Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Cooking Club of America / Scout.com

Cooking Club of America / Scout.com review: fraudulent company 5

S
Author of the review
12:42 pm EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Cooking club of america says they will sign you up for a life account, but what you don't know when you sign up is that they keep billing you for life! I have cancelled by mail many times, to no avail. Then I contacted them by return mail (when they emailed me) and there were never any return answers. I don't care if they send me to a credit collector, I will not give them another dime!
They send trinkets along the way, telling you what a great deal it is, but you pay for all of it and more!

I wish the best of luck to all who sign up with this company!

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

5 comments
Add a comment
M
M
Mediaquen
, US
Apr 24, 2024 7:17 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Although I am late coming to this wake of the "Cooking Club of America," I too was taken in by their "Life Member" BS! I paid for a "Life Member" status in the club in August 2009. I was originally most pleased with the products I received and still use some of them today, April 2024.

As I expected, they too went out of business and are the 3rd club where I had some type of "Lifetime Membership" after paying a hefty amount to start with and then, being subsequently charged for more items. Even with that, I was happy with the quality of the items I received and would have continued, if they hadn't been crooked and closed down shop. They didn't keep promises, and wouldn't respond to my inquiries in the first few years of joining, only to ultimately close down. I am surprised that a Class Action Law Suit was not brought against them! I will not sign up for any more of these kinds of clubs. Live and learn!

J
J
J Mahoney
, US
Jan 23, 2019 9:36 pm EST

I caught on to their scam right away because they were always promising something big, and sending something small. I wrote to them about themselves and they never responded to my letter, a matter of fact, they ignored it and kept on with their fraudulent scam. I requested my $24.00 dollars back in return, I got another envelope requesting ADVANCE RENEWAL NOTICE for $48.00. I did receive a nice cookbook that I gave to my daughter because she was starting into culinary school, and I thought that would have been some help to her. I just happened to find my letter that I had sent to them on February 7, 2013, and I jump on the computer to see if they were still around. Low and behold, this is what I found, the same complaint letters that I was mentioning. I am not surprised that they no longer exist because it was a SCAM!

N
N
Nan Grosser Fuller
, US
May 21, 2016 11:28 am EDT

I have been a lifetime member since 2009 - received magazines until 2014. Have not been able to contact anyone since then. The phone number in the magazine doesn't work; mail is not responded to. VERY DISAPPOINTED as the magazine was good.

N
N
Northsidegirl
, US
Apr 06, 2016 8:58 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I paid cooking club and fishing club of America. hundreds of dollars for life time memberships. At first I received the items they had promised, but since 2014 I havn't received any products or magazines from them when I tryed to call them there is no such number anymore, what I want to know is can we file a lawsuit against them for misleading customers and taking our money...

S
S
sourdough girl
Marysville, US
Jan 31, 2012 2:50 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

i am a life member of cooking club of america. after i paid the life membership dues, i have never received another bill... i signed up almost 10 years ago! i have received the magazine on time every time and have tested many products. i'm sorry you had a bad experience, but MY experience has been very good.