First Datacancellation fee after term of contract

1
F

Called them to cancel my account after noticing some absurd fees like customer service fee $9.99, they told me i wasn't under contract anymore but that they would charge me a $75 fee for cancellation, iam pissed off!!!

Responses

  • Gs
    GSD Oct 07, 2008

    First Data is a thief as per me. I rather not have credit cards on my website or make people use Paypal.

    They charged me a one time fee for $119 for customer service fee (annual fee).

    The lady on the phone said it is in my contract.
    Wonderful.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Juniper Oct 10, 2008

    I had the same problem, except I called to cancel in September but they seem to have NO record of that, so now I have acrued the fee, on top of return check fees because I no longer have the account it was tied to. After speaking with the supervisor about the problem, and getting no where, I was told that there was no one "higher" I could speak with and the fee was nonrefundable. I was also told I am required to sign a cancellation notice, which I was not informed of in September when I thought I had successfully cancelled my account. I was also told that "that was in my contract". I requested a copy be faxed and mailed, I still have not received a fax so I have NO IDEA how I can successfully cancel my account and avoid further charges. It's a complete scam!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    roger greene Nov 10, 2008

    First Data is quick on the monthly service charge, but no one in customer service has any authority to discuss these "complaince" fees and where it is written that there is a $75 cancellation fee.
    This is bull ###. THESE PEOPLE SHOULD BE PUT OUT OF BUSINESS. SMALL BUSINESS OWNERS WAKE UP AND SAY TO HELL WITH CREDIT CARDS

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul Nov 18, 2008

    Has anyone else seen the "Annual Compliance Service Fee" for $119.75 on their October 2008 statement? There has got to be a way to get out from under these thugs. Legal thugs they are.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Matt Clifford Jan 16, 2009

    This company is the biggest SCAM, and most unethical organization I have ever dealt with. I represent a NON profit organization with minimal cash flow. I went to cancel my account after a year long contract, and absurd fees started coming to light. Fee's such as $75 cancellation fee even though my contract has expired, they supposedly sent me a notification in the mail stating my fee's will be increased 200 %, which I never got.. I never received and email, phone call. or any other notification.

    This company is similar to the Bernie Madoff and Ken Lay...

    Never use them.

    Disgruntled user..

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    first data global leasing Jan 26, 2009

    They are definitely a rip-off company! I am presently filing complaints with the Attorney General Ofiices in Florida, Colorado and California. I plan on filing a complaint in every state that they do business and eventually in other countries. I f all of us would do like wise, there will be enough attention to hurt them in the market and make them change the way they do business and hurt people.

    Leslie Winget

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    first data global leasing Jan 26, 2009

    First Data Leasing NO GOOD and RIP-OFF!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    VictimofFraud May 10, 2009

    Check your credit report... First Data destroyed my credit!!! They might of done it to you too...
    Make sure you pull your credit report... If your situation is anything like what I experienced with First Data, then you should check your credit report. My story can be found on NewLawsNow.com ... Good luck...

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    ron83 Oct 09, 2009

    I have been with them for over 10 years and all of this started in the last year or so since they were sold to a private company. Yes, they will take money any time they feel like it out of your account without notice. If you try to do a stop payment on them they will just send it again with added fees with a different name so you have to keep spending more money on stop payments for different names. Then when you call them they will tell you they need written notice to close the account and tell you to fax it to some non existent fax number and keep taking money out until you have to close the account and start a new one. DO NOT EVER DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    firstdatascam Mar 08, 2010

    http://twitter.com/firstdatascam

    Go to this twitter link and retweet our post. We will let everyone know about their practices.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    [email protected] Mar 31, 2011

    Just so everyone knows: PCI Compliance is real, and as a business owner you are required to be compliant; read PCI DSS as part of the amended FACTA resolution at www.ftc.gov. (I'm sure you've already read this as you are a business owner) This Federal Act mandates compliance of everyone that handles a credit card. And you will be charged a fee by First Data, North American Bancard, RBS Link, Chase PaymentTech and every single other processor in the US. So good luck avoiding that.
    On another note; you obviously do not know who First Data is; First Data is the First credit card processor and owns the Omaha Network. So everytime you get a direct deposit, one of your checks gets sent as an ACH, or even when you are a consumer at a restaurant swiping your card; First Data processes the transaction. Every single credit, debit or ACH is handled on First Data's network. They are the "China" of processing, they sell their processing to every other processor in America. So your complaints, are a jolly laugh. Go somewhere else they don't care, your new processing company has to get their processing from First Data anyway.

    0 Votes
  • El
    Ellie ann Aug 24, 2011

    im doing research on first data on wiether their ethics ar corrrect or incorrect and your info has helped me to make a diecison thank you very much.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laurie St. Jacques Apr 11, 2017

    I totally agree with all these people that got taken advantage by First Data .My story is similar . How can a company get away with this ? Why doesn't the USA do something about this? I'm ok if my credit goes bad because of this company if that's all that can happen 😔

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem