Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Products & Services DVDDonkey.com Party of five dvd box set

DVDDonkey.com  -  Party of five dvd box set

T
Author of the complaint
12:00 am EST
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I ordered party of five box set from these rip off merchants. They have taken £90 from my account but have not sent confirmation of my order or replied to the numerous e mails i've sent. I am now trying to recoup the money from my bank and have had to change my account details because of this. Please be aware that this website is not to be trusted, i only wish i had read up on this website before ordering from them.

ADVERTISIMENT
176 comments
Add a comment
N
Feb 18, 2008 10:14 pm EST

I ordered a 12-dvd set (hawaii five-o) from dvddonkey.com on 12/10/07 and as of 02/18/08 still have not received my order. Their toll free # (1-877-7-tv-show) is ALWAYS ''temporarily unavailable". I have e-mailed the company several times and have received a vague e-mail about the order already shipped out (the tracking # provided by the company was not found by Canada Post office). several recent e-mails have gone unanswered, and I have notified my bank of intent to dispute this purchase. I am also willing to follow-up with The canada post office, FTC (federal Trade Commission) and other agencies necessary to investigate this company and receive a full refund (or the dvd's ordered) from them.

C
Dec 18, 2007 12:00 am EST

I placed a Christmas order for a Dvd series from DvdDonkey on 12/8/07 and my acct was charged $150.00 the next day, but I have yet to receive any e-mail confirmation. I have contacted them multiple times by phone (their number: [protected]) finally getting a foreign person who was extremely rude who finally gave me an order i.d. and proceeded to tell me the order has not been shipped and its 12/18/07, but they would be sending me an e-mail confirmation with a tracking number once the order is processed. I am completely stressed out and don't know what to do. I do not recommend that anyone use this website, as it seems to be some type of scam, and is obviously effecting many people around the world. AVOID THEM, THEY ARE NO GOOD!

T
Dec 17, 2007 12:00 am EST

I had purchased a series from this company on Nov. 27,2007 and waited for my tracking number in a email. After a few days i didn't receive it I tried to contact them with the number 18777tvshow that was listed on my printed receipt. I got an answering machine for a company named DVD Avenue. Left a message anyway and gave it a few more days. I emailed them and still no response. I tried calling again today and no one answered again so I looked up the Avenue site and called them. The lady then proceeded to tell me that she gets all kinds of calls for Donkey and they are no way affiliated with them. So I called my credit card company threw Bank of America to report fraud. I had to cut up my card and they are issuing me a new one and reimbursing me the money as long as I fill out the paper work and send it back in to them when I receive my card. So if you can I would do the same thing. I hope this helps anyone out and I wish I new how to get this information out to the rest of the world so they don't make the same mistake I did. Especially at this time of year! Merry Christmas.

S
Feb 27, 2008 8:05 am EST

This company is a complete fraud. They get you to order dvds, charge your credit card, and then you never receive your product. I ordered dvds from them and never got them. I called the number to let them know i wanted a refund and the woman who answered just tried to convince me I would get my merchandise the next week. When I proceeded to tell her I just wanted my money back she said fine and hung up on me. I received an email informing me I would get my money back but it has been two months since then and have not received my money back. I have tried to call back but the number no longer works.

K
Nov 01, 2007 12:00 am EDT

On 10-26-2007, I went to the PBS website to purchase Prime Suspect Series. I clicked on the DVD link on the PBS site and was routed to DVDdonkey.com. Assuming that this was a reputable site, I placed the order and my Visa statement was charged $148.12. I never received a confirmation for the order via email so I went back to the DVD website to try and initiate contact. The email support on the site sent me an email back stating "delivery failure". I then called the number as billed on my Visa statement [protected] (which showed 877-TV-Series as the biller) and the phone just rang and rang with no answer. I was able to leave a message but again, no answer or call back and no answer.

I am concerned as both 877-TV-Series and DVD Donkey, I later found, have had several complaints about failure to deliver/scam reports. I am also concerned since PBS is automatically routing customers to this site. I do not want to be ripped off!

Thank you!
Kelly.

J
Feb 11, 2008 12:00 am EST

Do not under any circumstances buy a dvd from this company! They are fraudulent! I purchased a dvd for xmas in November 2007... although i thought i did! And to this day i still haven't received anything... money to the value of $157 has been deducted from my credit card but still i haven't received my dvd !

I have been in contact with the company and at first they where helpful but then i realized they where just fobbing me off with excuse after excuse... ''sorry your order is back ordered'' ''sorry there is a problem with our shipper'', ''sorry our computers are down'' they even got as far as to email me confirmation of delivery by air canada and supplied me with a delivery tracking number, but only to find when i entered this number on the website of air canada couriers it DID NOT EXIST!

I am now having to dispute the payment on my credit card to claim my money back! Something has to be done about this company before more innocent people get scammed!

T
Feb 16, 2008 9:24 am EST

I ordered a number of TV series from overseas to pick them up during my vacation in the states. Two thirds of the order did not arrive weeks beyond the promised delivery date. I left the country without them. All phone calls and e-mails were not replied to. I have received one of the series and am still waiting for the other. Again, no response to my e-mails and phone calls. The DVD's I did receive are damaged.

This is truly a scam and consumers need to be warned.

D
Feb 13, 2008 12:00 am EST

Ordered DVD Set-90210 on 12/08/07 for $118.99,
Shipping------------------------------23.99,
Total price charged------------$150.12.

12/27/07-- Received a order confirmation and processed report.

1/10/08 --- Received a backorder report.

1/18/08---- Received a shipping report with a bogus canadian tracking number.

2/13/08--- Received another backorder report saying my card hasn't been charged yet (was charged 12/8/07)!

R
Jan 10, 2008 12:00 am EST

On November 25th. 2007 I placed an order for a dvd box set series called: "The Adventures Of Young Indiana Jones (Chronicles)". When I heard no word as of the second week of December, 2007, I contacted WWW.DVD.DONKEY.COM, and spoke to a online representative, with my order # (167075) who informed me that the order was shipped on December 11th., 2007. She gave me a tracking number with Canada Post, and the told me to give the tracking number 6 working days to get into Canada's Postal system. Well, I waited, and waited, and when that time elapsed, and then some. I tried to track the number (CE439598838CA), and guess what? You got it... NOTHING!

I, just found out today,(Jan. 10th., 2008),when I noticed a new order number that WWW.DVDDONKEY.COM charged my debit card $85.32 on December, 29th., 2007 for the same item. A duplicate charge! When I found out about it, I, called "customer service", and told them what they did. Eve, the customer service agent I spoke to, told me that she will issue a refund immediately, and sent me an e-mail, and a refund number for the $85.32. But, I will not know for 2-5 days if she actually did that. She, also gave me a new tracking number with Canada Post, and you guessed again, NO SUCH NUMBER!

The "company", I, was told, was based in Quebec, Canada, and I live in the Detroit, Michigan area, so I cannot for the life of me, can see WHY that it takes over a month for a package to travel in the postal system what is basically only a 2 day drive... AT MOST!

Furthermore, when I looked at the charges between the price of the box set, which is listed at $58.99, and the shipping cost which is $19.99, then how did the final cost become $85.32, instead of $78.98, unless they're including tax, or something, but that was not listed.

I'm still waiting for my order, but I think it's a lost cause. Someone, needs to shut these CROOKS down! I, heard that when things get too hot, that they simply change their name. Isn't there ANYTHING the authorities can do to stop them...

A
Dec 18, 2007 12:00 am EST

My husband purchased a TV series with 5 dvds from this company on his credit card and received no verification via email as promised. Several days later he attempted to call them at the number on the website. He could only leave a message and no one returned the calls. He tried emailing also but an icon popped up and he couldn't type on the email form on the site. I emailed later and received no answer. The purchase appeared on our credit card bill. Two days later a package arrived from Canada from a company called dvdavenue.tv. In it was the first of the dvds but only the one along with a guarantee card with a phone number. We called... again no answer and left messages on two different days. We emailed... they have a "guarantee" of answering your email in 24 to 48 hours, but this has not happened. I disputed the charge and our credit card removed 4/5s of it since we did receive one dvd. We are going to look at it and see if it is truly "new" and not just copied off a tv station. Beware of these people!

M
Jan 11, 2008 12:00 am EST

I ordered two movies from Donkey DVD.com. I gave my credit card info and received an e-mail indicating that they were in stock & my order would take 2 weeks at most. When I received my credit card statement there was a charge indicating "WEB Movies"; however, I had not received any movies. I had a feeling that this was a scam. I sent Donkey DVD.com an email asking where my movies were, No response. After reading numerous complaints about Donkey DVD.com on the WEB, I wrote them another email indicating that this was FRAUD and against the law. I have turned them in to my credit card Company and the Local News. The Local News (Problem Solvers) indicated that they had received numerous complaints about this company & are going to investigate. My credit card company reversed the charges but that is not the issue. This is against the law! I am going to put out the word regarding this situation and hopefully, it will stop someone from making the same mistake that I made by making purchases over the Internet.

M
Jan 17, 2008 12:00 am EST

DVD Donkey.com is a fraudulent company. I ordered the "Little House on the Praire" complete series, the 1st week of December 2007 and it never arrived. My credit card was immediately billed for $184.92 which actually wasn't the amount on the invoice I printed off their website. The original invoice amount including shipping was $177.78 and they added more without offering any explanation. That is the first red flag, since immediately after I punched in my VISA number they failed to send an answering e-mail notifying me of my purchase. They promise to notify via e-mail on the order info page from their website, but failed to do it. The 2nd red flag went up when it took an entire week to answer my e-mail inquiring about my order. These guys are really slick since they even came up with a phony tracking number for the item being shipped. It has now been over six weeks since I purchased these movies online and received nothing. They are operating out of Canada somewhere, and Canada mail is slower than the US but not that slow where it should take up to 6 weeks or longer to ship something. On their website they promise delivery in 12-14days. My bank tried to contact them via phone but made no contact. Interesting, I was able to talk with someone on their live online chat link. I accused them of being a fraud, their response was "wait one more week and the package will arrive" unbelievable. These guys are a bunch of crooks. Also their business has different names, "DVD Store" was listed on the visa charge, their e-mail reply to me was "[email protected]" and of course the "DVD Donkey.com" website. Beware of these guys.

J
Oct 23, 2007 12:00 am EDT

I, too had placed an order with DVDDonkey, a company I had not used before but unwisely, chose to believe would be safe. After googling the company name, I was directed to this website and found these complaints listed. Now I am waiting to see whether my order will be cancelled as I requested after speaking to an operator. Unfortunately, they're still in possession of my details, and apart from wondering whether I will be ripped off to the tune of over 200 dollars (a fortune to me) for two tv complication sets, they still have my details. I will be even more careful in future where I chose to shop on-line.

D
Feb 12, 2008 12:00 am EST

Update to my previous report. This appears to be a big DVD Scam. I have read hundreds of stories of people being ripped off. From what I found these guys use many names, below is what I copied using McAffee site adviser;

* 72.52.6.89 allmyfavoriteshows.com
* 72.52.6.89 dvdavenue.tv
* 72.52.6.89 dvdcraze.tv
* 72.52.6.89 dvddiesel.com
* 72.52.6.89 dvddonkey.com
* 72.52.6.89 todvdornottodvd.com (unrated)
* 72.52.6.89 tvaddicts.tv
* 72.52.6.89 tvmilk.com
* 72.52.6.89 ultimatedvdshop.com
* 72.52.6.90 dvd.tv
* 72.52.6.90 tvdvdland.com
* 203.86.235.2 cddvdforall.com
* 205.178.145.65 tvpast.com.

S
Jan 31, 2008 12:00 am EST

I have actually been reduced to tears, i ordered a box set of dvds which i couldn't afford but my mum really wanted and they are not available in the united kingdom. I was so happy when i found them on dvddonkey.com. It seemed a secure site and I'm not great on computers so i went ahead. Now i cannot contact them they have taken my money and i am so angry and frustrated, i am such an honest person that this has hit me like a ton of bricks! It is money i cannot afford to loose, i have 2 kids and am distraught that there is nothing i can do.

N
Jun 05, 2008 9:29 am EDT

i live in the uk, but ordered complete collection of little house on the prairie from dvddonkey, they took payment and unlike others i did recieve my order on 12.12.07, but the discs were copies and poor quality, i 1st noticed some episodes were missing on discs, i sent an email and they replied and appologised, and told me to check every one, and they would be replaced. so i checked, only 5 discs out of 54 were problem free, mainly picture and sound jumping so you dont hear complete sentences. i sent email and told them, they said i could have replacement or money back, i had faith so said replacement, that was 17.02.08, i have heard nothing else from them since, even though i have sent emails saying i want money back they just IGNORE me.

M
Jun 13, 2008 6:49 am EDT

I ordered the Dick Van [censored] tv series on 9/20/2007 along with the Perry Mason videos. To this date I have not received my order for Dick Van [censored]. This company charged my credit card $183.00. I received the Perry Mason videos. They were of the poorest quility. To date I have not received Dick Van [censored]. I called thier customer service number which was a recording telling me to call back at a later time. Each time I would call, at different times of the day and different days of the week I would get the same message. I have emailed them. I was getting responses to my email telling me that my videos are on back order. That happened about 2 times. The 3rd time they offered me a refund. I email them to ask, this was in April 2008, if the order might be here by the 27th of April. If not then I wanted a refund. From that point on I never got a response to any of my emails to them. This company is a rip off. The Perry Mason videos were a bust. The poorest quality. Commercial all through the show, dead air, repeat episodes. Some dvd didn't have anything on them or wouldn't play. Stay away from DVDDonkey they are frauds and thiefs. I want my money back.

S
Jan 10, 2008 12:00 am EST

We placed an order for a TV show box set in Nov. 2007 our invoice shows $78.18 and they took out $85.32. When we call or e-mail we never get response. We have chatted with someone several times and all they will say is that our order has been shipped. Keep getting different answers to same questions regarding the company. And why they took out more money. They told us that they would refund the difference but have not seen it yet. This is a scam operation... Beware!

B
Feb 01, 2008 12:00 am EST

Ordered the complete series of the six million dollar man on dec, 28 07 as a gift. they charged my credit card account 3 days later and sent me a email on jan 11, 2008 stating my product is being back ordered and received another email stating on jan 14, 2008 i should be receiving it on the 18 and they sent me a confirmation from canada post and i called them and they have never heard of that long of a # ever. no answer to my emails or calls since then and i have made 20+a day.

AVOID THIS SITE IT'S A SCAM FROM THE GET GO...

J
Mar 09, 2008 9:07 pm EDT

Ordered All in the Family tv dvd series on Dec. 17, 2007. My account was charged $185.92 two days later even though the confirmed e-mail received stated that the total would be $178.78. To date I have not received the item. One of many requests to cancel my order and credit my account, I received an e-mail from yet another company stating that my account would be charged after the order was shipped and that I had not yet been charged. I then canceled my credit card so I would not again be charged. The e-mail address listed for dvddonkey.com is not valid nor is the phone number. Other e-mails received came from tvaddicts.tv, TVDVDWorld.tv, DVD store. Please help me stop these people from scamming others and put them behind bars. What is another name for donkey? That is how they made me feel? Thank you. Another DVDDonkeyVictim!

P
May 10, 2008 2:20 pm EDT

In November 2007 I placed an order with DVD Donkey . com. I only received half of my order. I kept e-mailing the company and they kept saying my order was on back order. Then about a month ago they e-mailed me and said they were shipping the rest of my order and they were going to charge my credit card when the order was sent. I e-mailed them back and informed them that they had already charged my credit card for the product I never received. So I asked them to refund my money because it is obvious that they have no intention of sending the rest of my order and I haven't heard from them since.

S
Jan 28, 2008 12:00 am EST

Ordered videos on 12/20: credit card was charged on 12/20. Never received any further notifications. Sent inquiry email on 12/27: never received any reply. Did "live chat" on 1/14/08 and "Marie" said that it was a shipping problem and they were researching it, but that they would send out another copy by 1/18. Yeah, right: 10 days later and no word from anyone and no way to contact them on their website than to send email inquiries which they never answer.

Have disputed the charge with Visa, but it will take a while to see if there is any way out of this mess.

K
Feb 06, 2008 12:00 am EST

I ordered Pickett Fences DVD for $100.58 on 1/14/08. My credit card was charged two days later. I have spoken to their "live chat" person twice and they assured me it would be sent out and was just backordered. They do not have a phone number or address listed on their site. I have never received a confirmation from them. I have emailed them twice requesting a refund with no response. I can't believe they can continue to have their website up when they are obviously a fraud!

Aug 25, 2008 7:37 am EDT

(Product Name: Early Edition DVD series) I ordered an Early Edition DVD series set for my parents Christmas gift, and I had placed the order on Nov 25th thinking I would get the item in time for Christmas. Still haven't received it or the tracking number I was supposed to get sent via email when they would ship out the DVDs. When calling the company you get no answer from anyone, only a message saying you must leave a message because the customer service line is closed even during working hours they state while you are waiting on hold. When trying to email them online through the website, the email form conviently doesn't work and if you try emailing them other ways, no one responds. After searching the internet, a website called customercomplaints.com has many people who have been scammed out of at least a hundred dollars each, and each with the same results. IF you could help shut these people down and return everyone's money that would be great!

M
Feb 04, 2008 12:00 am EST

I ordered Crossing Jordan TV series on DVD seasons 1-6 on Jan. 11th, on the 14th I received confirmation my order had been received & was on back-order. I e-mailed asking them how long it would take to get my order. Every time I called, their customer service line was "serving other customers" and had me leave a message. I have left 20 messages, one every hour. They are never there. I did a little research myself about Crossing Jordan and Season 1 hadn't even been released so how could I have placed an order for all 6 seasons. These people are slick, their webiste looks professional and authentic. I wish I knew where I could go to lodge a complaint with a higher authority. This website needs to be abolished.

S
Jan 29, 2008 12:00 am EST

This company takes orders for TV series on DVD, charges your credit/Debit card for them, then never sends the item for which the customer pays for. I placed two orders over a period of two weeks which totaled $320.00. They have stopped taking e-mails from me & will not take my phone calls.

This criminal outfit is continuing to take orders in this way. Then they evade interaction with the victim by using caller ID technology. (They demand your name which then computer cross-references with people they have scammed, then cut you off with a computerized voice stating that there is no one available to take your call.

This is a criminal outfit which has all the details of their scam worked out.

D
Aug 25, 2008 11:42 pm EDT

I ordered a large set of dvd, s I did get them after a long long long time them and have had many many frozen or don't even play on any player. I have tried to contact this company many times but no use, they will not respond. I seems this place is in Canada and the machine they use to burn there dvd's is... JUNK... Don't order from this company...

K
Jun 08, 2008 11:20 pm EDT

I was scammed by this site. I ordered Everwood in December 2007 and haven't received anything from them. They told me they refunded my money, but that because of a computer glitch it wouldn't show up on my statement. They didn't refund me. Anyhow, buyers beware -- DO NOT order from this site. I wish I knew the next step to do something about this issue.

P
May 10, 2008 2:25 pm EDT

On Janueary 7, 2008 I ordered The Series of Jag for $174.92 at this time I also paid for the item. I got one e-mail that said it had been back ordered and that is the last time I heard from them. I have repeatly called that number and it says call back at another time. I want to cancel this order and get my money back but there is no response. I have also e-mailed them many times. Thank you and please help me. Pat

M
Mar 18, 2008 10:02 pm EDT

AVOID DVDSHOP.COM also DVDDONKEY.COM. I brought 10/dec/07 Get SMART DVD series ONLINE USD$132 a dvd collection whilst takng months to arrive & much complaining & threats from my end, finally set arrive ALL ITEMS recorded from a TV, sound outa sync & 6 outa 22 discs are WRONG SHOW or don't play. Substandard quality of goods & I am now in pursuit of refund via international VISA channels. AVOID DVD MONKEY & DVDSHOP.COM

B
Feb 11, 2008 12:00 am EST

I ordered the set of 8 simple rules in Dec 2007 only to get the run around of emails making excuses why the item was not sent. This company is bogus and scam artists. DO NOT order from them. What I don't understand is that they've been ripping people off for over 12 months and nothing has been done about it? I wish I'd checked up on the company before I ordered... a lesson learned the hard way.

K
Feb 11, 2008 12:00 am EST

I ordered a Christmas gift from them, card was charged, and never received the item! What can you do to get your money back? They kept telling me it had shipped. Now the number is disconnected. I wish I had seen this site prior to ordering from them! Yikes. Anyone successfully get their money back...

J
Feb 10, 2008 12:00 am EST

I ordered the complete series of the Three Stooges on DVD on January 19. They emailed back and said it was on backorder and would be shipped when they got it in. Meanwhile, they charged my credit card. It's been almost a month and I tried to click on their link to cancel and refund my money, but there is no "link". It is unavailable. The phone number they gave is not working either.

M
Feb 08, 2008 12:00 am EST

Ordered DVD "Wolf Lake" from DVDDonkey.com. They charged credit card, never sent DVD. Won't reply to emails.

J
Feb 05, 2008 12:00 am EST

I ordered the Carol Burnett And Friends DVD set and was charged $100.58 to my charge card. I have tried to contact DVDDonkey.com by phone and email numerous times with no response at all. Of course I was getting very suspicious, and very disappointed to learn about all the other consumers that had the same story as I. What as a consumer can we do about this incident? Plz advise smb!

R
Jan 19, 2008 12:00 am EST

I ordered and paid for Man from UNCLE complete set and paid by credit card over 6 weeks ago and I have received nothing from DVD Donkey. They do not answer my emails and I have never received any delivery confirmation time from them.

A
Dec 18, 2007 12:00 am EST

I ordered the 1x boy meets World The Complete Television Series on DVD. I received an email telling me the order #171617 was taken and I would recv. an email within 48 hrs. confirming the order. and it would be shipped within 12-14 days. My account has been charged and I have heard nothing since. The order was placed on 12/01/2007. When I went on line they say it is a scam. How do I handle this.

Plz advise smb!

M
Dec 16, 2007 12:00 am EST

I ordered box set of remington steele dvds on 11/21/07. My account was overcharged. They were supposed to assign a tracking number and confirmation number. They did not. I have not received my dvds. I have sent them several e mails with no response. I have also left several messages on their telephone voice mail and have received no reply. I would like some advice on how to get my money back.

D
Dec 14, 2007 12:00 am EST

I ordered the Perry Mason DVD Collector's Edition from DVDDONKEY.COM around November 19, 2007. My credit card was charged $194 instead of the $185 it was supposed to be charged. I have yet to receive the DVD's. It has been almost a month and I am NOT HAPPY. I want a refund but can't get anyone to answer the phone or return my numerous e-mails. I am contacting my bank about my credit card.

A
Dec 06, 2007 12:00 am EST

I discovered your site too late. I have ordered The Man From Uncle DVDs from DVDDonkey and they have collected the money without sending me the DVDs. Now I realize that this is a scam of immense proportion. I will have to change my credit card account so they don't steal more in some phase 2 ripoff.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

5 complaints
0 resolved 5 unresolved

DVDDonkey.com contacts

(added by reviewer)
ADVERTISIMENT