Menu
CB Online Scams ESPChat ESP Chat is nothing more than an obvious Scam
ESPChat

ESPChat review: ESP Chat is nothing more than an obvious Scam 28

S
Author of the review
5:46 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

ESP-chat.com is another fraud and obvious scam exactly like Tara-Medium.com. They send out these "convincing" pre-scripted emails from some outsourced server in Nevada and China, hoping you will take the bait.

They then ask for an absurdly low fee of $2 per month to predict your future and run out the door. I first knew it was a scam when I looked up this company's dodgy history. The reading didn't get one thing correct about me besides not winning the lottery. Actually they didn't even get that right as I did already win a mini-lottery inside the UNITED STATES but that's beside the point. The company ESP Chat is basically a fraud and must be avoided at all costs, as I decided to unsubscribe before even trying their deliberately deceptive service. Glad I did.

People need to do their due diligence with anything that you find online. If an amazing psychic says he/she is going to "get rid of all your problems" and charge you $2 per month to do it, they are obviously either not confident in their skills or simply a scam. Real actual psychics do not ever charge for a visit and when they do any advanced consultation, the fee is as high as $160 because they offer quality service. Its easy to tell the reputable ones from the scammers because most scammers can't pay anyone to give them good testimony, & real psychics have hundreds of names/videos of people they helped offered free.

I think anytime you got a question about a company/psychic or anything else, do a quick search on them. Reviews tell the whole tale. Be smart about it, because the internet is littered with scams. (And they're very deplorable & obvious today)

Update by successones
Oct 31, 2011 8:51 pm EDT

So where exactly are these glowing video reviews again?
I just had to ask, because the last ten emails I got sent sounded like a telemarketing script. I feel your company could do a great many things to improve this product. Having experience in professional marketing, I think this may fall under the deceptive practices act.

Oddly I have asked thirteen people what they thought of this service, and have seen nothing but run of the mill complaints. I searched this Melody out and discovered she has used other names. There seems to be quite a number of people who claim to receive pre-scripted emails from the ESP psychics network. I invite you to explain why your service sends out prepackaged emails to your subscribers, that all look the same. I'm sure they would like to hear it.

More ESPChat reviews & complaints

ESPChat - Fraud 16
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
ESPChat - Charged my card & never heard from them 28
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
ESPChat - I want to cancel this 11
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
ESPChat - can't cancel 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
ESPChat - fraudulent charges unauthorized 12
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
ESPChat - i want a refund 2
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
28 comments
P
P
Peppy69
Hornell, US
Sep 28, 2022 7:01 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Until they give your private information out in a chat room. Be careful...

P
P
Peppy69
Hornell, US
Sep 28, 2022 6:58 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I used this service until they gave my public information out during a public chat YES be careful!

T
T
TonysGirl
, US
Aug 22, 2019 3:27 pm EDT

I don't get what the deal is here, people... You pay $24.00 for a whole year's membership, and you have 30 days to use the service, if you are not happy you are fully refunded, no questions asked. If you don't use the service and then complain about it, you're a [censored]. It clearly states for entertainment purposes only, but there are definitely some knowledgeable psychics on this website. I have built a relationship with a couple of them and they have truely helped me and some of the situations I have been in. They are not a "Scam". A scam company takes your money and runs, they won't refund, or have a phone number for customer service. Just because it doesn't work for you means it's a damn scam, seriously people! Ugh. Try it, if you don't like it, get your money back. I, myself, will continue to use their services, happily. Just my thoughts anyhow...

T
T
tatag555
, US
Sep 22, 2018 1:22 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I got banned as of 9-21-18 from espchat all because I noticed I was charged membership fee to cover for 3yrs, and did a dispute because I never saw a refund for the over charges that they should have caught onto. I had made payments to other places, and they automatically refund me as soon as they notice I over paid them, and more than 4 companies done this. I do not know maybe espchat hoping we do not see it, and get away with it. you never know. I mean I already caught them in their lies, and with proof. I read their terms&conditions word for word, and privacy policy, and even printed it out. nowhere does it mention "if a dispute is filed, you will be banned of espchat use." membership is $24 for the year. I was charged $72 instead. they got two extra. they had plenty of time to catch, and see that their client was over charged, and refund $48. should have been caught on their end at their payment processing dept. is cool thou out of all their psychics only two are good. when psychics tell you the samething for over two yrs then two later then something is wrong, they are not good. tarot readings go no more than a year out; it is said that a year is enough time for changes to occur with freewill. I have my personal psychic I talk to, do not have to worry about time, just pay her low fee, and she will take her time to explain everything, and answers your questions with no rush. here is her number text or call her and tell her I referred you hehe [protected]. she will read over the phone, she that good. I will be getting into doing my own tarot readings since I have psychic abilities. who needs espchat smhh; they are a mess, have no system on how to run a good business. maybe if they focus less on pushing buttons to skip clients off the lines, and focus more on the important things, they will do well, but not...

T
T
TonysGirl
, US
Aug 22, 2019 3:28 pm EDT
Replying to comment of tatag555

Did you call customer service to see if they can refund your money instead of notifying your bank? Doubtful.

T
T
tatag555
, US
Aug 22, 2019 9:28 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Replying to comment of TonysGirl

After reading so many reviews from many places of many complaining is impossible to get a refund back, so I just disputed the extra charges myself. It was easiest and fastest; I did not want to jump too many loops. I did not know that it goes back to them as fraud. I told them but they didn't care, and I been with them for 5yrs, and bam all because I disputed extra charges. They still owe $24. They should have caught that mistake, they had over a month.

I
I
Inlove
, US
Jul 26, 2016 8:48 pm EDT

I complain about how I get intentionally booted out from the same chatroom if I go to bottom of line for a time in same chatroom; their rules is stated clearly that members can enter the chatroom as many times as wanted, and clearly states members can ask the psychics any question even though some of the psychics only do general reading only, or no general to ask a question then to top it off too many technical problems with the espchat website. Is just BS in general..

C
C
Countryfairy
Pueblo, US
Dec 06, 2015 7:33 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I highly disagree, I have never had a problem with Espchat. I just renewed my basic yearly membership, for $24/12 = $2 per month. I have received great services and can access the group chat from 9:00AM-midnight EST, 365 days a week. For those who are calling ESPchat a scam keep in mind it cost money to run a network like ESP and the psychics who work on this network need to get paid as well. I have done my due diligence, and for those who are claiming they could not get an available psychic, you probably didn't know the psychics available on the front page are available for private chat consultations, as well as written consultations, you can even schedule appointments. Read the terms and conditions, and the privacy statements. I have done it. And if you want to only pay $2 a month you can only participate in the group chat. There is a group chat calendar of the psychics available between 9:00AM and midnight EST.

I
I
idkwhy
, US
Dec 06, 2015 2:27 pm EST

Eh why complain for $2 a month but why do they ask for 12 months pay in advance this is why it would be more acceptable as a reputable company if they charged $5 a month I think. But im not paying 24 months why dont we get a free 1 or 2 daytrial if it is really legitimate

B
B
Brownt2
Clayton, US
Apr 30, 2015 10:48 pm EDT

Total scam! I too began to recieve Melodys emails. After signing up & never being able to get an available pychic, I too am in the process of trying to cancel. Phone numbers don't work! I'm contacting bank and disputing it there, no services were rendered so probably your best bet of getting your funds back for other victims!

C
C
Countryfairy
Pueblo, US
Apr 07, 2015 12:03 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

If ESPchat provides a service to you for $24 a year meaning you can attend the group chat, get a four minute reading. Nobody has ever called me or tried to try to sell me something extra, I like the psychics and the services never had a problem. I strongly advice to read the terms and conditions before joining anything. The bottom line you cannot expect to receive a service and not having to pay for anything. Psychics or Intuitive who are offering their services have to eat and pay their bills too.

N
N
Nikia7
Texarkana, US
Jan 18, 2015 4:03 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I too have received emails from ESP chat. They say for $2.00 per month. $24.00 total they will give you psychic advice. I deleted the emails, I thought it was a scam.

S
S
s clark
Wenatchee, US
Dec 06, 2014 10:27 pm EST

on the 2nd day of this December(2014) I foolishly did pay the $24.00 for their 1 year membership, and was immediately promo-ed to try their 'Inner Circle' ( with all sorts of added benefits) for a FREE 30 day trial period, 'to try it out', whereby I wouldn't be charged anything until the end of the 30 days (if I wanted to continue ?).So I did "BITE" on this also..., but when they quickly flashed on my screen that THEY WERE UNABLE TO PROCESS 'THIS' PAYMENT (so that the payment did not succeed !? ), and 'THIS ORDER" could not be successfully processed (?), I KNEW I had been "duped' because they were immediately attempting to withdraw this $39.00 payment as quickly as they could, even though they had said no such payment would be charged until at the END of the "30 day FREE trial period" ( I normally "place" only enough funds in my account to 'cover" exactly what I KNOW that I intend to pay, for whatever ) But it was at this point, where (instead) they did IMMEDIATELY try to withdraw the $39.00 from my acct.( instead of waiting until after the 'stated' 30 days trial period ) at this point IT BECAME EXTREMELY OBVIOUS (to me) they were not on the 'up & up' with me, I was simply being another of their "suckers", another vulnerable idiot, duped & 'pulled in' by their "SPAM" operation..., AND the phone number that they list as their 'contact number' [protected]), I have UNsuccessfully made repeated efforts to call them, only to 'hear' ... " this is no longer a 'working number'... (?), [ I have tried calling the phone number AFTER having tried to contact them by way of their online customer support address at < support@espchat.com > ( which is how 'they' list it, as shown on their website) without any success here either, as it 'bounces me off ' or sends me to a website called WIZARDCANCELATION, that wants me to pay them $35.00 in order to get me cancelled (and strangely enough, the 'contact' phone number shown here is the very same as for espchat [ [protected] ] - ? ) My sole purpose for contacting them is to request a full refund of my $24.00 paid four days ago, on 12/12/2014 (for that $2.00 per mo. /.membership fee for the prepaid 1 year), supposedly I have a 14 day trial period for this $24.00 paid one year membership within which "I can cancel " for ANY reason, if I decide I do not want it (?) AND..., I ABSOLUTELY DO NOT..., DO NOT WANT IT, but seem NOT to be able to contact them by way of ANY of their listed 'contact' points ? My 'psychic' gave her name as 'Golden girl' .Instead of giving me a 'FREE" intro reading..., she told me 'some things' although VERY little .but instead she kept promo-ing the 'INNER CIRCLE'..., seems like they have their ' barracades 'in place.., so as to prevent (or avoid) anyone from successfully 'contacting' them for such things as requesting a cancellation or refund within the 'SO CALLED' trial period (?). I will try contacting the Better Business Bureau AND their state Attorney General, and the Federal Spam agency. (For each of the 'three cards' I would receive an email, from 'Golden Girl', for one card, on each of three successive days, that did not really give me any actual READING, but more like 'little 'tidbits' and lead-ons, but primarily PROMOTIONAL urging to Join the 'INNER CIRCLE' [ or 'Lose Out', ? ], NEVER REALLY GOT MUCH OF A READING for those 3 cards..., a rip-off actually, A total disappointment, altogether !

N
N
niecy34
Troy, US
Nov 09, 2014 1:51 am EST

I just receive an email from the site as well I really wanted to know about the cards but theres no way I am giving them my card number after readying all of this please someone shut them down fast

D
D
daisy 35
Livingston, US
Sep 10, 2014 3:05 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I think it a crock of bull to charge someone to cancel their free 30 day trail

P
P
Pmort78
Baltimore, US
Aug 07, 2014 6:54 am EDT

Melody,
once the 12 month /24 dolllar yearly fee was received their was no day to day contact as stated in the aggreement.
felt doped by the company.

B
B
123bobbiego
Reading, US
May 07, 2014 1:51 pm EDT

I keep getting these scripted emails from Mila as well but I sent her three different emails stating that I want to trust her but I am afraid to. I have asked her to send me an email letting me know something personal about myself that most people would not know but she has not responded. She gave me three cards in the beginning and said she sees things about my future but if she did she would respond to my emails. At this point I looked up this Company on the internet and found these horrible reviews. I do not understand why the government won't shut them down for fraud. And how can you call seeing someone's future good or bad for entertainment purposes. Thank god I did not give them my credit card info I was really close to doing that.

Bobbie in Pennsylvania 5/2014

D
D
Diana8889
Gaithersburg, US
May 01, 2013 3:24 am EDT

Thanks so much for your blog about this. She almost HAD ME. I was at the YES Button and then my 'gut' said no. I was going to send her an email and then see what she said back. I selected 3 Tarot cards too. I READ tarot cards. For only myself or if I want to know things about others but they are NEVER there and I NEVER tell them what comes up. Also, here is my THING ABOUT PSYCHICS---real ones...
If you have been blessed with a gift like, seeing ghosts, being able to communicate with the dead., Kinetics, being an Em-path, then they are gifts that can be taken as easily as they were given. You should never make money or use them for your own benefit. Always remember in any case, even if they seem to deserve it, DO NO HARM. You are not their Judge and Jury. Live your life as you see fit and stay away from people like this ad showed and other like them.
Blessed Be...and Have a Nice Day. :)

A
A
amit ahuja 192
, IN
Apr 22, 2013 4:37 pm EDT

i cancelled it but they still charged me amit ahuja mumbai

S
S
scam-scop
Winnipeg, CA
Mar 26, 2013 6:33 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Their no such organization as the cybercrime bureau, what the really are is advance ### who are out to steal your your money.Stay away from from these scammers.

W
W
wsphippie
32514, US
Mar 25, 2013 7:45 pm EDT

Jen18 is probably part of ESPCHAT. Haha. I received an email from Melody and thought it sounded scripted, so I went to research the email address. Poof! I found this page. Haha. My initial thoughts were right on! :-)

J
J
Jen18
, US
Mar 07, 2013 10:27 pm EST

Wow! I don't agree with these statements at all. I have been talking to Melody for about 6 months now on espchat and she has predicted EVERYTHING that has happened to me, good and bad since we started talking. I have only done the private chat a couple of times, I mostly do the group chat which is the $24 per year. I have been extremely satisfied with my subscription. She has really helped me to be patient in situations that could have turned out badly had I not been patient!

H
H
Henry Sampson
Naples, US
Nov 29, 2012 7:02 pm EST

MELODY after reading some of these comments i don't know what to think.Yesterday you had told me, i was going to smile from ear to ear after picking my three cards. Because i was going to come into some money, a job i would love, and love.You told me not to worry, that there were good thing in store for me. Well today (11/29/2012) i received a letter in the mail stating i would not be receiving any more unemployment checks after (12/29/2012). Here is something you don't know about me. I am a single dad of an special needs child who counts on me so he can survive. Excuse me but a true psychic would already know this or felt this. Then at the end of your response to me you ask for my credit card information. Well i am not that stupid or gullible to give that type of information out over the internet. If we don' t get kick out between now and (1/1/2013). That will be a blessing. Best way to get a hold of me Melody is by phone. I apologize if i said anything that offended you or said anything hurtful, but i tell it how is.

C
C
ChaCha.tx
Dallas, US
May 16, 2012 2:34 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ESP Chat...I have received you free consultation and Tarot card reading. I must say you have a well scripted method of marketing to people who takes the initial step of the free consultation. I am now being pursued to take the bait of paying $24 fee for further readings. Fortunately, I'm really a skeptic and have checked online for reviews. I did not fall for you bait.

But I must say...SHAME ON YOU ESP Chat for scamming so many. I have seen so many complaints and victim's report on Scambook or at this link http://www.scambook.com/report. Since the inception of this complaint to date I've estimated you have scammed close to $100K...with so many people not getting their refund back.

Your terms & conditions do indicate this is for entertainment only. But at the end of the day you are preying on the emotions and hopes of so many...where they end up sorely mis-entertained. This is a very very bad service...FRAUDULENT service. Your website should be SHUTDOWN...I'll figure a way to get you shutdown so you no longer SCAM so many folks.

E
E
ESPchat
Las Vegas, US
Jan 17, 2012 2:13 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Dear Jon54,
Melody is a member of the professional psychic team at ESPchat.com. In order to connect with psychics members need to log in to the site and visit one of our live psychic chat rooms. The chat rooms are open daily from 9:00 AM to Midnight EST. You can log on to the site and join a chat room when she is on line and ask her your questions. Check the Psychic schedule to see when she will be on line.
We cannot tell if you have signed up for a membership, but you can contact ESPChat.com’s customer service department by emailing: support@espchat.com, or by calling [protected]. Our correct web address is: www.ESPChat.com. The email address for letters is not a mistake it is method for sending letters. If you have any more questions or concerns, we hope you will contact our customer service department.
Sincerely,
ESPChat.com Customer Care

J
J
Jon54
Mountain View, US
Jan 15, 2012 11:47 pm EST

I had received a email from Melody myself. Of course to buy into the 12months for ESP chat 24/7. What I can't understand is why everyone is referring to ESPChat.com ? Melody's email is: Melody@ESPChat.net . I don't know if it makes a difference in trying to communicate with them or not, seems like it would if you had the wrong address. That's what I noticed on the fraudulent scam reports that it was ESPChat.com instead of .net I wonder if it does make a big difference in getting nothing. Just wondering, as far as my future I pretty much know already how it will go if I don't put any effort to it, wouldn't you think?

E
E
ESPchat
Las Vegas, US
Oct 31, 2011 8:32 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Dear successones,

ESPchat is a distinctive online psychic website that offers a variety of written and live psychic readings to our members daily. Our staff of professional psychics must be tested and screened for their accuracy and experience before they can become a part of our team. They are all schooled in the esoteric arts and all reside in the United States.

We are a young company, but have received glowing reviews from our customers who are thrilled with our site and the advice of our psychics.

Melody is very gifted and talented. She is very professional and has a wonderful attitude. I love her cheery disposition. There are others I really do like, Gwendolyn is very good….I won $1k with her lucky days, Lilly is spot on, Michael is amazing, Priestess is so outstanding and understanding, Ibiza is very caring and Ava is intelligent and very confident. I am grateful for their messages. Thank you.
N.A., Arizona 7/11

I am telling my friends to sign up for espchat.com…. Thank You B.M., Pennsylvania 6/11

We offer a variety of services to accommodate our customers’ various personal and financial needs. For a nominal amount, customers can participate in live chat rooms and ask questions to the presiding psychics. This service provides unlimited access to psychic services for a very reasonable fee. We have many satisfied customers who log in daily to take advantage of this service.

For those who seek more personal one-on-one time with a psychic, they can opt for a personal, one-on-one live chat with the psychic of their choice for a fee that is more in keeping with the usual charge for private consultation. One handy option with our site is that customers pick the length of their psychic consultation, meaning you can choose to regulate the time you wish to speak, and therefore the price.

We have a dedicated staff, including customer care and technical teams, who respond to all administrative and/or technical issues. We do our best to make sure that each one is resolved. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us at: support@espchat.com or [protected]. We will be delighted to answer any questions about our service and our website.

Sincerely,
ESPchat Customer Care

B
B
Brittany loves mayweathers
, US
Oct 09, 2019 10:04 pm EDT
Replying to comment of ESPchat

Esp chat is not a scam and I think 2bucks a month is very affordable.