SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Gold's Gymmembership woes

1
L

I have been given the runaround since day one. I tried to suspend my membership (a big selling point when i first signed up) when I went away to travel. The process ended up being so long and drawn out, and the fees to have the membership "suspended" were almost as much as paying the membership in full anyway.

Now it comes time for my contract to expire, and they are not even letting me go that easily. I was to give them 90 days notice via registered letter stating that ALL I WANT IS FOR MY 2 YEAR CONTRACT TO EXPIRE. Since I didn't do that, I have gone on month - to - month payments, and I have to wait another 3 months for this drama to end.

Gold's Gym is stealing my money - please make them stop!

Responses

  • Valerie May 22, 2008

    This gym has outdated equipment. Most of the equipment looks like it has been procured from some other gym that has upgraded its equipment and was getting rid of their old equipment. The machines are rusty.

    1 Votes
  • Ry
    Ryan In Fort Lauderdale Oct 05, 2008

    I was a member of Gold's Gym in Fort Lauderdale, but once my membership was up I joined Mainstreet Gym in Wilton Manors. Mainstreet closed overnight, with NO prior notice. I choose Mainstreet because it was within walking distance of my home; I got exercise and was saving gas. I didn't even hear that Mainstreet had closed until a friend who also was a member informed me. Only a few weeks ago, I looked in my bank account and saw there charges from Golds Gym. I can't get satisfaction from the gym manager or franchise owner...even the corporate office. What do we do????????????????

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    sally Feb 19, 2009

    I'm having the same problem with Gold's gym edmonton. When I was signing up, they were very quick and not going through many details. When I asked about cancellation, they said I just had to give notice, after the minimum period. The owner and the managers were all flexible and making the contract seem like just a formality. I was told I would get a copy of the contract by email, which I didnt.
    I found out I'd have to move for my job 5 days after I signed the contract. I went in to ask for a cancellation. All of a sudden, the contract was so set and I'd have send a written letter by REGISTERED MAIL, pay $199+tax and the contract would not be cancelled for another 91 days- so I'd be paying 3 more months. I had given legitimate reasons (moving to a location where there is no gold's gym), which was enough for me to cancel memberships with other clubs AT NO EXTRA COST. However, at this company they were extremely difficult, unreasonable.
    I just found out that their rating at Better business Bureau is F!!! The lowest possible. Compared this o ClubFit, World Health Club and other clubs in Edmonton, which got a B, A and A+.
    I wish I had checked this before. They are taking advantage or their members.

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    JoeM Mar 19, 2009

    Exact same experience, only with Gold's, Edmonton-Westmount. The sales staff wouldn't even let me finish reading the contract before I signed it, saying: "Don't worry about it." Now that I'm trying to deal with then in regard to cancellation, they are making every effort to hide behind the contract. This gym took several extra months to open, billing me the entire time. This is the worse experience I've ever had with a business in my life. Absolutely absurd.

    3 Votes
  • Al
    Alex May 08, 2009

    WOW, is the city of Edmonton ever getting frigged over by Gold's. The WEM Gold's has a Better Business Bureau rating of F! And from what I've experienced, read, heard, the Westmount mall Gold's is following the same business model: decieve your customers to ensure the payments keep rolling in.

    3 Votes
  • Je
    Jethro Jun 07, 2009

    Bob H:

    Thank you for your insights. I want to make anyone who may read this aware that the "Fair Trading Act" in Alberta exists to govern fairness in all market transactions--this includes any oral promises or statements of fact that a business may make.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chiki Li Jun 17, 2009

    OK,

    pay attention...

    Never...and I can't stress this enough, NEVER, give a company your credit card number or permission to debit your bank account if you have never dealt with them before. Did I say NEVER?

    Offer only post dated cheques, cheques can be cancelled if you don't like the service.

    Trust me on this, it is far better to have someone asking for money you have in your possesion than having to ask for your money back when it is in someone elses posession.

    If the sales person says they can't do that...IT IS A HUGE RED FLAG...what do you mean you can't do that? Cheques are legal tender in Canada. If they say they won't take cheques just say "That's too bad, I really wanted to (join/buy/etc) but if that is your policy i'll just go somewhere else."

    Why do you think they want your CC number or debit permission anyway? It's so they can take what they want from you when they want.

    Got it?

    Good?

    p.s. Did I say NEVER give your CC number or bank debit permission yet?

    -1 Votes
  • Je
    Jethro Jun 17, 2009

    Not quite. Even if you give them post-dated cheques and cancel them if you become dissatisfied, you still have a legal contractual obligation to make your payments, or follow the cancellation provision in your contract. If you refuse to do this due to dissatisfaction, they can sell your debt to a collections company, thus destroying your credit rating and leaving you with a civil liability. The best thing to do your homework on the company, and assess your contractual commitments BEFORE committing to them.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    Super-man Aug 25, 2009

    Nader Chehayeb is a thief, I know all about him. He is always taking money out people's accounts when he shouldn't. During sign up he's an angel, after sign up he turns into into a daemon. You have no idea how much money that guy has stolen from people. I just hope someone can stop him, because if it's that easy for crooks to get away with that kind of behaviour, then i guess he'll be doin this for a long time.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    micd Aug 30, 2009

    I have a huge complaint to CLUB FIT in edmonton Alberta, I had a contract for monthly payment, then with out warning they increses my membership $5.00 extra, it's not the $5.00 that bother me is them just doing it without any letter or information . I try to contact the manager and after a few phone call no answer back . When I did find someone they said that they will check my contract and call me back . A week later no call . I even asked to talk to head office they told me that it's in calgary . of course that was a not true because when I look into even the CEO is in edmonton . Custumer service is a bunch of lies and as long they get thier money they don't care tha happens . They think that they voted to top gym that is because there is only two to choose from .but if they keep up with that they will not even be around in 5 years . too bad that something be good for you it give's you more stress . Everyone wants to get what they pay for and that includes service . and that is one thing that CLUB FIT does not have . I'm not surpriced if someone else will come in the city and take over . People forget that the net is so powerful that it can crush a business and I think Club FIT is getting to that position even the CEO had no curtesy to return emails . I guess he only has time to roll around other people's money .

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    Fighter_1 Sep 06, 2009

    Gold's Gym Edmonton has broke every promise to me that they made when I was signing up . This Nader Chehayeb is a crook if there ever was one and so are his managers. I cannot count how many people that I know that have left there becasue of his lies. Oh well, word gets around and what goes around comes around. He is getting his with all of the membership cancellations. He won't last forever. We can all look forward to new ownership at Gold's Edmonton one day.

    1 Votes
  • Je
    JeannyB Sep 12, 2009

    I signed up with ClubFit in Edmonton. In the first month of my membership I injured my shoulder and could not work out. I continued paying dues for an additional six months even though I couldn't use the facilities. I went for accupunture, therapeutic massage and chiropractic adjustments regularly to correct the problem. I have two letters from my chiropractor advising ClubFit I was not to work out as my shoulder condtion is chronic. I have supplied both letters to ClubFit as medical documentation to cancel my membership. I have since received a collection notice from a firm in Calgary for the remaining months on my contract. I supplied the collection agency with the letters which, I was told, would be reveiwed by a lawyer. Yesterday I received another collection notice - no explanation as to why the letters were not sufficient to cancel the membership.
    My question - what can I do???

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jethro Oct 09, 2009

    Update: Gold's, Edmonton-Westmount has recently achieved a BBB rating of F, the same rating as the West Edmonton Mall Gold's. And according to the Gold's webiste, they are planning on opening two more locations in Edmonton. Infer from this what you will...

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dougggg Oct 15, 2009

    I tried to pay cash in advance for a one year membership Edmonton north world health club. they would accept the cash but still insisted on a personal blank voided cheque.
    ended up walking away without a membership. isn't there privacy laws against this? btw thanks for heads uo on gold's. got an ad in the mail about a new one opening soon at northtown mall.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jethro Oct 15, 2009

    Yes there are privacy laws on this, but there are many gray areas. Good for you for walking away, many others would have just signed up for the membership anyway.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jethro Oct 17, 2009

    One more thought: we all know the saying "fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me." So many people in the city of Edmonton have bad experiences with Gold's. When dealing with any business, it is important to do your research, and see if any trends exist which are problematic for you. The Better Business Bureau provides a great tool for consumers to identify any issues they may have with a business, and sites, such as this one, that allow consumers to discuss their experience, be it positive or negative, provide you with an opportunity to see what others have experienced, and ask questions. And there are laws across Canada and the United States, at the Provincial/Territorial/State level that protect your rights as well. I sincerely hope we do not see a whole list of complaints from people signing up for memberships at the new Gold's locations in Edmonton.

    0 Votes
  • Ck
    ckckck Nov 17, 2009

    A couple of points - Sales staff do not recieve commission unless banking information is provided...they will push you for it but tell then you wont! You may have to pay a few extra $$ a month for proccessing fees but it is possible.

    If you do a stop payment for a month, they will double bill you the following month

    Clubfit was clubfit corp until it was purchased, now it is clubfit inc.

    The clubfit HO is now in calgary and all staff is former WHC staff...and clubfit staff got laid off

    Dont be fooled by the new A+ rating for WHC...looks like it was just re-set to that and clubfit no longer has a rating

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Britannia Dec 10, 2009

    I have had many negative experiences with Gold's Gym in West Edonton Mall and Gold'n Tan located right next to it (same owner). The owner himself actually went to go get himself take-out during my tanning appointment time! He returned to find me waiting, and basically told me that there was no time left to get me in before the next person's appointment and to get lost. Utterly ridiculous. At Gold's Gym, we were trying to use a free 1 week couple's pass (we were truly considering joining). They gave us such a run around in trying to use the free pass that we were totally turned off. When one of the employees failed in trying to get us to sign up he got someone else to come in to the office and we were subjected to a rude sales pitch, ganged up on...We literally looked at one another and got the hell out. DON"T GIVE YOUR $$$$ TO THESE LOSERS!!! WARN EVERYONE YOU KNOW!!! I also have several friends whose bank accounts were chrged multiple times in a month, repatedly! Shady - can't understand how the place is still open.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rosa Gonzalez Jan 06, 2010

    I'm sick of my stomachhera about this problems with gold gym and i'm just starting with a porblem this a big scam, they want to charge me 1600.00 dollars that I suppost to owe them and is all false that I owe that much I had no money to pay this I need somebody to help me understand the membership beacuse the way I understand I don't owe them that much in my opinion I only owe them 240.00. Can somebody tells me what it will happen if I don't pay them besides getting a bad credit?

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John DowSmith Jan 14, 2010

    SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION

    To Rosa Gonzalez. I feel your pain Rosa here is what you do and I'm sure everything will be ok. You can use these tips for any issue not just Gold's.
    1. Keep a record of everything, gather all the paper work you have on the membership, hopefully you have a copy of all the papers you signed. If not, and they are relactent to give you one then just tell them you need them to get reimbursement from your benefits plan at work, that way they will think you will stick around for a long time because the company is paying for the membership.
    2. Start a record and note down all what happened since the begining of this problem, every phone call, every conversation, email, letter, everything! You may need it if this ends up in small claims court.
    3. Start a complaint with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) http://www.bbb.org/canada/
    4. Start a complaint with Consumer Contact Centre 780-427-4088
    these are the people that can actually take the business license away from a company.
    Phone 3 and 4 just to get things started, and they will contact Nader the owner.
    5. Call the Alberta Law Line 780-644-7777 for free legal advice. They won't tell you this, but you get one hour and thirty minutes for free. Usually half hour on the phone to check if your problem has merit and then you go to meet with a lawyer at this point you MUST have a copy of the membership and all your papers and notes .
    6. OPTIONAL call the Edmonton Community Legal Centre/Clinic, they provide legal help same as #5, but for low income people
    780-702-1725
    7. Another optional step and only as a last resort call Global's Trouble Shooter 780-433-3232 or [email protected]
    I'm sure having GOLD's GYM on the evening news would make everyone happy on this board.

    At some point either the lawyer (not free) or you (free) need to write a letter to Nader explaining all the measures taken above. make sure the letter is certified to be opened only by him.

    I went through this, and many others, there is much help along the way, feel free to ask me any questions. I also have Nader's mailing address which you can find on the BBB web site and phone number, but what you won't find or need at this point is his Cell number and email which your lawyer might need and it took me some time to find it . Let me know how it goes.

    SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION SOLUTION

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John DowSmith Jan 14, 2010

    GLOBAL TROUBLE SHOOTER STORY

    Link
    http://www.globaltv.com/globaltv/edmonton/features/troubleshooter/index.html?releasePID=nLF6kxJkH0BvC_aaXpcKmcdwi7MBtfz6

    RSS
    http://webdata.globaltv.com/MRSS.ashx?U=http://www.globaltv.com/globaltv/edmonton/features/troubleshooter/index.html

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    kendrab Feb 23, 2010

    I am insulted by the continued immature and negative communication I have recieved from the fron desk. The front desk has been impolite to me on two different occasions.There is a lack of simple customer service when a customer comes through the door and insted a immature silly chatter..

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scoobysnaxxx Oct 25, 2010

    I sent in my registered letter to cancel to the Golds @ West Edmonton Mall... as per Canada Post they received it on a Tuesday and they say they received it on a Friday, so they are basing my cancellation on that date... They have also since changed the payment schedule 2x for withdrawal, so now I believe my final date for withdrawal has also changed... so I don't know when my last date date of withdrawal should be... I apparently have to go into the gym on the weekend to talk to whoever is looking over my cancellation so they can tell me what it is, so I can tell the bank that information...

    According to the contract they didn't say anything about being able to change pre-authorized withdrawal dates, but I guess its ok cause they're golds gym... Also, I talked to someone at the gym yesterday, and they said that the withdrawal covers for two weeks after that date, so by the time they received the letter to the time they cancelled it will be about 110-120 days beyond the letter I sent them... they are basing their 90 days from the end of my contract even though I put a request through before the contract termination date... After all this is said and done I'm never joining another gym again... I'm going to buy my own equipment and do a work out at home... its more convenient anyways...

    Tomorrow I also plan on calling the consumer contact line... since a complaint was put through to the better business bureau & they haven't been able to reach anyone at Gold's Gym... and are not returning their phone calls...

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    gigglefish Nov 04, 2010

    Just a note, Marketplace is doing a story on gym rip offs, They want info and stories, it seems like the edmonton golds gym is very corrupt, I avoided a membership there but anyone with a story should share it maybe seeing that guy embarrassed on tv would provide satisfaction.

    0 Votes
  • Xa
    xandavon Dec 29, 2010

    They would not even let you finish reading the contract? That's weird. They can't do that to me though lol. I have an OCD so they wouldn't have a choice but to let me finish reading the contract. My OC self would not have let any detail off haha. Some rules can even be modified.

    I am also with Gold's Gym and I am pretty satisfied with it. I can even move deadlines of payments. My friend can even work out even though her name is not on the list of members haha. That is the funniest one.

    They will eat up every member they can get so don't be afraid to complain BEFORE signing up because it's a whole new company once you sign up. It is important to get everything you need during the start.

    Just remember 1 thing. Don't let them do that to you no matter what, and the solutions will fall just come to you because I believe there's always a way, you just have to have the inspiration to think of them.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    adadad Jan 04, 2011

    I have a one year membership with Gold'sGYM Edmonton Nortown Center. I asked them to cancel my membership at the end of January as the time agreed upon runs out.
    Guess what ? I have to write a registered letter for cancellation and wait 91 days etc...
    The agreement says one year . If I want to cancel before that time then I would subjected to those penalities. But after the time runs out and I do not renew the contract Why would I go through these. I think this is just extortion in another name. If you nhave any suggestion please let me know.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MaMarMOO Apr 30, 2011

    i think u guys should go to "SMALL CLAIM COURT "in ur county for all of your money back.. there r just like Bank of america.. we have to look for justice in Goldgym.. Bank of america was sued by so many of their customers through small claim court last year.. this year, they changed the policy on "over drafted fee". anyway, I have go start filing too cuz i don't like goldgym anymore cuz of their canceling fee..

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    haha1992 Jul 13, 2011

    Obviously you should've read your contract carefully before you signed the cancellation procedure because it clearly states you have to send a registered letter and once they get the letter the 91 days starts to take effect. It's your own ### up so live with it and read the contracts before you sign them. I'm definitely not on their side, but most of the complaints that Gold's Gym Edmonton recieves is due to people's stupidity and naive nature. They just believe what the sales person tells them without actually reading what they're signing.

    -1 Votes
  • Mc
    Mckengold Sep 14, 2011

    unfortunately i have also been a victim of Gold's Gym fancy talk and did not pay too much attention at the cancellation rules as i tend to stick to my contracts. as my 3 year obligatory contract completed i was looking for cancelling my contract and yes i found myself on their web of phone call after phone call followed by bouncing emails to find out after my letter is sent that i have to be penalized for 90 days.
    i agree with the previous comment. yes my fault for not reading the contract fine line. however once an obligation is met it should be pretty simple to stop and cancel an account. after all, i no longer have any obligation as per the 3 year term.
    gold's gym was great at first but once they have you, their service sucks.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kay Elle Sep 20, 2011

    BEWARE OF NORTH SIDE GOLDS GYM EDMONTON! MY STORY:

    In January 2010 I signed a three year membership with an employee by the name of Adam. At this time I was told if I sign up two more people I would receive six months free and three people I would receive one year free. That same day I signed up two people and received six months for free. I asked Adam if these six free months could be applied at the beginning of my contract? His answer was; "no, it would be applied at the end so you would pay two and a half years of your three year contract."

    On September 16, 2011 (approx 1300hrs) I called about transferring my membership to another person and spoke to an employee by the name of Stephanie. Stephanie told me that yes, the final six months of the contract would remain free and can be transferred to the new member taking over my contract. She also said yes to my question concerning the new member paying out the remainder of the contract in full. Later that same day (approx 1830hrs) I stopped in and paid a balance on my account. I asked the same questions I asked Stephanie earlier in the day to another employee, also named Stephanie. Both Stephanies gave me the same answers to my questions.

    On September 17, 2011 at 2215hrs I arrived with the new member that would be taking over my contract. This employee, Lara, stated that the six free months will not be applied for the new member. She also stated that the new member could not pay out the account in full, he had to take over monthly payments and then call three months prior to cancelling the contract if he wished. It was asked if the manager could meet myself and the member at 1900hrs on September 20, 2011 to speak with us. Her reply was, "no, she lives in Tofield and does not stay that late." I then had to ask if the manager could contact me by phone, as it was not offered. Lara stated she would e-mail her manager to contact me by phone on September 19, 2011. Throughout this process this receptionist was quite rude and agitated. Also, when my account was brought up it stated I owed $5.00. It also stated a lesser payment (approx $60.00) than I had made on September 16, 2011. I had my receipt on hand to prove the error for her manager to correct.

    On September 19, 2011 I called for the manager myself at 1330hrs. She was not in but the first Stephanie I spoke to was. She stated that the receptionist from September 17, 2011 was in the wrong and should have made the transfer as per our conversation on Sept 16, 2011. She also apologized for that staff members rude behaviour and stated she would explain the situation to her manager, Rola, and have her call me.

    1730hrs the manager, Rola, left a message on my cell phone to call her. Approx 1900hrs I gave Rola a call. She stated to me that they do not offer six months free for two sign ups, but do honour one year for three sign ups and it applies after your contract term is complete. I explained to her the offer I received from Adam when I signed up. She stated Adam was in and she would ask him, if he remembered than she would honour it. I then stated this contract with him was signed 21 months ago, how could he possibly remember by just dropping a file in front of him? I stated why don't I just bring in the two people I enrolled and they can back up my story. She than agreed with me and stated, "you're an honest person and I will honour the terms Adam offered you. I will have everything ready for the transfer tomorrow night, and if I'm not here there will be detailed notes left." She than stated for future reference that any free months offered for enrolling other people would be applied after the contract is complete. All ended well.

    2040hrs The manager, Rola, phoned me back. She stated she now spoke to Adam and he claims he never offered myself that deal. How he remembers so clearly after 21 months and hundreds, possibly thousands of contracts since, is shocking to me?? She also stated she spoke to head office and the free six months can not be transferred to the new member. He would have to enrol two new members for this. (At 1900hrs when I spoke to Rola, she stated they do not offer six months for enrolling two members??) She then started to read lines out of a contract in a hostile manor stating something about oral terms are not binding... And then went on to say she still believes the story I told her, just could no longer honour the agreement she made at 1900hrs. I told her I already spoke to the new member and said all was good, I then told Rola that this is now the fourth or fifth story I'm getting and I'm upset. Again, in a now very hostile and rude tone Rola stated, "What, what... You tell me the other stories you got? I tell you I will speak to the two Stephanies!" I stated well, Adam's story at the time of contract, both Stephanies but they equal two as they gave me the same story, Lara, yourself at 1900hrs and now this story, with my calculations that totals five. Rola then started speaking non-sense in a fast tone, I could really not make any sense of what she was saying and asked her to stop talking and allow myself, the customer to speak. She then said, "If you're not going to listen, I not talk to you!" And literally hung up on me.

    2050hrs I phoned back and spoke with Lara. I asked for the head office number for Golds Gym. She stated there was no phone number and they were the head office for Edmonton. (If this is the case... This would mean Rola spoke to herself at 2040hrs when she phoned me back and stated she spoke to the head office branch??) I then asked if Rola was in charge of head office, or did she have a boss? I was given an e-mail address of [email protected] to contact. I then asked if Rola is available? I found it absolutely unprofessional that Rola had thrown a temper tantrum and hung up. They caused the problem and now do not want to fix it. Lara stated she was on the phone and also had customers waiting for her.

    2055hrs I called Lara again asking if Rola could speak to me? I was told she was busy and will be off at 2100hrs. (I also found this strange as on September 17, 2011 Lara told me that her manager does not stay late as she "lives in Tofield.") I never received a call back from the manager that night.

    1 Votes
  • Gg
    GGE-Consumer-Watch Nov 14, 2011

    Kay,

    That sounds about right. This is how they do business. You need to know one thing and this is important. These people that own Gold's Gym, especially Nader Chehayeb, (who is the brother of Rola Chehayeb) doesn't care about your problems related to the gym one bit. He is an extremely dishonest man. What he does care about however is your gym membership and when people cancel it hurts the gym bad. Keep the word out there and remember "word of mouth" advertising is the best weapon there is against people like that.

    Here are some CTV news links that people should watch before they buy memberships at Gold's Gym Edmonton. Don’t ask which location, they are all owned by the same man, Nader Chehayeb. They lady being interviewed is on Facebook trying to warn people about what is happening over at Gold’s.

    http://watch.ctv.ca/563992#clip563992
    watch.ctv.ca

    http://watch.ctv.ca/565429#clip565429
    watch.ctv.ca

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    TanMan Dec 08, 2012

    Read this blog post!!

    Lots of information!

    http://fromrigstoriches.wordpress.com/2012/12/07/18days/

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    APO Apr 07, 2013

    STAY AWAY !!!
    STAY AWAY PLEASE!!! PLEASE PLEASE THAT WAS ONE MY WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY ENTIRE LIFE THEY RE JUST STEALING MY MY MONEY THE LAST DAY OF MY NOTICE DAY!!!++++++ STAY AWAY+++++++

    1 Votes
  • Ap
    APO Apr 07, 2013

    stay away please gold gym edmonton west mall especially

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    joefoster39 Jul 29, 2013

    This piece of @#!! (owner of gold's gym wem) told my wife 2 years ago just email me that you want to terminate your contract and it was all good that he would cancel her membership. Today 2 years later the collection agency is calling wanting another 500 dollars. One can only hope hope that a ### such as this will get what's coming to him one day. She never looked into the contract and the conditions for cancelling a membership so some of the blame does fall on her shoulders for letting this ### pull his scam on her. What us this world coming too you absolutly cannot trust anyone.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    ARYN OHRI Mar 28, 2014

    Serious Complain against Gold Gym Raipur


    This is very serious complain against Gold Gym Raipur-Chhattisgarh.
    I along with my four friends took the membership of Gold Gym Last year in the
    moth of Feb-13. Since the very first day the services, cleanliness and the
    behaviors of manager and the owner was so pathetic that we all regretted that why
    we have taken the membership.

    Some staff along with other members smokes in the changing
    room and toiled and during the night time they use to drink beer and whisky in
    the canteen area. I have taken the photograph also and going to post online.

    The cleanliness is so poor that more than 90% members keep
    on complaining the owner but he never listen and ignore everybody. The massage
    room is so pathetic that if you enter the massage room, you will feel like
    vomiting and that was the reason I did not avail my balance 10 free massages.
    The massage person being appointed by Gold gym Raipur, use to chew tobacco all
    the time and throw saliva of tobacco in the room itself.

    The condition of Gold Gym Raipur is so bad that 40% of
    Cardio machine is not in the working condition and the owner never took the
    pain to get it rectified. The owner of Gold Gym Raipur’s main and foremost
    motto is to earn money and money and nothing else. You can send your team to
    get the survey done and only then you will come to know the reality of Gold Gym
    Raipur.

    I have come to know that the owner of Gold Gym Raipur never
    pay salary in time to their staff and that was the reason the dieterician ran
    away and left the job. The Gold Gym Raipur is taking extra 3% from the clients
    who pay the money by credit card and never use to give the receipt for the
    payment being made in cash. It seems, some fishy is going on inside.


    I have visited Gold Gym across the world and this is the
    first Gym where I could see and realize, “as if I am in some local and non
    branded Gym.”

    When I joined we were told that the spinning classes will be
    the part of yearly membership but just after one month the spinning classes
    were shut down. The TV which is being installed in the Cardio machine never
    works because the owner never recharges the “airtel” connection. Out of 10
    machines the recharge is being done only in 20% machine.

    Kindly let me know why the action should not be taken
    against the Raipur franchise and cancel his franchise. The Gold gym should take
    appropriate against the franchise otherwise nobody will be willing to join the
    Gold Gym of Raipur. I have left the Gold Gym and will join AB’s.


    Aryn Ohri

    LLB

    (Foreign Correspondent
    of India)

    9300940095

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Risa R Jan 09, 2015

    DO NOT SIGN UP WITH GOLDDS GYM!! Golds Gym is horrible. My contract was finished over 2 years ago, and it went on to automatic rollover (I did NOT resign). I want to cancel now and it will take 91 days, yes 91 days from the first day of the next payment cycle after the receive a cancellation letter, and it must be express mailed. so this could take a solid 4 more months of payments. Pretty crappy deal seeing as I am not breaking my contract and its been finished for years.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    ShellieMR Mar 11, 2015

    I terminated my gym membership via email within the prescribed timeline (9/25/14) and yet they charged my account in the amount of $702 in December. Since that time I have been pursuing dispute protocol with my bank. Gold's provided my bank with a copy of a contract that contained a signature that I am disputing, irrespective my bank found in their favor as it is not their policy to confirm "fraudulent" signatures. Gold's will no longer return my phone calls or email nor will they provide me with contact information for the corporate office so that I can pursue my rightful refund and avoid the round-around that I am currently receiving. This is in regard to Kim Keyes and Karen G at the Cole Hollywood, CA location.

    0 Votes

Post your comment