Massage Envyrip off

P
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Given a gift card, went to use first visit for facial. Service was just Ok, steamer was broken, wish they had told me before hand as I would have rescheduled. Went back for what I thought was the other half of the gift card, only to come out owing 93.00. I was like, wth and was informed I am not a member, first visit was discounted to "get me in the door". I said, first of all the facial was worth 93.00. She had to keep reading instructions as to what the next step was. Only lasted 43 minutes and then she tried to "sell me" the products that would be best for my skin. Wanted to know if I wanted to become a member so I would get discounted rates for my next visits. But wait, I would still have to add 10.00 to pricing for use of products...what a rip off. I've had many facials in my day and I can tell you, I will not be going back to Massage Envy for any service.

Responses

  • Bu
    BurntTwice Nov 20, 2015

    I agree with everyone above. Go elsewhere, pay the extra $20 to $30 to have a REAL MASSAGE IN A NICE FACILITY, DO NOT GO HERE! IT IS NOT WORTH THE HASSLE AND STRESS. I wish a class action lawyer would take them on. THIS COMPANY IS A RIP-OFF. The whole thing about PRESSURING YOU INTO A LONG-TERM CONTRACT THAT WORKS FOR THEM BUT NOT FOR YOU! Then, this place CHARGES YOU EXTRA if they add LAVENDAR ESSENCE in the massage lotion! They charge 50% for cancellations! I tried to get out of my contract ONE-WEEK after I signed up when I realized that I had been lied to. The sales girl told me it was a 6-mos contract but the manager said it was 12-MONTHS! I argued with the manager and she eventually said okay, we'll make it 6-mos but she would not let me out of the contract. She only talked to me about $$. Not about services. I felt completely disrespected. They have no ethics. THIS PLACE IS A RACKET AND ALL ABOUT MONEY! If there is a class action lawsuit please count me in! [protected].

    1 Votes
  • Ac
    AcousticCowboy33 Feb 05, 2013

    Massage Envy is a JOKE ! WARNING *** BEWARE OF THEIR MEMBERSHIP TERMS AND AGREEMENTS - They will bend u over and massage you in a BAD WAY ! - I lost over $500 from these CROOKS - Read the FINE Print don't take the word of any sales person ... There is NO way out of the contract, and any accumulated massages will be wiped out if you don't use them, and they still get to keep your cash ..

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carriebenavides Dec 05, 2012

    I agree. Read what you sign before you sign it.

    0 Votes
  • Kl
    Kleppinger1 Mar 12, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been a client at Massage Envy since 2008. I love them. All of their policies were written in the initial contract (which was for 12 months). They do not try to hide anything. As a consumer, it is your responsibility to read the contract. I have always received great customer service and I love my therapist.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    SHART2 Mar 12, 2012

    YES, ITS WRITTEN IN THE AGREEMENT FORM THAT YOU INITIAL AT LEAST 4 TIMES AND SIGN TWICE... READ IT. THEY GIVE YOU A COPY WHEN YOU SIGN UP.

    1 Votes
  • Re
    RealisticlySpeaking Mar 11, 2012

    It states in the agreement that it goes on auto renewable after the 6 months. You CAN cancel, you just have to put in a 30 day written notice once the initial term is over. It also states that when the account is cancelled, you have 30 days from the LAST EFT payment to use that massage or they are forfeited. The doctors note or proof of relocation is only if you are still i the initial term. If all of you clients that are complaining about massage envy would just read the membership information that is given to you when you join as a member, you would know all the ins and outs of the membership. It's not that massage envy is just after your money.. These policies and procedures have all been in place since the start of the business so why do you feel they need to be bent for your because of your neglect in reviewing the information provided?

    1 Votes
  • Vi
    Vicki B Mar 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Massage Envy offers a "6 month membership". What they neglect to tell you is you can not cancel the membership. It continues coming out of your checking for months and months after the 6 month membership is up. The only way you can cancel it is to take a note in from your doctor. Then they still keep taking from your checking account. I paid over 500.00 before I could get this "6 month membership" cancelled. Then I find out all of the massages I had pre-paid for are all EXPIRED. What a rip off company. They should all be shut down. What a scam business. Read the fine print, then get in writing by the manager. What the contract says is completely different from what they actually do. They will rip you off every way they can. Manager is rude. She could care less what you think of this company. I guess when you get paid to be a manager but are NEVER at work you could care less what you're customers think!!! Massage Envy is the biggest rip off on the planet. Can't believe they are allowed to operate this way. I will never go there again and make sure everyone I know never goes there.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    K.right Jan 19, 2012

    misleading & overpriced. Do not go. I was given a gift card for an hour massage and still paid almost $40. Save your money. Total rip off. I am more stressed now than before I went.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    nenepd Nov 13, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This place is a rip off and they have bad service! They suck you in with a low price and then they lock you into a 12 month contract that you cant break without a legal medical document. I would never refer them to anyone and I am so upset that I got trapped into a contract with them.

    0 Votes
  • Ah
    ahuff May 23, 2011

    I agree with you. Obviously the rude person above works for them. I am in a similar situation. I had a stroke and am on a high dose of blood thinners. Because of this I can not get massages. I told them I was hoping I could use the massages I had accrued but they said no once my contract was cancelled they disappeared. I told them I did not want to renew. I just got a call that I owe for another month. I told them I said in a phone conversation I did not want to renew. They said "no you need to sign a form" now I have to find a way down there since I can not drive after my stroke. I now also owe another month. So we pay for a service and not allowed to use them. It doesn't matter if it is after the membership year. We pay for a service and it should be rendered to us. I am owed 6 massages and can not use any of them now.

    1 Votes
  • Ba
    barios Feb 28, 2011

    I have been charged over $700 for massages I never received after I cancelled with them. I am going to file a class action against the company if any of you are interested
    Best Wishes Barry

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Darek Feb 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was a member of Massage Envy for about 1 year 2 months. We are possibly moving to an area there are no Massage Envy's so I canceled my memebership. I was never thrilled with the service at the Mall 205, Portland, Oregon store. They sell you 1hr but deliver 50min. You dress on your time so you better be fast. The last month I was charged I was told I would be able to use that massage still. No one said I had to do it within 30days. 2weeks after expired I scheduled appt. They charged full price.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Totally agree Dec 07, 2010

    my ex girlfriend works at the altamonte springs location and said the same issues go on regularly with every client. Its a scam to get you frustrated in trying to cancel or get refund. No one will call you back ever. They say they cannot cancel when they can. They tell you they cancel then dont. Its the wait you out game so you will give up. They are franchised but sounds like a corporate game to me. She gave me so many stories especially one where the womans son died and they still did not refund the money. Its hard sell on contracts and they will tell you its easy to cancel but if you dont after 3 days you never will have any luck. they work on commision and they will be fired if they do no thit 15% attach rate. they get 850 and hour plus a tier bonus for 15% and so on according to their memberships. thats why its hard to get out once you sign it. thats why you dont get all the info up front. thats why you shouldnt give your credit card number as you will never be able to get out of the contract. if you move somewhere where there isnt a massage envy within a 25 mile radius you can opt out. and rates arent honored in other areas of the country of what you signed up in. plus if you miss your appointment and dont cancel youre charged. again your credit card will be charged.

    1 Votes
  • Qu
    quityercomplainin Nov 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    always read your contract. massage envy is a national chain with nearly 700 locations. that there is a "legal contract" assumes that what is being done is perfectly legal. i've seen the small print you talk about, and it's not small. the only thing that is small is your mind because you complain about something and accept no responsibility for your actions and want to blame other people. you don't pay $63 a month, unless you're adding in your tip which is completely elective and reasonable to pay a therapist for their services. don't try to make your case stronger by embellishing.

    -1 Votes
  • Ka
    Karol1218 Oct 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company is nothing but a rip off! I went the day before my wedding to have a massage and was talked into getting a membership that was supposed to cost me $49 each month. Well it cost me $63 a month and was told when I wanted to cancel that I was locked in for a year. Ok so I did not read the very fine print! Now a year has past and I cancelled, now they tell me I still am going to be charged another month since it states in the contract once again in extrememly small fine print that I have to cancel thirty days before and if I use any of my massages that I already paid for they will charge me again for a monthly fee!! They owe me 5 prepaid massages which they say if I do not pay that months charge I cannot have! So that would mean they owe me 6 prepaid massages. What a scam they have going! DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY. Once you are locked in you will either lose money on the monthly fee or your prepaid massages!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.