The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Great Clipsemployment

This is a employment complaint and a heads up for new and old stylist and barbers what to expect because when you walk away you personally do not feel good about youself...I am going to start with the good. The health benefits are the regular 20/80 not a supplement and they offer other benefits life insurance, different disability insurance and students just out of school Great Clips will pay 50% of your tuition. You have to work full-time to get these benefits anywhere from 34-32 hours and it does depend on the franchise owners, they keep two people on duty at all times but it is sosososo much better to have two stylist not a stylist and receptionist. Now I am going to start with the bad, brace yourself this is ugly, when it starts happening to you it is a living nightmare.
1. When you walk in there are eight stations or more for the stylist. what upper Management wants is for each stylist to move as close to the front as possable. That means you never have your own station. You have to pack up each shift. I have seen stylist and barbers leave their license but that is not a good idea. It would be too easy if a stylist forgets their license to use the license that is not theirs instead. If State Board came in and found something the other stylist was doing wrong it would be against you not them. That would be fine mess to fix.
2. Your schedule chages each week and I have had work six days straight just to get 36 hours.
3. If it is slow and there is more than three people some one gets sent home, less hours and if you have clients or starting to get request this what makes regulars, illregular.
4.The franchise owners and the human relations department do not have enough control over each employees working hours and that includes the managers. There is no structure, no- when you are hired you are to work a set such and such hours. If the Managers need more hours, the employees get less hours. when you are hired and not working enough hours the Managers can hire more people and that gives you even less hours.
5. When you start you are sent to hair cutting classes and this is the basic hair cutting class that you are taught in the freshman class in beautician school. If you stop working for Great Clips before three months you will be charged a 100.00 fee and it will be taken out of your next check. You are not taught how your average at the end of the day is 17 min. or less. and this is something that is enforced by Great Clips. If you don't meet it your working hours become less, or get written up and you have to sighn a contract saying by such and such date you will meet the 17 min or less for the end of the shift. Longer hair take longer 20 min or more but you make it up with the short cuts taking less time. When I got written up and sighned a contract, I felt total frustration, I am going to be doing crappy cuts. Then I started listening to the radio it really relaxed me and by the fourth song I would start wrapping things up and it would keep each cut under 17 mins.
6.When you are hired at 9.00 an hour and you get 80 hours after taxes your check will be about 580.00 . 70 hour is about 460.00 anything less how in all that is human does Grat Clips expect you pay your bills, get a loan, make a deceint living.
7. If the average turn over for employees at Great Clips is high each day, week, month and year and then what I have stated is the heart of the reason.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Responses

  • Sa
    salveieenea Mar 21, 2017

    I WILL tell you I worked there and I can tell you what to expect, , first you have 14 min to do a cut style and finish. sometimes they enforce it and sometimes they don't, that depends on if they want to or not. next... if you do not sell a product or products in a certain time frame like weekly or daily they take money out of your check at first its 5 $ then 10 dollars then 15 its what ever they want to do, they said it was to motivate you to sell.& at one store they have a camera on you at all times & record you while you are working at your station and everyone else's station as well. they write you up for being to fast, they write you up for being to slow, they just plain pick on you so you will quit, in my case, I was doing more production per hour than any other female stylist and they went to the manager and complained and said it was not fair that I was making more money than them &so long story short, the manager told me I had to lower my hourly production, I asked her if there had been any complaints she said no .asked her why, she said just do it and if you don't you can look for another job, I asked her how did everyone of the stylist even know what my production was, because that information is kept in your file and should be confidential, well long story short the manager was letting the other women go threw your file in the office, which is so wrong its not even funny. there are a lot of crazy stories about great clips you would not believe unless other wise work there yourself to see first hand, but I warn you, they also don't want to keep a stylist for any length of time because they don't want you to get a clientele because if you were to leave there, they don't want people to follow you if you go to work somewhere else. I think if a person likes the way you do there hair, it should be up to them who cuts their hair . however I think the women was just jealous that I had more requests than they did & they did not like that, which is really a shame that they are that way, they should focus on there job and there clients not be so catty and unprofessional. And the list goes on and on about these great clips stores, I like to think of them as fast-food hair shops with no professionalism, and a good place for mental torcher...

    -1 Votes
  • Us
    user1639640 Feb 20, 2017

    Great Clips is a F joke!! I have no health ins because of their incompetent HR department. Was recently in a car accident and now cant see any of my Drs because of them. I want to [censored] bc if the pain im in. I hope the salon blows up

    1 Votes
  • Co
    COMPLAINTS AND ANGER Aug 23, 2016

    Obviously if my sons tail was pulled back then it shouldn't be touched. In the first place she should have asked if i wanted the tail cut. She made me mad i should have got his cut for free. She didn't even apologize, i could tell she was tired.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Great Clips awful Jul 21, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    There is a stylist "chandral" whom lacks any respect and customer service. She loudly talks about her stalking boyfriend, her partying, and outwardly speaks of how she hates cutting hair, "while she's cutting hair!" i've watched her talk and treat customers rudely every time i've been in. She even gave a peace sign sideways to an elderly woman after the customer requested a specific hair stylist. On top of her unprofessional behavior, she cuts hair terribly!! She is the reason i nor my family will ever go there again.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karma will get you Jan 05, 2016

    I just called to get my schedule and was told that I am not on the schedule at all. I have worked for great clips for almost 3 yrs. I was an exemplary stylist. My numbers proved it. Nobody has ever beat me in any sales contest ever, and my clientele was ridiculous. People HATED great clips but only came in to see me for a great cut, and my company.
    Now, in almost 3 yrs, I have literally called in exactly 2 times!!! I have worked for great clips and gave them everything I had. I lost out on family time, missed games and many nights of not tucking my kids in.
    I truly thought that I'd retire with them or own my own place.
    I can't say great clips as a company is bad. It's the franchisees!! There are no set rules to follow as far as human resources go. What I mean is, the great clips hr department gives the franchisees templates and direction on how to set there own guidelines. It's the greedy franchisees who work you to death and tell you what you want to hear just to keep you working. This while under 17 min haircut rule is bull. Some if my cuts were 30-35 mins long and I didn't care. I sold products and had my guests coming back. Our wait time would be 106 mins with 3-5 stylists on and the franchisees would walk and in see that they were ALL waiting for me!!! It got to be a problem with jealousy.
    Long story short, I have seen my franchisees open more salons based on my success and watched ppl steal, slack, cheat hours, check stylists in whom were not there and literally cut ppl and not be reprimanded.
    I have done nothing but try to improve the salon and have totally lost respect for them. I just called off due to an emergency situation at home and was told I no longer work there. WTF!!!
    I understand that they are an at will salon but seeing that I no longer am on the schedule and they didn't even tell me, shouldn't I have been notified or can I seek unemployment?
    To the great clips on the blvd in Tonawanda NY franchisees, I'm sure your intentions were good when you started 4 yrs ago but you really turned into horrible, greedy, unappreaciative, disrespectful people.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dontblazy Aug 13, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been working for Great Clips almost 6 yrs. There is room for advancement if you do your job. I love this company and the owners I've worked for have been great.

    0 Votes
  • Mp
    M Pacella Mar 28, 2014

    I have been taking my 8 year old son to great clips for several months now and have been very happy, he has always walked out with a very good haircut. Cute little boy cut, a little longer on top parted to the side, short sides and back. My husband started going as well. He gets a very short "buzzed'" military cut, because he is a military vet. My son is named after my husband... hence my complaint. Every single time I enter the salon I have to make sure that they have the correct person (my son not my husband). Well, my husband brought my son to get his haircut tonight and the stylist confirmed to my husband that they had the 8 year old profile... My husband turned around to hang up coats and when he looked back she had buzzed my sons hair to his scalp! Too late to do anything! They showed my husband both profiles and they were identical. Someone had entered my husbands last haircut into my son's profile. Now I have a very upset little boy who will not take off a hat and is afraid to go to school on Monday! I tell him constantly how good he looks. Little does he know but I am very upset myself, because he makes his first communion in 4 weeks with a picture session in 2. My son has to have these pictures taken with a haircut that is beyond buzzed, he is almost bald!! This is so unacceptable! If the girl who cut his hair truly was a stylist she would have recognized that the profile was clearly wrong. My sons hair was long and thick and clearly never cut to the scalp anytime in the recent past! She could have questioned my husband and If they were still unsure we could have come back another time. Or just given him a trim by just following the cut he already had rather than follow a "profile"! I am not sure what I am looking for in writing this, because I am not a person that makes it a habit in writing complaints about people. I guess I just want someone to know and feel my frustration. There is really nothing anyone can do to make my son's hair grow back. We are just going to have to be the best parents that we can be to make him feel confident in himself.

    0 Votes
  • Pj
    PJcil121 Jul 22, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello,
    I have a complaint to file for my recent visit to Great Clips at 5050 State Highway 303 Ne 50, Bremerton, WA 98311
    Here is their number, [protected]

    When I came back today my skin started to Break out at the back of my scalp, and it's only been 13 hours since my visit...
    I do not think that they have sanitized the equipment and/or the cutting blades very well since that I am now breaking out, with all sorts of pimples and white heads on my scalp...

    0 Votes
  • Td
    tdizz Nov 27, 2012

    I just want to learn how to be consistant with my hair cuts and perfect them as well, I will make sure that I utilize it as a stepping stone as well. We have to use them to upgrade our skill and speed so when its time to do booth rent it'll be good.

    0 Votes
  • So
    So Serious Nov 02, 2012

    lol back already. I went on the aforementioned twitter account and it is no better. Alot of go get em tiger, way to go, watch out now comments and nuts proclaiming themselves mayor of Great Clips rotflmao *holding my sides* but wait I take that back. These mayor ppl probably have to do these things, I mean like...jedi mind trick themselves in this way and do high kicks and cartwheels to get through the agony the rest of us write of. Big btw if you are thinking of tweeting something juicy between the rainbow and sunshine ### do not bother. The account must be heavily heavily filtered monitored whatever because everybody sounds like what an older stylist told me like they are on a quaalude lol or however u spell that hahaha. Even the, look at my hair tweets by "customers" I suspect are written by corporate staffers. And in reply they get a way to go champ great cut...omg what is real with this organization? Later fellow stylist...

    0 Votes
  • So
    So Serious Nov 02, 2012

    lol back already I went to Great Clips twitter account and its no better. Its all looking good there, way to go buddy, go get em tiger, and nuts proclaiming themselves mayor of Great Clips rotflmao *holding my sides* dry pc bullcrap nothing!!! Wait the mayor thing is probably what they have to do to get along sort of jedi mind trick themselves to stave off the agony so I am not going to rain on their parade. But anyway nothing real about it... the look at my hair tweets from "customers" is most likely written by corporate staffers...omg whats real people??? Don't bother to get a juicy tweet in between the rainbows and sunshine ### the account must be heavily heavily filtered lol. Later fellow stylist...

    0 Votes
  • So
    So Serious Nov 02, 2012

    The people who can't see why this is a terrible, dead end, over worked and under paid, wear a million hats but only get paid for wearing one place to work have their heads in the sand and up couple other places I am not going to mention. Great Clips is not a salon its a hamburger joint or should be. Of course it depends on who you work for I worked for someone long ago that made work tolerable. But I have been working at a few and I know people who float all around my area and surrouding towns. And working for somebody that is not a lunatic is so rare...When you work for people who are most likely not hairstylist (most owners are not stylist, this is a stable money making venture for them, and the salons are self run, they come in collect the money off of your blood swear and tears literally, and dont give a sh*t), they will never understand EVER. If you ever go on their site look for honest answers and a place to vent log off shut your computer off and have a drink or two. It doesn't exsit. This is the only place I have found for stylist to honestly vent. If you look on GC's stylist "blog", it has a section from August about dealing with kids that have the "wiggles" aka screaming and kicking kids who don't give two craps about your tickle machine, you, or whats more your back and neck and shoulders that hurt for days later while they go live their life. Thank goodness most of the kids I do are sweeties and listen but there are always the few. And some parents that want u to risk life and limb for yourself and their kid for what. And it kills me alot of the parents that have attutiudes like that go to other "chic" salons for themselves lol. I just find everything I read from Great Clips so condesending it sends a chill up my aching back. I am glad I found this board I will be back very soon.

    0 Votes
  • P
    ;)p Oct 27, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You guys must be doing something wrong: I've been w/ great clips on & off for 10 years. I did work for a fortune 500 company but when the recession hit and they down sized great clips is there for me. I like working part time & making full time cash!
    I only want 20 hours a week and I'm specific about my schedule and get it!!
    I make on a slow day $15 an hour all the way to $30.
    You guys need to learn to sell products and work the system
    I think it's a pretty sweet deal
    I do color in my home salon on the side and get lots of cash! Learn your systems & quit complaining :) just sayin'

    0 Votes
  • Gc
    GC Customer Service Aug 24, 2012

    We are sorry to hear about your experience. Great Clips is a franchised company and each salon is independently owned and operated by a franchisee. We would be happy to forward your comments to the owner if you would provide the specific salon you visited and your contact info. You can do this at [email protected] Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • I had long hair with long layers, shortest layer was below my chin. I went in for a trim. She showed me with her comb that she was going to cut 1 and 1/2 inches. She complimented me on how healthy my hair felt and that i didn't need anymore than that cut. She cut over 6 inches! My hair is on my shoulders. :( :( My birthday is tomorrow, all i wanted was my hair trimmed. I am sooooo upset!!! :'( :'(

    0 Votes
  • Em
    emmbee Jul 26, 2012

    My sister works for a Great Clips in Tennessee. All the above complaints are exactly the way it is . . . NO exaggeration whatsoever. She recently came down with shingles and returned to work, while still in great pain, before her physician told her she could. Her manager told her NOT to tell anyone she had shingles! Then, the owner insisted that she write a letter explaining why her numbers were so low during one of the days she was in the recovery period. Of course, her numbers were lower than usuaI. She had the shingles for God's sake! I find that despicable.

    0 Votes
  • On
    One step from homeless Jun 13, 2012

    Great Clips is a joke. For the one on this site that up lifting GC are probably someone that have a manager position and has kiss the ### of the general manager. And as for Kasey S. stop telling these people you feel bad for there experience because you and corporate could care less. We are numbers to this company. The great clips in Virginia Beach are charging there employee a 2.00 fee for direct deposit and a visa card that they making their employee get to put their check on. But Kasey you care. When you call corporate they call back to your store and tell the GM of your complaint. In Tidewater Virginia you get 7.00 an hour. They put tips in your check so you are bring home less than 400.00 every two week. It a click to get the good shift and when you call in sick (even w/ a Dr. note) they tell you to find someone to cover your shift or you have to come in. There was a young girl (Ebony) at Edinburgh location in Chesapeake, Virginia that have a heart condition (Tetralogy fallot) and had gotten pneumonia and she was told if she couldn't find no one to cover for her she have to come in. This child came in there to work sick as a dog. She also came to work when they was short staff just a week after her baby was born. After all of this, when they got staff they fire her. The manger at Edinburgh does not pick up her phone when you trying to call her would not answer text when you trying to reach them when an emergency has arise. If you not kissing their ### then you are fire. If you do pick up shift at any of the other store then they cut your hour. but the manager will not cover the shift for any of their employee. And the Gm dont make them because they buddy. My advice to the people that have work or thinking about working for or all ready there. Get out now. You never make money there. If you are still in good health go someone else and work for them for a year, build up your clientele and go booth rent. That the way to go. Because when it all said and done, GC is in the business for you to make them rich, after all it your skills that you paid to learn and can't make enough to pay your loan back.

    1 Votes
  • Do
    DoublDelightx20 Apr 25, 2012

    Next time, it does not matter what salon you go to, tell the stylist specifically how you want the cut. Typically the stylist should ask you how you would want your child's cut before they do anything to his/her's hair. You cannot assume that people can read your mind. Just because it was pulled back does not mean you want to keep the tail.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DoublDelightx20 Apr 20, 2012

    It is definetly not a place for new stylists to start working there. I understand that they need to start somewhere to build clienteles. When I was interviewed there I had explain to the manager that I have not had any training in haircutting but was willing to learn. I had explained to the manager that I only knew couple of haircuts other than a straight cut however had no idea how to cut men's hair. She told me not to worry about it and that they will train me. When I started my training after watching people and asking questions I got comfortable. A day later the manager went on a two weeks vacation then a co-worker was out of work for awhile due to family emergency. The assistant managers were stressed out. One of the assistant managers is such a liar who will tell you one thing then tell you something different. She does not want to be called out on anything. I was told not to worry about time just do a great haircut. Of course we all will have complaints which is normal no matter where you work at from McDonald's to the corporation. I was making decent tips daily. She called the district manager and told her that she felt that I was not ready to be on the floor but was willing to work something out. I was to wait until the store manager return and train with her. I thought I was improved a lot since day one. When the store manager return I did not do any haircuts. I got bored after watching people doing haircuts. I did not really cared much for being a receptionist. Then the district manager return and told me that because I was not improving (which I disagreed but hey I guess was wrong) so she will have to let me go BUT she wanted me to be the receptionist for the weekend. She wanted me to keep in touch with them and apologize to me for hiring me in the first place. She told me that she apologize that everything were threw at me all at once but keep in touch with them. They would love for me to come back in 6months. I was upset but furious on the inside. I was civil and thank them for their time. I could not figured out why the store manager and the assistant manager didn't have the balls to tell me that. They had lost my license but few days later it had turned up. It took a week for them to give me my damn paycheck. I was not going to call them weekly to see how they were doing and re-apply in six months. However, it was not going to stopped me from applying at different salons and take more courses so I can continue to be better at my job. I was employed as a full time but was given a part time hours. They were already interviewing few more people while they was laying me off. I feel sorry for them. This one co-worker in particular alone with this assistant manager would watch me then whisper to each other. The girls were unprofessionals. They allow one co-worker to wear white strap sandal. I felt it was unfair. I was told about the dress code but not in specifics. For example, all I was told is to wear black solid pant and the shirt cannot have any logos. I did not know that I could not wear nice black jean. I could not wear tennis shoes but that did not bother me as much. I felt out of place and uncomfortabel for a little over a month. I did not trust anybody there. There was something fishy going on. I was glad that I was no longer employed by Great Clips. It was one thing to do your job but another to be working at the salon in NC.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marten Feb 23, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They advertised online check in like that is the best thing since Big Mac. Well it isn't what it is advertised to be. They say that its convenient, wrong! I checked in online and it states 10 minute wait however, when I got there the gal informed me that it would be 45 minutes wait saying that online check in really isn't what its supposed to be since they have walk in customers. Hello? Really? What's the point of offering online check in since there are no benefits. Oh well, I took my business elsewhere.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Great Clips, Inc. Feb 17, 2012

    Sorry to hear about your experience. You're more than welcome to contact our corporate office at [protected] if you have an issues that you'd like resolved.

    Kasey S.
    Great Clips

    1 Votes
  • Th
    theworldowesyounothing Jan 20, 2012

    Great Clips is a JOKE!!! I am a very talented styilst, who has been booth renting, but having small children at home didnt allow me to booth rent anymore. I decided i needed and hourly paying job. I applied for a new opening salon...it was great at first...But man it went down hill FAST!!! First off the stylists are very unproffessional and seems they hire anyone as a manager (21 yrs old just out of school) AND they allow ppl to open these franchises without a lick of experience in the industry! WHICH IS THE FIRST MISTAKE! the whole place is run like a ### show and no one knows whos doing what...its crazy! Same problems i had were already metiond, loss of hours, drama, drama, drama, and in the 8 months i was there we had 4 managers (I was there to open the salon, so the salon was ONLY 8 months old) The kicker is they coupon the ### out of every haircut! Its one thing to have to swallow ur pride and work the "fast food chain of hair salons" so to speak, but even more of a blow to ego to know you are giving a $35 cut away for a measly $6 bucks, and when the price is $12 the customers ### about it! I was like "hey, i used to charge $35 dollars for that cut where i was before...is $12 really too much??" Regardless, it is a HUGE diservice to yourself if you are fresh out of shool to work here anyway as u get NO EDUCATION besides Academy which is a joke in itself!! You basically gain no experience and cant build a clientele...SO WORK SOME PLACE ELSE AND SAVE YOURSELF THE TIME AND STRESS!!! You will just get fired for bogus reasons anyway! Like everyone else!

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kim Price Dec 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree! Great Clips is not a place to work unless you like being treat like dirt!
    Our store just got a new manager about two months ago. We were never formally introduce to her. She just came in and started making make up rules and we did not know about them till we were written up. I emailed the manager and the district manager about my concerns and wanting to understand how things were being ran now. Next thing I know they have the H.R. lady in there and both I felt was attacking me. Telling me I have an attitude. They put me on a 30 day watch and if my attitude did not change I would be terminated! I had several concerns. 1) the time we no longer take perms. We have always been told 5pm was the latest we can take a perm. The New manager books one with long hair at 6pm. After 7pm it's just the two of us. For the 1 1/2 years I have been there I never went to the bank. I mention to the manager that we were low on ones. She ask if I could go to the bank. I said did not feel comfortable. I told them that you need two people to count the drawer one after the other but your going to let one person go to the bank? No I will not go not using my own car. Said that I would get paid...again I said I'm not using my car! I ended up doing two hair cuts after this hour or so unexpected meeting. After that I went to the manager and told her either she or the other girl need to close because I quit. I'm not working for someone who says I have an attitude! This company wants to be micro manage. We ran fine for a bit without a manger. We did what needed to be done!

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Great Clips, Inc. Nov 22, 2011

    We're sorry to hear about your experience at one of our salons. All salons are independently owned and operated, so each salon owner sets his or her policies in regards to hours, benefits, etc. We take all feedback seriously and would be more than happy to speak with you at [protected].

    Kasey S.
    Great Clips

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    great clips Nov 18, 2011

    I would have to agree with the majority of the comments posted. Great Clips is an awful place to work. I have worked at the same franchise for 6 years, and never met the owner. Shows how much they really care about you. I will agree, it is easy to advance in the company. They will make anyone a manager, or assistant manager with a 50 cent or dollar raise. I felt so bad for the naive assistant manager that was getting payed a dollar less than me, and forced to clock out and do side work off the floor. So if you think about it, she gets promoted to do more work, for less money because she is missing out on tips being made. You won't get anywhere in this business unless you own your own. You would have to have a minimum of 200, 000 to open one. But corporate wont allow you to own just one, they want you to own at least five. They don't care about paying you well, they care about numbers. To them, you are a dime a dozen..

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Madhairstylist Jul 03, 2011

    P.S. You will be taken advantage of at this company. No way to plan your life outside of work, even as a part timer. I cannot wait for this economy to turn around so I can get the F out of this place.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Madhairstylist Jul 03, 2011

    I, too work for Great Clips. I agree and have experienced every single complaint written here. Favorites get weekends off, and the rest of us slave away during the least desirable hours. We have to be available 7 days a week, open to close. Our schedule gets crossed off and changed every 3-4 days. We get put "on call" with no reward/pay. They ignore doctors notes and requested days off for their benefit. In my 12 years, at several locations, I have seen nearly every employee, including managers, get ### on and completely taken advantage of. Not to mention the no breaks and 13 minute haircuts. And no floor mats at out location. Talk about a sore body! It's hard when you become friends with your co-workers because you want to help them out, yet when it's your turn to need help, eveyone is too busy to help you. I am done coming in early, staying late and coming on days off to help out.

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    mommie01 Jul 01, 2011

    recently i got treated like crap and as manager because we had a weekend sale and it was pouring out so we could not use our mascot so they told me i wasn't doing my job. i also never got paid my over time correctly. if i worked 43 hours at $10 an hour . i would get paid my 10 an hour for the first 40 and then the 3 hours overtime instead of getting 15 an hour i would get paid for 5 an hour. i was told that the 40 hours is my time so i get the 10 and then the 3 is my half so i get 5 an hour! then after 2 years. i quit and then i get a voice mail claiming i stole stuff. and im like are you kidding me!

    1 Votes
  • Ha
    Hair queen Jun 16, 2011

    The pay is garbage just like the company. Its like selling your soul to the devil. If you want to keep your health NEVER work here! Your a trained monkey, brainwashed by the owners and corporate..not worth busting your ### for $2.00haircuts!

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unknown 2 Jun 03, 2011

    the great clips in rolla missouri doesnt know how to treat there employees. my daughter is on state medicade and her case got closed because the manager angie costello took her time getting the paper work back into the medicade office. i will never work for another great clips. i was told i got fired for unprofessionalism which i was nothing but professional and now the manager and the assistant manager r not professional. i had been there almost 3 yrs and never had complaints never called in and all of a sudden i got 2 bogus complaints on me which was hear say and they took the words of the clients.

    1 Votes
  • Pi
    Pissed of Stylist May 18, 2011

    I work for Great Clips in Webster. I can say that All the women that work with us have 10+ years experiance. We almost never have a "redo". I can say that the Managment team is a joke from Owner KC, General Manager Tracy, and the Manager Patrice.

    They know stylist steal from the drawer and the continue to look the other way because of their Numbers!!!. Wrong people are giving raises and the great workers are passed by. The General Mangaer treats the 6 locations as her own stores. I'm almost pretty sure the owner has no clue that Tracy treats the employees as bad as she does, but I will also say that is his fault for not checking in with his stylist. They refuse to increase pay even after they told you you would receive a pay increase after 90 days, but then some stylist are giving 1.00 raise after only working 5 weeks at the location. I wish that someone had the guts to let KC know however none of the ladies that work here can afford to lose their job. The staff is a great staff. EVERYONE gets alone and the customers can feel that. Our customer numbers have grown (doubled since I was hired). The reason: The customers like the staff, customer service, and the hair cuts they receive. Tracy doesnt understand that. She is always adding more stylist to our staff saying the other stylist can have their hours cut because they arent being productive. It's CRAP!!! Our location starts stylist off at 9 - 9.50 depending on the stylist. I know in my heart if we could just get rid of Tracy... Our salon would be a much better place to work.

    2 Votes
  • Po
    pobarjenkins May 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    For $2.99 you couldn't have expected much better?

    0 Votes
  • Qu
    Queenmutti May 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Spied a new Great Clips in Bedford, NH while out to lunch. They were offering a $2.99 opening special. Husband needed a cut so went in. I needed a trim as well and he talked me into getting one there. Inquired of the stylist as to how long she'd been cutting hair (4 yrs) so felt she could handle a trim. Not!!!Husband could have done a better job for me with a blind fold on. Left side of my head is short and layered. Right side the stylist hardly touched. I didn't dare to say anything as I didn't want her to make it worse. Now I'm in hiding until it grows out. Don't go there!!!

    0 Votes
  • No
    Not so great clips May 10, 2011

    I have recently graduated Cosmetology school in Jan of this year. I went to work at Great Clips thinking it would be a good basis to start. WOW was I wrong I started in March and I absolutely hate it. I am under 40 and the others are way older and this is their life. They make you feel like crap on anygiven day and are negative to every sense of the word ... I know I will never make money here, to me it is school with a small paycheck. I can not look at it any other way. I was approached to be a manager from the general manager, I know if I had said no then I wouldnt have a job... so after the current acting manager finshes out her 90 day trail basis, I get to take over. REALLY!??? I know this _____ much about hair and She (acting manager) will still be employed there too and get a raise because she hadn't had a raise in 5 years and she is a "nice person"and is not management material this is her 2nd attempt at it too... OMG My jaw dropped. then to find out the other employee had been a manger and was demoted 3 times and this is her last stop. OMG are they that hard up they have to stay and take this abuse??? And in turn they both deliver it to all of the rest of us. Talking down to us and in a very confrontational or antagonistic manner. I know I am making a mistake by taking this position but it will be something for my resume, if I even decide to include it. I am very embarrassed to work for GREAT CLIPS. I do not tell anyone that is where I work. The GM is absolutely CRAZY, clinically, has had 4 strokes and drinks like a fish at 70. yes 70 OMG

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    rancher48 Mar 18, 2011

    greatclips is a joke, and all these people getting their haircut for 12 a pop are hurting our industry, just like walmart is selling salon beauty productsmpeople would rather support a corp. than to go to a personal owned salon and help these people who are just getting by...shame on u greatclips

    2 Votes
  • St
    stylist19 Feb 04, 2011

    I agree and disagree, I have worked for three different Great Clips and I must say that overall Great Clips is a great company. The first great clips I was at was horrible and for the most part was exactly like everyone else said. I was hired as a full time stylist and at first I was woking 36 hrs a week and things were ok, then the trouble started when we got a new manager. She was basically a Nazi, my hours were cut, and I was being written up for things I didnt know were wrong. However the other two locations I have worked for were much better, As for the hours I know my store scheldules people based on how many cuts you do in a week, if you do more you get more hours, and that is very fair to me, if your slow then your not bringing in the business and your not helping the salon profit. As for the paying back 100.00 if you quit before 90 days, ummm that is very fair, why would someone want to pay you to go train, and then you leave them high and dry, the bottom line, the ones of you complaing were probably the problem at your location, if you do what your told there wont be an issue, and it sounds like you might have worked for a crazy owner

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rick Mu Jan 31, 2011

    I have managed for Great Clips for 14 years. i think most of the complaints are legitimate complaints. They just have a bad franchisee. I was also a manager for another large corporation and of the two Great Clips far excels over the others. Great Clips corporation sets only guide lines for the franchisee. Since they are independently owned Great Clips can only dictate certain things. Great Clips corporation has no control over salaries or benefits, all they can do is give guidelines to make the franchisee successful. Whether or not they use the guidelines is up to them. Great Clips also gives each salon a Quality Service Review (QSR). Someone from corporate comes to the salons on an average of every 6 month, pulls reports and gives suggestions to the manager, general manager, or franchisee on how to make the salon run more efficiently. They suggest number of staff for the customer count and scheduling to not be over or understaffed. As for breaks you work a 6 hour shift you should get a 10 minute break. If you work an 8 hour shift you should get a 10 minute break the first 4 hours and a 10 minute break the second half of the shift with a 30 minute lunch break in the middle. Great Clips receives a franchisee fee which is a small percentage of the sales. So they want the franchise to work. Also if the franchisee is to far out of the guidelines Great Clips can take everything away that has Great Clips on it. Mirrors, Products, signage etc. The franchise will be terminated. If you are unhappy blame the franchisee not Great Clips. There are bad franchisee's out there, but there are more good ones. Look around.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pam Perez Jan 16, 2011

    When I first applied I thought the whole thing was sooo sketchy and i was right...They make you sign a phone book full of papers, and one saying theyre aloud to fire you at any time for any reason..sketchy!..and just watching their videos I thought it was some brain wash material, everyone in the video seemed robot like..So once I started it got a little better..but then they started cutting down my hours, and my days..I was only working part time..The bosses wife was a nightmare..All she did was sit in front of the cameras and watch our every move, the minute someone walked in and made a mistake shes on the phone calling the salon to scream and holler at the stylist..She was constantly hollering and screaming at everyone..Then she started with me..I came in 5 min before my time and she claimed I was late because their rule was be there 10 min before..I was 5 min before..She hung up after hollering at me and then called back to accuse me of hanging up on her..I got fired that same day..And when I called corporate to file a complaint about her they said they couldnt get involved because they are a franchise and its between me and my employer..So I was pretty much beat..They say they value their customers..um not really because by them firing their good hairstylists customers are left looking else where for stylist and they should treat their employees with more care because theyre the ones bringing the customers in..And for corporate to say they cant get involved? theyre pretty much just disregarding the fact that us as hairstylist are bieng treated like dirt and constantly harrassed...So far my Experience working for Great Clips has been Horrible, Bad, and Regret working for them for sure!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    just a plain old stylist Jan 12, 2011

    [censored] customers!!! We stylists didn't come up with the stupid [censor] ad! You [censor] can walk right in sit your [censor] down and complain in the corporate [censor]ing office!!!

    -2 Votes
  • Ju
    just a plain old stylist Jan 12, 2011

    These complaints are WONDERFUL HAHA. Let me tell you, first of all this (love hair) person is ridiculous!!! There is noooo way I would make it without my husband! The pay is very low also raises!!! What raises, they don't exist. They say you can make your paycheck more if you sell more product and do more shampoos HAHAHA. Did these people not hear the economy is bad!!! Who the hell wants to pay 15-20 dollars on shampoo or any other product! Give me a break!!!

    I totally agree with the (welcome to Great Clips) wouldn't a customer want a more personal greeting such as Hello so and so how r u? I don't sat welcome to anything!!! It is not what I would choose to great someone. Some customers make jokes and say it faster than you can turn around!! Who made this rule? Is your head up your [censor]?
    I would also like these damn corporate people to update the clothing requirements, I think this has never changed since great clips came about!!! I want to know what is wrong with corduroys??? Why can't I wear suede shoes? We Are NOT WORKING IN A CORPORATE OFFICE) WE ARE CUTTING HAIR!!! I also agree with how owners of the shop do not appreciate their employees, did they forget that we are the ones providing a service for their company that they are not able to do? How many owners can cut hair????? Don't forget to appreciate your EMPLOYEES!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.