Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Transportation & Vehicles MTA rude bus driver

MTA review: rude bus driver

D
Author of the complaint
2:04 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Bus driver wasn't paying any attention and close the door on my are with my umbrelle in it and when I got on the bus he stated tell them wat you did and I did nothing wrong

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More MTA complaints & reviews

MTA - extremely rude bus driver
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
MTA - rude queens bus driver q37
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
MTA - rude lirr ticket collector
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
MTA - bus dont stop
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
19 comments
Add a comment
L
Jul 17, 2019 7:39 pm EDT

Like so many above, I too had a rude driver.

Im a senior and lost my Metro card two days ago. The MTA rep said i can show ID and pay cash until I get the new replacement card, also said I can buy a card for round trip, but only once each day.

At 9:15am July 17, , I purchased a Select bus ticket this morning on York Ave and 86th Street going to the Lexington Ave & 86th street train . I was charged $2.90 which would cover two trips---- my senior rate is $1.35 so your machines are not working . Meanwhile I tried to use it on they way home around 6:40pm at Lexington Ave and 57th street on BUS #3929 and the driver starred at me, would not let me use it, and said even if I was overcharged it was only good for an hour and it was a Select bus, therefore its not good.
I tried to get more information regarding a second card I purchased (see above) and hoped he would explain what I needed to do in this case----instead of being kind, he said "quote, you're stupid". I was so shocked at his inability to explain the rules, and his nasty response calling me stupid. this is unacceptable.

I felt like telling him Im a retired attorney with 2 degrees, (not very stupid) while He is driving a bus, but i held off. MTA needs to train these people who drive--who really do not like their job and are so frustrated they take it out on passengers, Perhaps give the job to a more congenial type person. Drivers are dealing with the public and there is no need for rudeness. Again, the M31 Bus # is 3929. Please give this guy a talking to. thank you. LDH

Oct 20, 2008 5:15 am EDT

Yesterday I was in a rush to get home vai the mta bus service my sister and I were waiting for the bus and she had a nine month old baby in the carrige with many bags we were waiting for the bus to come. He shows up and we ask him if we need to fold the carriage he says yes! AND SLAMS THE DOOR IN OUR FACE and begins DRIVING OFF! some very kind young girl was standing near by and whatched the scene she ran after the bus holding it up and letting the guy know how nasty he was and admonoshing him that HIS JOB WAS TO TAKE PEOPLE FROM ONE PLACE TO THE NEXT the driver instead of apologizing pulled to the side and announced that "THIS BUS IS OUT OF SERVICE" and sent us all of my complaint is that in New York woman with babies are being treated like they did some crime why do we allow people with wheel chairs on the bus and not young woman with carriges!? these young babes are the ones that ARE GOING TO BUILD our population and our USA definetly not nasty people and I really want to thank whoever that girl was for sticking up for us and I appologize that no one else on the bus had the dessency to tell the driver he was ever so WRONG!

J
Apr 03, 2013 10:14 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I was going to work today and I swiped my card and it said it had no money the driver was not nice to me he told me that if I had another card if not get off the bus. I told him that the card gets money put on it automatic on the card and he said that is not true. it about at 8:43 am on 4/3/2013 he was a black person.
I waited for the bus that said Roosevelt Ave last stop on the 34 bus and the card work that bus.
I think you need to retrain the bus drivers to be nice to all people and not just there kind.
Jeanine from flushing

T
Nov 16, 2012 4:59 pm EST

I am really frustrated with the fact that on several occasions my metro card has overcharged me, instead of applying a transfer it took another fare. I reported the incident at the train station and asked for a form to reclaim my loss and was told that they no longer have them. I intern had to repurchase another card in order to get home, this happened twice in the pass month when i tried transferring from the Bx26 to the Bx 38, on one instance within 45mins and in another 8 min. If there is a glitch in the system it needs to be addressed as commuters don't have money in excess to give to the MTA. This is very unfair as I was basically told by the male attendant at the #4 train station to cut my losses and go home.

A
Nov 03, 2012 7:17 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

5947 bus #15 from Fordham plaza, she was too rude with Spanish old man

M
Nov 21, 2011 3:59 am EST

When will the MTA address complaints about the lateness of the Q56 especially at nights and on the weekend?
I have endured over 1 hour late buses on the Q56 and tonight (November 20, 2011) I had an unpleasant encounter with the bus driver of bus 6615 or [6675?} that came at 11 p.m. to pick up at the East New York Depot. He accused me of "coming at him rudely" when I said to him that I had been waiting over 1 hour and that since it had happened before where the bus card extracted a new fare instead of the transfer due to the long wait, I would not pay for an extra fare. He was smart mouthed and rude and when I asked what could riders do about the long wait on the Q56 he said "Take the J train?" Need I remind the bus service and the drivers that with that attitude some of them will be without a job? The reason ridership seems poor on the Q56 is that people, after waiting for the bus for a ridiculous time, give up and take a taxi! It is particularly unpleasant to wait in poor weather -cold, rain or if you are ill, or incapacitated in some way. God help us all if we maintain the attitude of "tough!" or "piss off!" NYC has many good things and other bus lines are timely -why cannot the Q56 do the same?

L
Nov 07, 2011 3:25 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Public transportation is notorious for rude activity. It takes a lot of will power to not snap when stuff like this happens. it's awesome that someone stood up for you when all of this happened. Getting a reminder that not everyone in NYC is that rude is always a pleasant surprise and one that should happen more often. http://www.inlinewaiting.com/2011/11/600/

D
Oct 13, 2011 5:01 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Well today my 12 yrs. Old came crying to the house after a driver from M104 was very very very RUDE to her.. Here is the full story: My daughter this year started using public transportantion (NYC bus M104) and today 10/12/2011 a female NYC bus driver was mean to my daughter as she was putting her school bus pass, which she has used ever since school started and till today no problem was mentioned. Well she told my daughter to read what it saids on the bus pass and my daughter read it for her.. As the driver asked repeatedly to my daughter to read another section of the bus pass. My daughter never had used a bus so continously and since I have a younger daughter in another school that I need to pick up sort like at the same time. Is actually the reason my 12 yrs old is since September 2011 has started to get the bus.. Now I'm not debating that my daughter had to pay 1/2 fare, that since today incident we just noticed.. The issued for me was that she made my daughter read something to her out loud making her feel dumb..or stupid in front of others.. When my daughter got home I got into my car with my daughter to try to see if we catch the bus that she was on.. But lucky for the driver we didn't succeed. Tomorrow 10/13/2011 I'll be with my daughter at the same time to try to see if we have luck.. My point is to let the female driver know that she better think twice after referring to any of my kids.. My 12 yrs old didn't know, I didn't know she had to pay 1/2 fare, we really didn't know.. As crazy it's sound .. We didn't know.. :-( I always think that there's always a way of saying things.. And we as adult have to set the example.. Plus I need to get the drivers batch number that my daughter didn't know she could get... You know in order for us to file a full complaint. Any how I did called 911, 311, and 511 to see what to do in a situation like this.. So I file a complaint at [protected] and made my complaint with a representative named Laquisha (don't know if I spell her name properly). I also told the representative that I would go tomorrow to the same stop with my daughter to see if we get lucky and get a batch number. In conclusion I know that making that complaint would not affect that driver whatsoever I'm just doing it because we sustain the MTA.. And may be just may be some day one could really do their job and do a clean up for good.. This is NYC, the greatest city ever despite this incident. Nevertheless my kids are my world and they respect others and demand the SAME.

S
Aug 03, 2011 5:44 am EDT

Hi All:

I too just had a terrible experience with a bus driver that left me feeling disrespected and unsafe. I've looked up ways for us to complain to superiors:

http://cityroom.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/09/25/how-to-complain-to-the-mta/
http://www.straphangers.org/complaints.html#bus

Good luck! REPORT THE BAD EGGS. I've had so many great, talented, kind and polite drivers, and it makes me sad to see them lumped in with the absolutely crazy and rude people who happen to be their colleagues. Additionally, I bet anyone who we would want to complain about has thirty former riders who would file complaints too!

Time to put up or shut up.

L
Apr 14, 2011 3:54 am EDT

Why is it ok for bus drivers to be so rude? I don't understand? The price to take the bus goes up every year and we are still been treated like dirt! Why is no one taking action? Why are they allowed to say things and get away with things when not provoked? Is there anyone listening? Is there anyone hear our complaints? Come on someone needs to sit on these buses and listen to these drivers.

L
Apr 14, 2011 3:45 am EDT

Today 4/13/2011 I got on the B82 bus around kings highway and nostrand at around 3:35pm. The bus was packed with school kids and I was the last one to get on. The driver was asking people to move back and grant it so was right. I had already paid so I squeezed on. I was standing right up front when he said, "I HOPE YOU FALL OUT". I asked him why would he wish that and he said, " I rather you fall out than something run into the bus". I said what if something runs into your side he said, "I don't care". I take his bus 95% of the time. I see this man all the time, for him to say that I'm shocked!

A
Oct 19, 2010 9:23 am EDT

I was almost hit by a MTA bus driver near my house in Jamaica queens. I had a steady white light for walking crossing merick blvd and hillside avenue. He saw me crossing but still came abruptly and he stopped in the middle of the crossing for a brief time, so I will be caught in the middle of opposite traffic, because the other side will have green light. First of all, I think he was drunk, neither no one will have the human guts to turn on walking people like that. If I was 1 inch ahead of my position literally I wouldn't be writing today, I would be seriously injured. I saw my whole life in a flash. I never encountered a Mta bus driver like this. I was so scared and stunned I forgot to take the bus number. I hope there is a camera nearby.

V

These bus drivers are absolutely nasty! no other way to describe them just nasty! Today i rode the bus to work so i get on and there is no place to sit or stand so i had no choice but to stand in back of the bus driver, it was however in back of the white line so there should be no problem with me standing there right? wrong! for the next 20 minutes or so all i hear from the bus driver is "move to the back move to the back", well besides the fact that there is nowhere to move! i do not want to move i paid for this ride and i will stand wherever i please! (as long as I'am acting according to the laws, which i was-standing behing the white line) well the bus driver would not be quite and stop telling me to move to the back. I decided to just ignore him and wait for my stop to come. Then i found a seat at the front finally and about a minute later a rude lady comes to me and tells me in a very nasty attitude to get up for her-for gods sake she wasnt even old, well anyways i got up and continued to stand where i was before-at the front near the bus driver. and here he goes again "move to the back move to the back", well anyways i continued to ignore him then he turns around and points at me "move to the back there are people getting on theres no room for them to move" he was so nasty i cannot even fathom...well at this point i was furious... i yelled at him and told him there is nowhere to go just do your job and drive the damn bus, he looked at me and told me theres room at the back, i wasnt about to make a fool of myself and start a fight so i just moved to the back. Guess what, the second i moved the bus driver was quiet and i didnt hear move to the back anymore...someone would think o' boy this bus driver is so kind he really cares about all the people that come on the bus and he wants them to have a pleasent ride with somewere to move and somewere to sit! wrongggg! the next stop there are about 15 or so people that are waiting for the bus, and what do you think the bus driver did? He just went by them like nobody was there- he did not stop for them.. how rude is he and on top of that he had a big smile on his face i saw he was chuckling, wow this rude discusting person gets his pleasure by bringing misery to others...at this point i was already looking up numbers i can call to file a complaint about this bus driver! i cannot even describe how furious i was! well it was finally my stop to get off so i go to the back and i try to open the door and he is not letting me go out i start yelling back door back door he looks at me and after about 30 seconds decides to open the damn door. All i hope for this driver is cronical diaheara i wish him the worst and most suffering life anyone can have. i wish he would lose his job we shouldnt be having these kind of poeple as bus drivers-or anything else for that matter.

M
Apr 01, 2010 12:40 am EDT

here is my situation and please people violence is not the way.

i have purchased and used a single ride ticket for a 10 minutes ride in the train. Once off the subway station i tried using it for the bus(BX 6) without knowing i could not do so with such card. i asked the bus driver whats wrong with my card? then he tells me to read aloud whats written on the card. i didnt find that inappropriate but the way he was addresing the matter was really disrespectful and the driver even went as far as accusing me that it was the second time i was trying to get away with such of activity within his presence, i told him that's not true and that we have never met under these circunstances or any other, he simply told me "to get off the bus because people have to go to work" i was so humiliated i wanted to get off the bus. i thought such of action on my part
will be seen as fare beater who was trying to pull a fast one so i stayed and asked for $2 bill changed in coins from other customers on the bus and paid my fare of $2.25. now after all of that instead of focusing on the driving he engaged himself in a back and forth argument with me insisting on the fact that it was the second time i was doing such of thing. i told him you must be mistaken me for someone else but he got irritated and loud so i asked him politely for his badge number in order to make a formal complaint, the driver refused to comply with my simple request as a customer. but after getting off i managed to write the bus number (7713) .
i hope someone will see into this and follow up.
thanks

D
Jun 16, 2009 6:42 pm EDT

Ok, I've read three MTA complaints on this site (including this one) and for each complaint there was a response comment from somebody judging & insulting the original poster, pointing out their supposed immaturity with out-of-left-field accusations to the tune of "you're a child who needs mommy and daddy to take care of you! do you need an adult to help you do this, and to do that? You're not mature and superior like me -- stop depending on your mommy and daddy!"

I just want to say to you, "Jason":

What the hell is your problem? None of the people who posted these complaints deserved your unprovoked personal attacks. And the fact that all the attacks have the same recurring theme makes me think that you're projecting your OWN "mommy and daddy" issues on strangers from the internet because you can confront them anonymously with no accountability, which is not only extremely immature... it's PATHETIC. Take your own (paraphrased) advice and grow the f*** up!

M
Apr 01, 2009 4:09 pm EDT

I AGREE- TODAY I SAW SOMETHING ALOMST AS BAD - I WENT ON THE 9487 BUS / AT ABOUT 3:15 PM ON APRIL 1 2009 I WAS ON THE BUS WITH MY SISTER WHEN THE BUS CAME TO A STOP AND IT WAS @ PARK AVE AND ADELEHIE WHEN A FEW PEOPLE WERE GETTIN ON THE BUS AND A FEW GIRLS WERE RUNNINE TO THE BUS NOT THAT FAR FROM THE BUS TWO GIRLS GET ON THE BUS AND THE WOMEN DRIVER YELL'S DONT BE HOLDIN THE DOOR THEY SAY OH OK MY FRIENDS ARE COMING IN SHE SAID OH I KNOW .SO THEY GET IN AND SHE PULLS OFF LEAVIN THEE OTHER GIRLS STILL RUNIN FOR THE BUS THEY WERE REALLY CLOSE THAT JUST WASNT FAIR WHAT SHE DID - THE GIRLS LOOK SHOCK AND ONE CROSS TO WAVE THE BUS DOWN IN FRON AND I SWEAR IF SHE WOULDNT HAVE MOVE THAT BUS DRIVER FROM HELL WOULDVE TOOK HER FOOT OR BODY WITH HER - IVE NEVER SEEN SOMETHING LIKE THAT - IT SAD BECAUSE IF U HURT A BUS DRIVER U GO TO JAIL AND THERE ALLOWED TO GET AWAY WITH WHAT THEY DO - THIS BUS DRIVER SHOULDNT BE ALLOWED TO DRIVE A BUS - SHE SHOULD BE PUSIHED OR SOMETHING -

F
Mar 18, 2009 7:38 am EDT

this is not the only time i had been in a situation like this, maybe a month ago i witness how a bus driver was so rude to a chinese guy when is metro card did not work properly, he made him get out of bus a he went back to the end of line out side an the card still did not go true he say he had to get done, he left him there poor guy he was so uppset he did not heven did anything wrong he just wait for next bus, i say good luck maybe next bus driver will let him know what was wrong whit is metro card.

F
Mar 18, 2009 7:33 am EDT

on the 13 of march i had a bad situation whit a bus driver that cause me and my kids to be afraid to get in a bus, well this is what happened my 3 kids were waiting for bus 25 on kissena on front of college i was holding my dougthers hand and bus came an we got on it but as soon i step in bus the driver started to say mean thing he mention like 6 or 7 times if i wanted my daugther dead that was not a good thing to say in font of my 6 year old well that did not stop there, i pull the stop sign for next stop because my kids were scared od what happen he still was talkink ### to me and of couerse i talked back to him he say the f word, any ways i try to get out of back door i say back door pease he say he wanted me to go out front door to say some things to me he still wanted to insulte me infront of my children and all those people that dont even care that my children was scare, i kick back door tring to open it but i had to go true front door, i felt that he was verval abuse me, also i still feel nervious and i suffer from hearth conditions that incident made me feel not very good i still feel sick an my kids wount ride a bus they prefer walking, that is something that made me think there is no good driver in ny, i made a complaint to mta but nobody cares...

L
Mar 02, 2009 9:40 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

3/2/09 Monday "Snow Day" Q30 and Q31 Fresh Meadows, Queens

This morning we must have 9 buses passed by – won’t stop to pick up passengers. Bus is empty and marked "Not In Service"

Are they on strike or trying to send a message ? Let people waiting in the cold weather, long hour is terrible.

Does anyone know - why all buses are running & mark "Not in Service" ?

Thanks!

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

164 complaints
24 resolved 140 unresolved

MTA contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
2 Broadway, 4th floor, New York United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT