Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Car Dealers Hyundai Peeling paint issue
Hyundai

Hyundai review: Peeling paint issue 6

M
Author of the review
1:23 pm EDT
Verified customer The reviewer confirmed their account using Facebook. Learn more
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

My name is Cynthia A. Morgan and I am writing today to see if you are able to offer any assistance or guidance to me regarding my 2015 Hyundai Elantra that has paint peeling off of it.  This is a known issue with Hyundai and, after minimal research, I’ve learned there are over 700 complaints of this issue with Hyundai.  (resource: Hyundai / Getz — paint).

There have also been multiple class action law suits and registered complaints filed with NHTSA (resource: https://www.vehiclehistory.com/articles/2017-hyundai-elantra-paint-recalls-to-know-of )

I first discovered the paint peeling in late April 2022 and called Hyundai Customer Care to see what action they would take.  I was told they would offer a One-time Financial Aide in order to pay for repainting the car. I was given a case number (#[protected]) and was told to reach out to the closest Hyundai dealership with an estimate from a body shop detailing the cost of the paint repair.  The dealership I was directed to is Alexandria Hyundai at 1707 Mount Vernon Avenue in Alexandria.

 

May 5th, 2022 I went to the dealership and my paperwork was taken by a service representative named Erik Lorton.  He recorded my VIN# and took several pictures of the vehicle, then told me he would give the estimate to his manager (named Gerald) to send to Hyundai. I called every week to follow up, but I never heard back from them. On 7/11/2022 I called Hyundai Customer Care again and was told they had not received any paperwork from Alexandria Hyundai relating to my vehicle, so I called the dealership again and finally got to speak with Erik.  He told me he would follow up with his manager.   Several days later I received an email from Erik asking for my VIN# and pictures of the paint issue again, which I sent immediately, but again, have not heard back. Every two weeks since this date I have called and/or emailed and have been ignored.

 

At this point, I believe they intend to do nothing and I am exploring other options.  My hope is that you may help expedite the process for me as well as any others in the area who are dealing with similar issues. 

Desired outcome: To have my car repainted by a trusted/local company to avoid any further issues.

View 0 more photos

More Hyundai reviews & complaints

Hyundai - hyundai customer services, in south africa 23
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Hyundai - unsolicited phone calls 109
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Hyundai - paint 41
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Hyundai - damage caused by workshop and other damage not repaired 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
6 comments
Add a comment
S
S
Samantha - Arkansas
Malvern, US
Mar 16, 2024 4:37 pm EDT

I have a 2020 Hyundai Santa Fe and my paint is chipping on the hood. I’m not happy about this at all, my Santa Fe is white and seems the dealerships don’t care. My cars value is very low due to this, seems Hyundais paint is not great quality and makes me not want to by another one.

Has anyone had any success on getting it repainted?

View 0 more photos
E
E
Elantra owner
Irvine, CA, US
Jun 23, 2023 11:48 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I had the same issue with my 2017 Elantra and the peeling paint. I went to the dealer and after MUCH negotiation they agreed to 'fix' my paint issue at their expense. My car was in the shop for almost one month, but they did provide a rental car. Fast forward 18 months and my paint is peeling AGAIN! Because Hyundia told me this was a one-time offer I felt hopeless in getting any help from them with this issue, although there are soo many claims of defective paint.

I took my car in for maintenance the other day and mentioned the reoccurring peeling paint. The service advisor told me he is contacting corporate to see what can be done.

The waiting begins... I will update as soon as I hear back. (Fingers are crossed)

J
J
Jordan Cram
, US
Apr 25, 2023 11:42 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I had this same exact problem. I went and had pics taken and no response. Finally got a hold of someone and sent more pics. No response. I eventually went to another dealership because corporate would not further my case until I went through a dealership. They quickly decide my claim because I was out of warranty. No one told me that mileage or warranty was a consideration in this claim and I went through hoops to be denied. I have not given up though. This is a wrong that Hyundai needs to write. I am still making payments, unacceptable.

R
R
Ryan Bridgen
, US
Apr 25, 2023 3:16 pm EDT

Unfortunately no one a Hyundai cares. No one will ever call back. I ended up selling both of our and refuse to ever purchase one again.

R
R
Ryan Bridgen
, US
Feb 10, 2023 8:33 pm EST

I own 2 white Hyundai’s 2015 and 16 and both of them have the paint peeling

E
E
Ellie 9 2 9
Ephrata, US
Nov 07, 2022 1:18 pm EST

Same issue with my 2017 Elantra, which I purchased used from a Hyundai dealership in 2019. In my opinion, the dealership was well aware of the white paint problem and sold this car to me anyway. In the summer of 2020 it started with the hood, and eventually the roof peeled as well. My dealership gave me a case # and sent in pictures, and Hyundai so graciously (Sarcastic!) offered $851 to paint the car. I've never worked in a body shop and I knew their offer was ludicrous. Also, they would not send me the $851, I had to get the car painted first, then they will supposedly send me reimbursement. It cost $2399 to get the hood & roof repainted. I am doubly ticked off because a Hyundai dealership sold me a known faulty vehicle, and the Hyundai manufacturer offered a fraction of the repair cost. I love the car but hate the manufacturer due to this experience. It's just wrong. When huge sections of paint peel off a 3 year old car that is a manufacturer problem, not a consumer problem. Anyway, you may have to get the work done to get a reimbursement, because it seems like most corporations, Hyundai is overly greedy & not consumer oriented.

  1. Hyundai Contacts

  2. Hyundai phone numbers
    8800 333 7167
    8800 333 7167
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling 8800 333 7167 phone number 15 15 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling 8800 333 7167 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling 8800 333 7167 phone number 4 4 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling 8800 333 7167 phone number
    58%
    Confidence score
    Russia
    +82 23 901 114
    +82 23 901 114
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +82 23 901 114 phone number 5 5 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +82 23 901 114 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +82 23 901 114 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +82 23 901 114 phone number
    100%
    Confidence score
    South Korea
    +1 (888) 216-2626
    +1 (888) 216-2626
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +1 (888) 216-2626 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +1 (888) 216-2626 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +1 (888) 216-2626 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +1 (888) 216-2626 phone number
    Canada
    +44 149 442 8600
    +44 149 442 8600
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +44 149 442 8600 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +44 149 442 8600 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +44 149 442 8600 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +44 149 442 8600 phone number
    United Kingdom
    +353 14 609 800
    +353 14 609 800
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +353 14 609 800 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +353 14 609 800 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +353 14 609 800 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +353 14 609 800 phone number
    Ireland
    +61 288 736 000
    +61 288 736 000
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +61 288 736 000 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +61 288 736 000 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +61 288 736 000 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +61 288 736 000 phone number
    Australia
    +64 95 732 050
    +64 95 732 050
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +64 95 732 050 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +64 95 732 050 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +64 95 732 050 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +64 95 732 050 phone number
    New Zealand
    +43 161 040 7410
    +43 161 040 7410
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +43 161 040 7410 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +43 161 040 7410 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +43 161 040 7410 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +43 161 040 7410 phone number
    Austria
    +32 34 500 611
    +32 34 500 611
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +32 34 500 611 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +32 34 500 611 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +32 34 500 611 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +32 34 500 611 phone number
    Belgium
    +45 76 322 000
    +45 76 322 000
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +45 76 322 000 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +45 76 322 000 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +45 76 322 000 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +45 76 322 000 phone number
    Denmark
    +358 207 997 700
    +358 207 997 700
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +358 207 997 700 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +358 207 997 700 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +358 207 997 700 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +358 207 997 700 phone number
    Finland
    +33 156 056 700
    +33 156 056 700
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +33 156 056 700 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +33 156 056 700 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +33 156 056 700 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +33 156 056 700 phone number
    France
    +49 692 714 720
    +49 692 714 720
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +49 692 714 720 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +49 692 714 720 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +49 692 714 720 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +49 692 714 720 phone number
    Germany
    +39 238 058 600
    +39 238 058 600
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +39 238 058 600 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +39 238 058 600 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +39 238 058 600 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +39 238 058 600 phone number
    Italy
    +31 252 240 340
    +31 252 240 340
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +31 252 240 340 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +31 252 240 340 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +31 252 240 340 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +31 252 240 340 phone number
    Netherlands
    +47 22 706 000
    +47 22 706 000
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +47 22 706 000 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +47 22 706 000 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +47 22 706 000 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +47 22 706 000 phone number
    Norway
    +351 218 548 300
    +351 218 548 300
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +351 218 548 300 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +351 218 548 300 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +351 218 548 300 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +351 218 548 300 phone number
    Portugal
    +34 902 246 902
    +34 902 246 902
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +34 902 246 902 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +34 902 246 902 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +34 902 246 902 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +34 902 246 902 phone number
    Spain
    +46 850 605 006
    +46 850 605 006
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +46 850 605 006 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +46 850 605 006 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +46 850 605 006 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +46 850 605 006 phone number
    Sweden
    +41 448 164 351
    +41 448 164 351
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +41 448 164 351 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +41 448 164 351 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +41 448 164 351 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +41 448 164 351 phone number
    Switzerland
    +90 216 581 0012
    +90 216 581 0012
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +90 216 581 0012 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +90 216 581 0012 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +90 216 581 0012 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +90 216 581 0012 phone number
    Turkey
    +86 106 261 3899
    +86 106 261 3899
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +86 106 261 3899 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +86 106 261 3899 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +86 106 261 3899 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +86 106 261 3899 phone number
    China
    +852 34 288 288
    +852 34 288 288
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +852 34 288 288 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +852 34 288 288 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +852 34 288 288 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +852 34 288 288 phone number
    Hong Kong
    +91 116 602 2000
    +91 116 602 2000
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +91 116 602 2000 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +91 116 602 2000 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +91 116 602 2000 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +91 116 602 2000 phone number
    India
    +62 217 293 338
    +62 217 293 338
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +62 217 293 338 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +62 217 293 338 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +62 217 293 338 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +62 217 293 338 phone number
    Indonesia
    +81 362 343 550
    +81 362 343 550
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +81 362 343 550 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +81 362 343 550 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +81 362 343 550 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +81 362 343 550 phone number
    Japan
    +60 377 338 337
    +60 377 338 337
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +60 377 338 337 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +60 377 338 337 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +60 377 338 337 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +60 377 338 337 phone number
    Malaysia
    +63 28 136 788
    +63 28 136 788
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +63 28 136 788 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +63 28 136 788 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +63 28 136 788 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +63 28 136 788 phone number
    Philippines
    +966 920 028 008
    +966 920 028 008
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +966 920 028 008 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +966 920 028 008 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +966 920 028 008 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +966 920 028 008 phone number
    Saudi Arabia
    +65 64 758 888
    +65 64 758 888
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +65 64 758 888 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +65 64 758 888 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +65 64 758 888 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +65 64 758 888 phone number
    Singapore
    +27 113 720 800
    +27 113 720 800
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +27 113 720 800 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +27 113 720 800 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +27 113 720 800 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +27 113 720 800 phone number
    South Africa
    +886 277 185 670
    +886 277 185 670
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +886 277 185 670 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +886 277 185 670 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +886 277 185 670 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +886 277 185 670 phone number
    Taiwan
    +66 20 891 888
    +66 20 891 888
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +66 20 891 888 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +66 20 891 888 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +66 20 891 888 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +66 20 891 888 phone number
    Thailand
    +84 439 680 949
    +84 439 680 949
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +84 439 680 949 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +84 439 680 949 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +84 439 680 949 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +84 439 680 949 phone number
    Vietnam
    +971 43 658 340
    +971 43 658 340
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +971 43 658 340 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +971 43 658 340 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +971 43 658 340 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +971 43 658 340 phone number
    UAE
    +54 114 799 0500
    +54 114 799 0500
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +54 114 799 0500 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +54 114 799 0500 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +54 114 799 0500 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +54 114 799 0500 phone number
    Argentina
    +55 800 770 3355
    +55 800 770 3355
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +55 800 770 3355 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +55 800 770 3355 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +55 800 770 3355 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +55 800 770 3355 phone number
    Brazil
    +56 25 964 000
    +56 25 964 000
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +56 25 964 000 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +56 25 964 000 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +56 25 964 000 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +56 25 964 000 phone number
    Chile
    +52 558 851 6800
    +52 558 851 6800
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +52 558 851 6800 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +52 558 851 6800 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +52 558 851 6800 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +52 558 851 6800 phone number
    Mexico
    +1 (800) 633-5151
    +1 (800) 633-5151
    Click up if you have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +1 (800) 633-5151 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Hyundai by calling +1 (800) 633-5151 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +1 (800) 633-5151 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Hyundai by calling +1 (800) 633-5151 phone number
    100%
    Confidence score
    Customer Service
    More phone numbers
  3. Hyundai emails
  4. Hyundai address
    5040 NW 7th St, Suite 690, Miami, Florida, 33126, United States
  5. Hyundai social media
  6. Michael
    Checked and verified by Michael This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 14, 2024
Trending companies