Fingerhutfraud

O
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

FINGERHUT gave my brother and his wife James+Beth Shelton of Dayton, Ohio credit usuing my name and ssi to buy items from their catalog, this is fraud and theft at its worst. I never gave anyone permission, they stole my identity, they bought space heaters, boombox and mattress, I have contacted the company, they will give anyone credit without checking addresses, I live in a different state and I am pissed. I have been sending letters to everyone I know that may help me.

Responses

  • Am
    Amanda Williams Jun 25, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They Say I Got To Send a photo ID an a copy of my social just for them to fix my account. I think it's bull

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    JC Grandinboy Jun 30, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Someone stole my identity, charged items and it ended-up on my credit report... Company said that it wasn't fraud. These a$$hats need to be shutdown.

    0 Votes
  • St
    strigg30 Apr 06, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had problems with fingerhut constantly over the last four years. I had paid my account in full with 0 balance. 4 months later my account was reopened, according to their records i changed my email address by one number and changed my address to a town in CA. I am an Illinois resident and have been my whole life. So going through states attorney and attorney general and 4 years of taped conversations, their solution was to credit my account for the charges of the items. After 4 years of interest on price shipping and tax, they are currently stating I owe them 800 dollars. I have the statement before all this happened showing 0 balance with no other purchases except the fraudulent one. I have my credit report showing they closed my account with 0 balance. After four years and obvious fraud and 1 month of constant calls I have heard it all. ne day i spent two hours on phone with them and each time they would say another department needed to assist me i went through fraud billing and customer service. In one phone call i was transferred to each department at least three times with no assistance given. I talked to a supervisor today who said the only reason they creditied at all was because we filed complaint with BBB. Then he proceeded to hang up on me. My fiance does podcasts and was frustrated and asked the supervisor if he would like to have this discussion on his podcast. The supervisor responded by he doesn't react to threats. How is airing a customer service call on a podcast a threat if you arent doing anything wrong. Its free advertisement for a company that is proud of its customer service and policies. Its only a threat if you know what you are doing is disreputable. So the supervisor said everything I ever need to know about this company. As soon as my fiance sets up podcast and uploads all the recordings of our dealings with fingerhut, we will be doing a live call with all info we ever obtained will be there. So in front of 100 thousand unique streamers we will expose this live. we will post link when date is set. We encourage all who are current customers or previous customers that encountered this problem to join in and upload any documents you have of their bad business practices.For information purposes we will be contacting each of the members on bluestem brands board of directors during this podcast. If we can't get a positive exchange we will post their numbers online for the customers to contact them directly.

    1 Votes
  • Co
    Corby Lee Stewart Jun 18, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Fingerhut is the worst. Someone ordered products on my account and i refused to pay. They sent me to a lawyer who is now scamming me for $632 of stuff i never ordered or recived!!!

    0 Votes
  • La
    Lauren Makar Feb 27, 2017

    I am going through the same thing with Fingerhut! Somebody went on a shopping spree with my personal information. They ordered and night vision goggles to my house, in Texas, and some sort of face cream to their house which appears to be in California! I sent affidavits to Fingerhut saying that I am not the one who ordered the items and I am about to send a police report to them too. I am going to contact Experian. The same person tried to open a multitude of credit cards from other stores but we're were successful. Fingerhut is still calling me trying to get money out of me! I called their fraud department and explain to them what had happened but apparently that was a total waste of time. I waited on the phone for two hours just to talk to them! I am going to contact the Better Business Bureau and I suggest other people do the same. Fingerhut is a fraudulent company because they let crooks get away with this by not checking accounts before they let their customers order products. They are probably hoping we all just pay the bill to get this off of our credit reports! No way!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy Cole Oct 20, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wish Fingerhut never sent me that catalog. They are the WORST, the absolute WORST Company that remains in business. Briefly, my story is, while almost done clearing up my credit (and that was difficult) I ordered a flat screen TV from Fingerhut. I decided not to take on any more debts at that point (Xmas) and sent it back immediately. Fingerhut, of course, "never got it". Unfortunately for me, I had no proof at all, just my word against theirs, and the credit bureaus believed them and my credit, which would have been perfect, is now Fair. I know they got it. They had to have. We shipped from the USPS and they are pretty damn good at their jobs. Now, after reading all this, I have to tell you, we need a plan. We need to start a Class Action Lawsuit against them. I have the email address and phone number of someone who wants to do so also, so I'll leave you my e-mail address so anybody interested can join us once it gets started. Also, please, for me, could everyone that is willing PLEASE call the 3 major credit agencies for me. I have no proof, just my word, but it's the truth. I just can't get it off my credit report without paying for it and I'm sorry, I can't do that. It goes against my moral fiber. So, here's my email. [email protected], phone #[protected]. My name is Nancy, if you didn't figure that out from my email address! Let's bring them down.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DorRuss May 26, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Nancy Cole I've heard about this horror but have never been affected however the same fraud was just discovered on my husband today. How this company is able to continue criminal activity I'll never understand. Afer some research I'm finding there are quite a few steps to take which involve placing a 90'day fraud alert with one of the credit reporting agencies who'll alert the others, check the free report your entitled to, then file a report with the Federal Trade Commission which then gives you a printed report called a ID Theft Affidavit so you can contact your local authorities. At this point you contact any of the companies you are disputing and inform them that you are a victim of ID Theft. This should be followed up with letters sent to them certified/return receipt which you keep for your files. Send these disputes certified/return receipt to each of the 3 credit reporting agencies informing them of the fraud and request the accounts be removed from your credit files. This initiates an investigation by the credit reporting agencies within 30 days which is followed by investigation results in writing notifying you the accounts were removed. Until everyone affected by this horrible crime and invasion in your life gets a handle on their rights and acts on them, this nightmare will only continue to spread. Don't forget to pray the criminals get what's coming to them and good luck fighting back!

    1 Votes
  • Kb
    K.Bailey Oct 11, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The best advice I can offer is to contact the FTC, Federal Trade Commission. There are enough complaints out there to warrant an investigation on this company. Luckily I did NOT give them access to my credit card or bank account. I plan to contact the BBB, the FTC as well as all 3 credit reporting bureaus and I strongly suggest all above do the same. I am NOT paying for stuff I returned and like someone else stated, that's my policy. A letter and proof of return to credit bureaus should help them with due process.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Niasa Jul 13, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I paid off my Fingerhut credit card at the beginning of the month through my bank's bill pay. I have the confirmation number and proof that it was debited from my account.

    6 days later, Fingerhut still had not posted the payoff to my account and charged me interest on the unpaid balance.

    When I provided the proof to Fingerhut, they stated a glitch in some system and would post correctly in 24-48 hours.

    48 hours later, when it should have been fixed..surprise, it wasn't. The person I spoke with stated that I should wait 24-48 hours before following up.

    I am trying to buy a house, that I am supposed to close on tomorrow, not happening because of their mistake. I need a letter stating it is paid off, but they will not provide it until the glitch is taken care of regardless that they have the proof it has been paid.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Miguel An Jan 20, 2016

    I had the same issue, as posted by other person above. I moved to Florida from Ohio and received a forwarded item for play station from fingerhut. I returned the item and still am receiving letters that my "account" has been charged after their "investigation" concluded.
    Called a fraud department, and they say they will call back in a few days.
    I do not understand what is going on

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    Whitmerite Dec 20, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am currently in a battle with fingerhut conceding an iPad that they shipped to Alabama. I live in WV!!!
    The worst part is I stopped this shipment and they let it go through the same day that I cancelled it. I have contacted my states attorney general and am in the process of finding an attorney to perhaps file a class action suit. What a fake company that operates in the US but cannot even US workers.

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Erin Gray Nov 06, 2015

    I opened an account with Fingerhut in order to establish credit when I had no credit. The entire time I used the account I loved it. Easy cheap payments, a user friendly website, and all my items always showed up. After I had them for a while I decided I had earned enough good credit and paid the bill off in full. I left the account with a zero balance and stopped using it. Flash forward 5 months and I get a late fee taken from my bank account from them. I know I didn't buy anything so I went to login. My login info had been changed. I called them to see how to get into my account and ask why they were charging late fees. They told me the information had been changed and the new address they were shipping items to was in Missiouri... That;s funny because I have never lived out of California in my entire life. I told them I lived in California and that I was not making those purchases and they should close down the account immediately. Not only did they not give me my login info even though they were charging my bank account. They wouldn't even give me the address of the location that was making purchases...They told me they could only send a letter to the address in Missouri...ok? A year later, after I have been working with creditrepair.com to get rid of them, I get a letter from their collections department for up to 2, 400 dollars worth of stuff. I told them to close it and they let them continue to make purchases!!! I now have to file police reports and my credit went down 200 points!!!

    TLDR: Never use fingerhut if you want a secure credit line. They seem user friendly, but when there are issues they are impossible to work with.

    1 Votes
  • Me
    megan88 Nov 18, 2014

    I just found out that I have an account with them that I have never created and owe them $. They keep giving me numbers to call and when I finally had enough an told them to put me on with a supervisor they can never find one and after 10 min of waiting want you to either call back or they will call you . So continuing to wait. Hopefully we get somewhere case this is CRAZY!! Has anyone else got this problem resolved?

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    lost lagoon Mar 26, 2014

    I have just had an finger hut operator attempt to steal my identity!! After catching on to the abnormal questioning I asked to speak to a superviser...SHE had the same Nigerian accent, gave me a fake operator number...later she called me on her personal phone and requested that I upgrade my account information !!! GET REAL!! Trying to report this took three days to get transferred to a "fraud" dept, that said they would call me back within 48 hrs, even set up a recognition code! It has been 48 hrs, NO CALL BACK...operator's at customer (dis) service KEEP LYING and say there is no fraud dept, trying to get a supervisor is near impossible! Asking for legal gets you HUNG UP ON!!!...WHAT THE HELL IS UP WITH FINGER HUT??? are they in business to rip people off? Of course NOW they say I am delinquent on payment and have charged me late fees!!! FEES BECAUSE THEY SCREWED UP!!!
    Looks like its time to lawyer up...whos with me on a class action law suit???

    0 Votes
  • Go
    gouths Feb 15, 2014

    Last week ran a credit report and found my score was all the way down to 600s. Guess what...a $800 delinquency report from Fingerhut and account profit loss and write off. I have not even heart of fingerhut, not received any item for the amount and I have no clue what the purchase item is. I just got an affidavit from them today to sign off and I hope it will be all cleared from my account. I have also filed a police report along with it. This has never happen to me and all this makes me little nervous about being prone to more identity theft in the future.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BEAR7777 Jun 10, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hate the fruad they get away with!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    edblee Jun 10, 2012

    i was just bill 69.99 for this credit watchman and i didnt agree to it either i want it taken off my bill

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andrerm May 08, 2012

    I suddently received a Playstation 3 in an old address (my ex). It was in my name, bought with a newly open Fingerhut credit account, to my name, only I never heard of fingerhut in my life. I had identity theft before, but this time I suspect (no accusing, but only my personal opinion) that fingerhut has something to do with it. I say that because what kind of identity thief would order stuff for myself and send to an old address? besides, when I called, they were so proactive and prepared to deal with identity theft issue that even felt like they were being suspicious... as I mentioned, I had identity theft before, and it usually take some work to get everything fixed... but not with fingerhut, the first person who picked up the phone already knows all they have to do with ease hum... just a headsup. I might be wrong, this is a mere personal opinion. Maybe there are more people with this issue?

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BEAR7777 Mar 31, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    FINGERHUT HAS BECOME THE WORST ONLINE MERCHANT DONT CREDIT PAYMENTS EVEN WITH PROOF FROM MY BANK HOW THE HELL DO THEY GET AWAY WITH THIS STUFF??????????????? SCAM AFTER SCAM

    1 Votes
  • Ho
    Howard McManus Dec 17, 2011

    I went on Fingerhut.com and applied for credit. I only qualified for $125. That is ridiculous.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roxy60 Nov 10, 2011

    This company has been charging $69.99 to my Fingerhut account for several years now. They do not have a website. When I entered Credit Watchman on Google, this was one of the options I was given. I don't know if you can help me or not, but I hope so. I am not familiar with Credit Watchman, and I already have another company monitoring my credit. I do not need this service, and would like to cancel this and have the $69.99 credited back to my Fingerhut account. Please email me at [email protected], as soon as possible. I look forward to hearing from you soon! Thank you. Lavonne

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mandfame Jun 19, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On the bill due in April $391.76 was the ballance, $28.99 was due on

    4-11-11 and $30.00 was sent on 4-2-11 on check 2015.

    Then they did send a bill due in May. The bill did say, I does say,

    I do owe $548.11 and I did not order anything in April and May.

    I did exchange an RC Skunk, so they are making me pay for the exchanged

    RC Skunk. I did talk to the ST. Cloud Police, since I do have the feeling,

    I am being robbed. I AM MAD!!!

    0 Votes
  • Di
    disappointedinfingerhut Jun 16, 2011

    yeah i just found out today that i have had a membership since 2009, and that i agreed to it with a phone call through fingerhut. NOT TRUE> I told them this is the first time i have ever received a postcard or mail from them about it. I didn't even know anything about this company (credit watchman) until TODAY. Why would i agree to a company i don't know about and 70 bucks a month? I am having an investigation being opened. And I'm going to report fraud to both companies.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    lucy husser Jan 06, 2011

    I want credit in full for a membership for credit watchman that I never approved.

    0 Votes
  • De
    DebraNtheSouth Dec 21, 2010

    Watch your statements closely... just discovered they have charged me for 4 months for a protection I didn't authorize. Their response was could remove 2 mos only. Have had previous issues with them charging me protection plans on items but saw and got those off fast. So not worth dealing with these people.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Garrett Mar 24, 2010

    Nve In feb. I was "pre-approved for a 400. credit, I ordered approx 75. worth of merchandise. Amonth later I still waited for the item. finally I reached customer service and was doubled talked right and left the clerk was tring to tell me its not a gaurenteed cre4dit when clearly the notification was rppre-approved not pre-qualified.

    she refused to transfer to a supervisor, these people prey on people trying to catch a break . sadly; I needed the item but would not send a penny to them. beware of them FINGERHUT IS OFFERING FRAUD DEALS! never never again.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    granpicasso Mar 13, 2010

    well does she speack spanish because is in spanish too, still I hate comapnies that autorenew your membership

    0 Votes
  • Ik
    Ike Ino Mar 28, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Co sent 98 yr old lady a card to be returned OR start paying. Lady does not even speak English.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.