SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Krogeremployee complaint

1
K Review updated:

I am an employee at Kroger branch 675. I feel as though the courtesy clerks are taken advantage of and paid hardly any respect. I realize the courtesy clerks' job includes more than bagging on the front end. The baggers are the stores custodial staff, the ones who run errands for the managers, the ones who push the buggies in throughout the entire day, and the ones who clear the parking lot of carts each night (this is assigned to one person). I realize this is part of the job and that's why this isn't my complaint. The managers at Kroger branch 675 don't respect the courtesy clerks in the slightest. Many times I've seen the managers take advantage if the baggers by asking them to go outside to push in buggies when they've just came in. Note that it has been extraordinarily hot this summer. 30 minutes on the lot sure does take it out of you. The managers ignore this and complain when we take our rests after pushing in a long line. They're fortunate no one has dropped from dehydration yet. The baggers have gotten sick in the parking lot, and are told to go sit down for 5 minutes and then get back to work. My outstanding complaint is not exactly about the parking kit but instead a matter if respect where it's due. The baggers contribute a kit to the store and I believe they deserve respect to a much higher degree than the managers are giving them.
As a footnote, the new manager up front has prompted me to finalize this complaint because she's just crossed the line in disrespect. I appreciate your consideration.

Responses

  • Pt
    PTA Nov 08, 2008

    This store is extremely dirty and appears to be poorly run/managed. Product with expired "sell/use by" dates are still on store shelves. I am shocked that the Kroger Company allows this store to operate in such a way.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brenda Gipson Apr 06, 2009

    I brought some items at the Kroger store and use my coupon at the store they only give me face value of the coupons. They would not double or triple my coupon like their sale sheet shows. This is the only Kroger store in the southwest area will not triple or double coupon like they advertise.

    0 Votes
  • At
    athomsfere Aug 31, 2009

    Does the coupon state anythin along the lines of "participation may vary"?

    Corporate can request a store do something, but sometimes one does not. Not standing up for this store, as it sounds cheap to me!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barron Sep 29, 2009

    The problem is most of the Customer Service reps can be jerks and have noticed they complain a lot on individual customers. There have been criminal situations by friends of this particular Kroger that often throw rocks during the day or night at individuals they dislike. Anger management issues, half the workers are simply drunks that are disgusted with anyone or anything "customer related."

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    PinkLove3587 Oct 16, 2009

    I'm a cashier and some coupns just don't double. Some say right on it and also most store coupons don't double.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    M Aaron Taylor Feb 23, 2010

    Employee Female White 45 refusal to package fish item for customer but miniutes before packaged item for fellow employee on February 22 about 745PM at the Wesrtern Hiulls store on Glenway Ave in Cincinnati Ohio

    0 Votes
  • Da
    darkkon39 Aug 03, 2010

    I was in the Kroger on Hebron Rd in Heath, Ohio and a cashier told us to go to isle 7 for checkout because they were really busy. We went to isle 7 and unloaded our groceries, we stood there while several employees passed us by and left us stand there for about ten minuites. we finally went to someone and asked if anyone was going to check us out and they said that no one would answer the phone???? whatever that means. the last time i was in the store they had a sign next to some lucky charms that read $1.98 I thought that lucky charms were on sale for that price... well upon closer inspection it was actually kroger brand stars and treasures cereal and not lucky charms but guess what there was not a box of kroger brand stars and treasures in sight... that againt the law its called bait and switch. i will never shop there again and i will recommend to all of my friends that they not shot there either

    -1 Votes
  • Da
    darkkon39 Aug 03, 2010

    i think it is wrong to ask for you e-mail address and physical address

    -1 Votes
  • Da
    darkkon39 Aug 03, 2010

    i walked out of the store never to return

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jenaleee Sep 18, 2010

    I agree with you. Many years ago...when I was 19, I was a courtesy clerk at a local store (not Kroger). I worked my tail off and was only 98 lbs or so. I pushed those huge baskets up a slope into the cart area. The management was rude, some of the checkers were rude and other courtesy clerks wouldn't do the job so I was stuck with it (one particular girl was a good 250 lbs and much stronger yet I had to clean the parking lot). I told her off and it stopped. Anyhow, I was able to push 10 carts at a time. Customers were rude also in the parking lot and I nearly got ran over many times and yelled at for "being in the way."
    I quit after a year. I will never do that again.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MADMAN4931 Jan 04, 2011

    We haven't had anything like this at my store. Though the assistant manager never really has anything good to say about my work even though I'm nice to her and do the work I'm asked to do. What happens a lot at my store is what can be considered laziness. I call for code 3, code 1, stamps etc. And often those requests don't get dealt with until an hour later, or unless I keep callin for it. I don't have a problem with Walgreens because I've worked for two very horrible companies in the past so this is great compared to those

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MADMAN4931 Jan 04, 2011

    wow this website is smart. ignore my last post up there it's for a different place

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AmberL Feb 05, 2011

    bagging does stink but it should be a stepping stone job to go into a different position. rarely are people kept as a bagger for longer then a year or two. discuss with your manager you are interested in a clerk position, such as cashier or grocery and hopefully they will let you move elsewhere when they feel you have proven yourself. i think most people that start at kroger start off as a bagger. it is just how the company works.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mark12 Feb 28, 2011

    I know a meat cutter who tells me not to buy anything from Kroger meat or deli. He sat they're are several integrity issues stemming from higher up. They grind outdated product ro sell and give things a longer shelf life arfter it expires

    -3 Votes
  • Ch
    Cheryl Alvey Mar 09, 2011

    Feeling the need to boycott Kroger. On Monday morning, the only cash register line open was self-serve. All those empty cashier lines!!! This is an outrage. Prices keep going up and they don't provide any customer service! Funny part is my local Jay-Cee store, also owned by Kroger, keeps 6 lanes open all the time.

    0 Votes
  • Fd
    FDL_HOU Mar 10, 2011

    And what time are you grocery shopping on a Monday morning? Peek time have much to do with stocking the store with checkers.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    RarelyComplain Sep 18, 2012

    A year and a half later... Kroger has actually been doing some good price competition with the other stores around here. How about 2 red peppers for a buck and they were large and beautiful; pepperjack cheese - $2.49 for a huge brick with lots of peppers visible in it. I made a slew of stuffed red peppers. The meat costed 10X what I paid for the red peppers -the reverse opposite of the way it used to be. Also, Kowalski smoked Polish sausage (best of the best) costs over $1.50 less then what you pay at the Kowalski store. They are trying to do something about prices, probably because in the past Kroger was considered expensive and a lot of people are on the skids these days.

    -1 Votes
  • Ra
    RarelyComplain Sep 18, 2012

    Isn't anything right in Aiken, SC? But... where's the cry of racism? I read the whole post and not a peep. Is somebody in Aiken SC abusing crackers for a change?

    That place (and Augusta GA) have to be the most decrepit part of the US. This Yankee (doodle dandy, by the way) will surely avoid that hornets nest. Thank you Complaints Board for the travel warnings!

    0 Votes
  • La
    larry lincoln Dec 05, 2012

    my kroger discount card was refused because the new scanner would not recognize it the clerk was to lazy and refused to enter the numbers manually was told to just leave and get a new card. question why would i get a new card when i will never shop kroger again.
    larry lincoln
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Casper7065 Jan 17, 2013

    Are you going to charge a credit card fee used for payment of products and/or do you already incorperate the fee you have to pay compamy card company for processing? I would appreciate hearing your response as I'm sure many customers would.

    0 Votes
  • It
    itsnofair Jun 20, 2013

    The Kroger store in Tennessee is all about the high up mangers and their rude attitude! thry want you to take whatever and jump when they say jump. Oh by the way the customer is always right no matter what, and you can't defend yourself agains them. The Union is no good at all because they side with manager and your voice doesn't matter, so why do we pay union fees? You work your fanny off and gey paid scraps and little hours and the mangement walks around with the big pay for doing nothing!!

    2 Votes
  • Ke
    kevin e.anderson Aug 06, 2013

    Im at a kroger store in memphis, tennessee.. my management does not respect me at all as a stocker. I have the biggest aisle with the most cases every night. we have a full crew which is suppose to be comprised of teamwork. it doesnt happen with me. im getting ignored because of others on the crew with far less the majority of the time. they get attention all night and get help every night. I gets thrown under the bus sort of speak. I love the company but im fed up with the treatment im getting from these guys at this store. my voice dont seem to matter and im sick of paying union dues every week for nothing. ive busted my # since day 1. help!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    charlotte pryor Aug 02, 2014

    Putting the sales paper in Wednesday's paper has caused confusion. Why not put it back in Sunday's paper with all the rest like it was PLEASE. Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Ginger gorman Oct 09, 2014

    I feel for you.i work at Kroger 466 vicksburg ms.I work at their fuel center.we get nothing from management.no benefits.i feel if you work at their store you should be treated like everyone else.kroger don't care about their employees.all they care about is customers.without us there are no customers.if management would do their job thenwe can do ours.

    1 Votes
  • An
    anoyomious Oct 09, 2014

    Under cover boss needs to come to Kroger 466 and work every department especially the fuel center.things will decently change for vicksburg ms.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    happy at kroger Oct 25, 2014

    Why is the computer schedule not scheduling like top person more days.? Especially when a single parent is an employee. Don't make enough money and has a child. Then that parent just has parents that have a hard time with the child. I don't know how to explain it, but I love working at Kroger. I love waiting on the counter. I just want more days, because I don't get to work in any other part of the deli to get days. I just mostly do grab n go and wait on counter. I am a people person. I not trying to be mean. I just have a hard time. I am not a type of person to work in a factory. I really can't work two jobs when I want to see my son. There are two people getting to work days, because of no babysitter. I not upset. I just want to get more days. I have been at kroger for along time.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anoyomious Feb 14, 2015

    I work at Kroger 466. I have went to union numerous times with no email.kroger still does not give me seniority.they are even giving the black girl that was sent out to help benefits.she has been out at fuel center for almost 2 years straight now.to me that's not helping out that per mantle out there.i just want the same but they say no.this is discrimination.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jacobsnewton May 08, 2015

    I agree. I work at Kroger 360. Many a times they've made me go out when I just came in and with it being hot now it's not good. And they still want us to wear pants until May 25. I'm wearing shorts and idc what they say. It is too damn hot

    0 Votes
  • An
    anyonomise May 19, 2015

    A worker at krogers has been stealing. It is Tony Speener. He has went back to the break room before and stole stuff and out in the open also.

    -1 Votes
  • Sh
    Shmahrah mybw Jun 28, 2015

    I work at store #462 in Atlanta, ga. when we were in orientation, we were told that Krogers is a 0 tolerance drug free workplace. this is not the case at my store. the crew either come in drunk or will drink in their cars on break, some even come in high on weed and will smoke at the job in their cars and come back in smelling of it. customers have said how they notice this and it makes their shopping experience uneasy. its so bad, at night around 11pm til about 3am, people come in and shop and just roll out the door with carts of food and things because they know that most of the employees are either drunk or high and that includes the security guard. I have explained this to my store mgr but nothing has been done. a simple drug test would confirm what so many customers are complaining about but it seems like no one really cares about the customers, even the ones that come at night. im hoping that someone will investigate and really correct the situation before we lose more great customers because of employees and managements lack of caring and concern

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Ron Abernethy Jan 09, 2016

    I am sick and tired of having to leave my basket full at this store because there is no one to check me out. The manager saw me waiting but stayed on the phone. I just left after having shopped for 45 minutes. I am VERY pissed off at the incompetent employees at check out and management, anyway.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Lenora66 Oct 06, 2019

    @Ron Abernethy What store?

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sadbagger Feb 27, 2016

    I worked at 743 store Louisville Kentucky have no problem with my co workers but my department supervisor and store management are mean to me they say I throw food in customers carts and am rude to customers I feel am not rude to customers I am very shy person I don't throw customers food in the customers carts they sign me carts for sometimes 6 hours it get busy like 11 am morning so I have stay on lot for most of the time they angry at me because I don't stay in there front end bag for customers if I did. the lot well be in bad shape sometimes the lazy store managers a women I don't want say her name because of my job have me do crazy jobs that are kind dangerous lifting heavily stuff others things in store I think they pick on me because slighty mental handicapped I ask store manager can I be moved to different department he say no because of me being to slow and have problems getting along with department managers I think they should move me some where before I get the can on front end .

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeff Richardson Mar 12, 2016

    Sidney Kroger store is very bad about keeping shelves stocked for Saturday shoppers. I would think Saturday morning at 9 am the shelvs should be stocked and ready to go. Select brands of water when I know they just have not stocked the rest yet. Also dairy dept. same.
    Your produce dept is poorly managed also. Potatoes smell musty, rotten produce here and there. Seafood dept shrimp smells like road kill. and the smart ### girl that works back there needs to seek new employment.
    I am not one to usually complain but this store needs some immediate attention.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JenKiezle Jun 29, 2016

    I know this company don't list to people so I just going to tell the way it is its ok for Jan Chance sale alcohol to a minor and Jennifer Clark puts freezer burned Donuts out and Tiffany Doerr And Mike touch each other sexually at work then makes other employees very uncomfortable but you can't told you nothing because you don't want to listen but I am going to put a lawsuit agains this company for harassment end dangerment...

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    razor53 Aug 23, 2016

    Started at 7.45/hr, reason no experince, 60 at age of employment, years of dealing with public, new hire with home depot experince gets 8.90/hr, and i am training them. been there 2 years wage now at 7.80/hr.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Schala Aug 30, 2016

    The cashier at self checkout was extremely rude. I was purchasing grapes and the per pound price was incorrect. They came up $1.98 per lbs., but should have been $1.28 per lbs. I attempted to ask the cashier an older Asian man to correct the price. He immediately began arguing with me saying it was the red grapes. I corrected him and said no actually the red grapes were marked $0.88 per lbs, but the green (white) were $1.28. He was very rude continuing to argue rather than have someone check the price so I asked him to suspend the transaction so I could go take a picture of it. He turned his back to me leaving me standing there for several minutes then turned around and asked me what did I want. I again asked him to suspend the transaction so I could take a picture. He then told me just go very rudely. I was extremely upset but how he was acting at this point so I replied in kind. I went and took a picture if both the green and red grapes showing the price in both and came back and showed him. He reluctantly changed the price (still ringing them up wrong). I was very upset and when I finished scanning my items my Kroger card wouldn't scan. I went over and said would you please scan my card it won't scan. He came over to my sco register and got very loud with me and shoved a sales ad in my face pointing out the price of the red grapes which had nothing to do with what I was buying. I wad yelling by thus point because 1. He was wrong 2. He was rude and 3. He had gotten in my personal space. Every human has a 3 to 4 foot radius around them which is personal space. The way he did that with the paper was disrespectful and threatening and I didn't appreciate it especially since he was in the wrong. I have spent several thousand dollars in Kroger over the last 18 years and this is not how I expect to be treated. I then told him to get a manager immediately because I was livid. He proceeded to page security instead. When she came down I told her what happened and she smirked. By the time the manager came down I was beyond pissed off. The cashier whom I am told is name Mr. Selwyn began yelling and arguing with me in front of the manager. I am a single mom and I barely can afford to buy groceries after I pay rent, so I can't afford to be over charged. It was the principle of the matter more than the price though.

    0 Votes
  • 19
    1966 May 01, 2017

    I had worked for Kroger in Little Rock Arkansas #644 for 13 years. And yes what I did was wrong. I went on break went to u-scan brought a bag of chips and there was 40 dollars left in the spot where you get your change back and I took it. Well when they went and checked the cameras and seen it was me I was called upstairs 3 days later. And was asked about what do you do with lost and found items. And I told him you turn them into the office well it's on camera so I was caught red handed. So that had me write a resignation up saying what I did. And I payed the 40 dollars back. And so I was told that I was rehire and that was from the lady upstairs not he or the bosses. So six months down the road here I am trying to get hired back and I get guess they are not going to hire me back. But still yet they keep Mr Clint Morrow a store manager and Mr Dickerson a Deli manger for steeling food from the deli for his own restaurant. Now what can of ### is s that. You have a store Manager that knew Dickerson was taking food and they get to keep job. Let me tell you all the manger at Kroger are lier's and will stab you in the back as you walk off. You can believe anything they say. And they have hired people back that's done a lot worst then what I did I just don't get it. They could have wrote me up supendenit me for a week with a pay anything. And you keep a store manager for steeling what the dam different.

    0 Votes
  • St
    stroncone May 10, 2017

    Kroger is not only a demeaning experience for customers, but for employees as well even corporate employees. Hiring people with advanced degrees and paying them cashier wages, making them work long hours and promising raises that are not only are a long time coming, but end up being degrading, waiting a year after a perfect review for a $1 raise. Recently, the company made over 1300 corporate employees, 55 and over, take mandatory retirement whether they receive a pension or not. The corporate and regional offices are now staffed with 25 year old employees who are given only a few weeks of training and many of which do not even show up for work. It's no wonder many employment lawsuits are filed against the company.

    0 Votes
  • Bs
    [email protected] Feb 28, 2018

    I walked in to the produce dept and a gentleman named Dwayne was there to help me, asked a question and he took the time to explain how and waked me to where the product was GREAT JOB!!! Went to check out and a young fellow Tristan offered to walk my groceries to the car and what a sweet young man. Loaded my car and thanked me for being loyal! Fairlawn/Radford 24141 Va. store THE WHOLE STORE WE LOVE.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Simply Irresistible May 20, 2018

    To whom it may concern
    I'm a customer with the Krogers Fresh Care at the corner of Peachtree and Piedmont in Atlanta Georgia
    I have been shopping there for many years and I went to customer service to purchase 2 itunes card for $50. Therefore I wanted
    separate receipts for each card and the Cashier said she couldn't do it! Rhonda somehow didn't trust what was going on but it was only
    a simple transaction 2 transactions. I inquired about why to Rhonda and then to Management but no one had a answer!

    0 Votes

Post your comment