Complaints & Reviews

vehicle transportation

Moving Kingdom Inc. (movingkingdom.com) as of 2019 is still a transportation company to AVOID at all costs. I repeat, DO NOT BOOK with moving kingdom.

I just had my motorcycle transported by Moving Kingdom from Wisconsin (July 28th, 2019) to Washington (August 2nd, 2019) and their driver, David William Carter, along with his partner, Belinda, are completely ignorant of how to properly secure a motorcycle. David strapped my motorcycle down with the kickstand down (this is incorrect and doing so bent my side stand). Upon delivery, I noticed the side stand was wiggly/loose and told this to Dave. He said the side stand was just loose, so he got a wrench and tried to tighten it. As he tightened it, he broke the bolt clean off. My motorcycle has as a safety system that will not allow the motorcycle to start with the kickstand down. When Dave broke the bolt, it scratched and disconnected this sensor and made my motorcycle inoperable. Moreover, Dave parked his trailer on a very busy road in Seattle which lead to a police report, I later found out. He is not a safe driver and I would never entrust my vehicles to be transported by him or by Moving Kingdom.

To make matters more complicated:
When completing the delivery paperwork (Bill of Lading), Dave was using an app on his iphone where I made sure he entered a note stating the side stand was bent and the bolt was broken. I signed this document on his phone (within the app) but the first time didn't go through. He reloaded the page and I signed it again, assuming that field was still populated with that damage comment. However, it was not, so Dave got my signature on a document that claims no damages. I would have never signed a document saying there were no damages done. I never received a copy of this document until documents were requested during the insurance claim process.

I immediately called his supervisor, Viktor, after this all happened who was very disrespectful and rude. He said "King of the Road [the broker] will cover us, " and that I needed to call them to start an insurance claim. I contacted King of the Road and they told me, no, I need to file a claim with the carrier's (Moving Kingdom) insurance. I have been in communication with Progressive, their insurance company, for the last three weeks. In this process, I learned that David, the driver, lied about everything, saying he did not break or damage anything, and that I "leaned on the motorcycle" upon delivery which caused the damage. It is common sense to know that even if a 140 lb woman (myself) leaned on a 500 lb motorcycle, the side stand would not bend. Progressive had an inspector see my motorcycle and the damages are below their $1000 deductible.

I spoke to Stan at Moving Kingdom today who was similarly rude and disrespectful. He denies all damages done and will not pay for any repair. He raised his tone numerous times on the phone and in response to me saying it is unprofessional to speak to your customer this way he said (I quote) "you are no longer our customer." Now I have to pay out of pocket for damages done by Dave Carter.

You cannot trust anyone associated to Moving Kingdom.

I learned my lesson the hard way; go with a moving company that is larger and more established with positive reviews and do NOT go through a broker (like King of the Road Transport) who will direct you to smaller, untrustworthy businesses.

vehicle transportation
vehicle transportation
vehicle transportation

Worst customer experience ever

It literally took getting a Department of Transportation agent inside Moving Kingdom's (aka Empire Relocation) office to get my belongings out of a hostage situation. On pickup, once they had the van loaded they MORE THAN DOUBLED their estimate.

Unfortunately, this was a sign of more bad news to come. I was knowingly lied to on a daily basis about the delivery status of my belongings for three weeks straight, being 'assured' time and again that my truck would be leaving 'tomorrow.' As the days rolled by, the talk got tougher: I was extorted, threatened, and yelled at by various employees.

Once the shipment did arrive--well beyond the stipulated delivery timeframe on the bill of lading and almost a full month after their estimated delivery date--every piece of major furniture was damaged and in several cases broken outright. Several boxes were mysteriously missing, as well as the back of one of our bookcases. Again, the only thing that got them moving my things was the fact that the DOT had to investigate the hostage situation.

Another fact: their license was revoked (for the second time) on Jan. 2, 2007 and they performed our move without insurance and proper credentials.

The best part of my experience with Moving Kingdom? It's over.

  • Ch
    Charity R Mar 13, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Danny,

    I posted under another complaint named United Moving (which is the same).

    My original move was quoted at 400 for pickup 400 for delivery. That went up to 711 for p/u when the driver arrived and told me the *extra* items I was moving were not listed on my contract. Funny thing is in my original email they were - but since the drivers showed up a day late - I being on a time crunch now and due to plans could not only NOT get another company but could not get a uhaul I had to pony up. Reviewing original emails -all the items WERE listed.

    Moving forward - items are loaded finally we leave. Items are to be in storage from Nov 21 until Feb 27th. With the month of Dec being my one free month.

    I speak to the company in Dec to confirm deliver at the end of Feb. Jan - I get a call frantic the hispanic gentleman who barely speaks english and will not identify himself by name says I have to have delivery IMMEDIATELY. The company is going out of business (even though they are still take contracts - have had 7 friends act like they were moving now and get them online).

    They will not even let me leave work they call every 5 minutes harassing me. I set up delivery.
    I am not told delivery costs. I keep getting the *driver* will let me know.

    Truck breaks down I get a call they wont be there Thrs. Then I get a call wont be there Friday. Then the calls stop. Finally a truck shows up Sat. The driver Reggie tells me of whats been happening in the company. I am talking to him on phone as I am out of town for work and having my mother sit for delivery. I wrote a blank check. They wouldn't take the check and took my belongings. Moving forward to my next update:

    UPDATE -

    This is to update the complaints against Moving Kingdom also known and owned as Empire Relocation Service based out of Florida.

    Items were delivered but company would only take cash. Because cash was not available they scheduled a redelivery date. Upon scheduling this date I was quoted yet another price for delivery. All said and done this delivery was almost 2,000.00$ when the original delivery prices were exactly 711.00$

    Al is not the owner as he states Henry is - who mysteriously also owns a LARGE variety of other *moving companies* you can research these at sunbiz.org.

    All seemingly are housed under the Empire name.

    ITEMS - mostly all broken damaged and destroyed. Antiques that have been in my family for almost 150- 200 years are scratched beyond repair. My great grandmothers bed from Ireland which has been featured on the television show - Antiques Roadshow and valued at over 15k$ was so deeply gouged chipped broken and marked, there is no way to repair it. Luckily these items we have personal insurance on, but can not remove the pain in our hearts. Our insurance company is also filing suit with several other agencies in the state of Florida for fraud. These companies have shill names assigned to insurance policies that do not exist. We have found one company that currently is insuring them but were told our items may not be covered as the contract was with MovingKingdom not Empire. I explained to the lady that they are one in the same and that Empire took the load because supposedly Moving King- was going out of business. She cant make heads or tales of who is who and the insurance company is stating they may have to deny the claim. Luckily I have found an attorney here in Georgia who has one other client that had trouble with this company and is looking at the several violations.

    The day our items were delivered - the Dept of Transportation showed up to "Al's" home/office regarding several complaints. Apparently people are beginning to take action.

    I have several links and also the named insurance policy holder contact information for these two (same) companies. Please make sure you enter your email address correctly when contacting me as I have tried to email people back, but get an undeliverable due to wrong address.

    Please be aware - this company has violated several laws.

    100% law - transporting items across state lines with out proper registration insurance or license - price gouging - shill names - fictious business LLC and documentation etc.

    They use extortion to get you to pay more holding your items hostage until you agree to cash or easily hidden funds to pay their terms.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Tyler Jan 27, 2009

    This website-movingkingdom.com has a new owner and is in no way affiliated with any prior issues and or complaints. You may verify this at anywho.com or and major internet register company as a new owner.

    Please be advised of this.


    Jim Tyler

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mariez Aug 30, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Irregardless of its previous owners, Moving Kingdom inc. (movingkingdom.com) as of 2019 is still a transportation company to AVOID at all costs. I repeat, DO NOT BOOK with moving kingdom.

    I just had my motorcycle transported by Moving Kingdom from Wisconsin (July 28th, 2019) to Washington (August 2nd, 2019) and their driver, David William Carter, along with his partner, Belinda, are completely ignorant of how to properly secure a motorcycle. David strapped my motorcycle down with the kickstand down (this is incorrect and doing so bent my side stand). Upon delivery, I noticed the side stand was wiggly/loose and told this to Dave. He said the side stand was just loose, so he got a wrench and tried to tighten it. As he tightened it, he broke the bolt clean off. My motorcycle has as a safety system that will not allow the motorcycle to start with the kickstand down. When Dave broke the bolt, it scratched and disconnected this sensor and made my motorcycle inoperable. Moreover, Dave parked his trailer on a very busy road in Seattle which lead to a police report, I later found out. He is not a safe driver and I would never entrust my vehicles to be transported by him or by Moving Kingdom.

    To make matters more complicated:
    When completing the delivery paperwork (Bill of Lading), Dave was using an app on his iphone where I made sure he entered a note stating the side stand was bent and the bolt was broken. I signed this document on his phone (within the app) but the first time didn't go through. He reloaded the page and I signed it again, assuming that field was still populated with that damage comment. However, it was not, so Dave got my signature on a document that claims no damages. I would have never signed a document saying there were no damages done. I never received a copy of this document until documents were requested during the insurance claim process.

    I immediately called his supervisor, Viktor, after this all happened who was very disrespectful and rude. He said "King of the Road [the broker] will cover us, " and that I needed to call them to start an insurance claim. I contacted King of the Road and they told me, no, I need to file a claim with the carrier's (Moving Kingdom) insurance. I have been in communication with Progressive, their insurance company, for the last three weeks. In this process, I learned that David, the driver, lied about everything, saying he did not break or damage anything, and that I "leaned on the motorcycle" upon delivery which caused the damage. It is common sense to know that even if a 140 lb woman (myself) leaned on a 500 lb motorcycle, the side stand would not bend. Progressive had an inspector see my motorcycle and the damages are below their $1000 deductible.

    I spoke to Stan at Moving Kingdom today who was similarly rude and disrespectful. He denies all damages done and will not pay for any repair. He raised his tone numerous times on the phone and in response to me saying it is unprofessional to speak to your customer this way he said (I quote) "you are no longer our customer." Now I have to pay out of pocket for damages done by Dave Carter.

    You cannot trust anyone associated to Moving Kingdom.

    I learned my lesson the hard way; go with a moving company that is larger and more established with positive reviews and do NOT go through a broker (like King of the Road Transport) who will direct you to smaller, untrustworthy businesses.

    1 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem