Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Norwegian Cruise Line Customer Service Phone, Email, Contacts

Norwegian Cruise Line
Reviews and Complaints

Norwegian Cruise Line's customer service contact info has been verified by the ComplaintsBoard team. We made sure it's all legit and accurate, so you can trust it! 👌
www.ncl.com

Learn how the rating is calculated

1.3 4 Reviews 314 Complaints
Claim Your Business
Take control of your profile: address complaints and engage with reviews
Write a review File a complaint

Norwegian Cruise Line Complaints 314

ComplaintsBoard
J
12:57 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Norwegian Cruise Line Overcharge of cruise, improper boarding process and lack of wine on board ship

Booking Reservation 4714097. Ship Norwegian Epic. Sail Date 17th April 2022. Departure Port Barcelona. 7 night cruise.

We were overcharged 870 Euro for this cruise. I went online to the NCL website 4 weeks prior to departure and priced the cruise for the 17/04/2022 on the Epic and having entered the very same information as per my booking I found that the overcharge had happened.

Sunday 17/04/2022 was Embarkation day and having arrived for our pre booked time slot it took us over 4 hours standing in a queue with no shade from the sun and no drinking water along with no toilet facilities available. Which is unacceptable. When we got into the terminal there were only 10 counter assistants to check in the large number of guests. When we asked NCL employees what was wrong with the boarding process. The answer we got was that they did not know. Total chaos prevailed throughout and we are totally discussed by the way we were treated.

Day two of the cruise the wine waiter informed us that the availability of Sauvignon Blanc and some Red wines were not available because of supply issues. By day 7 red or white wine was virtually unavailable. We also had some overcharges on our account which nobody in Guest services could answer. My wife and I were totally disgusted by everything which happened us.

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
10:31 am EDT

Norwegian Cruise Line Air Fare Program

I purchased airfare through NCL buy one get one program. They dont give the flight info at time of purchase. When I received it my flight home was 10 hours after debarkation. I couldn't imagine sitting at the airport for 10 hours, so I called NCL. They suggested I book and excursion when I debarked which would then end up at the airport. I was willing to do that, although that ate up all the savings from the buy one book one, however that would have you wind up at the airport still 7 hours prior to your flight. I found a flight on the same airline at 1:55. I contacted several areas at NCL and advised I would pay the additional 20.00 per ticket this flight cost over the one they booked. They all refused and ultimately transferred me to a special relations person.

She was the rudest and most ignorant person to be in that position. She read me the contract. I told her to please stop reading, as I was asking for special consideration. She continued to read and never oncee stopped speaking the entire time we were on the phone. She did not obviously listen to one word I said I wasnt even sure if it wasnt a recording, as each time I asked her to stop talking and listen, she just continued. This is how NCL treats its Platinum customers I feel sorry for any first time cruisers.

Desired outcome: A refund of the airfare and an apology

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line and 1 comment
Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
B
B
Buttrash
, US
Jun 16, 2022 2:58 pm EDT

I have purchased a cruise on the buy 1 get 1 air fare. The reservations have a 30-minute gap between international flights. It takes more than that to get through customs. I wish I could give you the outcome but I have spoken to anyone as I have been on hold for almost 1 hour. Seriously?

ComplaintsBoard
H
5:30 pm EDT

Norwegian Cruise Line Booking confusion

Our family of over 2O booked a cruise beginning in papeete Tahiti on May 31 2022.

We indicated we would like a diversion to arrive in Tahiti 2 days prior to departure. We paid the hotel and transfers and booked the air travel thru NCL who indicated we would be able to secure seat assignments 60-45 days prior to travel date.

We are now 40 days out and when we called we were told there were no flights available and they were trying to find charters which would only arrive the day of travel.

We have checked with several airlines and they all have space. We asked NCL if we could have a refund of the outbound fare only and make our own arrangements and they said NO and if we cancelled then a penalty would apply - even though it is THEIR mistake.

We booked and paid this cruise in 2021 and this is the culmination of numerous mistakes - some very significant- all made by NCL.

Desired outcome: Refund the one way air fare and allow us to make our own reservations IF space is still available .

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
L
12:31 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Norwegian Cruise Line Change travel date

My original cruise has been cancelled then postponed since 2018. My current reservation is set to depart Barcelona on April 24th 2022. The Spanish Health says my J&J Booster done on April 13th does not permit me to enter Spain until after April 27th. I have tried unsuccessfully to get anyone at NCL to answer the phone to change my cruise date to the 8th of May 2022. No one answers or if they do I am put on forever hold.

Desired outcome: Change my reservation [protected] date of departure to May8th

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
A
2:15 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Norwegian Cruise Line NCL cancelled my excursions

I booked a cruise through BJs Travel. The standard procedure is that I contact BJs and they contact NCL for any upgrades and price drop credits. This morning, I was on hold for 1.5 hours while my BJs rep was waiting on a NCL cruise contact upgrading my room to a Club Balcony Suite. I opted to have my BJs travel contact call me back after she spoke with NCL. Apparently, there was a glitch on your computers, and I not only didn't get the update I was promised AND all the excursions and meals I paid for were lost.

Desired outcome: I would appreciate a call back as well as a free upgrade and additional credits for this cruise for additional specialty restaurants and excursions.

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
J
6:21 pm EDT

Norwegian Cruise Line Denied boarding

We followed all the requirements to travel to Bermuda but had conflicting information to enter into Bermuda. Children under 2 do not require testing in Bermuda, However NCL denied my baby from boarding because we not do a PCR test and they apparently have a second set of requirements that were conflicting to me.

In addition they would not allow same day testing.

Also, a representative by chat a few weeks prior said testing was done at the port that could be used.

This situation was incredibly stressful traveling with children cost wise and planning wise. Waited for 6 hours and they could not located my luggage. I do not know when I will receive them. Now I don’t even know if I’ll get a refund or future credit.

Desired outcome: Refund or future credit

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
R
5:04 am EDT

Norwegian Cruise Line Banned from ncl cruising

I few years ago my wife and I (both retired professionals) were banned from any NCL cruise indefinitely. The reason was I complained to Corp during a Covid situation on the Pearl and I felt the entire ordeal was very poorly mishandled. Is this ban still in effect as we would like to sail on the Bliss in the near future? We are Elite or whatever guests and would like to book the Haven which we like.

The Bliss is a beautiful and I don't think a 73 year old professional can cause much ruckus. I have learned the Officers do not like be questioned. It's a one way street but now I am aware of it and can abide,

Please advise

Richard & Deborah Kelly

Desired outcome: Reinstate sailing for my wife and self.

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
K
3:02 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Norwegian Cruise Line Rude service people on phone

I was going on a cruise on march 6 I have waited all my life to go on a cruise for one thing or anther I had never been abled to go with my family or anyone I was on my way and I was so excited I saved and I was so ready to see that boat finally. We live in minnesota and after a couple of problems with covering shifts doggie daycare we were leaving we were driving to new orleans because aiffare had changed in a matter of days and was well over 1.000 to fly so we started driving two of us straight through things were fine until wisconsin where we met up with part od the storm we left behind us and into a 30 -40m mph for 3 hours right there we lost to much time and I was so upset my boyfriend knowing I wanted so badly to go said we could go to chicago and fly from there after hours of phone calls ice storms terrible roads a semi almost killing us we arrived to the airport but with parking and no shuttle being given the wrong info we missed boarding mby 3 minutes. I was so upset I was sick I ended up staying there for a day and a half I couldnt even drive home but the worst part they didnt even care no help no nothing my trip of a lifetime just gone.

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
R
2:56 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Norwegian Cruise Line 2 tickets for a florida cruise

REF: [protected] 2/10/2022 Cruise to Miami Florida for 2 adults-balcony

[protected] -Ron/Helen Collins-paid in full-things have changed

Since then my wife Helen Collins dentures keep falling out. Est price of

$11,000 to fix her dentures in order to eat regular food. also both knees

have been replaced, hard to walk, also has diabetes-.Ron CC too

Both retired in our 70~s, USMC Vet

All we want is our full refund to pay some of our medical bills-please

Thanks, reservations made by Zach-[protected] X81215

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Update by Ron/Helen Collins
Mar 24, 2022 12:52 pm EDT

3/24 ref; [protected]-cast off 5/15/2022 to 5/23/2022; former NCL ship customers

Ron/Helen Collins- (Breakaway)

38th Anniversary-[protected]-Helen-Medical issues-Dentures slipping, can`t chew food; bolth knees replaced-difficult walking, diabetes-no sweets/Alcohol=

No Fun on the ship and or offshore! doesn`t swim or like water.

Ron C Collins-USMC Vet, College grad, loves the water; but also diabetic-strong legs, active swimmer, loves ships/boats! How can we get a win-win?

Total-5 Ocean Cruises since 2006. Refund and or sail later in the year?

Sincerely and thanks--Semper Fi

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
H
7:31 pm EDT

Norwegian Cruise Line My last cruise

I want to tell you about my recent experience with NCL.

I have booked a travel with you a year ago thinking that covid will be over but it is now worse than ever! When the time came to pay in full my travel in October 2021, I have called your selling department and they assured me that there were very few covid case (just one declared) aboard your ship. I will discover later that it was a false statement….

So, I decided to go ahead and pay in full my travel with you. In December, I have called again to know what was about the masking policy and again I have been explained that every employee needs to be masked and I will have to be masked even on the pool deck except when drinking or eating. I will discover later that it was again a false statement.

When I flew from Canada with a Full negative PCR to Tampa, I have done the little covid test in the tent thinking that it was serious and to be efficient. To my surprise, people were barely turning the Q tips in their nose in hope that they will not test positive…..!

So I embark the ship hoping that I will not get the Covid and be back to my home safely in Canada. I had a correct experience while I was aboard, but I will discover afterward that the NCL Breakaway will have to change his destination because it was refused entry to other country port. So this bigger ship came along with us for the 4 days we disembark in Mexico, Roatan, Belize and again in Mexico. In Roatan we had to take a tender waiting 1 hour in the morning in the ship theater in hope that they will let us take the tender because the weather was very windy. Finally, after an hour of waiting, we went to the tender and wait an other 30 minutes to depart, another 30 minutes to disembark in Roatan. In the evening, it was very too windy, so we had to wait another hour and a half for the Breakaway to go away! And wait for our ship to come along and get us inside. It was maddening.

The day after in Belize, what a surprise to see again the Breakaway in our spot because this ship was bigger, and it was requiring too many passengers to disembark. So we have wait for 45 minutes in the tender before it start to Belize and an other 30 minutes for disembarkment. The same long waiting minutes in the evening.

Afterward, it went smoother in Mexico for there were enough place for all the ships to coast. We had some fun on the 31st 2021 taking photos and partying for the new year eve’s. I took some photos and some employee. They offer us to take out their mask (see photo included). Also, you will see some bunch of people not masked on the pool desk… incredible. All Americans people that does not care because …. THEY DON’T HAVE TO GET A COVID TEST BEFORE GETTING BACK INTO THEIR COUNTRY!

In the morning of January 1st 2022, We had to take a covid test before the end of the cruise because we are Canadian citizen that needs of 72 hours negative test before getting a plane to Canada. At 10:30 in this morning, 3 agents came to me on the pool deck taking me without much explanation to my room saying that I needed to stay there. It was a long wait before somebody called us to tell that one of my two-kid tested positive. At that point, we didn’t know if they were going to bring food, drink or anything else. I had to make repeated phone called before getting any answers. It was crazy. In the end, they brought us some sandwiches and drink but no water because it was not included in my FREE DRINK that was sold to me at the beginning. So I had no choice but to pay for my water which is 6.99$ US a little bottle.

After waiting a full day and night not knowing if the US authorities will quarantine us or what will happened to us outside the ship. Nobody could manage to answer those question aboard the ship… So We were the last people to get outside the ship at 11 am on January 2nd 2022. Outside, a US agent took our passport and told us: Good luck, Show! It would have been great that someone aboard the ship reassured us about our disembarkment with the US local authorities.

We took a ride to the airport alongside with other Canadian that were on the ship as well. They were compensated with 14 days of hotel and 100$ per diem per day, each people. Nothing was offer to us probably because I told them that I was going to rent a car and get back home. It cost me 2,200$ US and 500$ of gasoline to get back home. Just that you know about it, in Georgia, it started to rain like a storm. I finally drove for 12 hours in a storm through the Carolina’s and Virginia. I ended up in a winter storm with snow. It was the worse experience in my life having to drive all night long in a tropical storm.

I finally came to home sound and safe but what a experience.

If only I would have had honest answer when I called NCL about my preoccupation sailing during covid time, I would never take that cruise. Knowing that there were so many covid case on ship, knowing that covid test were not PCR and not well manage, knowing that we could party without mask, knowing that employee were taking out their mask for photos, I WOULD NEVER TOOK THAT CRUISE.

Now I want to obtain 1/7 of the price I paid for this cruise which represent the day that I was confined inside the cabin. The total amount paid was 9,868.50$. The amount claimed is 1,409.78$ plus the car rental I had to pay which represent I am hoping that you will understand fully how I feel about my trip with NCL. I am hopping that you will fully acknowledge responsibility and reimburse me for all the disagreement I had.

You will find attached photos of unmasked employees as well as a video of people partying unmasked. I have even a registered phone call with one of your NCL agent making false statement about your cruise policy… It will be a pleasure for me to send you this recording.

I thank you very much for reading me.

Desired outcome: Reimbursement for at least 2,000$

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line and 2 comments
Hide full review
2 comments
Add a comment
M
M
markabb
Roanoke, US
Jun 29, 2023 2:44 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I booked a cruise on Dec 4th 22, for a Jun 19th 23 departure out of Venice to Athens. I paid for the free at sea which included unlimited open bar for cocktails and beer under $15, specialty dining, a discount on one shore excursions and wi-fi. I called three weeks before the departure and inquired about the free at sea plus and was told I had the free at sea open bar and if I wanted to upgrade it would be $1200.00. I declined to pay for the plus. When I got on the boat, I found out that I had all of it but not the free open bar. NCL sold me a cruise and promised a package and didn't deliver. NCL also knew a month if not 3 months in advance that we weren't going to Venice and did not inform the passengers until the first day aboard. We know this from speaking with other passengers that were on a online forum. This is my 3rd cruise with NCL and will be my last. NCL lied to me and the passengers on the ship Gem. Myself and many others I spoke too are very angry about this trip. I will file a complaint with the BBB and every site I can find on the web to inform future customers.

P
P
Pam Marph
, US
Jul 26, 2022 10:46 am EDT

we had 8 phone calls with gabriel zorrilla (personal cruise consultant with ncl) concerning our flights starting at 109 days out from cruise. every time we received notice from air canada for our trip home which was scheduled from montreal (the cruise did not even stop at montreal) to toronto to home. i spoke to gabriel each time requesting that we fly from quebec as this is where the ship docks, and further we booked an extended stay through ncl which they booked hotel Pur quebec for 2 nights. gabriel kept reassuring us at 110 days out that the flights were not final (permanent) and were just “place holders”. my brother-in-law walks with a cane so we paid extra to be on the same flight from same town. ncl just sent a notice a couple of weeks ago that they no longer honor. finally, on july 23 when ncl finally emailed us the true flights which they waited for 56 days out so now we only get 25% instead of 50% of what we paid for this cruise refunded. i immediately contacted ncl after on hold for 2 hours for flights office i spoke to stephanie (very curt). she stated that was the flights and ncl would not change and stated there were a lack of flights out of quebec. this is not true because my husband found 12 flights from quebec on september 23rd. further, she stated that we could have taken the $75 shuttle but since we made hotel reservations through ncl we would have to take a train at our own expense. the problem with the train is the earliest train from quebec to montreal is 6 am and it is a 2 and ½ hour ride. the train station is 30 minutes from the airport. we would not make it to the airport by 8 am as we should for the 10 am flight ncl scheduled so this does not work for us. when i inquired who was paying for this train she stated we would have to pay and get reimbursed by the travelers protection insurance. then i contact ncl again to discuss the train problem, as well as the 12 flights from quebec when i spoke to another employee in resolutions by the name of victor after waiting on hold for 2 hours and explained all of this he stated he could not change flights because we agreed to these flights but we did not agree to and tried on several occasions to change and victor hung up on me. we recommended to katherine in the executive offices of ncl that we could give up our hotel reservations and depart straight from the ship to the airport. however, we were told we would have to forfeit land, air and cruise. ncl also keeps telling us to use our travel protection insurance for refund. we sent it to aon (company we purchased from ncl but it will be 21 days before they review. when i contacted the accounting department at ncl regarding the refund, i only got a message that they are behind on the refunds. as you can see this company is very unorganized and i truly believe they are in trouble by the long waits every time you contact them. ncl should work with their customers to understand their needs. so unless you want to be a senior citizen as we are and lose over $3228.50 of your money, i would not recommend using ncl or gabrielle zorrilla as cruise consultant as he is dishonest because air canada called me back when i was on the phone with gabrielle so i conferenced him into conversation which he was not happy and air canada told me these flights were booked since march 2 which was well beyond my initial conversation with gabrille who just tells you anything. use a more reputable customer friendly company that at least lets you use toward another cruise. we have been on about 20 other cruises and never experienced anything like this before. terrible shady company.

ComplaintsBoard
L
11:09 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Norwegian Cruise Line we had two cruises cancel for Japan for March 8, 2022

they offer us 10% off on a new cruise in the future So we booked another 2 cruises and now they are saying we our not getting the 10% off. They cancel them. I just fell this is not right. Is there any thing we can do about this. March 8 thu April. Japan to Seattle.

We have trave/ a lot on NCL. Seem that they don"t care about they customer anymore

Desired outcome: would like the 10% on our new cruises.

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
4:19 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Norwegian Cruise Line March 2, 2022 cruise on norwegian sky

In a few words, the cruise SUCKED. Will never cruise with Norwegian again. Room toilets that don’t work, screwed up a dinner reservation by seating me on one side of the restaurant and the rest of my party on the other side. I left after 20 minutes thinking I was at the wrong restaurant. Then the captain announces on Saturday morning that they cancelled the trip on Sunday to their private island. So that was a huge disappointment all day Saturday. Wake up Sunday to see the ship docking in some industrial complex hellhole. I guess that’s NCL’s idea of a beautiful tropical island. NCL sucks. Waste of time and money to this scam cruise company. Also paid for the drink and dining packages only to find out I am getting billed sales tax on drinks and full price for drinks At other bars. And the meal package was a complete waste of money. The French restaurant served me a good French onion soup and a good dessert but the main dish I ordered was the seafood which consisted of 2 tiny shrimp, etc. 4 bites and everything was gone. What a joke. And the price I saw for that was just an insult to injury. No wonder there were hardly anyone there.

Desired outcome: I want a refund for the last day 20% of the cruise.

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
J
3:23 pm EST

Norwegian Cruise Line No refund for ukrainian war victim in ukraine now!

WTF NCL? My wife and I (in USA) booked a cruise on Feb 1st for Mar 7 out of Miami for us, and her cousin, her cousin's husband, and their two children (my wife's nieces) also booked. They are Ukrainians and from Vinnitsa Ukraine and are literally in a warzone! The airlines and hotels immediately refunded, but NCL offered credit! We have tried to escalate this with no success. NCL said it may take 2 weeks if they do refund at all. THIS IS LIFE AND DEATH HERE NCL. Their children (21 & 12 yo) have fled to Romania after escaping the bombings of Kiev, the parents are unable to flee because both are in the medical field and required to stay and serve. They are running out of everything there and need their money back ASAP for food and supplies! For the love of god please refund them! res [protected] and [protected] for Alona, Alexander, Victoria, and Kristina.

Desired outcome: refund

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
K
3:27 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Norwegian Cruise Line ncl travel agency

Do not ever book your flight arrangements through NCL. Their travel agency is horrible. They arranged flights for my party from Pittsburgh to New Orleans with a connection in Baltimore on January 2, 2022 for our Norwegian Breakaway Cruise. We got to Baltimore and our Southwest Airline connection flight was cancelled. I called the NCL airline rep and they couldn't help us and we were told we were on our own. We missed the cruise in New Orleans and had make our own arrangements to get to Cozumel (which was our first stop on the cruise). After missing 2 days of the cruise and finally arriving in Cozumel, we finally joined the cruise ship. Now I am trying to get reimbursement for our extra travel expenses through the travel insurance. Southwest Airlines has no record of us flying and will not provide the proof of flight cancellation for our travel insurance. I am so frustrated that the travel agency along with Southwest Airlines can not help me. This has been going on for 2 months and I am out quite a bit of money even though I did purchase travel insurance. Since I purchased the flight through NCL, Southwest Airlines is asking for the travel agency to provide them the information and the travel is refusing to help me.

Desired outcome: Someone to please help me!!!

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
P
6:25 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Norwegian Cruise Line Lies about charges

Ryan Tran, my "personal cruise consultant" lied about several things. First, excursions are not "free". They are only 50 dollars off for one person, if you question that, the rehearsed reply is "well, there are excursions that are 50 off", but that still doesn't include the second person, at all.

Second and most important, is their "name change" policy. At no point did he ever say that we needed to provide a middle name. Every time we talked, never discussed, only vague emails about name changes. We never provide a middle name to fly Alaska, and it is never an issue, even with TSA pre check, we don't need to worry about middle names.

He calls my wife and says he needs the middle name, and says he will waive the 50 dollar fee a few days ago. Now today, they charged a 150 dollar per person fee to change our name, when it is not needed. Put me on hold for an hour, to speak to a supervisor, Mario, #26271 from Miami, who gleefully upheld charging me 300 dollars to add a middle name to my flight when it isn't needed.

So 450 dollars worth of "free escursions, and 300 dollars in unneeded name change fees tacked on last minute, this is straight up lies and deceit. I will never travel on this cuise line again, I've been on Carnival and Celebrity, and never been shaken down like this before

Desired outcome: Refund immediately 100% of my money, or waive the fees and change my name back to what I gave you and I'll take my chances that Alaska will let me on the plane, I have TSA precheck for me and my wife.

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
D
9:20 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Norwegian Cruise Line Unnecessary charges

2-13-22

I was advised by Norweigen that we had to pay $150.00 per person to add our middle name to our reservation. This was a total of $300.00 for my husband and myself. The "customer service" representative was VERY RUDE. She said we had until January 31st to add the name. Why would you not require this information to proceed with the intitial reservation. I have had COVID for two weeks and have not had the mental clarification to be concerned with emails or cruise information and quite frankly am still not able. Shout out to Norweigen for sending this email AFTER the date it was due. We are concerned with what other ways Norweigen will swindle money out of us. This is our FIRST AND LAST experience with Norweigen and if we would not lose MORE money we would cancel this cruise!

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
K
1:52 pm EST

Norwegian Cruise Line Charging to change names on bookings

My wife booked a cruise along with 10 of our friends on 11/28/21. She booked online and also downloaded the NCL App to keep control of the reservation and purchase excursions. The cruise was paid in full on 11/28/21. Online and in the APP there is only the ability to book your first and last name. You cannot add you middle name or "full legal travel name". On 2/3 she receive an email from NCL that we needed to add our "full travel names" to complete the booking. She called on 2/9 and we were told by their resolutions desk that were are going to be charged $150 per person to update the names on travel since we did not respond within 72 hours of the letter. No where on the letter did it state you need to call within 72 hours or be charged. The friends that booked with us were also unaware as they booked online nd made their changes on 2/8 and 2/9. They were not charged. How can NCL charge a name change fee for booking when they do not give the ability to submit you full name on their website or APP? You must call to do so. The cruise was paid in full on 11/28. The change was to be updated by January and we received the letter on 2/3. This is unfair and should not be charged. This is our first time booking on NCL. We and our friends have never had this issue booking on other cruise lines.

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
J
11:46 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Norwegian Cruise Line Future Cruise Credits

I booked a cabin for myself, my husband, my daughter and her husband, then COVID hit and we had to reschedule. At that time, we transferred my daughter and her husband to a separate cabin using my future cruise credits and paying the difference. Our "Personal Cruise Consultant" has been horrible from the start and just gets worse. She provides inaccurate information and makes commitments with no follow-thru, she takes no responsibility for anything. When the vaccination mandate came out, my daughter and her husband canceled. We've made several requests to get a refund, following the instructions provided, every request denied. Requests for a call back and emails are ignored. They won't give a refund because its tied to my reservation which is still valid, so we requested the FCC be returned to me, following instructions provided, again repeatedly denied. Every time we talk to someone, we get a different story. There is no communication to/from the Claims group, they just come up with reason after reason to deny our requests. My attempts at escalations get me nowhere.

I booked the reservations, my email, phone # and credit card are the only ones associated with these reservations. This is my money and its quite a bit of money at that.

Desired outcome: Transfer the FCC currently under my daughter and her husband's name back to me, the original source of funding/credit. Both my daughter & her husband provided everything requested, FCC Cert #'s & auth to transfer funds back to me.

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line and 1 comment
Update by Jenell Theige
Mar 23, 2022 3:36 pm EDT

After months and countless calls, after submitting the complaint, the FCC credits were finally transferred. Thank you for your assistance. Its just very sad NCL forces their customers to escalate scenarios that should be simple to resolve.

Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
R
R
Ron/Helen Collins
Marysville, US
Mar 23, 2022 2:46 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

3/23/2022 -[protected]--98270-Seattle-former NCL cruise customers

Customer of NCL made reservations ([protected]-2/10/2022

My wife Helen F. Collins made by husband-Ron C Collins

paid by visa $2919.84 #[protected]

My had both knees replaced, hard to walk, all teeth pulled, dentures not working well,

both of us have diabetics and I have high BP as well; USMC Vet, 76-73 in age.

All we want is our full refund-Please and then able to pay some of our medical bills

ComplaintsBoard
J
8:22 pm EST

Norwegian Cruise Line Excessive billing

My credit card is showing a charge for 01/03/2022
01/05/2022
Norwegian Pearl, Miami FL
9750
$5,529.26

All my bills were paid and if that 9750 is a cabin number it wasn't ours. Please fix this immediately as interest is charged, payment is due on the 2nd of February. This is not an exemplary way of doing business and resolution had better not be 30 days as my first complaint.

Desired outcome: removal of charge

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
4:38 pm EST

Norwegian Cruise Line Looking for partial refund

We were unable to go to most of the ports we chose this cruise for. The one I wanted the most was Puerto Rico. We booked the excursion. Planned on using the $50 credit that was part of our package. Of course we didn't stop there. I tried to get the $50 credit moved on to my onboard statement but they would not. I understand it's not the fault of NCL but I thought it would be good customer service to apply the $50 credit anyway. The closing of one main dining room some nights forced us into the other one. We preferred the Aqua over the Venetian. Service was terribly slow in the Venetian. Lastly I won a free photo at Deal or No Deal. They told me it would be sent to my cabin the last night of the cruise. I picked the one I wanted at the photo gallery. It was not ther the morning we left. Value I believe was $24.95. I am sure NCL is doing some sort of refund for the part of the trip where we could not got to the scheduled ports. (We couldn't even get off the ship at the ports we did stop at. Unless we paid for an xcursuon. But they were all sold out). I am asking for that refund as well as the $50 excursion credit and credit for the photo. I would prefer those on my American Express versus a future NCL cruise, as my cruise companions refuse to go on another NCL cruise. We usually do Royal Caribbean.
Thank you for your consideration.

Desired outcome: Refund

Read full review of Norwegian Cruise Line
Hide full review

Norwegian Cruise Line Reviews 0

Looks like Norwegian Cruise Line has no reviews yet.
Write a review
Subscribe to receive notifications of all new customer feedback

If you represent Norwegian Cruise Line, take charge of your business profile by claiming it and stay informed about any new reviews or complaints submitted.

👉 Claim your business

About Norwegian Cruise Line

Screenshot Norwegian Cruise Line
Norwegian Cruise Line offers a variety of cruise vacations to global destinations. Their services include onboard accommodations, dining, entertainment, and various recreational activities. Travelers can choose from multiple ships and itineraries to suit their preferences.
How to file a complaint about Norwegian Cruise Line?

1. Log in or create an account: To begin, please ensure you are logged into your ComplaintsBoard.com account. If you do not have an account, you will need to create one by providing the necessary information and verifying your email address.

2. Navigating to the complaint form: Once logged in, locate the 'File a Complaint' button situated at the top right corner of the website and click on it to access the complaint submission form.

3. Writing the title: In the 'Complaint Title' field, concisely summarize the main issue you have encountered with Norwegian Cruise Line. Make it specific and clear, such as "Overcharged for Cabin on Norwegian Cruise Line" or "Poor Customer Service on Norwegian Getaway Cruise".

4. Detailing the experience: In the complaint details section, provide a thorough description of your experience. Include key areas such as booking process, cabin conditions, customer service, onboard facilities, hygiene standards, food quality, and any specific incidents that occurred. Mention any transactions you had with the company, including booking numbers, dates, and amounts paid. Clearly describe the nature of the issue, the steps you took to resolve it, and how the company responded. Explain how this issue has personally affected you, whether it be stress, financial loss, or disappointment.

5. Attaching supporting documents: Attach any relevant documents that support your complaint, such as receipts, correspondence, or photographs. Be cautious not to include sensitive personal information that could compromise your privacy or security.

6. Filling optional fields: Use the 'Claimed Loss' field to indicate any financial losses you have incurred as a result of the issue with Norwegian Cruise Line. In the 'Desired Outcome' field, clearly state what resolution you are seeking, whether it be a refund, compensation, or another form of resolution.

7. Review before submission: Carefully review your complaint for clarity, accuracy, and completeness. Ensure that all the information provided is correct and that your desired outcome is reasonable and clearly stated.

8. Submission process: After reviewing your complaint, click the 'Submit' button to officially file your complaint on ComplaintsBoard.com.

9. Post-Submission Actions: After submitting your complaint, make sure to regularly check your account on ComplaintsBoard.com for any responses or updates regarding your complaint. Engage with any follow-up queries or resolutions offered by Norwegian Cruise Line or the ComplaintsBoard.com community.

Overview of Norwegian Cruise Line complaint handling

Norwegian Cruise Line reviews first appeared on Complaints Board on Sep 28, 2006. The latest review Disappointing Experience with Norwegian Cruise Line was posted on May 16, 2024. The latest complaint unethical behavior was resolved on Oct 26, 2012. Norwegian Cruise Line has an average consumer rating of 1 stars from 318 reviews. Norwegian Cruise Line has resolved 26 complaints.
Ratings on other review websites
Trustpilot
Trustpilot
1.5
740 reviews
Trust badge
Collect Your Trust Badge
Be recognized for outstanding customer service
  1. Norwegian Cruise Line Contacts

  2. Norwegian Cruise Line phone numbers
    800 0310 2121
    800 0310 2121
    Click up if you have successfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling 800 0310 2121 phone number 45 45 users reported that they have successfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling 800 0310 2121 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling 800 0310 2121 phone number 58 58 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling 800 0310 2121 phone number
    50%
    Confidence score
    Customer Service
    +47 21 956 210
    +47 21 956 210
    Click up if you have successfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +47 21 956 210 phone number 6 6 users reported that they have successfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +47 21 956 210 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +47 21 956 210 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +47 21 956 210 phone number
    50%
    Confidence score
    Norway
    +358 931 579 407
    +358 931 579 407
    Click up if you have successfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +358 931 579 407 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +358 931 579 407 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +358 931 579 407 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +358 931 579 407 phone number
    Finland
    +46 840 308 702
    +46 840 308 702
    Click up if you have successfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +46 840 308 702 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +46 840 308 702 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +46 840 308 702 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +46 840 308 702 phone number
    100%
    Confidence score
    Sweden
    +1 (866) 234-7350
    +1 (866) 234-7350
    Click up if you have successfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +1 (866) 234-7350 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +1 (866) 234-7350 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +1 (866) 234-7350 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Norwegian Cruise Line by calling +1 (866) 234-7350 phone number
    More phone numbers
  3. Norwegian Cruise Line emails
  4. Norwegian Cruise Line address
    7665 Corporate Centre Drive, Miami, Florida, 33126, United States
  5. Norwegian Cruise Line social media
  6. Olivia
    Checked and verified by Olivia This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 13, 2024

Our Commitment

We stand for unbiased reviews

We make sure all complaints and reviews are from real people sharing genuine experiences.

We help resolving issues

We offer easy tools for businesses and reviewers to solve issues together. Learn how it works.

We advocate freedom of speech

We support and promote the right for reviewers to express their opinions and ideas freely without censorship or restrictions, as long as it's respectful and within our Terms and Conditions, of course ;)

We ensure transparent and fair ratings

Our rating system is open and honest, ensuring unbiased evaluations for all businesses on the platform. Learn more.

We care about your privacy

Personal details of reviewers are strictly confidential and hidden from everyone.

We are easy, free and open to everyone

Our website is designed to be user-friendly, accessible, and absolutely free for everyone to use.