping habits. I wish I had seen the above reviews before buying this product. I'm saving this bottle and the unopened one for a potential law-suit.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    happysp Apr 10, 2018

    I have had the same problem for a few months I think, maybe longer-because I never suspected the water until recently when it was SO bad. I am so sad, I am a Publix fan, but after discovering how bad the water was, and that it hasn't just been a one time thing-oh man!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave Le Mar 18, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Why isn't Publix doing something about the foul smelling bottles? I noiced the spring water was missing from my Publix.Maybe removed from the shelf.

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jayking Mar 29, 2016

    My 9 month pregnant wife and I drank a bottle from publix in boca raton, same thing as described in this feed. We thought maybe it was just that bottle so we tried another, same thing. Contacting a lawyer tomorrow the fact that my wife is pregnant and she injected some.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dave Le Mar 18, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Jayking I avoid publix spring water.Now get my water at Winn Dixie.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steven Jolicoeur Nov 19, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had this problem with many different types of brands now and I think I have pinned it down to being something in the recycled plastic they are using these days. It stinks so bad.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned about health Nov 26, 2014

    i just gulped some water from a publix spring water bottle and noticed it tasted almost like mildew and smelled chemically. i smelled a couple more and same thing...and some are fine. I.am concerned so I googled it and found these complaints. Now I am more concernedđŸ˜’

    0 Votes
  • Md
    M.D. TN Jul 01, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought Publix Spring water because it was on sale. I usually buy Deer Park, which I have never had any issues with. I thought the taste was different because I'm so used to drinking Deer Park spring water. I'm glad to see that I'm not the only one that had an issue with this water. I'll never buy it again, cheaper or not!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ld
    L.D.Tampa Jan 08, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same problem with "Nice" brand distilled water from walgreens and "zephyrhills" brand spring water from a shell station both times were in plastic gallons. Something is going on with the bottling companies it seems and its disgusting! It seems no ones doing anything about it.. If it keeps happening I'm investing in my own R.O. water filter system.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Herb16 Dec 19, 2013

    It happened to my fiancé & I on 2 occasions, the first time I had a Publix water in my car and figured the heat got to the plastic but then a few wks later I got a fresh bottle from the fridge and experienced the same disgusting odor & taste. I will never buy Publix water again!

    0 Votes
  • As
    Ashleigh Manseau Dec 04, 2013

    This is unbelievable. I just a 24 pack of Spring Water from Publix and opened the first bottle. I disregarded odor thinking that Spring water sometimes smells like sulfur. I normally buy distilled water. My boyfriend took a sip and immediately spit it out. I opened a few more bottles and they all had the same odor. I decided to google the issue and found I was not the only one. I was going to take the case of water back to the store today with my complaint. My friend is the general manager of the store in Charleston, SC. I will make sure to post the results! I am horrified this has been an issue for over a year (that we know of).

    0 Votes
  • Gm
    Gmariemorgan Nov 23, 2013

    Same thing happened to us last night and a few months ago. One bottle out of a case smells horrible, like rotten eggs. First time it happened we thought it was a fluke. Now that it has happened more than once I do believe we will not buy publix water anymore. How sad because I love publix and am saddened that nothing has been done!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    cafeblogger Nov 22, 2013

    Publix drinking water was on sale, 2 packs of 24 for 7$ in Boca Raton, FL... now we know why. We drank a whole bottle of this water unfortunately, trying to figure out if we were crazy. It smelled awful, like gas or sulfur. A couple more bottles have been this way, we have to smell each bottle before we drink it. I don't know if the plastic melted into it or there was some leak at the manufacturing plant, but it gives me a headache this awful smell. And the taste is disgusting as well. Will never buy Publix water again.

    0 Votes
  • Nt
    NT_DK Nov 21, 2013

    I recently visited Orlando, and bought some bottles of "Spring water" from Publix. This is by far the most disgusting water I have ever had. I am from a small town in Europe, where we just drink the water straight from the ground (and its clean), so my experience with water here in the US has been .. hmm .. "interesting". Well, - NYC tapwater tasted better to me than the "spring water" from Publix. The smell and taste of something chemical is unmistakeable. I would say it is undrinkable. Maybe it is not harmful, but the chemical/plastic flavor should not be there. Besides form that, I found the Publix store to be a good place to shop, but I think they should do something about this product

    0 Votes
  • Cn
    Cnt2g Oct 21, 2013

    I also just had a disgusting smelling water of the publix spring water. I knew it could not be normal. It smelled like urine and sulphur. I cannot believe this! I will not be buying publix water ever again.

    0 Votes
  • Sg
    SGarzilli Sep 13, 2013

    I decided to google this to see if there were other incidents of Publix foul smelling spring water. It's amazing that with do many complaints still nothing has been done about the problem. I just bought a case at my local Publix in Georgia, and half the bottles in the case smelled and tasted like sulfer. We were afraid to drink it. I'd rather spend the extra money and buy water that I can trust. Is there no one heading up quality control at their bottling facility?

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Palmetto Bay Aug 22, 2013

    I just had the same thing happen to me, one bottle out of a case with a horrible ammonia-like smell. It had happened a few months ago but I decided to give them another try figuring it was an isolated instance. Was I wrong!! The company that bottles the water for Publix has a serious quality control problem and a full-blown inspection of the bottling plant is the first thing that should occur. Depending on the results of the inspection, an investigation to some degree needs to be done after reading all the complaints here! I will NOT purchase Publix Spring Water again unless something is done to correct this potential health problem.

    0 Votes
  • Lm
    Lmfromri Aug 07, 2013

    Same happened to my daughter. Only one bottle in the case. Smelled aweful! She had already taken 2sips. Was violently vomiting all evening . Bottling company called me. Same old story; can't test an opened bottled of water. Something needs to be done! How many people are getting sick. Who knows the long tern effects. And if mixed with infant formula; I would hate to imagine the worst. We all need to get together and fix this

    0 Votes
  • Bk
    BKennedy702 Jun 13, 2013

    Just found this complaint against Niagara Water and their bottling plant in the state of California - seems like they do have issues with their operations: http://www.waterboards.ca.gov/santaana/board_decisions/adopted_orders/orders/2008/08_010_acl_niagara_bottling_llc_05272008.pdf

    Either way my mouth still has a nasty aftertaste from the chemical taste. Nasty stuff!

    -1 Votes
  • Bk
    BKennedy702 Jun 13, 2013

    Just had the same thing happen to me with a Niagara Water bottled water made for the Fresh & Easy Market chain in California and Nevada. The 24 pack of 16.9 FL Oz drinking water was purchased at a Fresh & Easy in Las Vegas, Nevada in early June. I just popped the bottle open, took a large gulp and realized it tasted foul. I smelled the water and it had a terrible odor that smelled chemically to me. A chemical odor that was almost metallic. Smells horrible. I have recapped the bottle and plan on contacting Fresh & Easy and Niagara Water. I will also have the remaining water checked independently on my own. This is ridiculous and should not be happening. I know see that I am not alone and Niagara Water is putting out sub par drinking water!

    My bottle of Fresh & Easy Brand / Niagara Water says source: Protected Well in San Bernidino County, CA

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    Promises84 Apr 01, 2013

    I have had the same problem everyone else has had. My fiance and I used to buy bottled water every week from walmart until we recently moved and Publix is much closed than walmart. So, for the last 3 weeks we have been buying Publix water and every case has had at least 2 bottles that smell disgusting. Like sewage. I will not be buying that water anymore. Scary. Makes me think of the Erin Brockovich movie.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    ChadTN Feb 20, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had the same thing happen about 2 weeks ago. One bottle was bad in the 24 pack. It smelled like sewage. I took a big gulp before I realized it and now I am having major stomach and esophagus issues.

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
    Joseph Seda-Morales Feb 02, 2013

    i recently purchased publix brand spring water . I was driving when I opened a bottle and took a couple big gulps . It tasted like chemicals and metal and had a horrible oder . Publix sent it to the Niagara water company and tested other bottles and said (they have a slight odor but they met the federal regulations .) I was not satisfied with that and they said they would test the opened bottle that I had consumed partially . I received a call stating that it had a slight oder and a highr level of bacteria because it had been opened but it was still within federal safety regulations . I am not happy at all I say we contact each other and start a class action lawsuit against Publix and the Niagara water company . Anyone else feel the same . I have alot of health issues and got very ill after drinking the water . Took an epi pen as well as tamiflu . and ended up with an upper respiratory infection . Contact me at [email protected] if you have had a reaction to this water . I also did not like the fact that publix new Manager refused to smell the water but a customer service manager said she had the same thing happen to her but she just tossed it away thinking she was nuts . She is far from it she works hard and told the truth . She went the extra mile while the store manager seemed completely unconcerned. I have not heard from Publix in response but they had better make good or I will take them on . I have no problem taking legal action at this time so wise up Publix . i am sure you dont want me to go to the news and utube as well as take legal action.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    Florida water drinker Jan 08, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A few months ago I bought several gallon bottles of Publix spring water and noticed a very strong taste and smell… it was like a plastic or chemical smell/taste. I had about 6 gallons and only a few of them had this issue. I decided that maybe the bottles were left in a hot place and the plastic smell/taste leached into the water. But now I have bought another gallon with the same problem. This coincided with me getting stomach cramps and mild diarrhea (I ate rice that was cooked in the water before I noticed the smell/taste) -- not sure whether the two are related. I am freaked out.

    0 Votes
  • 12
    123elb Dec 11, 2012

    I had the same problem. Mine smelled like Sulpher.

    0 Votes
  • Mk
    MK Graham Dec 10, 2012

    Same experience. We purchased a case of Publix Spring Water in Panama City Beach, FL and had several bottles taste & smell very strongly of urine/waste water. I cannot emphasize enough how awful it smelled - like an overflowing public sewer. We threw out the entire case and, next time I was in Publix, reported it to whomever was in charge who seemed to not know how to handle it.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    johnsonclan Dec 09, 2012

    Just opened a case of Publix spring water. I have always purchased Publix Spring Water and have never had a problem with it. My daughter complained today that her bottle tasted and smelled really weird. She said it tasted like the smell of pond water. Mine was fine. My son's was find as well. I just opened another bottle and it was horrid. Smelled exactly like my daughter described. Like stagnant pond water. Tasted like a mouthful of chemicals. I am returning all the unopened bottles to Publix tomorrow.

    1 Votes
  • Si
    Sik04 Dec 03, 2012

    Same thing happened to me today! It was the 23rd bottle of a 24 pack and its the only one that smelled horrible like urine! I'm so grossed out, and not sure what to do!

    1 Votes
  • Ne
    never buying again Nov 28, 2012

    My son just opened the first bottled water in the case of Publix Spring Water and it smells terrible. Like Stagnant pond water mixed with urine. It is a very strong smell. Not sure what to do, besides take the case back to Publix to be reimbursed. Unfortunately my son took the first drink of it before he had me smell it.

    -1 Votes
  • Oh
    Oh Goodness... Nov 19, 2012

    Just had this happen to me. I have purchased Pubix Spring Water for a while now. I just opened and took a drink of a new 16.9 oz bottle and I cannot tell you how bad the taste and smell was. Unfortunately when I went to take a drink I was thirsty and did not hesitate slugging the first gulp down. Now I REALLY wish I would not have. I called the Publix hotline and they said they would have an investigator call me. I had to explain I am not worried about the reimbursement I just dont want to get sick from it. He said it could be 3-5 days.

    1 Votes
  • 7f
    7frustrated Nov 18, 2012

    We had the same issue...my wife and daughter both consumed it (gulping) before realizing. It smells like urine, but is clear. Same story...Niagara Waters called and said they would not test it because it was open. They were supposed to send us their contact information, but still have not (2 weeks later). We just wanted to make sure there were no pathogens in the water in case a round of antibiotics should be given or something. Terrible customer service...have not gotten anywhere with Publix yet either.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.