Jared Galleria Of JewelryWarranty not honored

N
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Do NOT go to Jared!!!I purchased a 2 carat loose diamond from Jared. I went with Jared because the salesman sold me on their warranty program plus there are Jared's all over the map. Jared mounted the center diamond on an engagement ring. When I picked it up, I noticed that they mounted it incorrectly, it was too high. None the less, I took it and proposed to my fiancé. 2 days later we brought it back and requested they remount it as originally instructed. We picked the ring up again and noticed that the center diamond was loose. They took it back and repaired it a third time. Shortly after taking the ring home, we noticed a chip in the diamond. Yes, diamonds do chip. All over the top of the diamond was residue from the soldering. It was sloppy so we took the ring to a 25 year veteran jeweler to have it inspected. The jeweler stated that one specific prong was soldered on the corner of the diamond too tight allowing for no give and setting it up for failure. We go back to Jared one last time and request a replacement as the warranty guarantees. The Jared Sales Manager approached us and said, “you do not have a guarantee on the diamond because you didn't purchase the ring from Jared.” The warranty says nothing about having to purchase both the diamond and the ring from Jared. I never signed anything acknowledging no warranty nor would I ever on a item that cost $14000. If you've had a similar experience, please make a claim at the Better Business Bureau. The exact link for Jared is: http://www.akronbbb.org .
and/or file a complaint with the State Attorney General's Office

Responses

  • De
    Delilah May 21, 2015

    I don't understand how a company that sale so terrible qualityjewelries like jared stay in business. I brought a watch from jared for my mother, on her birthday. which was in 2 Nov-15-2014. In January the watch broke.it was a coach watch. Which cost me at lease $300.00 or more. At the time, I brought the watch the lady told me to purchase insurance which I did. When took the watch back to them, for them to fix it. The lady told me the damn insurance she made me purchase only cover the diamond, so they can't fix it But can give me an estimate on the cost. I cry when I heard the watch I spend so much money on for my mother, wouldn't be fix unless I put more money down. I regret going to jared to buy my watch. If I had brought it at Macys, I wouldn't have that kind of problem. Macys would have fix it or give me a new watch. I would know because my boyfriend bought me one at macys before. I hate jared so bad that I had to trash my jared credit card. They shouldn't be in business. As for other jewelry I brought from them they all broke. I had to keep bring the jewelries to get fixed. I purchased over 6000 dollars worth of jewelry from them. People stay away from this company.

    0 Votes
  • We
    WEbtheGs May 08, 2012

    On May 2nd we recieved a $50 gift card to spend on something $99 or more, I figured this was the perfect time to go and purchase my anniversary band (as we already purhcased my engagement and wedding band here). May 4th my husband secretly went up to Jared to see if he could purchase it without me knowing, though at the time he did not have his credit card with him and they refused to look up his information for him, and he knew he was pressed for time as the gift card was only valid May 4th, 5th and 6th (all 3 days he had to work) so the next day he tried again before going to work, he waited in the store for a good 7 minutes before anyone asked him if he needed help, by then he was upset and already had to go to work so he left. The next day (sunday) he tried again before going to work at 12, guess what ?? the store doesnt open until 12. So by then I told him I will go into the store and see what it will take for me to purchase the ring. The guy who had helped which by the way had an uninviting personality said I was unable to do this and said my husband would have to call the customer service number to have me added, so the guy gave me the number and stated they will ask for my driver liscence number, so before hanging up with my husband I gave it to him and told him to hurry as I had to go to work as well and wouldn't be able to come back after work (they would be closed) so 7 minutes later husband calls back and states he needs my social security number or they wont add me!!! At this point I was upset because I wanted the ring to add to my set but I had to leave or else I would be late for work, so I told my husband to forget about it and I walked out the store as the guy who was helping me was already busy helping someone else who was looking to make a "bigger" purchase. Later that day I went online to see if I could purchase the ring with the promo code and I was able to. I purchased the ring May 6th with a guaranteed 2nd business day shipment, hoping it would be here Tuesday May 8th no later than May 9th as I needed this ring for a special occasion with my husband. May 8th, no ring so I called customer service to see why the ring was not sent according to the lady, she stated the ring takes about 2 days to size and then can be shipped and wouldnt arrive until thursday. So my plans are out the door with this one, as my ring is coming from "ohio" I tried explaining to her that Jared did false advertisement, she apologized and stated there was nothing else she could do. Once the ring arrives, it will be returned to the store and we are closing our account. I have had nothing but a bad experience with trying to purchase my anniversary ring and so has my husband.

    0 Votes
  • Rj
    rjrouillier81 May 03, 2012

    I haven't had any problems with my ring so far. But I did have an issue with the fact that my husband bought me sapphire hoop earrings and sapphire studs with diamond chips on them and I lost both of each one. We also purchased the warranties for both of them and when we went in to find out what we needed to do to replace them they told us that the warranty only covers diamonds and not gemstones and that it only covers the gemstones if it on a ring setting. And then they also told us that the jeweler wouldn't allow us to pay for just the replacements and told us that we had to purchase them all over again. I think that it is rediculous that we wouold have to pay to replace them when we purchased the warranty and we also paid an obscene amount of money for these earrings. From what I have read on their warranty process is that they will replace both gemstones and diamonds and it doesn't state anything about it only being on the ring settings. I wish they would come up with the truth and not tell us a different story every time we ask about it.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    lex01 Nov 12, 2011

    Horrible customer service. Took my ring to have a repair which was passed down from a family member. The prong needed to be fixed. Two weeks later the diamond on the side became loose. Took the ring back to have them repair the same prong, go to pick up my ring and they told me it needed to be shipped out to be repaired. Which this would take 2-3 months. They told me during the repair of the prong they cracked my center sapphire stone. The store sent the ring to a vendor without my permission nor having a appraisal. I asked to have my stone back since this was passed down from generations they said it was against store policy. I asked for the distract managers number they told me they werent allowed to give that out. The way they treated me was completely unnaceptable. I was in tears... this ring means alot to me. Its not like this ring can be replaced since its a family heirloom. Do not buy from jareds this is a warning more then anything!

    0 Votes
  • Ky
    kylove4u Feb 04, 2011

    Something similar has happened to me. My fiance ordered my engagement ring in August and proposed to me in September. Shortly after, we noticed the diamond was "jingling" inside the head of the ring. We took it to Jared to have it tightened and a week later, it was loose again. We took it to have it tightened again. This time the jeweler (same person as first time) said it was in the wrong heading (a princess cut placed into a head for a round diamond...Jared's fault...not ours). They agreed to replace the head, which would change the look of the ring (and the sentimental value). The jeweler said that in his opinion it wouldn't make much of a difference on the jingling. Customer service forced me to do the repair in order to honor any warranty in the future. In replacing the head, the jeweler chipped the diamond and denied it was he who did so. I know that it wasn't chipped when I took it in to Jared's that day because I had an inspection done on it in the very same store just 2 hours before they told me my diamond was chipped. Their attempt at finding a diamond of "equal or better specifications" has been poor thus far, with the exception of one helpful person in customer service. They offered me a diamond that was a slight bigger carat and same grade and clarity, BUT, the dimensions were way smaller, making it a very deep diamond rather than wide, which makes it look tiny, and my original ring was NOT a tiny diamond. Not to mention, there was about a $300 price difference (the original was more expensive). I am still in the midst of battling with Jared's home office on this issue. We are not backing down from this.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    pat scott Jan 23, 2011

    have today recd email telling me you have taken 47.88 from my mastercard for a Drivermender plus other iten total incl Vat 47.88. May I state categoricialy thet A ihave never ordered any such item and B. I do not have a Mastercard !!! Please respond ASAP or I will report you for Fraud. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alger Jul 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ahh but the free coffee and cookies priceless!

    0 Votes
  • He
    henryadam80 Dec 20, 2009

    Nice post! I appreciate. Good work and marvellous
    Please get to http://www.pennyauctioninfo.com

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mabacus Dec 20, 2009

    I took a Gucci watch in for repair. When I came to pick up the watch, the saleslady eyed the $100.00 bill I was going to use for payment and demanded that I hand it over to her for examination before she had even given me the total. Although irritated, I complied and handed her the bill. She gave it to a man sitting at a desk behind her. The man slowly examined the bill and held it up in the air. He had a huge smirk on his face the whole time. When he was finished, I felt like asking him if he was disappointed (it wasn't counterfit). I think it would have made his day if he could have turned me over to the policeman standing outside the door. When I see commercials on television portraying Jared's as the place to go for romance, I laugh. I will never set foot inside a Jared's store again.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.