Hyundai / Getzpaint

1
B Review updated:

2006 model is my car. Currently in the 31, 000 km.serious paint problems.I refer to the service.They said to me (hyundai service): birds that did!.. are kidding me! I will apply to the court. I'm so sorry. Because my (of poor quality) cheap-hyundai vehicle.

paint
paint
paint

Responses

  • Ze
    zestar Feb 28, 2010

    Automotive painting is a science.

    A typical finish consists of four layers:
    1) electrocoat - provides corrosion protection
    2) primer - protects electrocoat, stone chip resistance, adhesion
    between basecoat and elctrocoat
    3) basecoat - provides color to the vehicle
    4) clearcoat - sunlight protection, scratch resistance, gloss
    and appearance properties

    Film thickness is a criteria used by the auto industry to ensure durability.

    Each of the 4 layers must be at the proper film thickness specification.

    If any of the individual layers is below specification. The vehicle would
    be considered a factory paint defect.

    A visible manifestation of low film thickness is paint peeling, body rusting and stone chipping.

    Since the mid 1990s the auto industry while retaining ownership of the paint facilities have outsourced
    the process and quality responsibilities to multiple paint suppliers.

    Outsourcing in this application is defined as a process in which a company
    assigns its in-house operations to a third party.

    Specifics on automotive paint suppliers roles within the facilities may be found in textbooks published
    both in Europe and America. The most recent textbook being released in 2008.

    The paint suppliers actively market and advertise their outsourcing expertise with terms such as
    "Cost Per Unit" or "Pay As Painted" supplier programs. Outsourcing [Cost Per Unit] programs are
    common throughout Europe and America within the auto industry.

    Not all vehicle flaws are associated with the paint itself, vehicle design and weathering will
    impact the vehicle's finish.

    It is our opinion that the automaker, auto dealer and consumer should not receive a vehicle painted
    below the automaker's film thickness specifications of any of the four layers that comprise a vehicle's finish.

    Low film thickness will cause paint failures.

    A quick internet search for the following:

    Toyota Paint Problems, Toyota Paint Peeling
    Ford Paint Problems, Ford Paint Peeling
    GM Paint Problems, GM Paint Peeling
    Chrysler Paint Problems, Chrysler Paint Peeling
    Honda Paint Problems, Honda Paint Peeling
    Nissan Paint Problems, Nissan Paint Peeling

    will return results back in the millions.

    Public Interest best served by a "Truth in Finish Disclosure"
    with the purchase of any vehicle.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    morrshel Jun 20, 2012

    I can't believe I can't find more about this issue, I know three people who have the same issue with 2006 white Sonata's..paint is peeling like paper!

    2 Votes
  • Ka
    Karenrb Aug 17, 2012

    I have a 2008 Santa fe with the same problem peeling paint. I was told by the dealership that it was from rocks. Funny i don't see any other makes with this issue with paint peeling off and i"m prettys sure they have had their share of rocks dinging the cars

    1 Votes
  • Em
    Emerald Lagassi Aug 29, 2012

    The e coat was not applied proplerly.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patsy K Jun 13, 2014

    My 2007 White Hyundai Sante Fe is totally chipping on the roof. Not sure what to do.

    1 Votes
  • Tb
    TBWilliams Jul 08, 2014

    My 2009 white Hyundai Santa Fe has a terrible problem with paint peeling on the front edge of the hood and the roof. It doesn't not look like the paint was applied correctly. I have seen other white Santa Fe cars with the same problem.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michele Lee Aug 02, 2014

    I have a 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe with terrible peeling paint. I was told by my local dealership that it is the pearl white color that is a defective paint. Hyundai has repeatedly denied my request to fix their defect!! Is there a class action suit I could join??

    2 Votes
  • Ga
    GA man Aug 09, 2014

    My 2008 Santa Fe lost a quarter size chunk of paint on the roof when I was spraying it off with the hose. They said the paint job is only under warranty for 3 years or 36, 000 miles. They should be embarrassed by such a poor warranty. I have never had an automobile to lose paint like this, period!


    That will be my last Hyundai!

    2 Votes
  • Ma
    markorlando1 Aug 31, 2014

    My 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe with pearl white paint is completely chipped around the windshield and is now rusting. Hyundai has also denied my claim multiple times and now the paint is out of warranty. They told me that I drive to fast. There must be a class action suit somewhere involving the paint.

    1 Votes
  • Ly
    Lymies Girl Sep 09, 2014

    I have a 2010 Sonata and the paint is peeling off the roof and hood. It is crazy! I have a 2000 Blazer that has almost 300000 miles on it and the paint is still in mint condition! I feel like there should be some kind of recall on these to fix this paint!

    2 Votes
  • Al
    Alabama Larry Oct 01, 2014

    I have a 2010 Sonata and the paint is peeling off the hood, the top and the trunk. This is horrible! It started after 35, 000 miles and now at 87, 000 the spots are larger than baseballs. Hyundai has a real problem with this. I have a 2003 Chevy Avalanche with 244, 000 and it's been in a couple of hail-storms and it's paint jobs still looks great. Love the Sonata, but will never buy another.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary J. Sullivan Jan 16, 2015

    My 2007 Sonata Limited has the same issue. First I thought it was hail damage but the upgrade pearl white paint is bubbling on hood, bumpers and roof. I just got an estimate to repair for over $1000. I was informed the vehicle was not primed properly and that is the problem. This started about 3 years ago and I found nothing to assist me then, and apparently nothing out there to help now with this situation. If that's the case, I will never buy another Hyundai and I'll shout off rooftops to not invest in this product. Ridiculous!

    1 Votes
  • 01
    0123456 Jan 30, 2015

    I'm also having problems with my 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe with the paint chipping/pealing off the hood in numerous spots and two places on the roof right were it meets the windshield. It started as just a small little place, then within a few months there were a dozen small places starting and now collectively about 25% of the hood is down to the metal and still spreading. I took it to two different dealerships who both said it must have been caused by rocks. I argued I would have heard or seen a rock large enough to do that much damage and they said it must have been a very small rock. My reply to that was if it was so small that I couldn't hear or see it, it should not have been able to do so much damage. I had my insurance adjuster look at it who says it is absolutely a defect in the paint and to try to pursue it with Hyundai. I am very discouraged!

    1 Votes
  • Bl
    blynn0702 Feb 25, 2015

    I have a 2007 Hyundai Santa Fe where the paint has peeled off on the hood and the roof of the vehicle, I was told by a local body shop that this is a manufacturers defect but Hyundai will do nothing to fix it... I've owned several other vehicles Honda, VW, Chevy and Toyota none of which have ever had this issue. Its embarrassing and should not be fixed at the cost of the owner especially since with all the posts on the internet there is obviously a problem. I will never purchase a Hyundai again and am looking to trade the vehicle in now.

    1 Votes
  • Pe
    Peggy Reat Mar 13, 2015

    I have a 2009 Santa Fe. The paint is peeling off on the hood, roof and along side of the front windshield. The paint started peeling off after going though a very heavy rain storm. I feel the paint job was not done properly.

    0 Votes
  • So
    southernanchor Mar 16, 2015

    I have a 2010 Sonata with the same paint issue. Started at roofline along windshield...a small place. It is almost as if the windshield fluid spray caused the initial paint loss. Now paint has peeled all the way across the front of the roof. The hood is peeling now. about a fourth of the hood paint has peeled. It is the pearl white paint. A friend who built cars for GM and did paint and body work on the side says it is a factory issue. The primer was not prepared properly. Am going to talk with Hyndai before I have him repair the paint for me. I feel certain Hyndai will deny any responsibility. The only hope is a class action. Not sure how that would be organized.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    sandy antoni Mar 24, 2015

    I have a white 2009 Santa Fe. it has extensive paint peeling on the hood and roof. Took it back to the dealer and they told me I was out of luck because the paint warranty expires at 3000 miles 42000 miles. took it to to collision specialist to both said the car was not primed properly prior to painting. both specialist suggested I contact Hyundai to see if there is a recall. To Date there is not. cost to fix the damage exceeds $7000. today I sent a letter with pictures. hopefully Monday will step up and correct the problem. if not I will have a car without paint.

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    just looking Mar 30, 2015

    My 2006 Sonota has paint chipping on hood and roof also... I only have 63000 miles on it . I took it to the dealer while under warranty ... They kept it two weeks and didn't do one thing to it...I had to take it anyway as I had to go out of town. Ridiculous that this is happening to all these cars. Bad advertisement for them when everyone sees the paint peeling on these cars...

    2 Votes
  • Ag
    AGreer Apr 03, 2015

    2008 Santa Fe Pearl white. Same thing. Peeling on center of hood and around the windshield/roof. Told the rock theory by dealer, too. Class action anyone?

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sad Hyundai Owner Apr 21, 2015

    I have a 2009 Pearl White Santa Fe with the same paint issues. I first noticed it three months after the 3yr warranty and was told by a paint and body shop (not affiliated with Hyundai) that the car was not primed properly. The paint starts to show small bubbles which eventually break/pop exposing the base metal. When I found the issue in 2012 it was only happening on the hood, roof and tailgate. Hyundai agreed it was a paint issue and repainted those surfaces, but only those surfaces. Now, 1 1/2 yrs later I am seeing the same issue on all four doors and so far Hyundai is refusing to take care of it.

    1 Votes
  • La
    Laura Fox May 04, 2015

    I have a 2009 Hyundai Sonata in pearl. my paint is chipping of badly on the roof and hood. Is there anything we can do?

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Kerensky May 28, 2015

    We are willing to discuss these paint problems with any consumer in the United States. We are looking for ways to help. Contact Williamson Sears & Rusnak in Houston Texas, www.wsrlawfirm.com or [email protected] or 855 972 7783 toll free.

    0 Votes
  • Mb
    mburr1972 Jun 20, 2015

    I own a 2007 Santa Fe and i started having problems with the paint around 26, 000 miles. They repaired the paint and then it started to peel off above the drives side front windshield. I also have 2 broken sun visors and a gas tank lid that does not open with the button on the inside of the vehicle.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    copper1107 Jun 25, 2015

    I am the second owner of my white 2009 Santa Fe. Bought it with 24, 000 miles on it and the paint started chipping off at 67, 000 miles. It has now peeled all over the hood, edge of the two front fenders, the room, and the liftgate is now chipping. Receiving estimates to repaint the entire car from $4600-$6200. Two different Hyundai Dealerships have looked at at and agreed it was a bad factory paint job, but it is out of warranty. I was trying to wait until I finished my last year of payments, no matter how ugly it looks, but small indications of rust have now appeared. Trying to decide to fix it or trade it in "under water" for another vehicle.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Ann259 Jul 27, 2015

    We have a 2003 Black Santa Fe and the paint is not chipping as much as it appears that it is wearing away down to the primer. The top, hood, back, doors are all wasting away. I had a 2001 Black Tiburon and the entire hood bubbled up to the point that I would pray that someone would ram into the front end just so I could get it fixed. Finally got rid of it as Hyundai would not even talk to me. It's crazy that we all are having paint problems yet they refuse to help. I would think a class action suit may be in order. I know I sure don't have the money to repaint a Santa Fe.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pat G. Sep 01, 2015

    I have a 2004 Hyundai Santa Fe that is silver in color. Last year, I noticed that the hood, roof & sides were all starting to peel. It has gotten progressively worse over time & I'm sure that it is a defect in the paint application. In the past few weeks, I have noticed 3 other Santa Fes (approximate age of my vehicle) with the same issues. I have always loved this vehicle but I will rethink buying another one. My husband & I will be looking for another vehicle in the next year & I just might switch to a Kia.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JennB731 Oct 07, 2015

    I have a 2009 Santa Fe with peeling pant on the hood, roof and frame surrounding windshield. Local bodyshop said definitely a paint defect and told me I should go to Hyundai to inquire about warranty. Hyundai dealer said I am outside of warranty and that the peeling paint is from road debris and that it is to be expected. That is completely unacceptable to me and I cannot afford the $2, 200. estimate I was given to repair it. The vehicle has otherwise been great and it's the 2nd Hyundai I've owned. If this matter is not properly handled I will surely never buy another Hyundai.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Gardner Oct 23, 2015

    After reading all the story's posted here we need to get a class action lawsuit started, I have the same problem as everybody else does.my daughter is an attorney, I will wear them out legally, it will cost them dearly if I don't get any satisfaction from them.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sarss1 Oct 29, 2015

    2010 White Hyundai Sonata. Paint is peeling off hood, roof and trunk. There are multiple places on hood, 2 as big as your hand and growing.Spots on roof are quarter size and trunk is thumb size. At the rate of spread, the entire hood will eventually peel away.Showed to dealer.They are took pictures, but had no comment or commitment.Naturally.Waiting on them.Recommend contacting Hyundai USA.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paula Parma Dec 16, 2015

    2009 Santa Fe pearl white - paint flaking in 6 places: hood, around windshield and doorframe. Neither dealership or Hyundai will cover or make a determination as to defect. I've owned other cars for 10+ years and none of them have had flaking paint. This is my first Hyundai and very well may be my last.

    0 Votes
  • Il
    illy Jan 09, 2016

    I am the owner of a 2007 pearl white limited sonata and I have the same exact paint peeling issue. I tried covering up small patches whenever they would appear, but it is no good when you can clearly see air bubbles starting to form under the paintnin areas that don't even have any chips to begin with.

    I was also given the warranty has expired line by the dealership/company when I complained a couple of years ago.

    What can we all do to make this right? Anything or are we all just stuck being screwed over?

    0 Votes
  • Di
    disillusion1 Jan 28, 2016

    I too am having the same problem with paint peeling like wallpaper off the hood of my car. Every time it rains it just peels off like paper. Clearly the paint job is faulty! I brought it in to the dealer and they basically said you are on your own it's "out of warranty". I have a 2009 Sante Fe "Pearl White"
    A few guys at different auto body shops looked at it ad said that the car was "not primed properly" that is why this happens!! Why should the consumers be responsible for Hyundai's poor paint job. They need to stand behind their product and make good for all of the people like me who have invested numerous times with numerous vehicles in their product!...So angry I could cry...If they do not make good on this I will NEVER EVER buy another Hyundai again...and I will let everyone know that their product is defective and they do not stand behind it.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alymoon Feb 16, 2016

    I have a white 2009 Hyundai Sonata with peeling paint exposing bare metal everywhere on the car. I can't believe they are able to getaway with selling cars with a sub-standard paint job. It is so well documented here and on other websites that selling cars without primer applied is their standard operating procedure, that I don't understand how they are able to get away with it legally.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rob Lawson Mar 15, 2016

    Our 2010 Pearl White Santa Fe has large areas of paint peeling on the hood and roof. Hyundai dealership refuses to acknowledge any problem and will not do anything to repair the problem. A reputable body shop says the problem is due to improper primer application and curing.
    Not sure what to do next.

    0 Votes
  • #InjusticeforAll Apr 18, 2016

    I have the same Pearl White Paint peeling on my 2009 Santa Fe. I noticed other white vehicles and observed peeling paint.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    beairdboy May 17, 2016

    2010hyundai sonata started peeling at the top of the windshield and now on the hood. This should be recalled. I have owned many cars and never had one with peeling paint. Got an estimate on the roof 450.00 to 500. HSBM, I don't have that kind of money and now the hood is peeling. I bought this car new and I'm angry and disgusted. Time to recall this. Ive seen other Hyundais w this problem.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tammy Keich Todd Jun 07, 2016

    I have a 2009 Santa Fe in Pearl white with the same peeling paint issues. This is my second trip to the body shop at my expense. I will not buy another Hyndai either!

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    Loriweather Aug 08, 2016

    I also have a 2010 Sante Fe Sport with pearl white paint, or what's left of it. It started about 7 months ago, and it's now bubbling and peeling and flying off in sheets! It started on the hood, is all along the edges of my windshield and is now starting to peel on my roof. I'm totally embarrassed driving it and certainly won't be able to sell it without getting it painted, which is something I can't afford to do. I took it to the local GM dealership who said right away that the paint was delaminating because they used an inferior primer. They told me to go back to my Hyundai dealer and they'd call them to say they'd sent me to talk to them about getting it fixed. My dealership wouldn't have anything to do with it, and even went so far as to say it was my fault for driving on the freeway!! I've owned many vehicles and have driven them all on the same freeway without any ill effects. When I bought my car in 2011, I was so impressed with the vehicle and the dealership...not anymore.

    1 Votes
  • Be
    beairdboy Aug 09, 2016

    DITTO, I FEEL YOUR PAIN. beairdboy

    0 Votes
  • Nh
    NHGuy Jan 31, 2020

    My 2018 Caribbean blue Tucson also has begun to develop all sorts of paint chips falling off it at 26k miles. I bought this car due to its alleged high safety ratings but man, it is the most problem-prone car I have owned in 40 years of driving.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem