Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Costa Coffee

Costa Coffee review: Rude Staff 30

S
Author of the review
2:12 pm EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Had a very rude encounter with the MANAGER, 'Jennifer Saunders' of the shop today. After my friend purchased a set of cookies, she changed her mind and asked IF she could change it for a kit kat which was 30p cheaper, the staff member then showed a little annoyance and then actual fear at having to ask his manager's help. 'Jennifer' then proceeded to bang down her id badge after swiping it on the till, without looking at us for the entire transaction. She then pulled out the change with force and threw them into the hands of my friend. She then slammed the till shut and sighed, with no utterance or look. My friend actually sympathised for her and felt that perhaps she was stressed, I just thought this was unbelievably unprofessional specifically coming from the MANAGER of the store... how they can hire someone who cannot bring a smile to their face or hide their frustration, and then make them the manager of the store is just beyond me... she should be demoted for her rude attitude if not sacked.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Costa Coffee reviews & complaints

Costa Coffee - accused of theft
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Costa Coffee - service / staff 4
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Costa Coffee - service and hygiene 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Costa Coffee - uncleanliness & bad attitude staff
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Costa Coffee - extra charges
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
30 comments
Add a comment
Z
Z
zipwax
gravesend, GB
Mar 10, 2024 7:27 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

my wife and i visited your outlet in rochester kent today and were taken back by the price of a small latte it was over double than a mcdonalds and gregg,we will not be having coffee at costa anymore.

S
S
Shellysefin
Derby, GB
Oct 22, 2023 6:47 pm EDT

Hello I’m not happy you have changed the costa coffee pods to all in one the drink does not taste the same what so ever it’s of very poor quality and half a cup ! Where can I purchase the old Costa coffee pods in latte !

Iv attached a picture

P
P
philipcarson
newcastle under lyme staffordshire, GB
Jul 15, 2023 4:10 pm EDT

i want to remy costa coffee card in branch my full name is philip micheal carson

S
S
Senay Edizer
, US
Jun 14, 2023 6:06 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I haven't received my birthday Free coffee

Please call Me today at 10.30am or 1.30pm

R
R
Richard blower
, US
Jun 10, 2023 9:35 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Morning i recently went to the nuneaton ropewalk store for a coffee any the seating is in terrible condition rips and dirty seating im not impressed with it at all on the 1st june 2023 at 1215 pm

View 0 more photos
C
C
Costa auditor
Stockport, GB
Apr 30, 2023 6:00 pm EDT

Broken fridge…..so no sandwiches/ roll

Dishwasher broken? So no cups only take out ones

Staff didn’t seam bothered about not being able to offer basic service

Basically waste of time to visit

Very dissapointing will find Starbucks in future

S
S
Scottish mary
Crawley, GB
Apr 09, 2023 7:51 am EDT

Went for breakfast coffee and toast with my husband the bread wasn’t toasted just dried warm bread and the coffee cold queues a mile long so couldn’t complain as incredibly busy this happened today 29/03/23 around 9 am at Tescos in Threebridges Crawley costas

M
M
mr.brian evans
polegate, GB
Apr 09, 2023 11:21 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

have been to three costas near me to get a form for a costa card

told have to use asmart phne which i dont own

have a land line telephone [protected]

rang customer services several times they do not answer the phone

I
I
Ian Dominick
, US
Feb 08, 2023 2:31 pm EST

I purchased costa coffe pods from Iceland " Greenock " they were Dolce Gusto compatible but Ive wasted '50% so far , the pods are bot bursting properly & very hot water is being sprayed outward not only is this dangerous but costly , each box containing 16 pods so far I have went through 4 boxes please reply in this matter .

Thankyou

Ian Dominick.

M
M
Mark Deus Wilson
, US
Jan 21, 2023 9:05 pm EST

15:30. Ordered a large latte and a white Americano with whole milk through the ubereats app from Charlton in Manchester, to be delivered whilst working. Latte and black americano delivered.

No phone number to rectify mistake. No information on collecting points for Costa purchase.

L
L
Linda Britton
, US
Dec 19, 2022 7:25 pm EST

I use the Costa Coffee App and it said if I passed the code IVIFE onto a friend and they downloaded the app and started to use it, myself and them would be awarded 5 beans each, however on 11th December my friend and I went for coffee in our local Costa Coffee and never got these beans, is this just a scam to get people to use your app?

E
E
Elaine Hutton
Lincoln, GB
Nov 30, 2022 11:55 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

On two occasions including today 24th November 2022 my card has been refused due to non acceptance of my usual password. A new password was promised to be sent by e mail. NOTHING HAS ARRIVED.

N
N
Nochoc
Biggleswade, GB
Nov 12, 2022 1:31 pm EST

Often use your machines- used one in co-op in Aylesbury - for hot chocolate. Didn’t check it- why would I when used to getting them.

But when got to drink it one was I would say 99.9%milk if not 100% I have photos - I had bought to have at football club. So only found out then. Otherwise would have taken it back in.

M
M
Marcus Furman
, US
Nov 09, 2022 8:45 am EST

Despite complaining via feedback over conduct of male server called James, not even an apology was given due to James's attempts to o recharge me. Despite me challenging him on this. Costa Customer Service (term used very loosely) then deleted my account without my permission and I lost free birthday treat. Timing of this seems like they were being spiteful. Stay away for your own sanity's sake and if you don't want to be overcharged during a cost of living crisis store is Pentwyn Cardiff

I
I
Inesa
Portsmouth, GB
Nov 05, 2022 8:12 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have purchased large tea to go and asked extra tea bag at your north end Portsmouth store and I was told I have to pay for the two teas so was billed £ 4.50

G
G
gorbar
Liverpool, GB
Nov 01, 2022 7:38 pm EDT

in the last weeks on going to my regular Costa customers have brought dogs with them these are not guide dogs what is your policy on this as I was under the impression that dogs in general were not allowed in food establishments

S
S
S Forster Smith
Middlesbrough, GB
Oct 15, 2022 8:01 pm EDT

Teesside Park store 1.45pm bought above products all live in different households but 2 hrs after drinking these we all started to feel sick and then have gone on to have sickness and diahorea. The only link is the drinks as we didn’t eat anything.

F
F
Fraser Fragul
, US
Oct 10, 2022 11:24 pm EDT

Hello

i went to the costa elstree and borehamwood station

the man was rude to me i was going to buy a latte

he was dismissive and shouting very hostile

i would appreciate the managers to address

the elstree and borehamwood station costa

most costa around the country are good

thank you

steve mannering

C
C
Costa machines
NORWICH, GB
Oct 02, 2022 5:05 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

my wife and i have been having your coffee from your old machines for a very long time and have always enjoyed them ,however since the new machines have been installed the coffee is tasteless and very week.

can you explain why .

all the machines are in Norwich.

I look forward to hear from you .

Many thank Mike Ash

D
D
David Stephen
, GB
Sep 26, 2022 12:11 am EDT

Went in to Barnsley Road Costa Coffee in Sheffield at 10:40 this morning. Saw the offer of Bacon Sandwich and coffee for £2. Ordered 2 for takeaway. . On checking my transactions later, found that I had been charged £10:30.

M
M
Mark Williamson
, US
Sep 25, 2022 7:13 pm EDT

17/09/22 11:45 Selby drive through

I asked for a hot chocolate from the maple hazelnut range and was told there wasn’t any. I said I would wait for the advert to come back round on the screen and pick a different one from the maple hazelnut nut range. I chose one to then told there weren’t any of the maple hazelnut range. Not good enough

C
C
Cwal
London, US
Aug 16, 2022 8:16 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have made a complaint several days ago and would like to know why I have not received a response

Because of this I have had to put it on trust pilot

Also why is customer service not available by phone

Cheryl Walder

Please phone my on

[protected]

N
N
Nav M
, US
Sep 08, 2019 9:29 pm EDT

It appears the helpers and the cashier at Costa Coffee at the airport is more bothered to announce the bill amount rather than focusing on the need of the customer. He doesn't give 2 cents to understanding the order and is trying to rush customers.

I won't be buying fromCosta Coffee again in India

J
J
JimMoore
, GB
Aug 31, 2019 7:36 am EDT

Tried to use my gift card and it was refused.
Very embarrassing situation to put the customer in. Especially as it's a known issue with staff? And to be just given a phone number and told..." just call them...we cant do anything"
Not really acceptable is it?
Tried calling the number given. And was waiting for ten minutes...eventually gave up.

R
R
RVS2019
, IN
Aug 17, 2019 10:19 pm EDT

Served STONE COLD at the Delhi airport arrival hall...

A
A
Andrea Poulter
, US
Apr 15, 2019 6:35 am EDT

Costa Cramlington has the worst manger I have encountered. He shows no customer service, shouting at female customers and colleagues. This abusive, sexist behaviour is not acceptable in any situation. I hope this is rectified urgently.

G
G
GV77550110
, US
Mar 27, 2019 3:45 am EDT

I bought two sandwiches from the store and when i ate one of them it was tasting like rotten one. When i complained about it at the counter she refused to accept my complaint and literally misbehaved. This kind of service, i have never seen on any costa outlet. I'm a frequent visitor of costa outlet and seek a resolution of this.

D
D
Debracrozier@mail.com
, US
Dec 12, 2018 10:24 am EST

Disgraceful no customer service like a conveyor belt expensive poor value

J
J
Jepay Eustaquio
, US
Apr 06, 2016 1:01 pm EDT

I have been complaining for our wifi for how many months now. They would schedule a technician but they never came.. NEVER!

T
T
Totoro.
London, GB
May 24, 2013 5:42 pm EDT

Her attitude might have been cold towards you. However, dealing with indecisive and change-their-mind customers is quite frustrating. Her only fault was that she let it show. But to be honest, why not just stick to what you order or decide better?

Learn how the rating is calculated

Write a review File a complaint

Costa Coffee contacts

Phone number
Website
www.costa.co.uk
Category
Trending companies