The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Pioneer Credit RecoveryDon't fall for them

J Review updated:

Pioneer Credit Recovery claims to be associated with Direct Loans and the US Dept. of Education. They have been harassing me for at least 3 months on old defaulted student loans from 2004. They are claiming they can garnish my wages, or my tax refunds if money isn't handed over immediately. All they seem to be interested in is getting my checking account information so they can enroll me in a 'debt rehabilitation program' where they would automatically pull $97 a month from my checking account every month for a minimum of nine months. It may not seem like a huge amount, but my family and I are low-income, and we currently live on less than $1000 a month.

I want to pay these loans back, but I don't know if they are valid, as all my student loans have been with Great Lakes (who I am currently in hardship deferment with). I haven't been in school since 2005, when I gave birth and became a stay-at-home mom to my almost four year old son.

Calling PCR does no good, as every time I speak with someone, I get a different story and a different attempt to get money from me. I have called Direct Loans AND the US Dept. of Education, both of whom claim not to be able to tell me anything other than my supposed 'loan' is being handled by PCR, and I have to go through them. I tried to go to PCR's website, and it has nothing but an error message and a blank page. And I'm still getting phone calls on a weekly basis, even though I have requested to be removed from the call list while I research the authenticity of these loans.

Responses

  • Ka
    Kathy barnett Cox Jun 12, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Having a low credit score is really bad which affected me in so many ways but all thanks to you [email protected] for helping me in improving my credit score am really happy and also feel relived all this were done at a very affordable price incase you need similar services from [email protected] tell him I referred you.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michelleevans73 Feb 08, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Don't fall for this company. Don't use them at all. It's a huge life ruining trap!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michelle Evans Feb 07, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got a letter from Pioneer saying I am in default with my student loans. I am paying back my loans through American Education services, not their company. My payments have been in good standing. I get a tax form from the company I pay my loans through. If I am late or in default, American Education services would have contacted me themselves. They have shown that I am in good standing with my total student loan payments every month. Why is this Pioneer company saying I am in default? I am almost paid up in my student loan obligations and my credit report scores are over 740. I have a few years left on paying off my school loans. Even the amount Pioneer says I owe doesn't add up. I smell a bad scam.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joyce Stringfellow Feb 10, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Pioneer Credit Recovery appears to be a scam. Grandson has received two notices from them claiming he owes unpaid court fees. Which is totally bogus. If you get a phone call or letter like this don't fall for it. Don't give them any personal information either.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned Citizen 1928 Aug 18, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you believe that you are being treated unfairly by ANY Federal agency, contact your Congressman/Congresswoman; and ask them to investigate for you. It is good if you vote regularly because they may check their voter roles. Bureaucrats really don't like spotlights shone on them, especially when they hide behind the monolith.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jo collier Jul 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    being contacted almost daily looking for my daughter in law. also contacting my daughter the same. leavingmessages on voice mail as to the reason for call. when you call back its music...as "all reps are busy now" and if you get sent to someone the phone is just cut off so you do it all over again. totally illegal and im sick of it.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer91847 Feb 21, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    several calls a week. tell me to call them - important. no reason and no phone number

    1. i do not have any debt
    2. I am on the do not call list
    3. this has to be a scam

    i want them to stop calling me!!!

    i filled out this form a few minutes ago. when i clicked on the expanded categories I lost my message

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thor Steinar May 15, 2015

    Here is the text from Google Voice from one of their robocalls. I'll never pay them because I have no debt. I won't even call them back to acknowledge that they called me. This is what happens when you get a new phone and number. You get robocalls for the former phone user.

    "Yeah. This is an important message from Pioneer credit recovery incorporated. Yeah, this is Mrs. Smith. Yeah law requires that we notify you that this is a debt collection company. Yeah. This is an attempt to collect a debt and any information obtained will be used for that purpose. Yeah, please call us back today at 866 Your 3 9 13 yeah 18 yeah when calling back. Your reference ID is xxxxxxxxxxx Yank you."

    0 Votes
  • Ks
    k_s Mar 26, 2015

    I just read as of March 2nd of 2015 that the Dept. of Education has fired and terminated the contract with Pioneer Credit because of faulty business practices. They are still calling me everyday to give them my information. If they have been fired, then why are they still calling me?

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    ScottStevens Mar 11, 2015

    I'm in a similar boat as RicMorlis. I never graduated either; I burned out. The education I did get hasn't done me any good. I work in a factory, making less than $12 an hour. I'm technically homeless; I live with friends who accept money for paying the bills; that's my "rent." If PCR has their way and garnishes my wages, I'm screwed. I won't be able to help my friends with their bills and they'll likely have to kick me out. I can't afford to move anywhere, and besides, since places like apartments check credit scores now, I won't be accepted anyway because my credit is trashed thanks to, you guessed it, my loan. I just got a vehicle, but I won't be able to afford that either, which means my job will be in jeopardy. I lose my job, they won't have a way to garnish any wages, but of course by that point my life won't be worth much anyway. Yes, I understand I'm supposed to be responsible for a loan I take out, but when things happen and I'm not in the financial position to pay it back like I hoped I would be, what do I do? I can't even afford to do their "rehab" program, I'm that broke. This week alone, I won't even be able to put food on my table, and they expect me to pay them back? This whole ordeal has me stressed, angry, afraid, and completely, hopelessly lost.

    0 Votes
  • Fw
    F. Williams Oct 09, 2014

    I paid eight of the nine payments to PCR. I called to make my ninth payment and they claim their system would not accept my payment b/c it said I gave them the wrong zip code. That isn't possible b/c none of my information has changed in years. I got a new card, called back to make the last payment and was told my payment was late so I was removed from the program and I had to start completely over. This company is a rip off. They also said they would report my monthly payments to the credit reporting agencies. Well that was a lie b/c it still shows as if I have no made one payments at all.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    RicMortis Sep 08, 2014

    Heck, I never graduated while borrowing $7, 500 way back in 1995. Soon after due to all sorts of problems I have had, I went homeless for 5 years and when I finally found a place to stay in 2002, creditors started harrassing me asking for $12k of which I could barely pay my rent. Well, when the economy crashed, I lost everything again. Now, I make $12 per hour and became diabetic which costs me health insurance plus meds which combined cost me about $450-500 a month plus yearly deductibles. Right now I can barely keep a roof over my head and can't even afford to get a better car than my 1996 beater since I can't afford a car payment. How the hell am I going to pay back the $30k they are demanding now with a $600 a month payment plan they want. Well, if they start garnishing my wages, I lose my house and everything again. What the hell do you do at this point as I will have no life to live for as long as a "Federally Backed" creditor wants to ruin it. I would gladly pay back the $7, 500 if I could, but not a chance in hell will I ever be able to afford what they are asking while it will only increase every year.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Taktiks Aug 27, 2014

    PCR claims I did not pay a fine on a speeding ticket I received in Indiana in 2005. 9-years ago! I DID pay 178.50 and we have no notices from Fremont County Court saying we didn't pay. So PCR wants $418 and they said they would have my license suspended. I then called Fremont County and a nice lady answered the phone. It was the County Judge! I explained the situation and she said they do not accept checks. I said well back then apparently they did. I asked her if she could show definitive proof it wasn't paid and I would gladly pay it. She could not. I told her I would not pay PCR and after they threatened my license I called the Illinois DMV and they said they would not suspend a licence from 9-years ago and a modest amount over the limit.
    But PCR keeps ending their little bills. They've sent so many I believe they have spent $418 so far.
    Do not deal with these people. If you think car dealers are disingenuous you have no idea how much worse people can be, these unscrupulous scoundrels.

    0 Votes
  • No
    notsureaboutthis Jun 05, 2014

    These people have just started to contact me this week and because there are so many fraudulent companies trying to get money they were not hired to get (which I was a victim of once) I refused to talk to them until I goggled them. It does seem they are legit by what I've read but they also seem to feel they are above the law. I still need to do some investigating on the loan and my rights here but I seriously hope they don't try one thing that is not legal. When I paid to a illegal company and ended up the FBI got involved as well as my local States Attorney (yeah they were that bad and very many complaints), I've learned these laws even if they do work for the FED Government inside and out. If they contact you and you verify you are who you are even without giving them your SS# they can not contact your references. As far as contacting neighbors I do not believe that is legal. I would assume as some of these reports are from neighbors who don't know the people that is harassment, which the FEDS don't tolerate. Fines are high to the company doing this, and if they KNOW they are contacting there neighbors and even reference's and they continue to call them that is against the law. You can't just go and bother people when they say that is not me and I don't know that person. I also believe I read here that PCR is not suppose to prove the loan legality that too is incorrect. It is there responsibility to prove it. They have to have original paperwork with signature's on them. This company may have more rights since they contract with the government but they still have to follow the law. I believe the people who have condoned PCR's actions here are either employees or self rightious people who have never had a hardship in there life. Not everyone is out to rip of the Government. I don't know what the new laws that the President has put in for Student loans but people should also look into those before you make any deals with collectors.

    0 Votes
  • Id
    Idon'tevenowethis Jan 28, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too am being harassed as well as my wages being garnished on a student loan from 1995 that I have never received. I graduated nursing school in 2002. I received a loan for that in 2000 and paid it all back plus an overabundance of interest. now because I am fighting this student loan from 1995 in the amount of $2, 625 (now paying back $5, 000) that I never received because I actually had a full tuition scholarship and a pell grant, they have made me unable to renew my nursing license. they want me to make a down payment of 3 times as much as the are asking for plus they are still going to garnish my wages. so when you want to talk about them helping people, i'm here to tell you no they don't!!! I have called and written them several times. they told me I needed a police report. well, after 18 years I am beyond my statute of limitation and no police report can be filed. therefore, they want to make me responsible for a fraudulent loan. I would have had no problem paying the loan if I owed it. I am being robbed. and they would rather see me jobless than to forgive or write off the remainder of what I do not owe in the first place.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    taylobe Jun 30, 2013

    Perhaps you should complain to their collection offices directly. Maybe that will get you a better response to your issues. Hope this helps.

    Arcade Office
    26 Edward St.
    Arcade, NY 14009
    [protected]
    [protected]


    Perry Office
    20 Parker Lane
    Perry, NY 14530
    [protected]
    [protected]

    Moorestown Office
    308 W Rt 38
    Moorestown, NJ 08057
    [protected]

    Lake City Office
    197 SW Waterford Court, Suite 101
    Lake City, FL 32025
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Nj
    NJ Business Owner Jun 15, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These ###s at PCR do the collections for the Div of Taxation for the State of NJ (or as I refer to them as The people's Republic of NJ).

    These idiots claim that I owe the State of NJ a penalty. I have NEVER recieved a notice from the State of NJ that they assessed a penalty against my business of ANY kind, and all PCR sent me was a statment with one line item for the penalty.

    I wrote them back. I advised them that I had NEVER received notice about a penalty from the state adn simply asked them about when the penalty was assessed and for what.

    Instead some [censored] bureaucrat wrote me back with a form letter that said "After careful consideration we are denying your request for abatement of the penalty." THAT IS NOT WHAT I ASKED ###S AT PCR!!!

    I'm going directly to the NJ Treasury to see WTF is going on. The only organization more poorly run & more crooked is the IRS!

    0 Votes
  • Rl
    R-L-R Jan 30, 2013

    OK PARTY PEOPLE! Here's the deal. I have been dealing with PCR for a couple months now. They are a legit company that is contracted by the FEDS to collect for IRS, FED Student Loans, money you owe the VA, and other FED stuff. Since they are contracted by the FEDs, they have been given special privledges like...drum roll please...they can garnish up to 15% of your wages, they can take your tax refund, they can take your VA benefit payments, they can put a lean on you home. Pretty much they can do everything the IRS can so I advise to def fear these A**HOLES but don't let them intimidate you. I have read some complaints saying that they owe so-n-so a certain amount but PCR says they owe more. This "more" they add on is their "Service Charge". For example, in my case I owed the Dept of Veteren Affairs $7000 for overpayment of the GIBILL. The VA kicked the debt to the US Treasury which in turned kicked it to their friends...you guessed it, PCR. I moved alot for jobs so I never received a letter or phone call but they don't care. They threatened me with garnishments, they threatened me with never being able to get a home, and they refused to let me make payments unless I tried to take out personal loans from two different banks. Well, I'm the type of person who doesn't do well with threats. So I decided to do what I have learned to do best. I worked the system. I decided to go to the source. The VA is one of the nicest and caring government dept ever. I called them and they were more than happy to take my money if I was giving it and this even bypassed PCR's "Service Charge". Don't get me wrong, I had to pay the 7 grand but I didn't have to pay the 1500 PCR "Service Charge". So once the debt was paid, I requested a paid in full letter from the VA which they happily faxed to me and then I took that letter to my local attorney at law and had him write a letter stating that the account was paid in full and if the collections does not stop then legal harassment charges will be filed requesting $10, 000 dollars in damages and fees. I then faxed, mailed, and sent the letter and payment in full letter to PCR and then never heard from them again. Moral of the story: PCR is a legit mafia type company hired by the FED and you will pay the debt but you might get lucky like me and not have to pay the "Service Charge". OH and PS...the VA was willing to take $110 dollar payments but PCR wanted $390. I say FU*K PCR!

    0 Votes
  • Rm
    R Mains Sep 24, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hey, Mofo201. I'm guessing your comment was not directed at me as it clearly states SEVERAL TIMES in my complaint that I HAVE BEEN MAKING PAYMENTS FOR 4 YEARS. I am not trying to duck out or not pay back my student loans. I have been and currently am paying them back so telling me that it's my responsibility to pay them back and keep up with them, which I have been doing for the last 4 years now, is redundant. The people that come here to complain aren't complaining about paying back their student loans. They are complaining about Pioneer Credit Recovery and their behavior and the different tactics they use to get money out of people. People like you need to really read and understand what people are actually complaining about before you go off and try to give someone a lecture on the wrong thing. Oh, and to recap, they did finally locate and cash my check that they lost so last month I ended up making 3 payments total. Sure as heck glad my family didn't need to eat much because that extra money they lost then found came from our monthly food bill. I have called and I no longer have to deal with those idiots again. My loan is officially back where it was. I have called and verified that fact 3 times. Oh and since I made so many payments last month, they are letting me off the hook this month. Wow. How nice of them.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Mofo201 Sep 21, 2012

    When you borrow a student loan you're expected to pay it back just like a car or mortgage. Your education can't be taken from you so action has to be taken. Yes, people fall on hard times but too many people borrow the money and never get around the paying it back because it's not a 'necessity' like electric of food. Sallie Mae collects on the loans once they fall into default, almost a year with no payments being made. There are options of deferments and forbearances as well as income based payments. Generally, people don't look into these things or keep up on them to keep them current. It's their job to be educated about how to keep themselves in good standing, it's all online for them to see. Students are also warned about the risks of falling into default before signing their promissory note, many just don't take the time to read it. Student loans are taken out so students can attend college. They know the amount of money they are paying for the institution they choose, it's not the lenders job to tell them they're going to a school that's too expensive or if after graduating if they'll be able to get a job with the degree of their choosing. College tuition is high, but that's not the lenders fault, they're providing money to a student to get an education so they can pay it back over time and not upfront, since many would not be able to even go to school if that was the only option. And a majority, if not all of the student loans handled by Sallie Mae collection agencies are federally backed. The programs offered to get the loan out of default are federally backed. And means of involuntary action such as wage garnishment and tax offsets are set up by the government to collect on the money they have loaned out to students who are not voluntarily paying the balance. The government will get its money. And tax offsets aren't even handled by the companies, that's done by the IRS, so talk to them if you have an issue with it. Again, these are all things the student is informed of before taking out a student loan, if they take the time to actually realize what it is they are agreeing to. A student loan is attached to your social security number and follows you around almost for life. There is no statute of limitations and most of the time it cannot be discharged by bankruptcy. There are many other negative affects to defaulted student loans other than just garnishments or offsets. That's why keeping student loans in good standing is important. But it's not the collection agencies fault it is in default or that certain means to involuntarily collecting on a debt are practiced. It's their job to collect a debt that has serious repercussions to letting it go unpaid, again, nothing that the student hadn't been warned about in the beginning, before they even signed for it.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Denise Siblisk May 25, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Mofo201 You know what? Maybe if our government would pay back to trillion dollar loan that they borrowed from China and set a good example for us to follow, then I would understand then garnishing anything from ones that are trying to pay back loans that are in the first place too extremely high for an education. The family members of the US House does not have to pay for education. All of this is corrupt if you really look into this whole thing. WE THE PEOPLE are no who we really are anymore. The true robbers are in The House we are a sad state!

    1 Votes
  • Rm
    R Mains Aug 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    So I have been making payments on my student loan for 4 years now. I not only paid each month on time, but I started paying double the amount I was supposed to about 2 years ago. Yes, technically I was in default when I started making payments 4 years ago, but I had made payment arrangements with them and have been making payments ever since. I get a letter in the mail from them last month that they have sent my account to Pioneer and will be contacted shortly with further instructions. I had already mailed in my payment for the month at this point. Here it is almost a month later and the check still hasn't cleared the bank. So I call the people I sent the check to and get Pioneer's phone number. The people that work at Pioneer Credit Recovery are, in my opinion, too stupid to breathe. I tell the lady that I just need their address to send the new payments to and to see if they received last months payment. I decide to call on my lunch hour, by the way. She tells me that I am being set up on their Rehabilitation Plan because of all my good standing payments, blah blah blah. She then starts asking me about how much I make a month and how much I pay for rent or a mortgage. I told her that my boyfriend pays the mortgage and I pay the bills. She then asks about his income. I told her that my boyfriend's income is none of their business as we are not married and he is not legally liable for my debts. So she asks if there is anyone else in the home and I said yes, my 17 year old daughter. Then she asks about HER income. Again, none of their freaking business. So then I tell her I'm at work and my lunch hour is now officially over and could she fax me something to fill out. She said it wouldn't take much longer to answer her questions. But then she wants detailed info about all of my bills. Like I have all that information handy in front of me at work. I ask her again to just send me something so I don't get in trouble for being on the phone, but of course that seems like a stupid request to her. So I pull all my information up on the computer for each different bill and start giving it to her. I had to repeat every single thing I said to this idiot from this point on at least 5 times. So I give her the amount of my water bill each month, repeatedly. Then I tell her my electric bill, repeatedly. Then I tell her the amount of my gas bill for my home, repeatedly . So she says "So your utilities add up to $250 a month?" Someone please explain to me how a $70 water bill, a $195 electric bill and a $90 gas bill add up to $250. So I tell her no, that amount is way off and the amount is actually closer to around $325 a month. So then I repeatedly tell her all of my other bills I pay each month like car insurance and so forth. She asked what I pay a month on my credit card and I told her around $320 so then she asked what the credit limit was. $320. There was a pause. She asked me again what I pay a month. Apparently paying the full balance owed on a credit card before it is due so there is no finance charge is something they don't understand. I had to explain over and over again that the balance not usually the full amount, but that I always pay the credit card off before it's due every single month and that no I don't pay the minimum and no I'm not willing to change that fact. Oh, and apparently not having a car payment is completely unheard of to these people as well. Yes I have a car, yes it's a newer car and yes I paid it off in less than a year using my tax refunds so I didn't have a huge car payment and saved myself a ton of interest. Is this really any of their business either? Then comes the references. Which I have to not only repeat a few times, but repeatedly spell out each name. Now let me just say when I made the payment arrangements 4 years ago, my payments were around $25 a month, but I have been making $50 a month payments for 2 years all on my own. No one asked me to, I just started sending extra. So then she tells me I need to make a double payment since they never received my payment last month. I said ok, but if somehow the check I mailed last month does appear, are they going to cash it? Of course. She suggested I call my bank every day to see if the check does get cashed, but either way they will keep the money. So...why am I calling my bank every day? I told her I couldn't afford to make a double payment and then they get that check and cash it too so she said to cancel the check. So now I'm supposed to pay $25 to cancel a $50 check that they lost? Yeah um no. So of course then comes the whole "Give me your bank information and we will set up automatic drafts so that way you don't have to worry about making a payment late." I pay my bills every week when I get paid. Every week. I don't make late payments. On anything. So I tell her I'm not comfortable with that and will just mail my payments in. She started in again about late payments. So I ask her if she can see my payment history. She says yes. I said do you see where I have made any late payments in the last 4 years. She said yes, last month. SERIOUSLY? So the place I mailed it to has a record that they received it and forwarded to Pioneer but since Pioneer didn't receive it from them it's MY fault? At this point I'm pretty sure she hears me banging the receiver against my head saying "Oh my god how stupid are these people?" So I FINALLY get the new address to send my payments in to and after all her questions about my income and my bills, how much do I have to pay each month? $50. The same exact amount I have been paying. So then she sends me to her boss. I'm not sure why. So then he gets on the phone and starts reiterating the exact same stuff she just said to me. So I asked him if there is any way they can just return the check from last month if they happen to receive it as I am a single mom on a budget. Nope. So I asked him how long this program is going to last and how I can get it moved someplace else besides them. One month. Seriously. One month. So after I mail them 2 different checks one week apart so they don't get put in as a single payment, that's it. Next month it goes to someone else. So now I've been on this call for 45 minutes answering their questions so they can have my account for one month and then I will be sent back to my original lender. I explained my confusion over this to him and he said that he had looked up my payment history and because I was considered in good standing they can back date 8 months worth of my payments and since the program is 9 months, I have one month left, which is this month. Then apparently my loan goes back to where it was just 1 month ago. I asked them why my account was sent over in the first place and if I can just bypass them altogether, because to me that is a legitimate question. Then he gets a very crappy attitude and asks me if I realize I'm in default on my loan because I didn't make payments in a timely fashion. So a moment ago I was in good standing because of my payment history, but now because I don't want to deal with these stupid idiots, I'm a low life bottom feeder who doesn't pay my bills? I have decided to send my payment certified mail just so I can ensure that in one month, I never ever have to hear from these idiots again.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    bles Jul 31, 2012

    Don't don't have to be stuck with the collection agency, I'm working on getting my student loan consolidated through the US department of Education. They said they will buy the loans and I will get a much better lower monthly payment instead of $100 a month its down to $60 a month. As long as your not in Wage garnishment or judgement. There is hope. I have a federal 10, 000 student loan

    0 Votes
  • Gw
    Gwydi0n Jun 19, 2012

    You owe absolutely no money to these people. They are basically charlatans engaged in a criminal enterprise under the guise of education. Next time they contact you, ask them for the identifying information of the person from the Department of Education who sold your social security number to a third party without your consent.

    Then contact a local police officer in Washington DC and Arcade NY and inform them that you would like to file a complaint against them for identity theft.

    Depending on the different jurisdictions there are different ways to go about filing your complaint. Nothing in your documents gives these people the right to sell and disseminate your personal information ( Social security number, income, address etc) They are nothing but frauds who represent a department which is soon to be phased out and has long been an arm of the Teacher's union and NEA.

    They aren't even federal employees a lot of them but 3rd party contractors hired to see if they can get anything out of you.

    The entire FSA system is one of the largest criminal enterprises ever attempted all under the guise of federal backing. The founding fathers, nor any government agent never intended that any agency be able to exert this type of influence over citizens financial lives simply by virtue of making believe they have offered some valuable educational product.

    Stand up to them. Call your local representatives and tell them that you want the entire Department of Education and it's subcontractors abolished. They won't even identify themselves or their office locations when requested. These people are no better than the GSA agents who were just outed earlier this year. Nothing but people who sit in an office for decades, provide no valuable services and harass the good students and citizens of the USA.

    Stand up to them.

    0 Votes
  • An
    andrew3427 May 22, 2012

    I've personally dealt with them before. They were nothing less than cooperative. They ask you to set up payments through a checking acount to increase the probability of completing the program(above 75% as autodraft, less than 50% without). They absolutely can garnish your wages without a judgement because, in case you don't know, which most of you probably don't, student loans are FEDERALLY BACKED, the US government wants to make it easy for them to get their money. Although, you do have an initial 30 days after recieving the first notice of garnishment to request a hearing, there is a TINY chance that it will get appealed, but again, student loans, federal debt, not likely it would get appealed. You're best off starting repayment before the garnishment notice goes to your employee, because once it is sent out to them, you then have to make payments on top of the monthly garnishment. A lot of people complain that it is the agencies fault and they aren't working with them, but 9 times out of 10 it is the borrowers fault. These debts are yours, you are responsible for them. You should be keeping track of them and not letting them default in the first place. Some agencies can be unprofessional, I am aware. But what most people don't understand is the meaning of FEDERAL DEFAULT. Agencies (especially 3rd party agnecies) are limited on the options they can offer, defaulted loans aren't like normal good standing student loans. You have went approx. 9 months without any payment on the loan if you default. Once it defaults, options are limited. Your best bet would be to do everything in your power to prevent default. And as far as deferments go, MAKE SURE YOU GET APPROVAL PAPERWORK FROM YOUR LENDER! Don't just take their word for it over the phone, I almost had trouble with default because my lender almost let my loans slip through the cracks, even though I had an approved deferment.

    0 Votes
  • Mw
    MW72 May 17, 2012

    PCR has been calling and harrassing me when I have been paying Sallie Mae on time every month. I have never missed a payment to them. I guess the $285 I pay them a month is not good enough.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    wontbefood May 16, 2012

    Last year in January (2011) I entered into the repayment program and paid them 197.00 a month for 9 months. I did this in good faith that they would hold up their end of the deal. IT WAS NOT!!! Today I get a letter telling me they are going to garnish my wages unless I pay the full amount today. Well needless to say, I cannot pay that and if I could, my student loans would not be in default. I've tried to call the department of education about this and they refuse to answer me, only directing me back to PCR... I hate those rude ### people. They must hate their lives or they love to make people miserable. I held up my end of this deal and they have not held up theirs. I just talked to the department of ED. and they said that PCR is very good for not holding up their end. She also told me they lied to me about a "new system" being implemented and therefore holding up my account... My account is NOT in default status... It's actually in rehabilitated status right now.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    BaffledBy ThisBS Apr 17, 2012

    I entered into PCR Rehab Program late last year and fully intend to pay back my sizeable student loans from the late 90s. But, I lost my job earlier this month and when I explained this to Pioneer their attitude was basically "tough ###, pay up".

    I'm looking for a job every day, and until then we're living off my wife's income and whatever unemployment benefits start to come in. Obviously, priorities are going to be rent, food, fuel, utilities, etc. Not repaying student loan debts from over a decade ago. Can these people really continue to insist I pay the same monthly amount (almost $400) even after losing my job?

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    PINKSTARS61 Apr 11, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Pioneer is calling me due to my sons loans. They call and call. I tell them that i do not have to give out his phone # to anyone or his address just like they have no inclination to discuss his loan with me... They have gone so far as to find my phone #which is not listed by the way including my cell #. They are even calling his sister who also has an unlisted cell #.They have gone so far as to reach out to his friends on facebook. My son is paying his loan off. He has had a deferment and now is paying as much as he can and was agreed upon by Sallie mae. They just like to harrass people who do not owe them. i find this disrespectful and unreputable. i know they have a job to do but at least do it right. THIS IS WHAT I HAVE TO SAY TO PIONEER STOP HARRASSING INNOCENT BYSTANDERS, WE HAVE OUR PRIVACY RULES JUST LIKE YOU DO.,

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hardtowin Feb 01, 2012

    To stop the collection calls.
    1. write a certified letter to Pioneer Credit Recovery, Inc. 26 Edward St. Arcade, NY14009
    The letter needs to be dated at the top.
    Then you enter 3 or 4 times.
    you put what i am puting below;
    According to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, [15 USC 1692c] Section 805(c): CEASING COMMUNICATION: You must cease all communication with me after being notified in writing that I no longer wish to communicate with you. Therefore, I demand that you stop calling me (and my relatives) at home, at work, on my cell phone or at any other location! I am also on a limited call plan with my cell phone – and the calls that your company consistently places to me is costing me money directly out of pocket. In accordance with the federal FDCPA, now that you have received this "stop calling" letter, you may only contact me to inform me that you: are terminating further collection efforts; invoking specified remedies which are ordinarily invoked by you or your company; or intend to invoke a specified remedy.
    Be advised that I am well aware of my rights! I know that any future contact by you or your company violates the FDCPA and that since you already have my location information, calls made by you or your company to any 3rd party concerning me violates section 805(b)2 of the FDCPA. Be advised that I am keeping accurate records of all correspondence from you and your company, including tape recording all phone calls and keeping records of all voicemails and incoming calls. If you continue calling me (and any family members/references of mine) I will pursue all available legal actions to stop you from harassing me directly, my family members, friends, associates and/or co-workers as well as any credit references.
    Please also note, and take into consideration, I am sending this letter to you via the United States Postal Service with receipt proof that it was mailed to your company (as well as tracking as proof it was received) so I will have physical proof in hand this letter was sent to you should you continue to harass me and I need to take legal action.
    Sincerely,
    Then put your name adress city, state, zipcode
    I would highly recommend saving up as much money as you can and pay off the debt. Dont agree to their payment plans on the phone. Make everything in writing. You should start offer of less then 750.00 for the total settlement. Don't allow them to make any money off of you. You can settle the student loan less then the orginal ammount owed. If you just got the collection letter make them proove the debt is valid. I would like Verification of the debt. You have 45 days to have proof that I owe this debt.

    0 Votes
  • Wp
    wpdblack Jan 30, 2012

    Hi, all.
    Today, I received a call from a Pioneer Credit Recovery representative named Tracey. Tracey informed me that I owed a balance of $9, 308.25 for Sallie Mae loans that I received in the early 1980’s. I informed Tracey that all of my student loans have been paid-in-full as of 1996. Tracey told me that their records indicated that I only paid $50.00 and that I had a large balance according to the “Federal” level. Again, I informed Tracey that I paid my loans in full. In fact, I had a temporary hardship during the latter part of 1987, filed for and received a deferment. Once the deferment ended, I began paying two loans per month until both loans were paid-in-full. Tracey was adamant that I had not paid. I eventually became upset. I explained to her that after four (4) strokes I was not about to let her cause me to have a fifth stroke because someone at her agency – or even herself – was incompetent and could not get their records in order. I also informed her: (1) I have been with the same employer for almost 25 years and this is the first time that someone is calling me about this so-called defaulted loan (2) I have never had any garnishments and have never had any income tax refunds withheld, (3) I would not have been able to purchase a home, (4) I do not have any derogatory student loan information on my credit bureau reports, and (5) I worked with campus based loans for six years so I know how it works. Additionally, I told her do not call my job anymore because she refused to listen. Tracey hung up. I contacted a Sallie Mae representative and explained to her what happened. The representative stated that Pioneer Credit Recovery was not a Sallie Mae’s collection agency. Also, if someone from Pioneer calls me again, make sure that I get the phone number and call Sallie Mae immediately afterwards. I eventually calmed down and thanked the representative for her assistance. (The PIF documentation that I lost due to Hurricane Katrina will be replaced. The Sallie Mae representative is sending me two letters stating that both of my loans have been paid-in-full as of 1996.)

    1 Votes
  • Kj
    kjfood Jan 08, 2012

    I called Sallie Mae for an forbearance. Signed the paperwork and submitted it. I called to check the status and spoke to someone with a language barrier (overseas rep). She advised me that it went through. Four months later my income tax and pay check was garnished for $4000!!! I was expecting (why I need for the forbearance). My loan was only $4000, so that put me up to $8, 000 with an additional $1000 PCR added to the $4000 they already charged Total $9, 000!!! So for a $4000 loan I am under $5000! Never will I deal with a loan company that has employees that can't understand WHAT you are saying. I can see a company making a profit but, to add 100+ Percent is CRAZY! I was never late on my loan and this transaction stays on my credit report for nine years!!! (not 7 like it suppose to!)Sallie Mae is the worst but PCR... out does them.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brian blaine Nov 06, 2011

    At the start of the year, I attempted to get a small balance $1, 800 out of default with PCR. They said if I made a down payment and 9 consecutive payments it would be taken out and sold to a private lender. It would erase my bad record, and I would pay off the debt. However, after the 9th installment, they gave me some bogus excuse as to why it couldn't be taken out of default. Then when I made a 10th payment, they still cannot confirm it's being taken out of default even though my signed contract says so. What recourse do I do? If I don't make an 11th installment, they say I will not be in good standing and kicked out of the program. Sounds like a scam and a way for Pioneer to keep their "penatly and service fees" which they said would be removed if sold to a private lender...

    Anyone experience something similar? Bogus. Federal Government does business with these shady collection companies? Oh, and financial hardship was not why i didn't pay. To this day, I still don't understand why this 1, 800 loan which was borrowed the same as ALL my other loans was allocated to a different lender. I was paying down my Wells Fargo Financial Services loan of $13, 000 thinking this was all the money i borrowed until a collection letter hit me saying I hadn't paid the $1, 800 and it was now with PCR.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lolatic Oct 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My son is in the military and is currently overseas. He left school to join the military. I was under the understanding that all of his payments were deferred until he is no longer on active duty. I am now being told by Pioneer that I must pay it back on his behalf or his military status will be compromised. Does anyone know who I can talk to about this? I have no problem paying the bill for him, but on principle for the threatening tone in which they spoke to me I would prefer to pay the actual loan, ( minus the interest and late fees attached since he had been enlisted or have it deferred until he is back home in the states.

    1 Votes
  • Wh
    Who Needs Credit Oct 06, 2011

    How about everyone who is agreeing with this just be quiet because this posting is not for you. If you are not in debt then hey you dont care. Well this is use and everyone has different lives and issues that MAYBE if you can get it through your one track minds that we "coulndt" pay back the loans... LOL these people are funny. I can care less about good credit as long as me and my family are blessed im ok. Toodles <3

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Margaret A. A. Sep 13, 2011

    This company works outside the law - uses techniques that are not legal, like contacting you at work during work hours even after they have been advised not to. They do not want to cure the defaulted loan, they are in the business of making money for themselves - they are a for profit company whose profits have gone up astronomically. I tried to work through the Ombudsman's office at the US Department of Education - Pioneer told the USDE that they would accept reasonable payments, but when I called immediately after being told whom to call at Pioneer, that person was "unavailable" and the reasonable offer was no longer valid. All they wanted was a copy of my pay stub so they could grab as much of it as possible. They had me document my dire personal and financial situation and the volumes of paperwork was flat out ignored. It turns out that they are paying themselves $4000 to collect my $16000 student loan - up front - and they told me to take them to federal court if I didn't like it. I am willing to pay the loan - I have stated this directly to the USDE and given them an amount - $300/month. Now I find that the USDE is getting $308 per month, but I am paying $662 per month to Pioneer. How did Pioneer get this gig - who profits from it? The IRS is more reasonable to deal with and doesn't farm out profits - it just collects the money owed. Why is the USDE allowed to subsidize this private company? I will find out - if I don't end up without a place to live, too sick to work (had to stop medical treatments), or without a job - which I guess would stop the garnishments, now, wouldn't it?

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Katyp Aug 12, 2011

    You should not have taken out the loan if you did not intend to pay it back. These are REAL people doing their JOBS, they aren't monsters. You are overreacting and making yourself look bad. Calling yourself a "stay at home mom" is all well and good, but after a certain point your child can you know go to day care, and guess what, your income of under 1000 is because of your sweet "stay at home mom" title. Congrats, your in the wrong here, you are not the victim and yes they can and will garnish your wages regardless if you request to be taken off the "do not call list" which they dont have because its not credit car debt, its a STUDENT LOAN. you cant go to school for free, stop complaining and pay it back. IT WILL NEVER GO AWAY. even if you were to file bankruptcy, student loans never ever ever ever ever go away. Stop being lazy, and get a job. Pay your bills and you wont get "harassed" by people who are just trying to pay theirs .

    -2 Votes
  • De
    deepsixmaster Jun 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Based on my experience with Pioneer Credit Recovery, I wish I had the authority to send in SEAL Team Six to take care of business.

    -1 Votes
  • Pc
    PCR eats babies Jun 04, 2011

    Pioneer Credit Recovery are obviously incontinent ill-tempered Nazis and voracious midget pedophiles, which is why murderers, rapists, and fisting enthusiasts like them. Pioneer Credit Recovery sponsor organizations like the North American Man Boy Love Association. Everyone who works at Pioneer Credit Recovery is extremely sticky, obese and flatulent; Pioneer Credit Recovery personnel are grossly naked and pleasuring themselves at you as they put babies on spikes. Pioneer Credit Recovery managers and associates interminably rape incredibly large animals in their furry orifi while wearing a PETA thong and a meat helmet. Pioneer Credit Recovery spouses and children also have giant crabs in their stanky nethers.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    FourtyCaliber May 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been getting calls for nearly 8 months from this ###-hole company. The thing is it isn't even about my debt! It's about my nephew's student loan debt. Evidently, my nephew put down my name as a "reference" when he first filled out his student loan applications. Now, I guess he hasn't paid or hasn't been paying on his student loans and Sallie Mae or whoever he owes the money to has no idea where he is and turned his debt over to collections. I have told these people time and time again that I know nothing about my nephew's whereabouts and I have no way of contacting him. When they first started calling me I told them I would "try" and send my nephew an email and let him know that Pioneer was trying to get a hold of him about the debt. I did just that. I sent him a note to the only email address I had for him and it bounced back as undeliverable. The next time Pioneer called I told them I tried to contact my nephew and that the email bounced back. That wasn't good enough for them, evidently. I told them I want placed on their do not call list but they continue to call. The last time they called I went off on them. It was a guy and I kept cussing him out. Then he got his supervisor, a woman, on the phone, and I let her have it. I called her every vulgar name I could think of and insulted her by asking if she gave good "h**d" and other "deeds". I asked her if her mother was into "anal" and other things. Eventually, she hung up on me. This is exactly what I will do every time they call. I figure hey, they're calling me, even though I asked them to stop numerous times. If they're going to continue to call, they're going to be insulted with vulgarities each and every time. I did what I could. It's not my debt. I asked them to stop calling me and put me on their do not call list. They keep calling. They deserve every thing I dish out to them. It's totally a bunch of crap that these kinds of companies are allowed to harass innocent parties in these kinds of matters. After their crap, I wouldn't help them even if I knew where my nephew was living.

    3 Votes
  • Ta
    tadn Feb 14, 2011

    What about when they garnish your tax refund for 4 years straight for a 2500 dollar loan. I have had my tax refund taken every year, in the amount of 1200+ a year, and I still owe THE SAME AMOUNT. I do not know how that works, and it seems a bit odd to me

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.