SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

MTA Busextremely rude bus driver

1
F Review updated:

On August 21, 2009 at about 8:40 p.m., on the M31 bus, bus number 8766, going east on 57th Street between 3rd Avenue and 1st Avenue, an MTA bus driver was extremely rude when I asked him to turn down the A/C. First he barked "no" at me, then when I asked why not, since many other bus drivers have turned down the A/C when I asked them to, he screamed, shouted, and was extremely dismissive and disrespectful towards me. When I asked him why he was being so rude, he raised his voice even more and told me "this conversation is over." I reminded him that I was his customer and told him that there was no need to speak in a rude and disrespectful tone, but he continued to raise his voice at me.

I hope that the MTA takes measures to stop this type of behavior by its drivers, and that it disciplines this one in particular by removing him from the M31 bus line.

Responses

  • G
      Sep 08, 2009

    next time bring a sweater and stop giving working people a hard time, afterall, put yourself in his shoes and emagine working for long hours without rest, see if you wouldn't appreciate the A/C as well.

    -4 Votes
  • D
      Mar 17, 2017

    @gytjutyujytghuytjyt All u have to be :a professional bus driver knowing how to speak with customers if u not, look for different job

    0 Votes
  • M
      Sep 28, 2009

    Yes, bus drivers have it hard, but so do working people in general. But that doesn't give the bus driver the right to take it out on the customer and bark at them disrespectfully...no matter how trivial the matter is. Where are your manners and keep your anger in check.

    +1 Votes
  • Z
      Dec 14, 2009

    I have been a long time Bus rider and never had a complain about bus drivers but this past year I have seen a decline in customer service with the MTA. Today as me and my elderly mother rode the bx 12 s/w at 130pm we decided to transfer to Bx2 we decided to ask the driver for a transfer as we left the bus. The bus just looked at my mother and just stared and yelled "you should of just asked for a transfer when you got on!" My mother received her transfer and got off and I was directly behind her and asked for the transfer. He looked at me and rolled his eyes and ignored me. I thought he might of not heard me so I repeated again "may i have a transfer" He replied "I'm closing the door so get off or stay on!"

    I don't understand why or what the big deal was to ask for a transfer at the end of the ride. We were only on the bus for 15mins so its not like we were planning to transfer. I am very disappointed and confused on why the quality of customer service has declined after the hikes in fare. It seems like all employees are miserable and just don't seem interested in helping customers with questions and concerns. I would hope that employees are receiving proper training when dealing with concerns regarding customers. I have never dealt with such disrespect and belittled in front of people like I was today. Me and my mother paid full fare for the ride so its not like your dealing with people who aren't paying for services. I wish to speak with someone regarding this matter and hope this never happens again

    Thank you

    +3 Votes
  • D
      Mar 17, 2017

    @zobeida Unfortunately it happens again and again!!!

    0 Votes
  • M
      Aug 07, 2011

    FIRST OF ALL BUSSES DON'T HAVE A/C THEY HAVE CLIMATE CONTROL .THEY ARE NOT ALLOWED TO SHUT IT OFF & JUST BECAUSE YOU COLD EVERYBODY MUST SUFFER.YOU MUST LIVE ON SUTTON PLACE OR YORK AVE YOU CRY BABY & THE DRIVER WAS NOT RUDE IT WAS THE ANSWER YOU DIDN'T WANT TO HEAR.

    -7 Votes
  • I
      Oct 09, 2011

    In my 30 years of bus riding, I've never had an issue with the professionalism of MTA bus jockey until today. Today is Saturday, got on 10:20AM Q32 bus from Penn Station to Queens. Bus driver wearing a Yankees jacket seemed to have woken up with a pinecone up his ###. One of my Metro cards was expired, and I asked him what to do, he brusquely told me to throw it away. I responded I thought money was on it, and he grumbled something unintelligable, basically telling me off. Driving Manhattan streets he was shockingly aggressive, even though there wasn't much traffic, there was typical weekend contrunction delays. He honked his horns over 3 typical NYC traffic delays, shaking his fists and cursing. Only car honks I heard all day.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Mar 17, 2017

    @intoNYC That so typical!!

    -2 Votes
  • P
      Dec 12, 2011
    MTA - MTA bus stop location change at 68th street
    MTA
    United States

    For some reasons beyond the residents and the commuters of 1st Avenue 68th Street, recently bus stop relocated to one block South to 67th Street.

    This new location is very inconvenient for many reasons like there is no way to put a bus stop/shelter in this location. So we are using the Laurel building's (East block) entrance canopy in rainy days. It is a high-rise residential building and this situation crates big hassle for them and for us. This shelter-canopy is also 100' far from the bus stop.

    So bus waiting until people reach the bus from the shelter and from the other side of the 67th street. MTA should monitor this immense delays on the bus service.

    Transfer from the 1st ave bus to cross-town bus is start to be dangerous too. If the bus waiting on the stop, many people doesn't care about the traffic lights and running cross 1st ave and or 67th street.

    Also people from the hospital(s) should wait and cross the 67th street to reach the bus stop. It is very big hassle especially people using wheel chairs, which is very-very common here.

    Plus, these new "beeping buses" makes crazy both east and west side residents. There are no residential facilities at 68th (previous location) street block. (office building at the east and a park at the west) Please consider that this stop for both limited and local bus stop and we have also cross-town bus stop at 1st and 67th street NW corner. Time to time 3-4 buses beeping at the same time, it is a big noise pollution too.

    Please correct this mistake as soon as possible. We want our bus stop back to good ol' place at 68th Street.

    -2 Votes
  • K
      Apr 01, 2012

    at or around 6:36 pm, on april 1st, 2012, in the pouring rain, on the limited sunday schedule @150th street and jamaica ave, two #24 buses and a #56 bus deliberately passed about five or six people waiting at that bus stop. these bus drivers did not make an attempt to stop to pick up these customers. there is no way that these customers were not seen by these drivers. one disabled customer was even waving her cane. why should we be treated this way by those or ANY mta drivers? there seems to be an outbreak of extremely rude and mean, uncaring acts by some drivers at this time, making it bad for other drivers who may be more conscientious. patrons are not happy having to PAY to be mistreated, disrespected, and insulted. it seems that these drivers can easily be replaced by some others who would appreciate having a job!

    +1 Votes
  • X
      May 13, 2013

    I was acrossing the street, and I saw the bus that I want to take, and it was approching the station very slowly. I tell myself how luck i am when I realize that I would have enough time to get on the bus. Because it is a red light. The bus can not leave.
    But, to my suplise, when I step in front the door of the bus, the driver show me only a finge and tell me no. He will not open the door again!
    I do not want lost my mind, so I step back and sit in the chair watching this bus leaving for 3 mins.
    Start from that moment, I always drive now.
    If someone ask me about NY, when I go back to china. I will tell them
    It make me sike!

    +1 Votes
  • B
      Jul 14, 2013

    99.9% of people who ride buses are working class. There is no reason at all for Bus Drivers to be so disrespectful. I dont care how hard they have it its their job if they dont like what they do then go find another job...

    +2 Votes
  • A
      Jun 25, 2014

    I encountered a rude bus driver myself. I wouldn't say I was lucky but I saw him the next day as well. This time I made sure to record my encounter and will send it to the mta so there is proof and something gets done.

    0 Votes
  • W
      Jan 28, 2015

    Rude bus driver (badge No. 47718) on Q15A at 3:30pm in Flushing Queens on 1/28/15 (bus No. 4217) was late and angry. The driver closed the doors on people at the stop while only half loaded and as passengers pleaded for him to open the doors he told them to take a taxi. He pulled away leaving the crowd who had been waiting in sub-freezing weather. This person should not be working with the public.

    -1 Votes
  • A
      Feb 06, 2015

    At approximately 4:45pm I was waiting for a B12 bus (8943) down at Utica and empire this driver came to the bus stop slashing everyone with that dirty water and snow. I felt like he had no interest in working at all! He's an incompetent and a jerk!

    0 Votes
  • A
      Aug 09, 2015

    fist yes the rudeness with these drivers are unexseptable b49/b82 buses are als far and inbetween, what should take me 17 min takes me 2 hrs on weekends. buses come 3 at a time then none for 50 min, and they want raises smh

    0 Votes
  • D
      Mar 17, 2017

    @anneb3 B49 buses WORST MTA bus service I ever saw after waiting for hours this bus doesn't stop he just passing seeing you staying on the bus stop

    0 Votes
  • A
      Aug 09, 2015

    everything people have to say about these rude bus drivers are correct, i think the next raise you should put it towards mannorisim school.and b49/b82 are by far the worst, along with their bus timings what should take me 17 min takes me 2 hrs at times.busus come by the 3 sthen waiting 50 min, so much for your schedules

    +1 Votes
  • R
      Oct 07, 2015

    Today I got on the 10bx bus on the stop w232 and Henry Hudson parkway in the Bronx at around 4:30 I was there since 4:10going towards yonkers. A few stops before the last stop there was a street closing and we were stuck at a light no cars infront of us just cops so the driver should have see. The long yellow tape from one corner to the other but he chose to still go he must of not payed attention. He turned the bus off with about 6 passengers in it and didn't say anything didn't announce anything so I got up and asked, so this is going to be the last stop right? And he started screaming "do you want to walk get of stay I stopped listening after I heard the attitude and the pitch of his voice, so I told him okay I asked u a simple question you don't have to be rude none the less he didn't hear a word because he kept talking over me repeating the same thing, mind you through out he whole bus ride while people were swiping the card he would close be door on the last person right behind them so they would have to squeeze themselves and not get caught. Very rude driver that came late, doesn't have manners very rude and hates his job . Please do something about this cause everyone has hard days and wants to get home but if the job is going to make you be rude towards people then the job isn't for you .

    0 Votes
  • A
      Oct 13, 2015

    I am kindly requesting that the Q8 bus be on time. It does not run as frequently as the other buses, so a timely departure will be very much appreciated, particularly at the starting point at Gateway Mall in Brooklyn. Some of us riders have recently moved into the neighborhood in the new community, and many of us are having a difficult time commuting, because buses are often really late, or skip certain departure times altogether. For instance, 3 weekdays last week, I arrived at the bus stop at 7:30 am, 7:20am, and 7:44am, and twice I had to wait until 7:55 and once, until 8:07 to board a bus. According to the published schedule, buses should be departing at 7:22, 7:37, and 7:52. I am really disappointed that the 7:37 bus is never on time. I push myself to get there by 7:30 and it is very disheartening when it's 7:55 and I'm still waiting at the bus stop.

    0 Votes
  • G
      Apr 18, 2016

    On March 1st 2016 Tuesday 8:47 am. It Happen
    I was doing my daily route team I was going to take the 45 bus to work.
    The Female Hispanic Bus Driver see me on clear view walking toward the bus .
    She just run the bus toward me the bus hit me knock out on the floor she continue does NOT stop leave me laying down on the street.

    At Pelham Bay Station. The 45 Eastchester bus Bee-line.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Jun 20, 2016

    M31 northbound York ave ring bell driver cruises thriugh without stopping, gets to 91st and I wasnt going to say anything but he deliberately positions the backdoor parallel to a double parked delivery van blocking back door egress. So I have to get off at the front. I said you missed the last stop, he says you didn't ring the bell, I said of course I did the signs been red since I pushed it. He was fat and looked borderline ###ed so there's that.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Jun 29, 2016

    There ###s.one day when i got on with change (quarters) the bus driver told me "hurry the F up" and i was the only person on.

    0 Votes
  • D
      Mar 17, 2017

    Unfortunately just single bus drivers fit description: professional bus driver, the rest unfortunately far from it

    0 Votes
  • B
      May 30, 2017

    Today I was walking from a jhs in brooklyn to a b36 bus stop on west 5th st (the bus stop was pushed forward due to construction by its original stop) and I happened to see the bus on its way to the stop. so I had to run for this bus to catch it. seeing a few jhs students run to the stop I ran with them. the bus driver let only a few people on then closed the doors.. not only was I standing there banging on the door, other people were too. the bus driver just looks, turns his head, and proceeded to drive away... sad that we have to deal with this kind of treatment from the only transportation company that we need to rely on... if we retaliate... that's 7 years... I say they should lower the fare.. it's only fair! we get [censor]ed over! nothing we can really do!

    0 Votes
  • P
      Jun 12, 2017

    What you guys don't understand is that their are so many restrictions against drivers that sometimes it gets a little frustrating... why because not all drivers are rude and mean... working with the public... you deal with all kinds of nasty... inhuman people... that get on and disrespect the driver... he gets about 200 of those people a a day... a week 1000... the next week he might be a [censor] because he's expecting 2000 more [censor] to be [censor]... I watch and see everything and I feel bad because I wouldn't allow someone to talk to me the way people talk to drivers... that's someone's mother, brother, father.. sister grandparent... the society we live could care less about anyone else... just pay attention... look who they put in the presidential office... you people in america are sick in the head and it's sad the world is the way it is... just deal with it and get on with your life... only people who complain on others are the real miserable [censor]..,.

    +1 Votes
  • B
      Sep 04, 2019

    Today I was riding the B6 (Limited - 7532) Bus on Glenwood Road - between Albany Ave/ Nostrand Ave... all of a sudden the driver started to drive so slow that even another B6 came and passed him. He did not say anything until numerous passengers, including myself, started to ask him what is happening and why is he driving so slow. The driver response was "I am sticking to my schedule". Well, I see nothing wrong with sticking to you schedule, but why did you have to start-out so early from the terminal and make such extreme adjustments on your route? For most part, the MTA is doing a very good job in serving the East Flatbush/Flatland/Canarsie Communities. . . so keep up the good work MTA! On the other hand, please educate/train your bad drivers to be respectable toward the riding plubic (MTA 's customers); just like we the public should have respect for the hard working men and women of the MTA. . .

    -1 Votes
  • L
      Nov 22, 2019

    The bus driver for bus 6700 M104 (an African American) dropped me off on 42nd street and I asked him for a transfer and he started yelling at me. I waited over 45 minutes for a bus going downtown and did not have a transfer. Then he got violent and rude starting to accuse me of something. . .while I left the bus shaking.

    -1 Votes
  • R
      Nov 23, 2019

    I feel bad for mta bus drivers who have to deal with entitled, disrespectful, crazy, dirty, violent and unrealistic passengers who make the system go slower.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment