Costcoorganic whole milk contains fish oil

K
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I have been purchasing Organic milk from Costco from last 3 years. Last week i brought oragnic milk and i also conusmed some of the cartons, without knowing the milk has a fish oil.

How come an Organic milk has ingredients like FISH OIL.

When you say ORGANIC means it is pure and should not contain any additives or preservatives. The product did mentioned omega-3, but there are natural omega-3 found and we dont suspect the milk can have fish oil in it.

The product is called ORGANIC WHOLE MILK, if you add Fish Oil, the name should be something else. This is misguiding the people.

We are a vegetarian and consumed the milk without knowing it has a fish content. I would like to request you and mark these product appropriately and i also want my money back for these products.

Costco should change the name of this product, ORGANIC WHOLE MILK should be just milk and should not contain fish oil.

Responses

  • Ao
    AOP3 Feb 28, 2021

    I know this is super old and probably no one will see this comment, but bruh😒😂 Your misunderstanding of what organic means and failure to read ingredient labels when you have a restricted diet is NOT anyone's fault but your own. Ridiculous. Don't try to shift the blame for your own failure to educate yourself because you feel guilty or something😂😂 It's not like it was an unlisted ingredient, you just didn't bother reading the 2-3 item list.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kirstin Dreyfus Jul 13, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes I think switching to Alga oil or no additives at all would be better especially for folks with fish allergies. I don't buy milk at costco for this reason and I would like to.

    0 Votes
  • Aa
    Aariff Jun 04, 2017

    Organic means food which does not have any gmo products and products which does not contain pesticides. It can contain anything.

    The milk and the fish oil are organic so it is called organic milk.

    -1 Votes
  • Bi
    BillMoore May 23, 2017

    I do not like that they do that, I'm allergic to fish, after that product I got sick, I called the hotline, I was told the consultant Chris Pallante, he said that this is no fault of the company, I had to read the part.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Aditi Mohpal Sharma Apr 09, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It's awful! It's very disappointing ! It's so misleading. Seriously, who adds F fish oil to milk ??? Just ruined my day!!

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    Abbey112 Oct 19, 2016

    I drank Costco's Kirkland organic 2% milk and felt terribly sick for two days. The milk was disgusting as well. I looked at the back of the carton and it said REFINED fish oil. I don't know why a company would put fish in milk but it certainly isn't right to put it in organic milk. People who buy organic tend to be very particular in what they eat. There is no source or type listed for the fish which may not ever be legal. Please take fish out of your milk!!! I will purchase my own supplements not drink them in milk.

    0 Votes
  • Ao
    AOP3 Feb 28, 2021

    @Abbey112 That's perfectly legal. Half or more of the food sold at grocery stores does not disclose where the ingredients are from. Tryin to make this a legal issue😂 Just read the labels people, not that hard.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donna Kinsey Crye Aug 22, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Kirkland just came out with Almond Milk that tastes bitter compared to the Blue Diamond brand. Unfortunately, Costco in Bend Oregon is no longer carrying the Blue Diamond brand.

    0 Votes
  • Andrea Hudson Aug 15, 2016

    Did you ask to speak to the manager?

    0 Votes
  • An
    Annalise Fuss Aug 15, 2016

    I attempted to downgrade my membership today while checking out, and the employees claimed that they could not do it. They wanted me to pay for the upgraded membership, and then get my money back. I went to the customer service desk, and the salesperson was unable to help me as well. Costco customer service leaves a lot to be desired. They just lost a family of shoppers.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gayle Aug 10, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This was a credit card I had no idea my mother had. She died. But I know my MOM never had a balance on a credit card. I called HSBC- They said send a Death Certificated --did that. Well to date my father has gotten recorded threating phone calls--right around 9pm. The bill as grown from 50 to 172 dollars, gone to collections and because I am not the cardholder they will not talk to me-Yep the Privacy ACT.

    Also if you want to buy a gift card for someone at Costco--you can't unless your a member--does not matter if that Gift Card is intended for a member-they just will not work with you.

    Gosh darn, I have so may Holiday stories to share--kinda like HSBC and Costco totally suck!!

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    SlayerGal Jul 18, 2016

    Perhaps the model wasn't available when they made the glasses and chose to do a substitution? They definitely should have informed you of any changes prior to that.

    Did they refund you the money since the model you wanted is gone? Or are you waiting for it to become available?

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    petronella vanderhoeven Jul 18, 2016

    to costco
    We have been shopping in costco for many years not one complain, lately i went for new glasses .my husband and i chose
    an framewe both liked. When we went back to pick up my new glasses it was not the frame we had chosen. The store would exchange it for the one we had chosen, but er was none left.I am not very happy with this situation

    We would like to hear from you Petronella and john vanderhoeven

    E Mail address [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kidhassle Jun 16, 2016

    we ordered a medium pizz with three toppings witch where pepperoni ham and extra cheesewe then drove 11 miles to pick it up. when we arived at home with the pizza we found it did not have extra cheese only three peices of ham three peperoni what a rip off and it cost us 11.66 plus the gas to pick it up.

    I posted a copy of the reciet below.
    Sincerly Kirk Diehl

    0 Votes
  • Db
    db550 Jun 16, 2016

    The most disgusting pizza and customer service ever. I will never order from them again. Steve the manager should be fired for the way he speaks with his customers. I have filed a complaint with the corporate office and feel that if I could do more I would.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Ruth and Kevin Jun 16, 2016

    You should have had an adult review your review. It is full of errors.

    0 Votes
  • An
    angry and hungry Jun 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered the food online, the website said that it was going to take 23 to 33 minutes. after 40 minutes I called the phone number on the receipt, a rude employee answer and informed me that the order was going to leave in a minute. GREAT COMPANY! MAKE SURE NOT TO ORDER AGAIN FROM THEM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Morar Reid-Howlett Jun 16, 2016

    Pizza Hut, leafleting my block of flats and putting unsolicited mail through my mail box even though I have a huge sign saying no junk mail. I called the new local pizza hut that is being canvassed and they have informed me that it is not up to them but their Head Office. Tried calling head office but got pushed arround from pillar to post. The person canvassing should be able to read my sign and don't push garbage through my letterbox.

    0 Votes
  • Ac
    acjxz Jun 16, 2016

    I ordered a large thin crust pizza with extra sauce, extra cheese, extra sauage, and on the left side pepporni. they sent me a thin crust sauage pizza not even cut. so i called and a girl named ashley answered the and i told her what happened she asked me what it was suppose to be i told her and she put me on hold for 10 mins and then picks up the phone and tells me thanks for holding how may help you? now i have to explain myself again and she says okay we will be there in 45 mins...and she was going to hang so i asked her to repeat my order and she said large thin crust with extra sausage, extra cheese, extra sauce, and left side pepporoni and cut in pie slices. i said okay. i waited 45 mins the first time now i waited 45 more mins.. i have a kids straving by this point, i can barely talk because i am sick. the pizza gets here and it is wrong again, so i called again and it was ashley again so i said i have the wrong pizza again. she placed me on hold again and then she picks up and asks me did who ever u talked to repeat the order back to u and i said yes, and then she said what is wrong with the pizza? this time they sent me a pizza cut in a bunch of squares and it pepporoni and sauges and bannannna peppers. she said that is what is in our computer ( this is the same girl i have talked to the whole time) but we will send you another one in 45 mins. and i asked to speak to the manager and he told me basically it was my fault because i did not hear her say bannanna peppers? she never said it!!!i told him i would never order bannanna peppers and he said well we are sending you another pizza. i said well my bill was 40.00 because i ordered other stuff and i think it is crazy that this is the third time my pizza came hear messed up and it is taken so long he said well we are sending you a new pizza and we need the old one back and hung on me...needless to say i will never order their again!!! i oreder at least 2 times a week. thanks and me last pizza was still wrong and the crust was all burnt!!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    richard.jacks Jun 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is a Fake Company. There Customer care is Pathetic, and has no Physical existence. it is operated by fake People, with the help of few people in Pakistan.

    0 Votes
  • Zm
    zman100 Jun 16, 2016

    I ordered a pizza from chuck e cheese I was very hungry and it took about 2hrs to arrive THATS RIGHT 2hrs we complained to the manager twice and they said 10 more minutes every time. When it came out it was very dry, salty and it was very gross too


    I will NEVER go to chuck e cheeses again

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roubina Jun 16, 2016

    Poor quality product!Got only 3 small pieces of chicken in my chicken supreme calzone and 2 slices of mushroom!!!Paid 5.99 for such a ### calzone! Also, they didnt even bother to give napkins with my order! Definitely not going to Pizza Hut ever again!!!

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    TREYI Jun 16, 2016

    Advetisments say great pizza their liars ordered several pizzas at. At diffrent times they all sucked don't look like they do on tv

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sad Jun 16, 2016

    Sangat LAMBAT!!!Kenapa dah order selepas satu jam baru sampai?8jam order, hingga 9.00++baru sampai!!Sangat Lambat tau tak?Bukan guarantee fresh dan hot ke?tapi, pizza tak hot, dan tidak fresh pun!Beri alasan tak cukup orang kerja!!Lagi, order chiken wings dan tidak sampai pun!Masih nak kami tunggu!!!Apalah sikap ni?Habis, masih nak kami bayar!!Banyak masalah masih kami bayar?Tak faham lah!!!PLEASE CHANGE YOU ALL ATTITUDE!DIASSPOINTED!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    cif Jun 16, 2016

    yesterday i ordered a pizza online, stuffed crush full house and i got a full house with classic fresh crust and they said they couldnt do anything about it even though they had got it wrong. i have called them and they said that i have told them that i wanted a classic fresh crust and they said that i should of called that night but i was not at home and my mum is deaf so she couldnt call them and ask for the right pizza

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DALE S. Jun 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    on [protected] at 4:30 pm ticket #[protected] ( BAD EVERYTHING) I eat at alot of cici's. this one was the worse i have ever visited. put in order they got it wrong, people were not friendly, food tasted old, cooking area looked dirty, I asked for reund and was denined.bad buissness !

    0 Votes
  • 1skippy Jun 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You got your money back. What more do you want?

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    wojosworld Jun 16, 2016

    I have had the same issue with them in the past and they no longer get my business...

    -1 Votes
  • Pf
    PFANSSCHMIDT Jun 16, 2016

    I went to costco in new rochelle one industrial lane concession 501 - 52 and ordered a pizza pie, the attendant told me it will take about 15 minutes (Simone) , so i came back after 20 minutes and she replied is almost done, i notice that she was doing something around the back with another worker and saw her put in my order in the oven, i ask her is that my pie that you just put in the oven and replied no, so i ask her how come there are no more pizza pies cooking in the oven? And then she replied yes it is your pie, so ask her why did you that that and she replied i'm busy, so i ask her to refund my money and she said your pie is almost done, i said please give me my refund and call a manager, so the manager showed up and my money was refunded, the manager never ask me why i want it my money back or any other reason in this matter.
    I call the corporate office when this happen [protected] and spoke to james and i told him the same thing and give him my email [email protected] to let me know the outcome, until today no news, is anybody there can return my email?
    Thank you.
    Allan pfannschmidt customer [protected] 4x.

    0 Votes
  • Va
    Val16 Jun 07, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm a vegetarian and would never have thought that they would put fish based product into milk. Yuk!! I have been buying costco organic milk for a while and assumed "organic" meant natural etc..So cannot buy this any more. why would they add fish oil? Is nothing else available? Costco needs to highlight this much clearly and in the front of package.

    -2 Votes
  • Ha
    Halbert Jan 24, 2016

    Hello,

    Well once you see dha added you should have done your due diligence and read the ingredients... Sorry about your nephew, however you do not have a leg to stand on in court or ethically in my opinion *9 years legal experience, and a pretty good hooman being*

    2 Votes
  • Li
    Liam Fairweather's Alter-Ego John Jan 15, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've been buying this milk for some amount of years now and only a week ago did I read the ingredients. Originally, I was quite taken aback that I had been drinking fish-milk - I don't even like fish!. After a few moments of deep contemplation, it dawned on me that I don't actually care because this milk is the best tasting whole milk in the world in my opinion. Admittedly, it wouldn't hurt to make the presence of fish more noticeable - for the sake of those with severe fish allergies and what-not.

    -1 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer28051 Dec 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We can't find the mocha/frappe mixture we normally get at the Bellingham Costco. If you have removed this item from your store, please return this item as it is a favorite in my family. Thank you.

    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • He
    heknows Nov 28, 2015

    yeah you have to read! its your fault. and by the way organic means "once living". not pure????? also if your vegetarian you shouldn't be drinking milk anyways

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mamta Midha Oct 05, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It's wrong, I'm strict vegetarian & after 4 months of consumption, I came to know that it contains fish oil & gelatin, change the name at least !!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    payingattention Feb 23, 2015

    The OP's complaint is NOT in any way legitimate, additives or preservatives are added to a lot of Organic foods, Organic is about being "Natural", and not directly related to being additive or preservative free, good god at least do your research first.

    Taken directly off Wiki "Organic farming in general features cultural, biological, and mechanical practices that foster cycling of resources, promote ecological balance, and conserve biodiversity. Synthetic pesticides and chemical fertilizers are not allowed. Processed organic food usually contains only organic ingredients. If non-organic ingredients are present, at least a certain percentage of the food's total plant and animal ingredients must be organic (95% in the United States, [22] Canada, and Australia). Foods claiming to be organic must be free of artificial food additives."

    As it explains, Organic is in reference to chemicals used on food such as pesticides, and artificial additives. So adding a substance (Omega-3) obtained from natural resources (Fish)in no way "violates" the Organic rule.

    On this next part I haven't done the research so don't quote me on this, but Omega 3 only comes from Fish and Sheep oil, so these vegetarian alternatives your talking about are probably man made and likely not Organic.

    1 Votes
  • Dr
    dr. p Feb 07, 2015

    The original complaint, which is totally legitimate, was made such a long time ago! If I'm still writing this to agree with it (as a vegetarian, I too was shocked to have been misled), it doesn't seem like Costco is taking any of this seriously. Perhaps a class action suit might get their attention? By the way, their lowfat organic milk has Vitamin A Palmitate, which may or may not be "vegeterian" (usually fish or synthetic). Until I know for sure that it is vegetarian (i.e., they disclose it on their carton), I will no longer be buying it.

    -2 Votes
  • Fr
    freeg Jan 26, 2015

    Yes, I do agree that it should be clearly stated in label that it contains fish oil. Unless otherwise stated clearly, no one will have the doubt to check the ingredients for milk.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maccy16 Jan 22, 2015

    I recently returned from college and my family has this milk. I have been home for one month and have had many allergic reactions that have been close to hospital level. Finally we figured out it was this goddamn milk. I don't like whole milk very much so I only add a bit to my coffee and so the dose was small enough to not kill me but I would have to use a nebulizer and take a lot of benadryl to help my breathing. Really wish there was a warning label. I missed work and was sick for hours every time this happened.

    1 Votes
  • Ad
    Adarsh T Sep 19, 2014

    I totally agree with the author of this article and have been buying the so called organic milk without knowing that it has fish oil until recently I learnt. This is so wrong on part of the Costco for misguiding its loyal consumers. Costco needs to do something about it fast.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kirkland milk Jul 31, 2014

    We buy Kirkland non fat milk in two pack containers and use it in coffee.Today a large deposit appeared in the bottom of the coffee.Does anyone have a similar occurrence ?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.