Menu
Costa Coffee Customer Service Phone, Email, Contacts

Costa Coffee
reviews and complaints

www.costa.co.uk
www.costa.co.uk

Learn how the rating is calculated

1.2 502 Reviews 501 Complaints
Verified
The authenticity of the customer service contact information for Costa Coffee has been meticulously verified by representatives from ComplaintsBoard using our proprietary verification system.
Share
Claim Your Business
Take control of your profile: address complaints and engage with reviews
Write a review File a complaint

Costa Coffee complaints 501

ComplaintsBoard
K
2:23 pm EDT

Costa Coffee coffee

I went to a drive through in little Waltham 3 weeks ago, the coffee was so ridiculously hot I had burns on my lip !

Coffee is never meant to be served hot! I've mailed 3 times AND used Resolve and yet NOTHING! I sent photos - nothing!

Absolutely disgusted beyond belief !
Shall now voice my experience on social media
I am astounded that no one has had the decency to even contact me !
The coffee was still too hot to drink 45 minutes later !

Read full review of Costa Coffee
View 0 more photos
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
D
11:32 am EDT

Costa Coffee unfair and rude treated by costa staff.

I am visiting Costa coffee at Unit 1, 40 Liverpool Rd, Slough SL1 4QZ today at about 4pm.
My freind stay at the queue to buy the coffee and I am looking for a place to sit. I was stop by a staff asking me not to sit at there because they want to do clean up there.
I found there is still customers sitting at there and l cannot see any cleaning in progress or any section closed sign on it.

I feel that l was treated unfair and that staff was rude when taking to me. She is NOT allow me to sit in the table which I wanted to sit.

Read full review of Costa Coffee
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
N
12:19 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Costa Coffee has left an official reply on this complaint.

Costa Coffee parking at your barnsley branch

I was visiting you Barnsley branch and parking in the parking bays supplied you sign base. Overhangs the parking area and as you will see from the photos is extremely dangerous to parking
There are no warning or protectiction to this parking bay!
This sign damaged tad the tyre and the wheel ( see photos)
I look forward to your our reply
Mr Neil Finean
[protected]@ yahoo.co.uk
Tel [protected]

Read full review of Costa Coffee
View 0 more photos
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
J
8:26 pm EDT

Costa Coffee cups

We are costa coffee fans but it seems the new policy in this coffee shop anyway is to not use cups. My wife, who is chinese, always asks for a real cup for our coffee as we don't like to waste take away cups when we are drinking in the shop. But despite the shop having a full tray of cups available we were told we could not have a cup as they were busy. Actually the shop had 20 people sitting and it seemed no one waiting. They had three staff on duty. So just too lazy to wash cups. Not very good for the environment and really bad customer service.

Read full review of Costa Coffee
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
11:24 am EDT

Costa Coffee really awful customer service

I went into the branch on my uni campus today and ordered a Frostino with almond milk - a drink I've had before so as far as I know it's possible to make them with alt milk. The girl looks at me like I'm stupid and says "it's IMPOSSIBLE to make the frostino with other milk (loosely translating as "i'm too lazy to clean the blender") so it's either NORMAL milk or no frostino :)". The tone just wasn't necessary and the other employees there seemed to be in a catty mood as well. There's no excuse for speaking to a customer like that, as someone who also works in hospitality. I ended up getting the frostino anyway as I knew it probably wouldn't hurt the one time (I have IBS so normally have to avoid most dairy). Just ridiculous honestly, and the drink itself was a mess anyway. Not impressed.

Read full review of Costa Coffee
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
5:02 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Costa Coffee frappuccino salt and caramel

Today we ordered 2 Frappuccino salt and caramel and 3 babycinnos (which were fine) at the Costa drive through.
Upon drinking both Frappuccinos from the straw, we ended up with plastic in our mouths, which was extremely disgusting.
As we were in a hurry, we were not able to drive back, but I still can't comprehend how the plastic got into both cups. It seems that they added something to the blender by mistake. My daughter thought the plastic chunks were pieces of ice and swallowed them, which is such an incredible heath risk. I'm extremely disappointed at the carelessness of the Barista.

Read full review of Costa Coffee
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
B
2:31 pm EDT

Costa Coffee main disabled toilet out of action for over a week.

This is the toilet that should be available for all Males, Females, baby changing room and the disabled customers + the customers of the Next store that this Costa is within.

Yet this toilet has been unavailable to all for over week, a disgraceful state of affairs as well as a threat to customers health.

The noticed affixed to the Toilet door a week ago states, "The Engineer is on his way". This begs the question as to where the Engineer is on his way from one would assume Outer Mongolia.

Come on Costa we know from the forgone that you have no regards for your customers, but killing them is a bit extreme.

Read full review of Costa Coffee
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
L
3:18 pm EDT

Costa Coffee service and products

We arrived just before 2 and saw they had a lunch meal deal on so we went in and chose what we wanted and waited to be served, we must of been waiting 5 minutes whilst two staff where busy talking to each other (one doing a customers order in front), so we placed our order not realising the time and the offer did not come up so I questioned it he said we were two minutes late quite rudely to us. So I gave back the crisps and just had the other items, he was quite rude and spoke to us as if we were an inconvenience rather than a customer looking to pay for food and drink in the cafe. The other guy said to him it usually is a 10 minute lee way after the 2 o clock finish, but after a long weekend I did not have the energy to argue and as we were so hungry we took the food but in any of their situation I would of just walked out and got food elsewhere. And to our amazement the guy serving us was actually the store manager which was a shock as he was the one that was rude to us so if that's the way he treats customers then I'm surprised anyone actually returns. And I ordered a hot chocolate and I have had them quite often with Costa and never had any problems and really enjoy them but this was awful with no taste so I wasn't even able to drink it.

Read full review of Costa Coffee
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
2:46 pm EDT

Costa Coffee cappuccino

After ordering 4 cappuccinos then being asked by a young staff member, would I
Like to try the new blend and feeling sorry for him so agreeing to then being told it was 25 p extra per cup so with a big queue behind me having to go along with it, please in future tell customers that the coffee is going to cost more and not when the money is being taken because that's equivalent to stealing and is a con thanks

Read full review of Costa Coffee
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
J
1:15 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Costa Coffee service

I am currently a patient at glangwili hospital in carmarthen. I am being induced and was advised by the midwife to go for a nice walk to bring on Labour, myself and my partner visited your Costa unit in glangwilli and Ordered 2 medium latte and 2 lemon muffins. The guy that served me looked very unhappy about something, he put 2 muffins in a paper bag and dumped them in front of me before turning to the coffee machine, as he slammed two take away cups down on to the machine I said 'excuse me, we are sitting in for these", he said "Oh are you" without turning around to speak to me and changed the paper cups for glass mugs. He made the drinks and plonked them down on front of me, as he moved away from me I asked him "which of these has the extra shot of coffee in?" He replied "This one" quite bluntly, this got the attention of his colleague and she put a spoon in one cup so I knew the difference, I asked the guy if he could put our muffins on plates as we were eating in and he huffed, got a tray and 2 plates, he held the bag up over the tray and shook the muffins out so they fell on to the tray, his colleague said "oh James, don't do it like that", James looked at his colleague then looked at me, he proceeded to pick up both muffins with his hands and dumped them both on top of the stack of 2 plates. He walked away, his colleague said "I'm sorry about that" I said "He must be having a bad day" the guy did not return to the counter while I stood there and his colleague apologised again on his behalf. Going to costa is a rare treat for us but I can honestly say after this experience, We am not looking forward to the next time.
Ruby was lovely and made a bad experience more bearable but James was very rude and would benefit from some customer service training.
Joanne Clarke

Read full review of Costa Coffee
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
C
2:56 am EST

Costa Coffee service attendant

I visit Costa coffee almost everyday located in Premier Inn Sharjah and today, I found new attendant who has no etiquette and his behavior was rude towards all the customers.

He has no manners and he was fighting with all the customers in the coffee shop.

Date 26 Fabruary
Time of visit - 11 am UAE time

Picture attached below.

He said take picture and complain, he does not care about costa, or any customer.

Read full review of Costa Coffee
View 0 more photos
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
B
12:01 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Costa Coffee has left an official reply on this complaint.

Costa Coffee coffee and service

Yesterday 29-01-2019 me my wife and my son went to Costa coffee in Keynsham since it was cold and we rarely have chance to spend time together due to working different shifts to have a nice cup of coffee and spend some time, I had my usual capuchino and they had their ‘hot' chocolates.that was the most wasted £9.35 of my life.the staff was horrible same were the coffees thy made.

Read full review of Costa Coffee
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
N
10:35 am EST
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I am so so upset. I have always gone to Costa for coffee/brunch/ dessert or even a chat. On New years day I took 12 members of my family to enjoy the beginning of our year to Costa. We spent lots of money on the drinks etc and had an amazing awesome time. It was absolutely so perfect. But then... When when we were all leaving something really upsetting...

View 0 more photos
Read full review of Costa Coffee and 2 comments
ComplaintsBoard
T
2:10 pm EST

Costa Coffee assistant manager

I was visiting your drive throu on clough rd hull I was sat with my husband and two children at 145 pm when a manager approached a young worker in a salmon coloured coat I believe the girl works there the manger was talking to the girl in a raised voice in front of customers which was most uncomfortable for myself and family never mind the young girl she was shouting at to which everyone heard I believe the conversation was over false nails it was very unprofessional of the manager to have words with a worker in front of customers let alone shout at her so everyone could here in my view the manger needs retraining I felt so sorry for the young worker I didn't think bullying was acceptable in the work place as by doing it in front of everyone to belittle the worker is a form of bullying very disgusted at her behaviour

Read full review of Costa Coffee
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
D
4:36 pm EST

Costa Coffee staff complaint

My 17yr old daughter works for Costa coffee, greenbridge, Swindon, her name is Lauren Roberts. She has e a serious issue that needs addressing and resolving. She is being bullied and black mailed by her manager. She is too scared to complain, worried it might make her situation worse. As a parent I feel as though I need to take this further. How do I do this?
A responce asap would be grateful.
Phone number [protected]
E mail: davie.[protected]@virginmedia.com
Thank you
Mr D Roberts

Read full review of Costa Coffee
View 0 more photos
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
K
7:53 am EST

Costa Coffee black forest and hazelnut and praline and cream hot chocolate

Hi

Just visited Costa Coffee in Bournemouth with a friend to treat her for her birthday to a hot chocolate. Pictures outside Costa of the Black Forest and Praline Hot chocolate looked fantastic and very festive and special.
Ordered the above and when she presented them to us they looked completely standard hot chocolates, nothing at all like the picture outside. I commented that it looked nothing like the picture and she said the picture reflected the takeaway hot chocolates and not the ones bought inside.
I find this amazing. Surely you are wanting to make people want to sit in and enjoy the drinks. Also if you can do that for a takeaway surely you can do it for people to sit down inside and enjoy them. Also the takeaway price is cheaper.
Very disappointed - could have made better myself at home .

Read full review of Costa Coffee
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
H
4:32 pm EST

Costa Coffee gift card

We moved from South Wales to Blackpool and we were given a £10 Gift card by friends which was bought in Costa in Trostre in Llanelli.unfortunately when we went to use it we were told that the card had not been activated so we could not use it.I understand that sometimes things do go wrong but my daughter also had a £10 card of her sister which was bought in the same store and that also had not been activated. I trust that this is an oversight on your stores behalf and look forward to your early reply.many thanks Dave.

Read full review of Costa Coffee
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
M
9:29 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Costa Coffee has left an official reply on this complaint.

Costa Coffee lack of service!

Today and on several occasions, certainly Sundays I have found an extreme lack of service. Certain staff seem to always be issuing the take away cups for ‘sitting in' customers when Apparrently the dishwasher is not working. The dishwasher at the Canvey branches seems to be broken most often. How can such a large company be expecting customers to pay approximately £3 per coffee and feel it's suitable to serve ‘in house' customers with takeaway cups!
I do not seem to get this treatment in your other branches of which I regularly visit. I await your urgent reply.

Read full review of Costa Coffee
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
L
9:18 pm EST

Costa Coffee toasted sandwich

Moorfields eye hospital. Costa coffees
17:45.
I was offered a microwaved toasted sandwich as I was told the grill was not on. I complained and was told it came out the same as grilling. I complained again and refused the sandwich and did not pay.
This was not the first time I have seen this thoughtless behaviour.
I work at this hospital and have witnessed elderly patients being told their one sided grilled sandwich is how they always are.. This is clearly not true as even the most basic machines grill both sides.
I feel the ethos of this branch is to fob off customer complaints rather than resolve them.
Many elderly patients visit this hospital often from miles away and are often anxious about diagnosis and treatment. A more thoughtful, honest approach to these patients complaints should be in place as well as decently grilled sandwiches.

Read full review of Costa Coffee
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
J
6:28 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Costa Coffee black forest hot chocolate

My partner and I ordered a black forest hot chocolates, paid just short if £8 for the two.
The hot choc was luke warm, and certainly wasn't the black forest.. as it was a drive through and in a rush to pick my autistic son up from his school I didn't have time to take it back. The women really needed to learn manners .. No please or thank you which really annoys me. My son is autistic and he is able to use manners. Over all a really disappointing experience. This won't stop me coming to Costa.. however I will not be using the Swansea retail park one again.

Read full review of Costa Coffee
Hide full review

Overview of Costa Coffee complaint handling

Costa Coffee reviews first appeared on Complaints Board on Oct 28, 2008. The latest review Montrose Scotland patio area is embarrassing for Costa was posted on Apr 13, 2024. The latest complaint Costa coffee - staff behaviour and customer service was resolved on Aug 08, 2022. Costa Coffee has an average consumer rating of 1 stars from 502 reviews. Costa Coffee has resolved 32 complaints.
Ratings on other sites
Trustpilot
Trustpilot
2.2
2334 reviews
Trust badge
Collect Your Trust Badge
Be recognized for outstanding customer service
  1. Costa Coffee contacts

  2. Costa Coffee phone numbers
    +44 333 003 5883
    +44 333 003 5883
    Click up if you have successfully reached Costa Coffee by calling +44 333 003 5883 phone number 103 103 users reported that they have successfully reached Costa Coffee by calling +44 333 003 5883 phone number Click up if you have UNsuccessfully reached Costa Coffee by calling +44 333 003 5883 phone number 211 211 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Costa Coffee by calling +44 333 003 5883 phone number
    Customer Service
  3. Costa Coffee emails
  4. Costa Coffee address
    Costa House, 6 Porz Avenue, Houghton Hall Business Park, Houghton Regis, Dunstable, LU55YG, United Kingdom
  5. Costa Coffee social media
Costa Coffee Category
Costa Coffee is related to the Bars and Cafes category.

Our Commitment

We stand for unbiased reviews

We make sure all complaints and reviews are from real people sharing genuine experiences.

We help resolving issues

We offer easy tools for businesses and reviewers to solve issues together. Learn how it works.

We advocate freedom of speech

We support and promote the right for reviewers to express their opinions and ideas freely without censorship or restrictions, as long as it's respectful and within our Terms and Conditions, of course ;)

We ensure transparent and fair ratings

Our rating system is open and honest, ensuring unbiased evaluations for all businesses on the platform. Learn more.

We care about your privacy

Personal details of reviewers are strictly confidential and hidden from everyone.

We are easy, free and open to everyone

Our website is designed to be user-friendly, accessible, and absolutely free for everyone to use.