ADVERTISIMENT

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
North American Fishing ClubHow to avoid their scam

My father paid $213 for a "lifetime membership" in may, 2011. Was supposed to get a shimano fishing rod and reel and magazine as part of the membership. Never got the rod & reel. Instead he received books & gifts & others items that he was being charged for. He mailed it all back and made phone calls to cancel but never got responses. He's a senior citizen so I offered to make calls to investigate as I suspected it was some type of scam. He was told repeatedly that the rods were on backorder. They told me the same thing but I challenged them on it and let them know I was going to contact the wi and mn attorney general's office to file a complaint. Lo and behold, the "rods have recenetly been taken off back order and will be shipped to your father tomorrow!" I also demanded that they stop sending him books and other "free" items to "sample" in the mail and found out that you can opt out of getting any free offers. Nowhere on their correspondence is that made clear to their customers however!! I told them my father paid to receive a gift and a magazine and that's all I want him to receive and cancelled everything else. I'm going to call back and actually cancel his membership as i'm sure they just automatically renew it each year and then charge their unsuspecting customers. Please file complaints in your state with the attorney generals office as it's apparent this company is just scamming people from all the complaints. I would be very curious to know how many people have never received their free premium gift because it was "on backorder. " if you are one of them, let me know. I'm ready to compile a list and expose this organization for what they are. They also handle atleast 10 other "clubs" so they are hitting alot of people simultaneously. Their corporate office address I was given is: 12301 whitewater dr. , minnetonka, mn 55343. When I pushed for a corporate office number they gave me: [protected]. However, that is just a number that outsources incoming calls called "the connection. " please, please, call your attorney general's office, report this scam to your newspapers, police departments, senior citizen and consumer complaints departments... Whatever you can do if you have been victimized by this organization.

ADVERTISIMENT

Responses

  • Ke
    keith creel Nov 09, 2014

    regarding: KBPKM - how to catch pike & muskie pkg you have ask me to pay $27.98 for this book I have tried to phone you and sent a note to you about this book I have received no ANSWERS TO MY REQUIST I returned ths book the day after I received it it was returned to you by the us postal service I hope this does not effect my fica score thank you what is a telephone number I can reach you at I don't know if my note reached you or not so you should take billing number 102737D5C7 off of my account

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ro
    rodnet58 Mar 17, 2014

    did not get my free members items started getting books to buy dont want them will not oay for them dont want in this club no more

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ra
    Randall Dills Aug 20, 2013

    Don't want to be in fishing club

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Na
    Nancy DJ Mar 19, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I thought this would be great for my son, so I sent away what I thought was the life time fee.
    Well was I wrong, it's $270.00. the inital letter said $24.00. I keep getting books, I send them
    back and I keep getting pay know, past due. I got a calander, sent back, still get notices.
    The best one was when my son got a book and we opened it up, it had the return letter from
    someone else inside the box. What does that tell you ?

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Jj
    jjoyal Mar 07, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been a life member since 1999 and have had it with them. I cannot make payments on line anymore and have not been getting my magazines for about a year. I am going to send in a payment for knives i, ve been getting along with a letter telling them that i no longer am going to accept anything else they dare to send. If they do, i will not send it back, because i will have told them not to and didnt ask for it.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Gi
    gilbert goodwill Nov 29, 2012

    i have the problem got books i never asked for and the priice just goes up, i thought this was a good deal to join my fishing buddies said it was, they were very wrong i have had enough, let me know when you want to start doing the right thing here.

    gegoodwill

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ro
    Ronald Wood Nov 23, 2012

    This is in reference to #LRXR8561. Problem is I have NOT requested a membership with NAFC nor have I received any gifts.
    However I started getting a bill in the mail which I figured was a mistake they would catch and correct but now I have recieved
    a notice that if I do not pay I will be turned over to a collection agency. If this happens my lawyer will take immediate action. I hope
    someone in the right dept. reads this and corrects the problem before it gets nasty.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Wi
    william parriott Jun 11, 2012

    it said money back guarantee if you are dissatisfied anytime during the first year so how do i get my money back cancel william parriott billing ref lrjp2564

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ch
    Charles0913 May 29, 2012

    I to joined, the North American Fishing Club, and we paid the 12.00 membership for 1 year, and then they started sending the life time apps, and continued and continued, till we were blue in the face, Just how many final notices can one person get? We just got another one in today's mail "Final Notice invitation to be withdrawn in 28 days".. This is ridiculous, how do these people get away with this kind of SCAMS... The only thing I have have gotten in a small pad of paper, a window decal, and some cheap hooks.
    Then right away they sent us hard covered books to buy, and then this lifetime membership crap... Didn't get anything from the initial
    year membership gas rebates, then we get post cards saying we didn't enclose the copy of the receipt? And a "Thank you" for your request for the gas rebate, but unfortunately your request is invalid... But right away they keep sending crap for the lifetime membership, like a membership card and folder, a patch a key chain and you guessed it another package of hooks... They need to be hung for the crap they are pulling on people, I have called several times, to ask them to take me off their mailing list and it ain't happened yet and that was months ago...

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Pa
    Pat Etter Jan 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have recieved several of the items they romised, but they send things I don't want. have ask to be removed from the mailing list and still get unwanted items. Have returned them and now being billed. I was harqassed into paying for a coin I never did recieve. I need their phone number, but seen other post that doesn't help. I will contact my Atty. General's office and post a complaint.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Al
    Alley Oops Nov 12, 2011

    I shared the experiences that your father says he experienced...a boiler room organization that just today asked me to join their 'Medical Assistance' program...I've done everything possible, that I know of, to get them off of my back...I return their packages unopened but still receive bills from them from stuff I have never received...It all started with them sending me books that I didn't want every few weeks...I began returning them unopened...then the calanders and cheap lures...this org is nothing but a boiler room operation that is milking the unknown public dry...it's a sham and a shame.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
Comment Guidelines

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.
    ADVERTISIMENT