Hp Pavilion Dv2000laptop problems

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I have purchased dv pavilion 2000 in January. But began to create problems for me after one month it had display problem. Sometimes display began to spark. Sometimes it touch pad leave working. It also become unstable and hang everyday. It's Keyboard also leave working and a key is also not working properly. One USB slot also stop working. I have to face a new problem on every log in. I am frustrated. I have also taken it to service center four time. But problem become again and again.

Responses

  • Re
    Reviewer91414 Feb 22, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased an HP15-F272 laptop as a christmas gift. I have called HP customer service to be told that I have to pay another $200.00, because I have bad software causing me not to be able to play a movie. Or take a one time fix for $79.00...I've paid for the laptop, paid for 2 years over the 1 year warranty that HP has with the product to find out that it does not cover bad software. I can not reach anyone local to talk to, it's always someone in a foreign country and they keep telling me I have to pay and nothing else can be done.

    0 Votes
  • Dt
    dtrysrt Mar 16, 2014

    mere laptop ke display per 8screen hote hote aur ye kbi kbar tek be hojata hai. lekin zeada harab hota hai.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rinku goswami Apr 01, 2013

    hellomy name is Rinku goswami i have purchace hp pavillon 2000 laptop but not b instaal oprating system xp ...stop error 0x0000007b please erroe solve to...

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Basheer69 Dec 04, 2012

    I bought HP DV2000 with my hard earned money in 2009 and just after a month untill today, i could never use it even a single time without all sorts of problem, now finally it is placing one foot in grave as the screen is going crazy and noting is possible with blank. It is such a shame that this company is deaf and blind to take my money for such a inferior product.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    seanxz Oct 31, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've had horrible experience with this laptop and future generations of the same type of HP laptops, too!
    I have decided to document my experience in my blog. feel free to visit and leave your comments/horror stories!

    http://www.seanxz.com/2012/10/30/from-admiration-to-despise-my-10-year-history-with-hewlett-packard-hp/

    0 Votes
  • Da
    daniel lainez Jul 29, 2012

    I have a dv 2000 is nothing but problems, do not buy HP at all. never ever again.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    dinkledorfer May 19, 2012

    Your problem is a bad Nvidia video chip. Do a Youtube.com search and you will find how to attack the problem. The solution is not pretty or easy but it can be done. The DV series laptops are complete garbage. Once you get it running again, put a fan under it. It will help it from happening again.

    0 Votes
  • Jh
    jhumok Apr 11, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a hp pavillion dv2000 1 year ago from a friend and no display at all, replaced the lcd with new but the problem still exist. There are light signals on its panel. I tried the new Lcd from other laptop and its working. What will I do...i`m quite disappointed about it now

    0 Votes
  • Jh
    jhumok Apr 11, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a hp pavillion dv2000 1 year ago from a friend and no display at all, replaced the lcd but the problem exist. There is light signal on its panel. I tried the new Lcd from other laptop and its working. What will I do...i`m quite disappointed about it now.

    0 Votes
  • Yu
    yuval Aug 12, 2011

    My computer turns on with the function light switched on, and there seems to be nothing i can do to turn it of.
    in Order to write normally, i have to keep the function button pressed all the time.
    What can i do?

    0 Votes
  • Xf
    x fi May 04, 2011

    i will recommend not to buy HP because there laptops are not reliable just like you are changing your clothes its better to get MAC free viruses.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JOECQQL Apr 04, 2011

    i have the same problem. I push the power button and all that i get are blue led lights. I can hear the cd drive for a few moments then nothing. this is the worst product I have ever seen with no support. I bet you that HP is laughing all the way to the bank because I guess they dont have to make things right.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    saby123 Feb 21, 2011

    I am using the same (dv2000 series), for initial 1 year all are good but just 2 months down the line, Batery problem, few buttons in the keypad not working some times, screen resolution some time like damn old 486 monitor... lot of problem with out any resolution and this HP service center guys are busy with getting extended waranty for their customers.. What rubisshhhhhh... PLEASE NEVER GO FOR ANY HP PRODUCT, THEY ARE CHEATING LIKE ANY THING ... MY LAP IS JUST LIKE A WASTE BOX NOW..

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Raj111 Dec 11, 2010

    Purchased Hp Dv series Laptop and burnt Motherboard For once a year...

    thats my the tragedy

    jus F off Hp Lap

    0 Votes
  • An
    angez13 Apr 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a dv2ooo model the screen also blacked out had it replaced under warrenty now the screen has lines jumping up and down then it turns start up blue colour still with sound and opperating behind no screen is this the motherboard 800 nz dollars to repair

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Artyrubinos Apr 20, 2010

    I bought an HP DV 2000 series in 2007. I used it for 6 months only then the screen stop working. When I called customer servive, I was informed of a manufacture defect with the motherboard. I returned it for repair and the same problem with the screen few months later. I have a GATEWAY laptop from 2004 and it works well, do not buy HP it´s crap. Compre una HP DV 2000, la use por solo 6 meses y la pantalla no enciende, la mande a reparar pero fue inutil, porque meses despues tuve el mismo problema, se calienta muy rapido y el ventilador no es lo suficientemente grande para enfriarla, se le tiene que comprar un cooler aparte para que no se recaliente, es una Laptop malisima, no se la recomiendo a nadie.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    dragon5126 Jan 18, 2010

    I just got off line with one of HP's trained monkeys, over the DV2000 known defect, no boot/video issue, I had to tell the dolt where to look on their site for the extended service information and he still denir=ed everything... NEVER buy HP Products, they do not have the balls to stand behind the garbage they make. They think that they can offer overpriced service inplace of the lawfully required warranty repairs. The idiot offered a "discounted" repair price of 289 dollars US (going repair rate is under 190 us by independent service providers), a whole 100 dollars less than their RETAIL rate. which is MORE than the damned thing cost new on clearance... They KNEW about the issue alright...
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&lang=en&product=3308892&docname=c01087277#c01087277_identify They screwed me on one other Laptop, this one was my nieces or they would not have gotten a cent for it

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sha23 Jan 11, 2010

    never buy hp laptops it is the worst in this world. it had all the problems in all parts.

    0 Votes
  • Cs
    csegeek Dec 31, 2009

    oh and I forgot to mention that this is not just an HP/Compaq issue .. (the F730us series suffer from this too) ... but has been seen with Apple. (iBook GPU fiasco) and their new line as well with the Nvidia Gpu's and don't' go blaming NVidia ... It happens with the ATi video chips as well.. I have confirmed this whit more than just one laptop from different manufacturers.

    0 Votes
  • Cs
    csegeek Dec 31, 2009

    Just came across this tread ... To be clear it is a manufacturing issue and something that HP did try to fix and did extend the warranty's for an extra year on these laptops... it does cover the entire dv *000 line the 2000, 6000, 9000. What has and is happening is the GPU from NVidia (video chip) gets too hot and the gooey thermal pad they used in manufacturing expands and contracts with heat and cold separating the GPU from the systemboard. The only thing keeping it attached any how is a BGA (Ball Grid array) wich is just a bunch of little solder balls that hold the chip to the systemboard..

    With that said HP did try to reduce the heat on the GPU with a bios update that allows the fan to run at a higher speed by default and more often. Also they utilized a red hard silicone to create another physical bond to the systemboard... neither of these really helped much ..

    There is still the option of either replacing the systemboard.. or .. have an outside service Re-Flow the gpu for you ...

    or send it to me .. my full write up on this issue is at ... http://cegeekbook.blogspot.com/2009/11/dv6000-no-video-no-wireless-issue.html

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Papz Dec 15, 2009

    I HATE HATE HATE HP! My stupid dv2000 bought around april 2007 started giving me display trouble within a month! Display would not come back after the laptop went on stand by and I'd have to turn it on several times before it did (miss half my freaking lecture before I could get it to turn on!). Then my wireless stopped working, webcam stopped working... qst was... which part of it remained working! I sent it in for repair and HP gave it back to me MONTHS later (i.e. a full semester of uni gone by)! Then it was okay for 3-4 months and the SAME PROBLEM STARTED AGAIN! My self restraint in not hurling that piece of crap out the window amazes me! I was so pissed and I didn't want to deal with HP again. I worked with it in that half-working mode for a bit while it burned anything it touched. Now it won't even turn on after trying to start it up several times. I'm so fed up. If I had money to throw around ... I'd officially campaign against HP.

    0 Votes
  • Ia
    i am human and i need Dec 02, 2009

    I had the hp pavilion dv2000 since april 2008, and this was my first laptop and it was a big mistake buying this crap. I had to repair it like 3 times now, first, there was no display, then i got it fixed but ony had like a week left before my battery ran out. Then after i got it back, it was all slow, it's so slow!! it starts slow and i dont have anything on ym hard drive, no pictures, no music, nothin, and it's so slow!!! i hate it, then last time, the motherboard stopped working, and i got in a fight with hp and they actually replaced it, but im still having problems, at first i thought it was vista, but then i installed windows 7, and it worked a bit faster, but i keep having problems, it's still slow, and it over heats a lot!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rossyxican Nov 02, 2009

    My dv2000 laptop was bought in August of 2007 and all it has been doing the third time I started it was giving problems. It completely crashed in August 2008 of last year and was sent back for repair while it was still under warranty. I just received it in this year and the problem which was sent back for was addressed but yet again after my second start with it, all I noticed was a blank screen and a loud beeping sound that is annoying the hell out of me. The other issue that has been from before the repair and is still a bother is that the touch pad has a mind of its own………. It works sometimes. I tried telling the technicians about the problem and now they want for me to find another technician and pay for it to be fixed when the computer’s problem is just a fault of the manufacturer’s……… does not this situation cal for a refund or an exchange of the product?…………………. I will never buy HP again for as long as I live. Good by HP.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    TECHI Sep 16, 2009

    Just tried to fix a friends HP dv2000 as shown on the top corner of the lcd and it too is veeerrryyy slow to boot, after 3 failed factory restore attempts the 4th one was a sucess, but still veerrry slow boot. found that it could be to a "motherboard issue" heres a link: http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090825224713AALoGCr ; plus her warrenty is expired. Too bad for my friend, personally I never liked HP.

    0 Votes
  • St
    steveparlin Aug 08, 2009

    Some of these DV machines have an extended warranty due to so many issues. Check it out here
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&product=1842189&lang=en&docname=c01300427#c01300427_dv20

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    bloop Jun 25, 2009

    DO NOT EVVVVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRR BUY HP!!! THEY ARE TOTAL CCCCCCCCCRRRRRRRRAAAAAAPPPPPPPP!!! Mine stop turing off like a few months after the 1 year warranty ran out. I will NNNNNNNNNNEEEEEEEVVVVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRR buy hp again!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john Jun 15, 2009

    HI,
    me to have hp pavilion dv2000 series..my fisrt problem is sounds are coming from hard disk while on booting..its not normal. when i met the hp guys they told they are not finding any probes...but still i have the same problem ...many times this fuking sound is coming...its makes me frustrated ...

    2. thing about heat...its very heigh
    3 .i replaced my cd drive and speaker tooo with in one year...

    waiting for my hard disk to get fcuked my the os ...so that i will get new...warrenty is no finished...

    so if u are going to take hp ...in my openion...don't buy a biting dog by giving money...

    0 Votes
  • Kc
    kcruz Jun 11, 2009

    Hello Kat27,

    Please go to the site I posted. All you need to fight for your rights is there. If your laptop is faulty then HP should replace it with a good working model.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kat27 Jun 11, 2009

    I am having the problem with my dv2000 too, screen goes black and then have to restart 2 times to get it to work (figure it's only a matter of time before it stops working completely.) Also my wireless goes undetected and doesn't even show it under network adapters in my control panel. I googled the problem and found out that HP is offering repairs for ironically the same problems that I have been experiencing. But of course after a call to the service center, my model # is included but unfortunatly my product number is not! So just 15 months later my laptop is on the verge of being unusable. I am so sad because other than the recent problems my laptop has been great. How sad they aren't correcting this obviously common problem with the product that they distributed.

    On another note, has anyone paid the $99.00 for the extended warranty. I am willing to [ay the extra money if I need to but don't know if it will cover the repairs that may be necessary. It's unfortunate however that HP doesn't stand behind their products! Ironic that this occured 4 months out of the warranty.

    0 Votes
  • Kc
    kcruz Jun 10, 2009

    TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN

    Please visit http://www.hplies.com

    All your questions will be answered.

    Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    nequeenan01 Jun 06, 2009

    I to have the dv 2000 with major screen problems and now its not working at all. HP told me that they extended the warranty for 1 year, which I was unaware of, and now I am 60 days out of warranty and was told "Tough Luck" pay for repairs or throw it away. What an answer. It appears that HP has been very much aware of this defect and chose not to inform their customers or issue a recall, this should be unacceptable to anyone with a defected HP product. I will continue to fight with them to fix the problems or replace my computer at NO COST. Any information about filing under the lemon law for replacement would be much appreciated. nequeenan01

    0 Votes
  • La
    lax988 Apr 14, 2009

    You can send it in for a free reapir. They will give you a hard time about it, but by god they messed up they must pay! A friend of mine's dv 2000's screen went blank and they replaced the motherboard (main issue to most of the graphics/screen/booting/slowness issues) and it worked until just recently, she is now filing the lemon law for a) a replacement or b) a new laptop.

    0 Votes
  • Is
    isucksmallcock Mar 20, 2009

    yall kinda suk no one said anythin about how to get it fixed and hp dont give a dam screw u all mwuhahahah lol

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alex2020 Mar 07, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    oh sorry for double posting, but if your smart you'll put vista in the bin and get a nice clean version of xp on there, cuts down the work of all the components and also heat, and vista is rubbish and unless you have a good dual core or a quad core with loads of ram, vista will never be any good.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alex2020 Mar 07, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi there, I have the dv2224ea laptop and have already had my motherboard replaced. I also had heat issues when doing anything really but I found a very useful guide which took my processor down from 73 degrees under load to 55 - 58 under load: http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=235824

    this guide tells you how to undervolt your CPU and when doing general tasks - with the exception of the GPU which is still pretty hot - every component stays under 50 degrees.

    If you want to you can right click anywhere on the desktop and go into your nVidia powermizer settings and take the pointer to maximum power savings and that'll take at most ten degress of your GPU and also 10 FPS off of Call of Duty 4 in my case, making it completely unplayable, but if your not that bothered about playing games turn it right down.

    with both of these suggestions your battery life should shoot up as well but my battery is dead so I can't really tell you how much your battery life increases.

    and also clean the dust out of your laptop every 3-6 months, if you look around that forum link I gave you, they tell you how to clean out your laptop

    anyway good luck with all your laptops!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bitch Feb 10, 2009

    I have owned mine for over 2 years. It has always been trouble, so much so that I run it with minimal programs installed. It still heats up unbearably. My DVDs begin to run, and then because of the heat it causes problems and they stop working.
    I had to get the motherboard replaced once (when it was in warranty), and since then it has worked. But I have to treat it like a gentle flower. I even turn on the AC and use a cooling pad for it!

    ---###

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ravi Feb 08, 2009

    I have had two of the dv 2000 series laptop _BOTH_ of them displaying the same symptoms. The laptop boots up, I can hear the cd rom, I can hear the disk sound and the fan, I can see the lights but the freaking screen is blank, _BLLLLLLLAAAAAAAAAAAAANK_. And I was told the same thing when I called HP, in short what they meant to say was "Dude you are [email protected]#$D". All the gibberish about the model number not being the one the they have quoted on their website. I googled this and I can see that I am not alone. I am never buying an HP again. EVER. They sure do know how to make a fool out of people. I have my 5 year old desktop that I recently upgraded working like a charm, and HPs so called best laptop cant even work for a year. WHAT A SHAME. And in these tough economical times, they politely advise you to get a repair for $%400. Well I agree with "Peter Gibbons" above on his last statement. I am so frustrated cause its not one but two laptops that I had brought together being useless and HP not agreeing that they have a problem.

    GIST OF THE STORY: DO NOT BUY AN HP LAPTOP, LEST YOU WANT TO END UP LIKE ALL THE FOLKS HERE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rosntroy Feb 07, 2009

    I also have a DV2000 with the same startup issues and HP have wiped there hands of it saying that the DV2040 (aussie model) is not one of the model covered by there extened support warranty as this startup issue is a know problem. So if anyone know what the fix is i would be inetrested in knowing as curently i have just disabled all the powermangement so it doesn't shut down.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    computerguy1599 Jan 30, 2009

    I have a HP Pavillon dv2000 with black screen is anyone can help me resolve this issue please?

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    moshi moshi Nov 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Throw it out. It will save you a ton of hours in sleep and gray hairs. I wonder if the parts and resources to build our own laptops is available yet?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.