SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Vizio / Class action lawsuit

Kr Martin, OH Review updated:

I submitted a complaint today and then I started reading the other complaints. It's quite apparent that VIZIO has reliability issues. My last television lasted me 21 years and I am back to using it. My VIZIO lasted 18 months. The problems began within the warranty and each time were temporarily fixed. The same problems have continued after the warranty expired and I was told to suck it up and buy a new television. I was treated extremely poorly and called a liar. I realize that we live in a throw away society, but give me a break. A television that costs over 1000.00 and lasts 18 months, sound like a racket to me. If you would be interested in forming a class action lawsuit please contact me.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ge
      Jun 09, 2009

    I totally agree with him their Vizio TVS are a piece of crab and they do not handle complaints at all. I have one of their 32 inch sitting up and not working and there is nothing they can do about it. I am still paying for it and I received nothing in the way of help from Vizio. I will never purchase another one.

    -1 Votes
  • Ge
      Jun 09, 2009

    I totally agree with the above comment.

    -1 Votes
  • Jd
      Sep 14, 2009

    t0tally agree

    -1 Votes
  • Cr
      Nov 03, 2009

    This was the worst TV I have ever purchased. Ours began having problems about 3days after we bought the TV. Every time we called Vizio said that we had to call someone to come out an service the TV. When our TV finally died it was literally 2 days after the warranty ran out. Vizio's response, "they offer an extended warranty for a reason" (we were never offered an extended warranty) Although I should have known not to buy it when the people at WalMart tell you that you can't return the TV to them, and well come on it's WalMart you can return anything to them. However, that simple response from Vizio to me seems like an admission that they know they are selling defective products. I'd love for there to be a class action suit against the company, it would be like sticking it to them, however, it just seems like in the end with as many people that would be involved and all the settlement money was split and the lawyer paid, we'd all walk away with what? may be $10.

    -1 Votes
  • Sp
      Jan 23, 2010

    Syrongly agree. I got my VIZIO SV470XVT1A last May and just before Xmas, the screen is black after a sudden "PoP". Called VIZIO and was thrown to ITI who said $450 can fix it after a two-minute talk. Now I was stucj with thsi piece of junk at hosue and couldn't get any help from nowhere. If there is any Class Action Lawsuit, please let me know. They are trapping their customers!

    -2 Votes
  • Br
      Mar 04, 2010

    Purchashed a 42 inch Plazma Vizio in late 06/ early 07 for about $1600 from Sams Club...last night we got the pop and the black screen, with the sound still working.. The vizio tech told us it was old technology, and pretty much better lucjk in the future ...for $1600 my tv should have lasted more than 4 years...I also have a 37 inch Vizio lcd, I can only hope that that one does not go south on me ...If any one is putting together a class action suit please let me know [protected]@hotmail.com. To any one reading this considering the purchase of a vizio...spend the few extra dollars to get a better brand that wont sell you garbage, and stand by their product..I will never purchase another Vizio again

    0 Votes
  • Za
      Mar 15, 2010

    I'm just posting this info. wherever I find people who hate their Vizios. I too have experienced the dreaded black screen. Here is a law firm exploring a class action law suit:
    http://chimicles.com/case/vizio-televisions
    [protected]@chimicles.com

    I know nothing about the firm, but I figured it couldn't hurt to report to them that I have had the same issue a lot of folks have. Might be worth writing a quick note.

    -1 Votes
  • Jw
      Nov 09, 2010

    If you are contemplating a class action against Vizio count me in. I got a 46 HD flat screen for Christmas 2008 In July of 2010 the screen began fluctuating on the left hand side of the screen occassionally I get a clean screen but more and more frequently the dark side (as we call it in our house) comes out. I'll never buy another Vizio.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      Nov 13, 2010

    I agree Vizio thinks the are so big and cant be touched. they told me a few bad blogs are no big deal because they sale millions of TV'S. we bought a 50in plasma tv thought it was the best thing. WRONG.. Worst tv in the world. have a single line down the center that cannot be repaired. They want me to buy a refurbished tv for $600.00 and that is how they want to help someone 15days out of warranty. are you kidding buy someone elses peice of crap and give vizio more mone..Ha.Ha. what a joke. I see hundreds of people every day and have and will continue to tell everyone I see and meet DONT BUY VIZIO..NO GOOD.. Product or sService in fact they dont know what service even is.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Dec 02, 2010

    i have had quite an ordeal with vizio the sound would diappear the tv would shut off from the first mounth i had it took almost a year off disconneting the tv until they sent a guy from dc area to fenwick island de. an we put in three major boards and the tv would not work we took the center board back out put the old one in the center and the tv worked the tv still shut off from time to time and we had them replce the tv this tv had the same problem the sound now the picture with the new one a year later the people who delivered the tv both times said buy the name brand products not the vizio and it has a purple line to the right of center straight up and down the lady at vizio said you need a neww tv i am mike mulligan [protected] call me if you like

    -1 Votes
  • Mi
      Dec 02, 2010

    vizio tv last one month and have troulbe up to the warranty and phone caal after phone call complete discustedfor my 1800.00 a bunch off bobs

    -1 Votes
  • Mi
      Dec 02, 2010

    vizio needs to be taken down

    -1 Votes
  • Sa
      Dec 05, 2010

    I just began experiencing the purple line issue running down the left side of my 55" VIZIO HDTV a few days ago. I've read on-line that the problem is due to a defective panel. This is ridiculous - the TV is just over 1 year old. I've had TV's in the past that have lasted years. I'm contacting VIZIO now to see how they are going to deal with this problem. They need to be legally responsible for selling crap like this to consumers. I've already submitted my info to the Class Action Lawsuit link : http://chimicles.com/case/vizio-televisions.

    [protected]@hotmail.com

    -1 Votes
  • Da
      Dec 31, 2010

    Got a 47" 1080p 120 MHz one month ago. Now I get buzz, pop, off and after removing power to it a few minutes, it works for another few minutes then buzz, pop and off again. It's a worthless TV.

    -1 Votes
  • An
      Jan 16, 2011

    I have a blu-ray player that i purchased in may of 2010 that just stopped working in august 2010 and i called vizio about it in september 2010 and nothing has been done since. I don't see how the consumers have to pay for vizio chinese electronic supplier mistakes by making bad electronic parts and vizio not being able to get replacements parts be the consumers responsiablity. Yes we should all file a case

    -1 Votes
  • An
      Feb 03, 2011

    I agree...Vizio is junk and their customer service/tech support is horrible. I purchased my 42' LCD Vizio TV from Costco a little over 2 years ago. A few days ago my 2 1/2 year old daughter wanted to watch movie, when I turn on the TV we had sound but no picture. I work for a cable company and did my typical troubleshooting - I even called a tech friend - nothing. I called Vizio, they were rude and not helpful. They told me I had to get a proof-of-purchase before they would help me even further. I called Costco, they refused to help me because it's been over 2 years since my purchase. I've now escalated it to their corporate office. So far, the person I've been dealing with at Costco has done nothing but debat with me on how low of a defect rate Vizio TV's have. I told him he only know's about the defect rate of anything return within 90 days. They won't accept anything over that and most consumers are reporting these problems from 18 months-4 years later. If Costco doesn't do anything about a defective TV they sold me for $1, 000 they've lost me as a customer. I would do the same to any other company that sold me a defective product that refuses to make it right. My next TV purchase will be from Best Buy were at least I have the option to purchase an extended warrenty.

    -1 Votes
  • Po
      Feb 23, 2011

    You can add us to the pile of unhappy consumers as last evening our 37" Vizio LCD purchase around two years ago went black. We got on Google to search and found it to be a huge problem. Do Not Buy a Vizio anything and especially from Costco.

    -1 Votes
  • Or
      Mar 06, 2011

    I own two Vizio tv's. Let me say fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice shame on me. Never again. I am a member of the Vizio black screen club.

    -1 Votes
  • Vi
      Apr 26, 2011

    I too have a black screened piece of junk TV. Absolutely no help from customer service at Vizio. They suggest I have it repaired by a repairmen over 200 miles away. I strongly believe that nothing will change unless a class action suit gets filed. It seems as though they purposefully design the televisions to stop working immediately after the 1 year warranty is up. Please, will someone go after these guys? You have our support!

    -1 Votes
  • Le
      May 03, 2011

    i have a 6 month old 42 inch vizio. bought from walmart .com i heard a pop now its dead. im waiting for vizio to get back with me. never again!!

    -1 Votes
  • My
      May 04, 2011

    You can count me in! Vizio LCD 47 in. owned for 3 years, needed 2 repairs within the 2nd year, and now the screen is very dark, cant change tv channels and there is a annoying buzzinghissing sound coming from the back of it. Contacted Vizio, no help what so ever!!! They tryed to sell me a "recertified" 47 in. with a 4 year warranty for 500 dollars!!! Thats there answer?!! Basically, told them no thanks. I will do better without there garbage!!! Spent 1, 400 bucks on a tv, That lasted 3 years!!! Please. Something MUST BE DONE!!! I have had tvs last for 10 to 20 years without a hitch!!! GIVE ME A BREAK!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Vi
      Jul 31, 2011

    VIZIO SUCKS DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!I PURCHASED A 42 INCH LCD VIZIO AFTER 3YRS MY PICTURE WENT OUT BUT THE SOUND STILL WORKED I CALLED VIZIO AND THEY SAID IT WAS THE BACK LIGHT AND THEY DONT SELL THE PART, ITS SAME COST TO BUY NEW TV!! THE WARRANTY ON IT EXPIRED ABOUT 3MTHS BEFORE IT DIED...THIS IS CRAP..IM VERY UPSET THAT THIS TV COST OVER 1K AND ONLY LASTED 3YRS!! IT DONT MATTER WHERE YOU BUY THIS PRODUCT IT SUCKS ANYWAY..I GOT MINE AT SAM'S CLUB!! ILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING MADE BY VIZIO!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Ya
      Aug 13, 2011

    Wow! I thought I wass the only one with black screen issues. I turn it on and it is black then turns itself off. I turn it back on about 2 or 3 times and it flikers for 15 minutes or so and then finally comes on. We need a class action suit for sure.

    -1 Votes
  • Jb
      Aug 29, 2011

    My Vizio 470m died on me yesterday morning. Just 3 months after the 2yr warranty. Was watching a show and the picture and sound just turned off... at first I thought someone must have pressed the power button on the remote. But no, to my disappointment the TV is dead. I had my last television for 13+ yrs, and I am shocked that this one died so quickly. I am going to be contacting Vizio customer support to see if they will fix the issue, if they don't you can count me in. Seems to be quite a few people losing the use of their TV in the same time frame, 3-5 months after warranty.

    -1 Votes
  • Fi
      Sep 22, 2011

    All these posts sound like my story. My 55" VIA TV (VF552XVT) died exactly 5 weeks outside the factory warranty. Black screen of death. Vizio will accept no responsibility and I cannot even get the set repaired on my own. Vizio (Fizzio?) and has instead tried to sell me another one! Incredible. After reading this thread, I think there must be a little self-destruct clock chip in these things! I would be very interested in joining a class action suit, I don't even care if I don't get a single dollar out of it I just want to see Vizio nailed to the wall. I've moved on and bought something else, chalked my $1888 to an expensive lesson.
    I don't believe Fizzio intends to be in the market for the long term, their objectives seem to be to collect as much of OUR money as possible and when the gig is up, close up, sell out and retire to count all of OUR money. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER VIZIO PRODUCT AND I WILL TELL EVERYONE I CAN NOT TO AS WELL.

    -1 Votes
  • Ka
      Feb 13, 2012

    Also got the black screen was also told by Vizio should have bought extended warranty, TV is 1 yr nd 2 days old. Called attorney handling class action and was told case was dismissed! Will never buy another Vizio!

    -1 Votes
  • Pj
      Apr 15, 2012

    My 4 year old 50" plasma died. Turn out it has all samsung boards in it. I intentionally avoided samsung because of their known issues.I guess the laugh is on me..No more vizio junk for me

    -1 Votes
  • Bo
      May 04, 2012

    Yes count me in 2 i have a 42 lcd that went bad same black screen ...

    -1 Votes
  • Jw
      May 13, 2012

    I was saddened and shocked to read that the class action suit has been dismissed!! I too bought a VIZIO 42" LCD HDTV in November 2009. I also bought their highly priced HDMI cables and their Blue-Ray DVD. Later on I bought the VIZIO sound bar because I did not like the speakers on the TV. I did not buy the extended warranty that Wal-Mart offered and really, after reading all of the complaints I am not sure it would have done any good. After 1 1/2 years the HDMI connection went out, 6 months later the sensor did not function and then 2 months later the screen went black. I will NEVER buy another VIZIO product and I will tell people of my experience.

    -1 Votes
  • Al
      May 19, 2012

    Vizio is now actively breaking televisions that it has already sold by changing their firmware in consumer hostile ways. Here's my post: https://plus.google.com/109517238549997321941/posts/eAMSBh5Lz5v

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
      May 20, 2012

    I also have a 32 inch vizio about 2 years old with the dreaded black screen. I do not have another tv or the money to buy one, so I had my cable turned off yesterday, no tv until I can save enough money for a new tv and I promise it will not be a vizio.

    -1 Votes
  • No
      Jun 11, 2012

    I have 42 inch vizio just out of the box that would not read HD, they replaced the T.V. Then 8 months later there was power to the set but would not turn on. After many complaints and phone calls they replaced both panels in the T.V. now 5 months later it does not turn on again. Of course it is out of the warranty time, as I have been informed by the tech support. You would think the parts they replaced would have a year warranty!? but nope!!! They don't even back their own product. I will NEVER look at another VIZIO again.

    -1 Votes
  • Wi
      Dec 04, 2012

    Have a nice 32" Vizio Plasma bookend that started with a few horizontal white lines then went black in under 2.5 years . I know a class action suit won't do squat for me but it would feel good "stickin' to the man".

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
      Apr 06, 2013

    I'm having a problem with only one of my four Vizio television sets. I do agree they do not handle complaints well. I have a 47" LCD full 1080p . I have the line issue it's been going on for a while I ordered another tv but I can't understand why Vizio can't extend some courtesy for these sets having this line issue.

    -1 Votes
  • Ji
      Apr 30, 2013

    Bought two Vizio TV's, they are both failing, one smells like as a short circuit is occurring (smells like burnt plastic), and the other is flickering and shutting off automatically. My name is Jimmie Cueva my e-mail is [protected]@mail.com. Would love to initiate class action litigation. If we do it as a group and pay an attorney to represent us together or get an attorney on a contingency fee.

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
      Jun 14, 2013

    I also bought a Vizio 32 " flatscreen tv. It had so many options and I thought it would be ideal for my wants and needs. Now in the past few weeks, the tv is malfunctioning. When I push a number to get to a certain tv channel the tv numbers continually run thru all of my tv channels and also, for instance, if you push a number like number 7, the tv will show 77777 . That is the same for all numbers pushed. It's crazy. It takes over 30 seconds for the tv to turn on to a station.
    Will I be included in the class action suit?

    -1 Votes
  • 3d
      Aug 07, 2013

    Have the 32 " 3D @ 10 mths the board cooked still under warranty, Great they replaced the board . Almost exactly to the day 10 mths later the same board failed again they wanted $139.00 . I mentioned i would post on every site known for TV complaints and the BBB . Supervisor said best they could do for there faulty board is $99.00 . So as i promised a launch against VIZIO is warranted . Stay away from VIZIO . Side note think i should mount TV to top of my Van !

    -1 Votes
  • St
      Nov 14, 2013

    VIZIO refuses to acknowledge they have any issues. Powering of a TV should be acknowledged that there is a problem. However complaining doesn't make it happen. I believe a class action lawsuit would be great and I would be in for that!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Nov 14, 2013

    I purchased a32 inch vizio from costco in 2008.It has been sitting for a couple of months and will not turn on.This tv has not given many hours of service.I have read many complaints and realize now that i purchased a defective tv.I will continue to search for a lawsuit against vizio.

    0 Votes
  • Rg
      Feb 23, 2014

    I just purchased a VIZIO 32 inch television..It is emitting a horrible odor that is making me cough and nausious...I thought it was a new smell at first but its been about two weeks and its getting worse...I was wondering if anyone else is experiencing this ... my email is [protected]@aol.com please comment back to me

    +1 Votes

Post your comment