Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Fitness Centers Paramount Acceptance Breach of Contract for Lifetime Membership?

Paramount Acceptance  -  Breach of Contract for Lifetime Membership?

P
Author of the complaint
10:17 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Complaint Description:
Breach of Contract for Conversion to a Lifetime Membership? About 20 years ago, the Tenn. state law concerning spa lifetime memberships was changed to pay a onetime conversion fee of $150 and $5 a year lifetime membership fee. In hopes of a French Riviera building close to where I live, I have continued to pay the nominal yearly fee according to the state contract rules, even though I have not worked out at the their spa during this time. I still have my Tenn. contract. Today I noticed when paying the fee that it has jumped to $35. I DO believe lifetime membership means lifetime as I am not dead. So I wonder if there will be any type of class action suit for this breach of contract? If their fee change is grounds for a class action suit, I hoped to be notified by other interested parties. I have paid this fee to Paramount Acceptance yearly as they are the billing agent for my contract, but I am told that I should contact a local French Rivera in turn who tell me it is Paramount Acceptance that told them to charge the fee. After repeated requests for knowing who is responsible being passed in circles, I see no answer in sight. I have contacted the BBB.

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

20 comments
Add a comment
K
Mar 16, 2016 8:31 pm

I send them a lot of email asking to cancel the account. But they refuse to cancel, they ask for medical issue; driver license; ect. I don't get it why is it so hard to have one account cancel? I went up there and one of the guy in charge say to email him and he will take care of it. But in the end my account was still not cancel. I am so frustrated! Is this how they run their business? It was so easy to sign up, and the guy that sign me up say that it wasn't a contract so I can cancel anytime. Why do they have to ask for driver license, notarized letter, military order, mortgage agreement, utility bill, or paycheck stub? What does any of that have to do with cancel the account! They didn't even email or called me to let me know about my account still being active. I find out after helping my boyfriend trying to cancel the account. They refuse to cancel without those information, so now my account still being active and they send me to the debt collection company. This is ridiculous. I wish I NEVER SIGN UP IN THE FIRST PLACE!

S
Jan 27, 2016 1:08 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I am dealing the same situation. Whoever is interested in a class action law suit please do let me know [email protected] . The problem to me is they are taking advantage of the fact that I am a foreigner and english is not my native language. The guy at the gym basically told me to sign the name on the computer at the gym and it would only charge 19 per month for a yearly membership. I called after 10 months and it said the same thing it's only a yearly membership. Now I have been overcharged for almost 3 months, I called to cancel and they told me unfortunately you just told us so we would charge you another 2 months. Even though in total it's only about 100 bucks. But it's our right to protect ourselves as consumers and they were supposed to inform me about the auto renew and at least showed me the contract. I am going to file a complaint first.

D
Dec 02, 2014 2:14 pm

To the people of frs I say shame on you! I was conned into signing up for a year, and then told I could cancel at anytime. I believe my contract was even re written . these people are dishonest and cruel. we need to get a blog out to warn others.

M
Jun 14, 2013 2:13 pm

I am very upset with this organization. Staff at Poplar location talked me into signing up for a membership and said I could cancel anytime explained the contract instead of allowing me the time to read it. I became pregnant with complications after signing up and called to try to cancel. They told me they would take care of it but instead I have been receiving harassing phone calls from FRC and if something is not done about this I will sue French Riviera Spa. You can not lie to someone and talk them into signing a membership only to go back and send me to collections when I try to cancel. Rob at the Memphis location on Poplar Ave is the man that signed me up. I am furious that I was lied to and later scammed by FRC. They used my credit card to make unauthorized charges to my account.

V
Oct 12, 2012 8:43 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

We need Andy Wise to look into it. I know he could get to the bottom of this. Plus I'm sure it would unite more of us that feel this is not right.

K
Aug 18, 2012 7:43 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

[email protected] I am also interested in the suit.

C
Jul 31, 2012 7:03 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I too would be interested in a class action law suit. I'm supposed to pay $30 per month but now getting charged $45 per month out of no where. I did not agree to pay this extra amount nor was I notified of it.On top of that, when I signed up I was supposed to get someone to take all my body weight and such information, made an appointment, went to it and the guy wasn't even there so I went to the gym for my appointment for nothing! Everything they said they were going to do, they didn't do. This company is a SCAM! [email protected]

C
Feb 14, 2012 5:08 pm

I also have my original contract . NO EXTRA FEES, that's what it says ! Has anyone figured out anything about this spa improvement fee ?

C
Jan 13, 2012 7:50 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I joined FRS in the 80's with a lifetime membership and was shocked that my $5 yearly fee went to $35. So for 2 years now I've paid the $35 (total $70), that should have covered me for 14 years! It was our big money for our lifetime memberships that allowed them to get going and this is the thanks we get. I'd be interested in joining a class action suit!

M
Jan 09, 2012 4:49 pm

THE STAFF AT FRENCH RIVIERA/PARAMOUNT ACCEPTANCE ARE CON ARTISTS. EVERYTHING HERE IS A FRAUD THEY WILL SIGN YOU UP FOR MEMBERSHIP FOR TWO YEARS AND TELL YOU IT'S ONLY FOR A YEAR. READ OVER EVERYTHING BEFORE YOU SIGN. THEY WILL TELL YOU THAT YOU HAVE A FREE SESSION WITH A TRAINER AND TO SIGN SOME PAPERWORK SO YOU CAN AGREE FOR THE FREE SESSION, INSTEAD YOU'RE SIGNING FOR A YEAR SESSION WITH A TRAINER! WTF? WHY ARE THESE PEOPLE STILL IN BUSINESS? WHERE IS BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU?

When will I hear something back about the change of fee, to a life long contract? I'm still alive and would like to hear back about the matter? I try to do the right things, I would appreciate a company I paid in good faith French Riviera should also. [email protected] dated 5/12/2011

P
Mar 02, 2011 8:29 pm

I just went to the gym today and they have notified me of the $30 increase. My original membership was in 1993 and I have paid $1.00 a Yr plus $4 monthly maintenance fee, totalling $49.00 year. I am NOT HAPPY! Has anyone started the class action lawsuit. Please let me know. [email protected]

M
Sep 20, 2010 2:20 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I also purchased a lifetime membership with Paramount Acceptance in 1981 and after making monthly payments for the term of the contract my payments were $5 annually membership fee. I stop in today to pay my annual payment ahead of time and I was told about the $35 maintence fee. I think that this is unfair and is a breach of contract. I would like to be included in the class action lawsuit. my email address is [email protected]

L

I have a lifetime membership with French Riviera also and have been told that I must now pay $35 instead of the $5 annual membership fee, PER CONTRACT. This is not right. I, too, would like to be included in a class action lawsuit.

I
Jun 21, 2010 10:35 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I to am dealing with French Riviera Spa about a lifetime charter membership.The fee has been $5.00 till this renewal.When they hit me with a 700 percent increase . Called today and spoke with someone in the regional office who informed me they are aware it is a breach of the contract thier repesentives signed, but if I wishto keep my " Lifetime Charter Membership" I would have to pay the increased amount! This is phone number I called([protected] ask for Eric, but hurry I fill sure they will either change the number or stop answering it .

T
Jun 06, 2010 5:32 pm

I am in the same boat. I have a 28+ year lifetime membership in Memphis, TN with French Riveria. I continue to pay the $5 year fee but recently received the $35 notice. I contacted Paramount and the local FR facility with no usable information. The FR guys want you to "understand their need to upgrade equipment so please let us charge U more". The paramount Accpetance guys says it is all FR's doing and they are of no help. I also filled a BBB complaint but like others do not suspect I will ever hear back. I must consider a Small Claims action but will try the TN Consumer commission as well.
This is an ABSOLUTE BREACH OF CONTRACT.

M
Jun 05, 2010 8:32 pm

I also received the $35 bill for this year and called Paramount. I am interested in a class action lawsuit too. [email protected]

H
Jun 05, 2010 12:18 pm

I have an auto system draft and my account was draft four(4) time now I feel like I should not have to pay for all the overdraft.I actually sent a email like I was instructed to do and my account still was draft. I'm so ANGRY..need to only draft once and if money not there well inform client and then there can be an arrangement made from there!

A
Apr 27, 2010 10:20 pm

I am dealing with another issue with French Riviera Spa and Paramount where it keeps going in circles. Basically someone changed the contract after I signed it, so far no one can tell me who changed it, just that they did not fill it out, even though their name appears in the contract. I filed a BBB complaint that went unanswered. I also contacted the Tennessee Consumer Commission and they are investigating.

I would urge everyone not to do business with French Riviera Spa because they have unethical business practices and are not worried about meeting the needs of their customers.

Specifically I dealt with Zachary Grey at the Cordova, TN location. Since then, I believe he is now working out of the Poplar location in Memphis.

D
Apr 08, 2010 10:58 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I am in the same situation. I just received a renewal notice for $35 for this year, but my contract specifices that "To maintain Charter Membership, member will pay an annual renewal fee of $5.00 payable on the 27 day of May, each year beginning 1990." This contract is dated March 21, 1981, and I still possess the original carbon copy that I was given along with all of the other previous contracts and renewal notices. Both the French Riviera Spa and Paramount Acceptance gave me the runaround when I called them, each stating that the extra $30 was a "facility improvement fee, " with Paramount Acceptance telling me to contact the French Riviera Spa, and with French Riviera Spa telling me to contact Paramount Acceptance. If anyone else feels wronged and is interested in a class action law suit, I would be interested in hearing from them at [email protected]

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

13 complaints
4 resolved 9 unresolved

Paramount Acceptance contacts

(added by reviewer)
4725 S Holladay Blvd № 100, Utah United States
ADVERTISIMENT