Goodyear Assurance Comfortred Tireroad noise

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

We bought a complete set of Goodyear Assurance Comfortred tires from a Goodyear Service Center. We began having the oil changed and the tires rotated every three to four thousand miles. All work was performed by the same Goodyear Service Center. The tires were quiet and smooth as advertised... but... after about 10,000 miles, the tires began to sound as if we were driving on the "wake-up" strips found at the edge of most highways. We brought this to the attention of the Service Center and they acted as if it were "our problem". They said the car was "out of alignment"... but the car would drive straight as an arrow with your hands off the wheel. It's a Toyota Matrix... so the only adjustable alignment possible on the car is "toe-in" which would make the car swerve left or right. We got the manager of the store to listen to the sound and he finally decided to "cross rotate" whatever that means. So now we have to keep putting miles on the tires.

Maybe it's a Service Center problem... maybe tires... maybe both.

Responses

  • Ts
    Ts Feb 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've had the tires for about 2 years, and in the past few months noticed a chugging feeling when I'd be driving in idle (no gas or brake applied) through a parking lot. It wasn't noticable though at high speeds.

    I asked about it when I had the oil changed and tires rotated, and the technician at the Goodyear Service center told me that there was a definite "bounce" in the tire, and that it was made worse when he rotated the tires. So he put them back the way they were and called Goodyear. As a result of whatever was wrong, I am now getting a new set of tires courtesy of Goodyear.

    Has anyone else had similar issues with the tires or is this a one-off defect?

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelly Mitchell Dec 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was recently driving on my new (a little over 10, 000 miles) Goodyear Assurance tires at around 20-25 mph when I heard a faint pop sound over my radio. I didn't feel anything different in the drive but started to smell a rubbery smell. I must have driven a mile or more before smelling the rubber. When I finally pulled over the tire was completely flat. The Goodyear dealer swears I must have hit something on the road and won't honor the warranty, but I know differently...this was just a blow out. Now that I've checked other internet sites I've discovered that flat tires are normal with this particular brand and make of tire. My worry now is whether I'll be safe out on the open road with these tires. I'd hate to have a blow out while doing 75 mph out on the freeway.

    1 Votes
  • Ji
    jim bist Dec 04, 2009

    1 flat 2months after purchase, no object in tire and it had to be replaced.

    Excessive road noise on highway at all speeds to 70mph. Tires have been rotated per Goodyear recomendations.

    Goodyear said it is normal.

    I'am very unhappy with the excessive tire noise.

    Jim Bystak

    2 Votes
  • We
    Westhorpe Jan 10, 2010

    I've had the Goodyear assurance tires for 18 months and have had 2 sidewall blowouts/flat tires. I didn't hit anything. The Sears road hazard warranty doesn't cover the sidewalls. Are other people experiencing the same problem??? This tire should be recalled. Would not recommend it to anyone.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    g.r.gauvin Jan 11, 2018

    @Westhorpe yes tire blew out at 25 mph on the front of cadillac seville just checked air pressures 34 psi no punctures tire looked like a bomb explosion 1200 dollar aluminum wheel needs replacement do to road contact

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bowler152 Mar 09, 2010

    The Goodyear assurance tires came on my 2006 Saturn. From the day I took the car home the tires have been trouble, I had to take it back to the dealer 4 times to have the tires rebalanced in the first 3 months of having the car. And they are still constantly shaking. Then last summer on a trip out of town and car full of people I blew an inner sidewall, I know I didn't hit anything on the way, especially with my driver side front tire. Took it back, Saturn said side walls aren't covered, had to buy a new tire. Now, not 6 months later, I came out of the store, put my bags in the trunk and glanced at the passenger rear tire, only to see another bulge in the inner side wall of these tires, which have 37, 000 miles on them. These tires suck. I rotate and align my tires every 6000 miles since I bought the car, and all the tires including the one only 6 months old looks like they are dry rotting.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gary LaFrance Dec 30, 2010

    I sent in a complaint about this tire yesterday about backing out of my driveway and the tire blew out (inner sidewall). This happened around five pm so I had to wait until today to bring the tire in. The first thing they said is you must have hit something. That was all it took and I lost it. Backing out of my driveway???? I take very good care with my cars and if I hit something I'll be the first to say so. They did call Goodyear and they are replacing the tire. What if I was on the highway going 65 mph and this happened.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patricia2011 Feb 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I put the assurance comfortred tires on my vehicle in 2007 and got 40, 000 miles out of these warranted 80, 000 mile tire. Contacted Goodyear and they admitted there was a problem with this tire and replaced all 4 tires free of charge. Therefore, we got the exact same tire placed on the vehicle. Have driven a little under 32, 000 miles and they need replacing again. There is definitely a problem with these tires.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    moorekathy57 Aug 08, 2011

    Had the tires put on my 2006 Nissan Murano about 3k miles ago. Getting louder and louder !! No blow outs...yet. Will see if i can get this tire replaced. When I took the car back, because I thought something had to be wrong. They say it is because the tire is softer and lighter than the tires I had before. I cannot tell any difference in my fuel mileage either. Sure wish I had done my homework before buying these tires !!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joshua97 Sep 03, 2011

    My tires are so loud they should make Goodyear Assurance recall the entire brand. I drive a 2007 Hyundai Sonata and the Hyundai Manager told me the tires should have never been put on. The last tire recall from our government are so old I wonder what they actually do.

    4 Votes
  • He
    helpme22 Oct 09, 2011

    we have a set of the same tires and they keep pulling belts in the side wall and sams replaces them but i have to pay for mounting each time and probably could have a new set of something different by now. just got one replaced yesterday and on way how the out of balance feel started again got home and i now see i have two more tires doing the same thing. what can i do about this. i dont like to spend every weekend at the store getting tires replaced

    -2 Votes
  • Ca
    Casey3634 Oct 09, 2011

    Horizon Hobby has the BEST customer service in the whole RC world. Period...

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
    Charlie11111 May 20, 2012

    We had a set of four Goodyear Assurance tires put on our 2006 Honda Van last year. Nice riding, handling and so on. Now at around 11, 000 miles they start making a lot of road noise. At 15, 000 miles they are louder than any of the semi trucks tires I have driven over the last 35 years as a trucker. I talked to the Goodyear dealer and they also as someone else said: looked at me like, whats the problem. I took the manager for a ride and he couldn't hear me talk at 45mph because they are so loud and he still backs his tire. Guess you can figure what I told him he can do with the rest of his tires. Never again will I buy a Goodyear tire.

    2 Votes
  • Gr
    g.r.gauvin Jan 11, 2018

    @Charlie11111 i had a front tire blow out i de mounted the other 3 tires for inspection and found side wall ripples and cord strings showing inside of the tires all failing never ran tires soft or low on air pressure i will never buy another only 2000 miles on them

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tamster341 May 28, 2012

    I bought 4 GY Assurance tires for my 2003 Hyundai in 2007. The first month had to have one replaced because the vibration was so bad. Now, am having all kinds of vibration and shaking in the steering and ride. Mechanic stated that the tires are the problem. Probably bad belts in 2 of the tires. I have only driven 1/2 of the mileage on the warranty but am over the 4 year limit - of course. Had the car back to Belle Tire several times and all they do is re-balance the tires. The alignment is fine. Now I have to replace two tires and I am unemployed. Very angry. Goodyear should have to replace at no charge. Does anyone know how I get them to do this?

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jamesgary Jun 02, 2012

    I brought the Goodyear Assurance tires for my Toyota Prius and after 25, 000 miles the tire wear was very lumpy. I was told by the tech that I needed an alignment and there was nothing wrong. After another 10, 000 miles had a blowout and was told this never happens on these tires, so I told him not to ever give me Goodyear tires again they suck. Also 90% of the miles were nonstop expressway.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jeffro28 Nov 13, 2012

    Bought really nice car with newer set of ASSURANCE tires. (Made me aware $$) Had really weird experience(s). Car would start shaking VIOLENTY at H-way speeds, with no warning, holes, bad roads, ect. Would do this twice one day, not again for 2-3-4 [protected]@ 100 miles a day trip? When driving, car would start shaking, VIOLENTLY, ...with BAD brake wobble if applied---... but wait. Can pull over, and immediately go back to H-way speed-NO PROBLEM? ..Tight control arms, ball joints, (just installed struts) tie rod endz..
    ? New rotors, pads, hdwe, Ect? Front end is tight. AMERICAN? COMPANYS STAND BEHIND WHAT THEY SELL? Last set of GOODYEAR Arriva's were JUNK. EX GM Cadillac Mech, EX American car buyer, .. Sorry, But have't had any failures, in over 20 plus years, and don't even hardly get my hand's dirty anymore. Haven't "EVER" had my FOREIGN car at a dealer? For Anything?, Except, of course, minor $, few misc parts purchases. After 3 LEMON buyback Experiences. Wunder why the Detroit "Failures" ?

    2 Votes
  • Je
    jeffro28 Nov 13, 2012

    Have a set. (TERRIBLE) Not going to waste my breath / keystrokes. Wish "American, few Companys"? would stand behind their product? Ex "American" car buyer after 3 "New car" "Lemon" service Attitudes! I Didn't know whut I was "talking about" as I looked at it in the next bay to me? (Ex GM Mech/owner) HH cad in Valpo Jap owner 20 YRS. NEVER been to dealer? I'd REALLY like to buy AMERICAN, but till American dealers stand, AFTER THE SALE. GOOD, ..luck..?

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alek martin Dec 25, 2012

    i had a blowout on these tires, , , Goodyear assurance triple treads...mileage on the tire 4000 miles, , , no nail, no pothole, , , , , , sidewall got burst, , , , , this looks to be a design issue, , , , , , , probably something related to the sidewall is the issue, , , ,

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rich Oz Osvai Aug 18, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought four of these tires, road nice but then they started to wear as if I was doing burnouts with them. Rotated all the time, correct air pressure all the time, car is not out of alignment or nothing. If there is a recall on these I want to know.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chrros Oct 08, 2013

    Same problem for me with these tires. Road noise from a cupped tire tread noticeable after a tire rotation. Technician said he's had similar problems from these tires from customers and his own wife's car. STAY AWAY from these tires!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dan2014 May 23, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just cost me $229 for new Goodyear Assurance Tire for my Lincoln. Sidewall had a big bubble on it and scared the you know what out of me. I had just been going 70 mph on the freeway and when I stopped I noticed the bulge. Thought I'd look up if this were a common problem. I'd never encountered this in my 50 plus years of driving.

    1 Votes
  • De
    decatur 00 Oct 07, 2014

    Have purchased two Goodyear vesta tires (specifically made for Wal Mart) and both now have been found to have "pin holes" in the side wall. Feel this has to be defect in tires because no way is a pin being stuck through the tire where we live. No neighbors and doubt if a racoon is doing it. No longer going to purchase tires from Wal Mart or Goodyear.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bob2004 Aug 09, 2015

    I have these tires and they are much louder then my snow tires, my snow tires actually ride better, Goodyear should recall these tires, still a lot of thread on them, never had this problem before with tires. Not impressed will buy new ones for sure not Goodyear and send Goodyear the bill.

    1 Votes
  • Ar
    arnijohn Aug 20, 2015

    I just purchased two brand new GY Assurance tires from Tire Rack on Friday, August 14, 2015. Drove roundtrip New Jersey to Salem/Boston and noticed the loud tires as soon as we were on the expressway. At slow and excessive speeds, the tires are loud, bumpy, and wobbly. I have two of the same tires on the rear, which were purchased and installed April 2015, somewhat noisy, but no other problems. I initially thought there was a problem with installation, mounting and balancing, but assured myself this problem is with the tires. I decided to go online to see reviews and wished I'd done this before. I wanted to match the other two tires, thinking this is the right thing to do. I did not purchase a warranty, but from reading other complaints, it doesn't seem to matter to Goodyear. It seems that the problem is always the driver, not the tire(s). I don't know what to do and can't afford to buy more tires, when I just purchased two tires less than a week ago.
    If anyone has any reccommendations, PLEASE HELP!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    buster15 Aug 20, 2015

    We bought Assurance tires 1 year ago and they sound like snow or truck tires now. We had them rotated but that didn't help. Just 20, 000 miles and we need to get rid of them. It also sound like there is a flat spot in one of the tires. We are going back again to Sam's Club and try to deal with the manager.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chuck1950 Nov 02, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I suppose that I've been lucky. I have these tires on a 1998 Town and Country, 2003 Dodge Grand Caravan, and put a set on a used 2007 Hyundai Sonata I bought in June. I have not experienced blow out, shaking, or noise issues. The reason I bought them for the Sonata was because the tires provided such a quiet and smooth ride on the vans. They've been on the vans a little over four years.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donald Rushford Jan 18, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    PURCHASED new 2015 Prius in Aug 2015 with 4 GY assurance tires. Vibrations and rough ride since, just had them balanced and rotated, at my
    expense. still feels like I am driving on a gravel road, complete junk tires, recommend do not buy. If they are un new car, DO NOT ACCEPT these
    tires, Goodyear dealer will deny problems are the tires.

    0 Votes
  • Ex
    ex-goodyear customer. Mar 08, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These tire are the worst. I had all four replace on my Honda Accord 6 years ago. For the past 4 year, I had about 5 different blow outs. Once was for hitting road debris. Twice for broken tire stems. Brought the car back to the good year, the good year tech claims that stems breaks a lot when it rains. Once because the tire rubber was dry rotted.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Claudia Satori Apr 21, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a set of 4 GY Assurance ComforTred bought in March of 2015 for my 2010 Volvo XC 60. Love them. So quiet. Just yesterday it was pointed out to me that the back tires (rotated from the front) are at the wear bar on both sides, all around and all across. there are about 8000 miles on the tires. I am furious and disabled.

    0 Votes
  • Hd
    Hd2boys Jun 12, 2016

    I bought Goodyear assurance tires for my 2012 Toyota Highlander. After less than 10, 000 miles, the road noise is so bad that I cannot even hear my radio. The road noise varies at different speeds, but is worse around 70 mph. I am very disappointed and frankly nervous about the safety of these tires. I am a mother of two small children.

    0 Votes
  • Va
    vanette l starr Jun 18, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ive purchased this very same set of tires and it was replaced under warrenty when it was found they were all wearing exactly the same value, but at an extremely high rate of speed. Garenteed for 70k miles, but nearly bald at 30k. Im so greatful that i did not have the accidents and blowouts that you all have had. BUT WHAT I DO WANT TO ADD, that is after they replaced the tires, (Again at walmart and under a huge amount of fighting to get them to do so..actually had to call the home office for warrenties to get it done because the store was playing a stall game and then a "you didnt properly care for them" game...so the home offiice offered with no problem what so ever, to take care of four new tires. I now realize after only a few thousand miles of the saab car sounding like a thunder truck coming down a graveled road at 200 miles an hour, that the tires of this model and perhaps over several years of this make, are the problem. Anyone who has had this problem, seek the home office of Sams, Walmart, or the Goodyear customer service department. They will do as they should do, and give us the proper refund and or a full trade for a better name brand and style. The good year assurance made for Walmart and or Sams or perhaps many other companies, have been fooled into believing that this HIGH END tire, is nothing more than a huge road hazard and possibly causing people accidents and taking lives? I would like to know where to go, to report this...does carcomplaints.com also take complaints on tires? i have found them to be a incredible source for understanding and avoiding particular cars that are a hazard or have severe warranty issues, recalls, or under answered complaints by each and every car company out there. Even the car under Honda and Toyota name brands, which are supposed to be the best cars, as well as BMW, AUDI etc... are being reported as having problems and not being dealt with until this carcomplaints.com company gets enough complaints about accidents or poor parts...then they are forcing the companies to admit fault and change or offer recalls...Theyre truly a company for the people, not another agency for the car companies. So, i was wondering if this carcomplaints.com or any other place where customers can offer their proof of compaints and or near death experiences due to faulty tires, etc????

    1 Votes
  • Ly
    Lynda Baker Kowalski Mar 29, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I replaced another set of tires yesterday. At 67, 487 miles I had MONRO Muffler put on 4 Goodyear tires with a 65, 000 warranty. Starting then my Honda CR-V was plagued with a shimmy and terrible vibrations. MONRO rotated tires and re-balanced them. At one point I demanded at least one tire that was showing extreme wear be replaced. Even after that and another 4-wheel alignment it was never great. At 91, 311 miles, just 23, 824 miles into these tires, I took the Honda back to MONRO and they sold me 4 more Goodyear Assurance tires as these were worn unevenly and would not pass inspection. Shimmy and pulling continued. I replaced front struts, tie rods, and brakes. I got more alignments. Every time I rotated the tires the shimmy was so bad I had to take the car back. All that MONRO said was the wheel "might" be out of round. Yesterday the service manager at Garber Honda drove my car and told me the tires were shot. I had 18, 899 miles on those tires and they were worn to a point they were dangerous on our snowy winter roads. The alignment was so bad the entire car vibrated and pulled radically to the right. At this point I don't know whether MONRO switched lower grade tires or the Goodyear brand is just ####. I have NOT bought any more Goodyear tires and will not recommend them to anyone. I have spent over $1200 in 42, 723 miles. Today my Honda sports Yokohama tires and the ride is fantastic. No vibration or shimmy. I am also destroying my Goodyear credit card. No more business from this very unhappy consumer. I also own a Ford Truck and a Chevy Trailblazer and I will never buy Goodyear tires for them either.

    0 Votes
  • On
    Oneal May 08, 2017

    Within the last 6 months I have replaced teo GY Assurance tires from sidewall failures. No more Goodyear products!!!

    0 Votes
  • Po
    polkadots Jun 14, 2017

    Never get these tires. I have a brand new set and the noise and road roughness when driving is terrible. My dealer said that now that I have driven with them on that they cannot take them back. It is like driving on a roller coaster...very concerning and I don't feel safe with these goodyear entry-level assurance all season m/t tires. What a rip off to the tune of 700 dollars including tax and service to have terrible tires that bump me and my car around everywhere . My Honda Accord only has 26000 miles and is in great shape-just took it in for inspection, alignment and new brake pads (Honda parts of course). It is not my car, sorry--- it is the tires. Goodyear-
    you should be ashamed and reimburse or replace these dangerous tires.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mikers64 Feb 28, 2018

    I also bought these crap tires. They were fine for the first 4K miles then I noticed that between 50-60 mph I was getting so much tire noise that I can hardly hear the radio. And before you ask, it's not a balance issue, it's not a alignment issue either. It's a TIRE issue! I've had Goodyear tires on at least my last 6 cars but will think long and hard before I do that again!

    1 Votes
  • Fr
    Frank Hrasky Dec 17, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Franklin Hrasky Dec 2019
    At less than 300 miles the Goodyear Eagle RSA tires started making a wah, wah, wah, wah noise from 40 mph on down to stopping. Goodyear's 30 day satisfaction policy is worthless! It states that they will replace the tires within30 days if you are dissatisfied with the tires. WRONG! The policy says they will replace with Goodyear, Kelly or Dunlop. Well, Kelly and Dunlop do not make tires for my 2016 Taurus, and the Goodyear replacements were $330 which was double the price of the Goodyear Eagles. Would never buy another Goodyear tire!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions