Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Cooking Club of America / Scout.com

Cooking Club of America / Scout.com review: lifetime membership 18

P
Author of the review
10:31 am EDT
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I joined in 2001 as a lifetime member and was happy with my membership. I did buy a set up cookware for my daughter which I thought was sold at a fairly reasonable price. I'm not sure when I stopped getting the cookbook magazines every two months but it has been probably two years or more.

I recently realized this lapse and have tried to call the company several times - the call does not go through. Their web page is down. It appears they are no longer in business. I guess my lifetime membership was based on their lifetime not mine. It appears they over promised and could not deliver. It's too bad. I really did enjoy the magazine when I was getting it. They let a lot of people down, evidenced by the number of complaints here.

18 comments
Add a comment
A
A
Ann Shannon
Philadelphia, US
Mar 14, 2024 3:39 pm EDT

Cooking club of America, should be made to return, any unused money on customers accounts. Especially if they are not going to fulfill the contract of the lifetime membership,as slot of us signed up for. I only received 2 copies of the magazine, and a calender at my current address and that was about 7 years ago ,nothing ever since not even a letter stating that the membership was being ter!instead and the money was being refunded.

W
W
Wendy2
Waterloo, US
Nov 26, 2022 2:24 pm EST

I'm not sure I understand. Years ago I joined a place called cooking club of America. It was really cool and legit. We got items in the mail that we tried and commented on and we got to keep the product. My 1st item was a lasagna Pan kinda like Stoneware I think. It was really lots of fun and got my maybe it seems all the time. You can put recipes in the magazine, And you could put recipes in the magazine and you got a set of nice pants after one year. Is this the same club,? I have to say that this was probably 15 years ago. Wendy

S
S
ShelJ
, US
May 11, 2021 5:00 pm EDT

I would like to be included in a class action if there is one.

T
T
Tura Lynn Klepfer
, US
Jun 18, 2021 10:20 pm EDT
Replying to comment of ShelJ

I too am was a lifetime member of cooking club. When I went to scout.com it came up about the NFL. What a disappointment

K
K
Kathleen Mentzer
, US
Jan 03, 2021 8:21 am EST

I was a lifetime member as well, was getting disillusioned when they "added" the other "level" of membership, the charter I think? I could be wrong, I thought joining as Original Lifetime member was "charter". Anyway, signed up for the free testing, got one box of some really cheesy rice a roni type food to try, it was nash, and that was it, nothing else. Continually signed up for the testing... Who were these people getting all this fabulous stuff? Why wasn't I getting real stuff to try? Then it became clear, I was not rich and holding dinner party's with my friends an neighbors... Did buy the cookware, pretty sturdy, still have it. Count me in on that class action...

J
J
jenmhow9
, US
Jul 06, 2018 8:34 am EDT

I have not received a magazine in quite some time and was wondering why and now I know? Great Life Time Membership!

J
J
jrvjt1234
, US
Aug 17, 2017 6:17 pm EDT

Does anyone know if there is a class action law suit on this problem?

A
A
AMerritt
, US
Aug 11, 2017 4:49 pm EDT

I just did a search so that I could find out why I haven't been receiving my magazines and so that I could put in a change of address (upcoming move.) I am sad to hear that they are out of business but I was suspecting such since it has been some time since I've received a magazine.

S
S
S. Padgett
, US
Feb 12, 2017 11:21 am EST

Another "lifetime member" here. I know their magazine had gone down from monthly/bimonthly to once a quarter, so when some time went past without a magazine I didn't really notice. I moved about a year and a half ago, and recently realized I hadn't received any magazines since the move.

Tried to find their website online, and like many of you, found out it is not that easy! That Scout website kept popping up but didn't look anything like MY Cooking Club of America. It would have been nice (and professional of them) to get a notice that they were being sold out and we would not be members any more.

K
K
Kittenz96
, US
Jan 18, 2017 6:52 am EST

I was a lifetime member as well... what a rip off.

K
K
Kristina83
, US
Jan 10, 2017 1:19 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I also am a (or was a) lifetime member. Didn't know they had went out of business until my husband broke one of my pans and tried to see about getting it replaced. If anyone finds out of a class action suit against them I sure would like to be included!

H
H
Hbubba
, US
Dec 09, 2016 10:49 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

i WAS ALSO SCAMMED, IS THERE ANYONE OUT THERE THAT CAN GET US SOME JUSTICE FOR THIS RIP OFF. I ALSO BOUGHT LIFETIME MEMBERSHIPS FOR MY KIDS, THEY GOT ME AGAIN. CAN ANYONE FIND OUT FROM THE GOVERNMENT WHAT WE CAN DO. ANY HELP IS NEEDED.

V
V
VeryGullible
, US
Oct 27, 2016 7:05 am EDT

Another one bites the dust... I too am a (was a) Lifetime Member to not only the Cooking Club of America but also their Garden Club of America. I joined them both back in [protected]. Both seemed fine and I enjoyed the magazine, recipes and being a tester for new products. However, I have now realized that yep, haven't received a magazine from either division for a few years now. Where does the time go? Just seems they went "poof" off the grid. I have no hopes of getting any money back because if they had any to give, they'd still be in business, right? Lessons learned at a young age. If it's too good to be true, it probably is.

A
A
Alicia Cass
, US
Sep 29, 2016 3:56 pm EDT

I have been a member since 2003. It has been forever since I've had anything from the Cooking Club Of America. I even did the upgrade grade for another 279 for new items but only got to porcelain bread pans. Robbed! Number doesn't work. Sad I had my dad join and my sister too. And they only got a couple magazine's for their life membership . They closed up shop with no notice and still took money from people

S
S
Shelley Habel
, US
Aug 04, 2016 6:43 am EDT

Yep. Add me to the list. And they do have lifetime membership I other arenas as well. Handyman club, gardening club, crafts club. They got me for more than one... what a rip off and no one is held accountable...as usual.

S
S
sshiraishi
, US
May 21, 2016 3:36 pm EDT

I have not received any OUT of Bus notice ! Calls won't go through on all numbers. I thought I was the only one going thru this. i guess everyone? Seems there is no reason to write them either. Well I won't waist any sleep over them. They can have my money if that makes them happy. But Folks try COOK'S ILLUSTRATED. The recipes are very well written and comes out right every time and delicious. No advertising too. I've been with them for a while now and happily satisfied. Try Them !

D
D
Dolores D'accardi
, US
May 09, 2016 12:36 pm EDT

Just realized I haven't received a Cooking Club magazine for sometime now. Too bad I didn't know earlier that Cooking Club of America was no longer in business, I wouldn't have sent in my payments for the pots & pans (that I didn't even order but did like them) they were sending me each month. I've been trying to contact them about not receiving the magazines and came upon this website advising that they went out of business. Oh, well, somebody is enjoying my Lifetime Membership fee.

Y
Y
Yager
, US
May 04, 2016 2:42 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I was a life member of cooking club of America. Haven't received magazines in God only knows how long. Tried to call. Call won't go through... Wow what a rip off...

  1. Cooking Club of America / Scout.com contacts

  2. Cooking Club of America / Scout.com phone numbers
    +1 (888) 850-8202
    +1 (888) 850-8202
    Click up if you have successfully reached Cooking Club of America / Scout.com by calling +1 (888) 850-8202 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Cooking Club of America / Scout.com by calling +1 (888) 850-8202 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Cooking Club of America / Scout.com by calling +1 (888) 850-8202 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Cooking Club of America / Scout.com by calling +1 (888) 850-8202 phone number
  3. Cooking Club of America / Scout.com address
    PO Box 3436, Minnetonka, Minnesota, 55343, United States
  4. Cooking Club of America / Scout.com social media
Cooking Club of America / Scout.com Category
Cooking Club of America / Scout.com is ranked 176 among 198 companies in the Magazines and Newspapers category