ADVERTISIMENT

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Monitronicsfraud

T Review updated:

My complaint is about people who complain about Monitronics and have no idea what Monitronics actually does. They monitor signals, that's it. They don't install your equipment, do not tell you lies about your contract terms, are not the ones who should tell you you need a permit, or you should have a phoneline for your alarm to work. That is the salesman and the one great thing about the salesman is whatever he doesn't tell you he puts in writing under that wonderful contract you sign. come on people, read what you sign. do not bad mouth a company because you failed prey to a salesman and did not read the fine print. And if you sign a contract and can't pay is that the company's fault? If you were the CEO of a company and let everyone out of their contract then you would no longer have a company.
People let's read things before we sign and point the finger at the right person

ADVERTISIMENT

Responses

  • Ru
    rudy d Aug 04, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My system stopped working, presumably ever since they mis-installed their 4G cellular hardware/software. I didn't even know about it until I tried to report an "FC" indication on the display. Tried to call in as instructed. Put on hold for about 1 hr then disconnected. Then I deliberately set off the alarm. No response until later when they called to inform there was a failure, then shut my system off completely. Been that way ever since. No way to communicate with them.

    It's clear Brinks/Monitronics is essentially dead. They went bankrujpt in 2019 and obviously haven't recovered since. How can a company that collects $55 a month without doing anything except monitoring for alarms go bankrupt? Sure seems like a sinecure to me.

    Obviously the only recourse is to stop payment thereby canceling the service, which I'm doing.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ki
    kishaooooo Jul 30, 2021

    this is very true and it happened to me. the guy from Monitronic's wasn't going to sign me up for a long lease because I couldn't afford it. when I signed it I know what I signed but when they called to verify me as a customer that's when I found out he signed me for 36 months which was suppose to be for 12month. Cause I told him I couldn't do no more then that. Never again.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Pi
    Pimp1328 Apr 01, 2011

    system issue raza

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Tr
    Triberock Mar 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Monitronics will not stop billing me!!! Not only does it take an act of congress to cancel with these people... I canceled, had a zero balance and they still want $24. Claiming I owe from the time I canceled til they turned the stupid thing off. This is on top of all of there fraudulent charges against my account on a number of occasions.

    I smell a lawsuit!!! DO NOT USE MONITRONICS!!! I'M TELLING EVERYONE I KNOW!!!

    Pissed in Aurora Colorado

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ed
    Ed Kruzel Aug 26, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Triberock Absolutely agree, try and cancel. "We'll send you an email with the cancellation forms". That never arrives!!!
    Total ripoff!!! Don't waste your money...

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ow
    own it Apr 14, 2010

    uh, side note to low voltage tech: the agreement is not to cover the cost of the system; its their monitoring bill. if you even knew half your job, you'd know that. you're probably one of the sucky ones doing an install until 12 am

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Lo
    low voltage tech Apr 13, 2010

    I recently took a job as an installer for one of monitronics dealers. i have been installing alarms for repitable company's for 10 years and never have i seen a more incompitant non communitive unorganised alarm company. they hire college kids with the promise of making literaly 100, 000.00 to 250, 000.00 dollars a year and more if they recruit other sales reps. they focus on quick compolsive sales to unexpecting customers their motive is to force you into signing a 36 month agreement for a monitered syst. wich is the same cheap honeywell lynxs syst that any repetable company wont even install for the worst customer they could ever have. the system is a single unit.that is wall mounted and can be disabled by simply ripping it off the wall. google honeywell lynx and you can purchase the system with a pir motion senser 2 door contacts and a key fob for $99.00 install it your self and good luck trying to get a company to moniter it for you except for monitronics adt or brinks they are all running a pyramid scam on customers $39.99 a month or more for monitoring that they pay 2.oo dollars a month for. you get a free system that in the 3 year contract pays 100 times over the actual cost of the system. and the dealers make around 2, 000.00 dollars for every account they sign up. i was just on monitronics website and they warn customers of fraud by door to door summer salesman well guees what their summer of door to door sales starts next month the same thing they warn you about their doing... if you want a security system try a company that will seel you a system out right and they will moniter for about $8.00 to $14.00 per month for the exact monitering you get with moni, adt, and brinks (broadveiw)

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ik
    IKnowAlarmSystems Dec 28, 2009

    It was not Monitronics but a service dealer. If you still have your copy of the carbon receipt and it does show that it was revised after you signed it then the service dealer migh have a problem. Monitronics only monitors alarms and uses a network of local companies to perform service. The company is paid by Monitronics and Monitronics bills the end user for the cost. These local companies rely on this business from Monitronics for their lively hood. If this service company is doing what you are accusing them of, then they are in big trouble with their meal ticket. The original of the receipt would be submitted to Monitronics for the service dealer to get paid. If that if it has a different amount than your carbon copy it should be submitted to the service department of Monitronics. This is the group of people who work with and pay the dealers. I would find out the name of the actual company that performed the system move. Then you should call Monitronics and ask to be connected to the service department. Find out the manager in charge of that particular service dealer. I am sure they would be very interested to compare a copy of your receipt to the one submitted to them. As well as learn it took 2 months to do the service. I hope this helps. Just remember the service dealer works for Monitronics and can always be replaced if they are not making the customers happy. You are mad at them, not Monitronics, it seems they have had the wool pulled over their eyes as well.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ni
    NicP74 Dec 04, 2009

    This company is a fraud. I was giving a receipt for a service move only for the company to charge me something else. the original copy of the receipt was revised after the carbon copy was giving to me. Unbelievable!!! This company is a cheat.The most horrendous service i have ever seen. Forging or modifying a document without the other parties consent is fraud and a criminal offense. I have been trying to speak to someone high up to resolve this with no luck. No one should sign up with this company. It took this company over 2 months to complete the move because of their incompetency.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
Comment Guidelines

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.
    ADVERTISIMENT