The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Harbor Touchbad information

The idiot who complained about Habor Touch didn't buy it and never owned it. The system is a great POS System!! While it is true that it is sold with a merchant account so are many other POS Systems in the US. If you don't like it don't buy it but that doesn't make it a bad system. The company behind it United Bankcard is a solid company and they offer Great Rates & Service. As an agent of United Bankcard I have the option of setting my own pricing as long as it is above cost. Also the cost for Harbor Touch is very competive and you have the option to lease it or purchase it. Despite all of the features that help you manage your business the one I like best is the service contract which allows you to cover any repairs needed for the lifetime of your business not just 5 or 10 years. So don't knock a system before you have tried it because you have no idea what you are missing.

bad information

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • Harbortouch Payments's response · Jun 18, 2012

    To those concerned about Harbortouch:

    I can't help but think how many of these posts are from competitors that are unhappy with our free POS business model. For decades now, the POS industry has existed by selling or leasing touch-screen POS Systems for tens of thousands of dollars. This resulted in absolutely enormous commissions to the sales people and merchants stuck in a VERY expensive investment.

    In January 2011, I announced the free POS initiative. Since that time period we have deployed over 11, 000 free POS systems. Those merchants, prior to that initiative, presumably would have paid tens of thousands of dollars to the traditional POS resellers and vendors. The reason those deals came to Harbortouch is because we are substantially less expensive. We give the hardware, software, support, onsite installation, onsite training free of charge. Yes, there is a service agreement of $59/month. It is really no different than the free cell phone you get when you sign a Verizon or AT&T service agreement. The difference is, you would have had to pay for service with any traditional POS reseller in ADDITION to the very expensive cost for the hardware and software. There is no denying the dramatic economic savings a business owner will realize when they sign-up with our program compared to the more traditional options. That is the driver behind our growth.

    When you realize that we have signed over 11, 000 free POS merchants in the last 18 months, you must consider that is 11, 000 lost opportunities to our traditional competitors. It is not surprising that many of them are upset about that loss of business. Especially considering the enormous commissions that are associated with the traditional lease/ purchase method of selling POS Systems. It is not surprising that many of them would come on this complaints board and write these anonymous and frankly false representations of our service. None of the complaints have any real contact information or e-mail addresses.

    Harbortouch is not a new phenomenon. I am the founder and CEO of the company and we have been in business for 13 years. We handle the credit card processing services for over 140, 000 merchants nationwide and processing in excess of 10 billion dollars a year annually. We have been named to the Inc. 500 list of fastest growing companies in America for five consecutive years. We have over 300 employees, 24x7 technical support and nationwide onsite service. Since we have launched our free POS initiative in the beginning of 2011, we have deployed over 11, 000 touch-screen POS systems. We have numerous business, media and professional accolades. We are not a start-up that just threw together this crazy idea of free POS systems and then failed to stand behind it. The program is a tremendous success and it appears our competition is not very happy about that.

    I am constantly working and always available to field e-mails personally from interested merchants. Similarly, any merchant that is not fully satisfied with our service is welcome to contact our 24x7 technical support department or e-mail me directly.

    Sincerely,

    Jared Isaacman
    [email protected]
    CEO

Responses

  • Ja
    Jaehee Feb 26, 2010

    Whoever wrote the good report on the Harbortouch pos system is bias and false. Our retail stores had soooo many problems with it, and can't trust therir technical spport to call back in timely manner. I regrate getting involved with this company and strongly recomend look into elsewhere.
    I am currently trying to work out the differences and hope that things go well. Please see complains on Better Business report. The technicians has to RESEARCH before can solve th
    a minor problems while taking on days before it's fixed. The system is inferior for example, to print the namee of your business on the receipt showing the adress of your location has to be all same
    font size. If you want bigger lettering for you business name it is conceiderated costumized and will take more time and money so you better accept the way it is! and ofcourse they have to research it.

    I am hoping writing this so help anyone spare troble I've gone through thus far. If you need any further infomation please email at [email protected] Com
    I have 2 page list of what's wrong with Harbortouch pos system and United Bank Card merch services
    thank you
    J from WA.

    7 Votes
  • Bm
    bmcpsu Aug 04, 2010

    Harbor Touch has the worst POS system. I have one, I bought it, I have been using it in my restaurant for over two years, unfortunetly. Their customer service is the worst. They claim to have 24 hour tech support which is bull****. If I ever get through to tech support, it's a tech who is at home taking calls. The system itself always crashes, freezes, and is constantly deleting credit card transactions. I am losing more money than I even know about because this system is so screwed up. If you would like to hear more just email me, I would be happy to discourage anyone from using this company. [email protected]

    8 Votes
  • Ni
    nish24 Feb 03, 2011

    Its very helpful to know, not to purchase Harbor Touch - i received a fax from harbor touch "Now available for the first time: * Free POS System Equipment For Businesses". Good thing, i thought of check for reviews online before i made the purchase.
    Although this is helpful, i wonder if anyone has found a POS system that they would recommend? i have been wanting to install something for my parents in their retails store, which would be easy to use.

    7 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael_Orange Feb 14, 2011

    Ex-employee statement:
    I worked for Harbortouch starting in 2009 and leaving for a closer job to my home as my family depended on it. I want to let the world know what happens inside the Harbortouch Co. and shed some insight. Harbortouch is a POS (point of sale) terminal and processing company. They have over 1000 customers nation wide. Makes you wonder why there are so few complaints per how many customers they have. When I worked for them I started as a Tech Support Rep and moved into the Technical Supervisor position. Most complaints came from hold times, or a clear lack of understanding of the product. Yes this is a computer, you need to read the documents associated with it to understand it. On top of that the reps are instructed to give as many trainings to make you understand the product and use it to its full capabilities. I myself have given customers 7-10 trainings on the same subject matter. Harbortouch is truly a customer oriented company. If you have any questions please email me at michaelcorange(at)yahoo.com. I am not bias in telling you things that aren't true. I have no benefit from lying. I don't work for Harbortouch anymore and will be happy to tell you the exact truth or give you some advise if you need.
    Regards,
    Michael Orange

    -5 Votes
  • Jj
    JJMoran Mar 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had the Harbortouch system installed and I LOVE it. I am not up to speed on all the "bells and whistles" yet, but I have never had a problem getting through to tech support...I usually do the online chat support. I especially like the fact that I can log in from home to do paperwork for the stores. I think it's a great system and have recommended it to several business owners in my area.

    -7 Votes
  • Pi
    Pizzaguy1989 Mar 22, 2011

    Listen I own a restaurant in Houston Tx and the only POS system I would recommend is Revention point of sale. The free marketing module and 49.00 a month online ordering are cheap and efficient ways to drive my business on my slow days. I can check my business stats from gross sales to nets sale how many coupons have been used to what i am selling and how much of it I have sold that day. oh and i can do this from my Iphone. They have true 27/7/356 support I will call at 1:00am and get stuff fixed because a live tech will answer the phone . I suggest you try it [protected] is there # oh and support is the first option not second or third. Any time any day they will answer. They use the most up to date technology and are constantly improving, and they make changes based on there customers suggestions they are really on the owners side. They the best security features and easy order entry its fast easy to learn and has reduced my training cost by at 80% (real number). But it does not really mater what i say go on there web site www.Revention.com and see for yourself. or call the number given earlier and press 2 to talk to a sales rep they will answer all questions and give quotes and demos on the spot no more owners having to work around the sales guys schedule. They are a smart bunch of people who get it.

    -5 Votes
  • Jj
    JJMoran Mar 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    LOL..I switched from Revention TO Harbortouch...The "tech support" could not even tell me how to edit staff tip reporting. When I wanted to change an item category I had to wait 3 days for them to call back...Then he still could not tell me how to do what I wanted to do. I like the Harbortouch system, I can log in remotely and edit, update change and get reports...I have had Revention, Digital Dining and Aloha. I found Harbortouch the most user friendly to use the the tech support very helpful. The best part was the system was free and I only pay for monthly tech support and maintenance/replacement. I own two restaurants, one in Galveston and one in Austin, and I can oversee both in Houston where I live. Everyone has their preference...I like these folks. Their website is harbortouchtechnologies.com

    -2 Votes
  • Jj
    JJWall May 10, 2011

    It took me thirty seconds to find out the guy promoting Harbortouch still works for them. My recommendation to him would be not to pretend you are unbiased in a forum then give forum members the resources to check. Maybe you bank on the fact that the visitors will not verify your story as they obviously had not done prior to purchasing your software. Harbortouch cost of ownership long term is much more than a traditional POS and you are locked into processing with their company and rates. Who would buy a scaled down Dinnerware program instead of just buying Dinnerware? Yeah I know... Dinnerware isn't much better. Just saying...

    5 Votes
  • Co
    Complainer85 Jul 07, 2011

    Everybody on this forum just sound fake, and all of you sound like reps of the companies you speak of disguised as customers, just to let you know i actually am seriously looking for a pos systems for my stores, and after reading this forum i have eliminated every company mentioned in this forum from my list of prospects.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    justnormal Aug 30, 2011

    So let's just review: The original complaint was that UBC / Harbortouch was unresponsive an unprofessional. Then we see the first retort, wherein a member of the Harbortouch team calls the poster an idiot. Hmmm. Maybe there is something to theunprofessional. Then we find a second poster stating that Harbortouch is perfect, but it turns out that it is a current employee, hiding their identity.

    I have my own issues with Harbortouch. I believe that they purposefully mislead potential buyers. i believe that they make claims that they cannot keep. And I definitely think that their support is atrocious. That is why I started looking online. And I have found very few customers ( real customers) who think that the system works as advertised, and is as affordable as advertised. We did a comparison. After completing the 5 year term of our agreement, we will have paid over 4 times the cost of the system, if we bought from another vendor. That is no typo. 4 times more!!! Needless to say, we opted against signing. Everyone should look at the credit card rates, before signing. Then, prepare to be a computer expert. Because you will be the only one who touches your Harbortouch system.

    5 Votes
  • Bi
    bills2011 Oct 01, 2011

    All I have to say is that person who complained about tech support must of had a wrong number. I got my Harbortouch system about 3 months ago and it is simple to use. There are instructional videos on how to do k=just about anything. Besides the training from the Harbortouch staff was great. Like I said its an easy to use system. Maybe the problem the user has had is himself. I also blame Harbortouch for selling to a ###...

    -4 Votes
  • Th
    TheAdvisor123 Oct 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WOW: The problem is from the top down
    “Why would a merchant opt for a standard credit card terminal when they can receive a full-featured, touch-screen POS system for free?” states UBC CEO, Jared Isaacman. “Comparable POS systems sell for thousands of dollars”, he adds.

    -1 Votes
  • Ms
    MSLexpert Oct 18, 2011

    Nothing in life is free, you pay for it one way or another. If you really beleive you are getting a terminal or a POS free, I have some land for sale with a better return.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    TheAdvisor123 Oct 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Straight from the Harbortouch Contract: They can raise the fee as they like:
    Paragraph 4.3 Adjustments: Harbortouch may adjust the monthly service charges in Exhibit A upon thirty (30) days written notice in accordance with the provisions of Section 10.6 hereof.

    Straight from the Harbortouch Contract: 60 exact days ot you have a NINE (9) year contract!!!
    Paragraph 7. Term: This Agreement shall become effective as of the date accepted and signed by Harbortouch and shall continue for an initial term of five (5) years from the Commencement Date (“Initial Term”), unless earlier terminated pursuant to this section. This Agreement shall auto renew for a period of four (4) at the end of any term unless the terminating party provides sixty (60) days' prior written notice to the non-terminating party in accordance with the provisions of 10.6 hereof of its intent to terminate the Agreement prior to the end of the then current term.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    Curtis Stevens Nov 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Let me address some of the issues and concerns if I may. Harbortouch is owned by United Bank Card. Harbortouch does not have an inside sales team, you must sign up through one of their agents/ISOs. If a merchant feels they were mislead or lied to, it is because of the agent or ISO involved since they are the ones that "sold" it to them, not Harbortouch. Just like every company and industry, there are great agents as well as rouge. In case you are wondering, I am an agent for them and have numerous clients that are happy with their systems, but then my whole lively hood relies on my ethics and how I do business. Just like an agent for AllState or State farm, you want a good agent that will be there for you in case the main company slips up, that's their job. No company is perfect and that is when you need an agent to take care of you.

    When UBC launched the whole free POS system in February 2011, they went from selling under 100 systems (sold, not free) to over 800 stations a month overnight. With this kind of overnight growth, it created some severe growing pains for a few months. Let's just say those few months were not fun! :) Everything is great now and has been for months.

    When it comes to the software, they have retail & hospitality. Like every POS, the software doesn't meet everyone's need. I always tell my clients to watch the software videos and ask me any questions to make sure the software meets their needs. Nothing else matters if the software doesn't meet your needs.

    The response about it not being free, that claim is made with this in mind. If you go buy a Micros, Aloha or Digital Dining for example, you must not only purchase the system but pay some kind of monthly and/or yearly service agreement, which may or may not include tech support and/or limited hardware warranty. They are saying when you compare everything, they don't charge for the POS and just the service agreement, which includes lifetime warranty & support. In the hospitality environment, 5 years for a computer without any failures can be a LONG time. Just think of how long you keep your own personal computers and that’s not being in a harsh restaurant environment!

    In response to the contract, yes, it is a 5 year term. The auto renewal is just that. A merchant can cancel before hand, no big deal. I'm even sure Harbortouch will notify the merchant beforehand. They can cancel and send the equipment back at that time or continue on, which at that point, they will be getting a new system eventually, hence why it renews for 4 years as they are making their investment all over again. When it comes to the price increase with 30 days notice, the company must protect itself from unforeseeable circumstances. Since UBC is responsible for all the hardware and the operation of that unit, they cannot control future costs of equipment & such. Just like any business, it doesn’t make smart business to use that clause for bad but only when ultimately necessary. Plus, look at all credit card processing agreements, all processors reserve that same right as they don’t control their cost, Interchange which is set by V/MC.

    Feel free to contact me for any more info at sshost at gmail.

    1 Votes
  • Th
    TheAdvisor123 Nov 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Curtis Stevens stated above, "If a merchant feels they were mislead or lied to, it is because of the agent or ISO involved since they are the ones that "sold" it to them, not Harbortouch." So, let us get this straight. The agent sells you the system, but the one you are signing a contract with is NOT RESPONSIBLE??? Imagine you go to a restaurant and the food is burned. You call over the owner and his response is, "It's not my fault, the cook is the one to blame, but here is your bill and you must pay for your burned food." How ridiculous would that sound?

    "An honest agent cannot operate under an unethical umbrella."

    Advise to "any honest" agents: Find an ethical company to work for. Don't try to justify the unethical practices of US Bank Card.
    Advise to consumer: Compare the contract from Harbortouch first with one from another POS company and then with one of your convoluted credit card contracts. Have your attorney read it.

    It was also stated by Curtis Stevens above, "all processors reserve that same right as they don’t control their cost." Well, the Harbortouch contract also refers to the monthly fee for your "free POS." Either Curtis does not know or is not being completely forward.

    Finally, the consumer remember what the banks and CC companies have done to us in the past decade. So, we will not be fooled again.

    1 Votes
  • Th
    TheAdvisor123 Nov 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Breaking News: On 11-29-2011 S&P downgraded the rating for the banks. Look for more fees coming your way. Maybe this is a reason for Harbortouch to raise your fees.

    1 Votes
  • Cu
    Curtis Stevens Nov 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TheAdvisor123,
    It sounds like you don't even have a Harbortouch POS. If not, then how can you have any opinions of United Bank Card since you haven't dealt with them. You do not deal with UBC until you sign up.

    That isn't an apples to apples comparison by any stretch. When you are buying a product or service in this nature, the provider cannot be legally responsible for what an agent promises. Merchants are responsible to do their own due diligence and read what they sign. Is UBC responsible to ensure there are not agents misrepresenting their brand? Yes, of course. When you have thousands of agents representing you, no one can be perfect on eliminating all the bad apples. I personally have hundreds of satisfied merchants with UBC. If they are as horrible as you describe, I wouldn't be able to keep all of my merchants. Plus, they have over 5, 000 POS merchants already. If the company was as horrible as you describe, there would be a lot more complaints.

    Nothing has changed with the credit card fees when it comes to the POS. I give out the same kind of pricing without a POS or before the product was even available. I am also as negotiable with or without the pos too. The POS is simply supplemental to our credit card processing. It allows us to bring value to the table that no one else can match. It is a smart business plan.

    I was shedding some light on it stating that when it comes to processing fees, processors reserve the right to increase merchants fees with a 30 days notice because there are costs involved that they do not control. Same thing with the POS. They reserve that same right. Since it comes with lifetime warranty, they cannot foresee what the future holds and what the costs will be. They can't offer the same price for 20 years, they must have the power to make changes if necessary. Obviously it would only be smart business to increase the fee when ultimately necessary.

    Banks and credit card companies (card issuers) are totally separate from our industry. None of what you have heard recently about banks or credit card companies have anything to do with credit card processors.

    Curtis

    0 Votes
  • Th
    TheAdvisor123 Nov 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Curtis:
    I agree that every business owner should do their due diligence; however, a business owner looking for a POS system has another million things on their mind and typically short of time. Knowing that and giving someone a contract to sing which is dishonest is predatory. As related to other purchases, a POS is a one-time purchase within a medium time frame. How many of the 5, 000 customers that HT claims would have singed it if they read the entire thing? By the time they realize down the line, it is too late. Then the complaints and law suits will start.

    Just the fact that Harbor Touch and its agents Spam the entire Internet with "Free POS" is dishonest. As I said before, when the attorney general comes knocking, just being an "Agent" will not suffice as an excuse. Actually being an independent agent will make one more responsible. If you are an honest agent and care about long term success, there are many other POS companies you can work for that do not lie.

    The bottom line is that Harbor Touch is owned by a bank and credit card company. A POS holds the records for all the financial records. Too much conflict of interest involved. Many of us have been somehow victims of these bank. Just look at your latest bank or CC statements.And even if we were not directly affected, as tax payers we'll have to pay for their mistakes for generations to come.

    If you want a POS, go to a POS company. If you are considering HarborTouch, just read the contract carefully and then make your decision. Take the monthly fees, plus to quarterly fees, plus any other fees over five years and see what that comes out to. Then go to another POS provider see how much a POS systems with the same warranty and service would cost you cash or financed. If you finance it, will you find a clause that will let them raise the fees at any time? Will you own the equipment at the end of the five year term?

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    Curtis Stevens Nov 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Once the merchant signs up, the "factory" team goes over all the details of the program, including the terms. They even sign a document upon installation agreeing to the 5 year term again, which is spelled out plainly. Once it is installed, the terms are then effective. So before they are legally obligated, they are made aware of the terms twice! They can even cancel it during the order process if they weren't aware of the 5 year term and do not agree.

    They are advertising it as Free as when you compare the offer to a Micros or Aloha, which charges for the equipment and then still charges the merchant a "service agreement" fee, ours is free as we only have the service agreement fee, nothing for the hardware.

    This business is very complex and it is apparent to me that you do not fully understand it. UBC is a processor. They are NOT a bank nor a credit card company, called a caller issuer, who issues out credit cards to consumers, which MUST be a bank. They do have a sponsoring bank as required for all merchant accounts. This is totally separate, they simply hold liability if UBC goes belly up on the processing side. So when it comes to this POS or UBC directly, there are NO ties to any bank or credit card company. If you were dealing with WellsFargo or Bank of America directly for example for processing, that is another story.

    if you were to buy a POS system and lease it, no your monthly fee wont change as you are leasing it. It is leased as is. With UBC's program, it comes with lifetime warrant & tech support, that comes with future obligations they must honor, ongoing costs unlike a purchase or lease. The equipment always belongs to them but they are always responsible for fixing or replacing it.

    At this point, you haven't posted any proof that you are even a merchant and not simply a competitor trying to bash another.

    -1 Votes
  • Th
    TheAdvisor123 Dec 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I attempted to purchase a two-terminal POS system from three different Harbor Touch agents.They did not know I had fully read the agreement. Every important questions I asked was replied by a lie. You can spin the matter anyway you want, but the written contract stands for itself.

    Furthermore, why would I want my CC processor to be the same as the POS provider? That is too much information. There are plenty of integrated POS systems that keep the POS and CC provider separate.

    Also, if we looked at the monthly fees simply comparable to a financed system with similar monthly fees, why would I want to have the financer of the POS the same as the POS & CC provider. If I fall behind on payments, HarborTouch as the POS provider will stop servicing me. If I finance my POS and keep it separate, then if I fall behind the POS provider will keep servicing me to help me out of my troubles instead of HT's practice of contributing to further dig the problems deeper.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Giddy up Dec 31, 2011

    If Harbortouch is not the POS system to go with, then what recommendations of "better" systems to go with? Any help will be greatly appreciated as I am looking to start up a retail business in the very near future.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    POSpecialist Jan 08, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm a POS dealer and I just signed up as a Harbortouch agent. I have been in the POS business since 2007 offering Aldelo For Restaurants software installed in Posiflex touchscreen units. Prior to 2007 I owned two restaurants in NYC where I learned the value of having a system. My combined technical and restaurateur background experience has allowed me to provide adequate training and support.
    In essence, if you are shopping for a system keep in mind cost and support as deciding factors. When I did my research on POS systems prior to getting into the industry I realized there are hundreds of software that achieve similar results. It's like buying a car, they will all get you from point A to point B, but you have different models, from Chevrolet to Mercedes. The question is which one do you want to drive and which one can you afford? Most importantly who is going to answer your phone call on a busy Friday evening when the system crashes. Yes, Chevy, Lexus, Mercedes they all breakdown at any given point, no matter which system you choose at any given point it will crash, especially if its a Microsoft based system (most common operating system).
    As a POS dealer and systems integrator we now offer two POS (cars) models, Aldelo for Restaurants, and now Harbortouch. An average one station Aldelo system with installation, configuration, and training the average cost is $4500 with two year equipment warranty and one year Aldelo software support included. Every additional year support cost is $495. Of course if you need multiple stations the average per station cost is lower, i.e 2-station bundle $8500, 3-station bundle $11, 500 not including a back office dedicated server which adds to the quote $1750. These prices are the average, of course there are cheaper systems out there but try calling their support number and see if they pick up, and of course you have the Micros and Aloha systems which are $2000 more per system, they consider themselves the "Ferrari" of the industry.
    Now you have a credit card processor who is basically laying out the equipment at cost including 24x7 support. I did the math for 3 stations @ a monthly fee of $59 plus $7 for remote printer and multiply it by 60 months, plus quarterly fees of $177 and it still doesn't add up to the $11, 500 an average system would have cost, and it doesn't include lifetime support.
    The bottom line and the way i see it, this is a service oriented business and the systems are just tools that play a key role in the daily operations of the business, you still need to obtain credit card processing services regardless, which UBC offers to match and beat the rates you are paying with you other processor, so their business interest is the processing and in turn they are giving out the equipment at cost in a term of five years. And for those owners who are afraid of committing to long term contracts or say "I don't know if we will still be open in five years" ... don't waste your time, money and energy going into business in the first place.
    If you need help with understanding a POS feel free to contact me frankLmedina at me dot com.

    0 Votes
  • So
    Solar Cooker Jan 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Because of my experiences with Harbortouch I will not recommend them to anyone who is looking for a business POS.

    A sour experience (many) will cause much negative publicity and reaction that will be hard for this company to overcome.

    If only they were open to working with clients that have troubles rather than "sticking it to them"

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    Curtis Stevens Jan 20, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Solar Cooker - contact your agent, have them fix it for you, I'm sure they will unless you signed up under an agent that doesn't care but most do. If that doesn't work, email Harbortouch technical support department. The emails are monitored by the managers. Service at harbortouch dot com. Just explain what you are not happy with in a positive tone and I'm sure they will take care of it.

    Curtis

    1 Votes
  • An
    Anab123 Feb 15, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Geeesssss.. with all this back and forth of one POS system over the other . Can someone just give me a true honest advise of what POS system to buy for a restaurant? Thank you!! Would have never tought looking into a POS system would be this difficult!!

    0 Votes
  • Us
    U.S.A. Apr 24, 2012

    I guess what the real problem is that a lot of complaints are only due to the technology being new or when it was new. I am an ISO for a processing company. People complain about that too. The world is big. Every person can not be satisfied. All you can do is pray for the best. ANAB you are looking for a POS system. I'm in the CCP business, I wish I could help you. I'm converting myself to POS and would like to help after given my employment. POS and CCP have been corrupt for years. There will be a change. Hold on to your seat and let the smoke clear. The government is in involved now and if you know anything about politics, its bureaucracy. Things are about to change because this industry is effecting the country and the way we earn our money. I suggest instead of trying to find the best processor you should be trying to find one you can afford. Its about money right now and you being a business owner you should focus on that because every processor has flaws. This market is still unrestricted.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kevmad May 06, 2012

    In 17years of working for the hospitality business I can tell you that both Aloha and Micros are the cream of the crop. Their support teams, technical assistance and operating systems are the best in the industry. CASE CLOSED

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joebaggio May 15, 2012

    I did get myself in big big trouble by getting harbortouch POS. This is the worst POS ever, this is why they try to trick you by telling you it is free you just pay $59.99 that does cover equipment and support, but that is all lies. They charge $85/month for 60 months for just one station which $5100 and they charge you another $59.99 every three months for support for life, which is another $1200 for 5 years.I did trust the independent sales guy that trick me and made you sign a 5 year contract for the POS and three year for the credit card processing. Don't do it, you will be in trouble, their software is just going to get you in troubles, it's not good period.I am going to ship it back, and I know they don't want to take it back, it is a done deal for them. They want me to pay $6300 even after I send back the equipment that I tried for only one month.
    Stay away from this piece of garbage called harbortouch pos system.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alex Scholnich May 16, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Joe, how come you're paying 85/mo. when everyone else is paying 59 ? How does someone trick you into signing an agreement that's right in front of you ?

    1 Votes
  • Al
    ALGraham Jun 02, 2012

    UBC and Harbor Touch are extortionists! They rob you blind. Although I have gotten out of my contract (paid in full) and return the equipment they are still trying to bill me by taking money out of my business account which I had to close because of them. They never leave you alone. It is like working with the MOB they keep coming after you once you are in the family. A horrible company to do business with and plan to report them to the Attorney General and anyone who will investigate these shysters. UBC you are guilty by association so you can't escape responsibility. When I opened the account with you and it switched to Harbor Touch as far as I am concerned you are equally to blame. Stay as far away from these horrible companies.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    JeReMy11 Jul 24, 2012

    My recommendation for Harbortouch is talk to someone you know that has it. Ask your sales agent to put you in touch with one of his current merchants. (My agent put me in contact with a few of his merchants who gave my agent high recommendations and who loved the POS System)

    Honestly, who better to ask and see how the sales agent is and his programs he offers than one of their clients?
    If the internet wasn’t full with so many bogus reviews and other companies trying to bash others I wouldn’t have to personally speak with a Harbortouch pos merchant.
    If you have any questions about my process just ask

    Jeremy12095 –at- yahoo dot com

    -1 Votes
  • Je
    JeReMy11 Jul 24, 2012

    That’s the problem with online reviews. Everyone and their mother has a comment without even dealing with the product. I am thankful the CEO has decided to set people straight. People the Free POS System is a great deal! In this day and age everyone has to watch where they spend their money. Who has $5k upfront to buy a machine? If you don’t plan on being in business in the next 5 years well then guess what? You don’t need a POS System! Deal with it!


    This is the problem with internet reviews, it’s mostly competitors or uninformed people who write senseless reviews whom have no clue about the product. Some guys like the big name companies and are willing to pay several thousand dollars for a system. Well i’m not one of those guys! The Harbortouch POS System does everything I need, they trained me remotely, and it’s been working great for almost a year now. My sales agent was very informative, very honest and he even paid for my pin pad. I have had to already call tech support but it was because during training I didn’t ask how to set up my system to do verified refunds. Other than that everything seems to be working well, my processing rates are better than what I was paying before with another processor. The agent also reprogrammed my existing machine so I can have a “dialup backup” so in the event my internet goes out I can still accept credit card payments. In the sticks of upstate ny the internet going out is kind of a normal thing, once in a while. I don’t want to be able to not accept credit cards so the “dialup backup” was a smart recommendation by the sales agent.

    Jeremy12095 -at- yahoo dot com

    0 Votes
  • Au
    Austininite Jul 25, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am about to try out Harbortouch POS in our second location. Our first restaurant in Austin we bought the system. Our fee for monthly maintenance is about $75 less than what Harbortouch is charging us to lease everything with included service. Obviously that does not include the fact that I am not writing a check for around $12, 000 for a three screen system. I will let everyone know how it goes by checking in monthly and posting my reviews of the company's product and service.

    0 Votes
  • Up
    UpsetwHarbortouch Oct 28, 2012

    Hidden Fees, Hidden Cancellation Charges, Hidden contract agreements that were never signed by my company. Complete fraud, once know as united Bank Card, and many other names I am sure. These guys need to have there house burned down, it is built on lies and hurting small businesses all across america.

    1 Votes
  • La
    Labels707 Nov 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am at the end of my rope! I am a brand new customer with harbor touch and have been completely mis led!!! No one will help me and less than a month ago I signed a 5 year contract! My rep assured me that harbor touch would work for me & my consignment shop! So not true. There are so many extra steps to make it work, I can't put customers store credit in and no one will call me back after promising too. I thought I had a 30 day trial to see if it would work for us and all they say to me is it not in your contract! I'm stuck and can't use it for my business & can't afford to end the contract! What can I do everyone says the same thing to me, talk to tech support!! Argh I'm so frustrated...

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    Curtis Stevens Dec 03, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Labels707 - call your agent as that is their job to ensure you are happy. Email service at harbortouch dot com and request that they schedule a training session with you. Their new retail software works great for consignment, you simply need to know how to operate it.

    Curtis Stevens

    1 Votes
  • Cu
    Curtis Stevens Dec 03, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    UpsetwHarbortouch - every POS system is sold by an independent agent, not the corporate office. If you were told something false by the agent, then that is on them, you can't blame Harbortouch. The best thing they can do is take corrective action on those bad agents.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    Pizza Girl Dec 04, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have now owned 2 harbortouch systems. The first one, they openly admitted to having sold us the wrong program. The second has great potential but without the design capacity to make it functional. Because of our joining with Harbortouch, we have gone from 3 locations to 1. Don't do it. Run while you can. They talk smoothly and give great face service, but when it comes down to it- there is nothing behind the curtain. I hear some posting online saying it is competitors who are posting negative reviews- I am not a competitor. They say how can they be bad when they have sold so many. Because the other small businesses like myself fell for the match your credit card processing and you get this low cost per month. We thought it was a great value. They even went to the International Pizza Convention- of which I have also emailed to beg them not to welcome them back. A company like this who damages the small businesses in our country who are fighting just to stay afloat has No business being in business.
    PLEASE take my warning & don't use this system.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    Pizza Girl Dec 04, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After reading these reviews, I wish I had read them Before I bought Harbortouch!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.