The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
First Data Merchant Servicesdeceptive business practices

R

We have been accepting credit card payments through several different processors and because of good rates promised we switched to merchant warehouse and merchant one for some of our business stores. Both merchant warehouse and merchant one clear through a company called "merchant services" with a PO Box 5009 Hagerstown, MD [protected] address. We did some more investigation and discovered that the company is First Data Merchant Services. Be aware that it is true that this company will freeze your account and hold funds without notification if there is a chargeback. Now chargebacks do happen from time to time because of several different reasons but that does not mean that the processors should freeze your funds from other incoming sales. We have never experienced this with other large banks such as chase or bank of america. Their security department is very poor at returning phone calls and does not provide clear details. This company obviously does not practice complete disclosure. Also the most notable is there company is poor at sending correspondence and notification of chargebacks. We received a letter on Nov 21, 2009 for chargeback case that needed a reply on Nov 20, 2009. It is not understandable how that sort of oversight can happen at a credit card processing company since they are responsible for so many transactions. If you have encountered similar issues with your credit card company please contact your state's Attorney General and the FTC. A similar review can be found about Merchant Services here:
/URL removed/

Please submit your complaint to the FTC. It is very important.
https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

Responses

  • Ju
    Juan Marcano Dec 14, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    "Buyer beware" Merchant Services do not service "YOU" the merchant, they need to change their name to "ME-ME"
    Here is their scam:
    Card holder placed a dispute 10/20/2016 we responded 10/21/2016 the charge back was reverted in our favor.
    On 11/21/2016 the cardholder placed another dispute, Merchant Services first agent we talked to alleged they "fax" the dispute us same day, when asked about the transmission report he had no clue what what i was asking about...he proceed to tell us that the cases "was close" for no response in the allowed time. Called again to talk to a supervisor...they proceed to tell us that they do no fax they use use US Mail post, and they say they sent that out on 11/21/2016 By now you may know that we got charge back due to no "response" when ask to reopen the case due to non received of document they proceed to say you need to file a "small claim case" in court. Please roll this report to as many merchants out there. I will be looking to hire an attorney on pro-bono to file a class action suit against MS. Please email me if you want to be apart to [email protected]
    Lets stop this looser to take advantage of small business owners.

    0 Votes
  • Ye
    Yehoshua Pinto Nov 29, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too experience the same with Merchant Services. They don't receive emails and their online system is faulty and impossible to upload documentation. They only accept faxes which come in poorly and fail to see clearly and dispute a chargeback on vendor's behalf. Losing disputes and claiming there is nothing they can do about it. I lost a lot of money with them.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tom Carintar Aug 04, 2015

    Stay away from this company. Once you have signed on with your bank information, it will be next to impossible to cancel the account and any month withdraw fees!

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    GitSum Oct 09, 2014

    Is this not the sleaziest industry that honest business owners have to get tainted with? How professional is a company that makes an appointment to meet with your entire management team, verifies the appointment, then no-shows without any accountability? That is First Data Merchant Services! I guess I should not have poked so many holes in their scam sales pitch when they called; "ZERO PERCENT CHARGE ASSESSED ON ALL TRANSACTIONS!" (How could they honor their commitment to meet after that?)

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Louis and Susan Donato Sep 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    your co. is very poorly operated on the way you handle chargeback. My wife and I have had a problem with a chargeback which I consider chargeback fraud. Mr account is under Art Floral Shoppe 335 Highway #35 Red Bank, NJ 07701 #[protected] I am sure you can look up the records on this chargeback over 400.00. The customer in this case was in dispute of this with no proof are notifying to us about this. To my wife and I we feel this is extoration and should never have happened. Your Company on the other hand did not acknowledge when we sent the proper paper work, then they said it was to late. Then we sent it a second time and they said it was to late. My wife and I found all the workers very rude and not informing. I want a call from someone who will listen to our full story and explanation of this matter. If I can prove there is fraud in this matter on both cardholder and merchant service I will seek professional advice. Louis Donato and Susan Donato

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    ward0 Dec 13, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i have used merchant warehouse for about 2 years. we started a bar and wanted a tip line. it has taken about a month and half to get things figured out. we needed another terminal as 2 checkouts. Ended up starting another account as classified under another catogory. Any way started to check out other merchants and came accross Sam's Club one and i see to many complaints here to switch. haven't had any problem with merchant warehouse rate is good and when i sent information to them to compare my salemen brought up some hidden fees. So am getting a cost comparsion from them but after reading these i think i will stay. One other thing is once i looked at the cost of leasing buy your termanal you will pay for it in one year with the lease, so you could buy 4 in the 4 year lease they offer and you can't get out of it.
    I don't care what rates they give you with all the reward cards out there you will be paying about 3% and if you are paying more change you merchant. Give Merchant Warehouse a look. The only complaint i have with them is that when i wanted to get the tip line i would get coustomer service and they would transfer and i would get tech and they would transfer to sales to write order and get cut off and have to start all over and get cut off on hold. Rule number one get extention of who you are talking to as to get them back and not have to start over.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    justpchy00 Jul 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you are still having issues with First Data, please don't hesitate to call. [protected] Tiffany

    1 Votes
  • FDMS First Data Merchant Services and Yahoo e commerce Scam-Fraud
    I have a yahoo internet business, yahoo only allows FDMS First Data Merchant Services as there platform for there shopping carts on there stores, I have been open for 3 years my sales have doubled in July 2009 I checked my bank account and was not receiving my deposits I contacted first data and they stated since my volume has gone up I am higher risk, so they would take 10% out of each of my batches until 10, 000.00 was in a reserve. Then in Jan 2010 was again contacted due to my 5% dispute rating (this dispute is not averaged by closed disputes but by disputes opened- internet business are Higher risk, and people dispute if they do not receive there product in 2 weeks even if the tracking shows it is on its way and the website states it can take up to 3 weeks to receive the merchandise and every product on the site state"2-3 business days for the handling time"- so I was then told I had to write out a plan to lower my disputes and they would be once again taking 10% out of my batches till another $10, 000.00 so a total of 20, 000.00 would be in reserve. March 2010 after they had the $20, 000.00 they stopped funding me again and gave me a week to find a new cc processor and told me they will hold the $20, 000.00 for 6 months from the last day I processed threw them. I formed a corporation and open a new account under the corporation- I was just told that they will not be funding me again and they are closing that account because of my previous account that was under my personal ss #- they are holding over another $10, 000.00 of mine. This is now a total of $30, 000.00 which is double the amount required to start a federal lawsuit- I then started doing some internet searches on first data and found several other people who experience this same issue and still have not received a dime back of the money first data is holding. Yahoo only allows there online ecommerce businesses to use a processor that is first data merchant services compatable so I am stuck and feel helpless as so many other people that have been scammed the same from First Data Merchant Services FDMS who there security department who makes these decisions is in Melville New york- [protected] but when you call no one answers they promise a call back with in 24 hours - they call you back in that time frame to notify you they are holding funds and canceling your service- but not when you are trying to get your money back- it has been 2 days I have left 6 messages and no return call- my next phone call is to a attorney to start Federal proceedings- This is one of the reasons the economy is the way it is- I have had to let 2 employees go due to this loss of income, and if this continues I will have to close my business and file bankruptcy these corporations tied to the banking system and credit card industry need to be stopped and our government is not doing a thing or passing any new laws to stop this- The middle class will no longer be in existence as long as company's and there "sister company's" like First data Merchant services are allowed to destroy and take advantage of the hard working middle class business and people. They need to be stopped!

    1 Votes
  • Ic
    ICJGBF Feb 11, 2010

    Yeah First Data is owned by JP MORGAN CHASE and they also own a ton of 3rd party ISO business as well as a piece of Wells Fargo and Sun Trust. They set it up that way so they are not considered a monopoly. They actually compete against each other for business. Just an FYI.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.