EmusicUnauthorized billing!

T
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Billed $9.99 to my visa that was not authorized and caused my account to run over and add an additional $64.00 in charges
now the company is refusing to even email me to fix the situation and i am out $73.99 and counting. There is no such thing as a free trial!!!

Responses

  • Mi
    michele de franchis Oct 10, 2014

    I am billed 12 € /month since january 2014 (10 months ). I am not able to block this billing. emusic.com told me that they don't find my account. someone can help me?
    mdf

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Minnesota Mom Jun 13, 2013

    I also was scammed by emusic. I had initially signed up for a month but canceled after one month because their library was not extensive. After 30 days, they began charging my account $11.99 but unfortunately, I had not checked it for 9 months or so. Once I discovered this, I called but they were only able to refund the last two months. I was informed that I had only suspended my account and not cancelled it. When I asked for proof of this, they were unable to provide it. I've written to the BBB, FTC and our State Attorney about this scam.

    Anyone reading this, please STAY AWAY from EMUSIC. They are classic Scammers.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Noubine Nov 08, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Every time I try to cancel I am directed to the registration page.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    darlene litts Oct 30, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thankyou for#. I believe lawsuit is in order.Anybody with me? I will be contacting BBB also! Unauthorized charges by deceit.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Vigay Sep 20, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am not sure why I am being charged from my debit card a fee for emusic. Could you please explain.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    SKY59 Jul 25, 2011

    I HAD NOT NOTICED FOR SEVERAL MONTHS, BUT EMUSIC WAS CHARGING MY CREDIT CARD 9.99/MONTH EVEN THOUGH I HAD NOT SIGNED UP. WHEN I CALLED THEM, THEY SAID A MINOR IN MY FAMILY HAD SIGNED UP WITH MY CARD. THEY THEN ACKNOWLEDGED THE ACCOUNT HAD NEVER BEEN ACCESSED AND THEY THEY PLANNED TO KEEP ALL THE MONEY. AFTER COMPLAINING MORE, THEY PROMISED A PHONE CALL WOULD COME TO ME FROM CORPORATE, BUT INSTEAD, I GOT A RUDE EMAIL FROM CUSTOMER SERVICE QUESTIONING MY PARENTING SKILLS.

    THIS COMPANY SCAMMED ME OUT OF A LOT OF MONEY. NEVER EVER GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD. THERE IS NO TELLING WHAT THEY ARE DOING WITH THE NUMBER. I HAVE ALREADY HAD DISCOVER REISSUE ME A CARD WITH A NEW NUMBER THANKS TO THE ### AT EMUSIC.COM

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michelledixon Feb 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been trying to cancle my account all day and cant seem to do it they charged last month and did not ask if i wanted it they just did it

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rolando S. Caguioa Jan 13, 2011

    I Rolando Caguioa, From Guam still charging emusic comp. bills to my credit card visa card. This is an Authorized charging pls. do something about it. Pls review my accounts from excessive charging. tel nu.[protected] cell phone. hus no [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    will9 Nov 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    emusic is a fraudulent company. They are not legit.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jake.Innis Oct 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just filed a request to get the $107.91 back that eMusic has stolen from me. PLEASE, DO NOT USE EMUSIC UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    AlexMuck2332 Aug 19, 2010

    Signed up for the free trial, got billed for the entire month. Customer support claimed that they don't even have a free trial. I send them images of the screen and no reply. DO NOT USE!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chuck Turner Jun 10, 2010

    "I was duped by an email inviting me to 'check out a new offer' and one click later I was billed - it turns out that they had kept my billing information from a prior account which I had cancelled. "

    They did the same to me - my experience with the prior account was fine and it was quite clear that you have to cancel before the free trial ends or be charged. I did this and no problems there, was not charged.

    But a few months later I got an email offering 75 free downloads if I rejoin and when I clicked more info to check it out, one click later I had been billed - without even logging in or re-entering card details! Very deceptive. I liked emusic and was thinking about rejoining anyway but after this trick I will NEVER use them again.

    1 Votes
  • Ss
    sschmidt-docsys Feb 08, 2010

    Here's a new twist - I, like many people have more than one email account. Apparently I signed up for a trial account using the same credit card I used on an account I had used a year or so before. I actually used that account for a while but canceled because of eMusic's limited selection. I upgraded to the 19.99 account for the trial, and when I canceled it, they seem to have reactivated the old account. I just realized that they were charging me for the past 6 months (I don't read my credit card statements, do you? Guess I need to start.) Trying to get a refund. They said their corporate office would get back to me in 24-48 hours. I told them I would write reviews for the next 24 - 48 hours.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    sigdip Jan 30, 2010

    To everyone dupped by eMusic:

    Try to report the company to the BBB, after searching for hours, the most reliable address and ph number seems to be:

    eMussic
    100 Park Avenue
    New York, NY [protected]

    [protected]

    Good luck!

    1 Votes
  • Jl
    J.Lamb Jan 11, 2010

    Wow! This is insane to see literally the same complaint from everyone on here over and over again!

    I just figured out myself that I have been getting charged for the past five months for $11.99 per month after signing up in Aug of '09 for a "free trial." Called emusic to cancel and recoup, and C.S.R. Erica told me I will not be getting any money from them, but she'll be more than happy to cancel my account. I informed her that her company had fraudulently used my card and that they would be hearing from the BBB and Bank of America dispute dept. I've processed my complaints and I'll post the results.

    0 Votes
  • Hu
    husker80 Jan 04, 2010

    I had sampled emusic twice and had cancelled both times after the trial. I found out too late that they had reactivated my account and had been charging me for seven months. When I called to express my outrage, I was told that I had never cancelled and it was not their responsibility to keep me informed that I still had an active account with them. I demanded a refund, saying I had been charged for services I had never requested nor received, but was refused. The rep ultimately refused to talk to me. I called back, got another rep, and the best she would offer me was a free month. I agreed to that and almost immediately started receiving regular email from eMusic again! Why didn't I receive these when I thought I wasn't subscribing to them? I'm calling them back - if I can't get my refund, I'm contacting the BBB and my state's attorney general's office and filing fraud charges against them.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rocioleon Dec 28, 2009

    Please pass this number to all other people who can't cancel their subscription!
    Thank God I was finally able to cancel mine!

    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    rocioleon Dec 28, 2009

    call
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    JMWelke Oct 21, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Without a doubt the worst music sight. The downloads are near impossible to find. The only accurate thing is their billing, they bill promptly, remorselessly, and mercilously

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    spudsoldier Sep 08, 2009

    EMusic has no integrity or ethics. They continue to charge my bank card without my knowledge up to now - I just cancelled my credit card but know i will never get a refund from them.
    It is amazing how they can lead you around in circles if you try to cancel and get away with it. I wish I had the financial resourses to go after the ###.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David Mason Aug 31, 2009

    Please cancel my entire account.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David Mason Aug 31, 2009

    I signed up to receive free downloads during a free trial. I didn't download anything, but still goy charged twice. I am very displeased with emusic. If I don't credited for the charges on my credit card, then emusic is nothing but a scam & rip-off.

    0 Votes
  • Dl
    dlynne2 Jul 28, 2009

    I was not aware that the e-music was a trial. I don't recall ever getting an e-mail stating that a charge of $9.99 would be applied. I typed in the website information that I got from the 800 number and nowhere did I find THEIR website. Every website that came up was a form to file a complaint...what does THAT tell you?!

    0 Votes
  • An
    anxiety25 Jul 27, 2009

    After reading all of these responses, I am glad I went straight to the BBB rather than trying to fight with them. I was charged for my first trial downloads-$2.50 each! That started at the beginning of this month. Then, I just looked at my balance on my card, and I've got one payment they took out of it for $20.78, and another pending already within a 2 week period.

    How can they get away with this with so many complaints against them??? I will let you all know how it goes.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    fiteprogram Jul 15, 2009

    So I see that I'm not the only one that was scammed by eMusic. My complaint is similar to other's experience in that I entered my debit bank card cc information into the membership form, but never hit the submit button. I instead hit the back button and then never worried about a transaction completing. I did sign back on later and used a different (pra paid) cc to sign up for a year membership at $99 a pop (which I haven't been able to download one song properly, but anywho - BUYER BEWARE.)

    I discovered that eMusic was charging my bank debit card 11.99 each month. They initially agreed to refund 2 of the 3 charges which I agreed to just to be done with the whole deal. They issued me a cancelation number and I'll be d***ed if they didn't charge my card again that night for membership services they hoped to render over the next 30 days, which resulted in a negative bank balance fee.

    I don't normally live that close to the edge of my budget, but did so as a result of a move. In this economy, I notice that people are literally stealing dimes to make sure they don't go under. In the case of eMusic, the dimes are adding up and I'm sure that this fraudulent behavior is keeping their business afloat. I used the customer toll free number listed on my banking transaction record to contact a rep in person. During one of those conversation exchanges I was hung up on at one point for calmly disagreeing with the customer service reps claims that they do not issue refunds.

    I sent in my last set of complaints via email requesting that eMusic refund the last 11.99 charged after my pseudo membership was canceled along with the $35 banking fee.

    While I'm grateful to recover the direct bill charges for a service that I did not complete an online transaction for, I'm PISSED about not recovering the banking fees. eMusic does harm to it's customers with their business practices and are not ashamed of it. How can consumers band together to keep them from getting away with this any longer?

    My thought goes to the reputable web vendors that take VERY good care of their customers (Overstock.com is one of these) and wonder what law binds them that eMusic blatantly disregards, while the customer is unaware that the law is in existence? eMusic's practices flies under the radar in that they have the fine print and customer service staff available and are willing to midly take responsibility for their unscrupulous actions, but this doesn't nullify the fact that their business practices are such that they cause financial damages to consumers that they are not willing ot repair. This is probably the best and most thorough thread and documentation that I've seen in regards to eMusic's irresponsibility and will print it along with my documentation to request damage repairs in writing. Now if I can just find out where to send all of this...LOL

    0 Votes
  • Gc
    gchs Jun 17, 2009

    I will also be contacting agencies that have been noted on here to help consumers. I have never had such a run around in my life. Is there any law that protects "minors" from "free trials?" My son was allowed to join and they do not ask if the customer is of legal age!! I know I am responsible for my child's actions but, it is impossible to get them to be held responsible for ethical practices!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maribel Reyes May 14, 2009

    this is the second time ive been charge for my acct i cancelled this acct 2 months ago and im still getting charged please make sure u know what you are doing make sure that the cancellayion went thru because every month im getting overdraft money because of you guys and i dont think its fare

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    FiOS-Dave Apr 23, 2009

    Yes, another dissatisfied customer!
    I tried their "free trial" and attempted to download several tracks.
    Each track was terminated improperly. I tried cancelling online but couldn't
    find where to do it. so I e-mailed them on the next business day, which was now one day past the trial limit.
    You guessed it... they billed me the $11.99 and refuse to credit it back.
    So now I have six unplayable tracks, a bill for $11.99 and an extremely sour taste in my mouth...

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blah Apr 08, 2009

    my story is exactly the same as rsbuscemi's above. although it happened to me about 6 months ago.

    i received an email inviting to rejoin emusic with 75 free mp3s, 2 clicks later i had been billed for 1 month. they still had my credit card details on file 6 months after i had cancelled a free trial.

    i emailed emusic and they basically said tough, we dont do refunds as per t's and c's section blah blah.
    i emailed them the link to this thread saying what a bunch of scammers they were.

    i did complain to i think the better business bureau but didnt hear anything, i put it off to bad experience and made sure i opted out of all emails from them.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    mellrocks Mar 20, 2009

    YEARS back I had a free trial subscription to EMUSIC, and cancelled after the trial. Just last week, they send an email to my OLD account from back then, which I barely use now and am trying to do away with saying to come back. I go to click on it to be removed from the mailing list, and it automatically takes me to a page that says 'Thanks for signing up'. I didn't agree to that! How is that even legal!? First off, shouldn't you have to confirm signing up? And what if that was someone else's email address now? It's been at least 3 years! That means that someone could access all my info and I could possibly have my identity stolen! How dare this company do that!? I cancelled the minute after and wrote them a complaint. Basically, they said it was too bad, I clicked on the link and they were charging me for that month! I didn't download anything! I sent a dispute to my credit card company, but I think this company should get in trouble, especially for storing personal information after accounts have been cancelled for years, and allowing personal information to be easily accessible! I'd be willing to file a suit; any lawyers interested, please contact me. This practice by them needs to be stopped before identities get stolen!

    0 Votes
  • Rs
    rsbuscemi Feb 11, 2009

    I was duped by an email inviting me to 'check out a new offer' and one click later I was billed - it turns out that they had kept my billing information from a prior account which I had cancelled. When I called customer support to request a refund I was told that it was not the company's policy to provide refunds and that I should have known this from the terms of service. No terms of service were offered through the online sign up and there was no authorization for a charge that I assented to.

    So I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau of New York (where emusic is now based) and with my Representative's office (Pelosi) as well as with my bank. This is a great opportunity to make an example of an online business that is engaging in shady business practices. When we cancel an account all of our information should be deleted from the companies records and servers.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris Graves Feb 03, 2009

    Well, I just got charged $99 dollars, unauthorized, on Jan. 29, 09. They said it was from a free trial I signed up for on Jan 07. Freaking 2 years ago. Get this 1 song was download over 2 years. I did not authorize it or had even heard of the song downloaded. They won't refund the money. Now I have to wait for their CORP office to call me, what a SCAM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scammedbyemusic Jan 26, 2009

    Oh man...I sooo wish I read this before I did their "free" trial. They took my money as well. I sigend up, saw that it was junk, and canceled. They kept taking my money and I'm still trying to get it back. How can they get away with all this?

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alesha canfield Jan 15, 2009

    billed befoe trial downloads i want it canceled

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kelly noles Nov 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i continue to be charged for this. i have never used it. please cancel my subscription immediately.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joy Bradshaw Oct 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I totally agree!! There is no such website... and the phone number has message choices that is barely audible...When you are finally able to understand the option to contact them at: ([email protected]) There is no such address!!! Aren't there laws for this kind of CROOKED BUSINESS!!! ????

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melody Walker Oct 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    When I realized that most of the music that was available was not by the original artists I canceled my account. They just keep billing you. Don't ever get mixed up with them. It is not worth the hassle.

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    Cerivs Sep 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    EMusic automatically, and without authorization, renewed my subscription and charged a fee for their service upon logging into my OLD acct to see their catalog selection on 9/20, at the prompt of one of their numerous e-mails as I had a credit of over 150 songs from various affiliates/vendors.
    Upon seeing this, I immediately cancelled the acct., noting it as the reason for canceling when the automated system asked "why I was cancelling?", however they still charged my CC acct based on info from my old account record which reflected an expired CC#. I attempted to have the ($11.99) subscription charge reversed on 9/29, when it appeared on my credit card charges.
    I called and spoke to their billing & customer service, but their agent* refused to refund the funds, saying he would reactivate the acct so I "could take advantage of the membership as it was set to expire 10/20 since I had already been charged. I have referred this to my credit card company (AMEX) for deliberation of a refund unless I hear otherwise, since I feel that their procedures are poor business practice.
    For info, the number I called for customer support was [protected] and I did speak to a real person*, but don't hold your breath getting help as they seem to be instructed to decline any and all refunds!

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    Cerivs Sep 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    EMusic automatically, and without authorization, renewed my subscription and charge a fee for their service upon logging into my OLD acct to see their catalog selection on 9/20, at the prompt of one of their numerous e-mails as I had a credit of over 150 songs from various affiliates/vendors.
    Upon seeing this, I immediately cancelled the acct., noting it as the reason for canceling when the automated system asked "why I was cancelling?", however they still charged my CC acct based on info from my old account record which reflected an expired CC#. I attempted to have the ($11.99) subscription charge reversed on 9/29, when it appeared on my credit card charges.
    I called and spoke to their billing & customer service, but their agent* refused to refund the funds, saying he would reactivate the acct so I "could take advantage of the membership as it was set to expire 10/20 since I had already been charged. I have referred this to my credit card company (AMEX) for deliberation of a refund unless I hear otherwise, since I feel that their procedures are poor business practice.
    For info, the number I called for customer support was [protected] and I did speak to a real person*, but don't hold your breath getting help as they seem to be instructed to decline any and all refunds!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    SCOTT HOFSTRA Sep 26, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    CANCEL MY SUBSCRIPTION TO EMUSIC THANKS

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.